[VIDEOS] Aaqib Javed Appreciation Thread

I will become a true Aaqaybian, if we drop Shan, Abdullah & Zahid for the next game. Bring in Hurraira, Tayab & Mehran.

Riz to captain.
Agha to captain. Riz has too many haters who'll put a lot of pressure on him.

And we can't afford to lose him quickly because replacements are really not up to the mark

Yeah maybe they can play a seamer who can reverse the ball
Yes going out of box I would use someone similar to Aamer Jamal who can bat a bit as well. Jahandad would be my pick. Guy can swing the new ball and has some batting talent. Haven't seen him reversing but action seems conducive

This legend said, play with 3 spinners and dry the pitch
A video of former Pakistan fast bowler Aaqib Javed laying out a confident plan for Pakistan to win a Test match at home has gone viral after Pakistan ended their nearly four-year winless run.

Aaqib Javed said during interview with a local media outlet:

"What's your formula for a Test match? Do you have 3 spinners? Play them. Remove all the grass, and make it a dry pitch. Make it rough. Keep brushing it. They will lose, won't they? They will. 100 percent, they will lose. The second thing is the reverse swing. Again, dry out the square -- it will spin and it will reverse. They can't win."

Aaqib Javed shared an anecdote about his encounter with India head coach Gautam Gambhir in Sri Lanka during a recent podcast interview:

"Gautam Gambhir ne mujhe kaha ke 'Aaqib bhai, yeh Pakistan cricket ko kya ho gaya hai? Itna talent hai, hum bhi dekhte hain, sab kuch hai, inhone kiya kya hai?' [Gambhir asked me what has happened to Pakistan cricket despite so much talent and everything, what have they done?]"

"He [Gambhir] also feels sorry about it because there are a few [top-level] teams, and the Pakistan-India matches provide the biggest thrill. So if your team [Pakistan] falls like that, then one of the game's biggest matches loses its charm."

"ICC mei log haste hain [people in the ICC laugh about it]."

As per reports:

Noman had failed two fitness tests conducted by team trainers before the second Test against England. However, Aaqib and other selectors convinced the team management to overlook Noman's fitness issues, with the PCB chairman's backing.

Just wanted to take a moment to appreciate Aqib Javed, the man of his word who truly changed the game for our home Test matches. When everyone mocked his vision for the Pindi pitch, Aqib came through and turned it into a spinner’s paradise! That’s the dedication we love to see, especially when so many doubted him.

But it wasn’t just about the pitch – Aqib brought back hope for our home Test series after years of inconsistent performances under Ramiz and Babar. Making tough calls, like dropping big names in favor of those actually delivering, was bold, and it’s exactly the kind of leadership that says results come first.

And a massive shout-out to Mohsin Naqvi for bringing in Aqib Javed! This vision and decision-making are what’s needed to elevate Pakistan cricket.

Aqib, keep doing what you’re doing. Here’s hoping we see even more progress in our home Test series in the future! 🏏💪

Aqib Javed changed everything. If it wasn't for him, Shan would have eventually reached undertaker wrestlemania streak but in reverse. He'd be 0-21 or 0-22 had aqib javed not stepped in.

Credit where it’s due. Aaqib Javed has made some bold and gutsy moves, especially by dropping underperforming players and giving opportunities to those who have consistently worked hard in domestic cricket. These players have remained prepared and eager to represent Pakistan whenever called upon, and now they finally have their chance. Many doubted that a spinning track could be prepared in Rawalpindi, but Aaqib proved otherwise, showing his willingness to experiment and think outside the box.
I firmly believe that a team can only improve when it has a strong bench, with players ready to step in and challenge the seniors, especially those out of form. Unfortunately, in Pakistan, the culture of favoritism and personal connections often hinders progress. Aaqib’s approach is a breath of fresh air, breaking away from those norms. Wishing him continued success in his role as a PCB selector. His decisions could be pivotal in taking the team to the next level.

