Bollywood Corner

man navroks, again you dont understand my point..who am i to stop people from what they are wearing..they are free to wear and i am free to express my opinion, and so are you.. take my posts as a social commentary and not a social diktat on what anyone should wear.

what you dress has a psychological reason behind it..watch filmfare awards of early 90s..they are on youtube..you will find the actors in suits ( timeless dress) but the actresses dressed in traditional dress or modest western clothing... switch to the modern times and you see the actresses trying too as if they are having their hollywood red carpet moment..

i dont have to try too hard to sound intelligent..but the actresses are certainly trying too hard to appear different and superior.

man navroks, again you dont understand my point..who am i to stop people from what they are wearing..they are free to wear and i am free to express my opinion, and so are you.. take my posts as a social commentary and not a social diktat on what anyone should wear.

what you dress has a psychological reason behind it..watch filmfare awards of early 90s..they are on youtube..you will find the actors in suits ( timeless dress) but the actresses dressed in traditional dress or modest western clothing... switch to the modern times and you see the actresses trying too as if they are having their hollywood red carpet moment..

i dont have to try too hard to sound intelligent..but the actresses are certainly trying too hard to appear different and superior.

Oh so..wait..with time the actresses changed the way they dress in functions....so that does not make them dressing according to the time whoever first brought the change..but makes them wanna be ish??? why does men suits in the 90's get excempted from your judgement?? No...you do try so hard to sound intelligent and different....by making a so called "social commentary "on smaler things in the world !!! ofcourse you cannot stop them..when did I say I can...all I am against is your personality assessment...I am pretty sure most people were dresses coz it looks good on them..and it suits the occassion.....and I can post same actresses wearing sarees to skirts to many different dresses in different functions....you tell me one actress who has been in industry for 5 yrs...I can easily post each type of dress in different functions !!! like people were certain type of dresses to certain places...few dresses are seen more in certain functions !!!! it has nothing do with anything except for people who judge..oh wait the fancy word is social commentary on the net !!!

as "recent" as 1994-95..the actors have dressed what people normally wear to a marriage or any special occasion.. tabu and kajol at 0 : 43

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/5RpJEwOcHP8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>​

shameless bollywood,,,,one day they expresses their solidarity with delhi victim and other...and next day they are dancing and grinning

What are you doing on the internet??? did you stop working? doing your job??? having fun?....infact they atleast stopped what they do for a day..and came in support..and made the already powerfull voice more heard with their presence !!!

when bollywood has copied its name from hollywood.. when they have copied so many songs, and movies, frame by frame from hollywood, some even copy acceptance speech.. then what is surprising if they are copying hollywood style red carpet dress..it only makes sense..they aspire to be like hollywood and this is what i am against.. be original and respect will follow, no one likes a fake imitation.

Aah...look at you shifting from dressing to songs/movies....I thought we were talking about actresses not being able to pronounce and spell the stuff you can??? Nobody denies there are cases where we have copied...even hollywood has copied from different sources..and you cannot hold that against the complete industry..and 70 years of history??

We learn and copy everything from hollywood..their movie industry is a gazillion years ahead of us !!!!

I think people who respect originality in small stuff like dress is the one that is resistant to change..and or looks and judges people on what they wear....what is respectfull in somebody wearing a saree over somebody wearing a dress??? What is so original in todays women wearing a saree that you respect...she took it from somebody who wore a saree..where as other person took it from somebody who wore a dress????how is that you respect a person based on the dress they wear......I always take stuff from different people's dressing and wear them myself if I like.....how is that making me respectfull..expect in the eyes of people who are cant help but judge people on smaller things??

Btw..Bollywood is just a popular name...it is not copied...many things in the world...become popular due to ease in usage..hollywood + bombay and media..and everybody made it bollywood..it is not something all bollywood sat together and named it....chalo copy karte hain....till today many are not the fan of the name...

for many today..that is just a name..except for people who like are so inferior..that they search things to feel inferior about

So I take katrina Kaif....

