Why is Asad Shafiq given the golden boy treatment in ODIs?

Ur saying Azhar Ali>> Asad Shafiq in ODIs

In all honesty I can not agree with that. Please if you have personal vendettas against certain ppl juss cuz they dint give ur son/daughter an autograph no need to take it out on Pakpassion.

Shafiq is here to stay in the ODI team for a while. Him and Umar Akmal will form the nucleus of the middle order. So learn to deal with it rather than make silly,useless threads that instigate guys on pakpassion to argue with u.

Absolutely agree with you man

Umar plays for pakistan unlike others who plays for them self yesterday was a example had misbah or anybody else been there would also block with azhar but umar really made me proud by choosing to play for pakistans interest not him self i salute you umar akmal.

Again a dismissal given that you could argue was wrong but a brilliant catch from him shows Pakistan needs him not only as a batsman but also as a fielder . :shafiq

beauty catch by Shafiq, I was pretty confident he'd take it though, if it were anyone else it'd be a pretty tough catch to make.

Very good batsman and an excellent fielder. I really like this guy. Hopefully he will go on to do better than his idol, Yo Yo.

One thing about Asad is that he always gives his 100% and is always involve in every aspect of the game.....Today he made that catch look so easyyyyyyyyy

Very true!

Although he is not as talented as some he still works very hard, and gives his all in every game.

But the management are not doing him any favours by dropping him after a few games, it dents his confidence.

And the best thing about him - he answers his critics with his performance . fuzool ki bakwas nahi . :shafiq .

Huh? He was unlucky. The run out was extremely unlucky. He was looking very good. Unfortunate he was dismissed.
He was lucky that his easy catch was dropped by Swann when he was on 9. It would have been a bigger failure for him to be out on 9 than the failure to be out on 19.

I have been lucky to watch twenty twenty since its inception. Have you been lucky enough mate? or have you watched inception for a change the crime scene is your mind awesome isn't it?

And the best thing about him - he answers his critics with his performance . fuzool ki bakwas nahi . :shafiq .

Lou jee, ab Looney ney bhi apna fav player dhoondh liya hai, ab sari zindagi iska difaa hi kartey rehna

On a serious note, he is a good player and believe it or not, in those upper cut shots he reminds me of Sachin. A talent.

Does anybody have the clip of his catch today?

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/bzJ63cEzl9I?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bzJ63cEzl9I?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

:dav

Lou jee, ab Looney ney bhi apna fav player dhoondh liya hai, ab sari zindagi iska difaa hi kartey rehna

On a serious note, he is a good player and believe it or not, in those upper cut shots he reminds me of Sachin. A talent.

I have been supporting him for a while now . Afridi is another favourite player of mine . There used to be a certain Mohammad Amir as well lekin khair rehne daiN usko . :amir

Asad should not be in T20 team.

Aap usko Pakistan maiN hi na rehne do .

Asad should not be in T20 team.

Since Jan 2011 we have played 6 T20 Matches

Asad has higher Average / Higher Strike Rate / More Boundaries than Umar Akmal

He has the second highest Average after Hafeez if we exclude Misbah's not out inflated Average

So tell me again why Shafiq should not be in the T20 Team

Since Jan 2011 we have played 6 T20 Matches

Asad has higher Average / Higher Strike Rate / More Boundaries than Umar Akmal

He has the second highest Average after Hafeez if we exclude Misbah's not out inflated Average

So tell me again why Shafiq should not be in the T20 Team
because he is a consolidator and Pakistan is playing too many consolidators in its T20 team. Check this thread
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=148604

Misbah is 38 he is not gonna stick around

Malik should be dropped we dont need Sifarishis

Shafiq gets one of the two consolidator spots u mentioned
yeah Misbah should be dropped from T20s before Asad.
But I will pick Malik before Asad in T20s. He offers more to Pakistan in T20s than Asad.

