[VIDEOS] Imad Wasim announces his retirement from international cricket

Victim as in?

The guy will be making a fortune until he retires. He can play in league after league, not have to worry about whether he will be picked for Pakistan, or whether he will get an NOC.

It's win, win for any player in this situation.

I'm not quite sure where you get your victim theory from.

He has to perform in the leagues to keep playing in these leagues. If he fails to perform in one of the leagues or has a bad season, he will fade into oblivion.

He will have a career as commentator . As we have been producing mostly uneducated players in last 2-3 decades who can't talk in front of camera , Imad has been an exception and will be a good addition as commentator.

The public perception is that Babar blocked his team selection, but Babar has gone and its time to show why you should have been picked and throw back in Babars face
Babar is gone , as captain only , but Yari Dosti gang still calling the shots.

Apparently, PCB & many former & few current players have happily acknowledged Imad's retirement decision. I thought PCB will ask him to take back his decision
Mission accomplished for them . No one cares about the team's performance , everyone wants to keep "apna banda" in the team.

Babar is gone , as captain only , but Yari Dosti gang still calling the shots.
We have a new selector, we have new coach and Imad has a chance to prove himself and prove people like me wrong. We PKs cant accept that someone has to make choices- right or wrong.

Why is he worried now?

Because the decline that began with the unjust ousting of Sarfaraz, and Rizwan’s hogging of the opening spot is the reason?

He doesn’t want to be remembered in history as the reason why Pakistan cricket basically killed itself?
I did not like how PCB kicked Sarfaraz out of everything and made him carry drinks for years. You just can't treat your captain like that. It absolutely killed me to see him on the bench all the time, but then Sarfaraz only had himself to blame. As for Rizwan, you know exactly what I think :)

PCB was the problem back then and PCB is the problem in Imad's case as well.

I don't entirely agree with hitthestump, but make no mistake about this, that dude knows what he is talking about.
Koi bhi doodh ka dhula huwa nahin hai

Let's see if Imad Wasim protests and leaves Karachi Kings.

According to reports on Twitter, Karachi Kings are negotiating with Multan Sultans on Shan Masoods transfer to Karachi Kings. If this goes through then Shan Masood will be leading Karachi Kings.

If we take out all the water from planet earth and then try to fit the egos of our players there, trust me we will run out of space.

Crocodile tears from Rizwan , he and his dosti yari gang has been the true culprit for not letting Imad selected in the team and forcing him to retire and now this message -------funny.

My thoughts exactly. In the spotlight this guy will do anything for his image and he’ll also do anything to garner sympathy, as evident by all the dancing and acting we saw during the World Cup.

Not surprised at all with this guy. Absolute nonsense that is intensifying by the day.

I don’t get his argument? So you are not allowed to have a personal, strong opinion if you want to be a great/respected cricketer in the world? Like what does he want Imad or others to do? Not have a personal ego? Who is anyone in this world to tell anyone to behave in a particular way?

There are set standards of behaviour that you must adhere to as a professional cricketer…what exactly does Imad do that doesn’t fit that standard? Does this bloke live and work in the Pakistan dressing room?

Am I allowed to just say here that Rizwan in my opinion is the most toxic/divisive individual in the Pakistan dressing room? I see from TV that he likes to form groups and alliances with the top brass of the management…who’s opinion on who is correct here?

The dark Misbah era has made a good number of Pakistan fans turn soft and that’s me putting it mildly. That’s exactly what the problem is. They’ve all become accustomed to the cake cutting and the dosti yaari culture.

If I’m a captain of the Pakistan team, I want the best team especially as mediocre as Pakistan to do the job. Given the level of mediocrity I can ill afford to exclude my key players.

i don’t care if you’re my friend, I don’t care if you have a past, I don’t care if I don’t get on with so and so, I don’t care if you want to see my downfall. At the end of the day, keep it professional and embrace the challenges that come with leadership.

This is the difference between men and boys. Babar actually needs to man up before he can even lead a group of men.

The dark Misbah era has made a good number of Pakistan fans turn soft and that’s me putting it mildly. That’s exactly what the problem is. They’ve all become accustomed to the cake cutting and the dosti yaari culture.

