[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Arshad Nadeem - Pakistan's Javelin Throw star wins the first Gold Medal for Pakistan after 40 years in Paris Olympics 2024

He definitely would hve a say, but at the moment there are more important things in his plate, such as Afghan peace spoilers from India, terrorist funding and activities from India in Pakistan, regional peace, economy, etc. Pretty sure any good leader would prioritize that than sports given the circumstances.

whilst i agree that there is an order of priorities any politician would know that sports success brings a feel good factor to countries, and given what a bad state pakistan sports is in it was low hanging fruit.

pakistan sports is nose diving into oblivion, and the given the hyperbolic way imran talks about himself he should know better than anyone else that to undo the regression of one year might take the hard work of five years.

if he doesnt have the time then delegate it to someone competent.

If this guy was Indian he would have won medal.

He had no state backing and to achieve a 5th position is commendable considering the infrastructure facilities in pakistan are worse or non existant.

whilst i agree that there is an order of priorities any politician would know that sports success brings a feel good factor to countries, and given what a bad state pakistan sports is in it was low hanging fruit.

pakistan sports is nose diving into oblivion, and the given the hyperbolic way imran talks about himself he should know better than anyone else that to undo the regression of one year might take the hard work of five years.

I agree, a sports ministry is surely needed

Regardless of the result, he will go down in the history books as the first Pakistani athlete who featured in the finals of an athletics event in the Olympics.

And he didn't just feature, he progressed to the 2nd round of the final and finished just two places short of a medal. All with minimal support from the state. Many Pakistani athletes might feature in the finals of athletics events in the future, but he will always be the pioneer and for that matter, he should be respected highly. People might have just noticed him now but he's genuinely a good player in the sport and is probably the only Pakistani athlete who qualified for the Tokyo Olympics through direct qualification. He just needs to improve his personal best a bit higher to the top athletes in javelin throw and make more 85m+ throws and that will come only with proper training and support from the state. The Pak government should already be supporting him for the next Asian and commonwealth games in 2022 and the South asian games to be hosted in Lahore in 2023.

Regardless of the result, he will go down in the history books as the first Pakistani athlete who featured in the finals of an athletics event in the Olympics.

And he didn't just feature, he progressed to the 2nd round of the final and finished just two places short of a medal. All with minimal support from the state. Many Pakistani athletes might feature in the finals of athletics events in the future, but he will always be the pioneer and for that matter, he should be respected highly. People might have just noticed him now but he's genuinely a good player in the sport and is probably the only Pakistani athlete who qualified for the Tokyo Olympics through direct qualification. He just needs to improve his personal best a bit higher to the top athletes in javelin throw and make more 85m+ throws and that will come only with proper training and support from the state. The Pak government should already be supporting him for the next Asian and commonwealth games in 2022 and the South asian games to be hosted in Lahore in 2023.

Given his current age, he can definitely compete in the next 3 or even 4 Olympics. Very deserve of government support.

In my view he is already a star, finishing 5th in Olympics with no support from state is an incredible achievement. Are there no private sponsors who can take care of his expenses for next few years? He should also be rewarded to what he has achieved.

As they say, anyone who qualifies for Olympics directly without country quota is a champion.

Arshad Nadeem - Pakistan's Javelin Throw star from Mian Channu

Well done, Arshad Nadeem. He was consistently going over 80 metres, just that none of those went farther than Neeraj Chopra´s throw. He seems like a hard-working guy, and it was obvious that he was most determined to go home with a gold. I hope that he gets the required support and continues to develop his game.

I made a bit of personal history yesterday, as never before in my life I had watched any olympics game. It was fun, as a lot of us had got together to watch the live action, cheering for Arshad.

Well done to Neeraj. Well played and made his country proud. Congratulations!

What steps has Imran Khan taken for improving sports infrastructure in Pakistan. He has a triple PHD in sports as per him.

Nothing! Pakistanis were very hopeful in 2018, when Imran came to power, that there would be a revolution in sports and Imran being a former top sportsman would nurture a culture of sports and build sporting infrastructure. However, he has done nothing for sports much like how he has failed on the economic front.

There is a video circulating on social media in which Neeraj took a javelin on the recommendation of Arshad before one of his throws.

This is the beauty of sport, seems like Arshad and Neeraj got on very well during the competition. Excellent to see

I guess Neeraj Chopra will have a biopic filmed on him (deservedly so) but I hope there is also a good representation of Arshad on screen during this biopic.

There is a video circulating on social media in which Neeraj took a javelin on the recommendation of Arshad before one of his throws.

This is the beauty of sport, seems like Arshad and Neeraj got on very well during the competition. Excellent to see

Yes, they seem to get along well in general. Similar language, culture, background.

I guess Neeraj Chopra will have a biopic filmed on him (deservedly so) but I hope there is also a good representation of Arshad on screen during this biopic.

Akshay Kumar as Neeraj. Two random goras play the German athletes Vetter and Weber, the villains who keep throwing angry looks at Neeraj and sledge him in english. Arshad asks Neeraj to concentrate on getting the gold medal for Bharat and hands him the javelin as patriotic music blares in the background. Neeraj makes the record breaking throw and wins the medal while the Germans are devastated. As Neeraj ascends to accept his gold medal, Arshad claps in the back and says, "janaab, you're my idol" with a tear in his eyes in the climax.

Yup the camaraderie between the two is there to see

Akshay Kumar as Neeraj. Two random goras play the German athletes Vetter and Weber, the villains who keep throwing angry looks at Neeraj and sledge him in english. Arshad asks Neeraj to concentrate on getting the gold medal for Bharat and hands him the javelin as patriotic music blares in the background. Neeraj makes the record breaking throw and wins the medal while the Germans are devastated. As Neeraj ascends to accept his gold medal, Arshad claps in the back and says, "janaab, you're my idol" with a tear in his eyes in the climax.

