Who is Joining "Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Now" Thread

^^

When the country was run by Musharaf he named him as the chief destroyer of Pakistan and bending over for the America/Nato for few dollars. Right now the government is run by civilians aka morons like zardari and Gilani and Imran rightly points at them. The government has to define the policy and not outsource the policy to GHQ.

Imran didn't explode on the liberals, Imran Khan says I don't even consider them liberals just read what he said again.

So from now onwards I should first check with Imran on who qualifies to be called a "real liberal" vs. a "so called liberal". Thanks for the clarification.

Also when he calls liberals "fascists" isn't it funny how he forgets his own tendencies to dictate labels on groups of people who tend to disagree with him on some issues. Also funny coming from a guy whose party is yet to have inter party elections.

salaam insaftak!!

can u tell me, when will the bhera(sargodha) jalsa be held??

i initially heard dat it will be on the 20th, but now, the news has it dat its on 22nd.... any clue??

Here it is bro.

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    21.8 KB · Views: 289
^^ not sure if it was a local jalsa or Imran Khan jalsa haven't heard anything yet so i guess it was organized by local leadership of swat.

Did find some crazy supporter trying to put up a pti flag 150 feet high on a electricity tower or cell phone tower.

[utube]Sg64svEvOmY[/utube]

Did anyone notice a PTI flag in the crowd after Pakistan won the test match ? :yk lovely moment

:)) Its better than having PPP flags all over Islamabad, on every street, specially constitution avenue

What a joke that was :facepalm:

Imran Khan have my support since he started politics. Tell me any other Pakistani who have done so much for Pakistan like Imran has? The best Canser hospital in south Asia, University complex in Jhelum that is a link to Oxford Uni, World Cup is to mention a few.

Just imagine what he can do for Pakistan as a leader!

Imran Khan all the way!!

^^

it's good that you support pti but lets get the facts right. Uni is in Mianwali and is linked to Bradford uni not oxford.

waisey pakistan aur america be nazdeeq he hain :P

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    95.1 KB · Views: 301
PML-N leaders from Balochistan join PTI

Islamabad (19 January, 2012): Former Vice President PML(N)-Balochistan Mr. Noor Khan Nasir, Abdur Rasheed Jadoon, Former Provincial Joint Secretary Mr. Abdul Wahab Khan Saafi, Babar Rasheed Khan and others join PTI.

http://www.insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/a.../PML-N-leaders-from-Balochistan-join-PTI.aspx

I am sure most of PML N and PPP leaders in Balochistan will join PTI by the time his Balochistan jalsa finishes. It will be a MASSIVE boost if he manages to get some Baloch nationalists leaders on his side though.

^^ not sure if it was a local jalsa or Imran Khan jalsa haven't heard anything yet so i guess it was organized by local leadership of swat.

Did find some crazy supporter trying to put up a pti flag 150 feet high on a electricity tower or cell phone tower.

[utube]Sg64svEvOmY[/utube]

it was a local jalsa:

pti2.jpg

thanx for the video.

Can someone tell me about the Ijaz Jazi fiasco? Was he given a ticket to contest by elections by PTI? And did PTI ever apologize for this?

Can anyone point me to a media release by PTI on this issue?

Can someone tell me about the Ijaz Jazi fiasco? Was he given a ticket to contest by elections by PTI? And did PTI ever apologize for this?

Can anyone point me to a media release by PTI on this issue?

i've heard dat he is some kinda gangster.

yeah, he was given ticket in bye elections, got about 2000 votes against shakeel awan (noon league 75000 votes) in na 55 n still is in p.t.i but m 110% sure, he'll inshaALLAH not get the ticket this time around.

yeah, he was given ticket in bye elections, got about 2000 votes against shakeel awan in na 55 n still is in p.t.i but m 110% sure, he'll inshaALLAH not get the ticket this time around.

He is a gangster

But did PTI apologize for this mistake?WHy didnt they kick him out of the party? Was there any corrective action taken?

yeah, he was given ticket in bye elections, got about 2000 votes against shakeel awan (noon league 75000 votes) in na 55 n still is in p.t.i but m 110% sure, he'll inshaALLAH not get the ticket this time around.

are you ahmed shahzad fan?

