Will Marvi Memon Join Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf?

Where did you read this?

SLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League – Quaid (PML-Q) MNA Marvi Memon on Wednesday resigned from the parliament as well as from her membership of the PML-Q, DawnNews reported.

Ms Memon said the government was working against the interests of the Pakistani people and for that reason it was not possible for her to remain in the party.

The PML-Q joined the federal cabinet in May.

She said that the PML-Q did not correct the government’s disastrous course. — DawnNews

http://www.dawn.com/2011/06/22/marvi-memon-resigns-from-na-pml-q.html

bahi kabhi koi akhbar khol liya kero :P

i am not talking about right or wrong , i am talking about making a difference . when people start to make a difference , you can argue whether it was the right difference or wrong .

out of all the names i mentioned , you abuse her ? google the names i mentioned and check their backgrounds and you will find out that any of these women would probably do the same , if not worse .

farooqui family's steel mills scandal
khar family has numerous scandals
fehmida mirza's ghunda husband
firdous ashiq awan vs kashmala tariq , awan also accused of claiming she is unmarried but nadra shows 2 husband , 4 kids
shumaila rana credit card fraud

all this just off the top of my head

memon also supported Musharraf , interesting . lets see how it turns out . thaali ka baigan :P

i am not talking about right or wrong , i am talking about making a difference . when people start to make a difference , you can argue whether it was the right difference or wrong .

out of all the names i mentioned , you abuse her ? google the names i mentioned and check their backgrounds and you will find out that any of these women would probably do the same , if not worse .

farooqui family's steel mills scandal
khar family has numerous scandals
fehmida mirza's ghunda husband
firdous ashiq awan vs kashmala tariq , awan also accused of claiming she is unmarried but nadra shows 2 husband , 4 kids
shumaila rana credit card fraud

all this just off the top of my head

You called her an exception therefore implying that she is different from the rest, when that is not the case.

You were mis-informed on BB's contribution to Pakistan's demise so I just updated you on it. You seem to be aware of what the rest of them are like therefore did not bother with them.

Didn't you already know that?

i just googled her and found that out . i have to admit , i didnt know much about her . she has achieved quite a lot starting her career as a banker and becoming the youngest CEO back then .

It is time that the people of Pakistan are freed from this government. It is time that sincere, tax-paying Pakistanis unite for Pakistan’s sake. It is time they reject old politics and espouse new politics, where the definition of politics is serving ones people rather than ruling over them. For the above reasons, I hereby tender my resignation for the sake of the people of AJK, Balochistan, GB, KPK, Punjab, Sindh – my Pakistan.

This part is from her resignation statement.

1) Free from this government----->Hakumat Hatao Mulk Bachao
2)Sincere, tax paying, unity (excludes the tax evaders :sharif) Hum Aik Hain :imran
3) Time to reject old politics (get rid of PPP, PML A-Z) only option PTI

If she joins PTI than I will have no doubt about PTI becoming the next establishment party. She started her career under the tutelage of Musharraf, her father Nisar Memon is Musharraf's best buddy. Now that the establishment is afraid of Nawaz Sharif, we have these stooges changing sides from one establishment party to another. Good for her if she joins PTI. She will be joining the party of windbags just like her. Having no constituency of her own, I am not sure how she will benefit PTI from getting any seats. Other than spouting the usual garbage on TV shows, I find it hard to see what advantage she will bring to PTI.

according to Marvi Memon

PML(N) has also invited her to join PTI. It's funny that PML(N) has accepted almost all of PML(Q) Lotas for keeping their power and you don't call them establishment's party and yet you call PTI which has no representation in parliament and has criticized all policies of establishment for last ten years yet you call PTI a party of establishment.

This is hypocrisy at its best.

People should give credit where its due. SHe quit the national assembly. Lota or not, how many politicians in pakistan would give up power, just to join another party?

Mrvi,hashmi nd qureshi, if they joined pti then no one cn stop pti.

Really? Give us a few examples of who you consider anti-establishmen, since you have labeled PTI as being the establishment's party

Right now PML-N, asking for a transparent and independent investigation into the Abbottabad incidene and taking a strong line in the parliment against the army. Use to be PPP but not anymore.

Than there are inviduals (lawyers, intellectuals, columnist) who I can call anti-establishment like Asma Jehangir, Najam Sethi, Ayaz Amir etc.

While talking about Marvi, Imran Khan said today that he will give khushkhabri in a couple of days so it should be that Marvi has joined PTI. Sorry if already posted.

