What should be the ideal Pakistan squad for the Test series against England?

BouncerGuy

Pakistan is gearing up to host England for a crucial three-match Test series on home soil. This series is a chance for Pakistan to showcase their strength in Test cricket and demonstrate their dominance in home conditions.

Picking the right squad is vital for success against a strong English side. We'll be looking at the best possible options for each position, considering form, fitness, and the strengths of the English team.

My squad is something like this:

1. Mohammad Huraira
2. Sahibzada Farhan
3. Kamran Ghulam
4. Mohammad Rizwan
5. Saud Shakeel (VC)
6. Salman Ali Agha
7. Abrar Ahmed
8. Naseem Shah
9. Mir Hamza
10. Khurram Shahzad
11. Shan Masood (C) because I know he is not going anywhere anytime soon
12. Omair bin Yousaf
13. Mehran Mumtaz

What is your ideal squad for the upcoming series against England considering the worst defeat for Pakistan against Bangladesh?

Pakistan cricket is currently suffering from all the sides. Bad fitness of players, internal conflicts between players, lack of form of premier batsman, incompetent captain and comical management.
They need a complete change in setup. But, we all know only Pakistan is capable pulling miracles out of no where 👍🏻

Pakistan cricket is currently suffering from all the sides. Bad fitness of players, internal conflicts between players, lack of form of premier batsman, incompetent captain and comical management.
They need a complete change in setup. But, we all know only Pakistan is capable pulling miracles out of no where 👍🏻
So your squad will be???

Still imam and abdullah??
No one else. And while we are in this predicament I’d rather go with guys who have experienced international cricket and hit centuries. So there’s no excuses if they don’t perform. I don’t think we should be trying out more players right now, doesn’t feel like it’s the right move or the environment for them where they’re just going to be set up to fail. Huraira is probably too young and Farhan didn’t look like someone who would succeed in tests from the international footage I’ve seen (though I hope he proves me wrong).

I think we should focus on grooming one guy into the team, that being Kamran. Which I feel is the priority right now, we don’t need an investment we need guys that can come in and perform right now to steady the ship and create an environment where we can bring in youngsters effectively.

Pakistan is gearing up to host England for a crucial three-match Test series on home soil. This series is a chance for Pakistan to showcase their strength in Test cricket and demonstrate their dominance in home conditions.

Picking the right squad is vital for success against a strong English side. We'll be looking at the best possible options for each position, considering form, fitness, and the strengths of the English team.

My squad is something like this:

1. Mohammad Huraira
2. Sahibzada Farhan
3. Kamran Ghulam
4. Mohammad Rizwan
5. Saud Shakeel (VC)
6. Salman Ali Agha
7. Abrar Ahmed
8. Naseem Shah
9. Mir Hamza
10. Khurram Shahzad
11. Shan Masood (C) because I know he is not going anywhere anytime soon
12. Omair bin Yousaf
13. Mehran Mumtaz

What is your ideal squad for the upcoming series against England considering the worst defeat for Pakistan against Bangladesh?
My ideal squad assuming I can have my way and I was the pcb chairman + head coach + cheif selector + ceo + Coo + Cfo + bowling and batting coach + leader of saya + leader of the nexus.

1) Saud Shakeel (C) (Yes he's been poor but he did get a 100 and he deserves atleast a run before sending him to the washing machine)

2) Muhammad rizwan (WK)( Cant get rid of him even if I want to)

3) Sarfraz Ahmed (Two keepers are needed in test so eh)

4) Kamran Ghulam (Hes earned his place the most)

5) Hurraira ( Not convinced on him but he's earned his place via donestic)

6) Shabzada Farhan (Deserves it as well)

7) Abrar (Ik he hasn't done well, but he performed well in the past againat England, give the kid some time)

8) Norman Ali (No sense in dropping him and I'm an advocate of spin anyway)

9) Zafar Gohar (Ik he's never ever coming, but it's my team and again spin galore)

10) Omair Bin Yousaf (I still don't know why this kid has not gotten a debut)

11) Salman Ali Agha (People aren't happy with him, but he is a must, again be patient and give the kid some time)

12) Naseem Shah (We need him and he's not bad, but that belly must be fixed, seriously what even happened?)

13) Aamer Jamal (Again where is he? Lol, how could you just drop him after Australia?)

14) Khurram Shehzad (His wickets galore has merited him another series even if he's been a dissapointment so far)

15) Saim Ayub (LAST CHANCE for this kid, and after this curtains, emgland should be his final say)

My ideal squad assuming I can have my way and I was the pcb chairman + head coach + cheif selector + ceo + Coo + Cfo + bowling and batting coach + leader of saya + leader of the nexus.

