ManFan
Gangs of Wasseypur
Sholay
Shree 420 and Awara
Sholay
Shree 420 and Awara
A R Rahman soundtracks of the 90s were out of this world. To be honest, he was never a crowd pleaser in those days. That is the reason his music in those days had very traditional Indian and sufi roots. Apart from his more famous sound tracks from movies like Dil Se, Taal or Rangeela, there were many less popular ones like b. Man those were the days. He doesn't make the same music anymore.
I think 2001's Dil Chahta Hai was a great bunch of songs.
Very ahead of the times.
[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] You missed my favourite :
Funny just had this discussion yesterday and unanimously agreed that Taal is one of the best soundtracks put together closely edging Dil Se.
Always heard great things about the “Aashiqui” soundtrack. Could never understand the hype and admiration. Until a few days ago when I listened to it properly. Every single song is really great. Overall has to be one of the best soundtracks
Aashiqui 2. Definitely one of the best soundtracks around. Arijit took it to the next level (considering his start) with sublime performances by Ankit Tiwari (Sun Raha) and Mustafa Zahid (Bhula Dena) and Shreya Goshal who did a great (and imo a better) job with the female version of Sun Raha. The lyrics were awesome too.
Not a big fan of the second ones soundtrack although it is good. Talking about the first one here which is considered one of the greatest Bollywood soundtracks ever
Oh. Yeah the first one had a compilation of such songs that each one could be a great one even as a stand alone song, never mind them being compiled together, something which btw I didn't know until I saw the song list now. Had heard all of them but didn't know they were from the same movie. However I wouldn't consider it in my all time favourite soundtracks.
Rahul Roy used to have some really good songs in his movie. Tere Dar Par Sanam is another amazing song.
We had a temp school bus driver for a month and he used to play it non stop every morning on the way back and tum to tehre pardesi on the drive home.
I haven't scrolled through the whole thread bit has Tum Bin been mentioned?
1. Pakeeza
2. Kabhi Kabhi
3. Sahib Bibi Ghulam (Guru Dutt)
4. Kajil (Raj Kumar).
5. Kati Patang
6. Amar Prem
7. Aradhana
8. Mughel e Azam
9. Dosti (old - b/w)
10. Malhar
11. Do Baden
12. Do Rastey
In no particular order.
Forgot about Raj Kapoor's "Sangam" and Rishi Kapoor's "Bobby".
Funny just had this discussion yesterday and unanimously agreed that Taal is one of the best soundtracks put together closely edging Dil Se.
I agree Sangam was a real bore but the songs were great (dost dost na raha, mera parem patar, there man ghi gangs, ho mere sanam etc).Waqt was good movie and good songs.
AR Rahman’s recent stuff has been so awful. I feel that it goes hand in hand with the rapidly deteriorating quality of Bollywood music and singers in general. For this reason I don’t know if he can be considered the greatest ever Indian composer anymore
Music quality has been falling world over, I was listening to english top list on spotify and i heard someone remix “I want it that way” from Backstreet boys, imagine the cringe.
My major issue is lyrics with bollywood, really below par due to auto tune stars but i would still say its better than 90s when it was below:
“Ruk ruk ruk arrey baba ruk”
“ Jab bhi koi ladki dekhoon mera ... ole ole”
“ Tu cheez badi hai”
“ Gore gore mukhde pe kaala kaala chasma”
“meri marzi”
If you thought Baadshah was bad just making sure you actually remember 90s.
Tanha Tanha was essentially an item song. Compare that with current item songs. Simple as that. AR Rahman’s new stuff is unlistenable almost and cannot be distinguished from the rest of the trash.
Tanha Tanha was essentially an item song.
Lyrics and music were good, just the video execution was trash and had no bearing whatsoever to he overall song. I heard the audio version first and still consider it a good song.
Yeah the video is pretty dumbThe song itself and lyrics do make sense in the context of the movie though