What was the last film you watched?

I watched Memento again, when i had first seen it i wrote the following review:

Director Christopher Nolan takes the intricacy of a psychological thriller flick to a whole new level depicting it perfectly in modern film noir. Its unique use of non-linear narrative ensures it lives in the heads of viewers for a long time to come.

The intriguing plot focuses on Leonard’s struggle to find the killer of his wife and avenging her death. It doesn’t stop right there, Leonard suffers from a rare form of amnesia which means his short term memory is severely flawed due to him not being able to recall most recent memories, as a result he must take regular photos/notes and even get tattoos on his body reminding him of everything going on around him in his daily life and his pursuit of the killer.

Expecting the unexpected is a big understatement in this movie, all logical solutions seem un-logical and vice versa, enemies may well be friends and those who seem trustworthy to Leonard could be taking advantage of his condition. Just when you think this gripping tale is about to unfold you will immediately be stunned by the never ending twists which is achieved unconventionally by Nolan, the same scene is shown from different points of view in reverse chronological order muddling with your perceptions.

The plot is presented in two distinct form of sequences, colour sequences are shown in reverse chronological order whilst the black and white scenes are shown chronologically both merging in the epic finale achieving a common story which the viewer will solve.

From start to finish Nolan’s breakthrough Memento keeps viewers on the edge of there seats, Guy Pearce’s portrayal of Leonard is fantastic whilst Carrie and Joe also Justify there roles perfectly but don’t expect them to be Oscar worthy. Memento is like a song you love listening to without understanding its lyrical content, once the lyrics makes sense the surprise of its meaning sets the motion picture ablaze again and again.

The overall rating of this classic psychological thriller is unquestionable and I personally believe it is the best in its genre. It has won numerous awards, was a success at the box office and Nolan’s work was most notably acknowledged by the Academy Awards with nominations for Original Screenplay and Film Editing.

9/10

Watched "The Heat" with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy. I saw the trailer and thought some of the jokes looked like they where trying too hard, but watching the movie could not stop laughing through out. If you know the type of comedy that Melissa does (foul mouthed, in your face) you'll like this.

So many funny bits but the scene where Sandra Bullock goes to Melissa's house and meets the family LOL :)))

4/5

The Bone Collector

Denzel Washington plays a quadriplegic homicide detective. He and his female partner track down a serial killer.

A good movie if you are a serial killer fan. Washington is brilliant. The plot is good and holds your attention till the end of the movie.

8 / 10

^ awesome movie! love the zombie genre.

watched panic room. Good movie!! It's by David Fincher director of Seven, Fight Club, GWDT, so you know it has to be good.

Watched Skyfall. I thought it was awful. Couldn't believe the hype and ended up falling asleep a couple of times during the film 4/10

X-Men Origins: Wolverine

T'was a good movie. Not too bad, yet nothing amazing either.. I've only watched those '90s X-Men animated series the first two movies, and a random comic (which is neither here or there), but I liked how Wolverine's story was played out. Undoubtedly, Jackman was phenomenal and seems to be getting better and better!

Story was good, although predictable. The acting was great by Wolverine, but not so much the other members of the cast.. The plot though, seemed to lose control toward the end, which almost seemed anti-climatic.

What was most disappointing however, was that the only time all-time favourite X-Man, the coolest, most suave, bad-ass, Cajun mutant was included in this film, and they royally mucked it up! :facepalm: Fedora? Jeweled stick?! Brown eyes?!?!?! :facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

Makes me think it was way better Gambit not being shown in the movies at all, as opposed to this! :/

Anyhow, I'd still give it a 6/10 because Wolverine is still Wolverine, which equates to awesomeness, bub :p

was in mood to watch some Action films
watched
Olympus Has Fallen (2013)
The Call (2013)

Olympus Has Fallen (2013) = 4/10
white house captured by korean terrorists and kidnapped US president in white house underground bunker,
then our hero comes and "thai thai" - sabko mar daalta hai and saves the President
OK movie

The Call (2013) = 6/10
911 woman operator receives call from an abducted girl, she realizes that she must confront a killer from her past in order to save the girl's life.

also saw 3 movies based on Snow locations (always have been fascinated by snow locations - antartica/siberia and such)

