[VIDEOS] Is Steven Smith the best batter you have ever seen?

In T20 game vs Sri Lanka:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/gvjn4d" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

(Reuters) – Australia batsman Steve Smith took to social media to reassure his fans he will be alright after suffering a concussion while attempting to save a six in Sunday’s Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in Sydney.

Smith made an acrobatic dive in an attempt to prevent a six but fell over the boundary rope and slammed his head on the ground.

Team-mates Pat Cummins and Glen Maxwell rushed to his aid while signalling to the medical staff to attend to Smith, who stayed down clutching his head.

“Thanks everyone for reaching out. My head has felt better but I will be ok,” Smith wrote on Twitter on Monday.

Australia beat Sri Lanka in a Super Over to take a 2-0 lead in the five-match series. The third T20I will be played in Canberra on Tuesday.

Australia tour Pakistan for a three-test series next month. The cricket board said Smith will miss the rest of the T20 series, but they expect him to make a full recovery in 6-7 days.

Smith is no stranger to concussions after he was hit on the head in the 2019 Ashes, forcing the 32-year-old to miss a match.

Smith’s concussion happened a day after Australian opening batter Will Pucovski was replaced in a domestic game due to concussion symptoms after receiving a knock on the head in the team’s warm-up.

Smith’s days as an all-format player could be numbered

Australia’s Twenty20 experiment is delivering findings which will have selectors testing the long-held belief batting great Steve Smith is a lock in all three national teams.

The notion a fit Smith could be left out of any Australian XI was once absurd but the greater emphasis on power in T20s and Josh Inglis’ rise have left the man regarded by his teammates as arguably the finest batter of their generation in unfamiliar territory.

Smith’s concussion, the result of a desperate piece of fielding gone wrong, has had the double whammy of denying him opportunities to impress against a lowly opponent and left the door open for an in-form up and comer to stake his international claims.

A bench player in Australia’s T20 World Cup success, Inglis is benefiting from Australia’s push to improve their squad depth. He could scarcely have done more in his first four games, at the highest level, his average of 44 and strike rate of 150 underlining why cricket great Shane Warne rates him so highly. He has also underlined his versatility with strong performances at No.3 and in the middle order at five.

Where it leaves Smith is unclear. The superstar batter has played his best T20 international cricket at first drop, but that spot belongs to Mitchell Marsh when he is next available. The only other position open is at five, which better suits players with the power to find, and clear, the boundary.

His situation is similar to that of Australia’s generational player in the women’s game Ellyse Perry, who sat out the T20 leg of the Ashes.

At the World Cup, Smith was deployed as an insurance card as they followed a mantra of playing fearless cricket, floating in the order in the event Australia required him to rescue them after early wickets. Smith had little impact in the tournament, continuing a trend which began at the start of 2021.

In his past nine games, Smith has scored just 82 runs at 18.4 at a strike rate of less than a run a ball. In four matches, Inglis has already hit double the number of boundaries Smith managed in a year.

IPL winner Warne and former national T20 selector Mark Waugh have both raised the question of whether Australia would be better placed instead with a player with more power.

“When you have Smith as Mr Fix-It, when he’s still there at the end, then [Matthew] Wade or [Marcus] Stoinis might not get a hit which means Australia won’t be able to post that huge score,” Warne said on Fox Cricket during the Sri Lanka series.

“You can’t waste these guys, these power hitters have to take up these deliveries. These guys have got to be out there.”

Franchises in the Indian Premier League have returned their verdict, snubbing him at last weekend’s mega auction. Twelve months earlier, Rajasthan Royals released him from a $2 million deal.

Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell, two of Australia’s most experienced exponents of T20, say Smith still has an important role to play with the bat, and with his on-field guidance as a senior player.

Smith’s teammates point to his twin 62-ball one-day centuries in one-day internationals against India in late 2020 as evidence he can score at a high rate.

“It gives people confidence we have arguably the best player of our generation there to mop things up with the bat if things don’t go to plan,” Stoinis said.

“It also means if you do lose wickets in the power play he comes in and you don’t expose someone like myself or Maxy, who are there for a different type of role.

“I have played a lot of T20 against and with Smudge. You watch Smudge in Big Bash and he’s not there to fix it up. He’s there to step around the stumps and hit sixes over square leg and hit inside out.

“His cricket brain, how he understands the game, how he plays the situation in front of him we can trust he’s doing the right thing that he believes for the team in that situation.”

