[AUDIO/VIDEO] Sarfaraz Ahmed's derogatory comments to Andile Phehlukwayo...

There's essentially the same as a witness in a murder case saying he saw the murder and then realising that hai statement would indict the murderer, change his statement to say he didn't see or hear anything. I'm sorry but this is extremely poor logic and definitely brings Sachin's integrity into question, there should be zero tolerance around the world on racism!

Except that Tendulkar did not actually say he heard Harbhajan say Monkey to Symonds.

There's essentially the same as a witness in a murder case saying he saw the murder and then realising that hai statement would indict the murderer, change his statement to say he didn't see or hear anything. I'm sorry but this is extremely poor logic and definitely brings Sachin's integrity into question, there should be zero tolerance around the world on racism!

By law you are allowed to change your statement.

To be fair "kaalay" is just a term used in our culture for a sheeda or black guy , its not a racist word.
But as a captain he should have avoided it.

99% of the time the word isn't used to refer to people of african descent. People in Pakistan throw it around for other Pakistanis in order to assert their own superiority based on skin color and the irony of the whole thing is that it is literally the case of 300lbs person calling the 400 lbs one fat and feeling good about it. The guy calling out the other himself may only be one shade less brown but whatever helps boost the ego.

Imstrad of looking at the bigger picture I can be lawyeristic about this too. A more formal expression as used in the newspapers would be سیاہ فام لوگ "siyah fam log" or other word would be "حبشی" "habshi" like in the Sahabi "Bilal Khabshi" or you could go with "africi log". All three expressions are nuteral and refer to a black person.

The issue should be bigger than Sarfraz fan vs Sarfraz haters. It should be about the sick mentality which is widely accepted in our society. Sarfraz just happened to display it on national TV but the majority of us are guilty of harboring such an attitude which we pick up from the society we grew in.

Sarfraz might not have meant it in a racist way. I don't know I can't read minds but I do know the context in which the word is typically used and that what he said is at least in the grey zone and not something casual.

Lot of fans desperately wanna get rid of Sarfaraz and PCB isn't in the mood to fulfill their wishes till WC. I don't see any change in fortunes of our team regardless of whether Sarf is part of the team or not. He is a pathetic WK Batsman but unfortunately there is no Gilchrist in line. Our next choice (Rizwan) has good performances in recent A tours but i am not sure what he'll do at international level (though he should be given a chance).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I really hope that our captain gets away with minimal punishment out of this recent episode bcoz we need him for the coming World Cup as captain ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1088089168931110914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 23, 2019</a></blockquote>

I don't think so this is derogatory. Did'nt use the n word just called him black guy. Funnily if a black guy call another a black its not deemed offensive in the West. If one remembers Gibbs racist rant against Pakistani fans in South Africa, something like " animals go back to the zoo " that was racist.

Certain Akmal/Babar fans can't stand Sarfraz can't do much on this one.

I don't think so this is derogatory. Did'nt use the n word just called him black guy. Funnily if a black guy call another a black its not deemed offensive in the West. If one remembers Gibbs racist rant against Pakistani fans in South Africa, something like " animals go back to the zoo " that was racist.

another sentence with Babar in there. Seems like you can't write a post without mentioning him.

this whole cultural aspect thing reminds of me of the suarez Evra episode a few seasons ago. Eerily similar, where negrito was misconstrued as ****** and Suarez got the fat end of the stick. Even though you could argue that there wasn't really any intention of racial abuse there. I don't think anyone can/should lecture another on inferiority or superiority of a culture without ironically themselves being accepting of varied sensibilities like some self righteous SJW scrotes have done on this thread so far, but yes, with the knowledge that he is the captain and that there is a mic listening in he may have been advised to have maybe not been so..explicit in his exasperation. it is a hypocritical world, what pandya and rahul said would not have been frowned upon among a group of friends having a night out but snowflake culture and hypocrisy abounds nowadays.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I really hope that our captain gets away with minimal punishment out of this recent episode bcoz we need him for the coming World Cup as captain ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1088089168931110914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 23, 2019</a></blockquote>

faster than their quickest ball!

I have noticed that you like to bring up Babar's name countless times and none of them positive.

Now when you are talking about his performances it's another matter but here there is absolutely no reason to mention Babar.

If it is not derogatory , Will the captain help in an experiment to validate if it is derogatory or not?
All he has to do is stand in Brooklyn, and shout :Kalley Kaalaey" at first 10 black guys he sees.
If he returns well, all is well... .if not then the extent of how derogatory it is will be verified by number of broken bones

I have noticed that you like to bring up Babar's name countless times and none of them positive.

Now when you are talking about his performances it's another matter but here there is absolutely no reason to mention Babar.

