Law
Local Club Captain
^^ That is an unintentional HOME RUN for PTI. I cannot stand watching her while she is speaking.
Shafqat Mehmood, very interesting.
PTI is bringing in non-political personalities into its fold. Good to see!
That article quoted above is from Noorani who's one of the more notoriously unreliable Jang Group reporters.
You will note that there are no quotes, no statements and no attributable facts in the article - just gossip and innuendo
Not saying it won't happen. In fact, this might indeed be happening as we speak - but so far, the evidence is somewhat slim.
^^ While i agree to some extent, I think the real reason is that her chances of becoming foreign minister (IF PTI comes in power) were bamboozled last night when SMQ joined in.
Given her seniority and history in PTI, she'd get a good role whatever happens - sure, will not be the top role as in FM, but would be important enough.
And which other party is offering her something even half or a fraction as important as whatever she'll get from PTI?![]()
One's man "hardliner" is another man's "khuddar and ghairatmand Pakistani".
It all depends on one's perspective.
Traditionally, Pakistani foreign policy is never made at the FO; the FM only implements what Aabpara and GHQ tell him. "Politics and diplomacy being too serious a business to leave to mere politicians and diplomats".
I'm sure Shireen is as good at taking instructions as SMQ and HRK were/are.
I think she'll start filling our heads with columns full of hatred once again![]()
What is then, the point of screaming 'change', when Pindi and Aabpara will continue to dictate FP and SP to the elected government.
Or worse, get a prime-time TV news show slot where she can be the "anchor".
We'll hear a daily recital of how our 'bums' are the best thing since sliced bread.
Now that's change you (and all of us!) can truly believe in!![]()
The only thing that will change, is the ghairatmand PM setting an example by resigning IF the Army continues to assert its dominance.
You're too kind bhai, but sadly, I am afraid quite mistaken too.ShehryarK bhai, plz zayada post kiya karein on political forums
Your comments are always so insightful and educational.
I think my leanings / views should be quite clear from the many hundreds of posts around these parts!Btw, you have never disclosed your political leanings before as far as i remember. Care to tell us which party you support?![]()
Allah nay meri dua'in sun li aur this crackpot is thinking about leaving.
Up next should be Hamid Gul.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=10595&Cat=13
^^ To be fair, him joining PTI is hardly Imran's fault - even criminals (not saying this guy is one) can claim to join any party.
The issue arises only if those of dubious backgrounds and reputations (includes MOST of those joining PTI these days) are given top posts in the party, or the party's ticket in the elections.
Manifesto time!
Look AZ, at least PTI have their Shadow Positions generally run by those who have expertise in that said field - i.e. PTI's Health and Edcuation departments.
I agree though, Imran has alot of work ahead of him to bring forth genuine talent; It can't all rest on him because a bullet/media storm might put an end to him, and then what?
I think PTI has some sort of Manifesto on their website
http://www.insaf.pk/AboutUs/Manifesto/tabid/138/Default.aspx
I have no idea how old/new is it, but atleast its out there !!!
he is from Q-league...
someone rightly said...that it's not who joining IK..but it's more like IK joining who.
he is from Q-league...
someone rightly said...that it's not who joining IK..but it's more like IK joining who.
Sorry to spoil your party but he is from JUI-F.
Abrar-ul-Haq to join PTI...
Wasn't Swati involved in the Hajj corruption case?
Rich guy.
Wasn't Swati involved in the Hajj corruption case?
Rich guy.
Reading and listning everywhhere that PTI-workers use bad language and threatning some senior journalists like Qasmi and Nusrat Javed.
Qasmi was on Laikin and told about his as well.
So what is happening?
All propaganda man
And nusrat javed, that drunk guy, enough said.
Ah the typical response. Khair might be truth, I don't know that's why I asked. But why would an journalist like Qasmi who has written for 50 years say such things? He also said he respected Imran very much.
And how do you know he drinks?meed
Exactly. Which Pakistani gives up the 'ticket to heaven' ie a US citizenship? We have had PMs etc before who've been US citizens and never been ashamed about that.VERY rich BUT he's declared all his assets and he gave back his US citizenship. I like him
He exposed the Hajj corruption i think![]()
Its pathetic behaviour; more of what one would have expected from the MQM, APMSO and IJT in times gone by.Reading and listning everywhhere that PTI-workers use bad language and threatning some senior journalists like Qasmi and Nusrat Javed.
