Bangladesh (187/9) defeat India (186) to win the 1st ODI by 1 wicket

A series winning streak that lasted for five series for India was snapped in New Zealand when a Shikhar Dhawan-led team sans several of their star players went down 1-0 against the Kiwis. With the likes of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul back in the team, India possesses a near full-strength batting order going up against Bangladesh and they will be keen to hit the straps straightaway, building up for the 50-over World Cup next year.

The hosts, meanwhile, have enjoyed playing in this format, having won double what they lost in the ongoing World Cup Super League, and have already earned a direct berth in the World Cup to be played in India. Although they are without a couple of their big players like Tamim Iqbal and Taskin Ahmed, Bangladesh have enough firepower to upstage India, just like they did in their previous meeting at home back in 2015.

With rest and rotation amidst a busy calendar high on their agenda in the last couple of years, and the focus mainly on the T20 World Cups in 2021 and 2022, India haven't had their best combination on the field most of the time. Since January 2021, India have played 27 ODIs, of which Kohli has only been part of 11, Rahul 10 while Rohit has just played 9 matches. Dhawan, on the other hand, has been part of 25 of those matches.

In the bowling department, the likes of Jasprit Bumrah (5), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (7) and Mohammed Shami (3) have played even less, while Shardul Thakur (16) has played the most games among bowlers. It's not a full-strength bowling department that will be available for India in Bangladesh, with the first three not available for the series. The focus will be on Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammad Siraj and Umran Malik as India look to fill up the back-ups for the big event next year.

For Bangladesh, who have largely gone in with their tried and tested lineup for the 24 ODIs they have played since 2021, this series provides another opportunity to sustain their growing stature in the 50-over format. Since 2021, Bangladesh have featured in eight series and have lost only two times, with their biggest successes being the series victories in South Africa and West Indies earlier this year. But they will also remember their loss to Zimbabwe in their last series and will be eager to bounce back.

When: Sunday, December 4 at 12:00 PM Local Time (11:30 AM IST)

Where: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

What to expect: There is a high possibility that the series is likely to witness high-scoring games with the wickets expected to favour the batters. Clear skies, with a high of 30 degree Celsius is forecast for the match day.

Team News:

Bangladesh: Litton Das has been handed the responsibility of leadership after Tamim was ruled out of the series due to a groin injury. With Taskin also not available for the first ODI due to a back issue, Ebadot Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman will have to handle the bulk of the responsibilities in the pace department.

Probable XI: Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (c), Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

India: With Mohammed Shami ruled out of the series due to a shoulder injury, Umran Malik has been roped into the squad but he may not get a game straightaway, with India likely to go in Siraj, Thakur and Chahar in their pace department. Axar Patel was hit near his chest while batting in the nets on Saturday and was being monitored by the medical team. But he is likely to be available for selection.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj.

Did you know?

- India have posted the highest total while batting first (370/4 vs Bangladesh in 2011) in Mirpur and have also recorded the highest successful chase (330/4 vs Pakistan in 2012) at this venue.

- Among overseas batters, Virat Kohli is the highest run-getter in Dhaka, having scored 786 runs in 13 innings, including four hundreds and three fifties.

- Kohli's average of 78.60 at the SBNS is the highest among those who have played at least 10 innings here. Should he get a hundred in this series, he will equal Tamim for the most centuries at this venue.

- Shakib Al Hasan is the only bowler with more than 100 wickets at the SBNS. He has picked up 122 in 85 matches, averaging 24.47 with the ball and an economy of 4.05, with 4 four-wicket hauls and 1 fifer.

What they said:

"We have to play good cricket to win against them. And every time we played them, it has been a very close game. Even in the T20 World Cup it was a close game. I think in 2015 we lost the series here. We know they are a very improved team in the last few years. So we have to play our best cricket to win this. It is not going to be easy for us" - Rohit Sharma.