Good for You.

Still think Imran Khan and PTI is establishment's party.

If you expect me to watch all those videos that you have so diligently posted contrary to my humble request, than you have to be kidding me.

You must have seen all those video's, you probably know by heart all that was spoken by your great leader. Can you not put all that into a short, concise and logical paragraph. Maybe you are underestimating yourself as a poster. Come on, you can do better than that. Don't hide behind the video's.

The reluctance to get into a debate with me and resorting to posting video's of your great leader is symptomatic of the basic character of converts to the cause of PTI. They hang on to Imran's every unpretentious rant without ever finding any duplicity or naivety in it. They are what you call dittoheads. They have limited capacity to think on their own and make up for this inadequacy by blindly agreeing to someone who appear to them as their idol. The credulous nature of these poor people is exploited by the so called demigods like Imran and used to satisfy their own ego's and ofcourse for political advantage. Its not hard to see why so many simpleton's are enchanted by Imran and his party.

If you expect me to watch all those videos that you have so diligently posted contrary to my humble request, than you have to be kidding me.

You must have seen all those video's, you probably know by heart all that was spoken by your great leader. Can you not put all that into a short, concise and logical paragraph. Maybe you are underestimating yourself as a poster. Come on, you can do better than that. Don't hide behind the video's.

The reluctance to get into a debate with me and resorting to posting video's of your great leader is symptomatic of the basic character of converts to the cause of PTI. They hang on to Imran's every unpretentious rant without ever finding any duplicity or naivety in it. They are what you call dittoheads. They have limited capacity to think on their own and make up for this inadequacy by blindly agreeing to someone who appear to them as their idol. The credulous nature of these poor people is exploited by the so called demigods like Imran and used to satisfy their own ego's and ofcourse for political advantage. Its not hard to see why so many simpleton's are enchanted by Imran and his party.

Bahi waisey time zaya karney ka shauk to nahi per majboori say aap key eh farmaish be puri ker dete hein.

You and me both agree that Imran khan has been very vocal against the military establishment in past. our difference arises when you claim Imran Khan has now gone soft on military establishment. The reason for this might be the embarrassment caused by our military establishment in last 45 days. These are some events that happened in last 45 days.

1.Abbottabad issue
2.Mehran base attack
3.journalist Saleem Shehzad
4.guy killed by Rangers in Karachi and Chechans or Tajiks killed in Quetta

Imran Khan’s stance on all those issues has been clear and wants all these events to be investigated by independent commissions (the evidence of all this is in the videos that I already posted)

Now the question is who is going to make these commissions and who is going to investigate all these incidents. This is government’s responsibility and they should be the one forming commissions. This is democracy and in democracy civilians should be able to put a leash on armed forces. The problem is these corrupt, incompetent morons don’t have the moral authority to form commissions against incompetence of Pak Fauj because they came to power because of NRO negotiated by General Pervez Kiyani on behalf of General Pervez Musharaf. I don’t want to go in details of what Imran Khan and rest of PTI thinks of NRO.

Right now the issue isn’t incompetence of pak-fauj or civilian government. The real issue is lack of seriousness by the current government in dealing with any of these Issues. IF they were serious in tackling these issues they would have addressed these problems already and army wouldn’t have been able to create hurdles in their way. If they think army would still be creating hurdles in their way and will not let them do their job then they should simply resign and call for mid term elections and come with even stronger majority in parliament to contain pak-Fauj. We have already seen this work in Turkey but the problem is civilians either don’t have the moral authority or are not interested in solving the problems they are only interested in consolidating their own power.

Imran Khan has identified this problem and now has launched a “Hakumat Hatao Mulk Bachao Tehrek” to get rid of this government that isn’t willing to put a leash on armed forces.

Aur Jattay Jattay meri post karne ka style mein kaisey bhool sakta hoon. aap anti-establishment candidate ko enjoy karein.

[utube]7J9b-LkK8zI[/utube]

Finally, at least not another only video reply from you. Good job. I will reply to your post in detail in a bit.

Now the question is who is going to make these commissions and who is going to investigate all these incidents. This is government’s responsibility and they should be the one forming commissions. This is democracy and in democracy civilians should be able to put a leash on armed forces. The problem is these corrupt, incompetent morons don’t have the moral authority to form commissions against incompetence of Pak Fauj because they came to power because of NRO negotiated by General Pervez Kiyani on behalf of General Pervez Musharaf. I don’t want to go in details of what Imran Khan and rest of PTI thinks of NRO.

