Will Imran Khan ever be Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Muhammad10

Nawaz Sharif's already tainted image continues to take a hit, courtesy of various corruption revelations. :sharif
Meanwhile, Imran Khan is sixty four years old but seemingly as energetic as ever. :ik

The question is: Will Imran Khan ever be Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Not in the next elections.

Next elections is a guaranteed victory for PMLN.

Maybe in 2023 elections .

The jahalat in this country is beyond repair now. Kudos on N league and other parties for establishing their permanent rule by keeping the eyes of the normal people closed through jahalat.

Am not that fussed anymore, over the years it seems he has become a polarizing figure since the last election; which isn't necessarily a great thing. In the end, hopefully the next PM of Pak takes the country forward through their devotion to doing what is right and not be consumed by self interest

Anyone that challenges criminals or the status quo is seen as polarising. If he played the game with current rules, the same people that are accusing him of being polarising would be first to say that he is the same as the others, and if you challenge the criminal mafia led by the Nooras and the PPP, you are accused of being divisive. The reality is that if you don't see corruption or the injustice as big thing you are either not going to vote or vote for the family businesses. As far as IK being PM, not going to happen-Too many influential people with too much to lose, and here not I am not just talking just about politicians and bureaucrats but also a very corrupt army.

Not accusing him of anything but just called him a polarising figure; if he weren't then the sentiment towards him would be mostly positive but over the years it seems he has lost support. Quiet frankly I hope for the best, am not in a position to decide who's the best PM for Pakistan but in the last election felt Khan was a good choice but am not sure now but I think he deserves a shot because the same old faces have not really made a difference have they

Nawaz Sharif's already tainted image continues to take a hit, courtesy of various corruption revelations. :sharif
Meanwhile, Imran Khan is sixty four years old but seemingly as energetic as ever. :ik

How do you control 6th largest nation with nuclear weapons with 50 % population under 25 ? Get them corrupted leaders. Not a conspiracy theory but these is a common sense, the world powers will never Imran Khan to be a PM of Pakistan. They want Nooras/Zardaris via which they can control destiny of a country.

How do you expect a change when a nation of "50 % population under 25 believes" in laughable conspiracy theories? No point blaming the world powers. This is like saying police won't let me remain honest. You guys get to vote and make your own choice. If Pakistanis wanted an honest figure leading the country they would have done so by now. Many are satisfied with short term projects, biryani plates and deceitful politicians and will gladly let Nawaz/Zardari control the future of Pakistan.

He's made his legacy by overcoming challenges and people doubting him, PM of Pakistan will only add to his legacy, one day, In Sha Allah.

IK's legacy will be a positive one, not even his biggest enemies believe that he is in politics to make money( although the have convinced a few naive souls that this is the case) and bar the odd politician, this is not the case. In a few years( if they don't do so already)People will look upon the Sharifs and Zardaris with disgust when they wake up to the terrible, criminal legacy they have left behind.

He is too impatient,but tbf to him from whatever i have read on PP(news sharing) he has brought about good amount of change in "ground" in KP,which should be his legacy.

There is still a lot of time from now to the times elections hit.

Nawaz is too dumb to not mess it up till then. Panama case is also ongoing.

If Imran loses and Nooras win, it is not just PTI's loss it also Pakistan's loss.

what do u mean ? I thought you were a big PTI supporter....

He voted for PTI in 2013 but has a thorough dislike for Imran Khan. Also if he is a PTI supporter then I'm the biggest fan of Nawaz on this planet.

I'm a supporter of the country. Right now, Imran Khan is a threat to democracy. I will have absolutely no objections if he wins the next election, because it will be the decision of the people of Pakistan, a decision that must be respected. However, I personally do not think that he fits the profile of a leader and I question his mental health. Thus, I do not wish or hope that he becomes the PM in the future and I regret my vote for PTI.

People made their choice in 2013 and they chose Nawaz. I accept that decision. The newfound democracy of Pakistan must be protected and allowed to survive, it is the only way forward. Pakistan's biggest problem has been its inability to let democratically elected governments prevail. Martial laws have done the country no good and has only made the military establishment more powerful.

