VVS Laxman vs Inzamam-ul-Haq - Better Test batsman?

Seriously!!!!! Insanaley stupid posts so far for what is a very valid and close comparison unlike quite a few comparisons that happen here

Valid and close comparison ?
Doesnt look so from most of the replies though . It Seems like someone has compared Don Bradman with Ajay Jadega in Tests .

A lot more fair to Inzi now that he is being compared to a comparab;e player :sachin

Hmmm :13: , Inzi overall a better player but if it's against Aussies you will take Laxman without even thinking :D

Well said. I agree with you on this.. Laxman vs Ausies is better than inzi
Overall, Inzamam is way ahead of Laxman.

Originally Posted by bablu_2010
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn2MtuiK-dc

The above video proves that INZI >>> LAXMAN

If you disagree bring a video or link of such inning that Laxman played for India....

Wait .you gave one against Bangladesh..I will give

281 vs Aus after follow on..and we won

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/u8c3LghltBk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
167 vs Aus

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GMZgU4HOWvY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

and more recently vs SA..batting with the tail..won us the game

Inzamam the better overall batsman in terms of ability to play all conditions. VVS the more aesthetic and flair player.

In the absurd situation of a World XI being drawn up against the best team that many of us have ever watched (Aus), VVS would be the first name in, while Inzy wouldn't probably even make the substitutes list.

Personally would like both in a team as I can't choose between the two. Enjoy both equally, perhaps VVS more because as an Indian I've probably watched more of him than the big bear.

The gap between the two is nowhere near what many biased souls above have suggested.

Correct . Either Laxman or Inzamam but the gap is only small between the two .

Comments like "Inzy the ultimate match winner " , " laxman being no where near him " , "ordinary 50 runs player " , " One Series Wonder " , " Chips/bits player " are rubbish .

lots of teen emo punk these days.... Quantity yes, quality no.

Missing N_Hs, Monsee, w63...'s post in all these. That's what you call a debate to argue. :D

Now, these posts are just feel happy and go type. :D

these PPers are noway near the leagues of NH , WL or even CT :)))

Wait .you gave one against Bangladesh..I will give

281 vs Aus after follow on..and we won

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/u8c3LghltBk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
167 vs Aus

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GMZgU4HOWvY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

and more recently vs SA..batting with the tail..won us the game

LOLS stupid post.. Inzimam has 327 runs in an inning. I asked for an inning where Laxman chased 128 rungs with 2 tail enders???

again, you post proves there is no comparison.. lols

I asked for an inning where Laxman chased 128 rungs son.. lols

Laxman pretty much won the test against Australia at Mohali last year on his own, playing with tailenders and finishing unbeaten with one wicket left. This was after he got injured mid test match. An amazing feat.

Can anyone please get the stats of Laxman vs Pakistan in Tests and Inzamam VS India in tests...
I believe there is no bigger pressure game than India and Pakistan to play against each other.
I would like to see how Inzi and Laxmi have done playing against each other.
I request to all my Indian fans on here to pull up the stats for Inzi and Laxmi bai against Pakistan and India and post it here....

Laxman chased against Australia when Australia were a weak team with ordinary bowlers

right ordinary enough to cause a colapse of 124-8 against India in india.

And btw..Laxman played gems against greatest aussie bowling line up.

Coming to chasing against ordinary bowlers...I forgot Bangladesh are next best after the famed Windies quartet. apologies

one more!! Looking at it..Laxman actually played more crunch knocks and took us home more than inzy did for pak in tests!!

lolz...Funny. Check how many Match winning Hundreds Inzy Scored and compare these with Laxman's centuries.

Tests:

Laxman:
Mat Inns Runs HS Ave SR 100 50
128 214 8387 281 46.33 49.31 16 55

Inzy:
120 200 8828 329 49.60 54.02 25 46

& In ODIs there is no comparison at all.

lolz...Funny. Check how many Match winning Hundreds Inzy Scored and compare these with Laxman's centuries.

Tests:

Laxman:
Mat Inns Runs HS Ave SR 100 50 50

Inzy:

Thank you but these ignorant Biased Indian will still say Laxmi Bai is better lols..

