Virat Kohli should stay back and fight for his team in Australia

Yeah that is why he scored 74 in the first inning. :inti

You and your dumb implications. :inti

When did I say anything about his batting? It's about him putting his personal life above the team's interests.

Just to make it clear , I think he has every right to be there for his wife during these times and I or anyone are in no way judging him.

Just read somewhere that Colly now said something along the lines that "Our worst batting show but let's not make a mountain out of a Molehill"

Wow just wow.

Theres fathers out there who have missed births for a lot less, representing your country overseas is genuinely one of those situations where sacrifices have to be made. An argument could be made either way, sports stars have tremendous advantages in life throughout their careers this is unfortunately the downside that comes with sport.

However i think it is best for Kohli to get out of aus asap, for his own sanity after this humiliation.

The fact that he had already said he would leave the squad gets him off the hook I guess,

If he was making the announcement now and walking away then one could suggest that he is leaving at the wrong time.

Saj bhai more than that, it's what the guy is blabbering that's more disturbing. Just read that he said that people shouldn't read much into the debacle, & that there have been just 6-7 batting collapses in last 8-9 years (There've been 15-16 actually) & that there'll be more such collapses in future & so on so no big deal.

Yes some not very clever statements and he is trying to play it down I guess.

He's under pressure and so are the rest of the squad and coach. Let's see what they are made of now and if they can bounce back.

Okay. Let me rephrase my statement. He doesn't care enough about winning games for India to ignore the birth of his child.

Nothing to do with "slowing down". A 34 year old MSD didn't take paternity leave even when he was only about to miss a warm up game for the world cup 2015.

Stop being so melodramatic.

If there was no Covid 19, Kohli would've attended the birth of his first child, then flown back after a few days, and you wouldn't be crying.

Plus mindset is everything in Test cricket, and only someone who has had a child will realise what is going through a person's mind before birth.

You should be asking why are India relying on Kohli? No Kohli no win?

You and your dumb implications. :inti

When did I say anything about his batting? It's about him putting his personal life above the team's interests.

Just to make it clear , I think he has every right to be there for his wife during these times and I or anyone are in no way judging him.
Read what you wrote in that post again and then come back. First you say stupid things here then keep justifying it. If he didn't care about India winning he would haven't even scored 74 here. :inti

Doesn't matter anymore, hopefully Aussies are ruthless now and sledge the hell out of Indians, time to filter out the weak.

Hope they don't go too hard on this kid, he might start crying on field:

Prithvi-Shaw-IPL.jpg

Most pregnant women avoid flying, particularly in the latter stages of pregnancy.

My bhabi travelled in her 9 month to Pakistan to attend her sisters wedding one month before delivery date, it was against the advice of her gynaecologist and then flew back to the US 2 weeks before delivery date. India has been in Australia for longer than a month, she should have flown down there and given birth there to make things easier for her husband unless Australia has strict laws against this

My dad missed my sisters birth because of a very important conference he had to attend and mom didn't throw a hissy fit about it

Just read somewhere that Colly now said something along the lines that "Our worst batting show but let's not make a mountain out of a Molehill"

Wow just wow.

See this is what I am talking about.

Indian team's attitude has been messed up for a while.

But this is something else.

See this is what I am talking about.

Indian team's attitude has been messed up for a while.

But this is something else.

It's a complete circus, I'm surprised Ganguly hasn't taken charge and done something to stamp it out. He should have led from the front and told Kohli to leave the tour after the white ball leg so as not to derail the test team with the constant speculation and distraction.

There is something rotten going on in the dressing room, going by how clumsily the Sharma injury situation was handled.

Mate, it was reading your post this morning in the match thread which forced me to be more open about this. You see how lots of folks are deliberately creating false equivalence by throwing in a sportsman's lot (the current Indian test captain, no less) with normal people and their careers, and anyone questioning that narrative is perceived as something depraved or inhuman. It honestly makes one despair.

Oh I see....haha.

Thanks for the post mate.

You are ABSOLUTELY right about the false equivalence.

This isn't a normal job where you just leave and go and someone else can manage without you.

You are representing your country and cricket fans realize the massive task that you are under-taking which is why there is an outpouring of love and adulation.