1) Saud Shakeel (C) (Yes he's been poor but he did get a 100 and he deserves atleast a run before sending him to the washing machine)

2) Muhammad rizwan (WK)( Cant get rid of him even if I want to)

3) Sarfraz Ahmed (Two keepers are needed in test so eh)

4) Kamran Ghulam (Hes earned his place the most)

5) Hurraira ( Not convinced on him but he's earned his place via donestic)

6) Shabzada Farhan (Deserves it as well)

7) Abrar (Ik he hasn't done well, but he performed well in the past againat England, give the kid some time)

8) Norman Ali (No sense in dropping him and I'm an advocate of spin anyway)

9) Zafar Gohar (Ik he's never ever coming, but it's my team and again spin galore)

10) Omair Bin Yousaf (I still don't know why this kid has not gotten a debut)

11) Salman Ali Agha (People aren't happy with him, but he is a must, again be patient and give the kid some time)

12) Naseem Shah (We need him and he's not bad, but that belly must be fixed, seriously what even happened?)

13) Aamer Jamal (Again where is he? Lol, how could you just drop him after Australia?)

14) Khurram Shehzad (His wickets galore has merited him another series even if he's been a dissapointment so far)

15) Saim Ayub (LAST CHANCE for this kid, and after this curtains, emgland should be his final say)
Yeah I missed Aamer Jamal's name. He should be there as well.

MY playing 11 would be

1) Hurraira
2) Shabzada Farhan
3) Kamran Ghulam
4) Omair Bin Yousaf
5) Saud Shakeel
6) Rizwan (WK)
7) Salman Ali Agha
8) Aamer Jamal
9) Naseem Shah (He can bat a bit, should be promoted up the order)
10) Abrar (Give the kid some time)
11) Khurram Shehzad

^^ This is if the pitch is a seam movement one, of its a spin track, I'd add nouman Ali along with abrar or zafar gohar amd replace naseem to give confidence to youngsters

Sahibzada
Saim
Hurraira
Bobs
Saud
Rizwan(c)
Agha
Khurram
Ali Shafique
Mir Hamza
Noman Ali

England will be forced to their knees by this side.

So your squad will be???
I'll give Shan Masood last chance to prove himself. He'll be my skipper.

Mohammed Rizwan and Babar Azam are premier batsman, so they are undroppable in my opinion. They both are in.

Dropping Abdallah Shafique instantly would be bad for his future, so he is in for atleast 1st match. If he fails in 1st match then Mohammed Huraira in.

Saud Shakeel, Saim Ayub and Agha Salman have done enough to retain their places.

Mir Hamza, Khurram Shahzad and Abrar Ahmed should be there based on their recent performances.

Domestic performers like Kamran Ghulam deserve chace to prove themselves.

Once fit Amir Jamal should be given direct entry in the team.

A spinner with good domestic experience should also be included.

Mohammad Ali shouldn't be straight forward pick as he is struggling at international level.

Sarfaraz Ahmed is too old to carry with the team. PCB should find a yonger option.

Selection of Naseem Shah and Shaheen Afridi should be strictly based on fitness.

So, this will be my squad ;
1. Shan Masood (c)
2. Saud Shakeel (vc)
3. Saim Ayub
4. Abudallah Shafique
5. Babar Azam
6. Mohd Rizwan
7. Mohd Huraira
8. Kamran Ghulam
9. Agha Salman
10. Mir Hamza
11. Amir Jamal
12. Khurram Shahzad
13. Abrar Ahmed
14. Another Spinner

Shaheen and Naseem (subject to fitness)

Heads definitely have to roll for the whitewash against Bangladesh.

Enough of this bakwaas that the likes of Babar, Abdullah, Shan cannot be dropped. Abrar is a total flop spinner who barring his first test match has been ineffective.

The present players in the team are no Don Bradmans or Gary Sobers. Replace this loser lot with some fresh faces as they cannot do any worse.

Drop the following players.

Naseem - most overhyped Pakistani cricketer of this generation, more known for his fluke innings vs Afghanistan and hair flicks than match defining spells. He is a failed Test cricketer.

Saim - another product of hype machine. Not ready for Test cricket

Abdullah - needs to go back to domestic as well.

Masood - nothing needs to be said. The worst batsman in Pakistan history and today should mark his final appearance in what has been a humiliating Test career.

Abrar - too inexperienced. Needs to toil more in FC cricket and his fans should pipe down the whole “he has been mistreated” narrative.