You definitely have a future as a move script writer.

John Abraham should be Arshad

Agree. I have no interest in the Olympics, I only clicked on this thread because I saw it had 95 replies which seemed weird for an athlete who finished 5th, but seems like Muslim countries in general don't understand the importance of sport at a professional level. Then those with money end up paying through the nose to watch boxing and football from abroad.

On a serious note, Arshad and Neeraj have been competing together since their U20 days and they know each other well.

I mean they've been meeting in the asian games, south asian games and other javelin throw championships right from their junior days and it's not a surprise both share a good rapport with each other.

Agree. I have no interest in the Olympics, I only clicked on this thread because I saw it had 95 replies which seemed weird for an athlete who finished 5th, but seems like Muslim countries in general don't understand the importance of sport at a professional level. Then those with money end up paying through the nose to watch boxing and football from abroad.

Iran and a few central asian muslim countries often do well in combat sports like wrestling, etc. Turkey also bagged 2 golds this olympics. But yeah, the olympics is largely a battle between the anglo countries and the south east asian nations with a few african countries winning medals in sprinting and long distance running.

Central Asian countries do well in combat sports, in particular UFC which I assume isn't an Olympic sport, but that's because those sports don't really need much investment or money to at individual level at a competitive level.

Turkish football is actually quite well established at the professional level, but still no match for European leagues. I think their secular mindset has definitely contributed to advances in this regard.

which is strange considering from an islamic pov kids should be involved in swimming, horse riding and archery, and from my limited understanding of the rationale behind the hadith arguably stuff like wrestling, shooting, javelin, running too.

Perhaps because those are only seem as general life qualifications rather than competitive sports. Now I think about it, Islamic countries just don't encourage sport in the same way as the capitalist environment does where sport is seen as one of the biggest money spinners of all.

also parental attitudes, in the west sport is seen as a safe way of exposing kids to competition, whereas in desi countries at least that competition is virtually completely limited to academia.

Yep. I did a lot of sports growing up, but that was not met with approval from my parents. To them it was just a reason for hanging out with delinquents and a waste of time and energy. When people wonder why Pakistan doesn't produce footballers, I always think the primary reason is that sport just isn't respected as a profession over there. Even cricketers probably become successful despite their family rather than due to support.

Pakistan Test squad thanking Arshad!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/zla8x7" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Perhaps 100. But he knows exactly how much sleep he has got since then. 2.5 hours. It’s one thing he is looking forward to the most apart from his mother’s Choorma with Ghee when he lands in India on Monday.

He looks visibly tired in his zoom interviews, but the boyish smile never leaves his face. His Golden Javelin, with scant respect for past baggage, has not just pierced a 101-year old record for India, it has also announced the nation’s arrival into the Gold Standard club.

The 23-year-old won India’s first ever athletic gold in Olympics with a throw of 87.58m in his second attempt. He dominated the event and remained at the top of the field throughout the finale.

Subedar Neeraj Chopra from the Rajputana Rifle, has won 1.4 billion Indian hearts. And maybe some Pakistani fans as well.

On being asked about Arshad Nadeem, the Pakistani Javelin star who ended on 5th spot with a best effort of 84.62m, Neeraj told CNN-News18 that it would have been “good to have Nadeem on the podium too. Asia ka naam ho jata."

Before the finals the muqabala had got an Indo-Pak billing as Arshad, a year older than Neeraj, stunned the Qualification Group B with a throw of 85.16 m - a little less than Neeraj’s 86.65m in Group A but topping his group nevertheless.

He was Pakistan’s biggest medal hope but the sporting stars didn’t align for Arshad in the finals. He finished 5th.

Neeraj wasn’t exactly thrilled with the hype over the Indo-Pak contest. “Cricket mei chal jata hai, 7-8 countries hoti hai, par Olympic mei ye sab karna theek nahi hai (It’s okay to do the comparisons in cricket where 7-8 countries are taking part but not fair in Olympics),” he said.

A day after Neeraj’s historic gold, the Indian and Paksitani stars met at the dining hall right ahead of the closing ceremony. They shook hands and showed us why the spirit of sportsmanship is sometimes more important than the sport itself.

What did they talk about ? “He congratulated me with a big smile. I told him that he is looking tagra (strong) in his national costume. He did well and I wished him all the best for the future,” Neeraj revealed.

A conversation that may not ease tensions at the LOC, but one that has gladdened the hearts of sports fans on both the sides.

https://www.news18.com/news/sports/...on-the-indo-pak-rivalry-in-tokyo-4060241.html

Undeterred by recent loss, Arshad Nadeem vows to win medal in 2024 Olympics

KARACHI: Thanking the nation for supporting him in the Tokyo Olympics, Pakistan’s star javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem said he had learnt a lot from his recent experience and vowed to win a medal for the country in the Paris Olympics scheduled to be held in 2024, The News reported Monday.

In an interview from Tokyo on Sunday, Arshad Nadeem told The News, “In sports it happens. I tried my level best and knew that the whole nation was backing me at home. I made a huge effort but could not live up to the expectations.”

Arshad Nadeem, with a throw of 84.62 metres, finished fifth in the javelin throw final of the Tokyo Olympics. it marked a huge achievement for the Pakistani athlete, who was featuring in his maiden Olympics.

“No doubt I was feeling the pressure. The whole nation was backing me,” he added.

“It was definitely in my mind that I should not return without a medal but luck did not favour me and it has really disappointed me also.”

Arshad, a bronze medallist of the 2018 Asian Games, said his body did not respond properly and that upset him during the finals.