This is her wearing a saree in apsara awards

Katrina_Kaif___6th_Annual_Apsara_Awards_2011_Main_Event_7.jpg

This is her wearing a salwar in filmfare

filmfare-katrina-kaif.jpg

Anarkali

Katrina%20kaif%20was%20spotted%20at%20the%20South%20asian%20carnival%20in%20this%20lovely%20Tarun%20Tahiliani%20creation._thumb%5B13%5D.jpg

Skirt at people's choice and iifa

Katrina-Kaif-at-People%E2%80%99s-Choice-Awards-2012-and-JTHJ-press-conference-311.jpg

iifa-katrina-kaif-11.jpg

t1_Katrina_Kaif_at_IIFA_2007.jpg

from the above...
So now tell me..whose problem is it if people look at the western out fits and feel inferioir and start judging personalities based on dress???I can post a few more if you like

if katrina wears saree one day and hollywood style dress the other day, that does not disprove my theory.. please note, i was not against western dress, but the hollywood style dress that is worn during oscars and golden globes.. an actress doesnt have to wear that all the time to prove me right..just the fact that she is wearing it on some occassions is enough to show that she wants to live her own red carpet dream..

In before people feel more inferior and say she wears sarees in local functions ..and not on bigger ones...

This is her in IIFA in 2006 and she wore a saree in 2008 too...google..wont post pic :D

110.jpg

what theory do you have to explain that actresses dresses changed dramatically from 90s to the present.. i watched yami gautam's video..every time she was pulling up her shoulderless dress to keep it from falling off.. poor girl, she is so pretty that she would have looked good in any normal dress but she also went for copying and looked out of place as a chicken in a church.

if katrina wears saree one day and hollywood style dress the other day, that does not disprove my theory.. please note, i was not against western dress, but the hollywood style dress that is worn during oscars and golden globes.. an actress doesnt have to wear that all the time to prove me right..just the fact that she is wearing it on some occassions is enough to show that she wants to live her own red carpet dream..

Say whaaat?? Oh okay...so you want her to wear the same type of dress every time in every single function..so that you wont feel inferior about the indian dress??just because you respect people based on their dress..and judge based on them !!! well yeah..it does not work that way!!!

Infact I realized many actresses have worn sarees in the biggest of the functions..!!

what theory do you have to explain that actresses dresses changed dramatically from 90s to the present.. i watched yami gautam's video..every time she was pulling up her shoulderless dress to keep it from falling off.. poor girl, she is so pretty that she would have looked good in any normal dress but she also went for copying and looked out of place as a chicken in a church.

Many things changed drastically in India..infact I ask you to go film fare 1996 or 1997..and see the stage performance of SRK and Rani Mukherjee ...and see Rani's dress!!!

Things change as time goes by...many things have changed...fashions change.....so you cant use your psyche degree and start psych analysis based on small things like dress...

you would have to die to see a women in jeans in india in 1990s..now it is everywhere..you attribute to changing times..and fashion....or like always inferiorirty complex..and wanna be ish...people who wear them do not put as much thought in the dress and how it shows about their mindset as much as you do ..I will tell you that !

Deepika Padukone in a saree in Cannes...Please tell me why she would wear a saree in biggest of hollywood functions she could dream of attending....if like you said have inferior feeling towards Indian dresses??? It cant be that in one function they want to be wanna be ish..and in others ..not?

Sane explanation probably is..they wear different different dresses at different times..with out doing much psych analysis ..and not feeling inferior or superior based on a stupid dress..unlike you cant resist judging thought process based on a dress !!

30slide1.jpg

And this is ash !!!
aishwarya-rai-sabyasachi-saree-pic-cannes.jpg

if normal girls had started wearing these kind of dresses then i would have agreed with your "fashion changes with time" argument.. but it is only these actresses who are wearing all these weird sort of dresses..which a cut here and there..and still not looking comfortable in it..

you may not accept, but it is because they aspire to be like hollywood and want to have their own desi red carpet moment.. anyway, all great thinkers have been ridiculed in their times...only later their wisdom is understood by the people..so i dont mind when you dont see my wisdom today.

deepika wore a saree at cannes because she knows the genuine hollywood style dressers will be coming there and she will pale in comparison..so they best way to look different and get camera clicks is by going indian.. isn't this obvious??

if normal girls had started wearing these kind of dresses then i would have agreed with your "fashion changes with time" argument.. but it is only these actresses who are wearing all these weird sort of dresses..which a cut here and there..and still not looking comfortable in it..

you may not accept, but it is because they aspire to be like hollywood and want to have their own desi red carpet moment.. anyway, all great thinkers have been ridiculed in their times...only later their wisdom is understood by the people..so i dont mind when you dont see my wisdom today.