Imran is also setting a wrong precedence with his pseudo-revolution. He wants a revolution but doesn't have the guts for it. It has been a mess from the word go. He wants to be part of the system but feels free to denounce it at every opportunity; he calls the National Assembly fake but has no problem in withdrawing salaries from it; he accepts the verdict of the Supreme Court - which he is bound to constitutionally - only when it suits his agenda; he has surrounded himself with the PML-Q turncoats who did nothing for the country during Musharraf's reign; he sacked his own judiciary council because they exposed the rigging within PTI, leaving him with some uncomfortable facts and realities which he did not want to hear and face; he has also begged the Army (the umpire) to intervene, yet calls himself a democratic leader. Thankfully General Raheel was a democratic man and rightfully decided to stay away from the political scene.

One can go on and on and on, but these are some of the reasons why Imran Khan is not the man to lead the country. He has no faith and conviction in what he says and shoots from the hip, which is why he keeps taking U-turns over U-turns. His supporters have developed a sheep mentality who have vowed to defend him at as if he is a divine figure. When Imran moves from point A to be point B, they defend him - when he moves back from point B to point A, they will still defend him.

One man is not the answer, especially when that man has compromised his moral standing and manifesto, and his supporters defend him because this is 'dirty politics', but that was the whole point of Imran Khan/PTI in the first place - it was supposed to be different and not just another political party. We all should strive to be better citizens of Pakistan in our own right and comply with the law. We should protect democracy, which will cure itself in the long run. If we let democracy survive, Pakistan will be in a much better shape 15-20 years down the line. It doesn't matter if it is Nawaz, Bilawal or Imran. Democracy is not whom you want but whom the people want. You are insignificant compared to the power of the people. Just because you are anti-Nawaz and did not vote for him does not mean that his government is not a democratically elected government.

Military coups and usurping governments will do the country no good. It will always set the wrong precedence. Suppose Imran succeeds in overthrowing Nawaz now and gets installed as PM, what will happen if tomorrow, someone like TUQ decides that it is time to impose sharia in Pakistan, and along with the right-wing parties, decides to invade the capital like Imran and tries to force Imran to resign because his government is not Islamic? What then?

The failure of Imran to topple the democratically elected government is the right precedence for the future because it will show the resilience of our democracy. It has survived for 8 years and it will continue to survive in the future.

Pakistan Zindabad.

Insha'Allah never. Imran will make a terrible prime minister. I agree with everything Mamoon said above.

The likes of Nawaz Sharif may be corrupt but he understands the game of politics. Imran is a doodh pita bhacha compared to Nawaz. He is too naive and dumb to be a PM. In the next elections when he doesn't win again, he and his supporters will once again cry about corruption in the voting system lol.

How do you expect a change when a nation of "50 % population under 25 believes" in laughable conspiracy theories? No point blaming the world powers. This is like saying police won't let me remain honest. You guys get to vote and make your own choice. If Pakistanis wanted an honest figure leading the country they would have done so by now. Many are satisfied with short term projects, biryani plates and deceitful politicians and will gladly let Nawaz/Zardari control the future of Pakistan.

Elections were rigged , bogus votes , just go on youtube and find lot of videos. Media was sold. Money is provided to buy votes in rural areas. There are lot of ways to control elections in countries like Pakistan. Common person has a very little say.

The likes of Nawaz Sharif may be corrupt but he understands the game of politics. Imran is a doodh pita bhacha compared to Nawaz. He is too naive and dumb to be a PM. In the next elections when he doesn't win again, he and his supporters will once again cry about corruption in the voting system lol.

You have to sell your soul to become a PM in a country like Pakistan.

Looking at this thread, all I can say is:

Is mulk ka Allah hi hafiz hai.

Elections were rigged , bogus votes , just go on youtube and find lot of videos. Media was sold. Money is provided to buy votes in rural areas. There are lot of ways to control elections in countries like Pakistan. Common person has a very little say.

