Ahmed Shehzad [The Mega Discussion Thread]

We need cheerleaders in the team so Shehzad is important for the team. :))

But in all seriousness, I don't see a future for Shehzad in Pakistan colours after Afrid's retirement. I just hope that Afridi doesn't have influence on the selection committee after his retirement.

Maybe they will both retire simultaneously?

Lol what do Cheerleaders have to do with anything?

he can and he will untill afridi retires

The truth right there. But I'm not so sure about other formats (barring T20).

You can just feel he have someone backing him in ODIs too or with that sort of performance how long a rope would he get ?

His place in test is quite justified though.

Truly sometimes I wonder if anyone in the selection committee or even the coaches watch the match.

I mean I cannot fathom for the life of me the rationale that he deserves all these chances. Literally, WHY?!!

Mukhtar might be an ugly hack but I guarantee he could at least do what shehzad did yesterday.

If he opens any ODIs it will just be the limit.

Although I don't wanna see Shehzad in the test team, I don't think you can say that a player's place is the side isn't justified just because he flopped in one series.

Yeah but he showed no commitment whatsoever in that series. I watched it and he didn't try at all and the usual problems showed, his feet were stuck together.

In limited overs he eats up too many deliveries but is fine in Tests; has a decent record in the UAE; the away tours are going to be challenging but that's for all pak batsman.

What do you want me to do, bud?
Stick by him, he needs you. Or are you conserving your energies for when he gets dropped post t20 world cup, as there wont be many campaigning for his return?

Sent from my CHM-U01 using Tapatalk

Stick by him, he needs you. Or are you conserving your energies for when he gets dropped post t20 world cup, as there wont be many campaigning for his return?

My support or naysaying does not matters. If a player is good enough, they stay. If they are not, they get dropped.

Wow! shady ab itna shady nahi raha :-), or is it all staged:98:

Clear the front leg. Get himself in to an awkward dancing position. And try to swipe across the line. Voila, Ahmad " i wish we could teach them how to play a yorker or bowl a bouncer" Shahzad for you, guys.

Shehzad as been shown up to be one dimensional, block block or can't find gaps then the big risky air shots eventually getting him out. Needs to be booted asap.

I think that's it for him.

But really, the PSL is coming at the perfect time for him. He may succeed in it and go to the world cup.

Don't know about Asia Cup and World T20 [Afridi factor], but I do believe this is the last we have seen of him in ODIs for a good 2-3 years.

He will be in T20 World Cup squad, just wait and see. As soon as any of the non-dost-yaar batsmen fail after first game, they will get kicked out and Shezad will come back into the team hopefully get a 30 and fix his place again --- this is how dosti--yaari cricket selection has always worked in Pakistan team.

I would drop Azhar Ali before Shezad. He looked better was taking singles hitting boundaries this innings unlucky to get out.

Sent from my SM-G925I

Would be really interesting to see what Shady bhai had to say to Shehzads recent performances and the majority of posters stance towards him nowadays. :13:

Ahmad Shehzad - Pre and post skull injury performance

Hindsight is always 20/20 but in retrospect, PCB should have not rushed ahmad shehzad back into cricket after the skull fracture.

Skull fracture is a serious injury and it takes a little time for the batsman to recover from it, psychologically. Shehzad is not even a quarter of a player what he used to be prior to that unfortunate bouncer from Anderson. There is a reason why he plays a lot of cross batted shots these days. Apparently, his first plan is to be ready for the short ball and then adjust for the one that is up. that's not always a good strategy, especially with these drop-down and UAE pitches.

Although Shehzad always had issues with batting the spin bowling but he was a pretty decent player of the fast bowlers, prior to the injury. He was made to return to international cricket (I could be wrong), within less than 7 weeks of the episode. International cricket is no club cricket. World's fastest bowlers are throwing darts at you. A lot of medium pacers, whom we fans consider easy to play would cause havoc if they come and play with us at the club level.

