What was the last film you watched?

'Koyelaanchal' (2014)

Wasn´t a bad concept but was very poorly implemented. Also, the film lost its track half way down and it seemed as if a whole new story had come to the film-makers´ mind after the interval. A below average film I would say.

-----------

'Dedh Ishqiya' (2014)

Though not a full-fledged comedy film, but was still quite enjoyable overall. A good film, but perhaps a bit over-rated seeing the reviews.

Naseeruddin Shah´s "Hum chor nah´n; hum tou chor ke khaalu hai´n dialogue was hilarious, and also the scene where he visits a Hakeem. There were quite a few funny scenes in it.

'Dor' (2006)

An excellent film. Really loved every bit of it. Gul Panag was excellent even though this is the first time I have ever seen her. I had earlier only heard her name somewhere I think. I can´t quite pinpoint why but her performance has completely won my heart. Brilliant! And so were other actors. I have never quite been a fan of Ayesha Takia but even she was very, very good in it. But Gul.... there was something about her that I can´t seem to put in words. Maybe it´s just me....

Two flaws that I would like to mention from otherwise a perfect film:

1. Even though it is clear that the guy didn´t murder him, but that bit was left as an assumption on the part of those who trusted him. They should have shown it in the film to make it crystal clear that it was instead indeed an accident.

2. I am not quite an expert on this particular subject of Islam, but from what I know the wife doesn´t hold the right to pardon her husband´s murderer. Without studying the issues, from what I can recollect from the Raymond Davis issue, the wife didn´t even have the right to accept or reject the Diyah (blood money), and it was back then that I studied the topic a bit. In either case, even if the wife does hold the right to pardon the murderer, I am quite sure that she can´t do it all alone on her own without the deceased´s parents and siblings being a party to it.

Without wanting to derail the thread from its original topic, I will grateful if someone could just solve for me the above question in short and in a brief response.

Coming back to the film, well nobody quite needs a reason to watch a film, whether it is as old as this one or not, but our poster [MENTION=2344]W63L35[/MENTION] bhai was the reason why I watched it, as in a conversation about a year and 11 months ago, he mentioned to me how this was one of the last Bollywood films that he had watched, and quite liked it. So after a long time when I compiled a list of the films to watch I included its name and then ordered it from Ebay. So I would have asked [MENTION=2344]W63L35[/MENTION] for a refund of around six Euros had I not liked the film:P.

Final-Poster-Art.jpg

8/10

A very unpredictable and stylish thriller from Adam Wingard, the director of You're Next. Admittedly liked it when there was mystery behind who "David" was but there is some cool action towards the end. There is humour as well.

Overall, a really nice, tightly-wound thriller that has enormous rewatchability.

'Double Di Trouble' (2014)

An Indian Punjabi film. A film that has caused me headache, not because it was bad or boring, in fact because it was just funny, funny beyond I can describe:)):))):))):))):))).

This is the first film that I have watched based upon any non-tragedy screenplay of William Shakespeare. This one being based on 'The Comedy of Errors'.

Whereas the whole film was great, but it takes things to a whole new level and gets very hilarious after Dharmendra lands in trouble for that whole diamond ring issue:))):))):)))!

Highly recommended to anyone who understands Punjabi.

In Secret 7.5/10

Another good movie on a romance and betrayal theme really enjoyed it Olsen gave a wondoerful performance

Bewitched

Thinking he can overshadow an unknown actress in the part, an egocentric actor unknowingly gets a witch cast in an upcoming television remake of the classic show "Bewitched".

Those who have seen series Bewitched would immediately connect with the movie.

This is light hearted movie for fun . Enjoyable to see once.

Nichole Kidman looks beautiful as always.

6.5 / 10

View attachment 50756

8/10

A very unpredictable and stylish thriller from Adam Wingard, the director of You're Next. Admittedly liked it when there was mystery behind who "David" was but there is some cool action towards the end. There is humour as well.

Overall, a really nice, tightly-wound thriller that has enormous rewatchability.

You're next was epic.. How would you rate this compared to that?

I heard its not that scary ? is it like conjuring ?

Dude I have been planning to watch movie but don't get the time.. From what I've read online its either a love it or hate it type of movie.

Not quite scary but way better than the overrated Annabelle. It's pretty decent Psychological horror thriller.
Don't go by the online hate. This movie may have disappointed slasher fans.

The girl doing mother's role might end up winning the Oscar for best actoress of the year. She was amazing so was her annoying kid.

Just saw 22 Jump Street :D

I found this better than the first one - with some elements toned down (thank God for that). A nice watch tho.