N League would have still won even if elections were completly fair. As I said choice is theirs. If some immoral person is is going to sell his vote for money/biryani then he has no excuse to blame anyone else. Btw common person did have a say or PTI wouldn't be the second biggest party in Pakistan.

Why do you even care then? Life must be so hopeless for you. After all everyone else has control and there is nothing you can do. :facepalm:

Any doodh pita bacha will make a better pm than dumb nawaz.

He is too impatient,but tbf to him from whatever i have read on PP(news sharing) he has brought about good amount of change in "ground" in KP,which should be his legacy.

He is very impulsive.i think he will make a great administer but it is his handling of international relations i am worried about.anyways he is miles better than all other options pak has atm.

Any doodh pita bacha will make a better pm than dumb nawaz.

You got to love the attitude of Mr King though. Omg how dare Imran khan "cry" about corruption and election choors, how funny. Don't know about anything else but if Imran khan ever wins he must make life hell for election choors.

So a corrupt person is better than an honest person? Just imagine growing up in your household, what kind of message would you( do give) to your children. This has to be one of the saddest posts I have read on the forum.

Hopefully he will become a PM soon, but to me its not him becoming PM that is important. What is important is how he drafts PTIs constitution to ensure it too does not become a dynasty party like the Bhuttos or the Sharifs. If he can achieve that it does not matter whether he becomes PM. So far it is a mixed bag. Experienced politicians like SMQ and Jehangir Tareen are there and on the other hand you also have some new fresh blood in politics like Naz Baloch, Ali Muhammad Khan, Murad Saeed and to a certain extent Asad Umar. Imran and PTI need to ensure that the hard work these guys have put in does not go to waste and that they are potentially the next leaders of the country.

Imran may or may not become PM, but he has already done more than enough to ensure PTI stays a force for a number of years to come. There are many who disagree with somethings PTI does, myself included but fact remains they have made a 2 way race between PPP and PML-N a 3 way race which is a remarkable achievement.

depends on his relations with america...
BECAUSE,
a huge lobby is going on at the backstage...
Nawaz instead of IK
Modhi instead of Congress\
Trump instead of Hiliary.
the voting is just a drama.

any good thing you can think of is the martial law

Yes he will be but only when the masses come to the conclusion that he deserves a chance; how bad can he be compared to the Sharifs?

You got to love the attitude of Mr King though. Omg how dare Imran khan "cry" about corruption and election choors, how funny. Don't know about anything else but if Imran khan ever wins he must make life hell for election choors.

The KING is the same person who used to cry and blibber about Amir returning to cricket yet supports the biggest looting murderers we have seen in our ''democratic'' history. :91:

Wajahat jumping on IK's bandwagon :13:
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You can almost see it.<a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> is going to get the prize.<br><br>He's almost there. <br><br>Almost.</p>— Wajahat S. Khan (@WajSKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/WajSKhan/status/930117240954998784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2017</a></blockquote>

If Khan becomes PM and all he manages to do in his 5 years is fix the police he would have done a HUGE service to the nation.

I just came back from Pakistan, spent 3 weeks and visited multiple cities in Punjab and KP, i'm very sure Imran will win this time. I was surprised to see so many people in Lahore want to see him as PM.

Inshallah he will ! The man isnt perfect but he'll be a massive improvement on the clowns and thieves we've had to deal with for decades. How some posters on here can think otherwise is extremely strange

Although I'm a perennial optimist but it's hard to imagine people voting for him in droves especially the people of rural Punjab (who form the bulk of our population)

Agree whole heartedly.

I'm a hopeless optimist which might cloud my judgement but I think Panama Papers might actually turn out to be the "mano salva (divine food)" for Pakistani politics as mentioned by Hasan Nisar and what I imply by this is that maybe just maybe Pakistan might finally be able to recognize a true born leader that is Imran Khan instead of going with TTFs like PPP, PMLN etc

If he doesn't, he will hoard the streets again and get his container out, and his supporters will dance and take selfies with red and green paint, and quite a few of them would try to pick up girls. People of Islamabad are already fed up with his two grand concerts that brought the city to its knees.

he should if election gets rigged.

we are HAPPY with ..,,.MUJHAY Q NIKALA.,,, cheats the so called leader.NO need for an honest man who comes on roads for the democracy .good electorial system and fair play.He is immature no need to vote him.we need calm and mature thieves.

he should if election gets rigged.

