[AUDIO/VIDEO] Sarfaraz Ahmed's derogatory comments to Andile Phehlukwayo...

Dude, I want the same reaction when a desi player uses the word white again on the cricket field.

Sarfraz's comments were distasteful and personally for me pathetic but some of the kids here are blowing it out of proportion.

The great West Indies team in Pakistan is referred as "Kaali Aandhi" roughly translated as Black Wind-flaw even to this day. In news, gossips and newspapers, everywhere. Why is that not racist then? But guess kids here dont know Urdu and havent lived in Pakistan to know this.

Why are other people using past examples to defend Sarfraz? They aren't responsible for his actions.

If he had a brain he would have known to keep his mouth shut.

Lets see what the pcb actually does, iv only seen this now, have they not already called a less conference and apologised,???

Should have been the 1st thing to do after the match maybe eV we n at the match presentation, it will be much bigger issue next day

Sarfraz has lost the plot. He needs a break..he’s been mentally shot for a good year now.

Pity Mickey Arthur for having to defend racism in South Africa

I have been staggered by the complete lack of context that most PakPassion contributors have understood in the case of Sarfraz Ahmed's dreadful comments yesterday.

Mickey Arthur is a non-racist white South African, who has to live with the shame of being from the ethnic group which from 1948 to 1994 destroyed the country with its system of racist government.

Black people could not live outside black townships (shantytowns) and were evicted in 1948 from their houses in normal towns and villages. They lost the right to any education apart from being trained for menial jobs. They had no right to vote. They had to leave the towns in which they worked by 6 pm. They had inferior schools and healthcare. They were not allowed to have inter-racial relationships.

The legacy of Apartheid runs deep. Black people were catapulted into poverty in the decade from 1948 and have never been able to emerge from it. Even now, players like Temba Bavuma reach the top only because they are sent to elite "white" schools.

For any visitor for the country to make a comment like "Hey black guy, where's your mother sitting today? What [prayer] have you got her to say for you today?" is rather like going to Israel and making an off-color remark about the Holocaust.

It's beyond unacceptable. It's so far beyond unacceptable that it will probably make Pakistan unwelcome in South Africa for decades.

And poor Mickey Arthur has to defend this nonsense!

It's less than a decade ago that Intikhab Alam commented that some of the Pakistan players told the PCB that some of the national team players "are mentally ********. They do not know that they are representing the country. They do not know how to wear their clothes and how to talk in a civilised manner and some of them are not even toilet trained."

Nothing has changed, yet a guy with a university degree is captaining his country and yet he makes these catastrophic comments to a black man while a guest in his country, South Africa of all places.

And Sarfraz was not just a guest in South Africa. He was at work, on duty, leading his country, in the workplace.

I just despair about what kind of country Pakistan has become, not just when this can happen, but when literate and educated people on an international forum like PakPassion can defend and minimize this incident.

If Pakistan can't show basic levels of courtesy and respect in a place like South Africa, then maybe it is time for Pakistan to take its leave of world cricket. Because this was the captain of the country.

It's shameful. And Mickey Arthur must be dying of shame today, even if other Pakistanis are too ignorant to understand why doing this in South Africa is unacceptable.

You literally want a dark skinned man to be punished for calling another dark skinned player black :facepalm:

Sarfraz is brown, not black. In South Asia, Africans are not considered the same race as desi. You're trying to view it from Eurocentric perspective.

Sarfraz's comments were distasteful and personally for me pathetic but some of the kids here are blowing it out of proportion.

The great West Indies team in Pakistan is referred as "Kaali Aandhi" roughly translated as Black Wind-flaw even to this day. In news, gossips and newspapers, everywhere. Why is that not racist then? But guess kids here dont know Urdu and havent lived in Pakistan to know this.

Well said....

There is nothing racist about it , he didnt say the N word. Yah it was in a bad taste , people use word '****' a lot of british or anyone of white skin which is not usually deemed as a racist thing. Players say a lot of things in the middle in the heat of the moment which include BC and MC as well so lets not make it a big deal.
The "N" word was never used in South Africa even during the days of Apartheid.

But as casual racism people were called "Kaffir" and, and this is really significant, every sign sending African people away from beaches, towns, transport, schools, hospitals and everything else used the word "Blacks".