If I’m a captain of the Pakistan team, I want the best team especially as mediocre as Pakistan to do the job. Given the level of mediocrity I can ill afford to exclude my key players.

i don’t care if you’re my friend, I don’t care if you have a past, I don’t care if I don’t get on with so and so, I don’t care if you want to see my downfall. At the end of the day, keep it professional and embrace the challenges that come with leadership.

This is the difference between men and boys. Babar actually needs to man up before he can even lead a group of men.

This will be the last post on Misbah on this thread.

So what should we do? Give him 'Sitar-e-Imtiaz' for the innings against minnows that too 5 years ago? Isn't the same thing Nawaz did against India? But does that one innings make him 'Best all rounder in the world' ? No it doesn't, and same goes for Imad.

I mean no matter how unjust the system has been for you, you always have option to prove them wrong by your performance, rather than being clown on the Tv show.

Nawaz’s innings against India in Asia cup did not involve a finishing effort. That match was finished by Iftikhar. Whereas Imad finished the match against Afghanistan. Imad Wasim should have been selected in the team ahead of Nawaz, however he became a victim of the “dosti yaari” culture. Imad was proving his aptness through his performances in various leagues around the world. Yet he was constantly ignored due to the captain not liking him personally. Therefore he had every right to come and vent on tv shows.

Just for FYI in that Asia Cup Match against India Nawaz scored 42(20) & Iftikhar scored 2(1). Nawaz also won Tri Series Final in New Zealand in 2022

Yes Iftikhar hit 2 off 1 ball and finished the match. The guy who scored with 200 SR and changed the game, doesn't deserve to be called out. Anyway I am not Nawaz fan, he shouldn't be part of any squad, but that doesn't ake Imad a better performer. He was dropped due to poor performance and had chance to go though the process of performing in domestic but instead chose to rub shoulders with someone who spoiled nations name. Now your alleged dosti yaari circle is over, his and Amir's bestie Wahab is CS, if he was dropped unjustly then he bestie Wahab should have got him in the team, right ?

A mediocre player like Imad has so much discussion going on ? He is laughing all the way to the bank.

Lets be clear who made the decision to run away from Pakistan cricket, it was Imad.

It’s a player we can move on from, but would really have liked to see him feature in the next T20 World Cup given his experience in West Indies.

Let’s be honest he was unfairly dropped from T20 squad; also until he got on these shows, he was a very level headed and sensible individual.

bhai lekin dosti yaari thi naa 🤡 match se mtlb nai hai.
I am disappointed with Nawaz's failure as a bowler more than the batter and I also believe he should be dropped now. Imad's decision to retire is something which I am unable to fathom. He never played test cricket in his career; Pakistan doesn't play too many ODIs. There was no need to announce retirement from T20I, in fact he should have tried to earn his place back by playing domestic T20 tournament and competed with youngsters. Imad is wrong if he thinks he was treated unjustly, I don't have data but I want to know how many domestic T20s he played in Pakistan considering the fact that he was not a regular member of main team. Imad is wrong if he thinks that he can earn his place back by only playing league cricket

A mediocre player like Imad has so much discussion going on ? He is laughing all the way to the bank.

Lets be clear who made the decision to run away from Pakistan cricket, it was Imad.

Choose one

Mediocre or laughing to the bank

In my book, you cannot be mediocre and also be so successful.

I am disappointed with Nawaz's failure as a bowler more than the batter and I also believe he should be dropped now. Imad's decision to retire is something which I am unable to fathom. He never played test cricket in his career; Pakistan doesn't play too many ODIs. There was no need to announce retirement from T20I, in fact he should have tried to earn his place back by playing domestic T20 tournament and competed with youngsters. Imad is wrong if he thinks he was treated unjustly, I don't have data but I want to know how many domestic T20s he played in Pakistan considering the fact that he was not a regular member of main team. Imad is wrong if he thinks that he can earn his place back by only playing league cricket

He is not playing in global leagues to get selected for the Pakistan cricket team. He is playing in global leagues to earn money. I am shocked that, after retiring from international cricket, he blatantly flew to Dubai and is ready to participate in the T10 league.

And why is that an issue?

We all have the right to earn money and support our families in the way we feel comfortable with.

Pakistan think tank does not think he is capable - fair enough - so let him take a decision which benefits him.