Agree

Right now the issue isn’t incompetence of pak-fauj or civilian government. The real issue is lack of seriousness by the current government in dealing with any of these Issues. IF they were serious in tackling these issues they would have addressed these problems already and army wouldn’t have been able to create hurdles in their way. If they think army would still be creating hurdles in their way and will not let them do their job then they should simply resign and call for mid term elections and come with even stronger majority in parliament to contain pak-Fauj. We have already seen this work in Turkey but the problem is civilians either don’t have the moral authority or are not interested in solving the problems they are only interested in consolidating their own power.

Aren't you being too naive by saying the current govt. should resign because they cannot control the army. Who can control the army. You think Imran Khan if he ever come to power will be able to control the army. Why would you expect this from someone who is being played like a pawn by the army right now. Army used him and JI to whip up the Raymod Davis issue and than after getting concessions from US, let him go. They used him to show the world how unpopular drone attacks are in Pakistan and asked for more concessions while letting drone attacks continue. Imran's biggest supporter in the media, Haroon Ul Rasheed is a known army stooge. So is Luqman on whose show Imran was being paid lavish tributes, just yesterday. What about MQM, the prototypical establishment party, why is he talking to them now. On whose instructions is he playing the political game nowadays. Just saying a line about General Ghayor does'nt make you anti-establishment.

I have no sympathy or love for the current regime nor am I a supporter of Nawaz. For all I know, PML-N might be playing this anti-establishment game for some ulterior motive or as a political strategy. Its not the party or leader who I agree or disagree with, its their stance, no matter how brief or fake it may be atleast its better than not having one.

Agree

Aren't you being too naive by saying the current govt. should resign because they cannot control the army. Who can control the army. You think Imran Khan if he ever come to power will be able to control the army.

PTI is party of idealists and don't believe in ground realities. Imran Khan is on record saying if he was unable to control army he would resign because I won't be able to implement my agenda. The current government doesn't care about implementing its agenda they are just in it for power.

Why would you expect this from someone who is being played like a pawn by the army right now
. Army used him and JI to whip up the Raymod Davis issue and than after getting concessions from US, let him go

This is your opinion. PTI has always talked about the presence of blackwater and other security agencies in pakistan that were damaging pakistan. at that time we were called conspiracy theorists but we were dead on and on the release of Raymond Davis we had to come out on streets just like we have been on streets for many other issues including election of president zardari.

You know what else is funny PML(N) not asking anyone to make a commission to investigate why Raymond Davis was not charged with espionage and why they let him go.
They used him to show the world how unpopular drone attacks are in Pakistan and asked for more concessions while letting drone attacks continue.

PTI has been protesting against drones since 2004 and what is wrong with our military and ISI finally listening to the sane voice that have been asking government to stop drone attacks. PTI has successfully highlighted this problem to an extent and I am proud of it. I could careless about who used PTI protests for their advantages. All I know is that PTI has done the right thing and stuck to their principles.

Imran's biggest supporter in the media, Haroon Ul Rasheed is a known army stooge.

What is wrong with an army stooge supporting Imran Khan?

So is Luqman on whose show Imran was being paid lavish tributes, just yesterday

The same Mubashar Luqman that did this to Imran Khan & PTI during flood crisis. sorry about the video but that's a must watch.

[utube]IemdxvSg9jI&[/utube]
What about MQM, the prototypical establishment party, why is he talking to them now. On whose instructions is he playing the political game nowadays. Just saying a line about General Ghayor does'nt make you anti-establishment.

when PTI makes an alliance with MQM then you could bash us all you want. PTI is an issue based party and has fully endorsed MQM's New stance on drone attacks.
I have no sympathy or love for the current regime nor am I a supporter of Nawaz. For all I know, PML-N might be playing this anti-establishment game for some ulterior motive or as a political strategy. Its not the party or leader who I agree or disagree with, its their stance, no matter how brief or fake it may be atleast its better than not having one.

PML(N) is playing political games again they are not serious in addressing the issues either. If they were serious they would have also asked for a commission to investigate how Raymond Davis was freed but they would never ask for it because they don't want to be seen naked in front of pakistani people.

Right now PML-N, asking for a transparent and independent investigation into the Abbottabad incidene and taking a strong line in the parliment against the army. Use to be PPP but not anymore.

Than there are inviduals (lawyers, intellectuals, columnist) who I can call anti-establishment like Asma Jehangir, Najam Sethi, Ayaz Amir etc.