As a result of which, calling an African person a "black" is extremely insulting in South Africa. Because it's the language of Apartheid.

It pretty stupid thing to say especially in a country ravaged by racism. But OP effort to paint the whole country as racist is one big pathetic attempt too. I have met lots of Pakistanis who are no way racist. Let's not slander the whole country. Let's tone down the hyperbole

Not defending what has been said at all as it is wrong , however you can’t just translate it to literal English as it’s not entirely the same in our language and culture, again I’m not defending what he said because to refer to someone in regards to their colour is wrong , however what I’m saying is it’s not been said with malice or racial hate, you need to understand how things are said culturally, it is a very ignorant thing to say though and unfortunately in our culture there are some ignorant things. Deen is perfect culture isn’t.

Have the PCB made a comment on this?

PCB never supported fixers. No need to criticise them until this saga ends.

The role that PCB played in the 2010 scandal was shameful to say the least. In addition, Ijaz Butt accusing the English players without any evidence was the icing on the cake.

In the last few years, the PCB have handled every major controversy poorly. from Oval-Gate in 2006 to the spot-fixing scandal in 2010 to the various chucking issues in this decade, they have not covered themselves in glory with their conduct.

This is their chance of creating some goodwill and sending a positive image. The right thing to do would be to sack Sarfraz with immediate effect and apologize to CSA.

At first I thought having asked others that this is a harmless incident where, even if the terms themselves might be racist in isolation, when taken in a cultural context, while they are still derogatory, they werent intended as such, its just what hes used to saying, so, while its not like its innocent, its also not intentionally racist and should be treated as such.

But then I thought, why sledge a guy in a language he wont speak? Maybe he wanted to insult him but did so so he wouldnt understand and thought he would escape scrutiny through the language barrier? I dont know tbh, this aint clear cut and I dont know how often the term is used, from what I hear its used frequently.

Why try defending someone so hard when you yourself know what was the intention of that word. Regadless of what skin color safraz is, he is considered to be from the east-asian community. By default he is brown.Stop trying to make a fool out of yourself in public mate
You really think the comment was meant as an insult?.. Ha, and then you result to throwing an insult yourself. What you just said is more insulting :facepalm:

Perhaps OP is not aware (don’t blame him), there is a new Indian film titled, “Kala Shah Kala” coming out.

The title literally translates to, “Black Really (Super) Black”.

It uses the same terminology as Sarfraz did and should be taken into account before dropping the axe.

It’s a common term used in the subcontinent culture to describe people of dark skin.

At first I thought having asked others that this is a harmless incident where, even if the terms themselves might be racist in isolation, when taken in a cultural context, while they are still derogatory, they werent intended as such, its just what hes used to saying, so, while its not like its innocent, its also not intentionally racist and should be treated as such.

But then I thought, why sledge a guy in a language he wont speak? Maybe he wanted to insult him but did so so he wouldnt understand and thought he would escape scrutiny through the language barrier? I dont know tbh, this aint clear cut and I dont know how often the term is used, from what I hear its used frequently.
The words black and white are used plenty. Some people are even given the nickname kalaa...

The role that PCB played in the 2010 scandal was shameful to say the least. In addition, Ijaz Butt accusing the English players without any evidence was the icing on the cake.

In the last few years, the PCB have handled every major controversy poorly. from Oval-Gate in 2006 to the spot-fixing scandal in 2010 to the various chucking issues in this decade, they have not covered themselves in glory with their conduct.

This is their chance of creating some goodwill and sending a positive image. The right thing to do would be to sack Sarfraz with immediate effect and apologize to CSA.

Good will to who?

Ijaz Butt was very foolish but overall the PCB does and has taken action when it felt neccesary. They co-operated fully in 2010 and made sure Amir did his remedial work and helped to spread the message fixing is wrong to younger players.

Daryl Hair was racist and the PCB did the right thing in 2006 imo.

No other cricketer has been sacked for making racist comments. The BCCI backed Singh and I can't recall you saying Moeen Ali should name the person who was racist to him.

Good will to who?

Ijaz Butt was very foolish but overall the PCB does and has taken action when it felt neccesary. They co-operated fully in 2010 and made sure Amir did his remedial work and helped to spread the message fixing is wrong to younger players.