Oh God !!!! Stop placing yourself in a higher pedestal...you do not even understand how inferior you sound by making statements like these in a arguement..almost forcing an opinion to be a greater one without much meat in it !!!! ...great thinker?? what is so in thinking the stuff you just said now..????

and I think we have explained before...these dresses are not worn even in occassions in america...these are not worn everyday by anybody.....something like an occassion dress ....peoople actually rent these dresses in USA instead of buying them..coz they do not wear it everyday....Since these dresses signify a sense of occassion ..like suits do for men for an occassion or for an official position...

Great thinkers are probably not on net judging people based on dress mate...just saying !!!!

it is irrelevant if common people in usa wear such dresses or not..the fact is that hollywood actresses wear it on these occasions..and now bollywood actresses are also wearing similar dresses during their own functions.. you dont call it copying, that is fine..just like i defend bcci always, you defend bollywood..i guess we all have things we feel defensive about.

deepika wore a saree at cannes because she knows the genuine hollywood style dressers will be coming there and she will pale in comparison..so they best way to look different and get camera clicks is by going indian.. isn't this obvious??

Twist it like you can...now tell me this..why did Ash wear a saree in one cannes...and dress in the other...use the same logic you just used..be consistent please !!

This is ash in a saree

aishwarya-rai-sabyasachi-saree-pic-cannes.jpg

ash-yellow-saree-650_051612124730.jpg

This is ash in a dress

Aishwarya-Rai-at-cannes-film-festival-1.jpg

2009-cannes-film-festival-premiere-aishwarya-rai-29022.jpg

because aish is an international face..she was the only indian face known in these circles..and she knows that..therefore she can wear anything she wants.. she knows no matter what she wears she will get the limelight. Explained.

it is irrelevant if common people in usa wear such dresses or not..the fact is that hollywood actresses wear it on these occasions..and now bollywood actresses are also wearing similar dresses during their own functions.. you dont call it copying, that is fine..just like i defend bcci always, you defend bollywood..i guess we all have things we feel defensive about.

oh please....I am not being defensive...I arguing you point by point....dresses change as time goes by...either by innovation by designers..or influence by others...like I just showed..people have worn different different dresses at different occassions..and different dresses to the same occasions in different years..throwing your inferiority complex out of the window..it is human nature to try different things..it is normal ....it has nothing to do with anything than people...

You see lot of salwar kameez wearing men in south indian weddings these days...which we took from north..that is something you take if you like it..nothing to do with inferiority or anything !!

because aish is an international face..she was the only indian face known in these circles..and she knows that..therefore she can wear anything she wants.. she knows no matter what she wears she will get the limelight. Explained.

Oh wait....So aish is known and she can wear anything she wants in cannes.....with out your inferiority logic and all..

and all the actresses who attend the award functions in india..are not known in india..so that is why they have to wear a certain type of dress ? which they do not anyway as proved..?? oh please consistency in logic is essential here....

Oh okay...I guess you and me can agree sonam kapoor is not a known face in international...now explain this using your deepika logic or ash logic if you can somehow prove sonam is known..,

so this is sonam at cannes in a dress...

Sonam_Kapoor_Cannes_15May2011C.jpg

This is her in a saree at cannes...btw..how pathetic is this saree :facepalm:

iwc2.jpg

Oh wait....So aish is known and she can wear anything she wants in cannes.....with out your inferiority logic and all..

and all the actresses who attend the award functions in india..are not known in india..so that is why they have to wear a certain type of dress ? which they do not anyway as proved..?? oh please consistency...

Oh okay...I guess you and me can agree sonam kapoor is not a known face in international...now explain this using your deepika logic or ash logic if you can somehow prove sonam is known..,

so this is sonam at cannes in a dress...

