Australia v South Africa | 3rd Test - Day 5 | SCG | 7/1/08

checkers.llvllaster said:
I'm not watching the match, just following the commentary on cricinfo...what did he say?

he said its even if u r injured u dont want to remain not out on a duck. especially if ur an opening batter.. :)))

I think Clarke will bowl the 2nd last or the last over of the innings.

Why is Smityh taking those singles. He must be having plenty of confidence in Ntini

:))) :))) :))) Thanks itduzz, you are a legend, always have something funny to say...can I get an autograph?

no seriously...i just stated wat Ian chappal commented...take me seriously... :)))

Nitni hits two fours, maybe he is going for his first 50? :)))

:)) May be.. problem is Now Ntini has to face next over if they don't take a single in this over.

Something will happen in the second last over guys.

Ok it's the second last over. Let's see what happens. I think maybe Smiths hand will fall off :)

Come on guys. You can now come forward with your accolades for correctly predicting the result of the match.

The first two test matches had pace, bounce and lasted well throughout the first 5 days each. The last test match was a mine field and it became really difficult to bat on the last day. So overall South Africa won this series fair and square and did well to fight the way they did today as well.

Aussie's world champion days are well over. If you leave the cracks out, i think the proteas would have saved this test match as well.

So close.....

yet so far. :(

Well done Smiffy, inspirational stuff.

Smith earned lot of admirers today with his act. He was only 10 balls away from saving the test.

Congratulations Australia on your 1st test win in 2009!

A special mention for Dale Steyn & Ntini. To not give up on a crumbling pitch in face of some hostile bowling was exhillirating stuff.

I'm glad I saw this entire test match. It was classic. :)

Australia held their nerve in the end, but good cricket all around from both sides.

siccric said:
I'm glad I saw this entire test match. It was classic. :)

Australia held their nerve in the end, but good cricket all around from both sides.

They owe "their holding of nerve" to that huge crack that did Smith in :))

Congrats to South Arica on a good series win and for their excellent sportsmanship over the series. Looking forward to another great series in SA.

This has been one of the better summers of cricket after the nastiness and poor sportsmanship India dished up last year, its good to get back to players who can play cricket in the right spirit.

G.Smith is a leader by example.did a commendable job. but was surprised at Ntini's effort. steyn stood up when it was needed by his team.this SA team deserves the series win.

Australians could have attacked more.the commentators were pointing out repeatedly about lack of shortleg and leg slip when Duminy and De villiers were batting.Ponting was always a little bit behind the pace but his bowlers did the job for him, picked up wickets whenever the partnership turned definat. A'shoker ' silva did his bit! Siddle was a revelation. Johnson shud not be entering any pitch till the SA tour. the last thing aussies require is an injured Johnson, who was head and shoulders above every aussie bowler in 2008 and carried his form to 2009. he must have lost an inch or two in height after bowling soooooooo many overs in all forms.Hauritz did better than what was expected from him- generally restricted scoring and chipped in with the bat showing the famous aussie tenacity.Bollinger looks a decent prospect considering the poor form of Lee. he can prove a handful in SA conditions and shud be selected with Hilfenaus and clark.

a consolation win for aussies in a dead rubber but certainly would have made a lot of difference to their morale and spirits than when they say- "its just a dead rubber, who cares"! strange times!

ponting took a gamble by declaring and setting a challenging target to SA despite the pain of perth. he punted and won.many thanks to both the teams for a thrilling last day.nothing like a gripping final day of a test!

Xoib said:
Kya aap mujhat bata saktay hain kay mujhay khoobsoorat dulhan milay gee :malik

Nahi puttar, tumhe :iRao milega.

Umair Paracha! said:
Congratulations Australia on your 1st test win in 2009!

1 Test, 1 win. :D

Whoa that was close, my office basically closed and everyone went in to conference room to watch the last 6 overs.

I thought we were gone when Horrorwitz came on to bowl. Jason Krejza would have been pretty useful on this pitch, hopefully selectors realise this.

Respect to Graeme Smith and congrats to the South Africans on an excellent series and a well deserved series win. First time we have lost at home for 15 years and it was to an excellent side.

Random Aussie said:
1 Test, 1 win. :D

Whoa that was close, my office basically closed and everyone went in to conference room to watch the last 6 overs.

I thought we were gone when Horrorwitz came on to bowl. Jason Krejza would have been pretty useful on this pitch, hopefully selectors realise this.

Respect to Graeme Smith and congrats to the South Africans on an excellent series and a well deserved series win. First time we have lost at home for 15 years and it was to an excellent side.

Hauritz gets excellent seam position, but he CANNOT turn the ball at all. I dont know why he's called a spinner, he's just a bowler who bowls slow.

Jamal said:
Hauritz gets excellent seam position, but he CANNOT turn the ball at all. I dont know why he's called a spinner, he's just a bowler who bowls slow.

Fair enough I can see the need for a defensive spinner if we only have 4 bowlers. If we are going to play 5 bowlers, one of which is defensive medium pacer surely we can then play the attacking spinner in Krejza.

Ponting also need to stop bowling the spinners for 15+ over spells.