Yes, I agree. Umar Akmal should replace all our batsmen, and probably the bowlers too (our pace attack quite frankly is pathetic, and :umarakmal will probably do a better job). We should clone him.

When is stem cell research being re-initiated in Pakistan again?

honestly how can you not love this guy?
276880_160860100617883_2068061489_s.jpg

In the media people are suggesting his name to be captain.

People go on talking about him like he is an outstanding batsman and one to look out for the future in ODI.

Honestly I am confused by the treatment he is being given.

We keep on bashing that Malik, Younus , Afridi Farhat are all ODI failures, but do not mention Asad Shafiq.

Do people even bother looking at stats. I think he should be sent packing for the next ODI series and be replaced by someone who does well in domestic.

Lets look at this from stats.

Asad Shafiq has a domestic OD average of 39. Nothing spectacular, there are many guys in domestic with far better records.

But OK lets look at the international scene:

In 2012 he had 11 innings for 267 runs at an avg of 26.7 and SR of 71, 2 50s and 0 100s
In 2013 he has had 6 matches, 143 runs at an average of 23.83 and a SR of 73 with 1 50.

Here is the best part about his 2013, his 1 50 is against Ireland, take that out and we are looking at 60 runs in 5 innings! How is that not a complete failure??

That is quite a bad record over the last 17 games. Lets be honest, none of us would want a batsman averaging around 25 in our middle order.

His performance are just as bad as Farhat.

lets be honest his game is not suited for ODI and instead of being made captain he should be dropped and replaced by someone else like Harris Sohail!

Honestly speaking, i never rated him highly in LOI
With that in mind, we still do need Azhar Ali, i know he bats a bit slow but he keeps rotating the strike. A perfect #3 batsman.

He is mediocre at best, otherwise just as bad as Farhat but nobody can come close to Malik ( for being pathetic and loser).

In the media people are suggesting his name to be captain.

People go on talking about him like he is an outstanding batsman and one to look out for the future in ODI.

Honestly I am confused by the treatment he is being given.

We keep on bashing that Malik, Younus , Afridi Farhat are all ODI failures, but do not mention Asad Shafiq.

Do people even bother looking at stats. I think he should be sent packing for the next ODI series and be replaced by someone who does well in domestic.

Lets look at this from stats.

Asad Shafiq has a domestic OD average of 39. Nothing spectacular, there are many guys in domestic with far better records.

But OK lets look at the international scene:

In 2012 he had 11 innings for 267 runs at an avg of 26.7 and SR of 71, 2 50s and 0 100s
In 2013 he has had 6 matches, 143 runs at an average of 23.83 and a SR of 73 with 1 50.

Here is the best part about his 2013, his 1 50 is against Ireland, take that out and we are looking at 60 runs in 5 innings! How is that not a complete failure??

That is quite a bad record over the last 17 games. Lets be honest, none of us would want a batsman averaging around 25 in our middle order.

His performance are just as bad as Farhat.

lets be honest his game is not suited for ODI and instead of being made captain he should be dropped and replaced by someone else like Harris Sohail!

How many matches he has played consecutively?

I think he has a technique and temparemennt. Pakistan just need to give him confidence and give him regular chances

He averages close to 40 at number 3 but for some reason, he keeps getting neglected for that position courtesy duds like Younis.

He is a good number 3 and needs to be persisted with.

I would definitely play these 3 over them (and all 3 have much better average than him) any day:
Umar Akmal
Fawad Alam
Azhar Ali

However, I still don't think he is as bad as Farhat and Malik. They should be dropped first before he is dropped, but ideally, for WI series I would drop all 3 (+ potentially Kamran, if we have a better keeper option), and replace with Umar,Fawad, Azhar with Sohaib Maqsood / Haris Sohail / Ahmed Shehzad being the 3 other guys in contention.

Hasn't been given the Golden Treatment.

Gets Dropped after failing in 1 ODI Match.