This is her in a saree at cannes...btw..how pathetic is this saree :facepalm:

in india, they wear hollywood style to look superior and different than common people.
at cannes, they wear indian to look different because they cant beat the originals in their own dress..

aish can wear anything because she is known worldwide and doesnt need to show off or copy anyone.

sonam wore hollywood style so that she can mingle with the other hollywood celebrities..here she doesnt want to be superior..but a part of them.. for her just being seen rubbing shoulders with them is enough.. of course not all actresses think alike and they dont have the same level of aspiration to be like hollywood, so i dont know what you want to proove by bringing up these examples...but whatever you bring, i can happily explain.

in india, they wear hollywood style to look superior and different than common people.
at cannes, they wear indian to look different because they cant beat the originals in their own dress..

aish can wear anything because she is known worldwide and doesnt need to show off or copy anyone.

sonam wore hollywood style so that she can mingle with the other hollywood celebrities..here she doesnt want to be superior..but a part of them.. for her just being seen rubbing shoulders with them is enough.. of course not all actresses think alike and they dont have the same level of aspiration to be like hollywood, so i dont know what you want to proove by bringing up these examples...but whatever you bring, i can happily explain.

hahaha...pure brilliance you know..twisting the logic like you can..as if you know everything !!!!!!! So they wear dresses to feel superior..using the same logic..since you also said different actresses are different..so why do the same actress wear different dresses in different functions ....please explain this too? so they want to feel inferior once..and superior once....

ROFLMAO....Deepika wore saree coz she wants to be different..sonam coz she wants to mingle..

are there any normal people in this world gentlemen...like you perhaps?:D

And you forgot to explain why sonam wore saree at cannes? poor her...did not want to mingle then...??

oh wait..I guess now she wanted to different ...

navroks..you will never become a PR manager of an actress or her stylist because you dont know the basics..

when all the cornflake labels are flashy, then the one with the most dull design stands out...basic advertising theory.. actresses apart from aspiring to look like hollywood stars, also want to look different...that is why sometimes they wear traditional to stand out..but sooner than later they go back to copying their hollywood idols.

navroks..you will never become a PR manager of an actress or her stylist because you dont know the basics..

when all the cornflake labels are flashy, then the one with the most dull design stands out...basic advertising theory.. actresses apart from aspiring to look like hollywood stars, also want to look different...that is why sometimes they wear traditional to stand out..but sooner than later they go back to copying their hollywood idols.

Wow man...so when they wear sarees....it is because they want to look different...

when they wear dresses...they want to look superior..

but then at the beggining of the discussions..,.you said something about respecting/disrespecting people who wear something..coz looks like you judge anyway !!

so you meant people who only wear saree everytime....because if they wear different things you will do your psyche analysys....I know how bollywood PR works.....

either way basically you say they do what they do for PR..so what was that nonsense about looking superior......so when they wear indian...they have to feel inferior with your logic...but they feel different now..and that is also counted against them??

So..lemme get this straight...

they want to look different from normal people..so they wear western..so they feel superior

they want to look different from superior western wearing people..so they wear indian....so they feel different.....but since we are talking about the same person....the person who was trying to be different to normal people initially is wearing the same dress as normal people to feel different from the superior western people...but now since this is the same person...she is not feeling inferior to the superior western wearing herself from before..wow !!!!

so either way the logic is gentlemen judges you either way you dress... no esaping him doing your psych analysys while he feels superior:D

This thread is fast becoming "Navrocks v/s GM", rather than Bollywood thread.

On a seperate note.....why didn't shivsena changed Bollywood to Mumllywood??

yes, always good to have discussions.. navroks adds colour and variety to this thread, while i add my social commentary and intelligence..

Shiv sena/MNS have forced directors in the past to remove any reference to Bombay in their movies..they have also protested to get marathi artists the first preference in the industry and have promoted marathi movies.

yes, always good to have discussions.. navroks adds colour and variety to this thread, while i add my social commentary and intelligence..

Ummmm....do you mean, you don't add any color.....color less fellow and Navrocks doesn't posts with intelligence????

Hmmm.....Nice.

Ummmm....do you mean, you don't add any color.....color less fellow and Navrocks doesn't posts with intelligence????