7/10

'Roar: Tigers of the Sundarbans' (2014)

A good film. Quite exciting at times here and there. The most touching scene was when that Bengali guy had to be shot by his friend himself. Very depressing scene:(.

'Maqbool' (2003)

Yes, for the third time within 50 days or so. I am dangerously obsessed with this one!

The best part in the film probably was about Tabu´s pregnancy - don´t take me to be a pervert!!! It relates to one very serious issue in the film about the paternity of the child. It´s amazing how they show that that was decided by fate, as bit of a Divine Decree, something beyond their control. Great!

'Kill Dil' (2014)

An average film. Wasn´t bad. Ranveer Singh was brilliant as always and this was probably the first time that I have seen Ali Zafar act well in a film.

If not for Bollywood´s obsession with a happy ending, this would have been a much better film had they shown that it was too late and that the guy dies in the hospital.

'Maqbool' (2003)

Yes, for the third time within 50 days or so. I am dangerously obsessed with this one!

The best part in the film probably was about Tabu´s pregnancy - don´t take me to be a pervert!!! It relates to one very serious issue in the film about the paternity of the child. It´s amazing how they show that that was decided by fate, as bit of a Divine Decree, something beyond their control. Great!

Your are really obsessed !!!!

Third time within two months !!!

Dorian Gray

A corrupt young man somehow keeps his youthful beauty eternally, but a special painting gradually reveals his inner ugliness to all.

A very fresh idea on which the story is based on.

8 / 10

The November Man 5.5/10

Hollywood's obsession with CIA and Russia continues though this time the scapegoat was Cechyan people ok watch Pierce Brosnan was good

MV5BMTU5NjI1MjEwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjc2Mzc3MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_.jpg

Loved it. Nice love story between a female soldier and a Guantanamo Bay detainee. Made me emotional in the end :(

7/10

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] Watched the cricketing movie Jeeva ? what did you think about one of the head guy resembling :srini ?

8/10

I put it on download because of you, and the movie was setting up nicely till half time. And then the usual crap of secret services, military experiments, and bollywood like twists. crap movie.

Didn't watch that movie bro.

My dad watched it on "dvd". He said it was good and not some crappy movie where the batsman hits a 6 of last ball to win an important match. I saw glimpse of it and i saw srini like figure, being the "president". I think it was loosely based on a cricketer's life :srt. From the 5 minutes glimpse I got, they used real life top club cricketers. I think I might have seen Aparajith and Abhinav Mukund too, not sure gotta watch it when i have time. Looks decent though. You must watch it. Is it hard to acquire "dvd" wink wink now adays ?

I put it on download because of you, and the movie was setting up nicely till half time. And then the usual crap of secret services, military experiments, and bollywood like twists. crap movie.
Post-reveal admittedly the movie is not as good as the movie was when we didn't know who David was. But I still enjoyed it especially the ending which was a wink to the usual horror cliche of the killer never really dying.

What did you think of You're Next? That's an admittedly cool movie.

Dawn of the planet of Apes - Excellent movie on all counts. Didn't want it to end at all, can't wait for the next part. 9.5/10

'Rocket Singh: Salesman of the Year' (2009)

As is documented on the forum, I have this general dislike for films that are about how someone´s career builds and shapes up, probably because most of them turn out to be boring without much exciting things being in them, but this one was a great film. One of Ranbir Kapoor´s very best. Excellent film in fact!

Dawn of the planet of Apes - Excellent movie on all counts. Didn't want it to end at all, can't wait for the next part. 9.5/10

Same sentiment here. It was simply awesome, and like you, I am too waiting eagerly for the next one. Is there any information revealed as to when the next one is due?

As is documented on the forum, I have this general dislike for films that are about how someone´s career builds and shapes up, probably because most of them turn out to be boring without much exciting things being in them, but this one was a great film. One of Ranbir Kapoor´s very best. Excellent film in fact!

Same sentiment here. It was simply awesome, and like you, I am too waiting eagerly for the next one. Is there any information revealed as to when the next one is due?

2016 I believe

My dad watched it on "dvd". He said it was good and not some crappy movie where the batsman hits a 6 of last ball to win an important match. I saw glimpse of it and i saw srini like figure, being the "president". I think it was loosely based on a cricketer's life :srt. From the 5 minutes glimpse I got, they used real life top club cricketers. I think I might have seen Aparajith and Abhinav Mukund too, not sure gotta watch it when i have time. Looks decent though. You must watch it. Is it hard to acquire "dvd" wink wink now adays ?

Yep...its hard to get dvds these days. ;-)

I will check it out bro.

