[VIDEOS/ PICTURES] Virat Kohli has secured his position as an ATG

Virat Kohli takes a break, to sit out white-ball games in South Africa

Virat Kohli, the highest run getter at the recently-concluded World Cup, will not be available for selection for the white-ball games during India’s tour of South Africa, which begins with a T20 International on December 10 in Durban.

Kohli has informed the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) of his decision to take a break. India will play three T20 internationals, three ODIs, followed by two Test matches during the tour of South Africa.

Kohli, however, is set to feature in the Test matches, The Indian Express understands.

he national selection committee headed by former India allrounder Ajit Agarkar will select the Indian team for all three formats in the coming days.

Kohli had a superb World Cup at home where he amassed 765 runs in 11 innings, including three hundreds. He was also adjudged as player of the tournament.

“He (Kohli) has informed the BCCI and selectors that he needs a break from white-ball cricket and he will get back to them about when he wants to play white ball cricket next. At the moment he has informed the BCCI that he will be playing red-ball cricket, which means he is available for selection for the two Test matches in South Africa,” a source said.

The first Test begins on Boxing Day at Centurion, and the second Test is at Cape Town.

Kohli is currently on holiday in London. He has been playing non-stop cricket for the past few months. The last time Kohli took a break was before the World Cup in September, where he along with captain Rohit Sharma were rested for the first two ODIs against Australia at home.
SOURCE: INDIANEXPRESS

Virat is more concerned about upcoming t20 world cup I guess so he chose to have some rest after a lengthy campaign in the World Cup.

Virat Kohli takes a break, to sit out white-ball games in South Africa

Virat Kohli, the highest run getter at the recently-concluded World Cup, will not be available for selection for the white-ball games during India’s tour of South Africa, which begins with a T20 International on December 10 in Durban.

Kohli has informed the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) of his decision to take a break. India will play three T20 internationals, three ODIs, followed by two Test matches during the tour of South Africa.

Kohli, however, is set to feature in the Test matches, The Indian Express understands.

he national selection committee headed by former India allrounder Ajit Agarkar will select the Indian team for all three formats in the coming days.

Kohli had a superb World Cup at home where he amassed 765 runs in 11 innings, including three hundreds. He was also adjudged as player of the tournament.

“He (Kohli) has informed the BCCI and selectors that he needs a break from white-ball cricket and he will get back to them about when he wants to play white ball cricket next. At the moment he has informed the BCCI that he will be playing red-ball cricket, which means he is available for selection for the two Test matches in South Africa,” a source said.

The first Test begins on Boxing Day at Centurion, and the second Test is at Cape Town.

Kohli is currently on holiday in London. He has been playing non-stop cricket for the past few months. The last time Kohli took a break was before the World Cup in September, where he along with captain Rohit Sharma were rested for the first two ODIs against Australia at home.
SOURCE: INDIANEXPRESS
Good decision! He needs to cut back on LOI, particularly, T20, and focus on Tests. Good that he's sitting out of both the ODI and T20 series.

Accept it or not if virat had not accomplished his 50th century in wc he still would have been part of the ict tour of South Africa but now as he has accomplished that coveted goal there seems to be a lack of motivation for him.

More than his interest, India need to test out the future batsmen as Kohli back ups are required.So it's a good deal for India.

Batters with the highest ODI average in 2023

(Minimum 1000 runs)

Virat Kohli is on top, while Mohammad Rizwan is in third place. 2023 was fruitful for both of them in ODIs.

IMG-20231223-WA0041.jpg

"It's A Different Feeling...": Virat Kohli's 1st Interview After World Cup Final Loss Has Him Talking About 'Job Satisfaction' In Tests

All eyes will be on Virat Kohli as India take on South Africa in a two-match Test series. Kohli will return to action after being out of action for more than a month, following India's World Cup final loss to Australia on November 19. India have not won a Test series in the Rainbow Nation, but came close to doing so during their last tour under Kohli's leadership. India won the first Test, but conceded the series 1-2 against the Proteas, with Kohli missing the second Test due to a back injury. With wounds of India's World Cup final loss yet to be healed, Kohli and Team India, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, will look to create history by winning the Test series.

