batandballbattle
Local Club Captain
Major cajones to make immensely controversial but nonetheless correct desicions.
Agha to captain. Riz has too many haters who'll put a lot of pressure on him.I will become a true Aaqaybian, if we drop Shan, Abdullah & Zahid for the next game. Bring in Hurraira, Tayab & Mehran.
Riz to captain.
Yeah maybe they can play a seamer who can reverse the ball3rd spinner was useless though
Rizwan is supposed to the ‘I am not a yes man’Agha to captain. Riz has too many haters who'll put a lot of pressure on him.
Yes going out of box I would use someone similar to Aamer Jamal who can bat a bit as well. Jahandad would be my pick. Guy can swing the new ball and has some batting talent. Haven't seen him reversing but action seems conduciveYeah maybe they can play a seamer who can reverse the ball
Watch out for SirajuddinYeah maybe they can play a seamer who can reverse the ball
A video of former Pakistan fast bowler Aaqib Javed laying out a confident plan for Pakistan to win a Test match at home has gone viral after Pakistan ended their nearly four-year winless run.This legend said, play with 3 spinners and dry the pitch
Typicallol Easy to win when your team is full of Superstars
It’s not about what your wrote 18 months agoI believe Shaheen changed the culture of his team
Not necessarily3rd spinner was useless though
I think playing at home with 2 proper spinners is a strategy that is to stay for a long time.This is a short term strategy that is finally working out for PCB. For a longer run, it needs to establish a good system and processes in place.
Aqib Javed snaked Gary Kirsten , Aqib Javed joined Rizwan to coup Gary , Aqib must be part of or planning to be in Saya Corp. All the above arguments will lead to thisI respect Aqib for perseverance and eventually prevailing.
I do not hope that he interferes in the domain of others. That’s something I can’t support.
Aqib Javed snaked Gary Kirsten , Aqib Javed joined Rizwan to coup Gary , Aqib must be part of or planning to be in Saya Corp. All the above arguments will lead to this
Amazing good political arguments to save Aqib. If Aqib is that principled then why is he accepting Rizwan as skipper, after all he is the darling of PCB now.Zyada mehnat na Kar. Thak jaye ga.
Aqib didn’t snake anyone, he held his own ground insisting it will be him and his selectors calling the shots. That clearly wasn’t what G Kirsten signed up to.
Reports suggest Aqib wanted Salman Agha as the captain, not Rizwan. There has been PCB lobbying from within to twist him into agreeing with Rizwan for now.
I know you are suffering because your dream of using Kirsten/Dhoni narrative for Rizwan has gone in tatters.Amazing good political arguments to save Aqib. If Aqib is that principled then why is he accepting Rizwan as skipper, after all he is the darling of PCB now.
He resigned because his vote was cutt off in selections. Plain and simple Kirsten didn't liked itI know you are suffering because your dream of using Kirsten/Dhoni narrative for Rizwan has gone in tatters.
That doesn’t mean you keep flip flopping the narrative all the time.
Stick to one. Earlier you said Kirsten vouched for Rizwan….why then would he resign the next day? That makes no sense? He’s got the captain he vouched for? The key on-field man to execute his strategy? Why resign?
So you are 100% sure it’s not because of the captain he ‘vouched’ for?He resigned because his vote was cutt off in selections. Plain and simple Kirsten didn't liked it
Yes Kirsten didn't liked selection committee getting independent.So you are 100% sure it’s not because of the captain he ‘vouched’ for?
Be very careful in your response now. As time will go on, there will be plenty of things unveiling the truth.
Is that your final answer?Yes Kirsten didn't liked selection committee getting independent.
Yes lock itIs that your final answer?
Lock Kar diya jaye?
Saud and KG can. Infact England brought on a pacer to dismiss KG in the 3rd test.I think playing at home with 2 proper spinners is a strategy that is to stay for a long time.
Pakistan need to pick a line up that knows how to deal with spin. If that means Shan, Abdullah, Rizwan and Babar have to take a hike and you have to bring in 4 batters who know how to grind on turners from the domestics…so be it.
So why did Rizwan take the job?Yes lock it
PCB appointed him , Crystal clearSo why did Rizwan take the job?
So he agreed to having no say in selection matters?PCB appointed him , Crystal clear
Pakistan will never have a team that will be able to win in all conditions. Pakistan would get pumped overseas most of the time even in 90’s and 2000’s when they had a lot of legends and great players.Aqib is made to look like a hero but the spin strategy will backfire overseas. We need to make sporting tracks to win at home. We need to build our pace attack as well. We can’t keep shielding our batsmen. This is a dangerous tactic. BD uses it and we know it won’t work in long term.