He's admitted/discussed this himself in his columns. Anyway - his life, his decisions. Many Pakistani writers, columnists, politicians, bureaucrats and generals etc drink - its hardly news.And how do you know he drinks?
Imran Khan making fun of politicians that are joining PTI)
[utube]OWuUOiU_paA[/utube]
http://www.dawn.com/2011/12/12/imran-postpones-press-conference-after-groups-clash.html
Imran postpones press conference after groups clash
ISLAMABD: Pakistan Tehirk-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan on Monday postponed a scheduled press conference following a clash between two groups of his party at the party secretariat.
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Irrigation Minister Pervez Khatak was due to announce his decision to join PTI in the press conference with Imran Khan.
The supporter of Khatak and his opponents, headed by PTI Nowshera chief Sajid Gumryani, clashed with each other at the PTI central secretariat.
Two groups freely threw eggs, chairs and other office equipments at each other.
Party workers from Nowshera had serious reservations at joining of Khatak. Angry workers said there was no place for old and corrupt people in the PTI, which was claiming to bring about change with youth and new faces.
Police also reached the scene and safely rescued the provincial minister.
After the clash, Khan postponed his scheduled press conference and set up a committee to investigate the incident.
ISLAMABAD - The newly appointed Vice-Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Qureshi had sliced a very lucrative deal with Imran Khan for coming under his wings, as he would be having a freehand in awarding party tickets on some 25 National Assembly constituencies covering southern Punjab and parts of Sindh.
Sources in the party informed TheNation that the party loyalists who stood with the party in thick and thin over the past around one and half decades were perturbed over this state of affairs as the new entrants in the party were not only landing on priced slots in the party but would also be aspiring a strong say in the future electoral process.
A veteran of the party who has been standing by Imran Khan since the establishment of Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf on condition of anonymity said that no doubt the induction of heavyweights in Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf on one hand was depicting its growing popularity as a potential force in the future elections, while on the other hand it was becoming a source of anxiety and unrest among party loyalists who were staying with them in the thick and thin for past well over a decade.
He said that they had expressed their reservations with the party leadership over the current state of affairs wherein the political heavyweights were landing in the party from other political parties on their own terms and conditions.
Citing the example of Shah Mahmood Qureshi and the deal he had struck with the party, another party loyalist said that no doubt he (Qureshi) was quite influential in southern Punjab and some parts of Sindh but this did not mean that he would be given such sweeping powers in sheer violation of the party's manifesto and ideology.
Sources in the party informed that to address this growing anxiety among the party's loyalists, who stood by it in difficult times, a party high command had decided that new entrants would be given party tickets on only 30 per cent of the National Assembly and provincial assemblies seats, mostly in rural areas while 50 per cent of tickets would be given PTI loyalists who stood with the party in hard times.
Similarly to keep the interest of the youth intact, which is considered as the running blood in the party, some 20 per cent of the seats would be allocated and candidates would be selected from the Insaf Youth Federation.
Sources said that this decision on part of the party high command would cool down the high tempers among the party loyalists who were perturbed over the fast pace with which the elect-able from the other political parties were pouring in the party apparently changing its face.
Similarly to further appease the party loyalists it was further decided in a high-level meeting that some top level changes in the party would be expected in coming days where some of the senior party leaders would be accommodated.
It was further decided that preference would definitely be given to the basis of association with the party and it was in this backdrop that Justice (Retd) Wajiuddin Ahmad would be given some very important position in the party, besides the existing slot of chairman scrutiny committee of the party.
Similarly some other senior party leaders would also be accommodated on the priced positions in the party just to dispel the impression that the new entrants have hijacked the party.
Exactly. Which Pakistani gives up the 'ticket to heaven' ie a US citizenship? We have had PMs etc before who've been US citizens and never been ashamed about that.
Swati is one of the good guys; he resigned from his ministry over the PPP's excessive and unprecedented corruption over something as pure and wonderful as Hajj!
He has been agitating Mr. Diesel, the head of his party, to leave the govt for a long time now - but of course Diesel would never do something like that.
So good move by Swati to jump ship. Masha Allah he's independently very wealthy, and was rumoured to have funded some of JUI-F's election expenses in the previous campaign; let's hope they face some financial problems now!
