Asia Cup 2025: India vs Pakistan | Match 06 | Dubai | September 14 | Pre-Match Discussion

Which team will win the highly anticipated match between Pakistan and India?

In less than a month, 8 pages without a ball being bowled for a tournamentthat that has virtually no viewership outside of subcontinent background, and yet Pak is a minnows level team in T20 per Modi cult (not sane Indians). Ind vs Aus rivalry trumps it (per Bhakts). Also, according to them, T20 is just a tamasha. Why such a burn? I would not waste my breath on Indians if the situation was reversed despite the rhetorical build up created by opposition for an intent to trigger. Their heart just can't sustain the size of their own ego.

The team is really good, but the fans are beyond stupid and deserve something like Zimbabwe to support.

But maybe just as the team has exponentially gotten better, the quality of fans will also get better as years go by.

Don’t change goalposts now, you know what you said about the Indian team doing well :yk

Anyway, you are missing the point and think your batsmen are divine entities that can disregard the conditions and score freely in the middle overs when there’s never been a precedent for that in Dubai.

You have to maximize your score in the powerplay in these conditions, then consolidate to set yourselves up for a big score at the end.
David warner middle over performance at Dubai 109 balls 185 runs 169.72 strike rate
Muhammad waseem (UAE) 189 balls 317 in middle overs at Dubai 167.72 strike rate
Kane williamson 129 balls 198 runs 153.48 strike rate
SKY 83 balls 122 runs 146.98 strike rate
KL Rahul 65 balls 95 runs 146.15 strike rate

Bar Warner/SKY others were not exactly "dashers".

The funny thing is, people who claim they will boycott this match can't resist posting in the pre-match thread. Not sure how they will control themselves from watching it on TV and commenting in the actual match thread. :yk :inti

images

You asked a question. I answered. Why are you chickening away from answering mine now? Are you going to boycott the match? #BeHonest :yk :inti

I want India to bat first. Post a total and defend.
With 8 batsmen i think we should be able to score atleast 150.if the pitch is not changing like first match, we should win the match comfortably. We have to be careful in not over estimation of a par score and gift our wickets.As tomorrow match is less consequential than super 4, we should bat

@Rajdeep, what's your prediction for this match, other than boycotting it? Or are you planning to boycott the prediction too? :yk

My predictions:
1. India will play against Pakistan tomorrow
2. @Rajdeep will post in the match thread
3. India will beat Pakistan

#HaiHimmat? :kp :inti

I could never understand how can someone bash India 24*7, defends Pakistan more than Pak posters but suddenly on match day support India? :yk

View attachment 157773

Even we don't get why people create multiple accounts here when they are already active with one. :murali

Anyway, @Rajdeep is trying way too hard to dodge a simple question. You asked me a question, I answered it. Now it's your turn. Don't run away. :yk :inti

With 8 batsmen i think we should be able to score atleast 150.if the pitch is not changing like first match, we should win the match comfortably. We have to be careful in not over estimation of a par score and gift our wickets.
We did that at New york giving wickets to nothing balls. Ya.. in T20 things like that may happen. But all said and done enforcer role will be handled by Axar patel. He is one guy who can handle spinnners even on square turners. I still remember how he was striking at 70 making 74 when Lyon was wreaking havoc at Delhi square turner.

The fact that I need to say this but, it will not be the end of the world for whoever loses, regardless what the media says or troll fans will say.

India is a lot more formidable & settled, whereas Pakistan are trying to implement a new philosophy & structure to their game which will require time & potentially still the right players.

I do suspect India will win, but I think the game will be a lot closer than people think. However I don’t think Pakistan will go beyond semis, they don’t have enough form batters right now.

I think India will play Afghanistan in the final.

The fact that I need to say this but, it will not be the end of the world for whoever loses, regardless what the media says or troll fans will say.

India is a lot more formidable & settled, whereas Pakistan are trying to implement a new philosophy & structure to their game which will require time & potentially still the right players.

I do suspect India will win, but I think the game will be a lot closer than people think. However I don’t think Pakistan will go beyond semis, they don’t have enough form batters right now.