He is a gangster

But did PTI apologize for this mistake?WHy didnt they kick him out of the party? Was there any corrective action taken?

no, no one has apologized. infact, he still is in party n is quite active. yesterday, there was a jalsa in wah cantt n he was there to give his golden views.

but sheikh danish iftikhar imo wud be the candidate for general elections if sheikh Rasheed doesn't join p.t.i.

no, no one has apologized. infact, he still is in party n is quite active. yesterday, there was a jalsa in wah cantt n he was there to give his golden views.

but sheikh danish iftikhar imo wud be the candidate for general elections if sheikh Rasheed doesn't join p.t.i.

I think I heard SHireen Mazari saying on TV that PTI has taken some corrective action after the Jazi fiasco

That's why I am curious to know what happened here.

Aik to ye pata nahi insaftak kahan hai. Just like a PPP minister, when you need him, he is nowhere to be found

I think I heard SHireen Mazari saying on TV that PTI has taken some corrective action after the Jazi fiasco

That's why I am curious to know what happened here.

Aik to ye pata nahi insaftak kahan hai. Just like a PPP minister, when you need him, he is nowhere to be found

no big fiasco as such. his reputation is not good, on the basis i mentioned before n dats all.

nothing to get curious:P

insaftak apnay bal bachon ki daikh bhaal main masroof ho shaaid!!

no big fiasco as such. his reputation is not good, on the basis i mentioned before n dats all.

nothing to get curious:P

insaftak apnay bal bachon ki daikh bhaal main masroof ho shaaid!!

If I were Imran, I would take this very seriously. I dont think it is a small matter at all

^^ Yeah.

He spent a fortune. Then again he can afford to, since he doesn't know how much tax he paid. :))

Free langars, huge publicity campaign.

PTI Rawalpindi is jokes.

I think it is divided in four factions and not everyone is working together. There is so much support for PTI there but some individuals just can't put their egos aside. Imran Khan also needs to hold a mega jalsa in Rawalpindi and force them to work together or better yet sack them.

^^ Yeah.

He spent a fortune. Then again he can afford to, since he doesn't know how much tax he paid. :))

Free langars, huge publicity campaign.

lol. during election days, most rickshaws had his photo on their back n his slogan was something like "ghareebon ka dost" lol

PTI Rawalpindi is jokes.

I think it is divided in four factions and not everyone is working together. There is so much support for PTI there but some individuals just can't put their egos aside. Imran Khan also needs to hold a mega jalsa in Rawalpindi and force them to work together or better yet sack them.

agree 200%.

if khan sb doesn't hold jalsa in near future, hanif abbasi n co wud most probably get more stronger, as they have done quite a lot of work in pindi n people do like noora league in pindi.

lol. during election days, most rickshaws had his photo on their back n his slogan was something like "ghareebon ka dost" lol

He is also a tax chor.

Just like the Paracha's of Sargodha, who are in addition to being tax chors, are also ghundas # 1.

PTI Rawalpindi is jokes.

But did PTI do anything about the Jazi fiasco?

Or better yet, jazigate

^^

Imran Khan is on record saying it was a mistake to give ticket to jazi. He also said there was no parliamentary board and we relied on local organization for it.

after one of my cousin put up a flag on our house in PP2 27 more PTI flags were put on other houses on next day. most of these people were extreme jiyalas and have never voted for anyone other than ppp. PML(N) walaay's are still sticking to their guns in our village but that will soon change too.

Top European businessmen flocking to Imran Khan

LONDON: A number of well-respected Pakistani business community figures in Europe are joining Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the hope that he will bring to Pakistan the promised and much-needed change.

Imran Khan has been always popular in Europe for his cricketing exploits, especially for winning the World Cup and building the Shaukat Khanum Memorial Hospital, but his “Tsunami” is reverberating outside of Pakistan too. The European Pakistani businesses joining Khan’s party are being led by Germany-based Syed Khurram Raza Kazmi, who chairs Pakistan Overseas Association Forum (POAF). Kazmi, who owns multiple businesses, claims that the POAF has over 200,000 registered members and most of them are supporters of Imran Khan. He said overseas Pakistanis loved Pakistan but all the major parties had let them down badly and there was no trust left in them.