Smith is one of Australia’s best players of spin, a middle-over staple in T20s, but Inglis, after some early hiccups, has proven himself to be comfortable against slow bowling.

“In Australia, it’s probably a little bit easier to play spin but his footwork patterns are really crisp,” Maxwell said.

“He’s able to move forward and back, use his feet, he sweeps both sides, which makes it a real handful to set a field against and he’s able to access different parts of the ground to put pressure on opposition, which is a massive key facing spin in any part of the world, really.”

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricke...player-could-be-numbered-20220219-p59xx5.html

At one point Steve Smith was among the most sought after batters during the Indian Premier League auctions, however, as things would turn out, the Australian superstar was given the cold shoulder in the IPL 2022 mega auction, going unsold. Never known to be a batter to tee-off from the word go, Smith has over time become adept at the anchor role, while others around him do the big-hitting. During IPL 2021, Smith played eight matches, scoring 152 runs at a strike-rate of 112.59. In the T20 World Cup, in four innings, Smith scored just 69 runs at a strike-rate of 97.18.

But now the 33-year-old has been given the license to go out there and take the attack to the bowlers.

"I'm pretty excited that tag's been taken off, to be honest with you," Smith told cricket.com.au ahead of Australia's Sri Lanka tour-opening T20I in Colombo.

"Diva (stand-in coach Michael di Venuto) actually told me the other day … he said 'we're getting rid of that tag, that's gone. Just go out and play freely. If you want to smack your first or second ball for six, go for it'.

"And I'm like, 'yeah, that's cool'.

"So now it's just about going out and playing freely and trusting my instincts, which I think I've done well over any format for a long time, instead of being a bit more reserved and trying not to get out, which I don't think the right way to play T20 cricket," said the right-hander.

"They've got rid of that 'Mr. Fix-it' tag."

It will be interesting to see how Smith goes about his job now. Fans could get to see him in his new role later today when Australia face hosts Sri Lanka in the first T20I in Colombo.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/the...se-to-thrill-ahead-of-sri-lanka-t20is-3044865

Steve Smith reaches his half-century off 98 balls - it's the 37th of his career (to go with 27 tons)

Long time he hasn't dominated the format.
Over the last 2/3 years I feel he bats slow after his early start.
That change maybe had something to do with the bodyline he was targeted with. But still comfortably the best batsman of his generation.

Steve might finally get a test century today. It's been a while since that's happened.

There it is! Steve Smith's century drought is broken after 1.5 years! 108* at the moment

Long time he hasn't dominated the format.
Over the last 2/3 years I feel he bats slow after his early start.
That change maybe had something to do with the bodyline he was targeted with. But still comfortably the best batsman of his generation.

Bodyline was outlawed in the 1930s. It refers to fielding positions mostly.

On the day when Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith finally tonned up together in the same Test, the student has tipped the master to re-embark on another run-scoring spree.

By Labuschagne's reckoning, the man he famously replaced as a concussion sub three years ago arrived at the seaside Galle ground on Friday morning with a zeroed-in look resembling the Smith of old.

The 33-year-old lived up to the billing as he piled on a flawless century against Sri Lanka and has the chance to go even bigger when he resumes his innings on 109no on day two.

Both Labuschagne, who was out for 104 in the second session, and Smith entered the second Test with a point to prove; the former having never previously reached triple-figures away from home, the latter having not made a ton in 18 months.

And Labuschagne admitted the manner of their exits in their series-opening win, him to a reverse-sweep for 13 and Smith to a run out for six, had only increased a feeling of underachievement.

"Both of us felt like we'd left some runs out there for the last few Tests," Labuschagne told reporters at stumps on day one with Australia 5-298. "So it was nice to cash in when we got an opportunity.

"From last week I was very disappointed … and obviously 'Smudge' (Smith) got run out, so that would have been very frustrating.

"The boys said this morning when he rocked up to the ground, he was in the 'Smudge' headspace and he looked locked in."

So it proved, as Smith dominated an overhauled Sri Lankan attack only featuring one of its members from the first Test.

It was the right-hander's first hundred since his 131 against India at the SCG during the 2020-21 home summer, having since struggled to replicate the awesome heights that peaked during the 2019 Ashes when Labuschagne also first made his mark in international cricket.

Having developed a rare bond and a reputation as Australian cricket's quirkiest duo, Labuschagne believes Smith's breakthrough ton could be the start of another golden run.

"With someone of his calibre it almost never feels like he's out of form," said the 28-year-old.

"For him and the standard he's set … is so high that when that standard drops a little bit, his expectations are still at that really high level.