Ahead of the series, Kohli shed light on his Test journey so far, and how the format gives him immense "job satisfaction".

"Test cricket for me is the foundation of the game. It's history. It's cultuure. It's heritage. It's everything. You come out on the otherside after four-five days, it's a different feeling from anything else that you've experienced. As an individual, as a team, the job satisfaction of having played a long innings and winning your team a Test match is a special feeling. I am a traditionalist so playing in whites, playing Test cricket is everything. Really honoured to play more than 100 Tests for the country and pursue my dream of becoming a Test cricketer," Kohli said in a video uploaded by Star Sports.

The Test series is set to mark the return of Kohli, along with skipper Rohit Sharma, pacer Jasprit Bumrah and a few other members of India's ODI World Cup squad. Since India's heartbreaking defeat against Australia in the World Cup final, Kohli, Rohit and some other senior members of the Indian team have been away from cricket.

Virat had missed India's T20I series against South Africa as well as the white-ball assignments against South Africa. However, he made himself available for the Test series from the start.

It isn't yet known what the 'family emergency' is that prompted Virat to return home just 4 days before the start of the Test series. But, the emergency doesn't seem to be a complicated one as Kohli has assured the BCCI of his return to the team before the Test series begins.

Source : NDTV

Virat Kohli is about to achieve new record, he's just one century away from tying with Steve Smith for the most away Test centuries among active cricketers. It's a big deal, and it makes following Kohli's journey even more exciting.

20231224_160347.jpg

Virat Kohli out on 38 off 64 deliveries in the first Test match against South Africa. Is it a decent knock on tough batting surface.

Star India batter Virat Kohli reached another landmark on day one of the first Test match against South Africa in Centurion on Tuesday to become the highest run-getter for India in the World Test Championship (WTC) 2019-2025. The former India skipper surpassed Rohit Sharma to achieve the milestone. Kohli scored 2101 runs in 57 innings. While Rohit made 2097 runs in 42 innings. Apart from Kohli and Rohit, Cheteshwar Pujara holds the third place on the list with 1769 runs in 62 innings. Following that Ajinkya Rahane (1589 runs in 49 innings) and Rishabh Pant (1575 runs in 41 innings) stand on the list respectively.

Kohli failed to make a mark in India's first inning and scored 38 runs from 64 balls with a strike rate of 59.38. The 35-year-old smashed 5 fours against the Proteas bowling attack. However, he was unlucky in front of Kagiso Rabada after the pacer dismissed the batter in the 30.6 overs.

SOURCE: NDTV​

Indian cricket team star batter Virat Kohli failed to capitalize on a good start after he was dismissed by South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada on Day 1 of the first Test match in Centurion on Tuesday. Kohli survived an early chance as Tony De Zorzi dropped his catch off the bowling of Nandre Burger earlier.

Virat Kohli has now crossed the 7,000-run mark in international cricket across SENA countries, becoming only the second player in history, after Sachin Tendulkar, to achieve this remarkable milestone.

Indians Part of Most Overseas Test Match Wins

15 - Virat Kohli
15 - Ajinkya Rahane
14 - Cheteshwar Pujara
14 - Ishant Sharma
13 - VVS Laxman
13 - Rahul Dravid
11 - Jasprit Bumrah
11 - Mohammed Shami
11 - Rishabh Pant
11 - KL Rahul
11 - Ravindra Jadeja

In the last 15 years, Indians who scored 2000 runs in a calendar year.

2012 - Kohli
2014 - Kohli
2016 - Kohli
2017 - Kohli
2018 - Kohl
2019 - Kohli, Rohit
2023 - Kohli, Gill

Another despicable record for Kohli after some great achievements.