The entire nation takes pride at your achievements.

If it was some stupid IPL, who cares.

But this is international cricket.

It's not just a game.

It's about our hopes and dreams and national pride.

People who casually follow cricket won't get it.

In fact, even in a normal job back in the day, people stayed back and did the task if there was no way around it.

Such was life and no one made a big hue and cry about it.

anyone questioning that narrative is perceived as something depraved or inhuman. It honestly makes one despair.

Bhai...this is a snowflake era with people consuming messages and repeating it like bots with a nary a critical thought.

I don't have a problem with their viewpoint but the sanctimonious preaching about how the others are insensitive is both hilarious and nauseating. :)))

Technically speaking, there's absolutely nothing wrong in Kohli going home.

Same way, there's nothing wrong in questioning it too.

Morally speaking, he shouldn't go when there is such an important task at hand. He has a lifetime to spend with his kid.

As you rightly said, the society puts individual needs over collective needs and we can see that in every sphere be it interpersonal relationships, how the elderly are treated and what not.

Life is a transaction where there's no place for greater good or sacrifice.

Doing things for collective good?

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="L77l5Of"><a href="//imgur.com/L77l5Of">Ain't nobody got time for that</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

-------

Normal army person leaving battlefield in the middle of the war?

Oh no. He can't do that when his nation needs him.

Super high paid sportperson leaving a series midway?

It's his right. His baby birth is the most important thing in the world. This is just a game. :D

It's a complete circus, I'm surprised Ganguly hasn't taken charge and done something to stamp it out. He should have led from the front and told Kohli to leave the tour after the white ball leg so as not to derail the test team with the constant speculation and distraction.

There is something rotten going on in the dressing room, going by how clumsily the Sharma injury situation was handled.

Ganguly is more of a politician these days than BCCI president.

Not sure what the hell he is doing.

Technically speaking, there's absolutely nothing wrong in Kohli going home.

I agree with every word you have written.

What I find annoying is how they have deliberately allowed this story to dominate the series and detract from the rest of the team. It was an unnecessary contrivance in a complicated and difficult year for the sport and the players in general.

If Kohli had to leave, it would have been better if he had given the rest of the team space to prepare for this series with a singular mindset. The stand-in captain would have had more time to strategize and make his mark on the team. At worst, Kohli should have only played the first test as a batsman. But obviously any threat to the power structure won't be tolerated by Kohli or Shastri.

Leaving the team in the middle of a series would never have been optimal for anyone.

Honestly speaking, if his wife wasn’t a Bollywood superstar and didn’t have a brand value that almost equal to his, he probably would have stayed back.

I am not sure if he is the one who wears the pants in their marriage.

If he had married a regular person, he would have been more bossy and would have far more leverage than he does now.

I would stop before this discussion gets any weirder.

Yesterday’s shambolic performance has added more weight to this argument. Had we fared better , this would have been a non-issue.

We play Australia in Australia quite frequently so I’m fine with him skipping this. Plus a top international team should be able to plan and cope with this loss knowing Kohli announced his decision long ago. The team looks to be in bad shape irrespective of his presence and indicates coaching and selection failure more than anything. It needs a long term fix.

Equating this series to a World Cup , India vs Pakistan series or border duty are hypotheticals and serve no purpose. This thread is just to vent frustration, understandably so.

We had one horror session at end of day. Take the positives and come back strong , like we have done in previous tours. Smart Selection , holding on to catches and continuing to bowl well should help us compete. I look forward to our fight in next game, Kohli or not.

Honestly speaking, if his wife wasn’t a Bollywood superstar and didn’t have a brand value that almost equal to his, he probably would have stayed back.

If he had married a regular person, he would have been more bossy and would have far more leverage than he does now.

Regardless what folks with limited understanding of Indian/desi culture would state, this is likely to be true than not.

What you are saying is true.

Just politically incorrect but the truth regardless.

Cricket comes and goes, but a child's birth (especially your first) is a unique experience.