Its pathetic behaviour; more of what one would have expected from the MQM, APMSO and IJT in times gone by.
Not hugely surprising though since many of the key people in PTI were initially trained by IJT though of course now they have moved on politically; perhaps temperamentally they haven't.
He's admitted/discussed this himself in his columns. Anyway - his life, his decisions. Many Pakistani writers, columnists, politicians, bureaucrats and generals etc drink - its hardly news.
I've been reading Nusrat's columns on and off for over two decades - since his early days as a lobby correspondent for the nascent The News; one of the better columnists in Pak, though he has become more irritable, irascible and irrational over the years, and therefore less reliable.
If sherpao joins PTI, it would be the worst addition to date. This guy is as corrupt as they come. What the hell is PTI thinking? Someone needs to smack some of these PTI people who are adding people like sherpao to the party.I guess Imran Khan saw that coming. I don't think PTI needs anyone in Nowshera anymore they could smash everyone there. The blame lies with Asad Qaiser on this one who about a month ago held a meeting with Aftab SherPao (PPP-s) to quit his party and join PTI. This seems like the first step towards that as Pervez Khattak was elected on PPP(S) ticket.
KPK Executive council should have taken the local organizers in confidence before taking any decisions. This however could also be a result of battle for tickets.
In other news, Loyalists and ISF to get 70 % of PTI tickets while 30% of tickets would be given to New Entrants.
There are rumors of Justice Wajih-udeen replacing Dr. Arif Alvi as the Generalsecertery of the Party.
If sherpao joins PTI, it would be the worst addition to date. This guy is as corrupt as they come. What the hell is PTI thinking? Someone needs to smack some of these PTI people who are adding people like sherpao to the party.
I hope khattak does not join PTI now, after all this. If Imran has some sense, he will understand that there is a limit to adding people to the party and ignoring their past
Why is d.r Arif Alvi bein replaced. And for Gods sake Imran. STOP ACCEPTING MORE PEOPLE IN THE PARTY.
He is still GS! Omar cheema replaced by Shafqat which is a good decision.
S.A Hameed joining tomorrow. Gujranwala politics changing...![]()
Is it true that quite a few PTI leaders have left the party in Mianwali and KP? I heard that the head of PTI mianwali has joined ANP, with about 3000 supporters
I hear Imy.K is travelling to USA with feudal saab?
Imran Khan was scheduled to be in America for some fund raiser in the first week of December but that trip was cancelled after Memogate exploded on national scene.
The rumor came out of nowhere that Imran Khan along with Shah Mehmood Qureshi met state Department in Washington while Imran Khan was doing fund raiser for Namal in London.
I think you picked this up from Sethi's program who in my opinion just went with that rumor.
However I could see Imran Khan going to Washington and convince americans to abandon this stupid war on terror.
This news of IK being in the US along with SMQ, was deliberately spread for propaganda purposes. That's what I think.
I heard the same thing from several non-PTI sources as well, but I was always skeptical about it.
However, someone told me that he saw Imran at a pakistani restaurant here in DC. Dont know how credible this is though
Imran Khan was scheduled to be in America for some fund raiser in the first week of December but that trip was cancelled after Memogate exploded on national scene.
The rumor came out of nowhere that Imran Khan along with Shah Mehmood Qureshi met state Department in Washington while Imran Khan was doing fund raiser for Namal in London.
I think you picked this up from Sethi's program who in my opinion just went with that rumor.
However I could see Imran Khan going to Washington and convince americans to abandon this stupid war on terror.
There's absolutely NOTHING wrong with Imran meeting with US officials, in US or wherever else.This news of IK being in the US along with SMQ, was deliberately spread for propaganda purposes. That's what I think.
I heard the same thing from several non-PTI sources as well, but I was always skeptical about it.
However, someone told me that he saw Imran at a pakistani restaurant here in DC. Dont know how credible this is though
According to a Dawn news report, Marvi Memon has already been promised the General Secretary seat. She will announce her decision to join the PTI on 25th December.
This means she will replace Dr. Arif Alvi.
Dr. Alvi is doing a great job and him being replaced should never be on the agenda
Here is Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Secretary General Dr Arif Alvi’s exclusive interview with The News Tribe (TNT), which was taken recently in Karachi.
TNT: Do you believe that PTI has a team of dedicated workers today which can root out corruption and address other issues facing the country since independence?