“There were two major reasons for my bad performance in the finals. It was very hot. And the other thing was that my body did not respond. It happened with me for the first time in my career. I don’t know why it happened,” he added.

“When I did my third throw which returned with a result of 84.62 metres, I felt dizzy and I could not see anything. I don’t know why it happened as I hadn’t experienced such a thing in the past," he said.

“After that, I went all out but my throws were not going the distance and I don’t know why it happened to me,” he added.

“Now there is a World Championship next year and the Asian Games, and lots of other events are coming up. Insha'Allah, I will pull off the desired performances,” Arshad said.

“It was a huge loss in Tokyo. But you see not a single athlete could pull off his best. In the finals too there was tough competition. Even Germany’s Johannes Vetter, the World No1, failed to qualify for the last eight athletes in the finals," said Arshad Nadeem.

The Pakistani Olympian said that it was his first Olympics and others in the competition were from developed countries, while he wasn't.

"I am from a village with no facilities. I am trying to get myself back and Insha'Allah I pledge that I will work harder and show more resolve in future to win a big title for the country," he added.

He said, “When you lose it helps you learn and it makes you stronger and Insha'Allah I will come back stronger. I will try my level best now to adapt myself as a professional athlete. I will now try to become more professional, train more professionally and in future I will show more confidence and pull off superb performances.”

When asked what had happened when he did not realise that it was his turn when he had to throw for the sixth and last time in the finals, Arshad said he was thinking about not disappointing his nation.

“Yes, it is true. Time was ticking and I was lost in my thoughts, not knowing that it was my turn. I was planning to do my best throw and win a medal and to not disappoint my nation," he said.

"A competition official, a lady, came to me and told me that it was my turn. I hastily rushed to the mark and started run-up and resultantly it was a foul. I did not even listen to my coach and doctor who were shouting to me that it was my turn," he added.

"And when I threw and knew that I lost my goal I was not in senses and was deeply sad. I was sad because the whole nation was praying for me and I could not live up to the nation’s expectations,” Arshad said.

India’s Neeraj Chopra, who won gold with an 87.58 metre throw, met Arshad during the closing ceremony on Sunday.

“When we were going for the closing ceremony, Chopra came to me and said that it was bad luck that I did not manage a good throw in the finals,” Arshad said.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/364265-arshad-nadeem-vows-to-win-medal-in-2024-paris-olympics

POA announces PKR1million, sports scholarship for Arshad Nadeem

Lahore: The Punjab Olympic Association (POA) has announced PKR1million and a sports scholarship for olympian Arshad Nadeem after he impressed the nation at Tokyo Olympics’ Javelin Throw final event.

Arshad finished fifth in the final with a best throw of 84.62m. In view of his performance and dedication, President POA Muhammad Amir Jan announced a cash prize and a sports scholarship for the athlete.

Amir termed Arshad as the ray of hope for young players and calling it a great achievement. Remember, he is the first Pakistani athlete in history to qualify for the final of any event at the Olympics.

India’s Neeraj bagged the Gold with the best throw of the final covering the distance of 87.58m. Czech Republic’s Jakub Vadlejch bagged silver with the second-best throw of 86.67m followed by his compatriot Vítězslav Veselý, winning Bronze with a throw of 85.44m.

In the qualifying round, Arshad threw his best, covering the distance of 85.16m. But, in the final, he missed three throws out of six.

https://arysports.tv/poa-announces-pkr1million-sports-scholarship-arshad-nadeem/

Damnn!!! Plz forward this to the maker of Dangal.

Amir Khan can play Neeraj

and Shah Rukh khan as arshad :))

Pakistan contingent’s chef-de-mission to the Tokyo Olympics Brig Zaheer Akhtar ended up critisizing Arshad nadeem :facepalm:

https://thecurrent.pk/arshad-nadeem...extensive-use-of-social-media-chief-pak-team/

This Brigadier guy is such a boomer. Literally every athlete uses social media, team usa basketball players were constantly tweeting during the tourney. Instead of congratulating the 24-year-old for his efforts coming 5th despite hailing from a poor family in a village with zero support from the federation and POC and try to reassure him that he'll do better in the future, this mans attacking him and being childish by blaming his "failure" on all these ancillary stuff after the event.

That's so stupid about that guy. Don't know him but what a stupid and offensive comments.

To claim he could throw 90 meter when his personal best is 86.38 is pure stupidity

I wonder how many other Arshad Nadeem's are out there waiting to to be spotted, waiting for decent facilities and waiting for decent coaches to work with.

Sports in Pakistan needs a wake-up call and an overhaul.

Pakistan contingent’s chef-de-mission to the Tokyo Olympics Brig Zaheer Akhtar ended up critisizing Arshad nadeem :facepalm:

https://thecurrent.pk/arshad-nadeem...extensive-use-of-social-media-chief-pak-team/

Nonstop social media usage by Arshad and his coach in between the qualifying and final rounds turned out to be the main reason behind this failure,” said Brig Zaheer.

These kinds of people should be kept far away from Olympic teams let alone being the head.

Coming 5th in the world, in any event, is a great effort. It is more commendable given the lack of resources. In fact, anyone simply qualifying in the finals in Olympics has to be really good.

I wonder how many other Arshad Nadeem's are out there waiting to to be spotted, waiting for decent facilities and waiting for decent coaches to work with.

Sports in Pakistan needs a wake-up call and an overhaul.

Javelin throw has some similarity with fast bowling. Pakistan can do well in this.

He is a general from the Pak military. That means he is better qualified than non-military people in running airlines, construction firms, bakeries, real estate firms, athletic organizations, foreign policy etc.

He's not a General, he's a Brigadier but we know you're trying to throw shade at Pakistani servicemen. High ranking military officers generally do a good job with administrative jobs but not in this case, that doesn't mean you can attack an institution.