My bhabi travelled in her 9 month to Pakistan to attend her sisters wedding one month before delivery date, it was against the advice of her gynaecologist and then flew back to the US 2 weeks before delivery date. India has been in Australia for longer than a month, she should have flown down there and given birth there to make things easier for her husband unless Australia has strict laws against this

My dad missed my sisters birth because of a very important conference he had to attend and mom didn't throw a hissy fit about it

It’s a personal decision at end of the day. Would you yourself miss the birth of your first child to attend a conference or ignore medical advice to put pregnancy at risk for making a marriage ? No way to know unless we know all the variables in play.

I agree with every word you have written.

What I find annoying is how they have deliberately allowed this story to dominate the series and detract from the rest of the team. It was an unnecessary contrivance in a complicated and difficult year for the sport and the players in general.

If Kohli had to leave, it would have been better if he had given the rest of the team space to prepare for this series with a singular mindset. The stand-in captain would have had more time to strategize and make his mark on the team. At worst, Kohli should have only played the first test as a batsman. But obviously any threat to the power structure won't be tolerated by Kohli or Shastri.

Leaving the team in the middle of a series would never have been optimal for anyone.

True..I agree.

Better to go here or there.

However...Kohli is such an important bat for a tour like this that having him play for 1 game with distractions is still better than him playing 0 games.

We literally have 2 batsman in our team right now including him. Rest all are hit or miss.

For all we know, India might do better with Kohli now gone (fingers crossed) but you could see why demands from someone like him is accomodated.

Had this been a series in India, no one would have even bothered if he stays or leaves imho.

Regardless what folks with limited understanding of Indian/desi culture would state, this is likely to be true than not.

The woke posters and feminists will get angry at this, but in traditional south Asian households where men are the earners and women are housewives, husbands are the decision-makers and have the final say in family matters.

That was probably the case in Kohli’s household when he was growing up and in Anushka’s house as well.

However, when a woman becomes very successful and starts earning a lot of money, it is not easy for the husbands to asset their dominance in family decisions. As a result, either of the two partners have to compromise if they want the marriage to work.

In this case, it appears that Kohli is the one who is comprising and Anushka must have told him explicitly or implicitly that he has no business playing cricket during the birth of their child.

Kohli is an extremely committed cricketer. His intensity and determination are unmatched.

A person who scored a match-saving hundred for his state side hours after his cremating his father is highly unlikely to abandon his team during a Test series in Australia, that too as captain.

Kohli can publicly say what he wants, but I am positive that deep down, he would want to stay but he cannot argue with his bossy wife and impose himself because she appears to be the dominant partner.

King Kohli is no king at home.

If Anushka Sharma wasn’t his wife: I’m willing to bet good money he wouldn’t be going home. This guy played a state match a few hours after the death of his father. The birth would have happened and he would have met the baby a month later, how it’s been happening in sporting world and similar careers for decades. In fact; the current technology means that people have the opportunity to be way more involved than ever before through HD video links and whatnot. But no way would an actress such as Anushka Sharma allow for a situation where Kohli isn’t there for the birth.

My personal opinion is that it’s his personal choice and he has all the right to go but this couple is very annoying and always taking the so-called moral high ground ar every opportunity and then lecturing others on how to be good citizen or good husband or good couple. Not talking about this instance specifically but Kohli and Anushka duo have this insanely annoying habit to virtue signal and show how they are far more advanced, sophisticated and ‘woke’ than the average Indian. I remember watching a video where they randomly stopped a car on the street and started going off on them for ‘polluting.’ Like who gave you this thekaydaari and mandate?

I know now people will say this is sexist criticism and whatnot but the simple fact is that even if he is going back he doesn’t need to make a song and dance about it in every interview and press conference in the lead up to the series. Even in the Smith-Kohli casual interview Cricket Australia put up on their YouTube before the match, Kohli started on a 5 minute lecture about how ‘not for a second I had had a doubt in my mind’, ‘these things more important than cricket’ etc etc. Dude he didn’t even ask you a question on that. Why are you giving gyaan, as my Indian friends say, to all of us on how an ideal husband should act?

Anyways rant over but Kohli should really stop dancing on his wife’s tunes for every thing and stop with his virtue signaling.

/rant

True..I agree.

Better to go here or there.

However...Kohli is such an important bat for a tour like this that having him play for 1 game with distractions is still better than him playing 0 games.