Just like he was dropped in South Africa and in the recent Champions Trophy.

give him a long un-interrupted run of lets say 50 games . Let him play his natural attacking game .If he still doesnt come good then dump him . Right now it looks like his orders are to play slow and cautious . That's not his real game . HE is adha teetar adha bateir at the moment .

In the land of the blind men the one-eyed man is king.

In the land of batting pygmies a 4ft tall midget A Sad excuseforaplayer Shafiq who averages 28 is a 'giant'

He has a lot of "potential" that is going to make him a legend in the future.

His technique is loved by everyone too, and that's why it reflects his average of 29.

He has not been given a proper run at number 3 so that's why he's not scoring big runs.

He hasn't been able to score at 4-5 because he prefers the ball to be new, and loves swinging conditions.

He scored 41 runs against India and looked solid now every one thinks it's just about time that average of 29 magically becomes close to 40.

Even Mohammad Yousuf himself said that he's our best batsmen, but I'm guessing Asad Shafiq still has to show why he's the best.

How many matches he has played consecutively?

I think he has a technique and temparemennt. Pakistan just need to give him confidence and give him regular chances

Good point.... here is the list of ODIs since his debut.... "DNP" in the first column indicates that he was dropped for that match. Bold are "good" scores after which he was dropped;

Code:
  17   4 stumped   1 W Asia Cup   5 v BD  in SL  2010    at Dambulla (d/n) [2998]
  19   7 bowled    2 L NatWest    1 v Eng in Eng 2010    at Chester-le-Street [3043]
  50   4 caught    1 L NatWest    2 v Eng in Eng 2010    at Leeds [3044]
  40   3 caught    1 W NatWest    3 v Eng in Eng 2010    at The Oval (d/n) [3045]
  11   3 bowled    1 W NatWest    4 v Eng in Eng 2010    at Lord's (d/n) [3046]
   0   3 caught wk 2 L NatWest    5 v Eng in Eng 2010    at Southampton (d/n) [3047]
  19   1 caught    1 L 1st ODI      v SA  in UAE 2010/11 at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3062]
   1   1 caught    2 W 2nd ODI      v SA  in UAE 2010/11 at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3063]
 [B][COLOR="blue"] 43   4 run out   2 L 3rd ODI      v SA  in UAE 2010/11 at Dubai (DSC) (d/n) [3064]
  36   4 run out   2 W 4th ODI      v SA  in UAE 2010/11 at Dubai (DSC) (d/n) [3067][/COLOR][/B]
 DNP               - L 5th ODI      v SA  in UAE 2010/11 at Dubai (DSC) [3069]
   4   4 lbw       1 L 1st ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Wellington (d/n) [3085]
 DNP               - N 2nd ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Queenstown [3088]
 DNP               - W 3rd ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Christchurch [3090]
 DNP               - W 4th ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Napier [3093]
 DNP               - W 5th ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Hamilton [3095]
  26   5 run out   2 L 6th ODI      v NZ  in NZ  2010/11 at Auckland [3097]
 DNP               - W World Cup  6 v Ken in SL  2010/11 at Hambantota [3105]
 DNP               - W World Cup 10 v SL  in SL  2010/11 at Colombo (RPS) [3109]
 DNP               - W World Cup 17 v Can in SL  2010/11 at Colombo (RPS) [3116]
 DNP               - L World Cup 24 v NZ  in SL  2010/11 at Pallekele [3123]
  78*  3 not out   2 W World Cup 33 v Zim in SL  2010/11 at Pallekele (d/n) [3132]
  46   3 caught    2 W World Cup 40 v Aus in SL  2010/11 at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [3139]
 DNB   - -         2 W World Cup QF v WI  in BD  2010/11 at Dhaka (d/n) [3142]
  30   3 bowled    2 L World Cup SF v Ind in Ind 2010/11 at Mohali (d/n) [3147]
  61*  3 not out   2 W 1st ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Gros Islet [3152]
  23   3 run out   2 W 2nd ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Gros Islet [3153]
   0   3 caught    2 W 3rd ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Bridgetown [3154]
[B][COLOR="blue"]  71   3 caught    1 L 4th ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Bridgetown [3155][/COLOR][/B]
 DNP               - L 5th ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Providence [3156]