Tests:

Laxman:
Mat Inns Runs HS Ave SR 100 50 50

Inzy:

I am sure some 50's by laxman are much more important for India than some 100's by Inzi in that list...like aus one just talked about.

yes..ODI's Inzi is better!!

Inzamam v/s India

Averages 54 http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...class=1;host=6;template=results;type=allround

Laxman v/s Pakistan
Averages 37

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...class=1;host=7;template=results;type=allround

One Series Wonder ordinary player Laxman is the most over-rated cricketer ever for bashing Australian side once in a while .

Laxman was a Baby when he played against Wasim and Waqar but suddenly after retirement of all the major fast bowlers grew some balls .

Thats exactaly is my point. Inzi is a player who played well under pressure against India. Laxmi bai hardly ever scored against us. This shows the class of Inzamam...

Don't know what the stats are, but bablu what you're saying is the Indian bowling attack is so mightily terrifying that you rate Inzy's knocks against it better than VVS' against McGrath, Warne, Lee, Gillespie.

Awesome. Am sure Venky "slower ball" Prasad will be thrilled to know this.

Anyone see Laxman's twin knocks at Durban recently? Fantastic stuff

oh shut up lol

How old are you ? 14, 15?

Because it is real impossible to have a proper cricket debatw with you..calling players names to posters and on top of that mindblowingly insanely biased ridiculing great players sitting in front of the internet in the corner of a dark room.

Its a time waste arguing with you!!

Don't know what the stats are, but bablu what you're saying is the Indian bowling attack is so mightily terrifying that you rate Inzy's knocks against it better than VVS' against McGrath, Warne, Lee, Gillespie.

Awesome. Am sure Venky "slower ball" Prasad will be thrilled to know this.

Its not about bowling. It is about handling pressure. In crunch game even ordinary bowler looks very threating. That is the reason why Razzaq got Sachin out so many times. Razzaq is not a great bowler but in India vs Pakistan matches the pressure is something extraordinary.

Because it is real impossible to have a proper cricket debatw with you..calling players names to posters and on top of that mindblowingly insanely biased ridiculing great players sitting in front of the internet in the corner of a dark room.

I am sorry that I called Laxman Laxmi. I have a nick name for Inzamam which is Inzi and I have a Nick Name of Laxman which is Laxmi....

Anyone see Laxman's twin knocks at Durban recently? Fantastic stuff

Am sure now for a knock played a year ago he can have failures for next 3 years without being noticed , like the recent tour of England .

If you are an English supporter you would know that Inzamam has been miles ahead of Laxman as a Test player . '

Have you ever seen Inzamam falling in pieces apart ever in his long career against England ? Comparatively how many knocks has Laxman played against England to impress you ?

Ok you answer to this is cricketing logic ok.. what is you answer to the following stats..

Originally Posted by hafeezrocks
Inzamam v/s India

Averages 54 http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/eng...;type=allround

Laxman v/s Pakistan
Averages 37

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/eng...;type=allround

One Series Wonder ordinary player Laxman is the most over-rated cricketer ever for bashing Australian side once in a while .

Laxman was a Baby when he played against Wasim and Waqar but suddenly after retirement of all the major fast bowlers grew some balls .

Its not about bowling. It is about handling pressure. In crunch game even ordinary bowler looks very threating. That is the reason why Razzaq got Sachin out so many times. Razzaq is not a great bowler but in India vs Pakistan matches the pressure is something extraordinary.

yup...Innings after follow on is def not pressure in front of 1 Lakh eden gardens crowd..sure..

and that 70 odd vs aus chasing 96 with 2 wickets in hand and injury..was it pressure and quite a few..

and he did this against top rated aussie attacks..not might bangladesh

Every player has a bogey opposition or two.

I'm a fan of cricket first and England second - I've seen a lot of Inzy and Laxman against many teams. I'd have Laxman against the Aussies and Inzy marginally ahead overall.

Ok you answer to this is cricketing logic ok.. what is you answer to the following stats..