That is not correct. Pakistan performed better than most teams overseas in the 80s and 90s compared to most other teams and were about average in the 2000s as well. In the notorious 2010 series in England, Pakistan beat England and Australia in tests.Pakistan will never have a team that will be able to win in all conditions. Pakistan would get pumped overseas most of the time even in 90’s and 2000’s when they had a lot of legends and great players.
As long as Pakistan is able to manufacture wins in home conditions, it is fine.
This is what I like about Shan. He was adamant that we need to become a team that is able to score runs and take 20 wickets in any conditions and combination.Aqib is made to look like a hero but the spin strategy will backfire overseas. We need to make sporting tracks to win at home. We need to build our pace attack as well. We can’t keep shielding our batsmen. This is a dangerous tactic. BD uses it and we know it won’t work in long term.
I don't follow him that much but if he is saying that, he is thinking along the right lines in my view. In order to be successful in test cricket you gotta have the bowling to take 20 wickets anywhere. I am surprised this even needs to be said.This is what I like about Shan. He was adamant that we need to become a team that is able to score runs and take 20 wickets in any conditions and combination.
Guy may not be a talented player. But I genuinely believe his heart is in the right place and ever since he has become Pakistan's test captain. He has been trying things. Anything that can and will work for Pakistan Cricket long-term.I don't follow him that much but if he is saying that, he is thinking along the right lines in my view. In order to be successful in test cricket you gotta have the bowling to take 20 wickets anywhere. I am surprised this even needs to be said.
I will consider Aqib a genius and the right person to deserve the charge if he works on our pace bowlers and produces test quality performances. Being a quality pace bowlers himself, I don't think it is an unreasonable ask. I realize there are challenges with quality pitches at home and the lack of desire of our premium pacers to play 4 day cricket but that's something we should absolutely emphasize right now.Guy may not be a talented player. But I genuinely believe his heart is in the right place and ever since he has become Pakistan's test captain. He has been trying things. Anything that can and will work for Pakistan Cricket long-term.
All teams now strong at home and struggle away from home. Pakistan needs to follow the tradition. The Indian model of producing turners at home works for Pakistan too.That is not correct. Pakistan performed better than most teams overseas in the 80s and 90s compared to most other teams and were about average in the 2000s as well. In the notorious 2010 series in England, Pakistan beat England and Australia in tests.
Pakistan has historically fared badly only in Australia and South Africa, conditions where the ball does not swing that much. But where it swings, our pace bowlers do well (England and NZ). We mostly won against England and NZ, and did decent in WI when they were the giants of the game.
I don't have a problem with us using spin to win at home but not at the expense of completely forgetting about pace bowling. We need to develop them as well. We should not completely sideline them at home. Pakistan has a rich history of pace bowling only because previous generations saw them in action first hand and were inspired by them to pick it up. No surprise that with no test cricket at home our pace bowling reserves have also gone down. This is something we should guard against.
Yes. Kinda rude but Pakistan just don't play enough overseas cricket for it to be a priority. The only thing they need to do is make themselves an Asian powerhouse.All teams now strong at home and struggle away from home. Pakistan needs to follow the tradition. The Indian model of producing turners at home works for Pakistan too.
I take your point that Pakistan should not completely neglect pacers but they cannot lose at home for the sake of player development that does not lead to guaranteed success. The pacers will have to find a way to develop on turning pitches and the best way of ensuring this would be to replicate these pitches in domestic cricket.
As long as Pakistan wins 99% of its home Test series and also wins in BD, SL & WI, it is a perfect world.Yes. Kinda rude but Pakistan just don't play enough overseas cricket for it to be a priority. The only thing they need to do is make themselves an Asian powerhouse.
Sole aim should be to win all matches at home. In Bangladesh and in Sri Lanka. Everything else can wait.
I think Pakistan's success in whiteball cricket was historically based on strong test pace .. and spin bowlers. We were never batting power house. You go to crucial white ball tournaments and our batting always collapses. This strategy is going to deprive us of not just strong test stats overseas but we will continue to get beaten to pulp in whiteball cricket as well.Yes. Kinda rude but Pakistan just don't play enough overseas cricket for it to be a priority. The only thing they need to do is make themselves an Asian powerhouse.
Sole aim should be to win all matches at home. In Bangladesh and in Sri Lanka. Everything else can wait.
Dropping Rauf from a series in Australia would have been peak PCB.There were also strong calls to drop Harris Rauf for this series due to his poor form with the ball in recent ODI performances. Aqib stuck to his guns and persisted with him. It’s paid off massively.
Always bowled well in Australia*Dropping Rauf from a series in Australia would have been peak PCB.
Rauf has always bowled well so his performances here aren’t surprising.