How many times have you seen these same old politicians change faces and statements when they are in power?

And has PTI not demanded an investigation into the above mentioned incidents? Has PTI not spoken up against army's interference in state affairs?

Dude, you really need to watch and read stuff.

How many times have you seen these same old politicians change faces and statements when they are in power?

And has PTI not demanded an investigation into the above mentioned incidents? Has PTI not spoken up against army's interference in state affairs?

Dude, you really need to watch and read stuff.

You are right. PML N might be playing some kind of game to gather support. It's hard to see them as an anti- establishment party when they have people like Chaudry Nisar who is probably the most blatant example of an establishment politican. For the time being they are saying something which makes sense to me so I agree with them.

Yeah watch the propaganda machine we call our free and independent media that you guys are feeding on 24/7. No thanks dude. I am not into empty slogans and hollow promises.

You are right. PML N might be playing some kind of game to gather support. It's hard to see them as an anti- establishment party when they have people like Chaudry Nisar who is probably the most blatant example of an establishment politican. For the time being they are saying something which makes sense to me so I agree with them.
Right, so before the elections, whoever says something good, you wil vote for him, irrespective of his past record, coz that doesnt really matter, now does it :facepalm:

But on the other hand, of Marvi Memon joins a party, it becomes the establishment's party

Yeah watch the propaganda machine we call our free and independent media that you guys are feeding on 24/7. No thanks dude. I am not into empty slogans and hollow promises.
Imran Khan, coming on TV, and saying all this himself, constitutes propaganda? But Nawaz Sharif saying it on TV seems right to you.

Excellent!!

PTI has been protesting against drones since 2004 and what is wrong with our military and ISI finally listening to the sane voice that have been asking government to stop drone attacks. PTI has successfully highlighted this problem to an extent and I am proud of it. I could careless about who used PTI protests for their advantages.
You dont believe in ground realities, you don't mind being used, you dont see anything wrong with army stooges supporting Imran. What more can I say, just this post of yours have given a fair description of how naive and clueless your party is. Keep it up guys.

Talk to me when PTI flip flops on its stated policies. It's Imran Khan & PTI's consistency that is drawing masses towards PTI today.

You call it Naive we call it idealist. Your hate for military establishment has blinded you and now you can't see the difference between the party that has consistent policy and believes in people paying taxes unlike the sharifs.

You have also forgotten PML(N)'s another flip flop because you hate military so much and PML(N) is very clever in fooling people.

Right, so before the elections, whoever says something good, you wil vote for him, irrespective of his past record, coz that doesnt really matter, now does it :facepalm:

But on the other hand, of Marvi Memon joins a party, it becomes the establishment's party

Imran Khan, coming on TV, and saying all this himself, constitutes propaganda? But Nawaz Sharif saying it on TV seems right to you.

Excellent!!

Are we having elections tomorrow. And did I ever say that I am going to vote for PML N. I support their stance against the army. That's it. I don't see a worthy enough party to vote for, plus I am overseas so cannot vote anyways.

If Imran supporters can forgive him for joining Musharraf at one point than why not apply this to others. In case of Marvi Memon, it's the right wing populist pro army anti govt. stance of her that makes her so appealing to the establishment right now.

What a poor post!

You should have written something like "my sources tell me PTI is backed by the army."

Would have been as significant as your post

Talk to me when PTI flip flops on its stated policies. It's Imran Khan & PTI's consistency that is drawing masses towards PTI today.

You call it Naive we call it idealist. Your hate for military establishment has blinded you and now you can't see the difference between the party that has consistent policy and believes in people paying taxes unlike the sharifs.

You have also forgotten PML(N)'s another flip flop because you hate military so much and PML(N) is very clever in fooling people.

I am not here to defend the Sharifs. Instead of answering your own short comings you are trying to steer the discussion towards them, whom I have no interest in defending other than their stance against the army. Your argument is we are better than Sharifs. It's like comparing oneself to Hitler.

If Imran supporters can forgive him for joining Musharraf at one point than why not apply this to others. In case of Marvi Memon, it's the right wing populist pro army anti govt. stance of her that makes her so appealing to the establishment right now.

PTI is willing to forgive anyone that declares their assets and supports this agenda.

1) getting out of american war
2) Ending corruption.
3) Tax collection (direct taxation)

What a poor post!

You should have written something like "my sources tell me PTI is backed by the army."

Would have been as significant as your post

Thanks dude. When you have nothing more to say, that's a good way to avoid the topic.