We literally have 2 batsman in our team right now including him. Rest all are hit or miss.

For all we know, India might do better with Kohli now gone (fingers crossed) but you could see why demands from someone like him is accomodated.

Had this been a series in India, no one would have even bothered if he stays or leaves imho.

I doubt anyone would have cared if he was missing a single test match, but the quarantine protocols have forced this thing to a head. At the end of the day, I sympathize with Kohli's predicament even if I don't agree with his decision.

this couple is very annoying and always taking the so-called moral high ground ar every opportunity and then lecturing others on how to be good citizen or good husband or good couple. Not talking about this instance specifically but Kohli and Anushka duo have this insanely annoying habit to virtue signal and show how they are far more advanced, sophisticated and ‘woke’ than the average Indian. I remember watching a video where they randomly stopped a car on the street and started going off on them for ‘polluting.’ Like who gave you this thekaydaari and mandate?

I know now people will say this is sexist criticism and whatnot but the simple fact is that even if he is going back he doesn’t need to make a song and dance about it in every interview and press conference in the lead up to the series. Even in the Smith-Kohli casual interview Cricket Australia put up on their YouTube before the match, Kohli started on a 5 minute lecture about how ‘not for a second I had had a doubt in my mind’, ‘these things more important than cricket’ etc etc. Dude he didn’t even ask you a question on that. Why are you giving gyaan, as my Indian friends say, to all of us on how an ideal husband should act?

Anyways rant over but Kohli should really stop dancing on his wife’s tunes for every thing and stop with his virtue signaling.

/rant

Exactly haha.

His PR is soo nauseating.

His behavior in CT 2017 finals and CT 2019 against Pakistan was a cringefest.

Bhai...you need not be a hate spewing idiot but please go easy being the aman ki aasha mascot.

Every damn thing he does has a PR intention behind it. :(

If you think a man should prioritize a cricket series over the birth of his first child then I don't know what to tell you. We have nothing to discuss.
That's because you don't know our cricket culture enough. I get where Kohli is coming from and his first child and all.

My only issue is that he has created this team brick by brick over last 4 years. How can he leave his team for someone else and that too on such a challenging tour? Had he been injured, of course he'd have missed the tests then as well like he did in Dharmshala 3 years back but then it won't have been in his hands.

But in this case, it's completely in his hands. And that's where I differ.

And I see he has already started undermining today's disaster with his usual rubbish.

Pathetic, absolutely pathetic.

No thanks.

I'm more than looking forward to an Indian Test team for 3 straight test matches without Kohli as the captain. Imagine if India manages to fight and maybe even take a game off Australia with a much more level headed captain in Rahane at the helm. He has the opportunity to continue what he started at Dharamsala 2017 - and that's proving how overhyped of a captain Kohli is.

The woke posters and feminists will get angry at this, but in traditional south Asian households where men are the earners and women are housewives, husbands are the decision-makers and have the final say in family matters.

That was probably the case in Kohli’s household when he was growing up and in Anushka’s house as well.

However, when a woman becomes very successful and starts earning a lot of money, it is not easy for the husbands to asset their dominance in family decisions. As a result, either of the two partners have to compromise if they want the marriage to work.

In this case, it appears that Kohli is the one who is comprising and Anushka must have told him explicitly or implicitly that he has no business playing cricket during the birth of their child.

Kohli is an extremely committed cricketer. His intensity and determination are unmatched.

A person who scored a match-saving hundred for his state side hours after his cremating his father is highly unlikely to abandon his team during a Test series in Australia, that too as captain.

Kohli can publicly say what he wants, but I am positive that deep down, he would want to stay but he cannot argue with his bossy wife and impose himself because she appears to be the dominant partner.

Well said. Another instance of Anushka having a bigger say is Kohli shifting his base to Mumbai from Delhi/Gurgaon where he spent his entire life.

If Anushka Sharma wasn’t his wife: I’m willing to bet good money he wouldn’t be going home. This guy played a state match a few hours after the death of his father. The birth would have happened and he would have met the baby a month later, how it’s been happening in sporting world and similar careers for decades. In fact; the current technology means that people have the opportunity to be way more involved than ever before through HD video links and whatnot. But no way would an actress such as Anushka Sharma allow for a situation where Kohli isn’t there for the birth.