“British tradition
See also: Brigadier (United Kingdom), Brigadier (India), and Brigadier (Sri Lanka)
In many countries, especially those formerly part of the British Empire, a brigadier is either the highest field rank or most junior general appointment, nominally commanding a brigade. It ranks above colonel and below major general.

The rank is used by the British Army, the Royal Marines, the Australian Army, the Bangladesh Army, the Indian Army, the Sri Lankan Army, the New Zealand Army, the Pakistan Army and several others. Although it is not always considered a general officer rank, it is always considered equivalent to the brigadier general and brigade general rank of other countries. In NATO forces, brigadier is OF-6 on the rank scale.

"The grade of brigadier-general, also called, almost interchangeably, brigadier, first appeared in the British army during the reign of King James II.”

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brigadier

“British tradition
See also: Brigadier (United Kingdom), Brigadier (India), and Brigadier (Sri Lanka)
In many countries, especially those formerly part of the British Empire, a brigadier is either the highest field rank or most junior general appointment, nominally commanding a brigade. It ranks above colonel and below major general.

The rank is used by the British Army, the Royal Marines, the Australian Army, the Bangladesh Army, the Indian Army, the Sri Lankan Army, the New Zealand Army, the Pakistan Army and several others. Although it is not always considered a general officer rank, it is always considered equivalent to the brigadier general and brigade general rank of other countries. In NATO forces, brigadier is OF-6 on the rank scale.

"The grade of brigadier-general, also called, almost interchangeably, brigadier, first appeared in the British army during the reign of King James II.”

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brigadier

This is such a stretch man, everyone knows a Brigadier isn't a General at least not in the Pak army.

I guess we have not seen the the last of Arshad Nadeem. He will grow bigger in sports.
Since he has been pitched against an Indian now by media, so I expect that some Pak sponsor will pick up the gauntlet and support Arshad. My guess is Pak Army

Talking to the Pakistani media from Tokyo, Brig Zaheer said Arshad Nadeem was capable of touching the 90-meter mark. Had he and his coach stayed focused on achieving the ultimate goal prior to the finals, they would have won the medal, he said.

“Nonstop social media use by Arshad and his coach in between the qualifying and final rounds turned out to be the main reason for this failure,” said Brig Zaheer. He said Arshad looked set to topple even the best as he gave an early indication of his talent during the qualifying round.

“When he threw javelin to over 85 meters in the qualifying round, Indian coach who trained the gold medalist Chopra was on record to have said that Arshad was the biggest threat to his athlete, having all the potential to win even Gold. Such was the impact of his qualifying round performance where he hardly put his full effort and yet he reached over 85 meters. The Indian camp was wary of Arshad and his potential,” he said.

According to Brig Zaheer, both Arshad and his coach Fayyaz Bokhari were seen using social media uninterruptedly despite clear instructions they should not do this. Later, he said, it was learnt that they even sent videos back home halfway into the competition, which was an act of indiscipline.

The contingent’s chef-de-mission said he had no doubt about Arshad’s talent. He said that Arshad’s coach was talking over the phone when finals were in progress. He said that is the reason why Arshad did not know that time was running out for his final throw. His half-hearted last attempt was made in haste, he said. With J Vetter already out, it should have been a direct contest between Arshad and Chopra for a Gold medal, he said. Sadly, that could not happen more due to Arshad and his coach’s excessive use of social media in between the qualifying round and finals.

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/09-...ive-use-of-social-media-phone-during-olympics

He is a general from the Pak military. That means he is better qualified than non-military people in running airlines, construction firms, bakeries, real estate firms, athletic organizations, foreign policy etc.

He is most probably an FA pass like the rest of our army wallahs

No they dont a good job. They mishandled the organizations. They think everyone can be trained under the danda. The are underqualified just based on their education which is usually fa pass

Organizations are able to benefit as they get to use the links of such officials

He is most probably an FA pass like the rest of our army wallahs

When you go through a military academy after high school and become a commissioned officer, you're not just a "high school graduate" you're no less educated and qualified than someone with an undergraduate degree or even graduate degree and the leadership, teamwork, problem-solving, critical analysis and management experience you gain in the military is invaluable, you can get every degree in the world and work your entire life but you'll never compare to a military officer, so never disrespect them.

Have you seen the state of organizations headed by military men, for example PIA?

A millitary man does not have the same kind of education as someone from a University.

You can talk about experiences and stuff. But there is a difference between civilian life and millitary life.

No where in the world does a geenral or brigadier get positions in the private sector like technology, IT, or sports.

This is dramaybazi that happens only in Pakistan and there is a reason why our institutions have become a joke.

An army office is an FA pass unless he gets proper formal degree whether you like it or not.

respect is earned.

You dont get respect just because you use ur titles in civilian world or by taking over posts that should be going to awaam.

Ultimately it's going be of no use if people forget his name after a few days and return to watching cricket until the next olympics at Paris when people watch the games and ask the same questions that why Pakistan hasn't won an olympic medal in years.

The people of Pakistan need to heap pressure on either their government or sporting bodies to support athletes like him so that he features in the next olympics instead of getting lost in obscurity and ends up working as a mason or a cabbie. Otherwise nothing will change in the next Olympics too and people will be asking the same questions in Paris they were asking after the Olympics in Tokyo, or Rio or London.

Ultimately it's going be of no use if people forget his name after a few days and return to watching cricket until the next olympics at Paris when people watch the games and ask the same questions that why Pakistan hasn't won an olympic medal in years.

The people of Pakistan need to heap pressure on either their government or sporting bodies to support athletes like him so that he features in the next olympics instead of getting lost in obscurity and ends up working as a mason or a cabbie. Otherwise nothing will change in the next Olympics too and people will be asking the same questions in Paris they were asking after the Olympics in Tokyo, or Rio or London.