Across Europe, some leading business names supporting Imran Khan are Chaudhry Muhammad Akram Minhas, President of POAF in Belgium and former Chief Organiser of PML-Q Europe, said he was joining PTI after realising that Pakistani politicians values personal benefits and were not bothered about the national interest of Pakistan. The textile entrepreneur said: “I am ready to give financial contribution to Imran Khan for helping Pakistan and I trust Khan will not swindle our trust.”

From Switzerland, Khawaja Tanweer Ahmed has announced the PTI and has assured that he will help Imran Khan financially in his endeavours to “rid Pakistan of years of corruption and the stranglehold of a tiny but privileged class calling shots in all affairs”. “Imran Khan is a clean man and he has not looted the wealth of Pakistan and that makes him different from rest of the lot,” the multimillionaire businessman told The News. Javed Iqbal, who also has businesses in Berlin, Germany, said he was bowled over by Khan’s stance on many things including reworking the political framework. “What has particularly moved me is the way Imran Khan dealt with the catastrophe that followed the floods and also the way he has not resorted to dirty ***-for tat politics in response to his opponents,” he said. “I have a Polish wife and I have tried to convince her and my children to come to Pakistan with me on several occasions but they never agreed simply because of the security situation.”

Jameel Ahmed Naveed, a property tycoon, started with following Zulfikar Ali Bhutto in the 70s but got disillusioned with what happened to the party in the following decades. “The one thing I’m really looking forward to about Imran Khan’s politics is his policies on tax. We just do not have any system of taxation in the country, which is why the country goes round begging foreign countries. We have to live the way we live in Europe i.e. make queues and abide by the rules otherwise Imran Khan will not be able to change anything.”

Imran Khan is coming to the UK again in a few weeks to hold a fundraiser and his party is hoping to take home at least a million pounds. In the UK, renowned philanthropist James Caan recently declared Imran Khan a final ray of hope for Pakistan and offered his support to cleanse Pakistani of corruption and mismanagement.

But Khan’s biggest backers are Amjad Khan and Iftikhar Khan, who own a multi-million pounds fast food business in UK, and have supported Imran Khan since he played cricket in England but at the same time they supported other parties too.

“Only Imran Khan deserves our support. Pakistan needs change from the rotten system and only Imran Khan can do something about that. We have a duty to help Pakistan and the right way of spending our money and lending our support is to support the only genuine drive against corruption and old politics,” they told The News. Both Khans said that UK’s small and large businesses were increasingly of the view that the established parties like PPP, PML-N, MQM and ANP were only routing to line their own pockets.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=88930&Cat=2

Imran Khan speech in Bhalwal Jalsa today

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/0yW0naWC7JU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/iQXrQ7XYYAA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

after one of my cousin put up a flag on our house in PP2 27 more PTI flags were put on other houses on next day. most of these people were extreme jiyalas and have never voted for anyone other than ppp. PML(N) walaay's are still sticking to their guns in our village but that will soon change too.

PP2....is that kahuta?

^^

Yes. But we really shouldn't be in that constituency as we have nothing to do with Kahutta or Muree unless they build us a road through the mountains that connects us with them. We should really be in NA 52 which is closer to us and we are linked by road to it. I have no idea which idiot's idea was to put us in a constituency with people of Muree.

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    29.1 KB · Views: 204
Guess who is NOT joining PTI.