I think India will play Afghanistan in the final.
Reasonable take. Honestly this match is followed not for trolling. I never watched CPL until this season. 100 as well. End of England test series left a massive void. Fans wanted more of India. More of cricket. So they turned to many cricketing events including domestic. Fans just want to see India play. That's it. They are expected to win. SO no big deal there. If they lose no big deal either. This team is ready for next world cup. That's the end goal.

Unlike in ODIs in T20 just because you bowl 5 spinners teams are not going to play cautiously. They will find a way to target spinners and throw them off the line regardless of how conducive the surface is. This is T20. You just need 10 ball blitz. India has Tilak, Abhishek, Dube, Axar 4 lefties. 4 righties. They can throw spinners off the line easily.
Well Pakistan have variety in their bowling attack too if they play Sufiyan and Abrar. India are obviously heavy favorites, but you are making it sound like Pakistan is some kind of minnow bowling attack who are just there to make up the numbers. I think it will be an interesting contest between India's batting and Pakistan's spinners and I would like to see how many India can score on this pitch.

Kohli who is certifiably one of the weakest against spin in hit late years made 126 in 63 balls against Afghanistan at Dubai lol You sound like they are playing on moon. India as a unit did very well everywhere.
If I am correct virat hit that century against India sorry ahm I mean Afghanistan.

Well Pakistan have variety in their bowling attack too if they play Sufiyan and Abrar. India are obviously heavy favorites, but you are making it sound like Pakistan is some kind of minnow bowling attack who are just there to make up the numbers.
They played against every single team like that. Australia, SA, England.. why do you think they will treat pakistan any differently unless you think Pakistan is superior to them.

The team is really good, but the fans are beyond stupid and deserve something like Zimbabwe to support.

But maybe just as the team has exponentially gotten better, the quality of fans will also get better as years go by.
There is no guarantee. The Indian team has improved, but the quality of fans keeps sinking. They are allergic to criticism and as soft as cotton. :inti

@jnaveen1980 I feel like you're confusing the issue. I'm not saying India won't steamroll Pakistan tomorrow. They very likely may. I'm not even saying that India isn't the best and most dominant T20 team in the world right now.

But Pakistan can't think of India as this massive juggernaut if they want to win. They have to back their strengths and look at the conditions, rather than thinking too much about which Indian players are better players of pace or spin. Every team looks at match-ups but you can't get hung-up about that kind of stuff because ultimately you have to play good cricket to win.

images

You asked a question. I answered. Why are you chickening away from answering mine now? Are you going to boycott the match? #BeHonest :yk :inti

Brother....I am not running away from anything. Who do you think I am? @mominsaigol ?? 😂

I am outside and cant type long response. However briefly to answer your questions:

1. I will definitely boycott this game. I mean I am screaming about it for last 2 months...isnt it? Wonder why are you even asking it?

2. I have created an entire spoiler thread with my prediction. Not sure why you asking me to predict again? Another silly question.

:yk :kp

Wanderers generally offers fairly flat pitches for T20s too. 283 is still a remarkable total but if you look at recent totals at that ground 190-200 is about par on that pitch
I am not saying India will go at 12 an over here. Jeez. In T20 history only 19 times teams have done that against regular nations. 6 by India. 3 by current Indian team in the last 2 years. Their approach has paid them dividends. They have won more matches than they lost. There was one match where India collapsed upfront. They put up a total of 124. Almost won it when India had SA at 86/7. Varun took 5 for 17. But seamers cost India the game. They don't mind occasional loss due to this approach. Isn't exactly what Pakistan is trying to copy?

@jnaveen1980 I feel like you're confusing the issue. I'm not saying India won't steamroll Pakistan tomorrow. They very likely may. I'm not even saying that India isn't the best and most dominant T20 team in the world right now.