He's obsessed with him. Can't write a sentence without his name.

Regardless, changing your statement implies he wanted to hide something and therefore is very questionable.

He changed it to protect his mate, It was not a murder trail so it was okay anybody would do that. He didnt have to give the statement in the first place.

Just saw his tweets. Looks really fake. Like written word by word by PCB media team. What a coward. And PCB is saving him instead of making example out of him. Really pathetic state of affairs.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1/2 - I wish to extend my sincere apologies to any person who may have taken offence from my expression of frustration which was unfortunately caught by the stump mic during yesterday's game against SA. My words were not directed towards anyone in particular and...</p>— Sarfaraz Ahmed (@SarfarazA_54) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54/status/1088100753208758272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 23, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">2/3 - I certainly had no intention of upsetting anyone. I did not even mean for my words to be heard, understood or communicated to the opposing team or the cricket fans. I have in the past and will continue in future to appreciate the camaraderie of my fellow cricketers from...</p>— Sarfaraz Ahmed (@SarfarazA_54) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54/status/1088100807839498242?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 23, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">3/3 - ...across the globe and will always respect and honour them on and off the field.</p>— Sarfaraz Ahmed (@SarfarazA_54) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54/status/1088100861534978049?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 23, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Just saw his tweets. Looks really fake. Like written word by word by PCB media team. What a coward. And PCB is saving him instead of making example out of him. Really pathetic state of affairs.

I would be shocked if they were written by anyone at PCB officially. Seems to be more upset about private conversation becoming public.

Yeah his tweets suggests he is more angry at mics rather than admitting he made a mistake.

Dude if you couldn't find anything else to get ride of Sarfaraz now you have problem with his apology. Stop making it more drama. He apologized lets move on and concentrate on cricket rather than dramas

He changed it to protect his mate, It was not a murder trail so it was okay anybody would do that. He didnt have to give the statement in the first place.

Might be ok for you, but certainly a questionable act to many.

I’m sure we’ve all heard our parents/relatives say racist stuff.

Don't be sure about things that are wrong. I never heard my parents say anything racist, especially anything denigrating or making fun of Africans.

Every time I hear this, it sounds worse.

What was he thinking?

Our fans have no shame. What other players did in the past has nothing to do with this situation. They don't control Sarfrazs mouth. He is responsible for his own actions.

Naw Symmonds said that not Bhajji ,he refused so please..jus saying something without evidence again and again means nothing..

Of course Symonds is lying again and again.

Proctor, Ponting, Hayden, Gilly were lying too.

No Indian fans were making monkey gestures, all a lie too.

Tendulkar didnt change his evidence, all a lie.

Harbajhan didn't give evidence because he can't speak English, the only truth.

My bad lets all believe the Indians. Jai Hind. :sachin

Of course Symonds is lying again and again.

Proctor, Ponting, Hayden, Gilly were lying too.

No Indian fans were making monkey gestures, all a lie too.

Tendulkar didnt change his evidence, all a lie.

Harbajhan didn't give evidence because he can't speak English, the only truth.

My bad lets all believe the Indians. Jai Hind. :sachin

Please don't talk nonsense and just sprout anything you want , read if you have to.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ausvind/content/story/334196.html

Michael Clarke's account was critical, considering that it did not coincide favourably with the rest. "It is not without significance that the Australian players maintain other than Mr Symonds that they did not hear any other words spoken, only the ones that are said to be of significance to this hearing," Hansen said.

You need to provide proof as we have in case here of Sarfaraz, so please provide some facts if not continue your biased jabber.

The reason Sarfraz abused him was because he was an easy picking based on his skin colour. That much is pretty obvious.

ICC should take a hard stance and set an example for other players. We cannot expect the same from incompetent PCB.

Sarfraz is going the way of Nawaz Sharif. Started off his tenure well and with a lot of promise, but due to a few unfortunate circumstances is being shoved out the door. Hope this doesn’t become a trend with Pakistanis in leadership positions.

Some people are blaming the tweet instead of condemning the captain of Pakistan. Pathetic! nothing will change in this country. They have excuses for everything.

Please don't talk nonsense and just sprout anything you want , read if you have to.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ausvind/content/story/334196.html

You need to provide proof as we have in case here of Sarfaraz, so please provide some facts if not continue your biased jabber.
Harbhajan admitted it all when he apologised privately to Symonds. Of course he doesn’t admit it publically.

That’s okay, at least he admits it privately. That’s good enough for me, so I bear no grudge against Harbhajan.

Harbhajan admitted it all when he apologised privately to Symonds. Of course he doesn’t admit it publically.

That’s okay, at least he admits it privately. That’s good enough for me, so I bear no grudge against Harbhajan.