I will never join PTI - Fatima Bhutto

Writer and journalist Fatima Bhutto is not impressed by and still critical of Imran Khan’s tsunami, which seems to have swept away many a veteran politicians and won over some critics as well.
Speaking at the Jaipur Literature Festival on Sunday, she made it clear that she was never joining Imran’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, reports American newspaper The Wall Street Journal.
Last month, amid myriad announcements from political heavyweights that they were joining the PTI, there were rumours that Bhutto, a fierce critic of the incumbent government and specifically President Asif Ali Zardari, was also considering the move. Bhutto had promptly responded on microblogging website Twitter, saying that was not even a possibility.
“He has an incredible coziness not with the military but with dictatorship,” Bhutto said of Imran.
Bhutto accused Imran of defending the legacy of former dictator General Ziaul Haq, who came to power in the late 1970s after overthrowing former prime minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, Fatima’s grandfather and the founder of the country’s ruling Pakistan Peoples Party. She also mentioned Imran’s support for a 2002 referendum allowing former president General Musharraf to extend his term.
That’s not where it ended. In what appeared to be a well-rehearsed argument to debunk the political credibility of the former cricket captain, Bhutto went on to list more reasons why she opposed his political foray.
“As a woman I worry very much about Imran’s politics,” said Bhutto. She spoke of his opposition to amending a 2006 women’s bill in favour of survivors of rape. She also questioned Imran’s commitment to secularism and to defending minorities.
“Is he a saviour? No, I don’t think so,” said Bhutto, during a Pakistan-focused session at the literary festival.
“Well, that’s the end of Imran,” said news anchor Karan Thapar, who moderated the panel.
At the literary festival, where Bhutto shared a stage with Pakistani-American historian Ayesha Jalal, the tone was one of disillusionment with Pakistan’s political class. Bhutto spoke of the “gulf” that exists between the people in power and the rest of the country, saying that food scarcity – not squabbles between institutions –* is the bigger worry for most people.

lol @ Karan Thapar, you wish.

Fatima Bhutto is a sensible and mature individual, she has her legitimate, rationally-backed reasons, but I really don't understand why she says that she should be 'worried as a woman' : Imran Khan, amongst other issues generally mentioned, already said that his party will work towards a better integration of women in the socio-economic real and their cultural empowerment, now, yes, he can make false promises, but then if your scepticism applies to every little political party, there's definitely no hope, and the 'food scarcity' will definitely remain a problem for the masses.

Imran Khan already plan is about national unity, and he deeply knows how secularism is important - if not essential, vital - for that, and, in fact, how he just follows the Quaid's ideas by thinking so.

lol @ Karan Thapar, you wish.

Fatima Bhutto is a sensible and mature individual, she has her legitimate, rationally-backed reasons, but I really don't understand why she says that she should be 'worried as a woman' : Imran Khan, amongst other issues generally mentioned, already said that his party will work towards a better integration of women in the socio-economic real and their cultural empowerment, now, yes, he can make false promises, but then if your scepticism applies to every little political party, there's definitely no hope, and the 'food scarcity' will definitely remain a problem for the masses.

Imran Khan already plan is about national unity, and he deeply knows how secularism is important - if not essential, vital - for that, and, in fact, how he just follows the Quaid's ideas by thinking so.

I think actions speak louder than words. You only have to look at a politician's past history to know how he will deal with a certain issue. Imran's opposition to amending the 2006 women's bill is an example.

Fawad Chaudry is set to join PTI, the only issue is, Hamid Khan does not want him to be in the party.

He will be a good addition! He is good to take on Leeches like Faisal raza abidi, Mushaidullah and haneef abbasi.

Two ways to look at it.

1) He is a big time supporter of Musharaf and even was supporting him few days ago.

2) Perfect opportunity to completely Wipe off APML and get rid of one of your opponent party.

I personally have no problem with him. He is way better than some of the people that have joined PTI recently.

1101433340-1.gif

Totally Agree with Media management thing we need someone better than Shafqat Mahmood.

I think actions speak louder than words. You only have to look at a politician's past history to know how he will deal with a certain issue. Imran's opposition to amending the 2006 women's bill is an example.

Im sorry but you and the other so called liberals are now just clutching at straws. Its the lets go back and label him an extremist option since none others have worked. The fact is I have this from the horses mouth, Imran has said he will deal with the blasphemy law and will do so by strengthening the purgory law and hence stopping people from just saying whatever they want about anyone without proof etc, in other words the blasphemy law will be eliminated simply by strenthening the law against slander etc..

fatima bhutto can talk all she wants but at the end of the day she isnt in pakistan trying to make a difference. So most people couldnt care less what she thinks. Her arguments can be countered very easily and smack of narrow minded thinking. Part of the criticise but then do nothing brigade. Its time to look beyond these petty criticisms and see what is good for Pakistan.

She also questioned Imran’s commitment to secularism and to defending minorities.