It's not like PCB have some grand pension scheme to support these guys.

This is Pakistan cricket - mission statement? "Every man for himself"

Yes, it's true. Every person has the right to earn money in the way they feel comfortable. However, in the case of cricketers, and not only cricketers but any person representing their country at any level, they should prioritize national duty over personal benefits. This is because they have chosen to represent their nations for this purpose.

Imad still had 2-3 years to represent Pakistan. After that, he could retire and play in global leagues to boost his pension.

And why is that an issue?

We all have the right to earn money and support our families in the way we feel comfortable with.

Pakistan think tank does not think he is capable - fair enough - so let him take a decision which benefits him.

It's not like PCB have some grand pension scheme to support these guys.

This is Pakistan cricket - mission statement? "Every man for himself"
So let’s say Shaheen retires from international cricket tomorrow and decides to set himself up in England whilst playing leagues all around the world.

In time he gains citizenship and is selected for the IPL. He makes 100x more money than he would have if he represented his country.

Are you still going to say - what’s the issue here guys? Every man for himself.

Brother, this is about your country. Imad has not retired from cricket. He is an active player choosing to forego the national team.

A WC is 8 months away and he would have walked into a side that needed him. But as the terms weren’t suitable for him, he turned away from it and in the process you could argue he turned his back on his country.

Yes, obviously Imad has the right to do whatever he wants, as does anyone.

But was it the right thing to do with a WC so close? It’s not like he couldn’t have played a few leagues in between and then retired after the tournament. But if everyone else is playing National t20 for selection then it’s not consistent that Imad expects special treatment.

And even if Pakistan didn’t choose him…it is not anybody’s God given right to play for your country. But should you still be available to answer the call if and when it arrives? That is what this debate is all about.

And I think this doesn’t have as much to do with money as Imad feels slighted and he wants to “teach those people a lesson”.

Imad threw a hissy fit because Shaheen got the captaincy ahead of him. Previously he was unhappy that Shadab got the captaincy ahead of him. He also wanted to skip domestic cricket at the expense of T10 league and coming on WC TV shows.

Ahmed Shehzad gave up a lucrative WC TV contract in order to focus and play domestic cricket. Not everyone is a spoilt entitled princess like Imad.

Brother, this is about your country. Imad has not retired from cricket. He is an active player choosing to forego the national team.

A WC is 8 months away and he would have walked into a side that needed him. But as the terms weren’t suitable for him, he turned away from it and in the process you could argue he turned his back on his country.

Are you telling everyone here that the team he walked out on is a fair representation of what the Pakistan national cricket team should be?

It’s done now. The ‘country’ can have their chosen boys
Nawaz/Shadab/Agha/Iftikhar to play these roles all they like. Imad wasn’t needed in the last 2 years when these guys were getting a free run….Imad will not be missed now.

Enjoy the pathetic cricket that you people all hyped up to be the number 1 ODI and T20i side in the world.

Imad threw a hissy fit because Shaheen got the captaincy ahead of him. Previously he was unhappy that Shadab got the captaincy ahead of him. He also wanted to skip domestic cricket at the expense of T10 league and coming on WC TV shows

And why shouldn’t he? Why does the PCB keep employing these intellectually handicapped people to lead their national side?

Choose one

Mediocre or laughing to the bank

In my book, you cannot be mediocre and also be so successful.
A. T20 leagues pay way more than pakistan cricket games. B. T20 leagues are full of mediocre players(As everyone has been harping on last 2 months... from ganguly to Rameez)

Hence he is a mediocre player who has ditched pakistan to go earn money.

Imad is a bitter individual , who was confused about his next step, from saying he will sue PCB if they drop him... to admiring Babar Azam during NZ series when selected, then a few months later Babar doesn't deserve a spot in T20s when not selected for ODI WC. I believe toxic personalities like this have no place in PCT.

I think Imad just took retirement so that he can avoid playing domestic cricket and get to play the leagues. He will show up in PSL and depending on his performance there he will take back his retirement closer to the world t20.

A. T20 leagues pay way more than pakistan cricket games. B. T20 leagues are full of mediocre players(As everyone has been harping on last 2 months... from ganguly to Rameez)

Hence he is a mediocre player who has ditched pakistan to go earn money.