You never know, maybe Sarfaraz too has privately apologized to Phehlukwayo.

Sarfraz is going the way of Nawaz Sharif. Started off his tenure well and with a lot of promise, but due to a few unfortunate circumstances is being shoved out the door. Hope this doesn’t become a trend with Pakistanis in leadership positions.

Thankfully sarfraz isn't a corrupt person.

Which was denied by Harbhajan.

It's all one man s word against the other in Harbhajan s case.

Every time I hear this, it sounds worse.

What was he thinking?

He was not thinking, and surely this is the standard way of communication within Pakistan cricket team. This incident should be an eye-opener for a lot to understand the mindset of the Pakistani cricket team and how backward minded and uneducated our players are.

It is also no excuse to say that this kind of statement is not considered racist in Pakistan. When we travel outside Pakistan to represent our country, we are ambassadors and must have the common sense of general right and wrong.

His statement is shameful and gets worst every time I listen to it.

Some people are blaming the tweet instead of condemning the captain of Pakistan. Pathetic! nothing will change in this country. They have excuses for everything.

Well the player is at fault.

In addition the person(s) who wrote the atrocious tweets are at fault.

The fact that some feel what Sarfaraz said was ok is shocking.

PCB sitting on its hands waiting for ICC to mete out punishment.

I read that Faf said they have moved on as they felt he showed immediate regret.

Well the player is at fault.

In addition the person(s) who wrote the atrocious tweets are at fault.

The fact that some feel what Sarfaraz said was ok is shocking.

As explained many times by others kaala isn't a racist word. Just a word used to describe someone of darker colour.

This has been completely blown out of proportion. There was no need to apologise. Did SA apologise when Gibbs called us animals?

What Sarfraz said is not exactly a racist comment. Lot of people are focusing on single word “****”, rather than listening to whole thing and context. He is actually praising him for his unusually lucky day. Central point of comment was, “How lucky he is, his Mom must be praying hard”. His comment was not focus on color of his skin, most people got flipped because of one word. Which happens to be not so sensitive word in our culture.

Race is not as sensitive issue in Desi culture, cast and religion is much more, same level as race is in west. Reason behind that is history, in our culture lot of people suffer because of differences in cast and religion, where as in west race is the major source of suffering. Source of division in our culture is religion not race. You can joke about race but not religion, in west opposite is true, you can joke about God and religion but not race. It’s not necessarily matter of education but of cultural evolution. In some sense we had evolved better in terms of managing race differences but failed on others. Where as in west the so called civilized and educated people still cannot see people beyond color of skin. At the same time we are not progressing because we cannot overcome the dogma of religion.

Black atheletes are liked a lot in Pakistan. “Kaali Andahi” back in 80s was not a derogatory remark but a way to praise their fearful bowling attack. We loved Viv, Holding, Marshall, Lara at times more than our own hero’s. Mohammad Ali was huge in Pakistan, I did not knew till 10/12 that Ali is not Pakistani, he was so popular that I thought he is one of us, ingnoring his color...I was called Bila, Chatta, **** all the time, but never really mind that, we had people named ****, Kaloo etc as well. In a way it was not a bad thing that we could see beyond color. I never had problem with it, my main gripe of taking religion so seriously, if we had lighten up on religion and cast, that would be progress on both front.

When you keep something taboo that’s not sign of tolerance but a measure of ill-tolerance about that particular entity. It will take west 100 years or more to diffuse race issue.

As explained many times by others kaala isn't a racist word. Just a word used to describe someone of darker colour.

This has been completely blown out of proportion. There was no need to apologise. Did SA apologise when Gibbs called us animals?

That's because you don't have sensitivity or feelings for others. If someone white person call your mother or daughter black will you appreciate it or will be angry. Just because you are blind supporter of a player does not mean you have to support all his deeds right or wrong. Our religion teaches us to respect others not to hurt someone's feelings. That's the fact whether you believe it or not.

What Sarfraz said was probably wrong, but he did not grow up knowing anything about racial tensions.

Here is another way to look at it, lets say instead of this guy, it was Faf batting and Sarfraz said

"abay gore (white)....."

would it have been an issue? If not, then lets not have double standards?

What Sarfraz said was probably wrong, but he did not grow up knowing anything about racial tensions.

Here is another way to look at it, lets say instead of this guy, it was Faf batting and Sarfraz said

"abay gore (white)....."

would it have been an issue? If not, then lets not have double standards?

You don't know any race history?

That's because you don't have sensitivity or feelings for others. If someone white person call your mother or daughter black will you appreciate it or will be angry. Just because you are blind supporter of a player does not mean you have to support all his deeds right or wrong. Our religion teaches us to respect others not to hurt someone's feelings. That's the fact whether you believe it or not.
No that's because he understands what happens in Pakistan.