"He's just a very harsh critic on himself and he set a standard for Australia for the last eight or nine years.

"So I never go 'Jeez, he's not hitting the ball well'. He was just a bit short of runs and then it's just a confidence thing.

"Getting that one today I think is really going to open up the floodgates and he could have a really big next 10 Tests or however many we have in the next year.

"I think it's just a nice relief to get the three figures."

Smith and Labuschagne have been Australia's most prolific top-order pair of recent years, are the ICC's current No.2 and 3-ranked Test batters and are typically the last two players to leave the nets at training.

But they have surprisingly often scored their runs without the other at the crease.

Their 134-run partnership against Sri Lanka was their second highest in Tests, having only put on more than 100 six times previously despite both being Australia's two most consistent run-getters in their 22 Tests together.

"Now I'm thinking about it, it's usually one of us getting out and one getting get a big score," said Labuschagne.

"It was really nice to spend some time together there. We haven't batted together for a century partnership in a few Tests."

https://www.cricket.com.au/news/ste...uschagne-australia-sri-lanka-galle/2022-07-08

Smith's stats in away countries as of July 9th, 2022

England - 59.55
India - 60.00
New Zealand - 131.00
Pakistan - 56.50
South Africa - 41.10
Sri Lanka - 56.85
UAE - 43.50
West Indies - 141.50

Yes, this is his away stats, not overall average. Overall away average - 61.32

Smith's stats in away countries as of July 9th, 2022

England - 59.55
India - 60.00
New Zealand - 131.00
Pakistan - 56.50
South Africa - 41.10
Sri Lanka - 56.85
UAE - 43.50
West Indies - 141.50

Yes, this is his away stats, not overall average. Overall away average - 61.32

Those are some otherworldly stats.

Australia's Steve Smith believes he can play a bigger role in this year's ICC Men's T20 World Cup campaign, should he be used in the hosts' tournament defence.

Making just 69 runs across four innings in last year's campaign, Smith has found fitting into Australia's T20I side tricky in recent times, often deployed to rebuild an innings after a poor start.

In spite of concerns of his game not being suited to the shortest format, the 33-year-old believes that he can be a valuable asset in national colours, as shown by a knock of 37* (27) to help the side to a series win against Sri Lanka in June.

“I feel like when I'm playing good T20 cricket, I'm in that team for sure," Smith told reporters on Tuesday.

“I think the role that I've been given in the last couple of years is the Mr. Fix-it sort of role, and that tag's been taken away from me now (since) the Sri Lanka tour."

While not known for brute force with the bat, Smith has played a number of dashing knocks in Australian colours, with all four of his half-centuries in T20Is coming at a strike rate of better than 140.

Should he be entrusted to up the run rate in the middle order, Smith feels he can compliment the likes of Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell and others around him, either posting ominous totals or chasing targets down in front of home fans.

"I felt like I could go out and just play with a lot more freedom naturally (in Sri Lanka) and not have any kind of hesitation in the back of my mind, like I need to be a bit more reserved or anything.”

“I can just take the game on and if I want to smack someone for six first ball, then I'm able to do that freely. When I'm playing my best, I play freely. I watch the ball and hit the gaps and just look to use the middle of my bat as much as possible.”

Australia's preparations for the tournament meanwhile have been struck a minor blow with news of Mitchell Marsh nursing an ankle injury.

Set to miss ODI Super League matches against Zimbabwe and New Zealand, the Australians are hoping to take the all-rounder to India in late September, with a three-match T20I series ideal preparation for their tournament defence.

Marsh is a rival to Smith for the No.3 spot, though Smith acknowledged his team-mate will play a big part in the home campaign.

“It's obviously not ideal for Mitch. He's been playing some really good white ball cricket recently."

"He was obviously a big part of our T20 World Cup campaign last year and I'm sure there's big plans for him this year, so I think the priority is to get him right for that."

Australia's T20 World Cup defence begins on 22 October, when they take on New Zealand in a re-match of the 2021 final in Sydney.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2768546

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Steve Smith launching a filthy slog over the fence because he knew it was a no-ball due to the number of fielders outside the circle 🤯<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvNZ</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PlayOfTheDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PlayOfTheDay</a> <a href="https://t.co/T3LFFjsCB8">pic.twitter.com/T3LFFjsCB8</a></p>— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) <a href="https://twitter.com/cricketcomau/status/1568869743049818116?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 11, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What a batsman. When it's not easy to score you can't find a better batsman than him.
He has bossed the last 2 ODI's.