Most ducks for India across formats: (Position 1-7)

35 - Virat Kohli
34 - Sachin Tendulkar

Kohli+sachin - 2 WCS
Pakistan - 1 wc
But the goat chokers will always be waqar and babar. You wish that you produce a batsman half as good as these guys.
Jealousy is an ugly thing
You can't win the same world cup twice. They both won it on custom made Indian pitches in 2011. It may be news to you India didn't win the 2023 world cup. Virat Kohli choked again.

After making his first T20I golden duck earlier, Virat Kohli is putting on a fielding masterclass today in Bengaluru in 3rd T20I against Afghanistan

20240117_215717.png

You can't win the same world cup twice. They both won it on custom made Indian pitches in 2011. It may be news to you India didn't win the 2023 world cup. Virat Kohli choked again.
No team won a home wc before india, so this argument doesn't really make sense. Pakistan themselves choked against australia at lahore in 87 and couldn't even qualify for the home finals in 96, so you should know how hard, winning a home wc is.
And funny how you call sachin a choker when he was motm against Pakistan in 3 out of 5 wc matches, guess pakistani players must be the biggest chokers ever.
Kohli didn't choke in 23,but king bobsy did

No team won a home wc before india, so this argument doesn't really make sense. Pakistan themselves choked against australia at lahore in 87 and couldn't even qualify for the home finals in 96, so you should know how hard, winning a home wc is.
And funny how you call sachin a choker when he was motm against Pakistan in 3 out of 5 wc matches, guess pakistani players must be the biggest chokers ever.
It's hilarious how some People before the WC were claiming how Pakistan would conquer India in Ahmedabad and Babar will by the MOM in that match, as well as the MOS.

As usual, never rises to the occasion or during big tournaments or against better teams. I knew beforehand he would be an epic flop in the WC and in the Test series against Australia. He is simply not made for it.

For the record Babar is a choker for me. But the greatest chokers of all time are Kohli and sachin. Kohli has choked a million times, the list is endless.

It's hilarious how some People before the WC were claiming how Pakistan would conquer India in Ahmedabad and Babar will by the MOM in that match, as well as the MOS.

As usual, never rises to the occasion or during big tournaments or against better teams. I knew beforehand he would be an epic flop in the WC and in the Test series against Australia. He is simply not made for it.
As I said he a choker but the greatest chokers are virat and sachin. Bumrah is also not far behind.

By choking multiple times. Not hard when you look at it objectively.
Falling cheaply in a match isn't choking. Choking is when a player flops in an entire series against a tough opposition in tough conditions, or flops in an entire big tournament. Kindly highlight us the examples.

Just chuckle and move on when you see such kind of posts lol.

Kohli scored a century and a half-century in World Cup SF and Final literally two months ago. The chokli jokes just sound lame and salty now in 2024.

Flopping non stop in knockout stage is not choking according to this logic. That means SA are not chokers. According to this logic no one is a choker.

So is scoring a hundred and a 50 in a world cup semi final and final considered choking in your definition of choking?

He is a weird fielder. He pulls off some unbelievable stops. But also drops easiest of catches. 3rd T20I his fielding was nothing but spectacular.

He was there with the team in practice sessions until yesterday. He also planned to travel to Ayodhya but didn't go.

I think something happened. I hope everything will be fine.

A report in Cricbuzz has said that Virat Kohli is out of India currently, leaving a question mark on if he will play the last three Tests against England on not.

"This website, refraining from delving into the reasons for his absence, can reveal that the star batter is currently out of the country, leaving a question mark over his availability for the remaining matches," the report said.

In an YouTube live, AB de Villiers was asked if he has spoken to Virat Kohli and whether he is fine or not. AB de Villiers then said:

"All I know is he is fine. He is spending a bit of time with his family, that is the reason he is missing the first two Test matches. I am not going to confirm anything else. I cannot wait to see him back. He is fine, he is happy."

"Let me just see what he said. I just want to at least give you a little bit of love."

"Yes, his second child is on the way. Yes, it's family time and things are important to him. If you are not true and genuine to yourself, you lose track of what you are here for. I think most people's priority is family. You can't judge Virat for that. Yes, we miss him, but he has made the right decision."

