Which famous cricketers have you met?

cricketfan121

I have met Abdul Razzaq and Saqlain Mushtaq and I have a signed t shirt
I have had the privilege of Waqar Younis (signed t shirt) visiting my school to meet our cricket team before we went to play in Dubai while he was playing for Warwickshire
I have had Alec stewart presenting my cricket team with medals at Warwickshire cricket ground
Met county players such as Graham 'Foxy' Fowler
Usman Afzaal
Kabir Ali who is a friend of my uncle but I met him whilst at warwickshire cricket ground. i toured with his cousin Omar ali in dubai in 2004 for a cricket tour.

ooo and im related to Saleem Yousuf who played with Imran Khan and Wasim Akram. He was a wicket keeper batsmen in late 80s early 90s

Gary Kirsten - I met him and his wife at the Cavendish Square shopping centre in Cape Town raising funds for the Victoria Red Cross hospital.

Paul Adams - I met him at Muizenberg beach in Cape Town.

Andrew Puttick of the Cape Cobras (I don't know if he qualifies as famous)

All the cricketers who've played for PIA prior to mid-90s...my dad was the assistant manager and coach of PIA during the 70s and 80s and I was employed by PIA in their squash colts program...

Met and spent few hours with Saeed Anwar and Saqlain Mushtaq when they were in Jamaat in B'ham few years ago.
Also met Younis Khan,Faisal iqbal, Shoiab Malik in 2000 when they toured England.And Azhar Mahamood, Mohammad Akram and Mushtaq Ahmed in a masjid also Bilal Shafayat was there as well.

when i met abdul and saqlain they were arguin about somthing. they came over on the warwickshire pitch to take a picture with us. all i heard was from saqlain was allah ne kasam but u can tel they were arguin or disagreeing on sumfink

Wasim Akram- At a wedding of my cousins. (Apparently he is a relative of mine:D)
Saeed Anwar
Shahid Khan Afridi

Boi said:
Wasim Akram- At a wedding of my cousins. (Apparently he is a relative of mine:D)
Saeed Anwar
Shahid Khan Afridi
Not fair mannnn :p
Haven't met any yet
Actually my dad met Mohammad Yousuf as he came to my city to do some fundraising by going around peoples houses.
But inshallah I will be meeting Aamer when he comes to England next summer. My uncles fixing that one for me :) I dunno who else I should invite along though :13:

A very famous crickter came to paint my friend's flat in Hounslow. He was here to play county cricket and thought it was OK to make some money on the side by doing some painting, decorating. I would not give any hint as to who he was but it was embarassing to see him covered in paint splashes and messing around with masking tape etc.

I met Asif Iqbal at a wedding in 1974 ! Apparently, we were going for the same Biryani dish :31:

I had the privilege to shake hands & take autographs from Shoaib Akhtar & Inzamam Ul Haq in a mosque during a match in Sharjah Cricket Association Ground, there were many other cricketers praying during that time, I was very young and I think they were playing against Wet Indies because I also have an autograph from a Caribbean 12th man who was serving drinks in the same match but I don't know who he was

Debasis Mohanty :p

My school mate and was surprised to see he represented India.

The entire English and West Indian world cup squads from '96 when they came to my house for dinner! Was a teenager then, and my dad knew one of the ambassadors or something, and let them use our house.

The entire Pakistan team from 96-98. I used to play for a club in Karachi where the national team would come for net sessions. We (the junior club cricketers) would help them out in the session, i.e anything they needed!

I still remember standing behind the nets and watching Wasim and Waqar steaming in to the likes of Salim Malik and Inzi. Those were the days!

Hanif Mohammad, Sikander Bakht, Shoaib Mohammad, and Moin Khan, who were all employed as part time coaches at the club I played for.

Met Imran Khan on a number of occasions; at stadiums, peoples houses etc

From Pakistan:-

zaheer abbas - 1982 - came to visit my grandfather in hospital in london - he would be the first real cricket start i met.

imran khan - several times

javed miandad - drove him around london in 1992 - from one hotel to another!
was 12th man in a pakistan vs india charity match at crystal palace in 1992 (for Imran Khans cancer charity) - during this game played tennis ball cricket in the changing rooms with tendulkar, kapil dev, wasim akram, waqar younis and the rest of the boys...had a general laugh with the boys. Funny thing is that there were no scorers in the scorebox and the Khan saab turned to me and said 'come on yaar you get in there'...i turned my head away from him and pretended like i didnt hear a thing! luckily a couple of others were forced to do the scoring...excellent atmosphere until the usual indian flag burning and subsequent pitch invasion!