Terrific innings, congratulations to him. Only 31 ODI hundreds short of Virat Kohli now. He is slowly getting there…

It seems that Australia will wait for Finch to retire after the World T20 to announce their new LOI captain.

I don’t expect Smith to play T20s after the WT20 and all format captaincy will be too much workload for Cummins, so it will be interesting to see who they pick.

Nonetheless, Smith would be an excellent short-term option for ODI captaincy until the 2023 World Cup.

Australia’s LOI teams are looking dangerous again. I won’t be surprised to see them defend their title in the upcoming WT20 and I think at this point, they are second big favorites for the 2023 World Cup after India.

England’s LOI teams have lost steam and their bowling is not potent enough without Archer. Besides, the retirement of Stokes from ODIs is a significant blow.

Morgan’s leadership will also be missed big time.

Accomplished 58* at the moment as he takes Australia to a comfortable win in 1st ODI vs England

Australian batter Steve Smith starred with an unbeaten 80 in the first ODI against England at the Adelaide Oval and hopes to cash in on his form and turn it into a big summer.

Smith's knock, along with half-centuries from David Warner and Travis Head helped Australia chase down a competitive score and register a six-wicket victory against England in Adelaide.

Smith looked in sublime touch during his knock, claiming that it is the best he had batted for in a long time. Speaking to the reporters after the game, Smith said, "It was probably the best I've felt in about six years. I was just in really nice positions and I felt really good, I honestly haven't felt that way in six years or so.

"It's been nice to score some runs in that time and we're always looking for perfection, and for me was close to perfection as I will get."

Smith has been struggling for form in recent times and featured in only one of Australia's matches at the T20 World Cup at home. This has raised some questions about his future in white-ball cricket, but the stunning knock against England again showcased what a brilliant performer Smith continues to be.

Smith also revealed that he had been working on making minor tweaks to his technique, in order to rediscover his best stance. The process has been ongoing for a year and has finally started to pay rewards.

"I've been working on a few things, it's almost been a six-month or 12-month process. The start of last summer, I tried to get my hands back to where they were in 2015. I feel like I'm staying a bit more side-on now and I've got my feet and hands in sync together," Smith explained on his technique change.

Hoping that his knock at Adelaide was the start of a big summer, a hopeful Smith concluded, "(Thursday) was probably the first time I've actually had extended time in the middle with that change. It's hard to base something on one innings but it felt as though things clicked for me like they did at the WACA (in a Test against England) in 2013. Hopefully, it's the start of a big summer."

Australia will face England in two more ODIs in Sydney and Melbourne before gearing up for some red-ball cricket. They will host West Indies for a two-match Test series followed by South Africa for three Tests in matches that will have a massive bearing on the World Test Championship standings.

ICC

2nd ODI v England:

Steve Smith falls short of a ton as he picks out Salt on the boundary. He departs for 94 with the Aussies 5-234 in the 44th

4BlZ9oV.png

Steve Smith in ODIs so far this season:

48*
47*
80*

Steve Smith Surpassed Babar Azam!

Highest Batting Average in Intl
(min 10000 runs)

53.92 - Virat Kohli
49.52 - Steve Smith*
49.51 - Babar Azam
49.10 - Jacques Kallis
49.03 - Joe Root
49.00 - Michael Hussey
48.75 - Viv Richards
48.52 - S Tendulkar

Best batsman is someone who has both good stats and great technique.

While Smith's stats are very impressive, his technique can't be taught to youngsters.

So, no. I wouldn't say he is the best batsman I have seen.

Steve Smith Surpassed Babar Azam!

Highest Batting Average in Intl
(min 10000 runs)

53.92 - Virat Kohli
49.52 - Steve Smith*
49.51 - Babar Azam
49.10 - Jacques Kallis
49.03 - Joe Root
49.00 - Michael Hussey
48.75 - Viv Richards
48.52 - S Tendulkar

Not fair to combine the averages in all formats and then compare. Different formats have different requirements.

Best test batsman of his generation.

Not even in top 10 LOI batsman of his generation.

Best test batsman I have seen.

A very good odi player like Gambhir.

Less said about t20s the better.

Never saw anyone better than him in Test cricket. Australia’s greatest since Don for sure.

But he is not the best batsman I have seen. That would be Kohli because I have never seen someone so good in all three formats of the game.

Never saw anyone better than him in Test cricket. Australia’s greatest since Don for sure.