Replace these 5 players with Imam + two other batsmen with high FC averages and ideally, at least 50 innings under their belt but should not be older than 32.

Replace Naseem with another experienced and successful FC bowler like Mir Hamza and Khurram.

Replace Abrar with an experienced FC spinner, preferably someone with 200+ wickets.

Naseem - most overhyped Pakistani cricketer of this generation, more known for his fluke innings vs Afghanistan and hair flicks than match defining spells. He is a failed Test cricketer.

Masood - nothing needs to be said. The worst batsman in Pakistan history and today should mark his final appearance in what has been a humiliating Test career.

Abrar - too inexperienced. Needs to toil more in FC cricket and his fans should pipe down the whole “he has been mistreated” narrative.

Replace these 5 players with Imam + two other batsmen with high FC averages and ideally, at least 50 innings under their belt but should not be older than 32.

Replace Naseem with another experienced and successful FC bowler like Mir Hamza and Khurram.

Replace Abrar with an experienced FC spinner, preferably someone with 200+ wickets.

Pakistan needs a 140 km/hr bowler capable of bending his back and bowling heavy bouncers. Hamza, Shehzad are line, length bowlers so are only effective on wickets with green and juice but they don't have the strength pace to bowl heavy bouncers.

1. Saim
2. Huraria
3. Saud
4. Kamran
5. Omair
6. Saad Khan
7. Saifi (C) (WK)
8. Jamal
9. Khurram
10. Dahani
11. Mir Hamza

This is the most realistic team I could make given our circumstances. I would prefer Sharjeel over Huraria but thats more so a pipe dream

1. Saim
2. Huraria
3. Saud
4. Kamran
5. Omair
6. Saad Khan
7. Saifi (C) (WK)
8. Jamal
9. Khurram
10. Dahani
11. Mir Hamza

This is the most realistic team I could make given our circumstances. I would prefer Sharjeel over Huraria but thats more so a pipe dream

Need a full time spinner in there somehow. Salman can play as a spin bowling all rounder but he can't play as a main spinner

Youngsters seemed to just secure a place for the next match... the attitude and mindset need a complete overhaul..

They seem to play with zero motivation. Senior players who are involved with groupings and making the dressing room toxic should be dropped and replaced..

Kick out nepotist players like Mohammed Ali, nothing special about him. his fitness is poor , bowling is laughable, looks like an uncle in his late thirties definitely one of an age fudged player... Never seen him come through the ranks in domestic like under , under 16 or 19 0r 23 etc...

When Bangladesh was batting well building up the partnership in the first inns after 26/6 batted for two sessions , Ali not available ... shan didnt turn to Agha Salman at all until the last moment gave him 3 overs and he took 2 wickets in the end

Oh here we go, pick Mehran Mumtaz because he did well in the PSL and has an average of 34 in FC - perfect for Tests!

Honestly weird as hell that each one of you has dropped Babar, as if you lot has better batsman in reserves than him.

These are good suggestions and I agree we need to go about rebuilding the side in this way. I don’t mind players being young but they have to have a lot of matches under their belt and used to dominating domestic for fun before we play them in internationals. We’ve made this mistake with both Saim and Abdullah, just too early though with Abdullah’s case it’s not that he’s too young now, more he should have stayed at learnt from domestic for a bit longer before being thrown into internationals when he was 3 years ago. He’d probably be a better player by now.

Batsmen who are rushed into the team at a very young age without much experience need to be absolute generational talents. Guys that come along every few decades. Being just good or even very good is just not enough, those guys need to stay in domestic and practice for a bit longer before call up.

Honestly weird as hell that each one of you has dropped Babar, as if you lot has better batsman in reserves than him.

He has been batting like an associate tail ender for a long time. On merit he deserves to be dropped for a domestic player

Oh here we go, pick Mehran Mumtaz because he did well in the PSL and has an average of 34 in FC - perfect for Tests!
exactly this is what causing them to go bad in all formats... t20 and PSL has been the benchmark for selecting players across all formats..

Shan Masood is not Ricky ponting to captain the team without contributing with the bat..
Also losing the match after having them 26/6 in the first inns.. simply atrocious....

Saim Ayub
Imam ul Haq
Sahibzada Farhan
Abdullah Shafique
Saud Shakeel
Kamran Ghulam
Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
Salman Agha
Amir Jamal (c)
Ihsanullah
Khurram Shahzad

No point in having a specialist spinner, they go wicketless on most occasions.