Hmmm.....Nice.

if i say Lara brings grace and timing and Dravid beings grit and determination doesn't mean either of those lack the other thing..it is just something that catches your eye first. navroks is my dear friend, we just dont agree with each other on most things.

haha...you are just hurt about our last discussion!! lol .... I actually think I agree with you on most things...sometimes you post exactly what I wanted to say...our only point of disagreement comes from your obsession with analyzing people using trivial things..and your thing about proving people are suffering from inferiority complex whatever they do!!!

no you have never hurt me..i have been hurt on PP only twice and both times i left the forum..sulked for a few days and then came back.. if you had hurt me, i wouldn't be here posting.

now back to Bollywood topic.. why do they have the IIFA awards.. (international indian film academy awards).. they only represent bollywood with a token non bollywood film at best.. so why call it indian, and not call it Bollywood Film Academy Award.

why does bollywood thinks that it represents india? fine, let them think, but who gave them the rights to using India for their awards.

Yeah...that has been a issue..after likes of kamal hassan protested...they have added south indian cinema since last year...

south indian cinemas have been added as token gesture to give some validity to their "Indian" title in the award.. what i dont like is that bollywood by default gets called Indian, while other movies have to use qualifiers..like south indian.. just like white americans are simply called americans not european americans, but everyone else is called african american, asian american etc.

Lol....true ..no denying that !!! however I really do not see the point of adding south indian cinema in IIFA..I think it is better IIFA changes it name...

South indian cinema has 4 languages..4 different industries...except tamil..none of the languages are spoken away from india other than the people who migrated....nor or the movies dubbed ..

Bollywood is watched by many outside india.....in places like morocco...middle east....many places bollywood stars are household names....recently srk and everybody went to morocco for a film festival and it was amazing to see the response.......

I think Tamil industry should have its own iifa kinda of thing ...coz it has huge audience in srilanka...singapore...maldives etc etc....

Telugu/Malayalam/Kannada...no point really.....we have our local awards ..and those are enough......people are so mad about cinema in south..that with one state ..biggest movies collect around 70+ crores easily....

but since they have included now...last year was the start..and many people did attend....they make it more prominent !!!!

well navroks if you start agreeing and adding to the point then i don't know how to react...i thought you will say please go and show your intelligence in some other thread :(

^^^ Lol...I argue not to argue with you..but to put my point across....I was one of the people who always disliked the name IIFA......

Here is something both of you will like -

http://diptakirti.blogspot.com/

Immense tid bits of bollywood for Navrocks and coming from a Kolkata-wala for GM.

Looks like a good blog..will read. I just read the first two on the page...

in the first post...Brilliantly said about Ram Gopal Varma. For me...I think he was one of the most important director in the history of Indian cinema...in bringing parallel different cinema into more commercially viable mainstream bollywood....I think he was the starting point of emergence of different directors in bollywood...the likes of Anurag Kashyap...Madhur Bhandarkar...Shimit Amin ...Vishal Bharadwaj....Krishna Vamsi (Telugu director) were all his directors...the low budged shot film culture we see today in india..due to which many talents are coming through...was also started by him...by making movies like Kaun on a shoe string budget..... And the sheer number of actors he has introduced ...manoj bajpai...Rajpal Yadav..Randeep Hoda..Vivek Oberai....Shaurabh Shukla....Urmila...Vijay Raaz.... and while doing so also started a production factory for young directors to make movies....likes of Ab Tak Chappan...Ek Hasina Thi.... the author did not mention a telugu film he did after Shiva with Sridevi , Venkatesh and PAresh Rawal called Kshnam Kshnam.....one of his finest works...brilliant comedy..and another telugu movie in the same period called "Anaganaga Oka roju" with Urmila and JD Chakravarthi (Satya)....and his first real attempt at Gangster called " Gayam" ...much before his eclaimed Satya...Even Gayam is comparable to Satya/Company....that period from 1989 to Company(2003) was just brilliant..

Classics -- Shiva. Kshanakshanam, Gaayam,Rangeela, Satya(one of the best gangster movie ever ), Kaun, Company,Bhooth

Good -- Raat, Daud, Antham(Drohi in hindi), Deyyam ( his Telugu horror movie with JD chakri in 1996 much before Bhooth,Jungle, Govinda Govinda(Sridevi and Nagarjuna),Daud

His only bad movie from 1989 to 2003...was a telugu movied called Premkatha with nagarjuna's nephew..which he did as a favor to nagarjuna who launched him in Shiva...