In an YouTube live, AB de Villiers was asked if he has spoken to Virat Kohli and whether he is fine or not. AB de Villiers then said:

"All I know is he is fine. He is spending a bit of time with his family, that is the reason he is missing the first two Test matches. I am not going to confirm anything else. I cannot wait to see him back. He is fine, he is happy."

"Let me just see what he said. I just want to at least give you a little bit of love."

"Yes, his second child is on the way. Yes, it's family time and things are important to him. If you are not true and genuine to yourself, you lose track of what you are here for. I think most people's priority is family. You can't judge Virat for that. Yes, we miss him, but he has made the right decision."
Now, in an YouTube live, AB de Villiers has apologised to the Kohli family:

"Family comes first and then Cricket. I had made a big mistake on my YouTube channel. That information was wrong and not true at all. I think whatever's best for Virat's family comes first. No one knows what's happening there, all i can do is wish him well. Whatever the reason for his break, I hope he can comeback stronger, better and fresh from this."

"My friend Virat Kohli is still not available. I cry out to everybody to give him the privacy that he deserves. Family comes first. No one knows what exactly is going on. I am asking all of us to respect that. I did bit of a blunder in my previous show and I apologise to the Kohli family for that."

"Just not nice. I shared information that was not confirmed at all so. I am begging everyone out there to respect him and his family and his private time. Hopefully, we will see Virat back, happy and scoring runs. Like he always does."

Will Virat Kohli play IPL 2024? Gavaskar's cheeky remark on India star's absence

India great Sunil Gavaskar raised questions about Virat Kohli's participation in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 amid the star batter's absence from the ongoing Test series against England due to personal reasons. IPL 2024 is scheduled to kick off with defending champions Chennai Super Kings facing Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 22 at Chepauk.

Virat Kohli, who was named in the squad for the first two Tests, withdrew before the opening game in Hyderabad. Earlier this month, Virat and his wife Anushka Sharma welcomed the birth of their second child, a baby boy. "Kya woh kheleng? Kuchh reason ke liye khel nahin rahe hain, shaayad ho sakta hai ke IPL ke liye bhi na khele (Will he play? He is not playing because of some reason, perhaps he may not play in IPL as well," Gavaskar said rather cheekily when asked if Kohli would be hungry for runs in the IPL as he would be returning to action after a long break.

Gavaskar suggested that wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Jurel, representing Rajasthan Royals, has the potential to emerge as the standout player of this IPL season. Jurel, playing in just his second Test match, earned the Man of the Match accolade for his outstanding batting contributions of 90 and an unbeaten 39 in India's series-clinching victory over England.

"He could be promoted up the order. Jurel could be the superstar after this performance in the Test matches. Even Akash Deep could get more exposure in RCB and play the role of the death over specialist which they were missing last season." Gavaskar also hailed Mumbai Indians' move to make Hardik Pandya their captain, paving the way for Rohit Sharma to bat freely, without the additional responsibility of leading the side.

"To allow Rohit to play purely as a batterâ€æ it has been a busy season for him, first the World Cup, and now this series. This will give him the freedom to play without worrying about other players. My feeling is that it will work very well for Mumbai Indians. For Hardik to have someone like Rohit to turn to would be invaluable. Hardik will enjoy having Rohit as 'captain'."

SOURCE: INDIA TODAY

They arn't wrong

AgH3IIs.png

In Test cricket, Virat Kohli 's legacy is nowhere near the greatest of all-time. He is probably behind Tendulkar, Gavaskar, Dravid, Ashwin, Jadeja and Kumble as far as his overall test legacy is concerned.

In white ball cricket, he is one of the greatest to have played the game.

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar likened the ongoing England series triumph at home to India’s last Test series win in Australia, stating in an interview with a local media outlet:

“That’s why I always say, you don’t need big names… If any big name thinks that India won’t win without him these two series have shown that whether you are there or not (it doesn’t matter). Cricket is a team sport. It doesn’t depend on one individual."