No other cricketer has been sacked for making racist comments. The BCCI backed Singh and I can't recall you saying Moeen Ali should name the person who was racist to him.
Calling Symonds a monkey was actually racist and Harbhajan should of had the book thrown at him.

The words black and white are used plenty. Some people are even given the nickname kalaa...

Yeah I knew that. I was told it translates loosely as "*******" which, lets be honest, is pretty offensive.

But its normalised in the culture so itd be wrong to slam someone as racist for saying it. What goes against him here is that the guy was right there and he said it in a language he wouldnt get as a private joke, that changes the context behind it a lot imo.

Eh, will be interesting to see how this goes. It does have the potential to explode......

Calling Symonds a monkey was actually racist and Harbhajan should of had the book thrown at him.

The BCCI were up in arms. They said he isn't racist and neither is any Indian. lol. Of course the richest board threatens to withdraw from the series will change the mind of the ICC.

Good will to who?

None of those players were captains. The ICC will probably suspend Sarfraz for a few games based on their ruling against racism, but the PCB needs to act as well.

In today’s age, every professionally run board will sack its captain for (perceived) racism.

None of those players were captains. The ICC will probably suspend Sarfraz for a few games based on their ruling against racism, but the PCB needs to act as well.

In today’s age, every professionally run board will sack its captain for (perceived) racism.

We dont know as there has never been a captain in such a situation. The nearest is Andrew Gale, a county captain who wasn't sacked.

Which is why PCB needs to set a precedence and show that is capable of doing the right thing. This is its golden opportunity to earn some much needed respect.

It was unprofessional from him and you can slam him for that, anything else is a bit much. I don't think he intended any harm by it, but he never should of said it as he's an international player and captain who's held to a higher standard. The thing is if a charismatic WI player were to say something along the lines of "Hey white boy, where's your mother at" or something like that, would it be given the same treatment or would it be brushed off as harmless sledging/banter.

Sarfraz will definitely pay for this more than he should. Kaala and **** are used so often in Pakistan, obviously without any racist connotation, that it would come as a huge shock to Sarfraz that this incident is being reported as is.

However, it'll be a mighty tough job to explain this to the authorities and also to the cricketing fraternity. Poor guy is in trouble but I guess he should've known better.

All those screaming racism clearly are out of sync with Pakistani culture or most likely have a disliking for the guy due to his performance.

Which is why PCB needs to set a precedence and show that is capable of doing the right thing. This is its golden opportunity to earn some much needed respect.

As a Pakistan fan, I only want him treated fairly. Let's see.

Sarfraz will definitely pay for this more than he should. Kaala and **** are used so often in Pakistan, obviously without any racist connotation, that it would come as a huge shock to Sarfraz that this incident is being reported as is.

However, it'll be a mighty tough job to explain this to the authorities and also to the cricketing fraternity. Poor guy is in trouble but I guess he should've known better.

All those screaming racism clearly are out of sync with Pakistani culture or most likely have a disliking for the guy due to his performance.
Is it a Punjabi/Urdu thing? I feel like this is non event, then there's some Indians from other parts of India who are more offended.

When we play cricket, we always use the word ***** to describe the european/white player/s in the other team. There's usually only one or two so it's easy to distinguish and it's not meant in an offensive but a way to identify them.

lol His defense was different. He claimed he said Maa ki not monkey. Anywho i would want him to be banned for an year if he had said that. Do you not see what BCC is doing with KL Rahul and Pandya for a sexist TV interview on TV? In current scenario offender would invite a defnite ban.

Not everyone is desperate for validation. You need to grow out of this self pity mode.

The decision on sarfraz which was pending for after Ramadan should be hurried up and the verdict should be given now
There is no way he can continue under Mickey Arthur as coach of Pakistan now or next season either
For a team that decides to integrate Shahid Afridi and Ahmed Shahsad to western culture by getting their hair braided and listening to reggae, this isn’t the first time such negative and ignorant words have been sprouted

You never seen Rashid Latif do fair and lovely shampoo advertisements

It's sounds really bad and there is no room for any racist comments in this sport esp towards a South African player!

However I dont believe Sarfraz is being intentionally racist as such words are a figure of speech.

Most Pakistani posters on this forum has used such language. Sure this needs to change but it's unfair to say he meant it in a racist manner.