Babylon A.D. (2008) (6/10)
Veteran-turned-mercenary takes the high-risk job of escorting a woman from Russia to America
spectacular snow locales in russian siberia

Whiteout (2009) (6/10)
US Marshall tracks a killer in Antartica

Transsiberian (2008) (5/10)
Murder on a Trans-Siberial Railway going from China to Moscow, where american couple met mysterious pair of travellers

pacific rim - since i really like shiny graphics and fancy robots and aliens this film was right up my street, really enjoyed it watching it, watch being the operative word since im not quite sure if the film had a story or not, lols. if you want to turn off your brains and watch fancy alien vs robot fighting, this is for you. 8/10 from me. absolutely poops over the transformers trilogy in terms of scale and execution, all that was missing was a megan fox-esque main female.

pacific-rim-1024x682.jpg

I just saw Searching for Sugarman and loved it. It is an academy award winning documentary about the search for the enigmatic 70s rockstar Sixto Rodriguez.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/tDw7OqVBT-w" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is a great thread. I saw Bhaag Milkha Bhaag yesterday. Very good film. Truly inspiring.

Breathing Room

Thrown naked into a desolate room with thirteen strangers, Tonya discovers that she is the final contestant in a deadly game. Restrained by lethal electronic collars, the players must utilize hints and tools from a box marked "pieces" to find both an exit and the reason for their abduction. One by one the players are eliminated as their "curfew" begins and the lights go out. With each dead body comes another clue, which they use to discover that one of them is the killer. The question is ... which one?

Another movie of people trapped in a room situation . Pretty interesting , as most of this kind of genre are. The plot is probably not as strong as other movie of this genre like Test / Cube etc.

6.5 / 10

Pacific Rim... too much action... monsters vs robots.. how can you not like that stuff.

I seen 2D and it still looked great. Was a fun movie, just don't go in expecting anything other than a fun monster movie and you will be satisfied.

Fetih 1453 with English subtitles

Brilliant! What a depiction of the conquest of Constantinople - a subject that has been long misinterpreted in history!

Although I believe the role of Hasan of Ulubat as the military trainer of Sultan Mehmet was greatly exaggerated upon - and then turned into a mini love-story :/ This was probably the only weakest link in the film.. Otherwise, the peak climax when the spiritual Sheikh visits Mehmet - phenomenal! Such rich history and how we are ignorant of it!

9.5/10 I'll watch it again over the weekend!

Fetih 1453 with English subtitles

Brilliant! What a depiction of the conquest of Constantinople - a subject that has been long misinterpreted in history!

Although I believe the role of Hasan of Ulubat as the military trainer of Sultan Mehmet was greatly exaggerated upon - and then turned into a mini love-story :/ This was probably the only weakest link in the film.. Otherwise, the peak climax when the spiritual Sheikh visits Mehmet - phenomenal! Such rich history and how we are ignorant of it!

9.5/10 I'll watch it again over the weekend!

The romantic angle was dramatised, but Hasan Ulubati did exist and he was the first one to raise the flag too :)

I watched this film when I was in Istanbul, the scene where the sailor climbs up the ship's mast was phenomenal :)

and yes the sheikh scene was great and how he helps him to change his intentions for his actions :) then nusrah comes

ZOMBIE (1979)

If you consider yourself a horror/zombie fan, you must definitely have heard Lucio Fulci's name. The man made some extremely gory horror movies in the 70s and 80s. Zombie is arguably one of his finest works. It was released as Zombi 2 in Italy to capitalise on Romero's Dawn of the Dead (released as Zombi in Italy) but this one was made before. As far as the movie goes, it is a touch slow paced. But it has an astonishing amount of graphic violence made more disturbing by the fact that Fulci lovingly shows everything in extreme close up. Zombies eating humans? See that in extreme close up with flesh in the zombie's mouth. There is a legitimate amount of suspense in the movie and there are some scary scenes with a superb climax. It also has a haunting theme song. The plot doesn't make sense sometimes and the acting is overwrought most of the times. But nobody watches a Fulci movie for the plot and acting. They watch it for gore and The Godfather of Gore delivers.

PS: There is a scene where a Zombie fights a Shark. That's right. ZOMBIE vs SHARK!!!! If that won't get you watching, I don't know what will.