I am not here to defend the Sharifs. Instead of answering your own short comings you are trying to steer the discussion towards them, whom I have no interest in defending other than their stance against the army. Your argument is we are better than Sharifs. It's like comparing oneself to Hitler.

their stance changes every third day and I have given a clear example of that try reading their flip flops.

They change their views like parents change their kids diapers.

their stance changes every third day and I have given a clear example of that try reading their flip flops.

They change their views like parents change their kids diapers.

They probably will change their stance at some point. I am not very optimistic about that. But for now let's see how far this goes. If anyone, and I mean anyone can straighten our Army out, I will be their life long supporter.

I find it hilarious that you know that they will change their stance at some point and yet you are still willing to believe them :))

only one man could do that :imran

Guys, it's 12 am here and Ive got to go to work tomorrow morning. We will continue this discussion later.

I find it hilarious that you know that they will change their stance at some point and yet you are still willing to believe them :))

only one man could do that :imran

Call it desperation. But I am willing to give everyone a chance.

OK so a quick refresh of our discussion. You were saying that since Sharif's are corrupt, they flip flop on issues and they don't pay their taxes, there is no reason to believe their anti-establishment stance as it is likely to be just a another political move to make themselves look good. And since Imran Khan has always been anti-establishment, been sincere and consistent, he is the only person who can fix the army. Am I correct ?

I though about this and while I agree with you to a certain extent I am still not convinced about your claim that Imran will be able to fix the army. Why would the army than support him if they know he will be tough with them when he comes to power. Do you seriously think that the army would tolerate a civilian to chane their ways. I am not so sure about that.

Our army looks out for itself more than anthing, even our country and unless you have some major radical power structure change inside the army, I am not sure if this will ever be any different. See the dead give away on who the army is supporting right now and who are they against is how they have reacted to the recent criticism against them by PML-N and some portions of the media. They are flustered, they are seeking cover from the Parliment, they are putting out statements accusing people of destabilizing the army and creating rifts between them and the people, when all anyone ever did was to ask them for some explanation. The cracks on their so called tough exterior are starting to appear, only to reveal a feeble, sinsiter and fickle interior.

And who is responsible for that. Not PPP, not PTI or MQM or PML-Q or ANP, its because of PML-N along with some portions of the media that have been able to, for the first time since the break up of Pakistan in 1971, put a leash on this untamed and dangerous wild horse. If our civiliam govt. had enough balls you would have had the army bending over backwards for the civilian govt, just like they did for Bhutto and PPP in 1971. But thats another debate.

So irrespective of how bad PML-N is and has been, or how interim their stance maybe, they have done something right, something that should have been done a long time ago, by all parties. So I see no harm in giving them kudos for that. As for PTI/Imran Khan, once I can tell that the army does not want him to come to power than I will be reassured on his anti-establishment stand, for now, all signs which I have mentioned above, point towards PTI being hand in hand with the army vis-a-vis the establishment.

OK so a quick refresh of our discussion. You were saying that since Sharif's are corrupt, they flip flop on issues and they don't pay their taxes, there is no reason to believe their anti-establishment stance as it is likely to be just a another political move to make themselves look good. And since Imran Khan has always been anti-establishment, been sincere and consistent, he is the only person who can fix the army. Am I correct ?

I though about this and while I agree with you to a certain extent I am still not convinced about your claim that Imran will be able to fix the army. Why would the army than support him if they know he will be tough with them when he comes to power. Do you seriously think that the army would tolerate a civilian to chane their ways. I am not so sure about that.

Our army looks out for itself more than anthing, even our country and unless you have some major radical power structure change inside the army, I am not sure if this will ever be any different. See the dead give away on who the army is supporting right now and who are they against is how they have reacted to the recent criticism against them by PML-N and some portions of the media. They are flustered, they are seeking cover from the Parliment, they are putting out statements accusing people of destabilizing the army and creating rifts between them and the people, when all anyone ever did was to ask them for some explanation. The cracks on their so called tough exterior are starting to appear, only to reveal a feeble, sinsiter and fickle interior.

And who is responsible for that. Not PPP, not PTI or MQM or PML-Q or ANP, its because of PML-N along with some portions of the media that have been able to, for the first time since the break up of Pakistan in 1971, put a leash on this untamed and dangerous wild horse. If our civiliam govt. had enough balls you would have had the army bending over backwards for the civilian govt, just like they did for Bhutto and PPP in 1971. But thats another debate.