Bhai intention ho ya na ho but ab phas gya hai and this is a pretty serious offense

The decision on sarfraz which was pending for after Ramadan should be hurried up and the verdict should be given now
There is no way he can continue under Mickey Arthur as coach of Pakistan now or next season either
For a team that decides to integrate Shahid Afridi and Ahmed Shahsad to western culture by getting their hair braided and listening to reggae, this isn’t the first time such negative and ignorant words have been sprouted

You never seen Rashid Latif do fair and lovely shampoo advertisements

So. Many. Points. Being. Made :)))

The guy who mocks Pakistani's for being desperate for foreign approval and validation is now encouraging the pcb to act swiftly for foreign approval, not surprised

It is not about foreign approval; it is about credibility.

The PCB has a long, documented history of letting the game of cricket down. Over the last 10-15 years, we have given the game of cricket very little other than match-fixing, chucking, nonsensical legal disputes and now this. Other than the security problems, the conduct of the PCB is a major reason why Pakistan has been slowly marginalised.

The players have repeatedly put the PCB in awkward situations, but the latter has somehow managed to take the wrong decisions almost every time. Unfortunately or fortunately, they have now been presented with another opportunity to show that they are capable of acting in a professional manner and have the guts to do what needs to be done.

Is it a Punjabi/Urdu thing? I feel like this is non event, then there's some Indians from other parts of India who are more offended.

When we play cricket, we always use the word ***** to describe the european/white player/s in the other team. There's usually only one or two so it's easy to distinguish and it's not meant in an offensive but a way to identify them.

Yes, but the average street cricketer cannot be compared to a national captain. It's a completely different responsibility with a much larger audience.

I do agree, he likely didn't have racist intentions but those words shouldn't be coming out of his mouth in an international game. If he doesn't understand this then he shouldn't be captain in the first place. Your duties as a captain are more than just moving fielders around. It's about upholding a certain standard and no matter how it's twisted, he made a dumb comment.

Probably doesn't help to make those comments in South Africa of all places.

Not everyone is desperate for validation. You need to grow out of this self pity mode.

Sure, but this hollow arrogance is the reason why the PCB is a laughing stock. This hollow arrogance was the reason why they refused to allow its players to participate in IPL 2, assuming that the tournament would flop without the star Pakistani players.

10 years later, the IPL brand has become much bigger than Pakistan cricket, and the PCB has been rubbing its nose in the dirt hoping that BCCI would throw them a bone.

It is not about validation or self-pity; it is about doing the right thing and not shameless defending your players and playing the victim card. Unfortunately, the chances are high that the PCB will deal with this PCB-style.

And ntini a black SA ex-player was seen hurling out abuses against Asian team, read non-white, players.
So, as bad as it sounds, it was the spur of the moment from sarfaraz I think.

Perhaps OP is not aware (don’t blame him), there is a new Indian film titled, “**** Shah ****” coming out.

The title literally translates to, “Black Really (Super) Black”.

It uses the same terminology as Sarfraz did and should be taken into account before dropping the axe.

It’s a common term used in the subcontinent culture to describe people of dark skin.

Using cultural references is NOT an acceptable defense for excusing the boorish behavior of the captain of an international cricket team. Just because some people in certain countries indulge in casual racism, that does not justify its use in a professional setting.

Having said that generalizing a whole country based on action of one is also wrong. Sarfaraz may be foolish & ignorant but he is no criminal & he can’t be treated like one.

It pretty stupid thing to say especially in a country ravaged by racism. But OP effort to paint the whole country as racist is one big pathetic attempt too. I have met lots of Pakistanis who are no way racist. Let's not slander the whole country. Let's tone down the hyperbole
I'm not saying that the whole country of Pakistan is racist.

I'm saying that the whole country is shamed in front of the cricket world if its captain can make a racial comment in South Africa and be allowed to remain in the team, let alone as captain.

This is a Line In The Sand incident. Either Pakistan does the right thing and sends Sarfraz home in disgrace or Pakistan is seen as condoning racism when the guests of the very country which has suffered more than any other from racism in the modern age.

The ball is now in the PCB's court. Cricket Australia sacked Steve Smith even though his ICC punishment was trivial, because they saw that he brought the nation of Australia into disrepute.