Imad is a bitter individual , who was confused about his next step, from saying he will sue PCB if they drop him... to admiring Babar Azam during NZ series when selected, then a few months later Babar doesn't deserve a spot in T20s when not selected for ODI WC. I believe toxic personalities like this have no place in PCT.

A. A player is not born to play for Pakistan - he can choose whichever route he feels is best for him, in the same way you and I are not obliged to serve in Pakistani Army to serve the nation

B. T20 Leagues are not charities. They pay players good money who actually perform and win them titles.

He is not toxic because he left Pakistan cricket - nothing in his farewell message said that. This is not the same as Mohammad Amir.

Hafeez, Wahab and Zaka have made it very clear that they will not go begging to Imad to over turn his decision.

Good on you Chacha

Keep playing. No barricades for you as your best mate selects you in the XI through his contacts anyways

Keep giving that large talk

Large Talk = Baree batain?

Crocodile tears from Rizwan , he and his dosti yari gang has been the true culprit for not letting Imad selected in the team and forcing him to retire and now this message -------funny.
Hahah... May be you are right. But don't forget how imad kept rizwan lurking in the background for years. You know it's just like the old famous saying "what goes around comes around". Anyways Imad himself was not interested in pak cricket anymore.

Imad has every right to make money but instead of retiring straightaway he should have tried to reach some deal with PCB. He was actually looking for some excuse to leave Pakistan cricket gracefully that's why he was playing victim card on news channels and mocking fellow players. He could have easily played T20I for another 2-3 years but he is not interested anymore

A. A player is not born to play for Pakistan - he can choose whichever route he feels is best for him, in the same way you and I are not obliged to serve in Pakistani Army to serve the nation

B. T20 Leagues are not charities. They pay players good money who actually perform and win them titles.

He is not toxic because he left Pakistan cricket - nothing in his farewell message said that. This is not the same as Mohammad Amir.
+1 many people leave Pakistan abroad for job opportunities. They are not seen as “ditching” Pakistan. If we used the same argument, they also went to schools in Pakistan and are indebted to the country.

However, as always the situation is being oversimplified:

1. Imad was unfairly dropped from ODIs and T20s. He had to secure league contracts to support himself and his family. Now, if the team wants him to drop these contacts and prove himself in domestic how can he trust the same management that is hapless and unreliable?

2. Imad is not Gary Sobers. But he would been a vital cog in the Pakistan’s team given his all round skills and experience in the Caribbean.

+1 many people leave Pakistan abroad for job opportunities. They are not seen as “ditching” Pakistan. If we used the same argument, they also went to schools in Pakistan and are indebted to the country.

However, as always the situation is being oversimplified:

1. Imad was unfairly dropped from ODIs and T20s. He had to secure league contracts to support himself and his family. Now, if the team wants him to drop these contacts and prove himself in domestic how can he trust the same management that is hapless and unreliable?

2. Imad is not Gary Sobers. But he would been a vital cog in the Pakistan’s team given his all round skills and experience in the Caribbean.

He only had to skip one t10 league lol. He plays plenty of them otherwise in what has been a lucrative career. He could easily extend his career as long as Imran Tahir did so why the rush to ditch the national side? Theres not much chance it’s solely to do with finances.

Also this idea of “how can he trust the management to pick him”. Frankly this is the excuse of a weak man, because weak men blame others for their shortcomings. Imad should be focused on what is in his hands which is to perform on the pitch.

In Imad’s case he averaged nearly 45 with the ball in ODI’s, then expects special treatment to be allowed to fly out to play a pointless league while everyone else trying to make the team is grinding domestics. Make it make sense.

The fact that Chacha and Malik are there says quite a lot. Malik has backed his chat and Chacha is showing no complacency. Both are respecting the selection processes are the same for everyone else who wants to wear the green. Kudos to them.

Hafeez, Wahab and Zaka have made it very clear that they will not go begging to Imad to over turn his decision.
I don't think anyone should and I don't think Imad would expect it.

He only had to skip one t10 league lol. He plays plenty of them otherwise in what has been a lucrative career. He could easily extend his career as long as Imran Tahir did so why the rush to ditch the national side? Theres not much chance it’s solely to do with finances.

