What was the last film you watched?

Seen The Hobbit last night.

The 48 frames per second is really strange at first but you get used to it after 5 minutes or so. Its like watching real life.

The film itself was very good although not quite achieving greatness like the Lord of the Rings films. There is a lot background story and scene setting that tends to drag through the middle especially if you are not a big Tolkien fan. The action picks up though and the fighting/chases are amazing in 48fps. The score is awesome although a little bit repetitive at times.

In regards to the characters, Sir Ian Mckellen is fantastic as Gandulf which is no suprise. Martin Freeman was a brilliant casting choice as Bilbo and he really shines in the movie. Some of the side characters and a few of the dwarfs are more annoying than interesting however.

Falls short of LOTR status but the next two parts should be much better.

When i watched LOTR first part,i thought this movie is for kids...But as the movie went on my interest kept increasing in the movie......Hopefully same is the case with The Hobbit....

Last night watched "Gangs of wasseypur 2". Absolutely brilliant and exactly the kind of bollywood movie I like to watch.

Nawazuddin is brilliant. A good example how you can be a star from absolute nothing. A complete UP village guy now ready to be called as bollywood star :)

Looper 8.5/10

Liked it's unpredictability. Damn Joseph Gordon Levitt was acting so much like Bruce Willis at one point. Excellent movie. Highly recommended.

The Hobbit- loved it!!

Some critics are being harsh...this is as good as LOTR.

9/10

The collection 7.5/10
Very entertaining sequel to the collector. Gory, gruesome similar to saw series. Has an awesome ending which makes you smile as you leave the cinema.

Alice in the Wonderland :asadrauf

Helena Bonham is amazing. :))

helena-bonham-carter-alice-in-wonderland.png

'Barfi!' 2012 review by my friend:

"If don´t happen to like the film, please stay quiet and say nothing negative about it to me", this what I said to my friend when I recommended film 'Barfi!' 2012 to him:) and he went to the other extreme and praised in words that even I haven´t used for it (all deserved of course).

He is a member of PP and will read this (it will be emailed to him anyway). My friend, thank you:).

Barfi does look a bit overrated at times. However, the movie is good because of a different storyline and great acting by almost all of the characters in the movie. Definitely better than other rubbish movies that have come out during the year.
Having said that, i did feel bored through the story at times, and thought it could have been shortened in areas.

7/10 for me. Ranbir definitely deserves to sweep off all the awards next year.

Barfi does look a bit overrated at times. However, the movie is good because of a different storyline and great acting by almost all of the characters in the movie. Definitely better than other rubbish movies that have come out during the year.
Having said that, i did feel bored through the story at times, and thought it could have been shortened in areas.

7/10 for me. Ranbir definitely deserves to sweep off all the awards next year.

.... The length of the film was the only problem but it is also understandable that a lot of things required explanations since the main character was shown to be one who could not speak.....

^ http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=5156042&postcount=6703 ^

Anyways, not anyone´s fault perhaps that I can´t find a fault in the film. Fan you know:).

dhoni 183 is hellbent on declaring barfi the best film ever given the bumpage of this thread of more barfi nonsense :)))

as it so happens a lot of people thought the movie was utter kaka, crap, and other unmentionable words. not to mention plagiarized , and ranbir and priyanka were annoying as hell .

in other words not a universal perfect film ;).

yeah it wasn't that good as dhoni is trying to portray it...imo wake up sid and rocketsingh were better.

Guys, thing that we all need to understand is that films are purely based upon personal choice, taste etc. Cricket etc. is different where one argues with statistics and all that stuff.

I don´t think there is any post where I have asked you guys to accept it the way I think:).

Guys, thing that we all need to understand is that films are purely based upon personal choice, taste etc. Cricket etc. is different where one argues with statistics and all that stuff.

I don´t think there is any post where I have asked you guys to accept it the way I think:).

True, I always recommend my favorite movies (The Lives of Others and The English Patient) to my friends, everyone complains too slow n boring.

its ok.everyone has their own taste

Yes. How else would you explain 'Bodyguard' 2011 and 'Ra.One' 2011 being of the highest-grossing Bollywood films ever? Both were..... well,....:facepalm:.

True, I always recommend my favorite movies (The Lives of Others and The English Patient) to my friends, everyone complains too slow n boring.

:).

dhoni 183 is hellbent on declaring barfi the best film ever given the bumpage of this thread of more barfi nonsense :)))

as it so happens a lot of people thought the movie was utter kaka, crap, and other unmentionable words. not to mention plagiarized , and ranbir and priyanka were annoying as hell .

in other words not a universal perfect film ;).

Why get so aggressive in a thread related to films after all, my brother:13:? *not any dig:)*

You watched it before I did and reviewed it pretty negatively (see below)......

Barfi- 2/10 very disappointing. Ranbir could not save the film, the script was not good enough to sustain the non verbal communication for 2 and a half hours, the background music was too intrusive and repetitive, the editing was disjointed. Plus, it is not easy to pull off the charlie chaplin physicality for 2 and a half hours. They should have just made the movie about shruti and barfi,the jhilmil character totally was unnecessary. All in all a bad choice by Ranbir.

^ http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=5147443&postcount=6666 ^

..... and then I watched it and ended up becoming a huge fan of it. Did you see me mocking you with a ":)))" smiley? I accepted it as your choice, taste and view, why can´t you do the same in my case?

You are making it sound like an utter flop. Fact is that it earned 106 Crores and got very positive reviews as one can see in the attached image - not that it matters to me by any means. My choice is mine! All of it doesn´t matter to me when Salman Khan comes out with his usual nonsense either.