Islami falahi riyasat. that is Imrans objective what part of that do you not get Bhutto begum?

secularism is an irrelevant, useless, sideshow for most Pakistanis who consider it the same as atheism. Islami falahi riyast. Something your dad would never have acheived and something your grandad failed miserably at achieving!!

its funny I had an interesting discussion with a friend who is a staunch hardcore secularist over a picture I posted of an egyptian woman getting beaten and then dragged into the streets(many would have seen the pic), I captioned it with the phrase "look whats happenin to our sister or something like that" he objected to me using the word sister because it was religious and enquired why I was not simply using the word woman instead of all this other stuff.. that conversation underscored the bankruptcy of secular pakistan for me right there!!

big fish!! but it'll be the most difficult decision for p.t.i leadership to make cuz if he joins he can defend p.t.i well against crap speakers like abid sher ali n hanif abbasi. but, on the other hand his joining will let noon league start another propaganda of "musharraf ki team"!!!

i've heard that his family is politically quite strong in jehlum!! can turn out to be a jackpot :p

Two ways to look at it.

1) He is a big time supporter of Musharaf and even was supporting him few days ago.

2) Perfect opportunity to completely Wipe off APML and get rid of one of your opponent party.

I personally have no problem with him. He is way better than some of the people that have joined PTI recently.

big fish!! but it'll be the most difficult decision for p.t.i leadership to make cuz if he joins he can defend p.t.i well against crap speakers like abid sher ali n hanif abbasi. but, on the other hand his joining will let noon league start another propaganda of "musharraf ki team"!!!

i've heard that his family is politically quite strong in jehlum!! can turn out to be a jackpot :p

Here's my question, what does Fawad bring to PTI?
Honest? Integrity? Vote bank?

Useless addition. In fact, a negative addition. It's like mush jr. joining PTI

Here's my question, what does Fawad bring to PTI?
Honest? Integrity? Vote bank?

Useless addition. In fact, a negative addition. It's like mush jr. joining PTI

Here is a great read on Fawad Chaudhry and stupid politics of pakistan :facepalm:

We will have to wait and see what kind of blow PTI politics gives to this biradari politics.

Focus on Punjab-I: Local politics dressed up as nationalCyril Almeida | Front Page | From the Newspaper November 10, 2011
JHELUM: The GT Road’s reputation as Sharif country was forged in the urban, middle-class trading and small-business communities that dot this famous 16th century highway. But even in this sleepy, largely rural martial district in northern Punjab, the PML-N appears to be the party to beat.

In 2008, the PML-N won all six of the seats in Jhelum district, two MNAs and four MPAs. (One MPA, Muhammad Saqlain, was elected as an independent but with the support of the N-League). The sweep was unprecedented, surpassing even the results of the ZAB era in the 1970s.

And yet, the view from the constituency level is markedly different.

While national political trends play a significant role and candidates compete aggressively for party tickets, for the most part the politics of Jhelum is rooted in biradirism (kinship and clan associations), dharras (political groupings) and personalities.

So dominant are these local factors that politics here has been reduced to a pithy sound bite by locals: Raja vs anti-Raja.

The Rajas are the powerful group led by Raja Afzal, a septuagenarian who has installed his sons as MNAs and is regarded by one and all as the real powerbroker in the district. Entering politics in 1985 and eventually displacing the Rajas of Darapur as the leader of the Rajputs, Mr Afzal has proved a master of the art of local politics.

The Raja dharra — lashed together by Mr Afzal through a combination of skill, ruthlessness and political savvy — consists of several overlapping voter groups: large parts of the Rajput biradiri; voters for whom Mr Afzal has manipulated the
thanna/katcheri (police and courts) system to their advantage; and the PML-N voter in the urban areas.

The anti-Raja group is headed by Chaudhry Farrukh Altaf, a two-term district nazim under Gen Musharraf and son of the late Governor of Punjab Altaf Hussain. Belonging to the Jat biradiri and aligned with the PML-Q, Farrukh Altaf has an unfortunate track record of losing elections, though supporters maintain his core group, the Chaudhrys’ dharra, is as strong as Raja Afzal’s.