Same with Indian athletes as well.

The shameful Jarnail Akram Sahi is now saying they spent 2 Crore on Arshad, when the budget of Athletic Associations annual budget itself is 30 Lakh.

Arshad did what I couldn’t, says coach

KARACHI:
Pakistan’s history making athlete Arsahd Nadeem will return to Pakistan on August 12, and his mentor-plus-coach Syed Fiaz Hussain Bokhari feels that he 24-year-old javelin-thrower has lived a dream for him, not just as an athlete but also as a Pakistani.

Bokhari, who has been training Arshad since 2014, feels that Arshad’s performance at the Olympics javelin throw final on August 7 was world-class, as he finished fifth in Tokyo.

“I just want to say that Arshad has done what I couldn’t do in my career as an athlete. He has done so much for us,” Bokhari told The Express Tribune. “His throws were world-class. Nowhere did he lose to a point of no return and I am proud of him. Back in 2014, I had told him that he can take Pakistan to Olympics and since then he has been a good student as well. He did what I couldn’t do.”

India’s Neeraj Chopra took the historic gold medal in athletics for India with an 87.58m throw, leading the competition throughout. Silver went to Czech Republic’s Jakub Vadlejch as he threw the second best throw in his fifth attempt (86.67m), while his compatriot Vitezslav Vesely grabbed bronze medal with an 85.44m throw in his third attempt.

Arshad became the first Pakistani athlete in the track and field events to qualify for the Olympics directly back in 2019 at the South Asian Games with an 86.29m throw in Nepal. Before that he also won Asian Games bronze medal in 2018 to put Pakistan athletics on the world map.

The boy from Mian Chunnu, Khanewal have been phenomenal with his athletic journey. He wanted to be a cricketer in the beginning but changed his path to become a track and field athlete as his brother had also been a shot-put athlete, besides playing football.

Arshad’s training mostly took place in Pakistan with Bokhari at his domestic department Wapda’s facilities.

Arshad only trained abroad for a short period, but both times since 2019, he became stranded.

First in China in 2020 with the Covid-19 outbreak, he had to be patient since his plans were brought to a halt due to the global pandemic. Arshad came back to Pakistan and trained at the empty stadium in Lahore, till he received the confirmation that the Tokyo Olympics have been postponed till 2021.

He returned to his village and only came back to the track earlier in 2021. He said that he had to keep himself mentally strong and motivated as he struggled with getting back in shape and made a successful comeback in Iran with an 86.38m throw that also turned out to be his season best.

Arshad then went to Turkey to train with Kazakhstan coach Viktor Yevsyukov, but again got stranded inTurkey due to the pandemic restrictions and also contracted the virus, which left him weak. But he did not lose the dream or the motivation to compete at the Olympics.

In Tokyo Arshad qualified for the final as the topper on Group B with a throw of 85.16, advancing to the final by throwing more than 83.50m, leaving behind many seasoned and top-notch athletes in his group.

“Everybody from home, my parents my village they were happy,” Arshad told the Express Tribune after his performance in the qualification. “My father said that he never felt the tears pouring out the way he did that day. That was the final for him. But I am just happy to be performing for Pakistan at the Olympics.”

Bokhari added that the performance in final, which led Arshad to finish on the fifth spot with an 84.62m as throw, was a good show.

“We did it with limited resources.He did it on his own and with some help from the Athletics Federation of Pakistan president. They supported us, but there is so much more to this performance.

“Arshad’s body did not respond the way we were expecting it to. There was also a lot of heat and he tried his best. It was a good attempt at the Olympics,” said Bokhari.

Arsahd and Bokhari are now eyeing the World Athletics Championship.

“Arshad’s throws were not bad by any standard. In fact they were all very competitive. If we look at it from the Asian Games and regional Games perspective, he was among the top 12. This is just the beginning and now he is focusing on the World Athletics Championship. We are going to prepare for that now,” said Bokhari as they both prepare to come home in the wee hours of August 12.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2315086/arshad-did-what-i-couldnt-says-coach

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan's star athlete Arshad Nadeem on Thursday demanded of the government to provide him adequate training facilities so as he could win a medal for the country in the next Olympics games scheduled to be held in 2024.

After putting up a tremendous performance at the Tokyo Olympics 2020, Javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem landed in Pakistan last night.

His plane landed at 1:30 am at Lahore's Allama Iqbal International Airport where a large number of sports enthusiasts had gathered to welcome him. Cheers and loud slogans filled the air as he arrived.

Punjab Minister for Youth and Sports Rai Taimoor Khan Bhatti, president of the Athletics Federation Pakistan, coaches and athletes received him at the airport.

Arshad Nadeem spoke to the media at the airport and thanked all the people who prayed for him.

"I got fame in the world owing to people's prayers," he said. "I will overcome my shortcomings and play the best game in the future."

Arshad Nadeem also vowed that he would not disappoint his admirers with his performance in future. "I worked hard and came fifth," he said.

The athlete also said he is grateful to the Pakistan Sports Board and Punjab Sports Board and expressed satisfaction with the bodies for patronising him.

Punjab sports minister lauded Arshad Nadeem, saying, "He has made us proud."

Later, Arshad Nadeem, along with a convey reached his home town Mian Channu and met with his father, brothers and other relatives. He was given a rousing welcome upon arrival at Mian Channu.

GEO

Track-and-field athlete Arshad Nadeem was given a hero's welcome upon his return to Pakistan after finishing fifth in the men's javelin throw event at the Tokyo Olympics.

Punjab Sports Minister Rai Taimoor Khan Bhatti and other officials received the athlete at the Lahore airport. In a tweet, the minister said that all national heroes must be appreciated.

