Australia v Pakistan | 2nd ODI | Melbourne | Jan 15, 2017 | Australia Innings

Abdul

Australia Team
DA Warner, UT Khawaja, SPD Smith*, TM Head, GJ Maxwell, MR Marsh, MS Wade†, JP Faulkner, PJ Cummins, MA Starc, JR Hazlewood

Pakistan Team
Mohammad Hafeez*, Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan†, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

Australia won the toss and elected to bat.

Pakistan must play with same passion as last game. We should have won that game had we batted sensibly and not havibg brain farts like Umar Akmals did. He better start performing or this could be his last series for pakistan who knows when he will get a chance again.

To be honest Hafeez is the best option to be a Captain. He just need to spend sometime in the middle as he making a comeback after a long time.

If we bat we need to try to get 300. We will have a chance then.

We will win or lose this match at the selection table. 4 specialist (10 over) bowlers and 2 part-time bowlers would be ideal IMO. Aamir, Wahab, Hasan (these can be interchangeable with Junaid or Rahat) and Imad - plus Hafeez and Malik/Azhar as part-timers.
That way we'll have 7 players that can bat and give us the best chance of posting a score of 280+, which is obligatory if we were to win.

Junaid must play instead if Wahab, Wahab is a waste of place, when are we going to chuck him out. Honestly there are better bowlers than him, hell even anwar ali is better than him. Junaid deserves a chance and he can cause problems for warner.

How would it be to watch

JUNAID(2102), AMIR(2010), ASIF(PRE BAN) and IRFAN(2012) bowl in tandem

If no Malik then we are screwed even more

Batting is weak and we can't have Imad at 7

If no Malik then we are screwed even more

Batting is weak and we can't have Imad at 7

Imad ko no.4 pe khelo. He should bat when there is less pressure, he will excel and put umar back at 6 so he has less overs to play, playing in CPL has destroyed his batting even more. Instead of playing county cricket or in Australia domestic season, he is playing lucrative league. Difference between him and Kohli in terms of batting talent is v v less. But Umar has destroyed his cricket by not giving importance to longer format.

Blame pcb as they dropped him from team.

Bhai uski performance kya hai in last 3 years. Ak 100 kiya hsi against Afghanistan. He started same time as kohli did. But kohli has 24 ODI 100s.🙄

Agar kharabi khud mein hai tu don't blame others khud ko thek karo.

Good for Pakistan that Malik is playing. Though he isn't that good a Batsman now but Pakistan badly needs his experience in the middle after the way they wilted in the last match.

First of all - it's a far, far better XI. If Azhar was there, we would have one change - Mian for Nawaz.

Looks balanced team on paper, but as Mickey said not every day one can get Warner & Smith back for 5.

Aussies have an even stronger team now. Hazlewood in for Stanlake and Khawaja in for Lynn

Good to see Malik make it and also Junaid. I did not want Wahab and Nawaz today.

I like this 11. Shafiq is a rubbish ODI player though but we have good depth this time. Absolutely must restrict them to 320 or below

Bhai uski performance kya hai in last 3 years. Ak 100 kiya hsi against Afghanistan. He started same time as kohli did. But kohli has 24 ODI 100s.🙄

Agar kharabi khud mein hai tu don't blame others khud ko thek karo.

He has been dropped so many time.
Hopefully, he would perform in this series.

Lol. Shafiq in ODI's. No wonder Pakistan are terrible in this format.

We won 4 out of last 5 matches. Which is OK.
But against Australia, we fail to bat even 50 overs. So Asad is fine if we want to play 50 overs.

AMIR BETTER PITCH IT UP, Wasim Akram said Amir must be brave to pitch it up and not worry about being hit for Runs. Acha bowler banne ke liye, Brave hone zaroori hai.

We have 4 out of last 5 matches. Which is OK.
But against Australia, we fail to bat even 50 overs. So Asad is fine if we want to play 50 overs.