But Pakistan can't think of India as this massive juggernaut if they want to win. They have to back their strengths and look at the conditions, rather than thinking too much about which Indian players are better players of pace or spin. Every team looks at match-ups but you can't get hung-up about that kind of stuff because ultimately you have to play good cricket to win.
Pakistan has been the under dog team against India for more than a decade. They have won a few in between thanks to some early wickets upfront. This meet is going to be no different. Pakistan has a great opportunity to test themselves against a very solid side and may even pull off an upset. Same way If India beats Pakistan you won't see me going up and down. That is a different topic altogether. As far as match up goes who will bowl death overs if you go with 1.5 seamer? Spinners? What if one of your main spinner leaks runs. It is a well known fact IPL team completely stops using spinners moment Dube arrives at the crease. They exclusively use seamers against him.

Brother....I am not running away from anything. Who do you think I am? @mominsaigol ?? 😂

I am outside and cant type long response. However briefly to answer your questions:

1. I will definitely boycott this game. I mean I am screaming about it for last 2 months...isnt it? Wonder why are you even asking it?

2. I have created an entire spoiler thread with my prediction. Not sure why you asking me to predict again? Another silly question.

:yk :kp
You are boycotting the match yet making a spoiler thread, and then you call my questions silly? Do you even know what 'boycott' means? :yk :inti

#AjeebTypeKaBoycott

Pakistan has been the under dog team against India for more than a decade. They have won a few in between thanks to some early wickets upfront. This meet is going to be no different. Pakistan has a great opportunity to test themselves against a very solid side and may even pull off an upset. Same way If India beats Pakistan you won't see me going up and down. That is a different topic altogether. As far as match up goes who will bowl death overs if you go with 1.5 seamer? Spinners? What if one of your main spinner leaks runs. It is a well known fact IPL team completely stops using spinners moment Dube arrives at the crease. They exclusively use seamers against him.
They will have to bank on Faheem Ashraf and Shaheen to do the job. If the spinners bowl well and get wickets you wouldn't be in a position where you would worry that much about the death. Most games are won in the middle-overs. Playing someone like Haris Rauf exclusively for his death-bowling does not make much sense, because he can't bowl in the powerplay and there is barely any pace or bounce in this Dubai wicket for him to be that effective. From Pakistan's POV playing him over Sufiyan would be a defensive move. Btw if you wanna talk about match-ups Sufiyan has gotten Abhishek out twice in the Emerging Asia Cup.

I am not saying India will go at 12 an over here. Jeez. In T20 history only 19 times teams have done that against regular nations. 6 by India. 3 by current Indian team in the last 2 years. Their approach has paid them dividends. They have won more matches than they lost. There was one match where India collapsed upfront. They put up a total of 124. Almost won it when India had SA at 86/7. Varun took 5 for 17. But seamers cost India the game. They don't mind occasional loss due to this approach. Isn't exactly what Pakistan is trying to copy?
Not sure what your point is...

They will have to bank on Faheem Ashraf and Shaheen to do the job. If the spinners bowl well and get wickets you wouldn't be in a position where you would worry that much about the death. Most games are won in the middle-overs. Playing someone like Haris Rauf exclusively for his death-bowling does not make much sense, because he can't bowl in the powerplay and there is barely any pace or bounce in this Dubai wicket for him to be that effective. From Pakistan's POV playing him over Sufiyan would be a defensive move. Btw if you wanna talk about match-ups Sufiyan has gotten Abhishek out twice in the Emerging Asia Cup.
Abhishek has gotten out to a lot of bowlers in IPL as well. We can't call it a match up. He would give chance to some bowlers all the time. He is not the only guy in the team. There are 8 batsmen. Some of them are powerful against spin. UAE batsmen whacked him all over right?

After seeing the Asia Cup buzz and the whole ticket fiasco on X, I’m almost 90% convinced India might just pull out tomorrow last minute. If they still play, the crowd could turn on them forever — maybe they won’t risk it.
Even the players, after reading all those comments and reactions, might not risk their careers — they could collectively tell BCCI they don’t want to play under these circumstances.