"We have been playing very competitive cricket against them in recent times. They don't think us as underdogs and that is a big thing. Our target will be to play for a win. It is possible to fight against them. We have good balance in all three departments. India are also a strong side. But you have to admit that we are also a good side in our conditions" - Litton Das.

Squads:

India Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant(w), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Kuldeep Sen, Shahbaz Ahmed, Umran Malik

Bangladesh Squad: Anamul Haque, Litton Das(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah, Nurul Hasan(w), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Yasir Ali, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Taskin Ahmed, Nasum Ahmed

Looking forward to watching our main team finally play an entire JAMODI series without the Deepak Hoodas and Harshal Patels. Although I wish Dhawan wasn’t playing.

"People Need To Understand That...": Rohit Sharma On 'Breaks' Being Given To Top Players

Skipper Rohit Sharma doesn't want to clutter things by "thinking too far ahead" about the ODI World Cup and said he and head coach Rahul Dravid have a "fair idea" of how they would approach the showpiece to be held in India in October-November next year. Asked if World Cup preparations start with the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh starting here on Sunday, Rohit made it clear that there is still time before his team can start thinking specifically about the marquee event. "Every time you play a game, it's preparing for something. The World Cup is still 8-9 months (10 months) from now. We can't think so far ahead. We need to keep an eye on what we need to do as team," Rohit told mediapersons ahead of the first ODI.

He said if he starts planning too early, it won't help but also made it clear that the team think-tank knows in which direction it needs to travel.

"It is very, very important for us not to start thinking about so many things. Like we need to play this guy or that guy. Me and coach (Dravid) have fair idea what to do. We will narrow it down once we come closer to the World Cup," he added.

Workload management must with some on road for two and half months

A few players like wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant, with this Bangladesh series, will be on the road for more than two and half months and the skipper emphasised the requirement of workload management.

He admitted that a lot of cricket is being played and it won't stop. It is the team and people around it who need to do the right things.

"As professionals, we have to keep up the intensity. Yes, there's a lot of cricket and that's why we give them breaks. And people need to understand that when we give players a break, it is only to manage the workload keeping the bigger picture in mind.

"Cricket is not going to stop. There will always be a lot of cricket and we need to manage our players. You want your best players to play with higher intensity all the time. So it is important to give them breaks, manage them as freshness is very important," Rohit elaborated.

He then gave a peek into his team's gruelling schedule during the past few months.

Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com

"Lot of the guys have been on the road before the World Cup and we had two back-to-back series versus Australia and South Africa. And then, we went straight to Australia. It has already been two and half months. It is impossible in this day and age that you will always play with your best 15. It's not going to happen," he was blunt.

I expect India to win 3-0 and possibly in one-sided manner too.

BD can trouble SENA sides at home but India are familiar with these conditions.

I am surprised India are playing their main batters. They should've gone with some new players (to test them out).

Rohit has just played 12 ODIs in the past three years and Kohli has played 20. They need to get a lot of matches in before the WC.

Where is Bumrah ? Funny how he doesn't play any International Cricket at all due to injuries but gets 100% fit at the time of IPL. Great dedication the guy has towards IPL. Respect.

India is making a huge mistake of not dropping Dhawan, he is not performed at all since 2019 WC

By that logic Bangladesh should be perpetually demoralized.

You are right but things were looking up from 2015.

Internal issues weren't present before (not to the current extent). Not just sport but other sectors too. There is a "civil war" vibe.

I am really interested in this series to see who they are playing as their sixth bowler. They dropped Sanju Samson saying it’s necessary to have sixth bowling option. Who among the batters they going to drop for sixth bowler. If they keep all the big names of batters and play only 5 bowlers Indian team management is nothing but a bunch of Hippocrates. They need to axe one among Pant, KL , Dawan and Iyer to have 6 th bowler.

Yes good point. On merit, one of Pant or KL has to be dropped because Iyer has done much better in ODIs.