Sunny G with a load of bull again... A team is as good as the players constituting it. Which means they need the best players. Kohli, even after being pretty avg for last 4-5 years, is still better than most of the domestic bullies.

In Test cricket, Virat Kohli 's legacy is nowhere near the greatest of all-time. He is probably behind Tendulkar, Gavaskar, Dravid, Ashwin, Jadeja and Kumble as far as his overall test legacy is concerned.

In white ball cricket, he is one of the greatest to have played the game.
Absolutely wrong, kumble averaged 30 and is nowhere near being an atg and even ashwin and jadeja have underperformed in SENA .

Sachin
Gavaskar
Kohli
Dravid
Ashwin
Jadeja
Kumble

Absolutely wrong, kumble averaged 30 and is nowhere near being an atg and even ashwin and jadeja have underperformed in SENA .

Sachin
Gavaskar
Kohli
Dravid
Ashwin
Jadeja
Kumble

Kumble bowled on flatter pitches and better player of spin bowling than Ashwin or Jadeja. He has 600+ test wickets which includes 150 in SENA. Ashwin has 500+ out of which only 75: would be in SENA.

Sachin
Gavaskar
Kohli
Dravid
Ashwin
Jadeja
Kumble

Kohli is not at 3 in Tests. He is probably behind all the names mentioned in the list in this format.

That's like saying Sachin, Ponting etc averaged mid 40s and cannot be compared to Kohli and Babar averaging in 50s. That's the kind of conclusion you'd arrive at when you disregard all context.

Kumble played in an extremely weak attack for the most part of his career. Check his record in his last tour of ENG when India had a semi decent attack - Zaheer, Sreesanth, RP Singh. He was the second highest wicket taker and by far the best spinner from either side. This is how good he was when he had even a little bit of support.

Ashwin and Jadeja have enjoyed their entire career bowling alongside Umesh and Shami and Ishant (post 2014 Ishant) and now Bumrah.

From 1990 to 2004, Kumble only had Srinath as an actual threat bowling alongside him. Zaheer became half decent only after 2007.

That's like saying Sachin, Ponting etc averaged mid 40s and cannot be compared to Kohli and Babar averaging in 50s. That's the kind of conclusion you'd arrive at when you disregard all context.
Sachin and Ricky both averaged higher than babar and virat in tests, i wasnt even talking about odi's.

Kumble was an indian great, but he aint an atg, hadlee and murali had to basically carry thier bowling attacks and still had an incredible avg, they are atg's

Dont think any non indian fan would seriously consider him to be an atg, even though he maybe better than jaddu or ash.

A great servant for india who improved a lot away during the later half of his career but not an atg

Nope, kohli has done way more overseas than ashwin or jadeja or kumble has

Hasn't Ashwin and Jadeja helped India win two overseas series in Australia while Kohli skipped one of them? Also, the dominance in home conditions is down to Ashwin Jadeja duo way way more than Kohli. Kohli had a 3-4 year very poor patch in Tests cricket which hurts his legacy as he was averaging in 20s.

Hasn't Ashwin and Jadeja helped India win two overseas series in Australia while Kohli skipped one of them?

Kohli also won the Aus tour. Yes, both Ashwin and Jadeja are very good at home, but they have a poor record in SENA countries. Ashwin is yet to pick a five-wicket haul in SENA countries, whereas his contemporary Lyon is taking wickets for fun.

Hasn't Ashwin and Jadeja helped India win two overseas series in Australia while Kohli skipped one of them? Also, the dominance in home conditions is down to Ashwin Jadeja duo way way more than Kohli. Kohli had a 3-4 year very poor patch in Tests cricket which hurts his legacy as he was averaging in 20s.
Ashwin has 0 5fers in SENA, and yes he has helped us win in aus but he has never dominated away.