Pakistan needs a 140 km/hr bowler capable of bending his back and bowling heavy bouncers. Hamza, Shehzad are line, length bowlers so are only effective on wickets with green and juice but they don't have the strength pace to bowl heavy bouncers.
Only Haris Rauf can do that consistently

Rauf doesn't have enough first class experience and neither is he interested in the format.

We need to look at other options like Arshad Iqbal, Dhani etc

Saim
Huraira
Babar
Saud
Rizwan
Sarfraz(c)
Jamal
Zafar Gohar
Dahani
Khurram
Abrar

Prepare turning pitches.

Playing 11:
1. Saim
2. Huraira
3. Kamran Ghulam
4. Babar
5. Saud
6. Rizwan (cpt)
7. Salman
8. Abrar/Mubasir
9. Dhani
10. Khurram
11. Rameez jnr

13. Mir Hamza/Ghulam Mudasir
14. Mubasir Khan/Abrar
15. Abdullah Shafique

I think we got a good chance to win if we pick the right players.

I heard Khurram Shahzad's injury news and I'm relieved he doesn't have a fracture. But, to be honest, I'm still not convinced he should be in the squad. His pace has been a concern for me. We need bowlers who can really put the pressure on the English batters.

Jamal is the only player who has guts and confidence. Fakhar also should be used.

Abdullah
Hurraira
Kamran
Saud
Farhan
Fakhar
Sarfraz
Jamal (c)
Khuram
New spinner
New fast bowler

Jamal is the only player who has guts and confidence. Fakhar also should be used.

Abdullah
Hurraira
Kamran
Saud
Farhan
Fakhar
Sarfraz
Jamal (c)
Khuram
New spinner
New fast bowler
That's not realistic. Undeserving Rizwan will play.

Abid Ali
Hurraira
Kamran Ghulam
domestic Performer(30+ yrs old)
Rizwan(captain)
Saud
Salman
Aamir Jamal
Kashif Bhatti( 200+ first class wickets)
Khurram Shahzad
mir Hamza

Naseem
Arafat Minhas
Saim Ayub
Kashif Ali

Squad in batting order
Shaan
Abdullah shafiq
Saud shakeel
Babar
Kamran
Tayyab Tahir
Rizwan
Jamal
Yasir shah
Naseem
Shaheen
Reserves
Hamza
Rohail nazir
Mehran mumtaz
Abrat

1. Saim Ayub
2. Mohammad Hurraira
3. Shan Masood (C)
4. Kamran Ghulam
5. Agha Ali Salman (VC)
6. Mohammad Rizwan (WK)
7. Aamer Jamal
8. Abbas Afridi
9. Sajid Khan
10. Khurram Shehzad
11. Mir Hamza

12. Sahibzada Farhan
13. Mohammad Ilyas
14. Kashif Bhatti
15. Rohail Nazir (WK)

A lot of players I have picked are on the basis of form & lack of options. Rather than go with Nauman Ali or Mohammad Ali, I decided to go with newish players with decent domestic numbers in the past few seasons despite Kashif's poor fitness.

Players with poor fitness should not be picked but their aren't many options in the spin department.

Well first have to know what sort of wickets we will be playing on (and indeed where)

To be honest, Pakistan’s should have advantage in conditions where the ball will turn appreciably.
The English batsman with the exception, of course, of Root (who is a master) don’t play it that well (Ducket can be restricted by stopping his run scoring from the sweep - which India did effectively).

The English spinners — such as Bashir, Hartley and Ahmed should be manageable.

Sadly, in reality, it will end up being three completely flat wickets in which England will score heavily and the Pakistani batting will crumble under scoreboard pressure.
Pick any squad in these circumstances and they’ll probably lose — the English batsman will score freely and there are no bowlers who can rough them up.

A few batsman with decent techniques still won’t go amiss — on the basis there will be no planning for the future, Imam, Babar, Saud are good shouts.

1. Kush dil shah (cuptaan)
2. Usman khan
3. Iftikhar
4. Abdullah shafique
5. Haider ali
6. Sarfaraz ahmed
7. Imad wasim
8. Dahani
9. Hasnsin
10. Mohammad ali
11. Abrar ahmed

Hurraira
Shafique
Babar
Saud
Rizwan
Agha
Ghulam
Jamal
 Imad
Qadir
Usama
Wasim
Rauf
Amir
Naseem
Khurram

Drop masood, they'll be plenty of translator
Play with the leg spinners
Play with more all rounders
Not to play too attacking as we can't manage it in t20s forget test matches
And try not to choke the opposition with spin bowlers as it doesn't work anymore

Test cricket ain’t for rookies.