Aye aye sir.

BRILLIANT movie.

I loved it.

Movies like those need to be celebrated instead of the garbage that gets celebrated these days.

Very nice movie.!! One of the reasons I hate yashraj productions is the dismal dismal promotion that they did for this movie after the failure of shahid Kapoor's Dil bole Hadippa which bombed.

this and Wake up Sid are Ranbir Kapoor's best movies.

Kill dill 6.5/10
Not a bad film though a sad ending would have enlighten the climax all the actors were good

If nearly all the Bollywood films here are as bad as people say, why do they keep making so much money??

Reminds me of my friend who is a big SRK fan, and goes to the theatres to watch every SRK movie. So ofcourse, he went to watch Happy New Year, and said the movie was bad, but was surprised why it made so much money. :)) Sometimes we need to get away from our personal selves to be able to see the big picture.

If nearly all the Bollywood films here are as bad as people say, why do they keep making so much money??

Honestly...like the saying goes different strokes for different blokes. according to me, lot of people here in a desperate attempt to sound intelligent diss on bollywood movies ..where as same people watch mainstream cliche fest hollywood action and go gaga over them.

Its all Masala ...if Action is Masala entertainment for hollywood..a sond dance romcom is a masala movie for an Indian audience....

And whom it is catering too is a question...a movie like happy new year is not catering to the urban audienceo of india.....People will go watch 22 jump street and give it good reviews...but hate on some well made slapstick in bollywood (coz its not godfather)..

And one more reason, people pick and choose their hollywood movies which are good...where as watch everything that comes out of bollywood and review them.

I think more often that not, the number of great movies are not that different in both hollywood and bollywood...

'Carry On Jatta' (2012)

Not as funny as I expected it to be being a Punjabi film, but still enjoyable with some very hilarious scenes here and there.

Aye aye sir.

BRILLIANT movie.

I loved it.

Movies like those need to be celebrated instead of the garbage that gets celebrated these days.

Very nice movie.!! One of the reasons I hate yashraj productions is the dismal dismal promotion that they did for this movie after the failure of shahid Kapoor's Dil bole Hadippa which bombed.

this and Wake up Sid are Ranbir Kapoor's best movies.

Hello, gentlemen. Nice to see you here.

It was indeed one brilliant film. For a while at least it inspired me to step out of the nothing-to-do-ness of my life and really do something and form a career you know. I must say that it saddened me too to see the very least amount of publicity given to it.

'Wake Up Sid' (2009), considering its name at least, does seem like one of those films where you will get to see someone´s career being built and so on, the sort of category that I have mentioned above, but still I have noted its name. Hopefully I will get to watch this one as well.

Kill dill 6.5/10
Not a bad film though a sad ending would have enlighten the climax all the actors were good

Exactly what I wrote above in my review regarding the ending.

I watched this on a flight. Did not want to see at first , because it was not that exciting , and on a small budget.
I was really surprised , very refreshing film.

The Guest 3/10

It sounded interesting but ended up being quite a disappointment. Not worth watching at all.

The Guest 3/10

It sounded interesting but ended up being quite a disappointment. Not worth watching at all.

I agree. Downloaded the movie after reading comments here but got disappointed big time. Don't know how the movie got high rating on IMDb. Senseless movie.

Dang it [MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] recommend the guest thought it would be good but reading reviews here by other posters suggest otherwise.

Guardians of the Galaxy : 9/10 : Great movie.

TMNT 7.5/10 : Its actually a pretty good movie, Though I definitely didn't like Megan Fox screaming in pretty much every scene (which was pretty annoying). Overall the movie is watch-able and entertaining. Good for timepass

Post-reveal admittedly the movie is not as good as the movie was when we didn't know who David was. But I still enjoyed it especially the ending which was a wink to the usual horror cliche of the killer never really dying.

What did you think of You're Next? That's an admittedly cool movie.

Not into horror or slasher movies. but i do read the plot of the movies i don't want to watch. i always watch [MENTION=133972]shaykh[/MENTION]'s recommendations, which are different and watchable. you have fallen down in the pecking order by recommending two movies i did not like at all.

Dang it [MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] recommend the guest thought it would be good but reading reviews here by other posters suggest otherwise.
I still stand by what I have said. :raja I liked that movie and while not as inventive as You're Next, it's fun to watch.
Not into horror or slasher movies. but i do read the plot of the movies i don't want to watch. i always watch [MENTION=133972]shaykh[/MENTION]'s recommendations, which are different and watchable. you have fallen down in the pecking order by recommending two movies i did not like at all.
To paraphrase Mel Brooks, "My taste in movies rises below bad taste". :inzi

dvd2.jpg

How can a movie with bad acting, worse dubbing, ghastly dialogue, shoddy make-up effects, a real WTH ending be SO MUCH FUN?