So irrespective of how bad PML-N is and has been, or how interim their stance maybe, they have done something right, something that should have been done a long time ago, by all parties. So I see no harm in giving them kudos for that. As for PTI/Imran Khan, once I can tell that the army does not want him to come to power than I will be reassured on his anti-establishment stand, for now, all signs which I have mentioned above, point towards PTI being hand in hand with the army vis-a-vis the establishment.

Epic post Saadi.

Post 2nd May, civilians had the GREATEST opportunity they will get in a long while to tame the Army, but unfortunately the current PPP leadership doesn't have the balls to take them on.

Greatest blunder on Zardari's part.

Epic post Saadi.

Post 2nd May, civilians had the GREATEST opportunity they will get in a long while to tame the Army, but unfortunately the current PPP leadership doesn't have the balls to take them on.

Greatest blunder on Zardari's part.

Thanks ahsan88. Sad to see that Imran/PTI's flirtation with the establishment has turned into a whirlwind romance as witnessed today by the inclusion of SMQ in their ranks. Also sad to see is the reaction from most of their supporters who in the past used to vehemently defend the anti establishment stance of IK but now justify the cozying up with the establishment as a necessary evil to come to power. You even hear arguments like, so what if they are supporting IK, it is after all "our" establishment. Funny how things change.

Saadi I find it difficult to understand how PML-N would tame the army when the truth is had there been no Establishment The Dungi brothers would not even exist on the political scene.

The army has enough dirt on these people to justify their execution as traitors! I doubt they can do anything to the establishment.

Thanks ahsan88. Sad to see that Imran/PTI's flirtation with the establishment has turned into a whirlwind romance as witnessed today by the inclusion of SMQ in their ranks. Also sad to see is the reaction from most of their supporters who in the past used to vehemently defend the anti establishment stance of IK but now justify the cozying up with the establishment as a necessary evil to come to power. You even hear arguments like, so what if they are supporting IK, it is after all "our" establishment. Funny how things change.

They are supporting us not because we are with them,Imran stance has never changed,he still wants to cut there budget and power,I dont know what is the problem in army supporting us,I have cousins in army who want change.

Tell me one thing in all honesty. Do you seriously think that Amry will support a politician or party if they are sure that once he comes to power he will cut their budget and take their power away. Lets not be so naive. I have family members in the army too. We are not talking about their support. We are talking about the support from the higher echelons of army/bureaucracy which makes up our "establishment".

Imran talks about cutting their budget and power on one hand and on the other hand blames our civilian govt. for all the ills present in our foreign policy, knowing well that Army has full control of our foreign policy.

As I said before, will wait and see what Imran does when he comes to power and hope he follows up on his stance. But by including known establishment politicians in his ranks, the impression I get is something very different.

Saadi I find it difficult to understand how PML-N would tame the army when the truth is had there been no Establishment The Dungi brothers would not even exist on the political scene.

The army has enough dirt on these people to justify their execution as traitors! I doubt they can do anything to the establishment.

I agree. PML-N would not be able to tame the army, there are just too many skeletons in their closet. Plus, its hard to see them coming to power now with the rise of PTI cutting their vote bank, to make any changes in the first place.

ITs pmlN cutting PTI vote.

Army can be tamed by only one way. Peoples support i.e Arab spring at current moment i don't thin k people support AZ or NS. Let Ik come in power and do some good work then he can take on Army with genuine people support.

OK so we agree that both PPP and PML-N have bad history hence they will be unable to control the army.

Now my second question to you is let us assume that Imran Khan is being backed by the establishment.

What is it that the establishment want? no cuts in military fundings and that they decide on foreign policy.

At this moment in time those are not the main concern of a common man. The common man wants the basic necessities to be available at an affordable price and that is the bottom line.

The establishment will not prevent Imran in his efforts to collect tax, computerise the land registry system, bring in law reforms, improve living standards etc.

And once he delivers on those promises the people will automatically back him even against the army. The army has the backing of the people because PPP and PMLs are incompetent and when their incompetency becomes intolerable the people turn to the army to chuck them out. People would not want Imran Khan chucked out even if he does become brave and take steps to reign in the establishment.

Another way to look at things is that the establishment is made up of people more educated then those present in the government, and to prevent the PPP and PMLs from selling Pakistan they feel that it is their duty to be involved. It is possible that once they see Imran as a competent and honest person they will allow him to decide foreign policy himself.

Ask yourself this. Who will you choose to decide on your foreign policy at this present moment.