   4   3 caught wk 2 W 1st ODI      v Ire in Ire 2011    at Belfast [3157]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v Ire in Ire 2011    at Belfast [3158]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v Zim in Zim 2011    at Bulawayo [3188]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v Zim in Zim 2011    at Harare [3190]
 [B][COLOR="blue"] 51   3 stumped   1 W 3rd ODI      v Zim in Zim 2011    at Harare [3194][/COLOR][/B]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3212]
 DNP               - L 2nd ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3213]
 DNP               - W 3rd ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3214]
 DNP               - W 4th ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Sharjah [3215]
  26   2 lbw       2 W 5th ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3216]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3218]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3220]
   7   2 bowled    1 W 3rd ODI      v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Chittagong (d/n) [3222]
  20   3 lbw       2 W Only ODI     v     in UAE 2011/12 at Sharjah (d/n) [3236]
   0   3 lbw       2 L 1st ODI      v Eng in UAE 2011/12 at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3238]
 DNP               - L 2nd ODI      v Eng in UAE 2011/12 at Abu Dhabi [3240]
  18   4 run out   1 L 3rd ODI      v Eng in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) (d/n) [3243]
[COLOR="blue"] [B] 65   3 bowled    1 L 4th ODI      v Eng in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) (d/n) [3247][/B][/COLOR]
   4   5 caught    1 W Asia Cup   1 v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka (d/n) [3258]
 DNP               - W Asia Cup   3 v SL  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3260]
 DNP               - L Asia Cup   5 v Ind in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3263]
 DNP               - W Asia Cup   F v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3267]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Pallekele [3272]
 DNP               - L 2nd ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Pallekele [3273]
   5*  3 not out   1 N 3rd ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [3274]
  25   3 lbw       2 L 4th ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [3275]
  38   4 run out   1 L 5th ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Colombo (RPS) (d/n) [3277]
  [B][COLOR="blue"]56   4 bowled    1 L 1st ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Sharjah (d/n) [3299][/COLOR][/B]
   9   4 bowled    2 W 2nd ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3301]
  27   4 caught    1 L 3rd ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Sharjah (d/n) [3303]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Chennai [3314]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Kolkata [3315]
 DNP               - L 3rd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Delhi [3316]
   5   4 caught    2 L 1st ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Bloemfontein [3343]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Centurion [3346]
 DNP               - L 3rd ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Johannesburg [3347]
 DNP               - W 4th ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Durban [3348]
 DNP               - L 5th ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Benoni [3350]
   9   4 bowled    1 W 1st ODI      v Sco in Sco 2013    at Edinburgh [3356]
 [B][COLOR="blue"] 84   4 caught    1 T 1st ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3357][/COLOR][/B]
   4   4 caught    2 W 2nd ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3358]
   0   4 caught    1 L ICC CT     2 v WI  in Eng 2013    at The Oval [3364]
 DNP               - L ICC CT     5 v SA  in Eng 2013    at Birmingham [3367]
  41   4 caught wk 1 L ICC CT    10 v Ind in Eng 2013    at Birmingham [3372]

Misbah KEPT playing Malik who had not scored a single 50 since 2009.... but kept dropping Asad 50s after 50s after 50s....

How can anybody feel secure about their place in the team.....in these circumstances?????

Good point.... here is the list of ODIs since his debut.... "DNP" in the first column indicates that he was dropped for that match. Bold are "good" scores after which he was dropped;

Misbah KEPT playing Malik who had not scored a single 50 since 2009.... but kept dropping Asad 50s after 50s after 50s....