Also this idea of “how can he trust the management to pick him”. Frankly this is the excuse of a weak man, because weak men blame others for their shortcomings. Imad should be focused on what is in his hands which is to perform on the pitch.

In Imad’s case he averaged nearly 45 with the ball in ODI’s, then expects special treatment to be allowed to fly out to play a pointless league while everyone else trying to make the team is grinding domestics. Make it make sense.

The fact that Chacha and Malik are there says quite a lot. Malik has backed his chat and Chacha is showing no complacency. Both are respecting the selection processes are the same for everyone else who wants to wear the green. Kudos to them.
We lack details on his role, and there are indications that PCB isn't granting NOC for BBL. It's not about lacking mettle; it's about unfair treatment. Babar, Shaheen, Shadab, and Nawaz shouldn't have to prove themselves disproportionately. In T20s, Imad's performed well with a 6.2 economy and a 21 average. He's a valuable all-rounder. Insisting he proves himself while non-performers get selected is unjust. Imad is a top T20 player and should be treated as such.

Discrediting him based on a 44 bowling average in ODIs overlooks his exceptional 4.8 ODI economy. His role is to maintain tight control, allowing others to attack. Additionally, his rare skill set as a no7 batsman with a 43 average and 110 strike rate is noteworthy. Comparatively, other no7s lack such consistency.

Lastly, comparisons with Malik, Iftikhar, Sarfaraz, and Sohail Khan are irrelevant. Imad's skills are in demand, evident by opportunities in CPL and BBL, where others might not be picked.

I don't think anyone should and I don't think Imad would expect it.
They should indeed. Their responsibility is to optimize Pakistan's resources and prevent the squandering of talent investments. Even if a player errs, effective leadership would intervene. This is why I oppose having former players in charge—what we need are not big egos but leaders committed to positioning Pakistan for World Cup victories.

We lack details on his role, and there are indications that PCB isn't granting NOC for BBL. It's not about lacking mettle; it's about unfair treatment. Babar, Shaheen, Shadab, and Nawaz shouldn't have to prove themselves disproportionately. In T20s, Imad's performed well with a 6.2 economy and a 21 average. He's a valuable all-rounder. Insisting he proves himself while non-performers get selected is unjust. Imad is a top T20 player and should be treated as such.

Discrediting him based on a 44 bowling average in ODIs overlooks his exceptional 4.8 ODI economy. His role is to maintain tight control, allowing others to attack. Additionally, his rare skill set as a no7 batsman with a 43 average and 110 strike rate is noteworthy. Comparatively, other no7s lack such consistency.

Lastly, comparisons with Malik, Iftikhar, Sarfaraz, and Sohail Khan are irrelevant. Imad's skills are in demand, evident by opportunities in CPL and BBL, where others might not be picked.
Good points well made. I agree that Imad was sidelined for non cricketing reasons and this was wrong. He has a right to feel hard done by.

I agree with what you have said. He is not toxic because he left Pakistan cricket to play leagues, but he is hated and considered toxic for reasons related to Karachi Kings, Northerns Region and what he says on media.

At KK, he treated Rizwan terribly. Kept him on the bench and played Chadwick Walton over him. Rizwan ended up proving him wrong by not only shifting his PSL team, but also winning the T20 Cricketer of the year award. Than, his usage of Qasim Akram that showed his insecurity as a captain to play another spinner.

Even in northerns region match, there was some argument between captain Shadab and him where many people assumed that it was related to Imad not being given captaincy for Northerns.

Than ever since he started the media gig, fans were not happy with the his comments on Babar. Just few weeks ago, he again said Rizwan shouldn't be opening in T20/

It his clear from his captaincy and his comments that he lacks visionary opinion on cricket and the reason why he got a gig with Geo Harna mana hai just to make masala comments with Amir and Razzaq. In one segment he was seen laughing on Babar Azam memes. You cannot insult the national captain that way.

He isn't toxic for leaving Pakistan, but his media gigs have made him look toxic.

At KK, he treated Rizwan terribly. Kept him on the bench and played Chadwick Walton over him. Rizwan ended up proving him wrong by not only shifting his PSL team, but also winning the T20 Cricketer of the year award. Than, his usage of Qasim Akram that showed his insecurity as a captain to play another spinner.
This was the correct decision and Rizwan has proven nobody wrong.