Just aiming to play full 50 overs,great mentality,you are going to win many matches with it.

And the majority of ppers back this decision :yk

The guy is simply not cut out for limited overs cricket. He's a pretty good test batsman despite his inconsistency but he simply does not have the ability to score quickly.

AMIR BETTER PITCH IT UP, Wasim Akram said Amir must be brave to pitch it up and not worry about being hit for Runs. Acha bowler banne ke liye, Brave hone zaroori hai.

Lol he isn't our only good bowler. Was a class apart in the last game. Be patient and let him do his thing. You can't pitch it up too much here after the first 5 overs because then these guys are gonna hit straight sixes and you guys are gonna complain that Amir has lost it. Bowled a perfect length in the last match

With three of those being against the Windies in the UAE.

I Love the inclusion of Asad. He should be a permanent no.3 batsmen for us, he has great technique and temperament. Pakistan lacking good solid middle order player. I hope he scores big todays and shuts few critics tonight.

Junaid to owns warner and smith the same way he made kohli his bunny :junaid

I Love the inclusion of Asad. He should be a permanent no.3 batsmen for us, he has great technique and temperament. Pakistan lacking good solid middle order player. I hope he scores big todays and shuts few critics tonight.

Trash ODI player. Imagine if we had Haris here instead of him

He will singlehandedly lose you matches if he bats more than 50 balls in an innings.

Junaid and Amir Bowling Together !!

I think I can peacefully die now !!

With three of those being against the Windies in the UAE.

True, but previously we have been consistently losing in uae.
And recently we have started scoring 300+

However it would be hard to replicate hre in Australia.
I will gladly take an honorable defeat.

Ah Malik can play, thought he was out, good to see he's recovered.

This is the best team we could play from the squad, glad we've gone with batting down to 8 and rested Riaz for Junaid.

Lol he isn't our only good bowler. Was a class apart in the last game. Be patient and let him do his thing. You can't pitch it up too much here after the first 5 overs because then these guys are gonna hit straight sixes and you guys are gonna complain that Amir has lost it. Bowled a perfect length in the last match

When you in rhythm, keep bowling good channel line. But he is also not coming close to the wicket, which is why he is isn't getting many lbw's. Waqar said best way to bowl in ODI is bowl close to the wicket and and aim for the first stump.

Guess Pakistan will for a batting order something like

1. Hafeez
2. Sharjeel
3. Asad
4. Babar
5. Malik
6. Umar Akmal
7. Rizwan
8. Imad Wasim
9. Amir
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid

I'm most interested to see where Asad will bat. He could bat at opener, three, at 6, who knows? Hope Junaid bowls well today.

Amir has developed a bad habit of bowling short - he is at least 1 metre short of what should be his ideal length.

I like this 11. Shafiq is a rubbish ODI player though but we have good depth this time. Absolutely must restrict them to 320 or below

I'm liking this 11 too. Feel like the squad is poor, Hafeez, Asad, Rizwan shouldn't even be there arguably (though I guess Rizwan is only there as back up keeper). Not a fan of Sharjeel either, think he's pretty overrated. But think they've chosen the best 11 they could out of the squad and haven't been afraid to pick the extra batsman. Most teams bat down till 8 (or later) these days, and there are enough bowlers in Hafeez, Malik (Azhar when he comes back) to make 10 overs. If the other bowlers fail, it's just because they're not good enough, not that we needed an extra bowler there to compensate.

told you guys Junaid is practically finished for Int. cricket. pace in high 120s is a joke.

We've lost the match already after the Aussies won the toss and elected to bat. Whatever they get will be to much for us no matter what team we play. I simply have no hope in our team when we visit Australia, New Zealand or South Africa. Oh well! At least Liverpool will beat Man Utd in a few hours so it hasn't been a completely disastrous weekend:djb

Lol junaids fans love living in the past. He's finished. Trundling in and gun barrel straight

are you watching the same game two balls at 135+ and more swing than Amir