But he is not the best batsman I have seen. That would be Kohli because I have never seen someone so good in all three formats of the game.

Agree ,Steve smith is perhaps best test batsman in this decade But Kohli's records Absolute insane in all formats, His fab four contemporaries don't look half of his ability in Loi's ,He created there Gulf Of Bradmanesque between him and among others , And i haven't seen someone who chase better than him 85+ around average while second best is around 45+ with kess strike rate.

Steve smith and kohli ,we are not gonna see past them anyone who will match their standards perhaps they are last now a days only T20 hacks and Batting getting easier with short boundries ,placid tracks, changing rules like 2 new balls tilted so much game in favour of batsman ,Hacks are making hundred for fun.

Steve Smith is easily the best test batsman I have seen in my life. And I have been watching cricket for over 20 years

The best since Bradman

Most effective Test player with unique Technique. That hunger he has is something to marvel at. Good role model wanna be Test players. You can have not so perfect technique butt you can succeed if you put your mind to it. I won't pay money to watch him bat. But i appreciate his consistency.

In BBL

Steve Smith's last 3 inns in #BBL12 - 66 off 33, 125* off 66, 101 off 56

Opening is the easiest job in cricket

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson would also have a strike rate of 150+ as T20 openers

First Australian snub that too for matches that happened in Australia followed by criticism against his acceleration ability. Then IPL snub. Seems like it motivated him big time. For a brief period he did play a decent finisher role in the IPL. Somewhere along the line he subconsciously lost it. Good to see him proving a point here. Australia may have to consider him for the next world cup

Opening is the easiest job in cricket

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson would also have a strike rate of 150+ as T20 openers
Kane Willamson? :yk
Bhai Rehne de, itna bhi easy nahi hai.
Even Buttler's strike rate is 144

Commentary debut for IPL

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">One more incredible ⭐ has been added to our team of experts and we’re proud to welcome <a href="https://twitter.com/stevesmith49?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@stevesmith49</a> to the Incredible Star Cast &#55358;&#56691;<br><br>Tune-in to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IPLonStar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IPLonStar</a> on Mar 31 | Broadcast starts at 5 PM & LIVE match at 7:30 PM<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShorOn?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShorOn</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GameOn?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GameOn</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BetterTogether?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BetterTogether</a> <a href="https://t.co/v1C9OLfaac">https://t.co/v1C9OLfaac</a> <a href="https://t.co/2YnpFxZmcs">pic.twitter.com/2YnpFxZmcs</a></p>— Star Sports (@StarSportsIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/StarSportsIndia/status/1640694780874092544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Most effective Test player with unique Technique. That hunger he has is something to marvel at. Good role model wanna be Test players. You can have not so perfect technique butt you can succeed if you put your mind to it. I won't pay money to watch him bat. But i appreciate his consistency.

He really doesn’t have a ‘technique’, but if he was Pakistani he’d be called a hack on here. Interesting how an unorthodox player from another country is hailed as something special, but one of your own is not. It’s no surprise you’re not producing those unique world class players you once did, you’re hounding them out of the game by not affording them the confidence to believe in their own methodology. That said, he bats like a tailender, has a large gap between bat and pad, often plays with an open face and does just about everything wrong. His only redeeming feature is that he sees the ball early and that works for him because of the slow, flat pitches and garbage bowling attacks; he knows the ball is going to do almost nothing at the other and so he can pretty much do what he wants. Any bowling attack of the 90s or earlier and he would never have made the Australian side, he’s very much a product of the deficiencies of ‘modern’ cricket. He’s there for the taking with any bowling attack that specialises in consistent late swing. Wasim would have had him back in the pavilion in an over, amongst others.

Speaking on Instagram, Steve Smith on PSL:

"I would love to come play at some point. I think it looks like a really great tournament"

Brilliant fielder as well Smith - good prep for The Ashes too!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WOW!<br><br>Steve Smith, that is a ridiculous slip catch!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LVCountyChamp?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LVCountyChamp</a> <a href="https://t.co/AoEotk10sy">pic.twitter.com/AoEotk10sy</a></p>— LV= Insurance County Championship (@CountyChamp) <a href="https://twitter.com/CountyChamp/status/1657752241439121408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 14, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Steve Smith clearly enjoying the batting!

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CtMJuNQAiXf/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="14" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CtMJuNQAiXf/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;">View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CtMJuNQAiXf/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by ICC (@icc)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

Big hundred expected from Steve Smith now that he is his 7th Hundred in England

India maestro Virat Kohli has revealed he is in awe of Steve Smith and believes the Australia star is the best Test batter of the current generation.