Building a dharra

From his elaborately decorated drawing room in Jhelum city, Farrukh Altaf explained the foundation of electoral success in the district: “You can’t win anything without maintaining links at the local level. Sometimes I have 20 weddings a day to attend. Funerals are also important. Then you have to answer your phone. Voters demand direct access. Someone’s Wapda bill is excessive, someone else can’t get a child admitted to school, someone wants a traffic challan waived off or has an issue with a patwari. Everyone wants to know, can my candidate deliver?”

Perhaps no politician has delivered as consistently in the recent history of Jhelum as Raja Afzal. Friend and foe alike described Mr Afzal as a formidable politician, knowing when a soft touch is required and when to deploy the full force of the state and local machinery for personal and political gain. Mr Afzal was away performing Haj and unavailable for comment.

According to Kenan Ahmed Raja, a PML-N organiser in Jhelum city: “The great thing about the buzurg (old man) is that he may not get your work done, but he’ll treat you with respect. That matters.”

Kayani, of Sohawa tehsil, said: “The ‘other castes’, the agricultural workers and service classes, are probably the most numerous here. Before they were told, ‘You belong to us, you vote for us’. But Raja Afzal refers to them as ‘bhai’ and goes to their homes. Even though they are rich now, they still have a non-caste complex, so they are happy when a Raja comes to their house and they become his supporters.”

PML-N infighting
Winning over voters is one thing, fending off rivals, even those on the same party ticket, is another.

“The story in Jhelum is Raja Afzal versus his MPAs,” according to Ayaz Amir, MNA in neighbouring Chakwal district. “Afzal tends to dominate his MPAs and they react, but he’s close to Nawaz Sharif,” Amir added.

The MPAs’ animosity towards Afzal is barely contained. MPA Chaudhry Nadeem Khadim, a scion of a leader in the fractious Gujjar community, said: “Raja Afzal is corrupt. Taking money, grabbing land, I’m not interested in this kind of politics. I’d rather leave politics than be on same ticket as Raja Afzal.”

He added: “I have good relations with Shahbaz Sharif and have a strong following among the Gujjars. I intend to intend to get a PML-N ticket for the national assembly seat and win.”

Another MPA, Chaudhry Muhammad Saqlain, an outspoken Jat politician with an independent streak, was also scathing: “Raja Afzal has restarted that old politics of looting and theft, land grabbing and narcotics peddling. The voters are sick of it.”As long as Raja Afzal enjoys the support of Nawaz Sharif, however, it is unlikely he will face a serious challenge from within the PML-N.

Potentially more problematic is if the disgruntled MPAs carry their support bases to the Farrukh Altaf camp.

Switching sides is fairly common: in 2008, Muhammad Saqlain, the MPA, supported Afzal’s son on a National Assembly ticket with the sole purpose, by Saqlain’s own admission, of defeating the Farrukh Altaf candidate on the MPA seat through reciprocal support from the PML-N/Afzal group.

Now, if a joint Saqlain-Altaf candidate is fielded in the next election and he defeats the Afzal camp, on paper it would be chalked up as a defeat for the PML-N. But in reality it would have little to do with national politics.

PPP, PML-Q and PTI
An additional concern for the Raja Afzal group is the seat-adjustment deal between the PPP and PML-Q. “The PML-N can only be challenged if there is a strong candidate from Q or PPP,” according to Ayaz Amir. The poll numbers also suggest so.

In the 2008 election, in NA-62, the combined PML-Q and PPP vote was 81,500, just 11,000 short of the winning PML-N candidate, Raja Safdar, who got 92,500. In NA-63, the combined PML-Q-PPP vote was 76,000, just a few thousand shy of the nearly 80,000 that Raja Asad, the other son of Raja Afzal, won.

With the PPP’s individual position weak — party candidates contesting the NA seats got just 10-15 per cent of the votes polled in 2008 — the Farrukh Altaf camp will likely field its own candidates on the PML-Q ticket.

According to Altaf, given the ‘synergies’ in the PPP-PML-Q vote bank in Jhelum — his father was once allied with the PPP and as governor helped engineer the ouster of the Sharif-led government in Punjab in the early 1990s — the switch for voters from PPP to PML-Q would not be very problematic.

Of course, if the PTI earthquake in Lahore is repeated in northern Punjab, all bets are off. Could the Farrukh Altaf group ditch the PML-Q for PTI tickets if the possibility arose?