Now Pakistan's cricket board needs to do the right thing and sack Sarfraz Ahmed for Gross Misconduct.

The BCCI were up in arms. They said he isn't racist and neither is any Indian. lol. Of course the richest board threatens to withdraw from the series will change the mind of the ICC.

Harbhajan never called Symonds monkey. There was npthing recorded in mic. Absolutely no evidence.

Using cultural references is NOT an acceptable defense for excusing the boorish behavior of the captain of an international cricket team. Just because some people in certain countries indulge in casual racism, that does not justify its use in a professional setting.

Having said that generalizing a whole country based on action of one is also wrong. Sarfaraz may be foolish & ignorant but he is no criminal & he can’t be treated like one.

You're missing the point.

The so-called "offensive" and "racist" term is being used in a major motion picture film.

Not to mention that even in my town in Pakistan, about twenty-five years ago, there was a trend of naming baby boys Khalu!

There is a big difference between teasing your friend & an international team captain using racist terms to taunt somebody. If he cant hold back his tongue & doesnt know how to behave professionally, he better get back to mohalla cricket pronto. If Sarfaraz’s fans justififying his actions can’t understand the meaning of professionalism, what can you say about that?
Not just taunting "somebody".

Taunting a South African man whose grandparents were dispossessed of their houses and sent to a township where only black people could live.

Taunting a South African man whose parents were from the city - Durban - where the match was played, but weren't allowed to stay in the city after 6 pm. Ever.

Taunting a South African man whose parents were not allowed to attend proper schools.

Taunting a South African whose mother was a domestic servant for a white family who only allowed her to go home to her husband once per week.

That's what Sarfraz Ahmed did.

I’m not sure about many people on here. But last week a police man approached me and mentioned whether I had seen a “a black tall and broad man with a NYC Cap roaming around moments ago?”

On Sky News/BBC news you will see the term Black/White used as well if identity is unknown.

Point is, what Sarfraz said was “offensive” and “not professional.” BUT, in no way was it racist as he did NOT drop the N word. Forget the intentions, we can only look to the facts of what he said, and that is the bottom line.

Yes, he does not have many fans, yes he lacks education, yes he does not speak like Shan Masood and yes he has underperformed as a captain and player but PLEASE don’t downgrade a player so much that you are using the racial card against him.

Not so long ago fans in the crowd were using fake beards to resemble Amla, was that deemed racist? Was it turned into a issue by Amla/SA? Should that stop as well? So many sensitive people on here.
South Africa is not England.

The problem with Apartheid was not racist insults. It was categorization by race, specifically the word "black" to exclude people from housing, jobs, education, healthcare and any other aspect of life.

So South Africa is one place where any term which categorizes a person by race causes enormous offence.

Yes, but the average street cricketer cannot be compared to a national captain. It's a completely different responsibility with a much larger audience.

I do agree, he likely didn't have racist intentions but those words shouldn't be coming out of his mouth in an international game. If he doesn't understand this then he shouldn't be captain in the first place. Your duties as a captain are more than just moving fielders around. It's about upholding a certain standard and no matter how it's twisted, he made a dumb comment.

Probably doesn't help to make those comments in South Africa of all places.

This. People defending this saying this language is acceptable in Pakistan should understand that guy was NOT playing in Pakistan & was infact captaining his country abroad & offcourse, he will be held to different standards in a professional setting. Not understanding cultural, racial sentivities in this internet day & age is not a defence.

On the other hand, i am also trying to understand why did Sarfaraz try to sledge Phehlukwayo in a language he didn’t understand. Dumb, ain’t he?

I'm not saying that the whole country of Pakistan is racist.

I'm saying that the whole country is shamed in front of the cricket world if its captain can make a racial comment in South Africa and be allowed to remain in the team, let alone as captain.

This is a Line In The Sand incident. Either Pakistan does the right thing and sends Sarfraz home in disgrace or Pakistan is seen as condoning racism when the guests of the very country which has suffered more than any other from racism in the modern age.

The ball is now in the PCB's court. Cricket Australia sacked Steve Smith even though his ICC punishment was trivial, because they saw that he brought the nation of Australia into disrepute.

Now Pakistan's cricket board needs to do the right thing and sack Sarfraz Ahmed for Gross Misconduct.

