Younis Khan: A better Test batsman than Rahul Dravid?

Machar

younus record against top ranked bowlers is slightly better then rahul dravid

against amrbose, walsh, donald, pollock, mcgrath, warne, steyn & muralithran

younus averages 40.51
dravid averages 40.35

dravid averages only 14 in australia against warne and mcgrtah. younus 43.

younus have shocking record in west indies but that was his first year .. his first six months in international cricket.

while when dravid went to australia in 1999/2000 he had good 3/4 years and was said to be india's best batsman away from home during that period in test cricket

younis

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en..._involve=47154;template=results;type=allround

dravid

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en..._involve=47154;template=results;type=allround

when u add india's best bowler (anil kumble) during younus khan's career ...

younus average jumps to 50.

but when u add one of pakistani best bowler i.e wasim akram during dravid career .. he averages only 39

both have fine record against english bowlers.

No. Dravid was just too good and i have seen many rate him higher than sachin ( not me i rate sachin higher :P ). That defense alone was to die for. :P

yeh averaged only 14 in australia when both mcgrath and warne were part of the team.

most of these comments r coming without reading.. i guess media talks.

yeh averaged only 14 in australia when both mcgrath and warne were part of the team.

We all saw them bat with out eyes and we have our opinions on this. dravid was better than younis khan. That is my verdict and will remain so. I saw them both bat from the start and dravid was a great batsman and after 2002 he was near complete batsman in every way.

media talks.

Bhaiya ab kahan Kumble jaisa bowler aur Kahan Wasim Akram. Itni zyaadti tu na kero Dravid key sath :))

I'm a huge Younas fan but to say his better then the Wall ,,,,,,,,,,,
Now your pushing it ..........

[MENTION=136625]Machar[/MENTION], if you are gonna do such selective analysis of batsmen, then how about this tasty tidbit?

Code:
Mat 	Inns 	NO 	Runs 	HS 	Ave 	BF 	SR 	100 	50 	0
2 	4 	0 	14 	5 	3.50 	52 	26.92 	0 	0 	1

This is YK's performance in UAE in matches featuring McGrath and Warne. BTW, McGrath dismissed him on all 4 occasions.

Got something to say about that eh?

Dravid was the best Indian batsmen ever in my book. Younis has been tremendous but unfortunately (due to scheduling) has not been able to prove his mettle overseas as he got older. Dravid played a LOT of Tests outside the subcontinent towards the end of his career so people who have only been watching a few years may have their view of Dravid skewed a bit. He was an absolute legend of the game and in his prime undoubtedly the best bat going around.

2 more centuries in UAE and I will rate YK only second to Bradman.

Dravid was a beast away from home.

At home ground I rate Mahela more than Dravid.

But overall Dravid is substantially better than most modern batsmen other than usual suspects (Sachin/Lara)

As a pakistani I would loved to say Younis is better than Dravid, but that would be a lie.

YK will better than be Sachin if he gets 35 centuries. Sachin never won games just accumulated runs.

Younis is probably a better test batsmen at home than dravid.
But as far as away matches go, without even looking at averages I would say that dravid is ahead.
OP is partially right.

Younis is not in the same league as Dravid anywhere.

Dravid was my favorite batsman too back in the day. That impeccable defense with that Britannia bat. :ravi

YK was clearly ahead of Dravid that weak bowling bully. Failed against Warne and McGrath. Record vs Aus is overrated by bashing trundlers. YK is unlucky if he played those 2010 overseas series he would have been better than Sachin.

Dravid is an ATG, Younis isn't. Let Khan get into that tier first (which he will, looking at his form, InshAllah) and then compare him with other ATG's.

Phew.

Dravid is a world wide legend. Still remember that tour of England in 2011. Haven't seen a player play so well consistently in tough conditions like the great wall.

Dravid is a lot better and in a different league, better than even SRT in tougher conditions.

Why are Pakistani generally so obsessed to prove Dravid > Tendulkar when he wasn't?

Same reason why some Pakistanis say BK > Junaid? :P

Anyway, it's just personal opinion and nothing absolute. Dravid was better overseas specially in tougher conditions, but it will start a new debate.

Live, let live! ;-)

Hard to understand the hate for Sachin. But then again, if we take Dravid as the #1 Indian batsman for an year ro so, people would start putting him down too like this lame OP.

Dravid was my favorite batsman too but he's not comparable to the phenom who is the pioneer of modern day batting and revolutionalised the game. :sachin

Dravid was just a better version of Azhar Ali. A tailender with legendary temperament. That's all

Same reason why some Pakistanis say BK > Junaid? :P

Anyway, it's just personal opinion and nothing absolute. Dravid was better overseas specially in tougher conditions, but it will start a new debate.

