Australia v Pakistan | 2nd Test | Melbourne | Dec 26-30, 2016 | Day 4

Amir starting off well as expected, time for Sohail to step up and offer some support at the other end.

Sarfraz batting first up against Hazlewood and Nawaz bowling to Warner - sounds promising. :bm

We missed a trick of not playing Asghar here, should have played here, you never know what he might have done. Misbah is afraid to take chances with young rookies, which is why we haven't developed many cricketers in the 5 years.

Bechara amir, he has got so used to off drop catches k jb koi aur drop na kray tu wo khud drop krnay lag jata hai catches, i guess ICC may have forgiven him but the mother nature and luck hasn't.

We missed a trick of not playing Asghar here, should have played here, you never know what he might have done. Misbah is afraid to take chances with young rookies, which is why we haven't developed many cricketers in the 5 years.

He isn't a fortune teller. How should anyone have known before this match that Yasir would lose the plot? He bowled decently at the Gabba.

We are 1 bowler short here in Australia you need 5 bowlers to win matches.

I would take risk and make Sarfraaz open and play nawaz as well.

matlab you will ask sarfraz to open with new ball in test matches and that too in australia? sarfraz is an idiot to begin with as is becoming more and more clear with every test match. he acts as if he is brave bradman...will walk to fast bowler, will try to sweep fast bowlers, will take crazy runs and then he will lose his wickets after 10 or 20 runs

and you want more bowler fully knowing how pathetic our middle order is? sami not firing, babar not firing, younis not firing and misbah and sarfraz are not firing either

matlab you will ask sarfraz to open with new ball in test matches and that too in australia? sarfraz is an idiot to begin with as is becoming more and more clear with every test match. he acts as if he is brave bradman...will walk to fast bowler, will try to sweep fast bowlers, will take crazy runs and then he will lose his wickets after 10 or 20 runs

and you want more bowler fully knowing how pathetic our middle order is? sami not firing, babar not firing, younis not firing and misbah and sarfraz are not firing either

They will fire next game, i know pakistan team, this team always surprise you with a good performance so don't be shocked if we win next game...👍

They will fire next game, i know pakistan team, this team always surprise you with a good performance so don't be shocked if we win next game...��

oh bhai jan....no one is thinking about the next game. we are trying to save this game

it looks dead for Pakistan

He isn't a fortune teller. How should anyone have known before this match that Yasir would lose the plot? He bowled decently at the Gabba.

Leggie goes for runs... Misbah must back him and tell him to bowl with flight here. As captain Misbah is not being brave enough. Yasir need to man up and learn how to tske wickets on his own as well.

Remember when everyone insisted we play a right arm bowler because the commentators kept harping on about how three left arm quicks didn't offer enough variety?

Hope you guys are enjoying the variety of this this medium pace trundling :rahat :rahat :rahat

oh bhai jan....no one is thinking about the next game. we are trying to save this game

it looks dead for Pakistan

We have to also realize that the other team is there to compete as well mate, you cannot expect an Asian side coming to Australia and rolling over them as if they were Junior cricketers, sorry to say that will never happen realistically, no matter if you have 11 ATGs touring down under.

Also if you listen to the commies right now (Bill Lawry) they are saying that this pitch is as good as any batting track out there. It's Day 4 and the pitch has absolute true bounce. Even if Australia manage to get a sizable lead, this match is heading to nothing but a tame draw. This isn't a green Hobbit mamba that we saw in New Zealand last month. This is a drop in pitch and a proper pancake.

The fact that we have reached 450 odd in Australia 2 out of the three times we've batting is quite good indication of the good form our batters are in at the moment (Barring Misbah and Sami).

Have a little faith and stop being Negative (Mamoon) for a change, we already have enough of these characters over on this forum.

We won't lose this game. Relax bhai meree...
And what make you think so? The flatness of pitch? Then you are in for a suprise, you will see how this pitch will suddenly spin like nagpur and seem and swing like headingly when will come to bat tomorrow, just wait and watch,

He is actually Pakistan's best bowler but his fitness is simply not upto the mark for international cricket.