Talking about embarking on a "new sports journey", he said that athletes must be provided with the necessary environment so that they can make the nation proud at an international level. "The government will take all possible steps in this regard," he said.

Video footage from outside the airport showed an emotional Nadeem greeting his mother and falling to his knees as fans and family showered him with rose petals and praise. The two embraced as bystanders and his mother comforted him.

Later, in his hometown of Mian Channu, Nadeem was welcomed by a crowd of admirers chanting his name alongside slogans of "Pakistan Zindabad". Citizens also took photographs with the athlete.

Last week, all eyes were on Nadeem as he competed in the final of the men's javelin throw despite having almost no support or infrastructure to train for the global event.

However, the hopes for a medal could not materialise as India's Neeraj Chopra claimed gold, whereas Czech Republic's Jakub Vadlejch and Vitezslav Vesely claimed silver and bronze medals.

Despite the loss, citizens were quick to laud the efforts of the athlete and congratulated him on making it to the final.

On Wednesday, a senate committee decided to honour Nadeem and weightlifter Talha Talib — who also narrowly missed out on a medal at the Olympics.

The Punjab government has also announced cash rewards of Rs1 million for Nadeem, Talib and mountaineer Shehroz Kashif for their recent stellar performances at the global level.

The man from Mian Channu
Nadeem is the country’s first track-and-field athlete to qualify directly for the Olympics and the first Pakistani to qualify for the final of any track-and-field event at the Games.

Arshad has a personal-best throw of 86.38m, which he achieved in April during his gold medal run at the Imam Raza Athletics Cup in Iran.

But it hasn't been an easy path for the 1.87m-tall athlete, who comes from a village in a wheat and cotton-producing area of Punjab. With sons and daughters put to work early, he had little time for his first love, cricket, and facilities and proper training were scarce.

Nadeem was an exceptionally versatile athlete in his early school years. Though he dabbled in all the sports on offer in his school — cricket, badminton, football and athletics — his passion was cricket.

But after a couple of years, he had to choose between cricket and athletics. The third oldest among five brothers, he took inspiration from his elder brothers, both of whom were athletes at the divisional level, and decided to pursue athletics after a thorough discussion with his coach.

“Leaving cricket behind was not easy, but it turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. My father was a labourer, we didn’t have the required resources or contacts to make it pro in cricket. My school’s PT [physical training] teachers Ajmal and Zafar looked after me well and helped me adjust to the change," he told Dawn EOS last year.

In a recent interview with Geo News, his father Muhammad Ashraf said that his son did not even have a ground to practice in. According to the report, Nadeem trained in his own house’s courtyard and the streets while money for fitness machines was provided by his father.

DAWN

Arshad Nadeem meeting the President of Pakistan

E8vMzZEXIAIfC3B

“Leaving cricket behind was not easy, but it turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. My father was a labourer, we didn’t have the required resources or contacts to make it pro in cricket. My school’s PT [physical training] teachers Ajmal and Zafar looked after me well and helped me adjust to the change," he told Dawn EOS last year.

In a recent interview with Geo News, his father Muhammad Ashraf said that his son did not even have a ground to practice in. According to the report, Nadeem trained in his own house’s courtyard and the streets while money for fitness machines was provided by his father.

DAWN

The amount this guy has achieved with zero resources is quite incredible. Pakistan can definitely produce many gold medal winners if its athletes had the necessary resources.

Olympians weightlifter Talha Talib and javelin athlete Arshad Nadeem have been given Rs 2.5 million each by WAPDA and Rs 2 million each by the Government of Punjab

India's golden boy, Neeraj Chopra, has been incredibly busy since his return from the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. While the entire country has been singing praises of his heroics, the ace athlete has made a big revelation from the gold medal-winning javelin throw final.

As Neeraj finished at the top of the podium with a throw of 87.58 meters, the remaining two podium places were filled by the Czech duo of Jakub Vadlejch and Vítězslav Veselý. Other than Neeraj, the eyes of fans from the Asian sub-continent were also on Pakistan's Arshad Nadeem, who eventually finished 5th in the standings.

Neeraj and Arshad have a cordial relationship with each other, having competed in a number of meets together. In the build-up to the Tokyo Games, a memorable picture of the two from the Asian Games 2018 had also resurfaced.

While a number of stories of the duo's participation in athletics events together have surfaced since the 2020 Tokyo Games, Neeraj has now narrated an interesting incident from his javelin throw final.

Speaking to the Times of India, the 23-year-old Indian revealed that he was not able to find his javelin right before he was about to register his first throw in the final. On looking around, Neeraj found his javelin in the hands of Arshad.

"I was searching for my javelin at the start of the final (in Olympics(. I was not able to find it. Suddenly, I saw Arshad Nadem was moving around with my javelin. Then I told him, 'Bhai give this javelin to me, it is my javelin! I have to throw with it'. He gave it back to me. That's why you must have seen I took my first throw hurriedly," Neeraj said.

In the interview, Neeraj was also asked about his relationship with other top athletes, to which he replied saying: "We share a good relationship, all the top javelin throwers. We talk nicely with each other and also congratulate one another on social media. If someone needs any kind of help, we don't take a backward step. All of them congratulated me."

Going from one felicitation ceremony to another, Neeraj has been collecting awards from state governments and sporting associations. The athlete, however, isn't too impressed with the mayhem around his gold saying the country can't be satisfied with a single gold and there needs to be a focus on performance in global events on a consistent basis.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...ke-first-throw-hurriedly-neeraj-chopra/803545

Tight slap to BJP IT cell, this is sweeter than the gold. [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I would request everyone to please not use me and my comments as a medium to further your vested interests and propaganda.<br>Sports teaches us to be together and united. I'm extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments.</p>— Neeraj Chopra (@Neeraj_chopra1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Neeraj_chopra1/status/1430817221308157954?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Tight slap to BJP IT cell, this is sweeter than the gold. [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I would request everyone to please not use me and my comments as a medium to further your vested interests and propaganda.<br>Sports teaches us to be together and united. I'm extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments.</p>— Neeraj Chopra (@Neeraj_chopra1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Neeraj_chopra1/status/1430817221308157954?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Why would Nadeem have a javelin that Neeraj was about to throw? Do they not have their own personal javelins?