It will be rigged if he doesn't win. However, if he wins, it will be fair. Whether an election is fair or not depends on the performance of PTI.

In addition, the fact is that the rigging is a systematic problem and not a conspiracy against PTI. PTI's own members were caught rigging as well, but it was conveniently brushed under the carpet because Khan saab had favors to repay, and instead he sacked his own judiciary council (who exposed the intra-party rigging within PTI) including the very honorable Justice Wajihuddin Ahmed.

People of Islamabad are so fed up that during local goverment elections PMLN had to beg known mafia Khokhar Independent Group to come up with their Mayor otherwise PTI was going to form the goverment in Isb because the city of Islamabad voted for them while PMLN and Ind enjoyed the support in rural area of Isb. (And this all happened after Dherna, Before Dherna they also voted twice for PTI on urban MNA seat of Isb to make Hashmi and thn Asad Umar their MNA)

Yes there are plenty of Junoonis in Islamabad, including children of corrupt bureaucrats, but the sensible people who are not going to vote for PTI are not happy with the fact their daily lives have been disrupted.

It will be rigged if he doesn't win. However, if he wins, it will be fair. Whether an election is fair or not depends on the performance of PTI.

In addition, the fact is that the rigging is a systematic problem and not a conspiracy against PTI. PTI's own members were caught rigging as well, but it was conveniently brushed under the carpet because Khan saab had favors to repay, and instead he sacked his own judiciary council (who exposed the intra-party rigging within PTI) including the very honorable Justice Wajihuddin Ahmed.

He was not only for himself,he said that this election commission needs over haul and so the election system and rightly so but what has noora done for that, i think n one is serious in fair election process except him.

He should have made an example of his own party. By pardoning the riggers within PTI, he exposed his hypocrisy.

Yes there are plenty of Junoonis in Islamabad, including children of corrupt bureaucrats, but the sensible people who are not going to vote for PTI are not happy with the fact their daily lives have been disrupted.

So anyone who vote for PTI isn't sensible but the one voting for PMLN and PPP from 4 decades are sensible guys?

He should have made an example of his own party. By pardoning the riggers within PTI, he exposed his hypocrisy.

so u have objection on his party election process but no objection for the existing election process are no support for making election fair.And i have seen u supporting a man who has no intra party elections.I think imran did learn a lesson in first intra party election and this time we will see a more fair process.though that were just allegations from justice sahb.

Good to know that people whos daily lives are disrupted a little are 'sensible' people but who want to change this mess-upped system are 'insensible'.

Another PPPP leader from Punjab joins the PTI.The PTI is looking good for GE 2018.

Yes people who vote for lying thieves are sensible :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :)))

Mrs CC told me that this time Imran Khan will be the PM. She had also correctly predicted all of Pakistan's matches during CT 17.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] bhai why all the hate for Imran? Would you rather see PML-N back in power?

DQ5atCMWsAEXMpJ.jpg:large

His party did really well to go from zero to 15-20% of the national vote in 2013. Assuming that trend continues he should at least be leader of the opposition in the 2018 election and then make a push for the top job in ~2023. Politics, like life, is often a marathon and not a sprint.

Of course this is just the opinion of an outsider however from the Pakistanis I've spoken to about this they don't seem to think Khan has the numbers to win overall (or even lead a coalition) at next year's election.

I'm a supporter of the country. Right now, Imran Khan is a threat to democracy. I will have absolutely no objections if he wins the next election, because it will be the decision of the people of Pakistan, a decision that must be respected. However, I personally do not think that he fits the profile of a leader and I question his mental health. Thus, I do not wish or hope that he becomes the PM in the future and I regret my vote for PTI.