And....... He gets a wicket :))
[MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION] Apparently The Destroyer :rahat spoke to Sohail during the over change and look we see an almost instant result !! What a Champ !!

:bow: :bow:

We have to also realize that the other team is there to compete as well mate, you cannot expect an Asian side coming to Australia and rolling over them as if they were Junior cricketers, sorry to say that will never happen realistically, no matter if you have 11 ATGs touring down under.

Also if you listen to the commies right now (Bill Lawry) they are saying that this pitch is as good as any batting track out there. It's Day 4 and the pitch has absolute true bounce. Even if Australia manage to get a sizable lead, this match is heading to nothing but a tame draw. This isn't a green Hobbit mamba that we saw in New Zealand last month. This is a drop in pitch and a proper pancake.

The fact that we have reached 450 odd in Australia 2 out of the three times we've batting is quite good indication of the good form our batters are in at the moment (Barring Misbah and Sami).

Have a little faith and stop being Negative (Mamoon) for a change, we already have enough of these characters over on this forum.

bhai hum nay bee cricket khel rakhie hai and understand all nuisances. where did i say that I expect aussies to roll down? on the contrary, the fear is that we don't get rolled down unnecessarily. Pakistan always have some weird mental block when batting second especially when in survival mode no matter how good the pitch is. there are so many examples in last 12 months, to be honest with you.

there is absolutely nothing negative i am saying....it is a fair assessment of the match and all the commentators are saying the same. if we dont get wickets now and aussies put us to bat with 150 ahead, we will struggle big time. younis, misbah, sami, babr, sarfraz no one is firing on top and tailenders will not bat everyday

Should put money on Amir not getting any wickets in this test, beat the edge about 30 times already.

We won't lose this game. Relax bhai meree...
And what make you think so? The flatness of pitch? Then you are in for a suprise, you will see how this pitch will suddenly spin like nagpur and seem and swing like headingly when will come to bat tomorrow, just wait and watch,

Bro, don't get emotional its just a game of sports. Enjoy it other team have also going to play their best and this is Australian team, they have great record against us. But pakistan should be fibe to draw this game. Finger cross i want pakistan to be at their best at Sydney.

And....... He gets a wicket :))
[MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION] Apparently The Destroyer :rahat spoke to Sohail during the over change and look we see an almost instant result !! What a Champ !!

:bow: :bow:

All eyes in the MCG, from players and fans alike, looked up at the Pakistan balcony to see the answer to just one question.

Would Handscomb be allowed to reach his century today?

Everyone stared with bated breath as they waited for Rahat's decision...

mjJyOkA.gif

Poor Handscomb, utterly dejected but he knew better than to show any dissent. Deep down he would have preferred to give his wicket to Amir, who was the most deserving of Pakistan's bowlers but Rahat had made his decision. 'You have to go, and you have to go now.' It takes more than an average of 100+ to impress Rahat and he was bringing Handscomb back down to earth by giving his wicket away to a half-fit trundler. :rahat :rahat :rahat

Bro, don't get emotional its just a game of sports. Enjoy it other team have also going to play their best and this is Australian team, they have great record against us. But pakistan should be fibe to draw this game. Finger cross i want pakistan to be at their best at Sydney.

and the only way Pak will feel OK and good at sydney is by not losing this match..............

Misbah tends to follow where ball goes, lol

Amir really need to do sadqa khairat and slaughter a **** bkra do get rid of this bad luck.

If Australia get a 100+ lead there's a 80% chance of Pak collapsing under pressure on day 5 pitch. I hope im wrong but Aus might win it with an innings or by 10 wickets.

Yaar feel bad for Amir has deserved a wicket he's beat the bat about 40/50 times but no edge! Hope he can grab a wicket soon he deserves it.