My personal opinion is that it’s his personal choice and he has all the right to go but this couple is very annoying and always taking the so-called moral high ground ar every opportunity and then lecturing others on how to be good citizen or good husband or good couple. Not talking about this instance specifically but Kohli and Anushka duo have this insanely annoying habit to virtue signal and show how they are far more advanced, sophisticated and ‘woke’ than the average Indian. I remember watching a video where they randomly stopped a car on the street and started going off on them for ‘polluting.’ Like who gave you this thekaydaari and mandate?

/rant
Completely agree. Kohli's PR is frankly really irritating and has harmed our cricket in more ways than anyone can imagine.

Well said. Another instance of Anushka having a bigger say is Kohli shifting his base to Mumbai from Delhi/Gurgaon where he spent his entire life.

I think that’s still fine. He’s travelling most of the year and her career is largely rooted to Mumbai so that’s practical decision. What annoys me most is their virtue signalling and a PR angle to every thing. The whole lead up to the match was about his pregnant wife and the baby. He even went into lectures about it when not asked.

No thanks.

I'm more than looking forward to an Indian Test team for 3 straight test matches without Kohli as the captain. Imagine if India manages to fight and maybe even take a game off Australia with a much more level headed captain in Rahane at the helm. He has the opportunity to continue what he started at Dharamsala 2017 - and that's proving how overhyped of a captain Kohli is.

I think you're massively overrating that poor man's Azharuddin, but I'll be happy to be proven wrong.

What? You think that smacking some leather around is important than his child. Do you have children

His kid will be born with or without him. His presence literally has no bearing on the success of the delivery. There will be enough time to bond with his kid, the rest of his life, actually. Modern societal norms and trends are sometimes a bit too soft and "tender", and this is one of those things.

A father is there to earn a living for his family, and that sometimes means he can't be present on such occasions.

True. I forgot about that. More evidence that Anushka calls the shots.

On the other hand, this is a massive opportunity for Anushka to make a Bollywood movie out of her own story. Let the guy stay and fight for his country at a time of need....but then there is the danger of another embarrassing defeat, this would be highly risky and could destroy the Bollywood story plot.

Hahaha.. Good one. Then again, it's not as if Bollywood cares about reality when writing their scripts.

He should stay, didn't he went back to complete his innings when his father died. So what's so special this time?

Can't imagine this is same Kohli, who didn't left the match after his father's death and same kohli who literally cried when they were eliminated in 2012 T20 WC in Sri Lanka. He has no passion and dedication for his beloved game and for his country anymore, just Good PR is all what matters now.

Don't agree with the digs on Kohli's-Anushka's marriage, marriage is about give and take, sometimes the man compromises, sometimes the woman does and they are both deeply in love with each other.

Do you guys think his baby’s mention in the future will always remind fans of 36/9? I hope not, obviously it’s not baby’s fault.

Don't agree with the digs on Kohli's-Anushka's marriage, marriage is about give and take, sometimes the man compromises, sometimes the woman does and they are both deeply in love with each other.

Haha, their love is screwing nation (read Indian cricket) in crisis.

Any subcontinent man who says marriage is about give and take and comprise is usually subservient to his wife who calls the shots at home.

Any subcontinent woman who says marriage about give and take and compromise is usually the dominant partner and calls the shots at home.

Agree with posters here that it's A Sharma's decision and Kohli can do nothing but comply. Sahi baand ke rakha hai Anushka ne. I don't think Kohli wants to do this.

True. I forgot about that. More evidence that Anushka calls the shots.

To be fair to Kohli, Mumbai is the hub for Bollywood so Anushka wanting to be there during her prime is a reasonable request.

He announced it way beforehand for India to plan for it so it's okay as it was known already. Would have looked bad if he hadn't announced it earlier.

It will be sort of a blessing for Indian team that it will kind of expose Ravi Shastri as a stooge coach with no input or creativity.
Rahane could be a better tactician than Kohli though. Maybe it's not a no nonsense and stern captain they need right now. A more relaxed personality letting guys be themselves might help spring better performance from the team.