Forget all that. First someone needs to apologize. People are hush to see how ICC will react. It's a mistake. Banning and sacking are all over reactions. First apologize, and say that it was said in frustration without keeping in mind the racism element. Simple PR

This. People defending this saying this language is acceptable in Pakistan should understand that guy was NOT playing in Pakistan & was infact captaining his country abroad & offcourse, he will be held to different standards in a professional setting. Not understanding cultural, racial sentivities in this internet day & age is not a defence.

On the other hand, i am also trying to understand why did Sarfaraz try to sledge Phehlukwayo in a language he didn’t understand. Dumb, ain’t he?

Same reason as Aussies and Englishmen would sledge us in English.

Or you just don't understand.

If you told Faf, "Hey, white guy, what's for lunch?". Do you think he would take offence? Why should Andile take offence to being call black guy with luck? He is a black guy (with luck).

Your outrage culture is pathetic.
If you really are from Hermanus then you live in a South African town where only 8% of the population is Black African.

But have you ever been in to the township of Zwelihle? Because if you have you will understand what privileges Phehlukwayo was born without.

And that his parents lived miserable lives of servitude because they had been classified as "black", and no amount of talent or hard work could lead them to a comfortable life. His mother made ends meet by cleaning the toilets of a white family.

I have seen FAF get incredibly uncomfortable when people talk about being "white", specifically in the context of quotas and affirmative action. I have seen him apologise for the old system of classification by race, even though he was just a child.

So yes, I very much believe that any comment about "white" or "black" makes FAF du Plessis squirm. That's not an "outrage culture". That's being sensitive and respectful to people whose own parents and grandparents lives were destroyed by racial classification.

Not just taunting "somebody".

Taunting a South African man whose grandparents were dispossessed of their houses and sent to a township where only black people could live.

Taunting a South African man whose parents were from the city - Durban - where the match was played, but weren't allowed to stay in the city after 6 pm. Ever.

Taunting a South African man whose parents were not allowed to attend proper schools.

Taunting a South African whose mother was a domestic servant for a white family who only allowed her to go home to her husband once per week.

That's what Sarfraz Ahmed did.

Now this is an overkill. While you can’t expect Sarfaraz to know the family & racial history of every opponent, one can expect the captain of an international team to know what to say & what is out of bounds generally (talking about any opponent’s skin color is a no-go anywhere in the world). He must be punished for his boorish behaviour, but lets not hang him out to dry for not knowing the history of apartheid.

Forget all that. First someone needs to apologize. People are hush to see how ICC will react. It's a mistake. Banning and sacking are all over reactions. First apologize, and say that it was said in frustration without keeping in mind the racism element. Simple PR
That would be a great first step, but then the PCB needs to make an example of Sarfraz.

You can't go to the land where Apartheid shortened and destroyed the lives of 90% of the population, and then racially sledge a man whose own parents and grandparents were the victims of this.

And you especially can't do that as Captain of your Country.

I am not accusing all Pakistanis of being racist. But I am saying that Sarfraz represented all Pakistanis as your national captain, and he acted in a way which has shamed your country as well as himself.

And if the PCB and government don't act then they are condoning that behavior, and taking ownership of it.

You're missing the point.

The so-called "offensive" and "racist" term is being used in a major motion picture film.

Not to mention that even in my town in Pakistan, about twenty-five years ago, there was a trend of naming baby boys Khalu!

Actually, you are one missing the point. Are you trying to condone Sarfaraz calling his South African opponent ‘Abe Kaalu’ in an international cricket match just because somebody in your town named their kid Kaalu or a picture name has the words Kaala in it?

Blacky is usually the term people use to call the black pet dogs in SC. Ofcourse this is racism and derogatory when you used it on a human.

LOL at people defending this pathetic behaviour. Then why do these same people make such a big deal when an Australian or Englishman abuse their players.

If someone visits SA, they know the history the country has with racial issues, racism and that the issue is still a hot topic.

If someone visits as captain of a national team, he should know better. Just leave race out of it in general is a good guide to not stirring up racism accusations- as all the comments here show that different cultures and upbringings have different views on what is or isn't racist.

It's breathtakingly naive or breathtakingly stupid of Sarfraz to go to SA and speak like that. I choose those two words as he said it in urdu so I don't think he intended it to be hurtful toward Andy.