No one back in Pakistan considers this a racial taunt. People are nicknamed 'Kaaloo' or 'Kaalia' FGS :))

Sarfraz should be disciplined because you can't behave like a common Pakistani, when you are the captain of your national team.

Shameful behaviour from a pathetic board as usual.They have embarrassed the nation.I hope south africa give him the taste of his own medicine

I do, but 99% of India and Pakistanis will have no clue.

Lets no judge other people who might not have the same exposure as you.
I doubt most of the 'priviledged' folks here would understand. They keep harping on about the lack of education in our country on the TimePass section, without actually understanding the consequences of lack of education.

This is one of them.

I doubt most of the 'priviledged' folks here would understand. They keep harping on about the lack of education in our country on the TimePass section, without actually understanding the consequences of lack of education.

This is one of them.

Don't think education or lack of exposure is the problem. Problem lies in the attitude towards fellow humans. When you are consider yourself better human based on race, gender, religion, wealth etc. Education can't solve all social problems.

First of all,,, he never meant his words to be racist....

Whatever...the words were taken out of context...

He was punished and that’s it....PCB stand was about the process of solving issues etc.., not about to promote or encourage racism

Wasim Akram has also highlighted my point of view..

After Darren Sammy's remarks about what he was called in IPL, I now open the floor for many of our friends to condemn similar language at the IPL.

No way anyone can defend this
Racism is curse
But its funny the way you comparing behaviour some spoil brat fans with Captain of national cricket team...

No way anyone can defend this
Racism is curse
But its funny the way you comparing behaviour some spoil brat fans with Captain of national cricket team...

Hopefully Sammy will clear up whether it was team-mates, opponents and/or fans who called him this.

Sindh First XI captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been fined 35 per cent match fee for a level 1 offence relating to use of inappropriate language during his side’s first-class Quaid-e-Azam Trophy match against Northern at the UBL Sports Complex in Karachi.

The incident happened on Saturday when Sarfaraz repeatedly made inappropriate comments against an umpiring decision during the day’s play.

Sarfaraz was reported by on-field umpires Faisal Afridi and Saqib Khan for the violation of article 2.21 of the PCB Code of Conduct for Players and Player support Personnel.

Sarfaraz pleaded guilty and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Mohammad Anees.

This a sign that his career is done and dusted? His attitude has been atrocious and I just don't see him making a grand comeback at all.

Wait till Rizwan fails in 2-3 games, Sarfraz will be back in the reckoning again.

Bit of a stretch in my view. Rizwan's form has been iffy and Safaraz has a powerful lobby behind him. He can abuse a few more people on the way home tonight and still be fine for possible selection imo.

Wait till Rizwan fails in 2-3 games, Sarfraz will be back in the reckoning again.

I reckon they'll toss in Rohail Nazir.

Bit of a stretch in my view. Rizwan's form has been iffy and Safaraz has a powerful lobby behind him. He can abuse a few more people on the way home tonight and still be fine for possible selection imo.

I think this culture of players making a comeback due to tantrums is slowly coming to an end, the only way he'll make a comeback is by having a very strong domestic season where he manages to score heavily. It's his wicket keeping that has gone downhill the most.

Loool at Phehlulwayo shouting that to Faheem. What a bang average cricketer.

He said it because Faheem played a good innings in Karachi he said this isn't Karachi (after getting him out)

Meaning this is SA hell teach him a lesson or his ways won't work here in SA

He said it because Faheem played a good innings in Karachi he said this isn't Karachi (after getting him out)

Meaning this is SA hell teach him a lesson or his ways won't work here in SA

That's embarrasing for pullyacko, lol mans scored 193 on y'all and that's what you come up with :))

If say Ben Stokes said to marlon samuels after getting him out in Trent Bridge ‘Oi this isn’t Jamaica’ theyl be court cases & all sorts.

No there wont be.

Some posters are really ignorant regaring what racism is and what racism really means.

Just shows the kind of culture pakistan has that even iur national captain at the time, sarfraz, thought it was non issue.

No there wouldn't be. I love how racist people always bring false equivalency and play victims. Dude everyone understand what is racism and what is not,there is no point in pretending

This is similar to Rohit saying come to India or Paine saying wait till you go to Gabba type.

No there won't be, this sort of banter is perfectly fine.

Phehlukwayo is only in there because of quota system surely. Looks like the epitome of bits n pieces. One bowler who our bats should really dominate. Can hit a few tulleybaaz shots but nothing special.

He should focus on his own game before mouthing off. Faheem played instrumental roles in Pak whitewashing SA. Whilst Phehlukwayo is riding the coat tails off others