He is a below par T20 standard opener. Unless anchors and leg side hacks are your thing, Pakistan have not advanced or improved 1% having the so called Best T20 cricketer in their ranks.

This is the worst ever white ball side in Pakistan’s history, and it was built to accommodate Mohammad Rizwan only.

Imad was always right about him. He will be remembered in history as the man who spoke the truth and won the PSL by keeping Rizwan on the bench.

I agree with what you have said. He is not toxic because he left Pakistan cricket to play leagues, but he is hated and considered toxic for reasons related to Karachi Kings, Northerns Region and what he says on media.

Even in northerns region match, there was some argument between captain Shadab and him where many people assumed that it was related to Imad not being given captaincy for Northerns.

Than ever since he started the media gig, fans were not happy with the his comments on Babar. Just few weeks ago, he again said Rizwan shouldn't be opening in T20/

It his clear from his captaincy and his comments that he lacks visionary opinion on cricket and the reason why he got a gig with Geo Harna mana hai just to make masala comments with Amir and Razzaq. In one segment he was seen laughing on Babar Azam memes. You cannot insult the national captain that way.

He isn't toxic for leaving Pakistan, but his media gigs have made him look toxic.

When Rizwan was initially benched, he wasn't recognized as a T20 player, lacking a clear identity for power-hitting or stroke play. His unexpected inclusion in Pakistan 2021 side surprised many. Regardless, a leader has the prerogative to choose their playing XI, specially when he ended up winning the PSL tournament that year anyway. It doesn’t automatically establish bad intent.

Media comments suggesting Babar and Rizwan aren't ideal openers have been widespread, voiced by ex-cricketers, media figures, and Pakpassion commentators. Even current director and selector Wahab and Hafeez have criticized the Babar-Rizwan opening duo on record. Again, its not entirely relevant.

When Rizwan was initially benched, he wasn't recognized as a T20 player, lacking a clear identity for power-hitting or stroke play. His unexpected inclusion in Pakistan 2021 side surprised many. Regardless, a leader has the prerogative to choose their playing XI, specially when he ended up winning the PSL tournament that year anyway. It doesn’t automatically establish bad intent.

Media comments suggesting Babar and Rizwan aren't ideal openers have been widespread, voiced by ex-cricketers, media figures, and Pakpassion commentators. Even current director and selector Wahab and Hafeez have criticized the Babar-Rizwan opening duo on record. Again, its not entirely relevant.
Rizwan had been batting well in T20 since Peshawar Region days. He had also opened a few games for peshawar region aswell.

Infact, Rizwan had atleast 6-7 years of cricket experience with Peshawar region and SNGPL.

So is wasnt like he was a recognized T20 player. PSL is still a domestic league. Thing is, the captain of KK was a joke, not everyone is captaincy material or can identify a players potential. Which is why those comments that Imad made about Rizwan and than an year later Rizwan ends up winning the ICC T20 Player of the year award will always be the talking point of Imad's career when people will look back at him.

When someone like Misbah came in charge, he knew from his SNGPL days the potential Rizwan had and made him the opener.

This pair has chased down 200 runs and are the only batters that have defeated India in a world cup

Warning: Guys, this thread is not for discussing Rizwan or Babar. If you want to do so, please bump the relevant thread but no more off-topic discussion here!

Please explain to Major who is using Imad Wasim’s correct and proven decision to keep out Rizwan from his tournament winning combination as a negative against him.

It was the correct and hallmark decision of his career. History will remember Imad as the man who kept Rizwan out of his starting XI even though the lobby go play Rizwan in his side was very strong from the PCB and outside noise.

And Imad still lifted a PSL trophy without Rizwan having played any role in this.

Alhamdolillah

Please explain to Major who is using Imad Wasim’s correct and proven decision to keep out Rizwan from his tournament winning combination as a negative against him.

It was the correct and hallmark decision of his career. History will remember Imad as the man who kept Rizwan out of his starting XI even though the lobby go play Rizwan in his side was very strong from the PCB and outside noise.

And Imad still lifted a PSL trophy without Rizwan having played any role in this.

Alhamdolillah
Think history will better remember Rizwan in 2021 PSL where he captained Multan to winning the PSL as well as being the lead run scorer in that tournament.