Kohli has 11 centuries in SENA

Tipped to headline the showdown clash between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Matthew Hayden told a local indian sports media:

“Virat enjoys a great record against the Chennai Super Kings but since 2021 in the power play MS Dhoni has done something different. In three out of the five innings, he's gotten out within the power plays. Well one thing for certain, it is a blockbuster showdown, Virat Kohli pretty much this year is going to be celebrated across all the games. His average is 30 at Chepauk Stadium with a strike rate of 111."

"So straight away that shows the greatness of Virat has been reduced in terms of his overall performance at that venue. It is a tricky venue to bat on, especially as an opening batsman against a sort of weird tennis ball type bounce. It's a quite slow and difficult, especially to play his shots early and then the long he seems to bat the game opens up and that's where Virat can be at his most dangerous."

"If he's actually prepared about 20 overs he can put together a match-winning performance because two hundreds that are very accessible at Chinnaswamy are not necessary at Chepauk Stadium. A 156, a fighting, 130 at times has been plenty of runs. When you get guys as good as Harbhajan Singh bowling at those venues and they've got the great Jadeja there bowling stump to stump. He'll get the oddball to turn and then the oddball to stay low. It's really tricky. So they're going to need Virat Kohli out early up inside that power play. They've done so thrice over the last five innings and they'll need to do so for the fourth time."

India will miss him but not that much​

======

Virat Kohli To Be Dropped From Team India`s T20 Squad? Ajit Agarkar To Take Big Call, Says Report​

As per the report, Kohli has struggled to meet the team`s requirements in the shortest format of the game.​

As cricket enthusiasts gear up for the upcoming T20 World Cup, the spotlight shines on India's team composition, particularly the fate of Virat Kohli. Amidst whispers and speculations, the Indian cricket fraternity awaits the decisive call from BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar, signalling a potential shake-up in the team dynamics. In the realm of Indian cricket, Virat Kohli stands as a colossal figure, revered for his prowess and leadership. However, whispers suggest that Kohli's presence in the T20 squad for the upcoming World Cup is not guaranteed. Despite his stellar record, questions linger over his adaptability to the shortest format, prompting discussions among selectors and team management.

Source: Zee News

Kohli deserves a place in the team ahead of Rohit and Rahul if we are talking about performance or even form.

In case they have to go with youngsters completely, drop all three then.

My XI :-

Gill
Jaiswal
Kishan
SKY
Hardik(c)
Rinku
NA
Kuldeep
Bumrah
Arshdeep
Siraj

India will miss him but not that much​

======

Virat Kohli To Be Dropped From Team India`s T20 Squad? Ajit Agarkar To Take Big Call, Says Report​

As per the report, Kohli has struggled to meet the team`s requirements in the shortest format of the game.​

As cricket enthusiasts gear up for the upcoming T20 World Cup, the spotlight shines on India's team composition, particularly the fate of Virat Kohli. Amidst whispers and speculations, the Indian cricket fraternity awaits the decisive call from BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar, signalling a potential shake-up in the team dynamics. In the realm of Indian cricket, Virat Kohli stands as a colossal figure, revered for his prowess and leadership. However, whispers suggest that Kohli's presence in the T20 squad for the upcoming World Cup is not guaranteed. Despite his stellar record, questions linger over his adaptability to the shortest format, prompting discussions among selectors and team management.

Source: Zee News
Highly doubt that'll happen but we'll see

Kohli deserves a place ahead of Rahul, Rohit, Gill, Kishan on form, ability and performance. Only SKY may be ahead of him in recent form and performance in T20s.. Dropping Kohli will be a mistake. Irrespective of who gets chosen India will not win the tournament. I don't see the same hunger in T20Is as I see in ODIs and Tests.

Kohli is mainly backed for his star value. So based on that he will come back. Otherwise i don't care for his exclusion.

Kohli deserves a place in the team ahead of Rohit and Rahul if we are talking about performance or even form.

In case they have to go with youngsters completely, drop all three then.