He will be direly missed as a batsman though.

But I think it's okay for him to go be with his child. He's only going to have 4-5 children at most and not 15-20 so that it might keep happening in future.

Any subcontinent man who says marriage is about give and take and comprise is usually subservient to his wife who calls the shots at home.

Any subcontinent woman who says marriage about give and take and compromise is usually the dominant partner and calls the shots at home.

Agree with this. For a marriage to be stable, the "give and take" has to be at a minimum. There has to be a leader and a decision-maker. Which partner that turns out to be depends on the nature of the individuals involved.

Exactly haha.

His PR is soo nauseating.

His behavior in CT 2017 finals and CT 2019 against Pakistan was a cringefest.

Bhai...you need not be a hate spewing idiot but please go easy being the aman ki aasha mascot.

Every damn thing he does has a PR intention behind it. :(

I remember he did accept that in one of his interviews. :inti

Too much generalization here..

Almost all couples I know (even the previous generation) agree that marriage is about compromise..

All posters who are mentioning Anushka’s dominating behavior as proof of Virat returning home should also recall Azhar Ali recently returned from a tour after his father in law’s death. I’m pretty sure his wife is no celebrity..

Sometimes family matters take precedence..

All posters who are mentioning Anushka’s dominating behavior as proof of Virat returning home should also recall Azhar Ali recently returned from a tour after his father in law’s death. I’m pretty sure his wife is no celebrity..

Thankyou for saying that. Anuskha is an easy target and like typical backward men, these individuals are taking their frustration out on a woman by making her the target.

Kane Williamson also took a break and missed out from 2nd test vs Windies due to his wife's child birth. This is also a recent incident so why no one talking about that? :inti

Very inaccurate . More of TP topic but you’re overly generalizing subcontinent population.

Kane Williamson also took a break and missed out from 2nd test vs Windies due to his wife's child birth. This is also a recent incident so why no one talking about that? :inti

Because his wife is not an actor and hence not a commonly known easy target :)

The misogyny is dripping from this thread. Do better guys.

It's a very common decision that was just recently made by Kane Williamson too. Only with Virat does it become an issue and something silly about dominance at home. :))

Some of you guys sound like you'd sacrifice your kid for a series win against Namibia.

Recently before the start of the test series, Hardik Pandya was asked to stay for the test series given his form with the bat in the LOI team and also knowing that maybe he can chip in with a few overs of bowling as well.

But Pandya said that his child was born 4 months ago and he wants to spend some time with his family although in his case, he was anyways present during the child birth and it was after a week that he left for IPL. So, what do we make of HP's attitude and commitment towards test cricket and particularly for such a big series??

He says he is saving himself for big world tournaments and will bowl in those formats, what about test cricket and in such a big series in Australia where we need a fifth bowling option now that Shami is injured? It is this series and next year in England where we will need him and there is no guarantee that he will bowl or not.

I am actually surprised that people are not questioning Pandya for this atitude though. He has not achieved or done anything in tests to pick and choose when to play and should have been in the test squad rather than deciding to pull back.

Cos WI series ain't a big deal.

Its obvious.

India's tour of Aus test is the second biggest deal after WC.

Also our views are based on what we hav seen happen with our team till date.

Can't club Desi and western reactions.

Thankyou for saying that. Anuskha is an easy target and like typical backward men, these individuals are taking their frustration out on a woman by making her the target.

We have no way of knowing what their personal lives are like so no point in talking about it..

Recently before the start of the test series, Hardik Pandya was asked to stay for the test series given his form with the bat in the LOI team and also knowing that maybe he can chip in with a few overs of bowling as well.

But Pandya said that his child was born 4 months ago and he wants to spend some time with his family although in his case, he was anyways present during the child birth and it was after a week that he left for IPL. So, what do we make of HP's attitude and commitment towards test cricket and particularly for such a big series??

He says he is saving himself for big world tournaments and will bowl in those formats, what about test cricket and in such a big series in Australia where we need a fifth bowling option now that Shami is injured? It is this series and next year in England where we will need him and there is no guarantee that he will bowl or not.