Asif Iqbal - had lunch with him in 1992 at the st jame's court hotel...lovely chap.

Played two games of cricket with Amir Sohail - both in 1993...I was captaining one side and he was playing in the opposition side...basically both teams were made up of pakistany freinds...Amir's team had a pakistan a team player as well (Ali NAqvi? cant remmeber the name)...anyway, in the first game he was caught in the gully after three balls and i gave him the 1992 worlcdup ian botham send off...Excellent fun!!! In the second game, a couple of months later, he smashed 60 odd in about 25 balls!!!!

shahid afridi - several times including accompanying him when he was playing golf. He was playing 2 with my brother and a couple of other friends
he was very new to golf and as he was teeing off he missed the ball a couple of times, then my brother said 'come on just do what u do when batting, dont think too much, close your eyes and hit it'...afridi was in histerics...lovely chap.
A year after the golf session, he came to my club for a benefit match and smashed the ball to all parts...

basically the whole 1992 team and from today's players, shahid afridi.

Other players, been lucky enough to have met many many players through my localc ricket club which has a benefit day each year for a county pro...Dave English happens to be the president and he is the guy who set up Bunbury and he knows pretty much everyone in thge england and county set-up so we usually get an awsome turnout...There is one team headed by an indian businessman, he gets all the top international pro's..wasim akram, simmons, david laurence, some firstclass indian cricketers.. etc...in 1995 we had flintoff benefit day, it was the same day england were playing aussies in an odi and flintoff was injured...he still came but didnt partake..

gosh, there are so many more..i just cant recall it all..

Imran Khan- met him when in Sharjah when I was 9 or so and then met him at a dinner party in London 3-4 years ago.

Wasim Akram- met him in Sharjah the same day I met Imran Khan. They were talking and I walked up to them and Wasim slapped me on the cheek (affectionately!) and said 'aik minute beta'

Aaqib Javed- also met him in Sharjah. My pen wasn't working though.
Aamir Sohail
Basit Ali
Javed Miandad
Intikhab Alam- met him in Waitrose in New Malden
Salim Malik
Aamir Nazir
Umar Gul- really nice guy
Mohammad Asif- blanked me
Taufeeq Umar
Khurram Mansoor
Sohail Khan
Sarfraz Ahmed
Bhanja
Danish Kaneria
Khalid Latif
Sohail Tanvir
Shahid Afridi
Bazid Khan
Yasir Ali
Adnan Akmal

I played mini cricket in an apartment block hallway with Ajay Jadeja and Venkatapathy Raju back in 1996. I also met Mohammad Azaruddin and Chauhan the day before that. So I can proudly say that I have bowled to Ajay Jadeja and faced Venkataphy Raju. Sure I was only 12 and it was mini cricket but it still counts.

I met a few of the Saffie players (at PC Lahore....when AB De Villiers was checking me out) and Sri Lankans too. I met Gladstone Small (totally full of himself and quite rude....i reminded him that he is Gladstone Small and not some great cricketer who has a right to be rude to people and he walked away), Mike Gatting and Graham Gooch.

Also forgot to add Anil Kumble.......when I met Azaruddin and walked out of his room me and my friend and his dad were walking down and Kumble came out of his room but then quickly went back in and tried to hide. Then he realised who my friends Dad was and he came out! The Indian meets were all in Dubai where I lived from 1992-1996. One of my best friends there was an Indian and his Dad knew most of the Indian players.

-well hashim amla .... at my auntys house....but i was shy to go and make salam

-saeed mlongo (isnt that famous) but he plays for the durban dolphins, he is my neighbour as well as best friends brother

Shahid Afridi
Fawad Alam
Sohail Tanweer
Umar Gul
Abdul Razzaq
Salman Butt
Kamran Akmal

All at the T20 WC June 2009 - NZ & Ireland Matches.

Bunch of Indian players - Dravid, Ganguly, Pathan, Laxman, Kumble in 2004 @ Lords. All really nice guys.

Also met Chanderpaul there and got to watch him practicing in the nets - he's really tiny!

Few years later I met Kapil Dev & Rana Naved at my cricket club playing for Lashings. He was quite they shy type. Also there was Jermaine Taylor, and Hashim Amla, who upon when asked when he'd next play for South Africa he replied: "October Inshallah" - which he indeed ended up doing :) Very down to earth guy.