Dr Arfi Alvi: Our team is extending today. Look corruption is not the only issue and every issue is multi-factorial. If we only talk about anti-corruption measures, several books can be written on the subject. However, few points can be very significant to control this menace like having non-corrupt leadership, bringing transparency in procedures, building up cultural resistance against corruption and implementation of laws.
What we would do in our first 100 days. For instance, we should go after the people who have corrupted the system and not the elements who become corrupt by the system. See there is a big segment which corrupts the system. Serious violations are made by simply issuing SRO’s. We should catch and punish top icons of corruption. We have to set a trend to control corruption in future.
TNT: What factor you see behind the current upward graph of PTI. Whether its growing popularity or its philosophy is attracting people to join the party?
Dr Arif Alvi: Well our philosophy is old and adore is new. Means philosophy is 10-12 years old.
You know politics or philosophy based on ethnicity becomes quickly popular. We have an example of MQM. It was founded on the basis of ethnic politics which was an old philosophy. My father was used to write pamphlets saying the rights of Urdu speaking people have been encroached.
TNT: Would you agree to the idea that the governments’ failure to handle national issues is the prime reason behind PTI’s growing popularity among masses today?
Dr Arfi Alvi: No. Actually the people have recognised it now. Today the need of medicine (PTI’s philosophy) has increased manifold but the drug is same.
I think its impetus. But I don’t give credit to government for this. You may hold current situation about 10 percent responsible for it. There may be difference of opinion between you and me in this regard.
TNT: Has PTI failed to find a suitable person within the party to appoint him as Vice-Chairman since its inception? Do you believe Shah Mehmood Qureshi was more committed to party’s ideology as compare to the workers who worked relentlessly for safeguarding the PTI’s interests for last 15 years?
Dr Arif Alvi: Well, you must keep talent recognition in mind. This can be political talent and when you come into power it may be technological talent as well. When you run the country, you have to consider various others things including loyalty.
TNT- So can we say that Mehmood Qureshi comes at No 2 after Imran Khan as far as political capability is concerned?
Dr Arif Alvi: Masha Allah probably… very capable. But I won’t say the second most capable after Imran in the party. Because, it is a mixture of not only capability but also of position, political weight, personal experience and so many other things. So Shah Mehmood Qureshi has deservingly been made vice chairman of PTI.
TNT: This reflects traditional politics in the party, which has been claiming to bring revolution in Pakistan. What do you say?
Dr Arif Alvi: We are doing so…we don’t concern whether it is traditional or not.
TNT: But people do have a concern about it as they are coming to you because they are fed up of traditional politics. Today you allege govt for creating new ministries to accommodate its allies but you did the same thing within PTI by creating a new position of VC to specially accommodate Mr Qureshi.
Dr Arif Alvi: Absolutely, we created the position and will do so in future too. Positions should not be the issue. But the thing is that we should accommodate people with respect. Majority of the people come and expect position in the party and there is no problem in this. Its fine…we will surely give them on merit. However, we will assess them objectively while giving party ticket before election. We have been asked at every forum that PTI doesn’t has any electable except Imran Khan. I say where from the they (electable) will come. Definitely, people from other parties will come.
TNT- Cay we say here that PTI has failed to produce electables during for last 15 years?
Dr Arif Alvi- Yes to an extent we did fail. There is no probem in admitting this. But now we are successful. You know it is always very difficult for the third party to come into the mainstream.
TNT- Does Imran Khan have any personal enmity with PML-N as he always target Sharif brothers and not the government in his speeches?
Dr Arif Alvi: No…I am disagree with you. We have been targeting all on various occasions. We criticise MQM, PPP, PML-N and others from time to time. How can we criticise all parties in one speech. If you remember we focused on PPP some eight months back. It’s like playing chess. We also staged sit-ins against drone attacks. We are putting focus of people on different issues gradually.
Q- How would PTI bring a revolution? Why it has not unfolded its plans to handle economic, foreign policy and others issues?
A- No we haven’t given as yet. Because it is my firm belief that Pakistan does not need any Einstein to address issues. You and me even every body knows the solution to the major problems facing by the nation today. If you pick up newspapers you will find solutions to all major issues in them. The matter is that who will do this. PTI has formed think-tanks during the last one year to make policies to deal with issues facing by the nation. Now we have been asked to make the findings of these think-tanks public. Finally these will be published very soon.