Establishment - PPP - PMLs - MQM

Army can be tamed by only one way. Peoples support i.e Arab spring at current moment i don't thin k people support AZ or NS. Let Ik come in power and do some good work then he can take on Army with genuine people support.

I hope so. The only problem with this theory is that once you have establishment supporting you and engineering your ascend to power, it is also easy for them to take that power away, to pull the rug from under you once they feel that the person in power is becoming independent and is moving contrary to their interests. We have seen examples of that in our past.

As to the phenomenon of the "Arab spring" we are seeing now that it was a farce and only managed to replace one military regime with another. The current protests are the real thing and lets see what happens.

OK so we agree that both PPP and PML-N have bad history hence they will be unable to control the army.

Now my second question to you is let us assume that Imran Khan is being backed by the establishment.

What is it that the establishment want? no cuts in military fundings and that they decide on foreign policy.

At this moment in time those are not the main concern of a common man. The common man wants the basic necessities to be available at an affordable price and that is the bottom line.

The establishment will not prevent Imran in his efforts to collect tax, computerise the land registry system, bring in law reforms, improve living standards etc.

And once he delivers on those promises the people will automatically back him even against the army. The army has the backing of the people because PPP and PMLs are incompetent and when their incompetency becomes intolerable the people turn to the army to chuck them out. People would not want Imran Khan chucked out even if he does become brave and take steps to reign in the establishment.

Another way to look at things is that the establishment is made up of people more educated then those present in the government, and to prevent the PPP and PMLs from selling Pakistan they feel that it is their duty to be involved. It is possible that once they see Imran as a competent and honest person they will allow him to decide foreign policy himself.

Ask yourself this. Who will you choose to decide on your foreign policy at this present moment.

Establishment - PPP - PMLs - MQM

You have made some very good points in your argument and I agree with you at some level.

To me the country's main problem is rooted in its foreign policy. The amount of money that goes towards our defense is a major chunk of our budget. Now, do we really need to spend that much money on our defense if our stance towards India become more friendly or our obsession with controlling the future power structure in Afghanistan becomes less important. I do not think so. Why do we need more nuclear bombs when realistically we are not going to be able to use more than one anyways as the next one from India will wipe us all out. Plus, what about the corruption that goes in our army and defense spending. Has anyone ever talked about that. This notion that we leave foreign policy in the army's hand while we fix our country domestically is like amputating a toe when you really need to amputate the whole leg as the whole leg is gangrenous.

I have no doubt that Imran will be able to handle the domestic problems in a much more honest and transparent way as compared to the current govt. and bring in more money in our national reserves. After all, the Army needs money and if there is corruption and incompetence, the money is not there for them. But will it change the bottom line. Will it make a big difference. I do not think so. The common man is a fool if it fails to see the big picture. The establishment may have people more educated and intelligent but they are not the representatives of our people. Our democracy needs to go through these up and downs so people can learn to choose the right people.

As for your question as to who will I choose to decide on our foreign policy right now. It sure won't be the establishment. They have time and again shown their short sighted and self serving stance on policy issues and because of their poor decisions our country and its economy is in a situation it is today.

Marvi may finally join on 25th!

• 848583f8270420f716ae5a3952e41683.jpg
    848583f8270420f716ae5a3952e41683.jpg
    14.6 KB · Views: 241
Secretary of Information....:))

Insaftak, she got your job dude.

She wont!

She categorically stated on Twitter she wont join any party that takes ex-PMLQ lotas, feudals, fake degree holders and proven killers. She wont. In other words, she is looking for REAL change, not just namesake change that Imran would have us believe. She is one of the few ray of hopes in our country and is not about to sell her soul for the sake of power, like our Mr Clean Imran Khan has already done since Lahore jalsa.

My view is that she will run independently in elections.

Boooo! Booo! Booo!

I am not a big fan of handing her this job for no reason especially considering We have Akbar Sher Babar who has been in party for 15+ years and is more than capable of handling this job.

A pathetic decision by team Imran!

Boooo! Booo! Booo!

I am not a big fan of handing her this job for no reason especially considering We have Akbar Sher Babar who has been in party for 15+ years and is more than capable of handling this job.

insaftak

When did she join PTI?

She wont!

She categorically stated on Twitter she wont join any party that takes ex-PMLQ lotas, feudals, fake degree holders and proven killers. She wont. In other words, she is looking for REAL change, not just namesake change that Imran would have us believe. She is one of the few ray of hopes in our country and is not about to sell her soul for the sake of power, like our Mr Clean Imran Khan has already done since Lahore jalsa.