Point is India will keep going. Just beacuse it is dubai pitch they won't be playing tuk tuk cricket. I am sure Pakistan won't do either. Isn't that the new mantra pakistan trying to embrace?
Just because you want to play a certain way doesn't mean it will pan out that way too. If you go out and try to whack every ball and lose 4 wickets in the process, will you keep whacking till you lose all 10 or will you reassess the total you were aiming for and try to achieve something less but competitive? I know India will play attacking cricket and try to impose their will on the game, and I hope Pakistan play attacking cricket too. But ultimately the aim is to win the match not blast your way to 120 all out in 12 overs.

In ICC tournaments you won't be getting square turners. It will be beautiful decks. All the teams in the world are gearing towards this strategy (an Englidh ODI batting approach post 2015 world cup) with that assumption. Nobody builds their T20 team for "turning tracks" "seaming tracks". Everyone prepares their team for flat tracks. If you get a tricky track try to adapt. Not abandon the fundamental philosophy. That defeats the purpose. Sometimes when you bat first you try to go hard and half way through the match you realize this is not that kind of track. Things like that can happen. That should not force you to backtrack on the general strategy. It will work more often than not.

After seeing the Asia Cup buzz and the whole ticket fiasco on X, I’m almost 90% convinced India might just pull out tomorrow last minute. If they still play, the crowd could turn on them forever — maybe they won’t risk it.
Even the players, after reading all those comments and reactions, might not risk their careers — they could collectively tell BCCI they don’t want to play under these circumstances.
They won't pull out because India is technically the host of the Asia cup.

I see a lot of history based projections and wishes. Add this to that list.

Last 5 yeasr India has not lost a single game that involved Shivam Dube. Played 23 won 22 one no result.
Wow...what a stat...had you asked this as a quiz question 10/10 guys/indian fans would hav never guessed :ua

Well- looks like apna Shivam bhai is a good luck charm...and long may the streak continue....

- Is this some kind of record? - if i am not mistaken - Adam gilly won the first 13-14 tests of his career till Calcutta 2001 when he got a pair :)...

Misbah on TV:

"Pakistan does have an opportunity in case they don't get a good start and lose two wickets. They don't have Virat Kohli, as the batting is different. The new guys haven't played these bowlers. If the Pakistan bowlers can create a hole at the top, they surely have a chance,"

They won't pull out because India is technically the host of the Asia cup.
True, but technically being the host doesn’t stop them from backing out last minute. If they feel the backlash could spiral beyond control, even the host tag won’t matter.

Secondly think about the players.
Players aren’t robots if the online hate looks like a career-ender, they’ll think twice. Nobody wants their career it Fame ruined for a one-off game.
You can be ‘host’ on paper, but when fans turn toxic it’s the players whose careers and sponsorships are at risk they’ll speak up or step back.
This isn’t just a match anymore — if big parts of the fanbase actually boycott, BCCI’s credibility and broadcaster ratings will take a hit. Money talks, and low viewership = questions for the board.
Opposition won’t let BJP breathe if this goes ahead. Imagine — Home Minister’s own son runs cricket, match still happens, and people feel betrayed. That’s a dream script for opposition and a nightmare for BJP’s credibility.

Looking forward to India ending noise pollution tomorrow. This pathetic Pakistan team must be put in their place.

Kapil Dev backed India to win against archrivals Pakistan. This is what he said to the reporters.

"The Indian team will play and win the match; this is what I desire. The way they are playing, they will win,"

"They played well during their time, and now the next generation has to prove themselves. There should not be talk about individuals, but the Indian team. Representing India is much more important than who is the captain or not,"

Wow...what a stat...had you asked this as a quiz question 10/10 guys/indian fans would hav never guessed :ua

Well- looks like apna Shivam bhai is a good luck charm...and long may the streak continue....

- Is this some kind of record? - if i am not mistaken - Adam gilly won the first 13-14 tests of his career till Calcutta 2001 when he got a pair :)...
SOme guys lend balance. India has never lost an ICC match to Australia whenever they played Pandya. 5 out of 5 India has beaten Australia in ICC tournaments with pandya.

You were talking about the middle overs, and you are now stating an example where Sharma scored a few runs in the powerplay and found a way to get out even in those couple of overs.