He'll probably get suspended for a game or two with another two suspended sentence.

Now this is an overkill. While you can’t expect Sarfaraz to know the family & racial history of every opponent, one can expect the captain of an international team to know what to say & what is out of bounds generally (talking about any opponent’s skin color is a no-go anywhere in the world). He must be punished for his boorish behaviour, but lets not hang him out to dry for not knowing the history of apartheid.

This is not acceptable. He needs to be banned. In my eyes this is worse then taking money to throw games. We as Pakistani's should have a higher standard.

If a black man said 'hey white boy, where's your momma at?"

People would have found humor in it :))

I hate outrage culture so much, I don't think he meant anything by it. He was sledging and called him black to describe him.
My friend, go and visit South Africa.

It's got a very different history to the racial history of other countries. Consider the lives that Phehlukwayo's parents and grandparents endured simply because of the use of the word "black" to classify them legally.

Not the "N" word. Just "black". That's the word that doomed them to miserable lives.

Durban is the home town of the Phehlukwayo family. Yet they weren't allowed in and out without what were effectively passports, weren't allowed in full stop after 6 pm and were condemned to lives of domestic servitude.

Sarfraz Ahmed is the captain of his country. He has a university degree.

He has a responsibility to behave appropriately when he is representing his country. Especially as a man of Indian race in Durban of all places.

My friend, go and visit South Africa.

It's got a very different history to the racial history of other countries. Consider the lives that Phehlukwayo's parents and grandparents endured simply because of the use of the word "black" to classify them legally.

Not the "N" word. Just "black". That's the word that doomed them to miserable lives.

Durban is the home town of the Phehlukwayo family. Yet they weren't allowed in and out without what were effectively passports, weren't allowed in full stop after 6 pm and were condemned to lives of domestic servitude.

Sarfraz Ahmed is the captain of his country. He has a university degree.

He has a responsibility to behave appropriately when he is representing his country. Especially as a man of Indian race in Durban of all places.

University degree!!! Where did you get it? Can anyone confirm here? I doubt if the guy has completed even grade 12!!!

If someone visits SA, they know the history the country has with racial issues, racism and that the issue is still a hot topic.

If someone visits as captain of a national team, he should know better. Just leave race out of it in general is a good guide to not stirring up racism accusations- as all the comments here show that different cultures and upbringings have different views on what is or isn't racist.

It's breathtakingly naive or breathtakingly stupid of Sarfraz to go to SA and speak like that. I choose those two words as he said it in urdu so I don't think he intended it to be hurtful toward Andy.
Exactly.

If you go to South Africa as captain of your country and you haven't even read enough to know about Apartheid and how it still scars the country today, then you are not fit to captain your country.

Exactly.

If you go to South Africa as captain of your country and you haven't even read enough to know about Apartheid and how it still scars the country today, then you are not fit to captain your country.

He doesn't even have to know the intricate details of the system or history- just the basic knowledge that every single person who plays cricket has, that SA has a history of racism and it the issue is clearly ongoing as you see the tension around quotas and whatnot. Any single cricketer knows that. He doesn't need to be a professor.

That should have been enough for him to steer clear.

University degree!!! Where did you get it? Can anyone confirm here? I doubt if the guy has completed even grade 12!!!
Supposedly he's a qualified engineer.

When I wrote the "Is Sarfraz Ahmed Capable of Test Captaincy?" thread six weeks ago I was flabbergasted to learn that he had a degree.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?278875-Is-Sarfaraz-Ahmed-capable-of-Test-captaincy

The actor Windsor Davies notoriously played a British Army Sergeant-Major in India in World War 2 and died this week. But his screaming, hectoring style is exactly what Sarfraz has delivered as captain, and really makes me doubt his education.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/bel...in-it-ain-t-half-hot-mum-20190121-p50spl.html

If there was no audio evidence then how come you are so confident that Sachin lied
Because Sachin initially gave evidence that Harbhajan said "monkey", which crowds in India had been taunting Symonds with three months earlier. And then Sachin changed his evidence.

You can say that Sachin lied with the first version or the second version - it doesn't matter. But his evidence was changed 180 degrees, so one of his versions was a bare-faced lie, we just can't prove whether the first version was a lie or the second version.