He struggles on flat pitches with low bounce, so he should either develop his skill-set or be removed from the team in such conditions.
lets wait for StarcBall to takeover in Australia would be interesting how AqibBall will handle that humiliation.
He thought they were going to play for a draw.Thank you for selecting the worst T20I squad in Pakistan history.
was aqib javid holding the bat for sir babar bradman? or rizwan gilchrist? or bowling for shaheen akram shah afridi?Thank you for selecting the worst T20I squad in Pakistan history.
You have excellent thoughts but are too scared to tell us who’s a better keeper+batsman between Rizwan and Klaasen?He thought they were going to play for a draw.
Yeah just like Zaka Ashraf was holding back these curses during the 2023 World Cupwas aqib javid holding the bat for sir babar bradman? or rizwan gilchrist? or bowling for shaheen akram shah afridi?
When he fixed the test circuit and made pdi selections dropping shadab, Chacha and alot of useless players you didn't comment on it.Thank you for selecting the worst T20I squad in Pakistan history.
He hates everyone who exposed the truth of Babar Azam.When he fixed the test circuit and made pdi selections dropping shadab, Chacha and alot of useless players you didn't comment on it.
Now you despise him for t20? Or did you always hate him?
so sahibzada farhan was holding the bat for babar and rizwan?Selecting Sahibzada in T20I cricket is a sackable offense. He has no business being in the team as long as Babar and Rizwan are around.
Aqib is out of his depth. Rizwan’s brilliant leadership will not save his incompetence every time.
You have an issue with farhan who has the exact same sr as Bobby and rizzu? And recently rizzu and babar's avg haven't been anything special. Their also avg 28 to low 30's.Selecting Sahibzada in T20I cricket is a sackable offense. He has no business being in the team as long as Babar and Rizwan are around.
Aqib is out of his depth. Rizwan’s brilliant leadership will not save his incompetence every time.
Rizwan is a smart enough captain to avoid including players like Farhan and Haseebullah in the XI, especially when both Babar and himself are already in the playing XI. He understands his own limitations and Babar’s, particularly in a T20 game. The playing XI today must have been selected by the selectors earlier this morning or yesterday, because it’s mind boggling that Farhan and Haseebullah were included in a 7 over game. This is exactly the issue that some posters raised when it was announced that the playing XI would be picked by Aaqib and the other selectors. I agree, this is possibly the worst T20I squad picked by our selectors.Selecting Sahibzada in T20I cricket is a sackable offense. He has no business being in the team as long as Babar and Rizwan are around.
Tbh bro people like him are more likely to win POTW’sAfter reading such garbage Comments, I find it even more hilarious that you questioned my takes on POTW.
Rizzu has been claiming that this is his squad throughout the entire series. He chose it willingly, no one told him or made the selections for him
The playing XI is the same as before, with only Farhan and Haseebullah replacing Saim and Fakhar, so you'll need to find a different excuse. None of the players selected by Aqib have been included in the lineup either.Rizwan is a smart enough captain to avoid including players like Farhan and Haseebullah in the XI, especially when both Babar and himself are already in the playing XI. He understands his own limitations and Babar’s, particularly in a T20 game. The playing XI today must have been selected by the selectors earlier this morning or yesterday, because it’s mind boggling that Farhan and Haseebullah were included in a 7 over game. This is exactly the issue that some posters raised when it was announced that the playing XI would be picked by Aaqib and the other selectors. I agree, this is possibly the worst T20I squad picked by our selectors.
were you not the one hyping rizwan for selecting so and so players and how he's utilizing them when we were wining vs austrlia?Rizwan is a smart enough captain to avoid including players like Farhan and Haseebullah in the XI, especially when both Babar and himself are already in the playing XI. He understands his own limitations and Babar’s, particularly in a T20 game. The playing XI today must have been selected by the selectors earlier this morning or yesterday, because it’s mind boggling that Farhan and Haseebullah were included in a 7 over game. This is exactly the issue that some posters raised when it was announced that the playing XI would be picked by Aaqib and the other selectors. I agree, this is possibly the worst T20I squad picked by our selectors.
Idrc about POTW. At the end of the day it's nothing more then a small pat on the back.Tbh bro people like him are more likely to win POTW’s
They know how to write things in a way that resonates with the majority of the mass
Excellent pressingwere you not the one hyping rizwan for selecting so and so players and how he's utilizing them when we were wining vs austrlia?
so if Pakistan win credit to Rizwan if Pakistan loses blame everyone else
Thanks to sahd shakeel + Sajid and Nouman our test is no longer our weakest format and now t20 is our weakest format.“Apka t20 formula kia hai? Openers 2 anchor hain na ok tw 3-4-5-6 pai bhi khilao anchors …. Jeetain gai? Nahi jeetain gai? Zaroor jeetain gai”
From Twitter