How can anybody feel secure about their place in the team.....in these circumstances?????

Great post .

He's the only pakistani batsman to score a 100 in sa against steyn, philander, morkel and kallis. Does that mean anything to you at all? or you just want to go through players like people go through a magazine?

He's the only pakistani batsman to score a 100 in sa against steyn, philander, and morkel. Does that mean anything to you at all? or you just want to go through players like people go through a magazine?

In a test match. No one is doubting his ability in the longer game. Shorter format just doesnt seem to suit his current style.

So the new excuse is that he is not being played at number 3. Love it

He's the only pakistani batsman to score a 100 in sa against steyn, philander, morkel and kallis. Does that mean anything to you at all? or you just want to go through players like people go through a magazine?
Well done sherlock but we are talking about ODIs.

thats not a excuse but how many match in a row he played at 3 or any other position?

how many matches did shikhar dhawan play before getting dropped? 5? 6?
How many matches did it take him to start performing after his comeback?
I think Yuvraj had a better average in his last 18-20 matches than asad shafiq but was still dropped because of not performing in last 1 or 2 series.
How many chances should shafiq be given? He is almost 28 years of age and NOT IMPROVING.

Mohammed Yousaf rates Asad as the best young batsman in the country. But who is Mohammed Yousaf in front of the mighty posters of this forum?. Posting on this forum gives you much more knowledge and credibility than some random bloke who has only scored around 20,000 international runs . The opinion of the likes of Zaid65 and AsifP holds way more credibility than Moyo's views .

As do Younis Khan and Akhtar, but then again, these cricketers know nothing...

Yup, what credibility do Yousaf, Younis and Akthar? None, all they have done is have legendary international cricketing careers, that is nothing in front of amassing thousands of post on this forum.

How often to past greats talk bad about a player who hasn't even established his place in the side?

Obviously they won't say something that'll shatter the youngsters confidence.

Yup, what credibility do Yousaf, Younis and Akthar? None, all they have done is have legendary international cricketing careers, that is nothing in front of amassing thousands of post on this forum.
Yousuf and co must be talking about shafiq in tests. And younis? Lol he himself is an ODI failure.

How often to past greats talk bad about a player who hasn't even established his place in the side?

Obviously they won't say something that'll shatter the youngsters confidence.

So you are saying that these legends go around praising every youngster?. I dont know about Younis but in recent shows Yousaf/Akthat both have said that Shafiq is the brightest young batting talent in the country. Why didnt they say the same about Akmal, Amin or Fawad, if all they wanted to do was give a young player a bit of confidence boast than surely they should have said the same about them as well .
BTW Yousaf is the same guy who ripped into Manzoor after he made a 77, so he isnt one to sugarcoat stuff just to build someone's moral.

Should be persisted with the guy has good technique and can bat at decent pace but he listens to :misbah too much....otherwise his SR would be near or above 75

thats not a excuse but how many match in a row he played at 3 or any other position?

It is not an excuse. Please explain why was he demoted from the number 3 position after one/two failures and replaced again by Younis who has been awful for years?

Shafiq has not been given the golden boy treatment; he has been dumbed again and again after just a couple of bad games.

He had an 80 in Ireland but missed out in the next two games and got axed. Didn't play the next game.

When was the last time someone like Malik got an 80?

So why don't you just say that Misbah has a tendency to keep "friend close and enemy closer" mentality and it's been ruining Pak cricket progress since nov 2010 instead of satisfying your hardon against Malik?

You see the batsman and you know that he will go places.

How many consecutive ODI matches has he played so far?

Malik , farhat ,etc have been playing on international level for more than a decade and we can see they are utter failures. Asad is new at this level , give him 15 consecutive games and we will see. If you drop a youngster after 1 2 failures he will lose his confidence.

Future TTF ODI player, he's shown very little to suggest he's good enough to be playing ODI's at the international level.