I am not sure why people are digging up my 18 month old post, which has no relevance to the current situation or Aaqib Javed’s role as a PCB selector. Even back then, I agreed with post #47 in this thread, where someone made good points about the Lahore Qalandars’ management and Aaqib Javed’s efforts in giving opportunities to young players. It’s disappointing that some can’t simply enjoy the positive day for Pakistan cricket, as we’re getting closer to a series victory against a strong England team. And these individuals have the audacity to accuse others of not being true Pakistan cricket fans, claiming that we’re more obsessed with individual players than the country itself. This is absolutely pathetic beyond belief.
The PSL is just a domestic league where we pick our teams, support them, and engage in some friendly banter in these threads. When Lahore beat Multan in the finals, they deserved the trophy, and that should be the focus, not trivial issues.
For nearly 17 years as a passionate member, I have always shown respect to all players who perform well, regardless of the team they represent. I have never disrespected players from Pakistan or any other nation, including India, and have consistently praised their players and given credit where it’s due. I challenge anyone to find a post where I have needlessly disrespected a legend or a player from any country.

3rd spinner was useless though
Not necessarily

Playing 3 spinners and one seamer is a clear message to the opposition that the home team believes they will absolutely rag it. It has a massive psychological effect on the opposition, it’s like saying there is no respite if the ball is ragging because a spinner will still bowl from one end regardless.

This is a short term strategy that is finally working out for PCB. For a longer run, it needs to establish a good system and processes in place.

I think playing at home with 2 proper spinners is a strategy that is to stay for a long time.

Pakistan need to pick a line up that knows how to deal with spin. If that means Shan, Abdullah, Rizwan and Babar have to take a hike and you have to bring in 4 batters who know how to grind on turners from the domestics…so be it.

I respect Aqib for perseverance and eventually prevailing.

I do not hope that he interferes in the domain of others. That’s something I can’t support.

I respect Aqib for perseverance and eventually prevailing.

I do not hope that he interferes in the domain of others. That’s something I can’t support.
Aqib Javed snaked Gary Kirsten , Aqib Javed joined Rizwan to coup Gary , Aqib must be part of or planning to be in Saya Corp. All the above arguments will lead to this

Aqib didn’t snake anyone, he held his own ground insisting it will be him and his selectors calling the shots. That clearly wasn’t what G Kirsten signed up to.

Reports suggest Aqib wanted Salman Agha as the captain, not Rizwan. There has been PCB lobbying from within to twist him into agreeing with Rizwan for now.

Zyada mehnat na Kar. Thak jaye ga.

Aqib didn’t snake anyone, he held his own ground insisting it will be him and his selectors calling the shots. That clearly wasn’t what G Kirsten signed up to.

Reports suggest Aqib wanted Salman Agha as the captain, not Rizwan. There has been PCB lobbying from within to twist him into agreeing with Rizwan for now.
Amazing good political arguments to save Aqib. If Aqib is that principled then why is he accepting Rizwan as skipper, after all he is the darling of PCB now.

I know you are suffering because your dream of using Kirsten/Dhoni narrative for Rizwan has gone in tatters.

That doesn’t mean you keep flip flopping the narrative all the time.

Stick to one. Earlier you said Kirsten vouched for Rizwan….why then would he resign the next day? That makes no sense? He’s got the captain he vouched for? The key on-field man to execute his strategy? Why resign?

I know you are suffering because your dream of using Kirsten/Dhoni narrative for Rizwan has gone in tatters.

That doesn’t mean you keep flip flopping the narrative all the time.

Stick to one. Earlier you said Kirsten vouched for Rizwan….why then would he resign the next day? That makes no sense? He’s got the captain he vouched for? The key on-field man to execute his strategy? Why resign?
He resigned because his vote was cutt off in selections. Plain and simple Kirsten didn't liked it

So you are 100% sure it’s not because of the captain he ‘vouched’ for?

Be very careful in your response now. As time will go on, there will be plenty of things unveiling the truth.

So you are 100% sure it’s not because of the captain he ‘vouched’ for?

Be very careful in your response now. As time will go on, there will be plenty of things unveiling the truth.
Yes Kirsten didn't liked selection committee getting independent.

I think playing at home with 2 proper spinners is a strategy that is to stay for a long time.

Pakistan need to pick a line up that knows how to deal with spin. If that means Shan, Abdullah, Rizwan and Babar have to take a hike and you have to bring in 4 batters who know how to grind on turners from the domestics…so be it.
Saud and KG can. Infact England brought on a pacer to dismiss KG in the 3rd test.

They also did the same with Saud albeit they made the mistake of bringing him on too late.

2 series losses and aqib will be thrashed from all corners . Then PCB will look for another coach and selector . The circus continues

Aqib is made to look like a hero but the spin strategy will backfire overseas. We need to make sporting tracks to win at home. We need to build our pace attack as well. We can’t keep shielding our batsmen. This is a dangerous tactic. BD uses it and we know it won’t work in long term.