Farrukh Altaf’s response to why he was still aligned with the PML-Q was telling: “Because the PPP is weak here.” With the PML-N ticket stitched up by Raja Afzal and the PPP no longer a very attractive prospect in Jhelum, the PML-Q is home by
default for the Farrukh Altaf group. Until, that is, a more enticing prospect comes along, like the PTI.

While rivals calculate feverishly, the man who will be the most confident ahead of the next elections in Jhelum is Raja Afzal. A repeat of the 2008 sweep for the PML-N/Afzal group seems unlikely because the national-mood factor is no longer in the N-League’s favour, but Afzal has the skill, support and resources necessary to engineer wins in several constituencies of this predominantly rural district.

“Ultimately, the politics of Jhelum is about the politics of biradiri,” according to Fawad Chaudhry, a close relative of Farrukh Altaf. “Rajput versus Jat and the Gujjars playing the swing vote. It’s always been that way.”

This is the first in a multi-part series on the politics of northern and central Punjab along the GT road.

Saqlain Guy is already in PTI camp.

^^

That was a brilliant article by Cyrill Almida about the rural politics of pakistan. Just goes to show you how much work Imran Khan and PTI still needs to do to get rid of this system.

I am Raja and would vote for anyone that is running for PTI but that's just me as one individual. what will the rest of the people do is a big question mark.

Najam Sethi's reply to Imran Khan's "Liberal Scum" comment from 04:30 onwards.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/qCk66UNSAYA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^

Najam Sethi didn't argue over the argument of fascists backing bombardment of villages. Instead he went with Tareen & Qasuri are part of PTI who were part of Musharaf argument.

Also nice to see Imran Khan backing "Basant" & Concerts unlike the PML(N) government in Punjab that has done everything to ban all these activiities.

^^

Najam Sethi didn't argue over the argument of fascists backing bombardment of villages. Instead he went with Tareen & Qasuri are part of PTI who were part of Musharaf argument.

I think he was highlighting the hypocrisy of Imran's argument. On one hand he calls Musharraf the chief destroyer of Pakistan as per your own post earlier on the other hand he accepts the same politicians who were part of Musharraf's cabinet and were on board regarding his foreign policy. He use to call those same politicians scum as per as his own book, and now he is proud to have them in his party. You can try to bend the facts as you wish, but the truth remains, Imran has changed.

^^

Imran Khan stance was same yesterday and is still same today on drone and war on terror. Najam Sethi just needs to stop crying and defend his fascists opinion of supporting the drones and war on terror.

It's funny how he ran away from that. Time for Najam Sethi to grow some balls and discuss the issue on hand. Does he support the extra-judicial murders via drone attacks, aerial bombardment of villages, illegal detentions. If he does then my friend that's just not liberal.

^^

Imran Khan stance was same yesterday and is still same today on drone and war on terror. Najam Sethi just needs to stop crying and defend his fascists opinion of supporting the drones and war on terror.

It's funny how he ran away from that. Time for Najam Sethi to grow some balls and discuss the issue on hand. Does he support the extra-judicial murders via drone attacks, aerial bombardment of villages, illegal detentions. If he does then my friend that's just not liberal.

What about you running away from the point he makes that Imran has included the same "dirty" politicians who were part of Musharraf's cabinet in his own party. His stance might be the same regarding drones etc. but what is the point of such a stance when he is able to let go of his principles and include people in his party who can be called "liberal fascists" per his own definition. Is that not political opportunism.

I would disagree with this and let the facts do the talking.

27% of all joinings are part of PML(Q), 22.34 % from PPP and 20.21% From PML(N). Yes the 30+ group led by Jahngir Tareen group has tilted this balance but we expect it to change and restore the balance.

Hell No to your and Najam Sethi's definition of what liberal is. Lets discuss more of that and not run away. Are extra-Judicial murders via drones, aerial bombardment of villages and illegal detentions by military establishment liberal?

27% of all joinings are part of PML(Q), 22.34 % from PPP and 20.21% From PML(N). Yes the 30+ group led by Jahngir Tareen group has tilted this balance but we expect it to change and restore the balance.