And while doing so he produced Mani Ratnam's Dil se, Co wrote Mani Ratnam's Tamil movie called Thiruda Thirudi.., Produced two classic telugu comedies called Money and Money Money, Produced amazing movies like Ek hasina thi and Ab Tak Chappan with new directors and Nana patekar as lead in ab tak chappan...!!! and he did all of this with no stars except Aamir Khan..and taking unconventional subjets....

Whatever happened to this guy after 2004 is a mystery...his supposedyly good works like Sarkar,Sarkar Raj, Nishabd( I actually rate this movie highly), Rann ..are not a patch on his previous works !!!

Hopefully he returns with 26/11...

as you can see I am a huge fan of this guy.....if we are seeing sensible movies in bollywood Today...and they have a market....Ram Gopal Varma is one of the biggest reasons!!

a director is a product of his times..directors who make great movies in a period can be flops when people's taste changes.. subhash ghai was a big director who made epic movies like karz, ram lakhan, saudagar..but his recent movies were flop.

ramu was great because he gave something new to us..but when he started repeating it he hasnt found success..the usual weird camera angles just for the sake of it..and latching onto any controversial topic to make a movie out of it.. his days are over..he will be remembered for satya as well as ramu ki aag..the good with the crap.

a director is a product of his times..directors who make great movies in a period can be flops when people's taste changes.. subhash ghai was a big director who made epic movies like karz, ram lakhan, saudagar..but his recent movies were flop.

ramu was great because he gave something new to us..but when he started repeating it he hasnt found success..the usual weird camera angles just for the sake of it..and latching onto any controversial topic to make a movie out of it.. his days are over..he will be remembered for satya as well as ramu ki aag..the good with the crap.

I dont think Subhash Ghai's movies are pathbreaking as such like Ramu.....And it certainly is not change....because if Satya was made today it would still been a hit..or even Rangeela or Company....I think a movie becomes a great movie if it stands a test of time.....From Shiva to Company in 2003...he made atleast 15 movies...which stand the test of time....His fascination with wierd camera angles actually started much later...mostly his obsession with Naach...previously the angles were unconventional but appropriate......you are not nauseated..and it was a refreshing change...I read on article on Shiva on " 20 yrs of Shiva" couple of yrs back....and many angles which he used for the first time are still used by so called "today's directors" ....likes Satya..Rangeela...Kaun....Bhooth....all his movies had varied treatment towards them ..not the same like he is doing now !!!.....Since Naach...he has become obsessive with camera angles......if Ramu had actually stayed like he was..he would have actually lasted the test of time..more so in this era where different movies are lapped on more...and would have still stayed the best !!..but he has actually regressed as a director completely...Department was the lowest he could go..........

Likes of Ghai never made movies that stand the test of time..... Ramu was not usual before company..he made gangster movies....Romantic musicals..Psychological horrors...horror...Road movies...Comedy....!!!! He actually lost what he had before....unlike Ghai whose talents now are outdated...though he did not loose it !!! There is not much of a treatment different between Taal and Kisna and Yuvraaj....but Taal was just made in the right generation....Ghai did not loose it....audience movied on. With Ramu...he lost it !!

i fully agree that ramu has lost it..not with that audience would still love it if he made movies like company and satya now.. his movies had something new then but after that they became predictable..you know what you are going to watch but you still watch it because that is what you want.. his movies stopped surprising us.. department is not the lowest..his lowest is 26/11.. he went to the taj hotel right after the attack and claimed that he didnt go for any movie and now he is coming up with a movie on that.. shameless and insensitive to visit a grave to get ideas about making money and trying to revive his own career.. wish he had not made this movie.. he will convert a tragedy into another mishmash of weird camera angels and glorified violence..

^^^^ Ramu said..when he went he had no intention on making the movie...he went because he was with deshmukh at that time...and now since all the facts are out...he is making the movie....and the movie is also based on a best seller book written by somebody on the incident/kasab....and it is just the book adaptation...and the author of the book is actually the movie writer...and screenplay !!!! And apparently most part of the money from the movie after it reaches the budget is going towards the victims....bombay police and all concerned authorities saw the movie recently and are okay with it...and movie got selected to berlin film festival !!!! I think Ramu is one of those directors who gets excited by an idea...if money was his main aim he would have much easily done more commercial cinema !!! camera angles..and violence...agreed...that is his trademark !! I think he is coming with a decent movie this time from initial news i heard....