SL played 3 ODIs at Mirpur stadium last year.
Team batting first scrapped to 250 and pitch got pretty much broken in 2nd innings.

Bangladesh hasn't lost a ODI series at home in 6 years.

Add to that the fact that old team management is back and likely to play the trundlers like Thakur and Chahar along with Sundar and Axar, the Indian team may well lose this.

One of Kuldeep Sen or Umran Malik must play. They both bowl 145-150 range.

Bangladesh have won the toss and have opted to field

Teams:

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Litton Das(c), Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Sen

Rohit Sharma: To be honest I was not sure. The pitch seems to have some moisture, so we would have bowled first too. Some injures and few issues, we got four all-rounders playing. Washington, Shardul, Shabaz, Deepak Chahar. Kuldeep Sen is making his debut. Myself Shikhar and Virat up the order. KL Rahul will keep wickets. We hardly played many games in New Zealand, but we fought well. Some of the guys batted really well. World Cup is still far away, we don't want to look too far ahead. We want to focus on what we have in hand and play accordingly.

Liton Das: We are going to bowl first. Looks like it could be sticky for the first ten overs, that's why we are bowling first. Three seamers and two spinners for us. We want to follow the process and play good cricket.

good riddance pant now tht should make one more change Kick Dhawan in opening he's our imam ul haq of opening 😂And open with KL so we can accommodate surya

Good to see KL Rahul as a wicket keeper batsman. I have said this in the past when he was playing as a wicketkeeper batsman he used to bat with confidence. It seems dravid finally realised the importance of team balance which I have been stressing on. You don't need 3 wicketkeepers when you can play just 1 and strengthen your bowling/batting with specialists. :inti

Kl as opener in odis?
He is horrible as an opener.

Actually he isn't that as horrible as mr teenage sensation dhawan , it would help us to accommodate surya in middle order if we goes with Kishan,Samson,Pant or KL a wicketkeeper batsman must there.

That guy dhwan is more like imam Ul Haq kind player even if he makes hundred ,he isn't as devastating as KL,Kishan ,samson .

In NZ, they play 3 pacers + 3 spinners combo.
In BD, they have playee 4 pacers + 2 spinners combo. :facepalm

What a big loser Dhawan is! Such a panauti.

What an embarrassment to see the prima donnas like Kohli and Rohit playing against Bangladesh but chickening out of series against NZ in NZ.

Rohit bowled by Shakib.

Perils of playing international cricket at your luxury.

What a joke batting line-up we have. Associate level.

Most Indian fans (except Kohli fans/Rohit fans) must be happy to see this lol They thought they could statpad skipping NZ series.

This is what happens when you pick and choose to play a series and show disrespect to international cricket. :inti

And they have kept out Kishan and Gill for these losers!

Most Indian fans (except Kohli fans/Rohit fans) must be happy to see this lol They thought they could statpad skipping NZ series.

Kohli never played for statpading, Someome saying he chickened out of Nz series what a joke ,Kohli is Goat you are saying it as if he has 30-20 average in new zealand , Prove with stats if you want say anything btw Kohli Don't need any validation from anyone, He's greatest Odi Batsman of all time

BCCI is such a spineless board to allow these losers for picking and choosing the games they play.

No wonder our cricket is in such tatters.

Only following the score for this game, but why is Pant not playing? More than t20s he seems more suited to ODIs and tests. How is KL Rahul selected over him?

BCCI is such a spineless board to allow these losers for picking and choosing the games they play.

No wonder our cricket is in such tatters.

Dhawan and Thakur should be removed, But ,Gill should open or maybe Sundar as he's lefty plus used to open in domestic if he does open we can make way for surya, Kishan is garbage , Kohli is Goat of Odi's and Rohit is beast in odis ,And then there's you want them removed and specially blaming them for statpad Lol what was the last time he played for statpading, Talking as if he has a average of 20-30 in new zealand .