Live, let live! ;-)

Munda can swing the ball. :sachin

rhan604l11.jpg

a) I'm Indian
b) I'm Indian apologist
c) I'm a troll
d) I'm an attention seeker

Take your pick, no negative marking.

RAW agent? But ofcourse you don't want the truth to be an option.

Nah man.

In the past I've said Dravid over Tendu but defo Tendu>Dravid

Dravid was my favorite batsman too but he's not comparable to the phenom who is the pioneer of modern day batting and revolutionalised the game. :sachin

Cuz all Indians talk about is Sachin. Btw, Gavaskar is #1 in tests.

Its all fun but. The Tendulkar haters have only lived in their bubbles thinking X,Y,Z to be better purely in their delusional dreams. In the real world, Tendulkar has been living an awesome life as the best in the world eating great food and living in VIP suites with attached swimming pools as per his book. :srt

Can't be forgiven for the 36* not out even if it was a different format. :sachin

Actually, people like Gavaskar have pretty much earned a distinct place. It doesn't matter if Sachin or Viv were better. Gavaskar was a pretty phenomena player.

After post#13, the OP aka Machar is no where to be seen. This thread has now spawned into another Sachin vs Dravid thread. Good job [MENTION=136625]Machar[/MENTION]

Its all fun but. The Tendulkar haters have only lived in their bubbles thinking X,Y,Z to be better purely in their delusional dreams. In the real world, Tendulkar has been living an awesome life as the best in the world eating great food and living in VIP suites with attached swimming pools as per his book. :srt

Actually, people like Gavaskar have pretty much earned a distinct place. It doesn't matter if Sachin or Viv were better. Gavaskar was a pretty phenomena player.

Gavaskar is a true legend of the game and nothing can change that, but the Imp has reached heights others can only dream of. :sachin

Pakistan suddenly start making some runs on flat pitches and posters pull up stats to start comparing their players to some of the test greats. Completely laughable.... what next, Misbah better then Viv Richards?

Younis was a test great, two years ago. He's moving towards ATG status.

That's weird. I don't remember watching Younus against Ambrose and Walsh. I still don't remember Younus century against Mcgrath and Warne.

Rahul Dravid did score memorable centuries against those legends which i don't remember seeing Younus scoring century against Ambrose, and Walsh as well as Mcgrath and Warne.

Younis Khan A Better Test Batsman Than Rahul Dravid

A lot of sensitive posters on here.

Grow a pair!

Sent from iPhone using Tapatalk

The Little Master has given too many sleepless nights to petty Pakistani who don't have the heart to appreciate greatness when they see it. :sachin
Compared to his overall record Tendulkar by his standards has just been decent against Pakistan.

Younis is close to being one of the Test greats, like it or not. Stop being so bitter and insecure.

Not better than Dravid right now but he will be very close by the end of it.

Compared to his overall record Tendulkar by his standards has just been decent against Pakistan.

100% true. I think only in WC games he had wood over Pakistani players.

YK will better than be Sachin if he gets 35 centuries. Sachin never won games just accumulated runs.

And how can you win matches if you have legends like
Debasis Mohanty , Abey Kuruvilla ,
Harvinder Singh and Sir Venkatesh Prasad supporting you ?

It doesn't take Einstein's brain to figure out that cricket is a team game , not individual sport.

Younis has 8000 Test runs today, Dravid was averaging 59 when he had 9000+ Test runs. Not only that, his contributions and scores abroad put him in a different league to Younis.

Younis is fine player too, but Dravid ahead quite easily imo.

Younis has 8000 Test runs today, Dravid was averaging 59 when he had 9000+ Test runs. Not only that, his contributions and scores abroad put him in a different league to Younis.

Younis is fine player too, but Dravid ahead quite easily imo.

What was he doing at the age of 38? Getting whitewashed.

Dravid is better but this is a silly way to prove it.

What was he doing at the age of 38? Getting whitewashed.

Dravid is better but this is a silly way to prove it.

Ponting is better than Younis because of the insane peak he had. Dravid too is better than Younis because of the insane peak he had. These guys averaged near 60 after scoring 10,000+ international runs.

Younis has never reached this stage in his career where he came close to being counted as an ATG. He has been a fine player for way too long, but never elevated his status to anything above. Pointing that out is not silly at all.

In reply to the OP, no he isn't. No shame in that though, very few are better than Dravid.

Ponting is better than Younis because of the insane peak he had. Dravid too is better than Younis because of the insane peak he had. These guys averaged near 60 after scoring 10,000+ international runs.

Younis has never reached this stage in his career where he came close to being counted as an ATG. He has been a fine player for way too long, but never elevated his status to anything above. Pointing that out is not silly at all.

Younis can end up as an ATG by the time he retires. His insane peak is going on right now.

The only person who actually considered Younis better than Dravid was the OP. The rest were just trolling along to get the Indians all fired up. Sigh, you guys are so easy to troll.:afaq