Bollywood is recognized as Indian film industry mainly because its movies are in Hindi and that my dear South Indians, is our national language no matter what. Learn it, accept it and move on. :)

Bollywood movies are in hinglish and the songs are in Urdu/punjabi.. and Hindi is thankfully not our national language...jai periyar!

and the country with majority hindi speakers had to borrow national anthem and national songs written in bengali.

Bollywood is recognized as Indian film industry mainly because its movies are in Hindi and that my dear South Indians, is our national language no matter what. Learn it, accept it and move on. :)

Do you see anybody holding on to it..crying about it?however..hindi is not our national language...we do not have a national language as far as I know....

but seriously the arroagance with which you say...leant it and accept is nauseating !!! we would learn and accept it if we want to ....I have no problem with bollywood being called indian film industry...because south indian cinema has no point outside india because of the language....and it is okay...because the audience that it needs to are aware it of the industry and lap it up....and it cannot expand more outside of its state....but bollywood can ..so seriously most of us are okay !!! if you could stop being arrogant about it ..it would be nice..coz if you look objectively there is a very good point why indian film industry should not just mean bollywood..coz we make as many movies with as much quality and equally good cinema!! and some of the biggest in bollywood are from southern cinema...like Rahman for instance !!!!

although i respect all languages..but because of the pro hindi brigade and the myth of the national language...i avoid speaking in hindi..i prefer urdu over hindi and even muslims have asked me whether i am a muslim by the way i speak.. but the sweetest language of all (for me)..is Bangla.. no wonder bengalis make the best sweetmeats.

there is a very good point why indian film industry should not just mean bollywood..coz we make as many movies with as much quality and equally good cinema!! and some of the biggest in bollywood are from southern cinema...like Rahman for instance

When did i oppose it? I think the IIFA awards should include films from all of our regions in their respective languages.

As for my other remark, it will only sound arrogant to those who are arrogant towards Hindi at first place. :)

although i respect all languages..but because of the pro hindi brigade and the myth of the national language...i avoid speaking in hindi.

It's not just you, almost everyone is like that in South and it certainly creates a divide.

IIFA is like Oscars wannabes.. while oscars is mostly for movies made by hollywood and some foreign film category is kept as a token award to give it the global touch.. IIFA is for movies made in bollywood with some south indian movies added to give it a national touch.

It's not just you, almost everyone is like that in South and it certainly creates a divide.

the divide is created by those who want to impose hindi and expect everyone to know it and say that it is the national language..for that reason i turn anti hindi in the presence of such people.

IIFA can't be Oscar wannabe. They reward quality cinema, we do the exact opposite.

When did i oppose it? I think the IIFA awards should include films from all of our regions in their respective languages.

As for my other remark, it will only sound arrogant to those who are arrogant towards Hindi at first place. :)

Lol..do I sound like some one who is arrogant against hindi? :D..if I do....will I create and participate and discuss hindi cinema so much...

you know I am usually not into hating languages or changing my language because of others opinions on that language....too very unimportant and trivial..I do not even love my language telugu that much....loving a language is kinda absurd to me...or may be I do not understand it...as long as two people can speak and understand...language parts ends there !!

IIFA is like Oscars wannabes.. while oscars is mostly for movies made by hollywood and some foreign film category is kept as a token award to give it the global touch.. IIFA is for movies made in bollywood with some south indian movies added to give it a national touch.

Everything is not being a wanna be.....South indian IIFA is actually not part of the bollywood IIFA..both are different events held differently on different days... unlike Oscars..and as freelance said...our awards are just shows...they do not award to quality cinema!!!

we just dance...and give away awards to decent work..and people who come to the show !!!

Lol..do I sound like some one who is arrogant against hindi? :D..if I do....will I participate create and participate and discuss hindi cinema so much...

you know I am usually not into hating languages or changing my language because of others opinions on that language....too very unimportant and trivial..I do not even love my language telugu that much....loving a language is kinda absurd to me...or may be I do not understand it...as long as two people can speak and understand...language parts ends there !!

quoting you just like that..because i love to quote you.

i dont expect anyone to know or even appreciate my language..love for language is like your love for your mom...everyone thinks that his mom is the bestest.

but i dont like this myth of hindi as the national language..and the disdain in which a hindi speaker says, i dont know kannada..or i dont know tamil..and how they see a tamilian refusing to speak in hindi as anti national.. for that reason, i proudly say sorry i dont know hindi well..can we speak in english..or use heavy urdu words..just that they understand that my indianness is not defined by how good my hindi is.