Rizwan had been batting well in T20 since Peshawar Region days. He had also opened a few games for peshawar region aswell.

Infact, Rizwan had atleast 6-7 years of cricket experience with Peshawar region and SNGPL.

So is wasnt like he was a recognized T20 player. PSL is still a domestic league. Thing is, the captain of KK was a joke, not everyone is captaincy material or can identify a players potential. Which is why those comments that Imad made about Rizwan and than an year later Rizwan ends up winning the ICC T20 Player of the year award will always be the talking point of Imad's career when people will look back at him.

When someone like Misbah came in charge, he knew from his SNGPL days the potential Rizwan had and made him the opener.

This pair has chased down 200 runs and are the only batters that have defeated India in a world cup
There's no dispute over Imad's captaincy or talent-spotting abilities. However, before Rizwan's T20 debut, he was relatively unknown with KK, dispelling the notion of a vendetta. If Rizwan were benched now, an argument could be made.

In essence, the focus should be on not wasting Pakistan's talent. Quality players aren't easily found, and that's the pivotal consideration.

Imad is an upgrade over Nawaz for sure and he was hard done by. However let's not pretend by including him in the WC 23 team we would magically become world beaters. An team of Imad, Amir and Sharjeel couldn't even qualify for playoffs of PSL and some posters want us to assume they would win a WC.

Victim as in?

The guy will be making a fortune until he retires. He can play in league after league, not have to worry about whether he will be picked for Pakistan, or whether he will get an NOC.

It's win, win for any player in this situation.

I'm not quite sure where you get your victim theory from.

I have no doubt he'll be successful. The thing is what good is that success if he's not available for the country. Imad is fit and performing and while other cricketers are trying to stay in contention for the national team, he's gone the easier route and given up. Don't be shocked when he brings up comments about how he was hard done by PCB and could've had a longer international career when in fact he's the one choosing to resign.

Exactly. It's a loser mentality.

Things didn't go my way? Well, let me cry about it and then run off sulking. On the way out i'll throw some insults over to Babar on TV to teach him!!

All Imad had to do instead was grit his teeth and play the national t20 tournament like everyone else who is trying to play for their country. He would have dominated in this pathetic standard and secured his spot. Job done.

He could even have got some sweet retribution in the WC by letting his skills do the rest of the talking for him.

Bur sadly Imad Wasim has the same problem as Amir - entitlement. Both are talented cricketers but having their egos massaged supersedes everything else.

Good luck playing your leagues brother. When you cry victim for the rest of your life i hope one day you'll realise you did it to yourself.

Maybe he's hoping the PCB will come begging for him at the WT20 after he performs in a few leagues. Would be the ultimate revenge for him

Think history will better remember Rizwan in 2021 PSL where he captained Multan to winning the PSL as well as being the lead run scorer in that tournament.
No I think it will remember him for being kept out in order to maintain the team’s balance

I’m pretty sure Pakistan will have a good chance at winning the T20 World Cup if they follow Imad’s decision in 2020

No I think it will remember him for being kept out in order to maintain the team’s balance

I’m pretty sure Pakistan will have a good chance at winning the T20 World Cup if they follow Imad’s decision in 2020

How can Rizwan winning the PSL after leaving KK be discounted?

I know Imad is being discussed but don't do it for the sake of putting down Riz's achievement as captain for MS and his contributions.

How can Rizwan winning the PSL after leaving KK be discounted?

I know Imad is being discussed but don't do it for the sake of putting down Riz's achievement as captain for MS and his contributions.
I’m talking about basic cricket tactics

Imad’s decision to keep Rizwan out wasn’t personal. He did it for the best team balance. He played Walton over him…the right decision. He wanted to keep his opening combination of Sharjeel and Babar (who wasn’t captain and was on top of the world at the time with consistent performances). And he wanted a middle order, lower order hitter in his keeper

Well done to Rizwan for whatever he achieved in 2021 having found a new set up that could accommodate him…but Imad’s decision for the sake of his franchise was the correct decision, and it’s probably the decision Pakistan has to make going forward

Just to make 1 player work, you can’t completely unbalance your side…Pakistan have been doing that since 2020

Well done to Rizwan for whatever he achieved in 2021 having found a new set up that could accommodate him

That was a huge achievement. Multan Sultans was a newish franchise, left others in their wake.