I am actually surprised that people are not questioning Pandya for this atitude though. He has not achieved or done anything in tests to pick and choose when to play and should have been in the test squad rather than deciding to pull back.

That's the problem I have with these guys. I raised the same point 1.5-2 years ago also when he didn't play in one of the tournament I think it was Asia Cup? If there was no IPL he would not have dared to skip even a practice match let alone a whole series. :inti

Cos India doesnt need Pandya as much as Kohli so no one bothered about him.

Even for Kohli, the views expressed here were simmering before.... Just that it wasn't expressed.

Death is different.

Even Sachin left mid WC when his father died.

Because his wife is not an actor and hence not a commonly known easy target :)

That’s a good point.

Actress or no actress as their wives - both Kohli and Williamson both chose to return home for the birth of their first child.

This should be sufficient proof that marital relations or dominance have no bearing on this decision..

Well, i am shocked to read what Pandya pulled out. I was wondering where he was today. Absolutely shocking and appalling behavior and i am surprised to see no hue and cry over it when in this situation its perfectly valid!

Not sure I agree..

Childbirth is one of the most important events in ones life.

It is indeed a hugeee event no doubt.

But you always have a lifetime to be with your kid.

Imagine your father is on final life support or is dead.

If you don't go back, you can never get to see him again in your life.

Both ain't the same.

Damn, there goes that hoyga ghar ka Kohli argument! :)) :sk

With the inevitable thrashing coming India's way, do you think there's a possibility that Anushka may receive some heat from the Indian public?

No just because of this Australian debacle but the growing perception that Kohli's henpecked and being bossed around by the Mrs. Indian public and other might be thinking this is becoming detrimental to the Indian team and his cricket on occasions.

This is an ignorant overly generalized statement and you cannot adopt a blanket rule to every person. Some girls, wives take dictation, dominations and others don't. If you adopt the wrong approach with the wrong person it is not going to end well.

Whether it was 36/9 or 369 all out, Kohli wasn't going to change his mind.

Each to their own - some would rather stay and play cricket, others would want to be at the birth of their child.

Agree with posters here that it's A Sharma's decision and Kohli can do nothing but comply. Sahi baand ke rakha hai Anushka ne. I don't think Kohli wants to do this.

Lol how do we know its not the other way around? Maybe Anushka pushed him to be with his team and that its okay if he's not there for the moment but Kohli insisted that no, he will be there no matter what

Worst aspect of India's historic humiliation

The worst aspect of India's Adelaide humiliation is that the Test also represented its best chance of a win across the four match series.

India's captain and best batsman, Virat Kohli, is now leaving Australia to be with wife Anushka Sharma for the birth of their first child.

Absolutely the right call, but Kohli's departure heaps salt into the wound of 36 all out, India's lowest ever Test score.

In further good news for Australian fans, star left-hander David Warner has a good shot at returning to the top of the batting order, while Indian quick Mohammed Shami is in doubt.

https://wwos.nine.com.au/cricket/vi...ket-test/6e5dd289-0546-4078-b026-cee28def6982

The worst aspect is the refunds which need to be given to the fans hoping to attend day 4 and had tickets.

Maybe they should be reimbursed by Shastria holiday account where he collects massive paycheques for sipping tea?

The misogyny is dripping from this thread. Do better guys.

It's a very common decision that was just recently made by Kane Williamson too. Only with Virat does it become an issue and something silly about dominance at home. :))

Some of you guys sound like you'd sacrifice your kid for a series win against Namibia.

Nobody here is talking about some Abrahamic stuff here, mate. And yes, I would stay with my team in such a crisis. It's of course Kohli's decision and nobody should hold it against him, but some of us would make a different decision, and that's fine too.

Not sure why Kane Williamson didn't get the same criticism or headlines or was it because he was only facing west indies

Same with Shane watson, Joe root or amir

His kid will be born with or without him. His presence literally has no bearing on the success of the delivery. There will be enough time to bond with his kid, the rest of his life, actually. Modern societal norms and trends are sometimes a bit too soft and "tender", and this is one of those things.

A father is there to earn a living for his family, and that sometimes means he can't be present on such occasions.

And if things go wrong?