People made their choice in 2013 and they chose Nawaz. I accept that decision. The newfound democracy of Pakistan must be protected and allowed to survive, it is the only way forward. Pakistan's biggest problem has been its inability to let democratically elected governments prevail. Martial laws have done the country no good and has only made the military establishment more powerful.

Imran is also setting a wrong precedence with his pseudo-revolution. He wants a revolution but doesn't have the guts for it. It has been a mess from the word go. He wants to be part of the system but feels free to denounce it at every opportunity; he calls the National Assembly fake but has no problem in withdrawing salaries from it; he accepts the verdict of the Supreme Court - which he is bound to constitutionally - only when it suits his agenda; he has surrounded himself with the PML-Q turncoats who did nothing for the country during Musharraf's reign; he sacked his own judiciary council because they exposed the rigging within PTI, leaving him with some uncomfortable facts and realities which he did not want to hear and face; he has also begged the Army (the umpire) to intervene, yet calls himself a democratic leader. Thankfully General Raheel was a democratic man and rightfully decided to stay away from the political scene.

One can go on and on and on, but these are some of the reasons why Imran Khan is not the man to lead the country. He has no faith and conviction in what he says and shoots from the hip, which is why he keeps taking U-turns over U-turns. His supporters have developed a sheep mentality who have vowed to defend him at as if he is a divine figure. When Imran moves from point A to be point B, they defend him - when he moves back from point B to point A, they will still defend him.

One man is not the answer, especially when that man has compromised his moral standing and manifesto, and his supporters defend him because this is 'dirty politics', but that was the whole point of Imran Khan/PTI in the first place - it was supposed to be different and not just another political party. We all should strive to be better citizens of Pakistan in our own right and comply with the law. We should protect democracy, which will cure itself in the long run. If we let democracy survive, Pakistan will be in a much better shape 15-20 years down the line. It doesn't matter if it is Nawaz, Bilawal or Imran. Democracy is not whom you want but whom the people want. You are insignificant compared to the power of the people. Just because you are anti-Nawaz and did not vote for him does not mean that his government is not a democratically elected government.

Military coups and usurping governments will do the country no good. It will always set the wrong precedence. Suppose Imran succeeds in overthrowing Nawaz now and gets installed as PM, what will happen if tomorrow, someone like TUQ decides that it is time to impose sharia in Pakistan, and along with the right-wing parties, decides to invade the capital like Imran and tries to force Imran to resign because his government is not Islamic? What then?

The failure of Imran to topple the democratically elected government is the right precedence for the future because it will show the resilience of our democracy. It has survived for 8 years and it will continue to survive in the future.

Pakistan Zindabad.

Excellent post. It is indeed important that those who lose an elections accept the result and wait for the next one, rather than creating chaos in a attempt to overturn the people's verdict. That is the only way democracy can take hold, and without democracy there will be no progress as those with power will grab everything and produce nothing.

I wish you and your country well.

His party did really well to go from zero to 15-20% of the national vote in 2013. Assuming that trend continues he should at least be leader of the opposition in the 2018 election and then make a push for the top job in ~2023. Politics, like life, is often a marathon and not a sprint.

Of course this is just the opinion of an outsider however from the Pakistanis I've spoken to about this they don't seem to think Khan has the numbers to win overall (or even lead a coalition) at next year's election.

In a presidential system, Imran Khan would easily become president but in this system he may not be able to make enough numbers to make the government. He has made many more compromises as compared to 2013 so will definitely get lot more seats but will need to make even bigger compromises (alliance with PPP, MQM etc) to become a PM.

Personally, i am not bothered if he accepts electables and big names but an alliance with Zardari's PPP would be a massive disaster and i would rather see Imran in opposition. Even long term jyalay from PPP refuse to contest elections with Zardari's name.

Looks like it's going to be be Imran vs Shehbaz in the end...

Pakistan Zindabad.

You are delusional, your last 3 PMs have been either a convicted criminal, convicted of full blown corruption or an army general.

What democracy are you speaking of?