Pakistan will never have a team that will be able to win in all conditions. Pakistan would get pumped overseas most of the time even in 90’s and 2000’s when they had a lot of legends and great players.

As long as Pakistan is able to manufacture wins in home conditions, it is fine.

Pakistan will never have a team that will be able to win in all conditions. Pakistan would get pumped overseas most of the time even in 90’s and 2000’s when they had a lot of legends and great players.

As long as Pakistan is able to manufacture wins in home conditions, it is fine.
That is not correct. Pakistan performed better than most teams overseas in the 80s and 90s compared to most other teams and were about average in the 2000s as well. In the notorious 2010 series in England, Pakistan beat England and Australia in tests.

Pakistan has historically fared badly only in Australia and South Africa, conditions where the ball does not swing that much. But where it swings, our pace bowlers do well (England and NZ). We mostly won against England and NZ, and did decent in WI when they were the giants of the game.

I don't have a problem with us using spin to win at home but not at the expense of completely forgetting about pace bowling. We need to develop them as well. We should not completely sideline them at home. Pakistan has a rich history of pace bowling only because previous generations saw them in action first hand and were inspired by them to pick it up. No surprise that with no test cricket at home our pace bowling reserves have also gone down. This is something we should guard against.

This is what I like about Shan. He was adamant that we need to become a team that is able to score runs and take 20 wickets in any conditions and combination.

I don't follow him that much but if he is saying that, he is thinking along the right lines in my view. In order to be successful in test cricket you gotta have the bowling to take 20 wickets anywhere. I am surprised this even needs to be said.

Guy may not be a talented player. But I genuinely believe his heart is in the right place and ever since he has become Pakistan's test captain. He has been trying things. Anything that can and will work for Pakistan Cricket long-term.

I will consider Aqib a genius and the right person to deserve the charge if he works on our pace bowlers and produces test quality performances. Being a quality pace bowlers himself, I don't think it is an unreasonable ask. I realize there are challenges with quality pitches at home and the lack of desire of our premium pacers to play 4 day cricket but that's something we should absolutely emphasize right now.

That is not correct. Pakistan performed better than most teams overseas in the 80s and 90s compared to most other teams and were about average in the 2000s as well. In the notorious 2010 series in England, Pakistan beat England and Australia in tests.

Pakistan has historically fared badly only in Australia and South Africa, conditions where the ball does not swing that much. But where it swings, our pace bowlers do well (England and NZ). We mostly won against England and NZ, and did decent in WI when they were the giants of the game.

I don't have a problem with us using spin to win at home but not at the expense of completely forgetting about pace bowling. We need to develop them as well. We should not completely sideline them at home. Pakistan has a rich history of pace bowling only because previous generations saw them in action first hand and were inspired by them to pick it up. No surprise that with no test cricket at home our pace bowling reserves have also gone down. This is something we should guard against.
All teams now strong at home and struggle away from home. Pakistan needs to follow the tradition. The Indian model of producing turners at home works for Pakistan too.

I take your point that Pakistan should not completely neglect pacers but they cannot lose at home for the sake of player development that does not lead to guaranteed success. The pacers will have to find a way to develop on turning pitches and the best way of ensuring this would be to replicate these pitches in domestic cricket.

All teams now strong at home and struggle away from home. Pakistan needs to follow the tradition. The Indian model of producing turners at home works for Pakistan too.

I take your point that Pakistan should not completely neglect pacers but they cannot lose at home for the sake of player development that does not lead to guaranteed success. The pacers will have to find a way to develop on turning pitches and the best way of ensuring this would be to replicate these pitches in domestic cricket.
Yes. Kinda rude but Pakistan just don't play enough overseas cricket for it to be a priority. The only thing they need to do is make themselves an Asian powerhouse.

Sole aim should be to win all matches at home. In Bangladesh and in Sri Lanka. Everything else can wait.

Yes. Kinda rude but Pakistan just don't play enough overseas cricket for it to be a priority. The only thing they need to do is make themselves an Asian powerhouse.

Sole aim should be to win all matches at home. In Bangladesh and in Sri Lanka. Everything else can wait.
As long as Pakistan wins 99% of its home Test series and also wins in BD, SL & WI, it is a perfect world.

Aaqib Javed is being considered for two posts , Director High Performance which Gary wanted Reid , or White Ball Coach , atm Gillespie is elevated to this job. Aqib is being kept as trump card by Naqvi, will backfire eventually beause England got Complacent after winning the 1st Test and all that hue and cry of home advantage being counted is rubbish, World class teams should win in any conditions.