Smith continued his ongoing love affair with India when he brought up another century against Kohli's side in the ICC World Test Championship Final at The Oval on Thursday, with the right-hander helping put Australia in a dominant position in the one-off clash.

It was Smith's 31st Test century overall and ninth against India, and only the great Sachin Tendulkar (11) has scored more Test hundreds in matches between the two rivals.

While the debate continues to rage on who is the best batter in the world and will likely continue to be argued for many years to come, Kohli has no doubt it's the Australian that stands out from the rest.

"When it comes to Test cricket, I don’t think anyone is close to him in this generation," Kohli told the ICC.

"His adaptability, his ability to understand situations and play accordingly to the conditions in front of him is second to none.

"His record speaks for itself.

"To average almost 60 over a span of 85 or 90 games is unbelievable.

"He is the best Test player of our generation, there is no doubt about it.”

Kohli said much of India's planning prior to the World Test Championship Final was on how to quell Smith, but putting those plans into practice was often a difficult task.

"We have always had a challenge coming up against him and trying to find ways to get him out," Kohli added.

"Every opposition that plays against Australia is planning against him the most because of what he can do when he gets going.

"He's a truly amazing player and truly the best when it comes to playing Test cricket and adapting to different situations."

ICC

Is Steve Smith the most clutch batsman in cricket history?

His record in ICC tournament knock-out rounds (ODI and Tests)

5 (4) vs Pakistan, Semi-Final T20 World Cup 2010 (he was playing as a bowler)

1* (3) vs England, Final T20 World Cup 2010 (he was playing as a bowler)

65 (69) vs Pakistan, WC Quarter-Final 2015 (highest scorer in the match)

105 (93) vs India, WC Semi-Final 2015 (highest scorer in the match)

56* (71) vs New Zealand, WC Final 2015 (3rd highest scorer in the match)

85 (119) vs England, WC Semi-Final 2019 (highest scorer in the match)

5 (6) vs Pakistan, Semi-Final T20 World Cup

121 (268) and 34 (47) vs India, WTC Final 2023 (second highest scorer in the match)

So he played as a batsman in 7 innings and scored 50+ in 5 of them, with 2 tons and 3 fifties. He used to play as a bowler in 2010, batting at no. 8

Counting his stats as a batsman in ICC tournament knockouts

Inns - 7
Runs - 471
Avg - 78.50
100s - 2
50s - 3

And an equally good fielder! A brilliant catch to remove Virat Kohli on Day 5 of WTC23 final

FyVaCg4akAApAbh

Hussain: We are witnessing greatness

"32nd Test match hundred for Steve Smith, his second at Lords, we are witnessing greatness in front of our eyes. One of the all time greats just takes a hundred off England," says Nasser Hussain.

"Sensational, he's looked at absolute ease since he walked to the crease yesterday," says Ricky Pointing.

"His tempo through this innings has been brilliant, positive early on, got away to a bit of an early start, then back into his bubble, puts the bad balls away. Test match batting at it's best," adds Pointing.

Past his prime, still producing absolute top quality knocks like this one. 32nd century. Absolute legend.

Most international hundreds among active players:

Virat Kohli - 75
Joe Root - 46
David Warner - 45
Steven Smith - 44*
Rohit Sharma - 43

Only 1 GOAT in all formats

6-7k runs and 19 centuries away to catch Tendulkar. Can he do it? Does he have time on his side?

Great bat. But will always have the cheater tag because of his love for sandpaper.

6-7k runs and 19 centuries away to catch Tendulkar. Can he do it? Does he have time on his side?

Great bat. But will always have the cheater tag because of his love for sandpaper.

That has nothing to do with his batting. Smith hasn't failed any drug test. It only ruins his captaincy record.

What's really good about him is that he rarely misses out on a bad ball. More often than not he will hit a bad ball for 4 and keep the scoreboard ticking over.

His prime is gone. He's a hasbeen.

His prime was 2015. At that time he was arguably the 3rd best player In the world. Only behind kohli and de Villiers.

Rohit and dhawan were good but rohit was still in the development phase and hadn't quite entered the atg phase as of yet.

His prime is gone. He's a hasbeen.

His prime was 2015. At that time he was arguably the 3rd best player In the world. Only behind kohli and de Villiers.

Rohit and dhawan were good but rohit was still in the development phase and hadn't quite entered the atg phase as of yet.
He was better than Kohli in 2015