Your elections are rigged and the voters are paid off in certain districts to guarantee votes

A moral and political revolution is needed, NOT the status quo of this sham democracy you speak of.

You are delusional, your last 3 PMs have been either a convicted criminal, convicted of full blown corruption or an army general.

What democracy are you speaking of?

Your elections are rigged and the voters are paid off in certain districts to guarantee votes

A moral and political revolution is needed, NOT the status quo of this sham democracy you speak of.

That is a simplistic argument. Your retort tells me that you are unfamiliar with the political dynamics of Pakistan politics. A moral revolution is a bottom-up process, and our people are not ready for that.

They will accuse the government for being thieves, but they will not pay taxes themselves, not realizing that the corrupt government will do even worse if the people engage in tax evasion, and the debt is simply going to increase. That is what has happened with Pakistan, and according to the IMF, the single biggest problem that Pakistan has had for decades.

As I stated earlier, democracy will outlast the bad eggs, but shortcuts like so-called revolutions will only create more bad eggs. Imran Khan with his lota party is not going to bring a revolution - he has crowded himself with opportunists who have joined him for his political gains. Just because they have been dry cleaned by the PTI laundry does not mean that they will now change their colors.

More importantly, when does a revolution end, and who decides what kind of revolution do we need? What will happen if tomorrow, the right-wing extremists take up arms against the state and decide that we need to impose shariah law? Who will stop that revolution?

That is why it is important to strengthen democracy. Elections were rigged, but it was systematic rigging, i.e. fault in the system itself. PML-N didn't win because of rigging, they were going to win anyway. PTI's members were caught rigging as well, but Imran brushed it under the carpet and sacked his own judiciary who exposed the crooks.

If we strengthen our democracy, people like Nawaz, Zardari etc. will eventually be filtered out. However, if we continue to look for shortcuts, we will make no progress. That has been the story of Pakistan since 1947. The military has not allowed democracy to thrive, and those martial laws have only made things worse for the country.

Excellent post. It is indeed important that those who lose an elections accept the result and wait for the next one, rather than creating chaos in a attempt to overturn the people's verdict. That is the only way democracy can take hold, and without democracy there will be no progress as those with power will grab everything and produce nothing.

I wish you and your country well.

Thank you.

Yes great idea accept results when it is obvious that people have rigged the elections. That is the type of democracy that we should all fight for.

Fact: pakistan's election is corrupted. NS isn't "may be" corrupt, he is corrupt. Only a doodh Pita Bacha would say he is maybe.
Fact: Those pakistani awam who support NS, Altaf, and Zardari are either too naive or corrupt to support these crooks.
Fact: IK isn't corrupt, genuinely want to make Pakistan a better country for everyone.

go ahead deny those facts, and it'l be naive.

Through election, I don't think IK can gain that majority; but I have a feeling that PAK Army is backing him for next term, so you never know.

You probably have good cricketing knowledge but don;t know what's going on in Pakistan. IK is all set to win in 2018. It won;t be a land slide but he will enough seats in NA to form the government.

I know about PAK & it's politics more than you and many here - if you wish, you can test that off the record. Don't know how long you had been in South Asia or in PAK, but what I can say is that you have absolutely no idea how politics & election works in countries where last minute investment of a $20 bill can do miracles. I am telling this from experience within my own family - I have close relatives as MP, even Minister, from both main stream parties of our politics - together they do & share everything day/night, then their cadres would shoot each others and Police SP/Commissioner will call both of them before making a single arrest. Don't think PAK is too much advanced from that.

90% Punjabi working class gives a hoot to Panama papers - that's almost half of 273 seats. If IK has to become PM, either he has to form a quallition Govt. with PMNL, which I hope he won't (no personal stake, but I respect his principles), or he'll have to form a weak Govt. with 12/13 parties including PPP, MQM & those Islamic Ideological parties, Wahabis along with individual MPs, which'll make his Govt. extremely weak & venerable to constant political compromises, and PMNL will be stronger opposition, constantly blocking his every bill in parliament - which for a country is never a good situation, almost certainly it will end in a mid term election, that's another few billion $ into drain.

