It is unfortunate but MQM still has alot of support in the city. It breaks my heart that PTI had such an opportunity to capture the city but they completely lost it. There is still some time to the next elections and hope they build up the structure in the city and try to win some of the areas that they were a close second in last time.
Being an Urdu-speaker from Karachi I understand why MQM has such vast support in the city. Some of them are:
1. PPP is seen as a wadera party and this doesn't jive well with the majority of Karachiites who can be classified as middle-class.
2. PPP is corrupt to the core and all the money earned in the city goes to their pockets with little development on the ground(as has been happening in the last 9 years)
3. PML-N is seen as a Punjab-centric party which doesn't give a rat's behind about the city.
4. JI has some support but they are too religious for majority of Karachiites.
5. PSP is seen just as an off-shoot of MQM (think of it as China copy of MQM) and it is an establishment backed party.
6. MQM always calls for local governments and local bodies which are essential for development of a city of the magnitude of Karachi.
7. MQM has a track record of development, Karachi completely transformed under the Mush-MQM era.
8. MQM gets work done, if there is a sewage overflow in an area or litter is accumulating you can inform the MQM sector incharges and the word can get to the top city managers of the party.
9. MQM is comprised of middle class, home grown politicians and does not have uber rich, large landholders or industrialists within its folds.
Now those were the factors in favour of MQM. The factors that go against them:
1. MQM is backed and funded by RAW. Big red flag, they need to be disbanded for this very reason, however, not before Karachiites are provided a viable alternative and not left at the mercy of waderas and chaudries of PPP and PML-N.
2. Whenever MQM is in power all business holders start getting calls for bhatta and death threats if you don't comply (personal experience of my immediate family regarding this)
3. MQM has a history of communal violence and target killing.
4. Altaf Hussian is anti-Pakistan and needs to be taken out before tomorrow.
All of these factors are from the top of my head and there are many more factors for and against MQM.
With Life your views and ideologies may change with time. When you read more, know more get mature enough your thinking matures.
I have come to a newer point of view wrt Karachi. For almost a decade I had similar opinion about MQM as professed upto date by MQM and I wanted them to be vanished from surface of Pakistan. Not anymore.
Today I had a silly smile few hours after my Post
Saw a short video of MQM Pakistan Rally and guess what ARY telecasted it. MQM London Activists raised Slogans in favour of Altaf Hussain while MQM Pakistan Members and Activists joined them in Support
Hey Boy!
We aren't talking about a Rural village of Pakistan. We aren't discussing a Gaououn of Punjab or Thar or Tharparkar. We are discussing Karachi.
You can't fool People by RAW RAW, you simply can't fool these people. You cannot destroy immense Love, Affection & Respect of Altaf Hussain from there hearts. Bullets, torchers, kidnappings nothing can change it. MQM is not a Party like others, it is a Tehreek, a movement a mission and Pen it down even with Altaf's death it won't Die.
Altaf Hussain has served Karachiites. Whatever Good there is in Karachi is not because of Dictator or PPP barring few good stuffs done by Benazir Bhutto who was another Security Threat to Pakistan.
Altaf Hussain k MPA, MNA aor local governments even tanzeem jesay kaam kerti hai koi Pakistani Party nai kerti. Yeah None.
At its best PTI could or can snatch few seats from PPP already what PTI has achieved is massive.
Even without Guns, ID cards we will see MQM dominate KHI & Hyderabad and sub Munn Taqtay reh jaaein ge.
Bhaee jub aap shaadi kertay hein tou aapki marzi bhalay urdu speaking pathan balochi etc etc se na kero. Your perogative. But State ? State is Mother. It cannot discriminate it's Children's. Agar Aakhri Operation sahi bhee hua tou aesay nai hotay Operation Bhaee sahib k ghareeb urdu speaking sympathisers, followers ki aankheinn phoarh dou, mutilations kero, tashaddud zadda lashein bhejo MQM k ghareeboun ki. Operation tha sirf Mqm k militants aor baaqi jamaatoun tanzeemoun k militants k khilaaf. Altaf ki mohabbat mitaanay voters ko kuchalne ka nai tha operation jo 90's k operations ki tarah phir hua hai. These people aren't Talibaan reserve this treatment for Talibaan. State controlled media hasn't told us this stuff. Let the International watchdogs and humanrights organisations Publish Reports than we will Cry as usual than India & Israel is behind this reports.
Jub Maa kisi bachay se hurt ho stressed ho tou Maa bhee keh deti hai k Jao mein nai hun tumhari maa. Doesn't mean she isn't. Mqm k bachoun ko riyasatti darindagi ka nishaana bnaya gaya tou Altaf Hussain bhiparr gaya aor Mukhalif Taqreer ker di q k shadeed jub issay deewaar se lagao tou munafiq chameleon nai ye banda phatt perhta hai. Anti Pakistan speeches were done by 3 Pakistani politicians in India. Don't want to name and shame them here. Tub tou ye kuch nai hua.
This Altaf is portrayed as Traitor which is shameful. We should grow some _ _ _ _ _ and educate the Pakistanis whom we have brainwashed that Altaf Hussain snatched all those voters who voted Mohtarma Fatima Jinnah previously.
Do you know what Hate, Venom President Ayub spewed against Fatima Jinnah ? Called her as Security threat and Anti Pakistan aswell.
I am totally against any sort of voilence in any shape, for any goal. But I won't be surprised if MQM opted for this Post 1990 when He was forced to do this due to gross discrimination. Still He shouldn't have.
Every Tom, Dick and Hary talks about Bori, Bhatta, Fitra/Fitrana, Khaal, snatching, target killing etc...... Nobody talks about those bees, mosquitos we yes we killed on name of Jinnah Puur and other Operations. For State those thousands were Bees and Mosquitos.
We don't understand that a City which is bigger than even some Countries has always had so much less Police force, higly incompetant, inefficient with significant political recruitments so Karachi has been Aamaajgah of Criminals but State ki ye hobby rahi hai k agar MQm ka role 25 % tha tou ussay 90 % show kero.
This Baldia case-> kisi tunday, langrhay, kaanay ko balli ka bakra bana k Mqm ka sector incharge ka militant wing ka bana k tashaddud ker ker k bayaan letay raho. Awaam ki Aankhoun mein dhool jhonkee jao.
There is a Reason why 95 % cases against MQM die down in Courts. We cannot hide behind this explanation that in all cases MQM kills all the witnesses. If that is the case than MQM's militant wings are even stronger than Armies of many countries worldwide.
Few months ago [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] was saying that he thinks that social activist lady gunned down in this PPP tenure hasn't got anything to do with MQM. Well I agree now. IK also said many things in the heat of the moment than. I also thought so. But i now think it's a Case like Saleem Shehzad. Infact couple of Ladies if I remember correctly.
If I am Karachiites than my local vote will go for MQM while national vote will go for PTI. Local because I want my Gully Mohalla masaill sorted out and I will side with my majority Karachiites. Because delivery is MQM'S history.