I think Pakistan's success in whiteball cricket was historically based on strong test pace .. and spin bowlers. We were never batting power house. You go to crucial white ball tournaments and our batting always collapses. This strategy is going to deprive us of not just strong test stats overseas but we will continue to get beaten to pulp in whiteball cricket as well.

I know most will disagree with me here but we already know how the PSL heroes have been found wanting on international stage with the white ball in hand. The 10 over, 4 over formats simply don't give bowlers the learning and mental edge. You need the longer formats and the experience of versatile conditions.

India used to use this Aqib Javed tactic in the 90s and look what it did for their pace bowlers. They had absolutely zero international quality pace bowlers till they set up the MRF pace academy and their overseas record used to be crap.

Anyhow, that's just me.

There were also strong calls to drop Harris Rauf for this series due to his poor form with the ball in recent ODI performances. Aqib stuck to his guns and persisted with him. It’s paid off massively.

Dropping Rauf from a series in Australia would have been peak PCB.

Rauf has always bowled well so his performances here aren’t surprising.

He struggles on flat pitches with low bounce, so he should either develop his skill-set or be removed from the team in such conditions.

Aqib has been revolutionary for Pakistan cricket so far alongwith rest of selection committee. It was a masterstroke to give authority of selection of playing 11 to the committee instead of captain. Need of the hour to kill player power and saya mafia.

Dropping Rauf from a series in Australia would have been peak PCB.

Rauf has always bowled well so his performances here aren’t surprising.

He struggles on flat pitches with low bounce, so he should either develop his skill-set or be removed from the team in such conditions.
Always bowled well in Australia*

Thank you for selecting the worst T20I squad in Pakistan history.

RizBar fanboys:

“Let’s pin this on Aqib”

Why don’t you pin the USA defeat on him too whilst your at it?

was aqib javid holding the bat for sir babar bradman? or rizwan gilchrist? or bowling for shaheen akram shah afridi?

you cant blame aqib when your regulars failed Naseem shah bowling at the econ of 18 runs per over lol

abbas afridi, salman agha, harris rauf, irfan niazi, even usmaan khan were all part of the setup even before aqib took over

sometimes i get confused if your stupid or act stupid which 1 is it?

Selecting Sahibzada in T20I cricket is a sackable offense. He has no business being in the team as long as Babar and Rizwan are around.

Aqib is out of his depth. Rizwan’s brilliant leadership will not save his incompetence every time.

When he fixed the test circuit and made pdi selections dropping shadab, Chacha and alot of useless players you didn't comment on it.

Now you despise him for t20? Or did you always hate him?

When he fixed the test circuit and made pdi selections dropping shadab, Chacha and alot of useless players you didn't comment on it.

Now you despise him for t20? Or did you always hate him?
He hates everyone who exposed the truth of Babar Azam.

If you guys want to know the real culprit who loat the game today its naseem Shah. You guys always blame the ones who aren't at fault.

Don't get me wrong batting is rubbish and I agree with my brothers @Rana And @emranabbas on how rubbish the batting was especially top 3 which went out early and put pressure on the rest,

However a target of 60 to 70 was chasable. Naseem Shah is 100% to blame for botching one very good spell from rauf.

Rauf bowled a poor 2nd spell however maseem was the main culprit of today's loss.

Another stupid decison made was by the captain to bowl naseem in the final over. He saw naseem was getting battered. Should have risked it with Agha. Australia bowled zampa at the end anyway.

This is not on aqib Naseem Shah has been a regular for 3 years now. He's a senior who shpuld have bowled more responsibly. Aqib isn't bowling for him lol

Selecting Sahibzada in T20I cricket is a sackable offense. He has no business being in the team as long as Babar and Rizwan are around.

Aqib is out of his depth. Rizwan’s brilliant leadership will not save his incompetence every time.
so sahibzada farhan was holding the bat for babar and rizwan?

rizwan - 0 off 2 balls
babar - 3 off 2 balls

explain the best batters in the team

The actual sackable offence is picking Babar and Rizwan for T20s having seen how useless they truly are in the modern era of white ball cricket, and the fact that Pakistan just CANNOT progress with these two immovable objects in the XI.

Aqib knew this well, he spoke about it many times in interviews. Yet he allowed the PCB to make Rizwan captain and sanctioned the selections of these two curses in the side.