TNT- Recently Imran Khan visited China on the invitation of Communist Party of China. Could you share the purpose of the tour?
Dr Arif Alvi- Me and Khan sahab went there. We had an interaction with the China’s anti-corruption unit minister. They don’t have any unique idea to root out corruption but their determination is unique as their any low-ranking official can pursue a case against a minister.
TNT- Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf is often blamed for having support of establishment today?.How would you defend this?
Dr Arif Alvi- We are pro-establishment in a way that we believe military and bureaucracy are our need. Decisions taken by military in the past have caused great loss to Pakistan. We supported Musharraf for sometime.
TNT- Means today PTI is not pro-establishment?
Dr Arif Alvi- We have never been pro-establishment. We did support Musharraf but later appologised for that. We thought that short cut to handle corruption is through a government, which is recognised by the Supreme Court. However, our judgment was wrong.
TNT- Don’t you consider Musharraf as part of establishment?
Dr Arif Alvi- Ok, if he were a part of establishment then fine you can say. But we supported a person who was in power and we thought that his power-base was not corrupt politics. Later, we realised that he himself was corrupt and supportive of corruption.
TNT- Would you make seat adjustment or form an alliance for the next election?
Dr Arif Alvi- Yes seat-to-seat adjustment is possible. But making an alliance is difficult. However it is premature to say any thing right now.
TNT: How many people are joining PTI in the Karachi public meeting?
Dr Arif Alvi: So many people but they don’t want their names to be made public right now.
TNT: How did you enter into politics?
Dr Arif Alvi: I have been in politics since long. I was part of agitation against Ayub Khan’s dictatorship when I was studying at Dental College Lahore. I got elected as president of the student union of the college. During democratic struggle, I received two bullets in my right arm. In 1970, I started practice but soon left for the US for further studies in 1973. When Bhutto announced election in 1977, I began search for an honest leadership and later worked with Jamaat-e-Islami. For specialization I went to America in 1982. In the meantime, I quit JI for some reasons. Soon after, I joined Imran before the launch of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. I remained president of the party’s Sindh chapter for several years before I was forced to assume the position of Secretary General.
There's absolutely NOTHING wrong with Imran meeting with US officials, in US or wherever else.
These lib-tards are utterly confused/senile when they raise this as an issue. Is Imran agitating for cutting off all diplomatic ties with the US? NO!
All he's saying is that we should be more assertive whilst TALKING with them. We should not give in to all their demands in MEETINGS with them. We should protect Pakistani interests and Pakistani people when NEGOTIATING with them.
Now tell me - how does one do all of the above, if not by talking, meeting and negotiating wtih them?
So yes - by all means, senior Pakistani leaders and politicos should meet and speak to people from other countries. What matters is not that such meetings are held - but what is said at those meetings!
According to a Dawn news report, Marvi Memon has already been promised the General Secretary seat. She will announce her decision to join the PTI on 25th December.
You misunderstood my post sheheryarThere's absolutely NOTHING wrong with Imran meeting with US officials, in US or wherever else.
These lib-tards are utterly confused/senile when they raise this as an issue. Is Imran agitating for cutting off all diplomatic ties with the US? NO!
All he's saying is that we should be more assertive whilst TALKING with them. We should not give in to all their demands in MEETINGS with them. We should protect Pakistani interests and Pakistani people when NEGOTIATING with them.
Now tell me - how does one do all of the above, if not by talking, meeting and negotiating wtih them?
So yes - by all means, senior Pakistani leaders and politicos should meet and speak to people from other countries. What matters is not that such meetings are held - but what is said at those meetings!
Imran Khan in his press conference with Air Marshal Asghar Khan completely denied that.
The day that news broke out Imran Khan was in london. Yesterday there was another rumor going around that Imran Khan met UAE ruling family recently but PTI spokesperson Rauf Hassan also denied that saying that was another fund raiser in UAE for party saying once we go out to meet someone we will let everyone know just like we did when Imran Khan went to meet chinese and turkish officials.
Propaganda. Ik will never do this.
and some Adnan Kiyani don't know what position he was holding in Islamabad left for PML(N).
are these hosts neutrals??????
and what the hell is this lady asma on about
Dr. Maliha Lodhie is next in line to join PTI, it seems.