It might be that he was just having a look at Neeraj's javelin. Sanghi IT cell was propagating yesterday that Nadeem was trying to sabotage Neeraj in the final by doing that. Neech aadmis.

My respect for Neeraj went sky high when he clarified to clear Nadeem's name. He could have easily kept mum but the guy seems to have some heart. Champion.

Per the video as explained by Neeraj himself, you can have your personal javelin but it can be used by anyone on the roster. It gets put in a common quiver (or whatever the holding pen is called).

If that's the case, then you could have quite a few situations like what occurred? Or was some other etiquette not followed?

It happens. A few months back, I recall a US female pole vaulter broke her pole. She was seen walking around looking for her back up pole (each athlete has his/her poles calibrated I guess). So another athlete came and gave her one. So the news being shared was how generous and sportswoman like was the other competitor that gave her the pole. But then the original athlete said that was MY pole that the competitor had taken and she was just returning :D

Kudos to Neeraj on quashing the rumors of sabotage!

It might be that he was just having a look at Neeraj's javelin. Sanghi IT cell was propagating yesterday that Nadeem was trying to sabotage Neeraj in the final by doing that. Neech aadmis.

My respect for Neeraj went sky high when he clarified to clear Nadeem's name. He could have easily kept mum but the guy seems to have some heart. Champion.

There is no assigned javelin I believe. Like people can bring own but has to be put in a common pool and anyone can use to practice.

Well said, Neeraj Chopra!

What an abomination these devotees are! Take their gutter level communal agenda everywhere.

This man is a bigger champ for just being sane in currently insane India, not just for winning an Olympics gold. Voice of reason!

A few days back after being totally exasperated & falling sick from those endless functions organized by these clueless sanghis, he said we need not be satisfied and celebrate just 1 gold endlessly. We need to win more golds.

The return of Neeraj Chopra from an incredibly successful gold medal-winning campaign at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics saw the javelin thrower being showered with accolades. However, Neeraj too found himself triggering a controversy as he revealed a story involving Pakistan's Arshad Nadeem from the javelin throw final.

The story soon took an ugly turn as Arshad started to receive hate over his handling of Neeraj's javelin right before the latter was to take his first throw. The situation turned so ugly that Neeraj had to take to Twitter to slam those with 'vested interests'.

Even fellow Indian medal-winner from the 2020 Tokyo Games, Bajrang Puni, backed Neeraj over his support of Arshad on the controversy. The bronze medal-winning Indian wrestler said that even other athletes deserve respect, no matter where they are from Pakistan or another country.

“Whether the athlete is from Pakistan or any other country, he represents his nation. He is a sportsperson first. So it’s not like we’ll say something against that person because he is from Pakistan. There should be respect for athletes,” wrestler Bajrang was quoted as saying by Indian Express.

Other than hitting out at those trying to giving his statement a political twist for their own interests, Neeraj said that sports is a platform that unites people and it's sad to see people using it for their propaganda.

On Thursday, Chopra said on Twitter: “I would request everyone to please not use me and my comments as a medium to further your vested interests and propaganda. Sports teaches us to be together and united. I’m extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments.”

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...-chopra-over-arshad-nadeem-controversy/804817

Well said, Neeraj Chopra!

What an abomination these devotees are! Take their gutter level communal agenda everywhere.

Instead of celebrating the success of our Olympic medalists some of these Sanghis were trying to communalize and spread hate towards Pakistan and as an extension Indian Muslims.

Jobless, low IQ, evil species these saffron clowns. They can never do anything positive.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“Whether the athlete is from Pakistan or any other country, he represents his nation. He is a sportsperson first. It’s not like we’ll say something against that person because he is from Pakistan. There should be respect for athletes,” Bajrang Punia said.<a href="https://t.co/LCsSpHBvSt">https://t.co/LCsSpHBvSt</a></p>— The Wire (@thewire_in) <a href="https://twitter.com/thewire_in/status/1431617832769445888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 28, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">An issue is being made over Neeraj Chopra (regarding Arshad Nadeem). Athletes are athletes regardless of their nationality. We're opponents on ground but brothers outside it. Sports don't teach us to harbour malice. It teaches us to unite & not be divided: Wrestler Bajrang Punia <a href="https://t.co/dxdFMdGy6E">pic.twitter.com/dxdFMdGy6E</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1431523842921431043?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 28, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

They were trying to appropriate Tokyo gold medalist Neeraj Chopra, tight slap.

They were trying to appropriate Tokyo bronze medalist Bajrang Punia, tight slap.

Long may it continue, agents of hate deserve only slaps in a civilized society.

LAHORE: Pakistan’s star athlete Arshad Nadeem won everyone's hearts with his stellar performance at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 but prior to the event, he had decided not to participate in the grand event due to pain in his arm, revealed Dr Asad Abbas, who was the member of Pakistani contingent at the Games.

Talking to Geo News, Dr Asad Abbas said that Arshad Nadeem had been facing difficulty in throwing javelin owing to arm pain. Hence, he had decided to avoid the Tokyo Olympics.

Arshad Nadeem got rid of the pain after he started his physiotherapy, the doctor said, adding that the star javelin later changed his mind when he became fit for the competition.