Hell No to your and Najam Sethi's definition of what liberal is. Lets discuss more of that and not run away. Are extra-Judicial murders via drones, aerial bombardment of villages and illegal detentions by military establishment liberal?

Disagree and than agree that the balance is tilted towards PML-Q. :)) What more can I say, you have basically accepted Najam's argument.

As for drones etc. No liberal as far as I know has come out and celebrated killing of innocent people or illegal detentions, if Najam Sethi has done so than he was wrong. If someone you know has done so, you are free to call him whatever you like, the fact remains that the people who were in power when these killings and abductions were going on are now part of your party.

As for not agreeing with my or Najam's definition of liberal, dude, you can call whoever you like "liberal" but going by your and Imran's definition, people like Zaid Hamid are also liberals. Think about that.

Disagree and than agree that the balance is tilted towards PML-Q. :)) What more can I say, you have basically accepted Najam's argument.

A week or two back Najam sethi was defending Imrans decision to take kasuris and tareens.

So everyone who worked under Musharaff was dirty?

At least his cabinet was far more competent than Zardari and co.

People like Shaukat Aziz, Awais Laghari, Khurshid Qasuri, Ata ur Rehman, Jahangir Tareen etc are a LOT more competent than jokers like Gilani, Rehman Malik, Pervez Ashraf, Babar Awan etc etc.

Imran Khan is accepting people who are not involved in any kind of corruption (monetary corruption at least) so who cares if they come from PML Q, PPP, PML N, BJP or Congress or Labor party????

Musharaff made mistakes in the last few years to try to hang on to power but he was still a far competent leader than Zardari.

Just like any other party, Musharaff had some good and bad people so PTI should accept decent politicians from ANY party.

+100

actually sethi himself is one of those liberals whom imran termed as scum.

last night he said, "imran didn't win his national assembly seat on his own, rather, musharraf asked establishment to support him"

now the question is, if musharraf was so much in love with imran as per sethi's analysis, why the same establishment, which made imran win n.a 71 mianwali seat, didn't win him the n.a 122 lahore seat??

sethi is a big time pro-american imo n to make his masters happy, he criticizes imran's stance on drones.

same guy, who, at one point of time called imran a loser in politics n said he can hardly win his own seat, then took the biggest u-turn ever to say "imran can sweep next elections". what a big hypocrite!!

^^

I have no problem Najam Sethi discussing the merits of Imran Khan's argument but he did not discuss that instead he just cried on national tv with but but Imran Khan has the same musharaf team.

+100

actually sethi himself is one of those liberals whom imran termed as scum.

last night he said, "imran didn't win his national assembly seat on his own, rather, musharraf asked establishment to support him"

now the question is, if musharraf was so much in love with imran as per sethi's analysis, why the same establishment, which made imran win n.a 71 mianwali seat, didn't win him the n.a 122 lahore seat??

sethi is a big time pro-american imo n to make his masters happy, he criticizes imran's stance on drones.

same guy, who, at one point of time called imran a loser in politics n said he can hardly win his own seat, then took the biggest u-turn ever to say "imran can sweep next elections". what a big hypocrite!!

Coming from someone who's nick is Jack Sparrow and got Johnny Depp's pic as his avatar. Oh the irony :)))

As for drones etc. No liberal as far as I know has come out and celebrated killing of innocent people or illegal detentions, if Najam Sethi has done so than he was wrong. If someone you know has done so, you are free to call him whatever you like, the fact remains that the people who were in power when these killings and abductions were going on are now part of your party.

As for not agreeing with my or Najam's definition of liberal, dude, you can call whoever you like "liberal" but going by your and Imran's definition, people like Zaid Hamid are also liberals. Think about that.

I just corrected your statement. you implied it was the same politicians from Q league which is far from the truth.

As for Zaid Hamid, he is a crazy bufoon and a puppet of military establishment and changes his tunes whenever he is asked to change his tunes.

[utube]Kly37j6tV8Q[/utube]

Coming from someone who's nick is Jack Sparrow and got Johnny Depp's pic as his avatar. Oh the irony :)))

so wat?? having depp's pic as my avatar or jack sparrow as my forum name, makes me pro american?? get a life dude!!