Easiest way is through an Army backed election - through political system it's really difficult to happen. What Imran is doing, similar effort ZAB did in late 60s, but Bhutto made a fatal mistake in 1970, he should have used Army before the election, not after.

Any way, it's less than a year, we'll see.

I know about PAK & it's politics more than you and many here - if you wish, you can test that off the record. Don't know how long you had been in South Asia or in PAK, but what I can say is that you have absolutely no idea how politics & election works in countries where last minute investment of a $20 bill can do miracles. I am telling this from experience within my own family - I have close relatives as MP, even Minister, from both main stream parties of our politics - together they do & share everything day/night, then their cadres would shoot each others and Police SP/Commissioner will call both of them before making a single arrest. Don't think PAK is too much advanced from that.

90% Punjabi working class gives a hoot to Panama papers - that's almost half of 273 seats. If IK has to become PM, either he has to form a quallition Govt. with PMNL, which I hope he won't (no personal stake, but I respect his principles), or he'll have to form a weak Govt. with 12/13 parties including PPP, MQM & those Islamic Ideological parties, Wahabis along with individual MPs, which'll make his Govt. extremely weak & venerable to constant political compromises, and PMNL will be stronger opposition, constantly blocking his every bill in parliament - which for a country is never a good situation, almost certainly it will end in a mid term election, that's another few billion $ into drain.

Easiest way is through an Army backed election - through political system it's really difficult to happen. What Imran is doing, similar effort ZAB did in late 60s, but Bhutto made a fatal mistake in 1970, he should have used Army before the election, not after.

I have strong family and business ties in Pakistan and visit 2-3 times a year. My last visit was just a month ago and spent time mainly in Lahore with visits to Gurjanwala, Sialkot, Rawalpindi , Islamabad and Peshawar. During my current visit I spoke to many people , particularly in Lahore and Islamabad and felt the obvious change we going to see in 2018 elections. Lahoris particularly and Punjabis in general always loved IK, but did not vote for him in majority but this time things will be different , they will vote for him in big numbers. PTI will win more than ML . His will not be a weak government , but I;m not expecting a land slide either.

Let's see.

I have always seen urban people are more diplomatic in this regard and they do use judgement. But it's the rural mass that votes for the "Marka" (symbol). Imran already has gained lot, lot - I can recall, probably in 1996 election, he didn't win even a seat, from there one, it's truly remarkable. But, like INC, PML is probably only all Pakistan party - if Imran can divide their vote, may be yes, but PMLN going to election united, it'll be really tough. I think, in PAK it's more open - probably 25% of cast vote wins a seat in most cases, in BD it takes about 35%. If he can crack PMLN in Punjab, yes definitely possible; PPP probably has lost it's identity as a secular non Punjabi, all-PAK party because of weak leadership and fraction in Bhutto's family.

PPP with " little Billy " as their leader is a joke, particularly in Punjab and you will rarely find a person supporting them

With huge urbanization in Punjab ( sadly ) over last 20-25 years , urban votes and seats play a big role in picking the eventual winner. IK lost closely in urban areas of Punjab and that small gap is closing and we will see a much closer result this time in Punjab and that would be enough for IK to beat ML country wide.

Agreed,,Khan has to grab every person that comes i mean electable and i am sure that more than 90% people in punjab give a damn to Panama though i am the biggest ,,i will say again the biggest supporter of IK and i do believe ha can do much better,His KP government where i live has been far better than what i have seen before.

Sir I respectfully disagree with alot of what you said. Specially "the 90% Punjabi working class don't give a hoot" part.

Just the previous poster above you actually agreed with that, and he lives in PAK, in Imran's state.