Amir is not unlucky. I've looked at all of this and where he's pitching the ball. The fact is he's either bowling on a good length ( slightly back) which means the ball has enough time to swing past the outside edge. When he tries to make the fuller adjustment he goes too full and the batsmen can then middle it. He needs to find that length where the ball will be full enough to catch the outside edge. At the moment hes swinging it left arm but too short so it looks good but unfortunately it won't get a wicket as it will always swing past the edge.

His length in England was superb which is why he was nicking batsmen off but catches weren't held on.

We really just need a wicket here and the rest should be easy.

Wade, Starc, Hazelwood, Lyon, and Bird should all fall quickly.

Amir is not unlucky. I've looked at all of this and where he's pitching the ball. The fact is he's either bowling on a good length ( slightly back) which means the ball has enough time to swing past the outside edge. When he tries to make the fuller adjustment he goes too full and the batsmen can then middle it. He needs to find that length where the ball will be full enough to catch the outside edge. At the moment hes swinging it left arm but too short so it looks good but unfortunately it won't get a wicket as it will always swing past the edge.

His length in England was superb which is why he was nicking batsmen off but catches weren't held on.

very good analysis...that may be the case. he cant be that unlucky

I haven't posted here in a while lol

I hope Pakistan is able to get a quick wicket here and bowl out the tail cheaply and perhaps put up a target that might tease the Aussies

Not all of them have been short. I don't really care as I never defend him using this excuse but he's been unlucky.

He has bowled pretty well here to be honest, but I think just a bit fuller will catch some bat. He has been surly unlucky to not pick up any so far. I was simply commenting on missing 25 or so edges stats posted earlier. He has bowled much fuller here in this match. Just need to put a bit more up even if he gets driven few times.

It's amazing how till yesterday we were cursing the rain and now it seems like we need the rain back to save us. Australia will bat till 12-15 overs before stumps and will have a lead of more than 200. We all know how easily we crumble when we are trying to save a Test match. Our bowling is ridiculously toothless.

Australia need atleast 80 overs to bowl out Pakistan I reckon. So they need to bat another 65 odd overs and tire out this 4 man attack completely.

No possibility of Pakistani win now. Hopefully they will be able to grab a draw.

This is not a fair comment.

Misbah-ul-Haq may be 42 years old, but he has only ever played 5 Test matches in Australian or South African conditions before this series - and was dropped from the team after the second - and it is patently obvious that he doesn't understand the conditions or the fields that need to be set or the tactics that are required.

The mental disintegration of Yasir Shah has been undertaken by Misbah-ul-Haq - nobody else.

And it started at Old Trafford and Edgbaston 5 months ago.

Yasir is a good leg-spinner who is being set up to take 1-220 in every innings outside Asia by a clueless skipper who is increasingly disengaged and detached and has clearly decided to retire ASAP.

Pakistan has recently beaten West Indies 2-1 and drawn 1-1 with New Zealand in the UAE because it took the visitors a couple of Tests to adapt their tactics and bowling to the conditions, whereas Misbah has mastered those conditions.

But Misbah's serial incompetence as a skipper outside Asia lost a Test at Edgbaston which should have been won, and has taken 10 Tests in 5 months outside Asia to reduce Yasir Shah to a shadow of himself.

If Asghar had played the only difference is that Misbah's fields would have destroyed him sooner.

Any hint of spin , Australian s are dancing awkwardly.. Smith included. India will welcome every one of those

Warne has come at the correct time after Yasir wicket. It was poor batsmanship rather than. great bowling. Warne but as usual drooling over Yasir

Please take the rest wickets quickly. Any lead more than 50 will be a disaster.

Lets get Wade out and we're into the tail. Need to wrap them up within 75 Runs. Can't concede a lead over 70.

Nice to see Pak front line fast bowler bowling at 120kph. Always thought it was Indian specialty

Nothing left to see here..

If rain doesn't interrupt, Pakistan would have to bat way too poorly to loose on this pud.

Australia can put us under pressure if they get a 100 lead. We do rend to collapse under pressure most times.