My XI :-

Gill
Jaiswal
Kishan
SKY
Hardik(c)
Rinku
NA
Kuldeep
Bumrah
Arshdeep
Siraj
Kishan struggles to rotate and I believe his avg is also 23 ,sr 125.plus

I will have jadeja,bishnoi,kd on those slow wickets.Sky is better captain I believe.

Kishan struggles to rotate and I believe his avg is also 23 ,sr 125.plus

I will have jadeja,bishnoi,kd on those slow wickets.Sky is better captain I believe.

You have to play one keeper. All keepers are flawed.

I can’t believe we have some Indians here not caring for Kohli’s exclusion! That for a guy who wears his heart on his sleeve representing his country. That for a guy who on the biggest of stages - an India-Pakistan game in a WC - won you the match from a hopeless position. You gloated for months after that!
Your thoughts are pathetic and you deserve mediocrity because you can’t see and appreciate greatness even if it’s staring you in the eye.
Any other international team will drop their top player to accommodate Kohli in their XI.

Tbf,he never played big matches. Hardik and jadeja are taking more time to attack even at the slog overs.we need someone along with rinku to take care of it .

Jadeja is absolute waste in T20s. He has no business playing this format. Rinku and SKY are there to take care of strike rate. What I need is someone having this clutch gene to get India past the line on a tricky surface. Hardik, Rinku are your main guys for that and India would probably like to have one more.

For Sr jaiswal is there.But we need one more for msd chases.

I am still wondering people wanting to include Kohli in T20 squad. For that their stock excuses are "better than Rohit ", "GOAT chaser " "v Pak Melbourne " etc.. No wonder the team failing..

I cannot imagine anyone (unless they are exceptional like SKY) over 30 playing T20 cricket for India. More than the wins i enjoy watching young guns playing, bringing some energy. How long they are going to play the same old Rohit, Kohli, Shami, Jadeja, Chahal, Rahul.

I am still wondering people wanting to include Kohli in T20 squad. For that their stock excuses are "better than Rohit ", "GOAT chaser " "v Pak Melbourne " etc.. No wonder the team failing..
If India is a failing team, then Pakistan isn't even a team at all lol.

Rohit Sharma is a mediocre T20 player; he has failed in all recent T20 tournaments with a strike rate of 120.
KL Rahul has also played multiple tournaments with zero impact.
Most overhyped T20 batsmen have played three tournaments so far and failed in all except some minnow bashing.
Jadeja should be removed from the T20 format for good.
There's no point in bringing Pant to the T20 World Cup as he has already played before and proved to be useless.
Enough nonsense with Ishan and Iyer.

If the management wants to remove Kohli, then they should first remove all players mentioned above. Virat Kohli is the only player consistently performing well for India in T20 tournaments. He has been the highest run-scorer for India 4 times in the last 5 seasons, with a strike rate of 144 and an average of 140 in knockouts.

Dale Steyn raised concerns over Virat Kohli's T20 World Cup spot while talking to local Indian media:

"I think, look, it's very important that he scores runs because it will put him in a good frame going to the World Cup. There're many guys who have leapfrogged him recently because he's taken a bit of a break and there're many contenders that are possible to take to that World Cup (squad)."

"I look at runs the same way that you look at someone's bank balance, so to speak. Virat has got stacks and stacks of runs that he stored up over many years. It is going to work when India is looking to pick a team that goes to the World Cup. They're going to look for guys who have been there and done that and that's something Virat has done."

Kohli is bigger than most of the all time greats. He absolutely has to play if India is serious about winning a trophy

These are all valid excuses, sorry if it hurts you that your idol rohit has been beyond terrible in t20 wcs.

Duds like rohit and rahul need to be kicked out before there's any talk of kicking kohli out

In a video posted by RCB on their social media, Virat Kohli said:

"It is really good to be back, firstly playing cricket. Also, exciting to come back to Bangalore for the start of the IPL season. Similar emotions, similar feelings. I have not been off the media radar for two months, I have been into normalcy you can say. I am pretty happy to back, I hope all the fans are happy and excited as well."