#rightthewrong, #bringbackexperience

Abid Ali
Rizwan
Asad Shafique
Babar Azam
Saud Shakeel
Agha Salman
Sarfaraz Ahmed (Wk)
Amir Jamal
Mohd Abbas
Shaheen
Nauman Ali

Asad Shafiq and Sarfaraz were two of the top three run-scorers in last FC season—we really need their experience right now.
Abid Ali should be brought back immediately, no question.
Like him or not, Rizwan is the best opener we have in Pakistan. Take his gloves and make him concentrate on batting.
They need to apologize to Abbas and get him back; he’s been tearing it up in county cricket.
And what’s the deal with dropping Nauman Ali? He averages 18 across 20 Tests and just took 7 wickets in his last innings. Makes no sense.
Agha S is being wasted at no7.

Pakistan are not known for rich batting legacy but they have had players who were world class vs spin. Where has that skill gone? Pace and bounce was the nemesis, not spin. Bring back Sarfaraz, he can bat at 6 with Shakeel at 5 Babar at 4 and Shan at 3. Make Rizwan the captain.

Yes, strict decision needs to be taken, captaincy must be stripped away from Shan, a home series whitewash vs Bangladesh is absolutely humiliating and that should be it. Let him prove himself as a specialist batsman.

Our batting is pathetic. Also there was no need to drop the Pindi King Imam
Yes their was. Pakistan missed a trick by not playing fakhar in test over the years.

Imam sends a bad message, he hasn't improved his short ball game at all.

My starting 11:

1) Imam (I know, I know but in Pak conditions he scores and we need that)
2) Saim Ayub (We need a dasher up top & he has shown some promise)
3) Kamran Ghulam (his chance has come)
4) Suad
5) Salman Ali Agha
6) Rizwan (c)
7) Amir Jamal (if fit)
8) Nouman (Our tail needs a bit of strength and England's dashers will try to slog him so could get some cheap wickets)
9) Naseem
10) Khuram
11) Mir Hamza

12) Sarfraz
13 Hurrira
14) Abrar
15) Mohammed Wasim

Abdullah, Booby & Shaheen all need a spell away from test cricket to regain their form.

You gotta be strategically good. Teams have started finding fault lines in the England's set up especially without stokes. You gotta be extremely smart. They have to strangely draw inspiration from Bangladesh who did the hitherto unthinkable thing.

1) Saim Ayub looked comfortable and lost his wicket due to a rush of blood. Looked much better than Abdullah
2) Imam. Will be a better option than Abdullah for sure. He's great in home conditions
3) Shan. Not a fan but he's the captain
4) Kamran Ghulam. Deserves a chance. Has been prolific in domestic
5) Saud. If slow pitches are prepared he'll have Don bradman type stats but on a lively pitch he'll become a tailender
6)Rizwan. Most runs for wk's in tests recently. No competition
7) Agha Salman. Adds great balance with his runs at 7 and off spin bowling
8) Zafar Gohar. Hes a proper 1st class player and has been great for Gloucestershire. If he was English he'd definitely be considered for England who would make the most of his talent
9) Naseem Shah. Better than Ali. Needs to focus on red ball cricket
10) khurram Shahzad. Looked decent in his short career so far
11) Mir Hamza. Swings it both ways and hits the right areas consistently. Better than over rated Shaheen.

Babar Azam, SSA and 9 other randoms are sufficient to maul England...

Aur kuch sochna bhi mana hai :ssa

Pakistan needs to do away with Abrar as the lead spinner. Gamble with someone new, untested but going with Abrar is pointless, might as well play an extra seamer then

Abrar did extremely well against England ans sri lanka.

It's just his first bad series. I understand that you don't like him, but it's early days. He should be given more games before getting the boot?

The bigger problems are the pacers not being able to bowl 140 clicks and > and the batters being Walking wickets.

Abrar did extremely well against England ans sri lanka.

It's just his first bad series. I understand that you don't like him, but it's early days. He should be given more games before getting the boot?

The bigger problems are the pacers not being able to bowl 140 clicks and > and the batters being Walking wickets.

Even against England he only had a good first innings bowling performance, since then he's been useless, NZ had no problems against him.

He is only effective when batters go after him, he is very slow and no problem for most batters who can play him off the pitch.

just drop shan masood from the team u will start winning games again.
How? Ik Shan is extremely poor but ironically Shan played slightly below his average this series at 26 whereas Babar was at 16 and Abdullah was at 10?

Saim and Agha averaged 28-32, only rizzu and Saud have high averages due to their 100's, but if you remove those they average in the 30's as well.

And let's not even talk about the bowling. I don't see how Only Removing Shan fixes anything