2nd Test, Day 4 scorecard and discussion [19/03/05]

yeah Mig
its all gone now, but really we shud have had a lead of atleast 50-100

wud have been a different game altogethor
our batsmen let us down

90 overs tomorrow and about 16 overs left today, given that bad light has affected each day.

So in total around 106 overs to survive.

Waqar's inswinging yorker said:
aabbasi - there is variable bounce, so kumble is dangerous

not enough turn though or very slow turn - I think Pak have a very ood chance and if they lose, it will be due to bad shots and not due to the pitch...

Big mistake to not to have taken the new ball - with Sami on fire atleast hurt the tailenders , including pathan and Kumble ?

WHAT A SIX to end the innnings

majestic strike
wonder if some **** batsmen will play like that

Ganguly has finnaly called em in

Finally they've declared! Pakistan need 422 to win! Come on Pakistan!

abhi declare kar lay afridi bhi shayed itna nahi bana sakay ga lol the're so scared of an afridi onslaught that they r forgeting their winning position

In 5 minutes we will see Who will be dropped from Test 3

Taufeeq Umar Probably
Shahid Afridi Maybe
Muhammad Khalil Certainly

we will see by end of tonight if Shahid Afridi can lay a solid foundation because he was useless with the ball. and if Taufeeq Umar can lay his foundation to keep his place in the side

i don't see y people are saying we cannot win..

i mean the score is NOT that big..yes 422, but we can make, we've made it in this series already so y not again?

we just need all the batsmen to play their great knowcks all in this one innings...like afridi's 141, yk's and yoyo's recent centuries, inzi's fifties in mohali, asim kamal's fifties in mohali, kamran and razzaq's beautiful partnership all needs to be shown here..

We cant afford to lose more than 1 wicket today, maximum 2. Any more than that and that spells serious trouble.

I wonder what the team management will tell Shahid before he goes out!

we cant keep expecting the lower order will rescue us everytime in tight situations

who thinks that this is the period of the match that will make the heart-beat the fastest?

Not One time in this series we were able to dismiss india for a score less than 400,,,,, that speaks much abt the bowling we have.

tahaiqureshi said:
i don't see y people are saying we cannot win..

i mean the score is NOT that big..yes 422, but we can make, we've made it in this series already so y not again?

we just need all the batsmen to play their great knowcks all in this one innings...like afridi's 141, yk's and yoyo's recent centuries, inzi's fifties in mohali, asim kamal's fifties in mohali, kamran and razzaq's beautiful partnership all needs to be shown here..[/quote

422 in the fourth innings...
hmmm the highest 4th inning score on this greound was 325 and that was decades ago.

422 in 100 overs...quite impossible

badxhah said:
Not One time in this series we were able to dismiss india for a score less than 400,,,,, that speaks much abt the bowling we have.

what didyou expect with this bowling attack bowlers who give over 100% all the of time was what people wanted but sadly they have got much skill between them

the remaining of today will be very important...if we can get quick runs without the loss of runs..then we're in for some interesting cricket tomorrow

My heart is racing already

And to HasanAhmed who made that post about dropping players -
I think you're very wrong on the Afridi part

Afridi got out India's 2 MOST DANGEROUS batsmen in the first innings and he bowled with a decent economy in both innings (relative to the other bowlers) He was not given a shot against the tail like Kaneria in the 2nd innings.

He bowled well and he batted better than most of our players

Shahid Afridi is a certainty already for test 3 imo. Yes even if he gets a duck now.

He should not have opened but should have batted lower down.

tahaiqureshi said:
i refuse to believe we can't win..

u need a dose of reality...or maybe a knock in the head will help

pathan getting lots of movement off the wkt

i doubt 20 overs will be bowled
pakistan needs to get thru without any loss

ooo pathan getting swing..oooo we're gonna lose

that is some really thoughtless thinking..
it is NOT impossible...don't believe me now..u will see soon...

True Sajjad, the reality is that both history and form are against us, but i always like to think we can win :)

afridi playing the way he wants...i like that..

he needs to play his natural game but be a little selective

This is sooo nerve-wracking, you just know that Afridi's likely to be out anytime now (especially against the new ball), but you just hope the faintest of hopes that Afridi stays. Because if he does, we're in with a shot.

appeal till you squeal said:
how the hell is this ball moving sideways now?????????????

Same way it moved for Wasim ,, and they that time opposition was baffled how come we dont get any swing and these guys do.
Its all in the action and the release of the delivery.

badxhah said:
how the hell is this ball moving sideways now?????????????

Same way it moved for Wasim ,, and they that time opposition was baffled how come we dont get any swing and these guys do.
Its all in the action and the release of the delivery.

yaar Rana's actions is FINE for swing bowling. he is one of the best swing bowlers in the world. if he couldnt get it to move one bit that should tell you something!

indian commentators saying tht afridi got out last time because of selfishness.

i don't agree with this..anyone agree?

2.1 Pathan to Shahid Afridi, one run, pitched up on the middle and off,
defended to mid-on, quick single called for, Tendulkar fails to
hit the stumps at the bowler's end, close call, direct hit would
have been interesting

comeon man afridi is the real pathan here not irfan

i know its dissappointing but u got to resign to the fact at thi s moment they have bettar bowlers than us,

If he can jus play straight .. and dont try those cross line shots......I think i m askin to much ,,,,

amazing..afridi actually moved out of the way when pathan bowled a short delivery..

mutlub kay akal ki raghein daurrahi hein

MIG - i like these target ideas

im not so sure. this is like a cross country run. there are no targets. just think about your highschool crush and keep on going :-)

y is taufeeq like this? i mean i KNOW he is better than wat he is showing now...y?

and its not because he sucks..

MIG - i like these target ideas

im not so sure. this is like a cross country run. there are no targets. just think about your highschool crush and keep on going :-)

hahaha

tahaiqureshi said:
amazing..afridi actually moved out of the way when pathan bowled a short delivery..

mutlub kay akal ki raghein daurrahi hein
Taha i want to see khoon ki ragain too lol :-D as well as aqal ki ragain