Imad's KK did not win that season after Rizwan went to MS so what does that say about KK/Imad?

That was a huge achievement. Multan Sultans was a newish franchise, left others in their wake.

Imad's KK did not win that season after Rizwan went to MS so what does that say about KK/Imad?
MS haven’t won since 2021 so what does that say about Rizwan and his Galactico middle order of Russow, Miller, David and Pollard?

Same can be said about KK, no?

KK had PCB interference. It’s clear that they wanted Babar to either move to a franchise where he could captain or Kk had to appoint him as captain if they wanted to keep him. They were clearly derailed by all of this. Dean Jones passing away also has had a major impact, he was a great motivator to any dressing room.

Just how fast the night can change unfortunately

This is what Mohammad Hafeez said when asked to comment on Imad Wasim's retirement in today's press conference.

“When I took on the role, I communicated to Imad Wasim that he was in my plans for Pakistan cricket. He had not signed the central contract by then, although he had been awarded one. He made himself unavailable for the New Zealand series and then later announced his retirement. I wish the best for Imad as he has served Pakistan Cricket with utmost integrity. I personally called Mohammad Amir and told him that if he wants to play for Pakistan, he is free to take back his retirement and get back in the system. If he performs in domestic, he will be considered purely on the basis on merit. He communicated to me that he had moved on. I reached out to a few other players as well but my demand was the same that they perform in domestic cricket. At the end, you have to respect the player’s decision.”

good press conference by hafeez.

he said, he contacted both Amir and Imad, and Imad is not centrally contracted player as he hasnt signed it.

Amir said he moved on with life and is not interested in playing for Pakistan

Imad said, give him two days to reponed, after two days he told Hafeez that he is not be available for NZ tour. And after 2 days he announced his retirement.

Hafeez told Imad clearly that he is in there plans. So its not about whether Imad getting selected for NZ tour was a probability, he just did not want to play the NZ tour.

Anyways, i love how this time around the communication was open, and the players the sit on tv and whine about communication gap, themselves ran away. Because this time around when they were told about things before hand and what is the requirement from them, they faltered. Atleast, now Imad wont have the excuse that PCB was ignoring him.

Good from Hafeez, told things as it is.

And Hafeez also praised Imad that he served Pakistan with dignity and did not indulge in any act that compromised the games integrity.

This is what Mohammad Hafeez said when asked to comment on Imad Wasim's retirement in today's press conference.

“When I took on the role, I communicated to Imad Wasim that he was in my plans for Pakistan cricket. He had not signed the central contract by then, although he had been awarded one. He made himself unavailable for the New Zealand series and then later announced his retirement. I wish the best for Imad as he has served Pakistan Cricket with utmost integrity. I personally called Mohammad Amir and told him that if he wants to play for Pakistan, he is free to take back his retirement and get back in the system. If he performs in domestic, he will be considered purely on the basis on merit. He communicated to me that he had moved on. I reached out to a few other players as well but my demand was the same that they perform in domestic cricket. At the end, you have to respect the player’s decision.”
Very good stuff by Hafeez and good from him that he has told in public. Or else, guys like Amir and Imad would had spun this during there next media gig whining about no communication and were ignored.

Despite having issues with Amir, he still called him. Respect for Hafeez 🙏.

Clowns getting exposed!

Amir used Waqar and Misbah as an excuse to break free from the PCB Central Contract. He is eyeing the IPL which will become possible when he gets his British Passport within the next one or two years.

Great start by Hafeez. kudos to him for being professional

Some facts :

1. Imad was offered a contract by PCB, he didn't want to sign it

2. Imad was called by Hafeez, that he will be selecting him for next series, and imad made himself unavailable

3. A few days later he announced his retirement.

What hafeez has stated affirms what I said. Imad ran after money over his country. Bye bye Imad. A disapointing cricketer.

Imad is wrong here . The fact that he didn’t make himself available for Nz series is ridiculous. So much to come on tv and say Pakistan comes first and here doing the opposite. He could easily have played all the leagues after T20 WC . Good that hafeez has clearly exposed him .

Hafeez has always been honest with nation. Served to his best with bat as well as with ball despite having limited skills and talent and now doing same thing as a team director and HC.