Nantie 'Wayward' Hayward was also there, but he ran off like a little girl into the changing rooms upon seeing the fans.

I met a new zealand cricketer at my parent's friend's house and he was invited for dinner. This was a looong time back when I was a small kid. I don't know who he was ;-)

abdul razaq, talked to him and took a picture with him, but the picture got corrupted.
saqlain mushtaq, met him at my cousin's wedding. he is my cousin's husband's friend.

saw afridi during a match in malaysia.
saw imran khan, he came to my school in aitchison.

I haven't met any cricketers at all except for Abdul Qadir.

Lovely guy. Made me pad up and had the bowlers at his academy have a go at me, and he was reasonably impressed by my temperament. I couldn't join though, cause the academy was in Lahore and I live in Karachi.

My neighbours are Simon Katich's in laws! Say that he will be visiting soon :)

cricket_fever said:
-well hashim amla .... at my auntys house....but i was shy to go and make salam

Are you are girl ?

I have met the entire Pakistan 2003 WC team.

Others include Mushy, Mo Akram, Rana, Younis Khan.

I hope to meet many more next summer.......

BoomBoomCricket said:
I have met the entire Pakistan 2003 WC team.

Others include Mushy, Mo Akram, Rana, Younis Khan.

I hope to meet many more next summer.......

Were you the umpire of WC 2003 :)

I've met Abdul Razzaq. He was at this famous Pakistani restaurant in London the day we won the t20 world cup. I got a picture taken with him too, in my Pakistan jersey. It was great.
I saw Michael Holding and Aleem Dar this summer. At a restaurant after one of the Ashes tests things. I didn't have the guts to talk to them but people were taking pictures and stuff.

Is seeing a player considered as meeting them? I mean I have seen players really closely when i went to see the match and spoke to them (very few words) so is that considered as meeting them? No, right?

Lucky enough to have met quite a lot of ex and current players

Have played against Nasir Jamshed, Sridharan Sriram (got him clean bowled), Dilhara Lokuhettige.

Been also lucky enough to get coached by likes of Mushtaq Muhammad, Madan Lal, Geoff Cook regularly.

Also got the odd coaching session from interantionals who visited our academy.
Jonty Rhodes and Muralitharan come to mind straight away

Once during a Shrajah tourney 5-6 of Pakistan's team visited our club. Waqar Younis, Razzak, Danish Kaneria, Faisal Iqbal are the guys I remember.

And then I met all these commentary guys during a dinner which included Mike Haysman, Keith Stackpole, Aquib Javed, Aamer Sohail etc.

Oh and yes, also met Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Liam Plunkett and Paul Collingwood while on a cricket tour to Durham.

Thats all I can remember for now, I think I've met and come across some more. Will post when I remember

Khalil said:
Were you the umpire of WC 2003 :)

Haha no. I had a family member who was a friend of the Lahore groundsman. Lucky me :)

Meeting :inzi was a memorable moment.

Nice write up and quite a list there.

I'm very envious.

IMMY69 said:
From Pakistan:-

zaheer abbas - 1982 - came to visit my grandfather in hospital in london - he would be the first real cricket start i met.

imran khan - several times

javed miandad - drove him around london in 1992 - from one hotel to another!
was 12th man in a pakistan vs india charity match at crystal palace in 1992 (for Imran Khans cancer charity) - during this game played tennis ball cricket in the changing rooms with tendulkar, kapil dev, wasim akram, waqar younis and the rest of the boys...had a general laugh with the boys. Funny thing is that there were no scorers in the scorebox and the Khan saab turned to me and said 'come on yaar you get in there'...i turned my head away from him and pretended like i didnt hear a thing! luckily a couple of others were forced to do the scoring...excellent atmosphere until the usual indian flag burning and subsequent pitch invasion!

Asif Iqbal - had lunch with him in 1992 at the st jame's court hotel...lovely chap.

Played two games of cricket with Amir Sohail - both in 1993...I was captaining one side and he was playing in the opposition side...basically both teams were made up of pakistany freinds...Amir's team had a pakistan a team player as well (Ali NAqvi? cant remmeber the name)...anyway, in the first game he was caught in the gully after three balls and i gave him the 1992 worlcdup ian botham send off...Excellent fun!!! In the second game, a couple of months later, he smashed 60 odd in about 25 balls!!!!

shahid afridi - several times including accompanying him when he was playing golf. He was playing 2 with my brother and a couple of other friends
he was very new to golf and as he was teeing off he missed the ball a couple of times, then my brother said 'come on just do what u do when batting, dont think too much, close your eyes and hit it'...afridi was in histerics...lovely chap.
A year after the golf session, he came to my club for a benefit match and smashed the ball to all parts...

basically the whole 1992 team and from today's players, shahid afridi.