Asad's spot has been 3-4-5, whilst Malik is batting at 6-7.

I recall a stat that the last Malik came in at 4 before CT13 was something like 2-3 seasons ago, or at least a very long time back.

as for Asad himself, it is very painfully obvious that he struggles against the fast bowlers, needs to improve himself a lot more.

I would rather see guys like Amin Haris Umar being given a run at this moment.

Did he tell you that? If he were following in Misbah's footsteps, he'd be putting runs on the board in virtually every match come hell or high water. What he's doing instead, in ODIs, is following YK's example and doing so pretty badly. At best, he's a poor man's YK in ODIs and it's not Misbah's fault that he can't get 10 runs in less than 5 overs.

Looks like you've counted your eggs pretty early watch out :shafiq is there to stay for long term.....

I don't mind as long as he performs which is why I support him for the test team. In ODIs, he's been getting picked consistently for the last year and half to two years and he has zilch to show for it.

younis scrored a century in the same innings.

He should be played at #3 for the West Indies series to show his worth. His technique is pretty good.

Asad's spot has been 3-4-5, whilst Malik is batting at 6-7.
So it is OK for Misbah to keep playing Malik...... who had not scored single 50 in 33 matches since 2009.... just becuase he plays at #6................. but keep dropping Asad who had scored 50 ...and then drop, 50 ... and then drop... and a 50.. and then drop...just because Asad bats at #3-5??? What kind of argument is this? I am confused. :(

Let me post this AGAIN .... number of times Misbah DROPPED Asad 1 or 2 innings after Asad had scored a 50 (or a decent score.... just count NUMBER of TIME Misbah did that;

Code:
 [B][COLOR="Blue"] 71 [/COLOR][/B]  3 caught    1 L 4th ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Bridgetown [3155]
[COLOR="blue"][B] DNP   [/B][/COLOR]            - L 5th ODI      v WI  in WI  2011    at Providence [3156]

[B][COLOR="blue"]  51 [/COLOR][/B]  3 stumped   1 W 3rd ODI      v Zim in Zim 2011    at Harare [3194]
[B][COLOR="blue"] DNP [/COLOR][/B]              - W 1st ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3212]
 DNP               - L 2nd ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3213]
 DNP               - W 3rd ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) [3214]
 DNP               - W 4th ODI      v SL  in UAE 2011/12 at Sharjah [3215]

[B][COLOR="blue"]  65  [/COLOR][/B] 3 bowled    1 L 4th ODI      v Eng in UAE 2011/12 at Dubai (DSC) (d/n) [3247]
   4   5 caught    1 W Asia Cup   1 v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka (d/n) [3258]
 [B][COLOR="blue"]DNP[/COLOR][/B]               - W Asia Cup   3 v SL  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3260]
 DNP               - L Asia Cup   5 v Ind in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3263]
 DNP               - W Asia Cup   F v BD  in BD  2011/12 at Dhaka [3267]
 DNP               - W 1st ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Pallekele [3272]
 DNP               - L 2nd ODI      v SL  in SL  2012    at Pallekele [3273]

[B][COLOR="blue"]  56[/COLOR][/B]   4 bowled    1 L 1st ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Sharjah (d/n) [3299]
   9   4 bowled    2 W 2nd ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Abu Dhabi (d/n) [3301]
  27   4 caught    1 L 3rd ODI      v Aus in UAE 2012    at Sharjah (d/n) [3303]
[B][COLOR="blue"] DNP [/COLOR][/B]              - W 1st ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Chennai [3314]
 DNP               - W 2nd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Kolkata [3315]
 DNP               - L 3rd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Delhi [3316]

[B][COLOR="blue"]  84[/COLOR][/B]   4 caught    1 T 1st ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3357]
   4   4 caught    2 W 2nd ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3358]
   0   4 caught    1 L ICC CT     2 v WI  in Eng 2013    at The Oval [3364]
[B][COLOR="blue"] DNP [/COLOR][/B]              - L ICC CT     5 v SA  in Eng 2013    at Birmingham [3367]

...and here is what our Kaptaan Misbah did to Malik...... 13 matches on the trot.... with only one drop vs Scotland ....which was termed as "rest", if I recall.