PCB needs to be proactive and suspend Sarfaraz immediately. It will be a radioactive PR disaster if ABdV speaks out against Sarfaraz & pulls out of PSL.

Knowing PCB's incompetence, they'll probably try explaining it away saying "it was an internal team joke aimed at Afridi" or "he infact he said "khaa ley" (eat)" or something.

It is laughable that few people are finding it okay to defend/overlook what the pakistani captain said. PCB needs to be hauled up as well for failing to drill into the players' mind that certain words are abs off limits.

A better educated captain would have lessened the chances of such a catastrope.

The only offensive part of this is the start where he referred to him as "Hey black guy". The stuff about his mother is utterly harmless.

Mouthing off with 'Abay' followed by reference to the colour of his skin made it worse. The 'Hey black guy' would have been more like 'Oye...' His entire tone was derogatory.

Supposedly he's a qualified engineer.

When I wrote the "Is Sarfraz Ahmed Capable of Test Captaincy?" thread six weeks ago I was flabbergasted to learn that he had a degree.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?278875-Is-Sarfaraz-Ahmed-capable-of-Test-captaincy

The actor Windsor Davies notoriously played a British Army Sergeant-Major in India in World War 2 and died this week. But his screaming, hectoring style is exactly what Sarfraz has delivered as captain, and really makes me doubt his education.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/bel...in-it-ain-t-half-hot-mum-20190121-p50spl.html

I have an Electrical Engineering degree as well, but now really doubting on myself :( I knew Saeed was a software Engineer, Latif a Civil Engineer and probably Asif Muztaba also an Engineer; then Misbah has an MBA with Undergrad in Physics ................ but Sarfraz an Electrical Engineer - that degree requires to solve more higher maths than even graduation in mathematics!!!!

But, he is a Hafeez E Al Quaran, which I believe is tougher than earning an EEE Undergrad, can anyone confirm here?

This is not acceptable. He needs to be banned. In my eyes this is worse then taking money to throw games. We as Pakistani's should have a higher standard.
I agree.

Matchfixing is very bad indeed.

But leading your country on a tour of a country where half the population still lives in extreme poverty due to the country's racist recent past, and then racially abusing one of the victims?

Unbelievable. It's like captaining a football team in an away international in Israel and calling a Jewish player an "oven dodger" (which is what Mel Gibson actually called Winona Ryder).

It doesn't matter that it may not be a mainstream word of abuse in your own country. You're in somebody else's country and you've said something incredibly disrespectful and insensitive in their country.

I have never known such unacceptable behavior from a cricketer.

How bcci would've handled this:

"Sarfraz merely called him Kallis, out of respect for andile the all-rounder, but because of his lisp, Kallis sounded like kaale. Accusing sarfraz of racism is racism itself, making fun of Asian accents and people with lisp."

Case closed.

#KallisNotKaale #Maaki #helpsarfraz

We have opened numerous threads, this thread is now 7 pages long, but has anyone received confirmation that either the ICC has made note of this episode or CSA complained to the Pakistani team and the ICC? So far it is only the media and tv experts raising this issue up

Let's not forget about the PSL.

You're hoping to attract black cricketers (perhaps even ask them to play in Pakistan) and this is how the national captain is speaking.

Not a fan. Not a regular player. The Pakistani captain of all people.

Yikes.

Actually, you are one missing the point. Are you trying to condone Sarfaraz calling his South African opponent ‘Abe Kaalu’ in an international cricket match just because somebody in your town named their kid Kaalu or a picture name has the words Kaala in it?

I’m not condoning his actions and have stated multiple times in more than one thread that it was uncalled for and quite frankly, dumb.

But it is not a racist term like some people would have you believe as it is a very common word in the vocabulary of the sub-continent.

So and so that it is a name and a recent title of a production.

And has anyone confirmed whether Phehlukwayo, the man this was directed towards, feels offended by it?

Seems the online community is in far greater rage than the man who had to endure such alleged racist remarks.

How bcci would've handled this:

"Sarfraz merely called him Kallis, out of respect for andile the all-rounder, but because of his lisp, Kallis sounded like kaale. Accusing sarfraz of racism is racism itself, making fun of Asian accents and people with lisp."

Case closed.

#KallisNotKaale #Maaki #helpsarfraz

lmao, gold