During the Tokyo Olympics, Nadeem was hesitant while throwing the javelin due to the fear of the pain. Arshad Nadeem demonstrated his best performance during the competition after he was assured that the pain would not reemerge.

Responding to a question, Dr Asad Abbas said that the coach of the Indian javelin thrower was "nervous during the competition" considering Nadeem's arm pain but was of the view that the star performer was capable of a throw measuring more than 90 meters.

GEO

==

Great to see such cooperation.

Instead of celebrating the success of our Olympic medalists some of these Sanghis were trying to communalize and spread hate towards Pakistan and as an extension Indian Muslims.

Jobless, low IQ, evil species these saffron clowns. They can never do anything positive.
These guys are the lowest **** on planet earth. Will vitiate atmosphere even when there is no animosity between Hindus & Muslims.

Will be happiest when these unemployed bigots are consigned to their natural habitat, which is gutter.

KARACHI: Pakistan’s javelin throw Olympian, Arshad Nadeem thanked his ideal Neeraj Chopra for defending him against Indian media’s propaganda.

Arshad was awarded cash prizes for his Tokyo Olympics 2020 performance in a private ceremony here at a local university.

While talking on the occasion, the Pakistani hero thanked his hero on the field Neeraj for supporting him throughout.

“Neeraj Bhai is really a good man and we spent a lot of time together,” he shared. “I felt too happy when he schooled Indian media for propagating against me. I admire him and looking forward to good relations with him,” he added.

It must be noted here that Indian media alleged Arshad of impairing Neeraj’s javelin before his throw in the final of the event. The propaganda started with Neeraj’s statement in which he said “I was searching for my javelin at the start of the final. I was not able to find it. Suddenly, I saw Arshad was moving around with my javelin. Then I told him, ‘Bhai give this javelin to me, it is my javelin! I have to throw with it’. Then he gave it back to me. That’s why you must have seen I took my first throw hurriedly.”

Later on, Neeraj corrected Indian media for false propagations against his Pakistani counterpart. “I am hurt that they [media] are propagating it and using my name. Please don’t do this as sports teaches us to be together and united. I’m extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments,” he had said in a Twitter video.

ARY

Pakistan javelin-thrower Arshad flies to South Africa for training

KARACHI: Pakistan’s javelin-thrower Arshad Nadeem has flown to South Africa for training under the supervision of the World Athletics Coach, here on Thursday.

Ahead of his departure to South Africa for international level training, Arshad showed his gratitude towards the sports federation.

“I am thankful to the federation for arranging the international level training,” he said.

“President of the Federation Akram Sahi has done his best to provide an opportunity for me to train under the supervision of the world athletic coach,” Arshad added.

Furthermore, the star athlete Arshad expressed happiness and also thanked Pakistan Sports Board and Sports Board Punjab for providing the facilities in the camp.

“Pakistan Sports Board and Sports Board Punjab provided excellent facilities in the camp,” he said.

The star athlete also vows to fill the gaps left in his Olympics performance, while aiming to perform well in the upcoming world athletics and other events.

“After performing well in the Olympics, the goal is to perform well in world athletics and others,” he said.

“I will try to get a medal by filling the gap left in the Olympics,” he concluded.

It is pertinent to mention here that Arshad provided a glimmer of hope of a rare Olympic medal last year in June. In the Group-B stage of the Tokyo Olympics, the athlete topped the ranking chart, however, remained unlucky in the final stage.

The athlete could not deliver on the final stage and finished at the fifth position. India’s Neeraj Chopra won the Gold-medal.

https://a-sports.tv/pakistan-javelin-thrower-arshad-flies-south-africa-training/

Despite carrying a chronic elbow injury, Pakistan’s top javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem on Thursday vowed to compete in all major international competitions including World Championships, Commonwealth Games and the Islamic Games during 2022.

“Injuries are part of every athlete’s life; they come and go but I am ready to represent Pakistan at this year’s World Championships, Commonwealth Games and the Islamic Games,” Arshad said and regretted that the Asian Games, which were scheduled to be held in Hangzhou, China from Sept 10-25, had been postponed indefinitely due to the resurgence of Covid-19 in the East Asian country.

The 25-year-old Arshad, who rose to prominence last year by becoming Pakistan’s very first track and field athlete who directly qualified for the Tokyo Olympics and also competed there in the finals to finish fifth, told Dawn that he faced the same elbow pain when he competed in Tokyo.

Arshad will represent Pakistan at the World Athletics Championships being held in Eugene, US from July 15 to 24 before competing in the July 28-Aug 8 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. In the last assignment of the year, he will participate in the Islamic Games being staged in Konya, Turkey from Aug 9 to 18.

Commenting on media reports saying the Athletics Federation of Pakistan was considering consulting foreign doctors to cure his elbow problem, Arshad said the AFP might be seeking such a programme but added he was focusing on his training and hoped to give improved performance in the forthcoming international events.

Arshad, who hails from Mian Channu of Khanewal District, said he was coming to Lahore to resume training from next week following which he would discuss the future programme with the AFP.

The athlete, who recently returned from South Africa where he trained for two months under foreign coaches, reckoned the visit to the African country had brought significant improvement in his skills as he learnt modern techniques there to throw the javelin more effectively.

“My training in South Africa was curtailed just because all the [other] athletes getting training there had left to participate in different competitions. Therefore, I also came back,” Arshad added.

According to his original schedule, Arshad had to stay in South Africa till flying out to the US for the World Championship in July.

Arshad said his coaches in South Africa pinned their hopes on me for a medal at least in this year’s Asian Games but unfortunately they were postponed.

However, he sounded very optimistic to bring laurels for Pakistan in both the Islamic Games as well as the Commonwealth Games.

Published in Dawn, May 20th, 2022