Originally Posted by hafeezrocks
Inzamam v/s India

Averages 54 http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/eng...;type=allround

Laxman v/s Pakistan
Averages 37

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/eng...;type=allround

That pakistan bowlers are miles ahead of Indian counterparts???

Disagree about the Razzaq point. Sure he isn't exactly the world's greatest bowler, but Sachin historically has been susceptible to medium pacers who nip the ball back in. Lots of bowleds and LBWs.

Guys these three tools are just trollers. I won't be surprise if atleast 2 of these ids belongs to the same person.

As once velus signature (if i remember correctly): don't argue with a stupid. If you do, he'l beat you with his experience.

And this is the proof:
Australia were a weak team with ordinary bowlers

That pakistan bowlers are miles ahead of Indian counterparts???

ok on a cricketing logic if Laxman was a better bastman woudn't his average be than inzi and more centuries than inzi?

Since Inzamam has better average and more centuries what that proves, now you tell me in your cricketing logic????

Inzamam 200 innings 25 centuries Averages 49.60
Laxman 214 innings 16 centuries Averages 46.33

Now if you have any sense and can think logically. You can easily tell who is a better bastman. The one who has less innings and more centuries and a better average...

ok on a cricketing logic if Laxman was a better bastman woudn't his average be than inzi and more centuries than inzi?

Since Inzamam has better average and more centuries what that proves, now you tell me in your cricketing logic????

so by that logic, tendu is even greater than bradman. Right?

both great players for their own countries.. inzy would edge it out except the fact that he is the worst batsmen at running between the wickets ive ever witnessed.. that is a big crutch..

but i think people overrate inzy on pakpassion.. the guy had immense talent.. but wasted it due to extremely bad fitness levels and key traits of batsmenship.. i.e running between wickets.. the amount of runouts he caused is immense.. for me saeed anwar was the best batsmen for pakistan in the 90s.. and before that javed miandad. and after saeed it would have to be mohammed yousef..

so by that logic, tendu is even greater than bradman. Right?

If you ask me I rate Tendu higher than anyone just because he is played for over 2 decades and is still scoring centuries. I dont think bradman would have been able to maintain such fitness and score so many hundereds..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Qn2MtuiK-dc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ktdSteHh6ck" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Inzamam 114 vs England in England :) Great Inning

Yes Laxman couldnt play inswinging ball in England
Asif bowled at him in Sub-continent not England.
just like Inzamam couldnt play the high bounce fast bowling in Aus/Sa
Bounce is always high and most of the 'high bounce' balls are left by most batsmen in tests,that doesn't mean Inzi couldn't play them.
Atleast Laxman will have respect from the Greatest Team of his era unlike Inzamam though .
Means u agree he sucks against the rest,thanks

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/c__Rj_Swnw8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Inzamam-ul-Haq Best Test Series Ever HQ HD ( What a Player ) Stand up Stand up for the CHAMPION..

Yes and Tendulkar has played less matches than Bradman right ? Just like Inzi has played less matches than Laxman .

is it laxmans fault that pot belly inzy retired early? But let's forget about that.

From your above logic, i made a deduction.

In test :
Ashwin: avg. 14
ajmal: avg 30

so ashwin is better than ajmal right?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BZ8HVDVc0XU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

One of Inzamam 50 vs India. Yes Pakistan won and Tendu scored 100...

Great work OP :19:.
You pulled a great trick on PPers :)

First Inzi was compared with Sachin, now with Laxman and next he will be compared with Wasim Jaffer :inzi

is it laxmans fault that pot belly inzy retired early? But let's forget about that.

From your above logic, i made a deduction.

In test :
Ashwin: avg. 14
ajmal: avg 30

so ashwin is better than ajmal right?

its not cricket related by ur name 'itachi' and 'profile pic' gives me a feel good feeling,i don't know it's just funny,no it's not,ok it is,no offense
btw Laxman<Samaraveera :ahmed

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/wHMz0qlC-ys" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Inzamam Ul Haq 116 vs Australia Hobart 1999 2nd test

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/9XQL889P4ro" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Inzamam Steered Pakistan to victory with last wicket partnership of (56) with Mustaq Ahmed against Australia in 1994

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/sRGT8CWbLg4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Look at Laxman's expressions lols...