7.5/10
(Legitimate Zombie horror classic)

Watching Rescue Dawn (2006) Starring Christian Bale. Looks good.

From IMDb

In 1965, while bombing Laos in a classified mission, the propeller plane of the German-American US Navy pilot Dieter Dengler is hit and crashes in the jungle. Dieter is arrested by the peasants, tortured by the Vietcong and sent to a prisoner camp, where he meets five other mentally deranged prisoners and guards. He becomes close to Duane and organizes an escape plan; however, the unstable Gene opposes to Dieter's plan. When they discover that there is no more food due to the constant American bombings in the area and their guards intend to kill them, Dieter sets his plan in motion. However, an unexpected betrayal splits the group and Dieter and Duane find that the jungle is their actual prison.

• Christian Bale.jpg
    Christian Bale.jpg
    15.8 KB · Views: 373
^^
Man don't spoil it for those who haven't watched it yet. I am reporting it for spoilt alert ;-)

The romantic angle was dramatised, but Hasan Ulubati did exist and he was the first one to raise the flag too :)

I watched this film when I was in Istanbul, the scene where the sailor climbs up the ship's mast was phenomenal :)

and yes the sheikh scene was great and how he helps him to change his intentions for his actions :) then nusrah comes

^ Truly!

I know Hasan of Ulubat did exist - but from what I know, he was an ordinary infantry soldier (not even a Janissary).. And he was armed with only a small shield and a dagger, and the Ottoman flag of course.. He died holding up the flag (pretty much like in the movie) and when they brought him down, his body was pierced with 27 arrows!

I think there is sth everlastingly classic about a foot-soldier pulling off such a magnanimous deed - Flying your flag over enemy territory in those days pretty much summed up the conquest..

Powerful movie!

The Mask of Zorro. Anthony Hopkins one. Brilliant soundtrack, loads of inventive scenes, and thoroughly entertaining.

Django Unchained. Absolutely top-class cinema. The shootout in the mansion is one of the best scenes Tarantino has done. Christoph more than deserving of his second Oscar; another year, might have been a second statue for Jamie as well. Sam Jackson is terrifyingly shaky. The script is hard-boiled, hilarious, historical, racial, intelligent and very relevant all at the same time. Just not quite as good as Inglorious.

9/10 for both. In different ways.

Finally got to see Fast & Furious 6. Some great scenes as always. First cinema movie I have been to in over a year. Worth it.

Jurassic Park.

Still doesn't get old. An all time classic.

Too bad the sequels are rubbish but I am still eagerly waiting for part 4.

Rear Window, an absolute classic this movie is the epitome of suspense, you feel as if you are the lead character in the movie thanks to the camera angles hence feel similar emotions along the way.

8.5/10

movies-only-god-forgives-poster.jpg

How desperately I wanted to like this movie! It's brilliantly photographed with a superb hypnotic background score. But I don't know what the hell Refn was trying to pull with this movie. Evidently, Refn has no clue either as he indicated he made the movie as a list of things which turned him on(!!!). Probably, I will like it more if I watch it again but I don't know if I want to watch this again. It reminded me of the work of David Lynch. Ryan Gosling is suitably wooden. His one big outburst was unintentionally funny. Kristin Scott Thomas' character should win the Creepiest Mother of the year award. The man playing Officer Chang is intentionally almost as wooden as Gosling. There are scenes of extreme quiet punctuated by sudden brutal violence. One scene in particular is nasty set in a beautiful night club. I actually jumped a couple of times. The problem though is absolutely no likeable/sympathetic character except probably Gosling towards the end.

On the whole, I am undecided about this film. I didn't hate this movie because it's technically superb but I found it a touch boring with all the extreme silent moments. Definitely a headscratcher this one.

6/10

(PS: This movie is NOT like Drive. Where Drive was quiet and flowed like a river, this one is glacial. Where Drive was shockingly gruesome and effective, this one is jarring and disturbing though that was probably the intention. If you go in expecting this film to be Drive 2, you will hate it).

Evil dead. A whole lot of fun. Good throwback horror.

World War Z- Tried to be a different type of zombie movie. Not a hack and slash, hardly see any zombies being taken down mostly just sneaking past. Had potential but didn't deliver. Could've been alot better if split into two movies. 6/10.