Code:
 34*  6 not out   2    W 1st ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Chennai [3314]
  24   6 caught    1    W 2nd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Kolkata (d/n) [3315]
   5   6 lbw       2    L 3rd ODI      v Ind in Ind 2012/13 at Delhi (d/n) [3316]
  19   6 caught    2    L 1st ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Bloemfontein [3343]
  35*  6 not out   2    W 2nd ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Centurion (d/n) [3346]
   4   6 caught    2    L 3rd ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Johannesburg [3347]
  19*  7 not out   2    W 4th ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Durban [3348]
  28   6 caught    1    L 5th ODI      v SA  in SA  2012/13 at Benoni [3350]
 DNP               -    W 1st ODI      v Sco in Sco 2013    at Edinburgh [3356]
   1*  7 not out   1    T 1st ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3357]
  43   6 lbw       2    W 2nd ODI      v Ire in Ire 2013    at Dublin [3358]
   0   6 caught    1    L ICC CT     2 v WI  in Eng 2013    at The Oval [3364]
   8   4 bowled    2    L ICC CT     5 v SA  in Eng 2013    at Birmingham (d/n) [3367]
  17   6 lbw       1    L ICC CT    10 v Ind in Eng 2013    at Birmingham [3372]

Great captaincy.... I would say! :14:

I recall a stat that the last Malik came in at 4 before CT13 was something like 2-3 seasons ago, or at least a very long time back.

Now you are sounding like BZ... that only top order batsmen require to score runs...... #6 batsman is exempt! :)

as for Asad himself, it is very painfully obvious that he struggles against the fast bowlers, needs to improve himself a lot more.
So you are saying that it was obvious for Misbah that Asad (while scoring 50s) ..... was painfully struggling vs fast bowlers...... and yet Malik who had not scored a single 50 in 33 ODI matches and an ave of 18.50, was totally at ease against all type of bowlers????

I would rather see guys like Amin Haris Umar being given a run at this moment.

In place of Malik or Asad? I know, Malik bats at #6 (hence BZ's whines).... and Asad at #3, 4 and 5.

Awesome work, thats where i was going. A Player need a confidence from a captain and management. Asad have done well but still have been dropped. His confidence have been shaken and it can only be restored if management tells him that he will be given consistent chances.

I have no doubt in my mind that he will do well if GIVEN proper chances.

So it is OK for Misbah to keep playing Malik...... who had not scored single 50 in 33 matches since 2009.... just becuase he plays at #6................. but keep dropping Asad who had scored 50 ...and then drop, 50 ... and then drop... and a 50.. and then drop...just because Asad bats at #3-5??? What kind of argument is this? I am confused. :(

Let me post this AGAIN .... number of times Misbah DROPPED Asad 1 or 2 innings after Asad had scored a 50 (or a decent score.... just count NUMBER of TIME Misbah did that;

...and here is what our Kaptaan Misbah did to Malik...... 13 matches on the trot.... with only one drop vs Scotland ....which was termed as "rest", if I recall.

Great captaincy.... I would say! :14:

Now you are sounding like BZ... that only top order batsmen require to score runs...... #6 batsman is exempt! :)

So you are saying that it was obvious for Misbah that Asad (while scoring 50s) ..... was painfully struggling vs fast bowlers...... and yet Malik who had not scored a single 50 in 33 ODI matches and an ave of 18.50, was totally at ease against all type of bowlers????

In place of Malik or Asad? I know, Malik bats at #6 (hence BZ's whines).... and Asad at #3, 4 and 5.

You really do dislike Malik.

:malik