Only following the score for this game, but why is Pant not playing? More than t20s he seems more suited to ODIs and tests. How is KL Rahul selected over him?

KL Rahul is from the same state as Rahul Dravid. So he can take 2 year break and come back. No question asked.

If Kohli And Rohit would've played Nz series Than Fan's Reaction: Look They don't want give chances to Young batsman, They are playing for soft runs, making useless centuries

Now they are playing Bangla series still theh have problem

kohli, Sharma :Hum kare to kare kya jaye to jaye ka bhai in fans ko hi utar do sath me pant chacha ke ye khel lenge

Flamboyant wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant has been released abruptly from the Indian ODI squad for the three-match series against Bangladesh, the BCCI said on Sunday. Pant was released following consultation with the BCCI medical team and no replacement has been sought. "In consultation with the BCCI Medical Team, Rishabh Pant has been released from the ODI squad. He will join the team ahead of the Test series. No replacement has been sought," the BCCI said in a statement.

Left-arm spinning all-rounder Axar Patel was not available for selection for the first ODI. According to sources, Axar is nursing a bruised rib after taking a hit while batting at the nets. Though no specific reason was stated for the 25-year-old Pant's release, he has been the only first team all-format player to have not got a break after the T20 World Cup in Australia last month.

Well played Rahul. We should persist with Rahul as a wicketkeeper batsman. :inti

Gill
Rohit
Kohli
Iyer
KL Rahul (wk)
Pandya
Sundar
Jadeja
Bumrah
Umran
Siraj

Deepak Chahar
Shardul thakur

Why are they playing? Not good enough bowlers, but but but as per team management they can contribute with the bat.

Shameless selection

Indian cricket n a massive decline. I have said it on the selection tamasha thread. It is not the problem with selectors, we are no longer producing young talents anymore like we used to in the past. This top 3 (Rohit-Dhawan-Kohli) used to score 80% of runs between 2013-2019 period. Almost everygame there used to be a century from either of them. So much so that our middle order hardly used to get tested. But now with them being in decline and no new talent coming up, brace for few low impactful years ahead.

oh boi, padosi's are in a spot of bother... lets complain about this bangla pitch too... 😜

Deepak Chahar
Shardul thakur

Why are they playing? Not good enough bowlers, but but but as per team management they can contribute with the bat.

Shameless selection

Gill, Samson, Kishan, Umran should be included into this playing XI. And experts like [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] thought we shouldn't try other players. Aagaya swaad? :facepalm :inti

Maybe let BD also bat on this wicket before the knives are out?

Indian cricket n a massive decline. I have said it on the selection tamasha thread. It is not the problem with selectors, we are no longer producing young talents anymore like we used to in the past. This top 3 (Rohit-Dhawan-Kohli) used to score 80% of runs between 2013-2019 period. Almost everygame there used to be a century from either of them. So much so that our middle order hardly used to get tested. But now with them being in decline and no new talent coming up, brace for few low impactful years ahead.

Four months ago it was 'Sab Changa Si' for you and now there is massive decline in Indian cricket? Massive decline doesn't happen suddenly. May be you should have listened to other posters when they were saying the exact same thing which you are saying now. You are late. :inti

Rajdeep is never late. I do listen to other posters and then give my viewpoint which becomes the bottomline. 4 months ago there was no decline as we were winning the series in England remember? Decline just started recently from the time I said it started.

BD - 30/2 (10 overs; target-187).

India are still favorites but BD have a chance.

BD - 40/2 (13 overs; target-187).

BD need a big partnership. Pitch seems sluggish.

Bangladesh is no minnow in their home grounds they haven't lost series there since last 6 years , And There isn't any decline just subcontinent fans over Reaction at everything, Pant is now removed ,Dhawan and Thakur should also be kicked team is in right direction, Just make way for surya, Sundar will be asset, He played well in Newzealand still fans have complaint them tell us whom u want to see at place of him.