So she is not joining because she dont want to call her self lota ;-)

Btw if she decided to join phir tumhara kiya banay ga junooni? all alone in the world of tiwtter? :danish

She wont!

U say she is last ray of hope she was supporter of Musharraf gov who sold dozens of Pak citizens to USA for money shame on her.

^^

Boooo! Booo! Booo!

We have known for a while that she wanted that position and would have probably gotten that too if she wasn't too busy trying to get the best deal for her. she waited too long and a better candidate Shafqat Mehmood got the job.

You snooze you lose!

The saga finally ends.

Yeah ending at this lady getting mazeed besharam and makkar.
Couple of months ago it was reported that she didn't join PTI because Hashmi sahib told her not to do so. Then she tried hard to stop hashmi from joining PTI by telling him a lie, just because of her own ego. Now let's see how far this unofficial letter (most likely produce with the collaboration of PMLN) can take her. I already sense her joining to PMLN from this program where she repeatedly used the terms 'the old parties who are for reforms'...so clever she think she is.

The saga finally ends.

Finally got to listen to this!

LOL @ ISI funds. Marvi is so angry. says supported Musharaf's refrendum and here I was defending Marvi in this thread against Saadibaba for her links with musharaf :facepalm:

Also lol @ mere twitter pay aaj kia hota hai Says sanabucha. oh the trolls are coming after you lady. LOL

oh haan sorry, saw it on Twitter just now.

end mein kya decide hua?

^^

from what I hear the letter put presented by marvi memon was an internal document for discussion hence the words scratched out in the letter as members of CEC refused some of the things that Marvi Memon was asking for.

I am also hearing this letter was given to Marvi by Akber Sher Babar and if that's the case then I have just lost some respect for Akbar Sher Babar.

PTI officials have decided to let it go but this question will probably pop up again in the talk shows. so this isn't the end of it just yet.

As for the regular pti members we have always know Marvi Memon wanted that position and probably would have gotten it to given how bad Omar Sarfraz Cheema was for this job but she was too busy trying to get the best deal for her.

don't get what the fuss over her is, really...does she hold a big constituency?

dramybaaz hi lagti hai.

^^

She doesn't have big constituency but what she has is a big mouth for Talk shows. Pti was in search for someone to replace Omar Sarfraz Cheema who wasn't doing an effective job getting our message across to the people. Things changed quickly with the addition of Shafqat Mehmood who brought experience and media connections necessary for the job and without any conditions attached. PTI also found someone in Shafqat Mehmood who could teach the younger lot like Faisal Javed Khan (deputy information secretary) ins and outs of this job before PTI promotes him up the order.

^^

from what I hear the letter presented by marvi memon was an internal document for discussion hence the words scratched out in the letter as members of CEC refused some of the things that Marvi Memon was asking for.

I am also hearing this letter was given to Marvi by Akber Sher Babar and if that's the case then I have just lost some respect for Akbar Sher Babar.

PTI officials have decided to let it go but this question will probably pop up again in the talk shows. so this isn't the end of it just yet.

As for the regular pti members we have always know Marvi Memon wanted that position and probably would have gotten it to given how bad Omar Sarfraz Cheema was for this job but she was too busy trying to get the best deal for her.

[utube]m5kf855XZpQ&[/utube]

Sauces were right again!

The saga finally ends.

The Saga ends now. Marvi drafted the letter herself and took it Imran Khan with Imran Khan signing it and telling Marvi that this will have to be approved by CEC.

Also Marvi first asked PTI for vice chairman then asked for General Secretary and finally settled for Information Secretary :))

Talk about Power Politics.

To me Marvi seems like a person with a grudge vs PTI. Simple as that. Now after hearing her side of the story + PTI side of the story, my view just got confirmed. She hates PTI b/c they screwed her out of the party

Her demands were just too much considering she adds no electoral strength to PTI. PTI needed someone to handle their media wing and she was a perfect fit but things changed after Shafqat Mehmood joined PTI and Marvi Memon' was no longer needed with her demands.

Marvi was complaining about "Attitude" of some PTI members but she needs to look at her own attitude first. She is a decent person/politician but how on earth does she deserve vice chairman or General Secretary position. I am surprised she didn't ask for chairman of PTI post as well.

She would have been a good addition to the party but i am glad she didn't join in the end because she would have clearly put self interests ahead of the party as she completely overrates herself.