In summary, Shehzad is better than what his current form shows. He needs a break from the international cricket. He is just another one of those decent talents that were wasted by the poor management of the PCB. Another recent example that comes to mind is when Irfan was made to play too many games and he got injured.

Yeah he needs to play domestic cricket... as ibeleive thats where he belongs.. i know loads of TALENTED players infact am very talented too ..

This is the poorest excuse ever

Shehzad was averaging mid 30 at 75 SR EVEN BEFORE THAT.

Ahmed Shehzad is a very overconfident player. He had a very good season before getting that injury and after recovering from that injury he really didn't work hard on his batting because he thought his season prior to that injurty transformed him into an AB's clown.

I think that's it for him.

But really, the PSL is coming at the perfect time for him. He may succeed in it and go to the world cup.

I hope he flops in PSL too and the likelihood of not performing there consistently is high since PSL won't be featuring players who bowl dollies.

Ahmed Shehzad is a very overconfident player. He had a very good season before getting that injury and after recovering from that injury he really didn't work hard on his batting because he thought his season prior to that injurty transformed him into an AB's clown.

You mean clone right? :))

Although AB's clown fits him perfectly.

That head injury has seriously dented his confidence, he's not even a 10th of batsman since his injury, all he needs is a long break from international cricket and work on his game and confidence, I'm sure he'll recover and get back to his best.

Some good batsman are wasted by PCB, some batsman wasted themselves. Shez is the later one.

I hope he come back again due to his performance in domestic instead of failure of his replacement.

It is true, that injury dented him massively. And he's not the same against short balls as he once was.

Still he is too good of a talent to be gone forever.

I've seen massive improvements in his game of late, he now knows how to drop and run.

Shehzad will be back better then ever.

It is true, that injury dented him massively. And he's not the same against short balls as he once was.

Still he is too good of a talent to be gone forever.

I've seen massive improvements in his game of late, he now knows how to drop and run.

Shehzad will be back better then ever.

He needed a shock and Afridi now not his brother anymore is one. And if he's able to channelise that angervand frustration in his own good then he'll be back better than he ever was.

Agree completely.

He was too comfortable. ANd because of that he felt he didn't need to improve.

Now he has already changed. He has got KP's number. And is in contact with Viv.

His game will change.

Viv, KP as advisors. And the shock.

I'm excited to see Shehzad v.2

Agree completely.

He was too comfortable. ANd because of that he felt he didn't need to improve.

Now he has already changed. He has got KP's number. And is in contact with Viv.

His game will change.

Viv, KP as advisors. And the shock.

I'm excited to see Shehzad v.2

And the other thing why don't they(Pakistani batsmen) play proper county seasons? He should try to be a part of county system he'll learn a lot will gain some professionalism his abilities will improve; instead of playing these tamasha leagues he should focus on county cricket.

Counties only want PAK bowlers.

Everyone rated him in 2013 delusional.

However, over time, everyone's eyes have been opened to Shezhad's mediocrity and they no longer hype him up.

He was best bat in 2013-2014 and started to regress after one off 177.

Sent from my SM-G900FD using Tapatalk

Counties only want PAK bowlers.
Which ones? They only seem to clamour for Ajmal but after last season i doubt anyone will be intetested or possibly Afridi for the T20's.

We just don't have good enough players who can make the difference for counties to contemplate signing them up.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Counties want players who can improve their teams.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Some good batsman are wasted by PCB, some batsman wasted themselves. Shez is the later one.

I hope he come back again due to his performance in domestic instead of failure of his replacement.

Shezzy was never a good batsman

Recalling and playing Khurram Manzoor is a ploy by Afridi to bring back his best mate Shehzad.

As we all know, KM is bound to fail in every match, which will make Shehzad look a better alternative.

Thus, paving way back for the bootlicker into the team.

Some people are already calling for his inclusion.The ploy seems to be working!

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

"New stance" Ahmed Tendulkar looking extremely comfortable already. :baelish