Pacific Rim - Big Giant Robots VS Huge Godzilla type Beasts. Two hours full of non stop action. The movie takes 2 or 3 mins to get the whole plot set out and after that its all action. 9/10

Escape from Sobibor (1987)

I was searching "The Shawshank Redemption" kind of movies, found this one. It's not like the one what I was searching for but still very enjoyable film. Those who like jailbreak type movies, would love it. Even though it's quite old but once you start watching it will forget everything else.

My rating 8/10

Here is a summary

During WWII, the death camp at Treblinka had an escape, causing the Commandant at a similar camp in Sobibor to vow that his camp would never experience the same thing. But those who were its captives, the Jewish laborers that had been spared from the ovens, knew that they were on borrowed time and that their only hope was to escape... the only question was how to do it. However, because the Germans would kill an equal number of others whenever a group attempted to escape, the captives knew that if ever an escape was tried, all 600 prisoners in the camp would have to be included... logistically precluding any ideas about tunnels or sneak breakouts. Indeed, to have such a mass escape could only mean that the Ukrainian guards and Germain officers would have to be killed, which many of the Jews felt simply reduced themselves to no better than their captors... thus making it a struggle of conscience. And therein lies the story, with the film being based on a factual account of what then ...

Some sex scenes and some awful acting by the female lead. Other than that all good.

Thanks bros. Might give it a miss as I will feel compelled to seek out the female lead and punch her in the face if her acting is bad thus making my fast invalid.

It is Kate Hudson. Shocking performance. Please watch it so you can punch her.

The Call (2013)

Enjoyed watching it. Non stop thriller. Could have been better but still worth a watch.

7/10

Jordan Turner (Halle Berry) is an experienced 911 operator but when she makes an error in judgment and a call ends badly, Jordan is rattled and unsure if she can continue. But then teenager Casey Welson (Abigail Breslin) is abducted in the back of a man's car and calls 911. And Jordan is the one called upon to use all of her experience, insights and quick thinking to help Casey escape, and not just to save Casey, but to make sure the man is brought to justice

The Conjuring
8.5/10

Extremely effective horror film. Well acted, directed and shot. Ending was a bit iffy but remains consistently creepy throughout. Recommended!

Crazy Heart (2009) 7/10

Cool romantic musical starring Jeff Bridges who plays a washed up country musician.

take shelter - REALLY good movie. one of the best I've seen in a while. It's from the year 2011 and it's a really effective psychological thriller.

9/10

A Thousand Cuts

A stranger with a haunted past shows up unannounced at the home of Hollywood's hottest horror director, and is determined to teach him what real horror is all about.

A good movie if you like mystery and crime genre. The whole action pretty much in one house.

7/ 10

saw Olympus has Fallen

probably one of the most unrealistic movies I have ever seen; however, it was fun to watch and had multiple thriller scenes

7/10

Thirteen Days - 8/10
dramatization of President Kennedy's administration's struggle to contain the Cuban Missile Crisis with the Soviet Union in October 1962.

Burning Man (2011)

It's about love between husband and wife. It will make you laugh and it will also make you cry.

I liked it and my rating 7/10

Note: It's adult rated movie as there is fair amount of sex and nudity in this film.

Burning Man (2011)

It's about love between husband and wife. It will make you laugh and it will also make you cry.

I liked it and my rating 7/10

Note: It's adult rated movie as there is fair amount of sex and nudity in this film.

Astaghfirullah Ramzan mein aisi Filmay nahi dekhte RU bhai. :yk

Breathing Room

Thrown naked into a desolate room with thirteen strangers, Tonya discovers that she is the final contestant in a deadly game. Restrained by lethal electronic collars, the players must utilize hints and tools from a box marked "pieces" to find both an exit and the reason for their abduction. One by one the players are eliminated as their "curfew" begins and the lights go out. With each dead body comes another clue, which they use to discover that one of them is the killer. The question is ... which one?

Another movie of people trapped in a room situation . Pretty interesting , as most of this kind of genre are. The plot is probably not as strong as other movie of this genre like Test / Cube etc.

6.5 / 10

Thanks..It was a great movie.

The Tower

Korean remake of The Towering Inferno. Full of thrills & emotions. Well worth a watch.