He’s not doing jack on these wickets in the middle overs against good bowlers, that is if he lasts that long. When much superior batters like Rohit Sharma and Kohli have struggled to keep up with the scoring rate in the middle overs on this Dubai wicket, you expect this tulla to go at a SR of 222?
Rohit and Kohli were superior in technique, not SR.

Tbh Pakistan is ranked 7th in the world and didn't even make the super eights last WC.

They keep losing T20 series to Bangladesh.

India is the world no 1 and current world champions (which they won undefeated).

Aus is world no 2.

Pak have won ZERO matches against Aus-Ind-Eng-SA since 2023.

So? You think your batters will be able to brute force their way to 220+ totals on these wickets?
These tracks aren't Sharjah.

India was hitting 170-180 in the last AC with a much inferior batting lineup with Bhuvneshwar Kumar at 8 and Deepak Hooda at 7.

India will hit 220+ in at least two of the matches vs Afg-Bang-Pak-SL.

Would have won it with Bumrah and Kuldeep, who are playing for the first time since the 2024 WC.

Just look at Srilanka lol they area lready 108 in 10 overs You are so used to seeing Babar azam, Rizwan plodding along. Game has come a long way.
And India were 60 in 4 overs vs UAE.

Teams were doing 170-180 in Dubai in 2021-2022 and that was with older lineups before the T20 batting revolution in 2023.

Tbh Pakistan is ranked 7th in the world and didn't even make the super eights last WC.

They keep losing T20 series to Bangladesh.

India is the world no 1 and current world champions (which they won undefeated).

Aus is world no 2.

Pak have won ZERO matches against Aus-Ind-Eng-SA since 2023.
why the Fxxx are you wasting time discussing a low rank team on its own forum? Obsessed much?

If Pakistan cannot score 200+ runs it doesn't mean India also cannot do it.

Currently Lanka are 107/1 in 10 overs , any good team can make 220+ from here on .

"kaise bevkoof log hai jo apni team ki performance ke base pe opinion de dete hai"

:klopp :kp
While chasing, yes. Batting becomes easier.

Scoring 220+ for any side against even Oman will be extremely difficult batting first.

But let’s see, Indians are incredibly over-confident. You lot are making it seem like India has scored 200+ every time batting first regardless of opposition and regardless of conditions :yk

I think for India's game batting order should be

1. Farhan
2. Saim
3. Haris
4. Fakhar
5. Hasan
6. Salman
7. Nawaz

If no wicket falls inside the powerplay then Fakhar or Salman can come up at no. 3 to play in the middle overs.

Hasan under no circumstances should be shoved at no. 6. Keep him at no. 5 and promote him if only less than 10 overs remain. He has to play most balls out of all our batters in middle order as he is the one that can maximize a start more than anybody.

While chasing, yes. Batting becomes easier.

Scoring 220+ for any side against even Oman will be extremely difficult batting first.

But let’s see, Indians are incredibly over-confident. You lot are making it seem like India has scored 200+ every time batting first regardless of opposition and regardless of conditions :yk
For some teams even 150 is enough to defend. Remember New york? You just have to score 1 run more than opposition.

I think for India's game batting order should be

1. Farhan
2. Saim
3. Haris
4. Fakhar
5. Hasan
6. Salman
7. Nawaz

If no wicket falls inside the powerplay then Fakhar or Salman can come up at no. 3 to play in the middle overs.

Hasan under no circumstances should be shoved at no. 6. Keep him at no. 5 and promote him if only less than 10 overs remain. He has to play most balls out of all our batters in middle order as he is the one that can maximize a start more than anybody.
I would rather open with Fakhar and Farhan. Saim has been struggling, so on 4. Salman may have to come ahead of Hasan.
1. Fakhar
2. Farhan
3. Haris
4. Saim
5. Salman
6. Hasan
7. Nawaz
8 Faheem
9 Haris
10. Shaheen
11. Muqeem

I would play Rauf over Abrar here. Abrar bowls way too short too many times. Rauf will either gave away runs or bag wickets. it is a lottery game for Pak. If Pak stamped authority with controlled aggression, it will go a long way.