So Mr Javed, I rate you for your bravery. But you have been a let down here. Should have put your foot down!

You have an issue with farhan who has the exact same sr as Bobby and rizzu? And recently rizzu and babar's avg haven't been anything special. Their also avg 28 to low 30's.

Their 50 to 49 avg in t20 are from 2019-2021 days.

I agree farhan shpuld only replace Abdullah in tests. I was one of the few to advocate him to not be selected in t20.

But I find it funny that you're advocating for Bobby and rizzu over farhan. All 3 are the same peas in a pod.

Rizwan is a smart enough captain to avoid including players like Farhan and Haseebullah in the XI, especially when both Babar and himself are already in the playing XI. He understands his own limitations and Babar’s, particularly in a T20 game. The playing XI today must have been selected by the selectors earlier this morning or yesterday, because it’s mind boggling that Farhan and Haseebullah were included in a 7 over game. This is exactly the issue that some posters raised when it was announced that the playing XI would be picked by Aaqib and the other selectors. I agree, this is possibly the worst T20I squad picked by our selectors.

I understand the reasoning behind Aaqib’s approach, though I don’t fully agree with it, just partially. He’s trying to restore faith in our domestic players by encouraging them to work hard and perform, with the promise that they will be given a proper opportunity. Unfortunately, many of our players from the 90s don’t fully grasp the dynamics of T20 cricket and continue to apply strategies that were effective in their era, but are outdated in the T20 format. Hopefully, he will learn and improve over time.

After reading such garbage Comments, I find it even more hilarious that you questioned my takes on POTW.

Rizzu has been claiming that this is his squad throughout the entire series. He chose it willingly, no one told him or made the selections for him
Tbh bro people like him are more likely to win POTW’s

They know how to write things in a way that resonates with the majority of the mass

Rizwan is a smart enough captain to avoid including players like Farhan and Haseebullah in the XI, especially when both Babar and himself are already in the playing XI. He understands his own limitations and Babar’s, particularly in a T20 game. The playing XI today must have been selected by the selectors earlier this morning or yesterday, because it’s mind boggling that Farhan and Haseebullah were included in a 7 over game. This is exactly the issue that some posters raised when it was announced that the playing XI would be picked by Aaqib and the other selectors. I agree, this is possibly the worst T20I squad picked by our selectors.
The playing XI is the same as before, with only Farhan and Haseebullah replacing Saim and Fakhar, so you'll need to find a different excuse. None of the players selected by Aqib have been included in the lineup either.

umair bin yousaf, arafat minhas, jahandad khan, sufyan muqeem were not even playing

were you not the one hyping rizwan for selecting so and so players and how he's utilizing them when we were wining vs austrlia?

so if Pakistan win credit to Rizwan if Pakistan loses blame everyone else

Tbh bro people like him are more likely to win POTW’s

They know how to write things in a way that resonates with the majority of the mass
Idrc about POTW. At the end of the day it's nothing more then a small pat on the back.

I just found it funny that he was critiquing it.

For example I listed why Australia won the world cup and he said some of the what I said was unfounded.

Yet here he writes a statement that's nothing more then his own opinion not substainated with any form of proof.

Just hypocritical that's all.

were you not the one hyping rizwan for selecting so and so players and how he's utilizing them when we were wining vs austrlia?

so if Pakistan win credit to Rizwan if Pakistan loses blame everyone else
Excellent pressing

They are supporters of apparently the most correct and truthful person available to captain Pakistan….but they choose to conveniently honest or dishonest in their arguments to support him when it suits them.

Given the current standard of our T20 batters, who struggle to consistently hit cleanly, Saim, despite his challenges in the T20 format, should have been included in the squad. However, I believe Aaqib’s decision is to keep Saim focused on ODIs, with the aim of fully preparing him for the upcoming Champions Trophy. That said, this is a strategy I don’t entirely agree with.

“Apka t20 formula kia hai? Openers 2 anchor hain na ok tw 3-4-5-6 pai bhi khilao anchors …. Jeetain gai? Nahi jeetain gai? Zaroor jeetain gai”

From Twitter

“Apka t20 formula kia hai? Openers 2 anchor hain na ok tw 3-4-5-6 pai bhi khilao anchors …. Jeetain gai? Nahi jeetain gai? Zaroor jeetain gai”

From Twitter
Thanks to sahd shakeel + Sajid and Nouman our test is no longer our weakest format and now t20 is our weakest format.

The team is a mess.