So, the call is subjective - depending on personal experience. You might have seen a small niche segment, or he might have seen a different one, but I am talking about in general trends in Subcontinent. Normally, average people hardly bothers about state level corruption, as long as his essentials are not subject to inflation - rice, wheat, oil, sugar, pulses, salt, chili, onion, ginger, garlic, transit .... They are more than happy, if they can peacefully sleep with wife/kids after having a daal ruti in dinner. The easiest trick that's used to fool people is civil construction - roads, railways, bridges ...... schedule the ribbon cutting ceremony tactfully, 3-5% vote can be switched. Besides, every public works come with added sweetener, which funds the election expenses as well for the ruling party.

Imran is a fantastic person, but I don't think his speeches touch the lower segment that much, but I might be wrong. Besides, Imran might have done great in KPK, but Sharif bros. also have done lot around Lahore & Punjab - normally, people doesn't change their vote, unless they are ****** off with existing rulers, because everyone comes with loaded "promises". And, you'll be surprised to see how much people of subcontinent honors power & position. Sharif family is a symbol of power, possession, aristocracy, riches .... almost like royalty. If PMLN can sort their house and their media can create a feeling that they are going to form Govt. again - you'll see many floating (undecided) voters to vote for them, even from educated urban segment.

Normally, what happens in 5 years election cycle is that, at least 10% new voters add to the system (first time voters), and these young people are more enthusiastic, vocal and often they vote against ruling party - simple reason is that they dream big for future and often in 3rd world country, ruling party ends up losing popularity. These young generation is more active in social media, public forum, which gives a feeling that there is a mass turn around - check their parents, grand parents; often they are careful, tight lipped ...... these are vote banks for established parties.

If PMLN starts to buy out own candidate (make sure that there are no division in their vote bank), and if they can buy few missed candidates (missed nomination in party banner) from PTI & PPP to submit nomination as individual .... it takes only around 3% vote swing for a change over of 20% seats - that's the worst side of parliamentary system in 3rd world countries. If it was a presidential election with the man having highest popular votes to become President, Imran could have been president even in 2008!!!

Let's see - I live in a place where, most of my PAK neighbors are hardcore PMLN people from North-East Punjab; they won't even allow any topic related to negative side of Nawaz family, therefore I might be biased.

If IK becomes PM he needs to become PM on his own to do substantial work if he gets elected PM with a coalition government with support from religious backward parties then that will do more harm to Pakistan than anything else..

Good luck to IK I hope he becomes PM by majority he really seems to have welfare of Pakistan in his mind.. He may not then out to be a messiah but I am sure he will be better than what Pakistan has to offer in the past..

More important question is, how the reign of Army will end?? - If people think IK can end Army's reign, they live in fools paradise, he is a foot solider like others before him...He has become more pro-army with every day. Two of the worse thing about Pakistan are Army and Extreme Right, he has bow down to both, gulami key bhiee haad hoti hai... He is trying his best to prove to Army that he is better candidate then Shazab Sherif to get to PM seat, right now SS has upper hand ;-)

I don't care who becomes the PM, nothing will make a difference unless politicians are free to make policy decisions. Only decisions they can make is about roads and bridges, that's Job of councilor not PM.

More important question is, how the reign of Army will end?? - If people think IK can end Army's reign, they live in fools paradise, he is a foot solider like others before him...He has become more pro-army with every day. Two of the worse thing about Pakistan are Army and Extreme Right, he has bow down to both, gulami key bhiee haad hoti hai... He is trying his best to prove to Army that he is better candidate then Shazab Sherif to get to PM seat, right now SS has upper hand ;-)

I don't care who becomes the PM, nothing will make a difference unless politicians are free to make policy decisions. Only decisions they can make is about roads and bridges, that's Job of councilor not PM.

It’s a hope people cling onto that someone will come and help their country grow.. Its like how in Delhi people voted for Kejriwal we were tired by BJP/Congress corruption and Kejriwal provided a hope that he is an honest guy who is against corruption and will help the common man.. Well he squashed that hope..

Similarly People have hope from IK seeing his struggle and fed up of the alternatives they hope IK can prosper Pakistan if he gets To be the PM maybe he kills that hope people have by being the same as his predecessors but till he given a chance people will always have that hope..

Dr.Pervez Hoodbuoy thinks it will be a Imran-led coalition government albeit a weak one.