6/10

Empire state

Two childhood friends plan to rob an armored car depository. An NYPD officer stands in their way.

The movie starts well , but slowly it gets weak. Still watchable.

6 / 10

'Saheb Biwi Aur Gangster Returns' (2014)

A lame sequel to quite a brilliant film that was in 2011. Literally nothing made sense to me!

Wanna watch a movie tonight .. Wanted to go for interstellar, is it good enough or just an over hyped movie by fellow pakpassioner [MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION]

Same predicament.

watched the babadook...I liked it but can someone tell me what actually happened in the end [MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] could you add a spoiler and tell me exactly wth happened

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] Bro, I watched the movie Jeeva today. I learned A BIT OF NASTY side of N.Srinivasan. Srinivasan owns a 1st Division cricketer team in TN where players are selected to the Tamil Nadu state team for Ranji trophy. It shows us how N.Srinivasan's and his favoritism towards players of his caste. Lets be gentleman and not mention what the caste is, many people of fought hard to end this caste system. Do you wonder why again and again Aswhin is keep getting selected ? We don't need to do research to find out his caste, you just have to google "Ashwin wedding". If you look at Tamil Nadu cricketers who have gone on to play for India. Ashwin, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Krish Srikaanth, Laxman Shivaramakrishnan, Murali karthik are players belonging to one caste. The director tried to send a real message. There seem to be a long history of this nonsense in TN cricket.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]
More info from the movie
18 out of 20 players who went on to represent India were part of his caste that represents 6.5% of Tamil Nadu's population.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]
More info from the movie
18 out of 20 players who went on to represent India were part of his caste that represents 6.5% of Tamil Nadu's population.

Possible bro.

But regarding Ashwin, Tamil Nadu doesn't have good spinners these days. There is a serious dearth of spinners in our country now. I mean Test quality ones.

Regarding national side - There are guys more skilled than Ashwin for sure but when they play alongside him, they don't deliver consistent performance to throw him out. But now with Axar and Karn, things are getting heated up.

Possible bro.

But regarding Ashwin, Tamil Nadu doesn't have good spinners these days. There is a serious dearth of spinners in our country now. I mean Test quality ones.

Regarding national side - There are guys more skilled than Ashwin for sure but when they play alongside him, they don't deliver consistent performance to throw him out. But now with Axar and Karn, things are getting heated up.

This was when Srini was the president of Tamil Nadu Cricket Association bro. He basically selected nearly all the players from his 1st division club team who are all part of X caste to TNCA(First class) where he was the president. It is not about Aswhin, but about names we haven't even heard because Srini didn't even let them reach FC cricket. The director is not a joke, one of his film has won 2 national awards. By the way bro, the others 2 who weren't X caste was Robin Singh and Kripal Singh. Robin Singh West Indian, started his career on high after representing Trindad and Tobago and started straight with TNCA. And Kripal Singh played cricket in 1950s and 1960s. Bro visit TNCA cricket page and check their staff names. Im disgusted bro.

Its pretty pretty sad then.

Can anyone provide with a list of some thrilling horror movies, it's been a while haven't see any good scary movie. Looking forward to your response.

[MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] will probably recommend about 6 thousand for you. Seriously he's like the Bradman of horror films

He's referring you to " the godfather " of horror movies

'Parineeta' (2005)

A simple story but yet so compelling. Despite being a fan of Sanjay Dutt, I know well that he isn´t quite any Mr. Perfect like Aamir Khan and tends to work in nine rubbish films before finally coming up with a good one. So it was quite a mistake to have missed out on this one. Saif Ali Khan wasn´t an annoying presence for a change, Vidya Balan was excellent in her debut film. If stretched longer, such films can get very boring. So it was quite intelligent of them to have made it a short one.

----------------

'Tera Kya Hoga Johnny?' (2009)

An okay film. Being a huge fan of 'Johnny Gaddaar' (2007), I gave this one a go thinking for it to be some sort of a sequel. Hmmm,..... not to be.

[MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] will probably recommend about 6 thousand for you. Seriously he's like the Bradman of horror films
Unfortunately not. It's tough to make good horror. The success ratio is abysmal compared to Oscar-baiting biopics. That of course makes a good horror film that much more fun.

You are right.

I saw Mudholland drive recently , I will write about it . I did not like it , have you seen David Lynch movies ? I do not understand them at all .