'Barfi!' 2012 has been nominated for the Oscars in a category too (not that this matters to me either). Fact is that our thinking and taste is poles apart as far as films are concerned. Reading some of your reviews below confirms it.....

jab tak hai jaan 6/10 mostly for the cinematography and the yash chopra flourishes,, the story /screenplay was pretty weak. SRK was good in the older section.anushka seems to be playing the same spunky punjabi chick in every movie. kat looked good, thats about all.

^ http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=5301732&postcount=6880 ^

Ra- one, was'nt as bad as expected.time pass, one time watch. Have seen much worse movies.Its gotten overall positive reviews in the US papers, which was surprising.

^ http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4293173&postcount=5430 ^

Does this mean anyone who disagrees with you should laugh at your reviews like this - ":)))"?

No, again, it is a matter of taste and choice. Purpose only is to show how differently we think in relevance to films.

• Barfi! 2012 reviews.JPG
    Barfi! 2012 reviews.JPG
    24.9 KB · Views: 328
It was certainly a good film,though.as Dhoni said,its personal choice.I hated GOW.everyone praised it as a masterpiece.Barfi was atleast much better.

but Dhoni183,Bodyguard n Ra.One were crap.no disagreements on that:))

my last film LIFE OF PIE after seeing the movie i realize this is not my kind so don't wanna rate it.

The Stepfather(1987)
7/10

This is the original movie. Actor who plays John Locke from LOST plays the insane stepfather here. Watchable movie with a really cool theme song. 80s cheesy music FTW

It was certainly a good film,though.as Dhoni said,its personal choice.I hated GOW.everyone praised it as a masterpiece.Barfi was atleast much better.

but Dhoni183,Bodyguard n Ra.One were crap.no disagreements on that:))

Which film is 'GOW':20:?

Piranha 3DD
4/10
Shoddy exploitation film. Can't even be enjoyable on a dumb movie level. The Hoff is hilarious though. A mean spirited ending almost makes it worth it. Still mediocre. First part was much better.

Just saw shutter island. GREAT FILM
8/10

Cant wait for Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprios next reunion in Wolf of Wall Street, it has AMAZING written all over it.

barfi is plagiarized, (basically stealing scenes from different film without permission )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8X4AZnTEZDU

It was indeed good story but why did it get the entry for Oscar ahead of others like Pan Singh Tomar,Gangs of Wasseypur or Kahaani, all these films were original . The oscar jury would be laughing at that type of a film. This film has no chance of making to the main oscar list #Nochance

Yesterday,..... watched 'Barfi' 2012 once again:msd.

Daband II (Bakwas of highest level 2/10)

Life of PI (Brilliant as brilliant can be 10/10)

Jackie Brown 8/10

Great Film another masterpiece of Tarantino.

Samuel L. Jackson and De Niro are just awesome.

Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale- a different, adult take on the legend of Santa Claus. 8/10

Animal Kingdom- decent Aussie gangster flick. 7/10

^^^^i woulg giv 10 alone to kevin spacey's role....and would giv 10 to tat laugh of morgan freeman and bradd pitt,s wife which they had during dinner time

The King of Comedy (1983) - A pretty fun watch and a different Martin Scorsese movie. Robert De Niro's performance was on another level, word's can't describe his acting skills. 8.5/10

Taken 2 (2012) I loved Taken but Taken 2 wasn't needed. Liam Neeson was the typical action hero like in his other movies. The movie is too predictable. Cinematography was good as it captured the beauty of Istanbul. 6/10

Flight (2012) I liked this movie as the story was good although I disagree with the ending. This movie kept me hooked from the start thanks to the awesome performance of Denzel Washington, he definitely deserves an Oscar nomination for this role. 8.5/10

Cold Fish (2010)

Japanese flick by Shion Sono...this film is so Japanese...its a brilliant black comedy...its just plain crazy...certainly recommend it...and whats concerning is its based albeit loosely on a true story...

Django Unchained 8/10

Great Movie, it is a bit long so make sure you watch it when you have quite a bit of free time. Great performance once again by Christoph Waltz a BRILLIANT actor.

I saw Jackie brown yesterday................friggin' good movie.......slow and long movie but acting from Sameul jackson stole the show.......

7/10

^^^^^great movie,,,,,,most underrated movie of TARENTINO,,,,,even de niro was also pretty good in it

Jackie Brown is simply awesome. Robert de Niro's transition from a calm, no-frills dude to a cold blooded killer was just epic.

Flight starring Denzil Washington, decent movie apparently based on real incident. No action but Denzil great as usual.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Flight starring Denzil Washington, decent movie apparently based on real incident. No action but Denzil great as usual.

Its not an action movie.

I thought it was a great film and probably Denzels best acting performance to date. Close to an Oscar nomination i think.

Django Unchained 8/10

Great Movie, it is a bit long so make sure you watch it when you have quite a bit of free time. Great performance once again by Christoph Waltz a BRILLIANT actor.

Gah! i have to wait another 3 or 4 weeks to see this.

Denzil is possibly the greatest actor. around. Oscar winning performances in most of his movies.

Watched an amazing movie. Highly recommended for the fan of international cinema.

Even The Rain

Spanish director Sebastián, his executive producer Costa and all his crew are in Bolivia, in the Cochabamba area, to shoot a motion picture about Christopher Columbus, his first explorations and the way the Spaniards treated the Indians at the time. Costa has chosen this place because the budget of the film is tight and here he can hire supernumeraries, local actors and extras on the cheap. Things go more or less smoothly until a conflict erupts over the privatization of the water supply. The trouble is that one of the local actors, is a leading activist in the protest movement.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1422032/

Guys, how is 'Dafaang'... errmmm..... I mean 'Dabanng 2' 2012;-)?

Haven´t watched yet. Please bash if you can:P.

This movie just goes to show that why people in India or Pakistan can not move forward....they worhship people like Gods....can not think logically thesemselves for a second.

1/10 ...rating from me.