Other players, been lucky enough to have met many many players through my localc ricket club which has a benefit day each year for a county pro...Dave English happens to be the president and he is the guy who set up Bunbury and he knows pretty much everyone in thge england and county set-up so we usually get an awsome turnout...There is one team headed by an indian businessman, he gets all the top international pro's..wasim akram, simmons, david laurence, some firstclass indian cricketers.. etc...in 1995 we had flintoff benefit day, it was the same day england were playing aussies in an odi and flintoff was injured...he still came but didnt partake..

gosh, there are so many more..i just cant recall it all..

I have met only one cricketer in my life and I must say " Mission Accomplished " . Indeed , the beast has a mighty grip . :))

I have met Shahid Afridi, Inzi, Yousuf, Saeed Anwar, Shoaib Malik, Waqar Younis, Wasim Bari, Zaheer Abbad, Fazl Mahmood.

Oh my goodness, loads and loads, and off the cricket pitch too!

Met Imran Khan at a dinner party in my Mamu's house in Gulberg, Lahore. Again when he was on Darcus Howe's Devil's Advocate programme. And again at Lahore airport when I was returning on a flight from New Delhi, while Sarfaz Nawaz was on that flight!!!

I can't be bothered to go into the other sightings of numerous world cricketers, too tired!

I met a few of the Saffie players (at PC Lahore....when AB De Villiers was checking me out)

:))):))) When he invited you up to his room for 'tea'?

b0wld said:
I have met Shahid Afridi, Inzi, Yousuf, Saeed Anwar, Shoaib Malik, Waqar Younis, Wasim Bari, Zaheer Abbad, Fazl Mahmood.

Fazl Mahmood ?

Is this the Fazl Mahmood . Is this the same Fazl who played both for India and Pakistan ?

_pakistan_fazal-mahmood-the-blue-eyed-boy-of-pakistan-cricket.jpg

Wasim Akram at 99 World Cup (more then once)

The great. magnificent, amazing Imran Khan at Heathrow Airport when he was checking in.

Some Middlesex cricketer a loooong time back (when i was in primary school, was our guest cricket coach for a while).

Khalil said:
Fazl Mahmood ?

Is this the Fazl Mahmood . Is this the same Fazl who played both for India and Pakistan ?

_pakistan_fazal-mahmood-the-blue-eyed-boy-of-pakistan-cricket.jpg

Those features suggest a young Sunil Gavaskar, maybe not the eyes. I heard there was an Imran Khan-esque devastatingly gorgeous Pak cricketer in the 50s, married some daughter of an English county chief.

filosofee said:
Those features suggest a young Sunil Gavaskar, maybe not the eyes. I heard there was an Imran Khan-esque devastatingly gorgeous Pak cricketer in the 50s, married some daughter of an English county chief.

Same cricketer but he died in 1995

All the members of Pakistan Cricket team were introduced to Her Majesty the Queen Elizabeth II at the Buckingham Palace. When my turn came, the Queen, while shaking hands with me, looked into my eyes and went on to meet the other players. After shaking hands with the last player, the Queen came back to me and said: “You are a Pakistani. How do you have blue eyes while others do not?’ ‘Your Majesty’, the people coming from the northern areas of Pakistan do have blue eyes,’ I told her. The Queen was amused.

http://pakistaniat.com/2008/02/24/fazal-mahmood-the-blue-eyed-boy-of-pakistan-cricket

Boi said:
Saeed Anwar
Shahid Khan Afridi

We may be related Boi :afridi

Your meeting with Cricketer stories

Not every1 gets to meet a cricketer but when you do you're special :p... Share your meeting with cricketers' stories right here! Can't wait to read them!

I met Sachin walking on Bourke Street in Melbourne - he was walking with Agarkar lol.

All I remember is he was very polite and short, Agarkar was very shy and reserved.

^^:))

Haven't met any cricketers sadly :(

Would love to meet :amir someday though!

met Sikandar bhakat in the front of UBL Head office I.I.Chundrigar road Karachi, he was looking for the Taxi, Actually he parked his car @ karachi Gymkhana, then we shared the same taxi, very friendly and nice guy...