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/a_D8NLjghHA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Again, Look at laxman's expressions, He is saying " Nahin yaar aise thori hota hai beech ki killi uda di tum ne" lols

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/TzR-KK2HrBg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Laxman got Bowled at 99. Look at the wicket is dancing in the air and Laxman got the shock of his life....

Laxman over Inzy in Aus...........by a country mile..........Inzy=Laxman every where else

I wonder if the users posting the above videos are aware of (a) how many times they've been posted in the past and (b) how lacking in symbolism and relevance they all were the first time round...

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BobDjZcxim8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Afridi Gets Laxman, Ganguly and Tendu lols. Look at Ganguly, staying at the crease after being clean bowled lols....

Great work OP :19:.
You pulled a great trick on PPers :)

First Inzi was compared with Sachin, now with Laxman and next he will be compared with Wasim Jaffer :inzi

;-)
BTW Thanks for reminding about Jaffer , that wont be a completely unfair comparison either . Once it gets finally decided here that Laxman is indeed better than Inzamam then maybe we can look forward to Legendary Jaffer :farhat

Bablu you come across as a very fierce and passionate supporter of Inzamam , like the enthusiasm:19::19::19:

Someone post Tendulkar owning Inzy..........for the fanboys

lols if u r not blind and can read than you can see Inzamam is ahead by 9 centruies and even played lesser innings and higher average lols... now you bring a proof which shows laxman is better.
Even some of your indian posters here agree with these stats.
Lets talk logic and not nonsense.

LOL at use of youtube videos to prove who is better? titles like "shameful bowled" are making rofl ..
Inzy will be slightly better than Laxman.
Laxman > Inzy in aus and sa.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="323" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/xkx0gk"></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xkx0gk_inzamam-ul-haq-184-v-india-2005_sport" target="_blank">Inzamam-ul-Haq 184 v India 2005</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/Cornered-Tiger" target="_blank">Cornered-Tiger</a></i>

Inzamam 184 vs India In India in his 100th Test match...

LOL at use of youtube videos to prove who is better? titles like "shameful bowled" are making rofl ..
Inzy will be slightly better than Laxman.
Laxman > Inzy in aus and sa.

ok you dont need youtube you read this lols.

For a supposed top class player laxman has very few test centuries (16 compared to inzys 25 even tho laxmans played 8 more tests) and ultimately big runs and not 50s win u games :inzy

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/a_D8NLjghHA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Again, Look at laxman's expressions, He is saying " Nahin yaar aise thori hota hai beech ki killi uda di tum ne" lols

I love laxman's expression in this video. I watched it like 10 times already.

Just because Inzi vs India is better than Laxman vs Pakistan doesn't mean that Inzi is better. Otherwise Bhajji >>>Warne , Srinath >>> Waqar .

For a supposed top class player laxman has very few test centuries (16 compared to inzys 25 even tho laxmans played 8 more tests) and ultimately big runs and not 50s win u games :inzy

I know man but these Indian posters neeeded some videos as a proof.

I hope after watching these videos these Indians posters can realize that Inzamam was far better batsman and played much better than Laxmi under pressure.

Inzy fans have hijacked the thread . Now this thread is going to become collection of all the videos where Inzamam scored over 50 and Laxman got dismissed under 20.

I know man but these Indian posters neeeded some videos as a proof.

I hope after watching these videos these Indians posters can realize that Inzamam was far better batsman and played much better than Laxmi under pressure.

So after watching random dismissals..you want us to conclude inzi is better. Do even know how many ridicolous videos of inzi are in the web..from falling on wickets to blocking the ball to run outs. But posting them is an insult to anybody's intelligence because Inzi is way way way way better than what those random dismissals show.

I can show you a great shot by hafeez on youtube and a silly dismissal of tendulkar? so?

when does centuries decide who handles pressure better...

and btw..laxman plays with tailenders almost ..and his 50's have helped indian in many ways..

why am I even arguing with you !!