Met Virat kohli in his school days, though he was nt a superstar then :D

I met Younis Khan:

Yeah he was a great guy, Well there was a massive crowd approaching him so all I could do was say Hi and take his signature on my collar on a new shirt which is really dirty and I don't want to wash it lol! He also spoke on the mic for a while about the match and how things were, very decent person and well I could only say Hi and he said "on the collar?" I said yes please(all in english). So yeah that was how it went.

:yk

i met the whole Indian team :D

I am a ball boy for India vs Sri lanka match in vizag......
Another fact that i wud never forget,i bowled to Mr.Yuvraj Singh

i remember seeing wasim akram and M, Yusuf during the 1999 world cup, i believe i was in year 3 or year 4. They came to our primary school where they met the year 6 cricket team. i believe wasim akram bowled to some of the students and M, Yusuf was smashing the bowlers out of the court till i believe if i remeber right he said " ab bas karein " as we all were shouting " chakah chakah chakah" it was an amazing experiance those shots where huge! i believe 1 or 2 England or new zealand players where present

I'm good friends with mohammed amir and i meet mi#ohammed asif regularly, got a net session wih him tomorrow..
Shahid afridi
Waqar Youis
Saqlain Mushatq
Azhar Ali
paul nixon
salman butt
saeed ajmal
umar akmal

plus met all of these guys in a tour match at leicester a few years ago.

it was before the oval test match in 2010 where I met Imran Farhat, umar akmal, Asif and Mohammad Amir in London at a computer shop in 2010.

Also met Javed miandad at an event

I have also met only one famous cricketer in my life, Parthiv Patel (the indian Keeper), when he came to our club in Paris 2 years ago.
But I don't know if I can really add the work FAMOUS for him :))

Met Umar Akmal, Mohammad Amir(quite a few times), Ramiz Raja, Razzaq, Afridi, Akthar, Azhar Mahmood, Flintoff, Gillespie, Boon, Yasir Arafat, Trott, Bell, Neil Carter, Trescothick, Harmison, Collingwood, Jayasuria, Lou Vincent, Sreesanth, Andrew Hall, Jimmy Adams(WI) and some young English county cricketers too.

Haven't met anyone but Misbah-ul-Haq lives next to my aunties (hala) house. When I went to Pakistan I went to meet him :) But he wasn't there :(

Will be looking to meet some of the Pakistani players next year in ICC Champions Trophy 2013!

I used to wash Jeff Thompson's boat for him when I was a teenager on the Gold Coast. Always friendly with a very funny dry sense of humor. He didn't pay me very much though :(

Only shakib,tamim,mushfiqur,nasser and shafiul
It was 2 weeks ago or something.

Venkatapathy Raju, Rajesh Chauhan, Nayan Mongia, when they came to play a charity match in my University. Went to meet them with two other friends, and felt bad for them because no one seemed to care that they were former internationals.

The rest have been at airports, and I greet them and take an autograph. Ian Harvey, Michael Bevan, Graeme Swann.

But the one person I would love to meet is Steve Waugh!

Wasim Akram around 93-94 We went to old trafford to watch lancashire but akram wasnt playing, heard he was at the ground tho and went looking for him Came across a security guy who said akram was inside for some physio so waited for him He came out a few mins later and we got five mins with him and a autograph

Mike atherton around 95-96, our school cricket team went to old trafford and took part in a short cricketing tips segment with him which was was broadcast on national tv

Fazle e akbar and abdur rauf whilst they were playing for our local clubs in our town league

Mashallah Akbar was a very nice and pious individual

From Pakistan. Ahmed Shehzad, Moin Khan, Rashid Latif, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Sami and Shahid Afridi.

Besides that, I've also Marcus Trescothick, Don't know if anybody remembers Shane Lee? Brett's brother? :yk

From Pakistan. Ahmed Shehzad, Moin Khan, Rashid Latif, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Sami and Shahid Afridi.

Besides that, I've also Marcus Trescothick, Don't know if anybody remembers Shane Lee? Brett's brother? :yk

i do, the medium pace all rounder

the afghan and irish cricket team

met imran khan when i was younger in dubai

wasim akram ages ago when his wife came to give birth here, were invited to dinner by family friends

shahid afridi is related to a family friend of mine so hopefully next time he is here visiting, ill try meeting him also lol