^^^ Going to sleep now..will reply 2marrow !!! it is almost 12 here..have to get up at 5 am 2marrow !!!

To be honest, i am least concerned about the 'national language' thing. It already is in so many ways and that's how it will always be. What i don't understand is the grudge that people have with Hindi. Like Gentleman just mentioned here, that he starts speaking Urdu (and modern day spoken hindi by the way is mixed up with Urdu as well Genty, they are kind of inseparable) while with the hindi speaking brigade.

People are cool with English as the international language for communication but not with a native language which has its reach everywhere in India. You may not find that much Punjabi, Telugu, Gujrati, Bengali outside of their main territory but Hindi is bloody everywhere and plenty of it, its on tv programs-news channels-internet-movies etc , you will have plenty of people around you speaking it, yet you come across people like Gentleman who will ignore and refuse to communicate in it despite understating and knowing how to speak.

Learning a native language that connects all of India is no shame to your regional pride.

Hindi and Urdu have the same basic structure and grammar..but separate words.. they are separable in that sense...so to tease a hindi speaker..someone who assumes i should be knowing hindi..i use urdu words..like i would call west bengal as surkh riyasat..thursday as jume-raat...east and west as mashriq and maghrib.. it is fun to see their confusion..and i shrug off saying my hindi is weak..

i am cool with english because no one has tried to use my knowledge of english as a measure of how much indian i am.. but that is the case with hindi..you are supposed to know hindi or at least make an effort to learn it...why because it is spoken by the majority.. because it is national while others are regional.. i say hindi is also a regional language..it is spoken in the northern regions..and it the regional pride of the hindi speakers which is being forced on the rest.. no shame in learning hindi but i dont want to be part of the regional supremacy by the hindi speaking regions..so i avoid it whenever i can.

People don't judge your patriotism by your prowess in Hindi, it's the other way around. It's your reluctance to learn and accept a national (yes national) language that makes them doubt it. You have actually made things clear here, many people can indeed understand and talk in Hindi but will just act like they don't know only because of the negative feelings they have harboured. Way too much insecurity i would say as there is no cultural supremacy here but loads of political BS. What is being forced on you? And even if it is for the sake of having one common national language to connect everybody instead of using English then why it is so bad? Where is the shame in learning a language that has deep roots in Indian history?

I would gladly learn Tamil if it was the more popular and widely spoken language in India. Won't hurt my ego or cultural pride.

Btw Genty, you don't have to care about your patriotism because you don't have it anyway. #Multination theory #Bengal-Jharkhand etc etc, seen it all. So i can't take your opinion seriously as far as patriotism is concerned.

If by your logic Hindi is national language of India since its spoken by many people, then our national bird should be crow not peacock.

don't thrust your language upon us as we don't thrust our language on you.

Language used for connecting to other peoples of my country is my choice is not what majority of the people think.

For all the guys who say we should learn hindi, first u guys at least learn anyone of the regional languages and then come and tell us to learn hindi. It should be two way not one way

With Pakistan....Urdu was easily enforced in what is West Pakistan as a 'national language'. We created a nation, and had to create an identity to go with it. Urdu was part of that, and was positioned as the language of the muslim court in India. That wasn't really the case, but anyway....

With India, you have all these North Indians who have adopted Hindi, and are trying to force it on the rest. They tried to do it officialy. Failed, and are now using 'soft power', i.e. bollywood et all, to make it happen. I know someone from Rajasthan....he doesn't know a word of Marwari, but says Rajasthan has pretty much adopted Hindi as the state language.

Will happen to the rest of India too....slowly slowly.

And GM is right...Hindi is a regional language. It just happens to be the regional language around Delhi. You have regional variants of Hindi, like Braj Bhasha, Avadhi, Bhojpuri, etc which are disappearing too.

For what its worth...India would be going down a very dangerous road by trying to have Hindi as the language of the majority. Not only do you risk some states getting offended - language riots in the South, Pakistan Bangaldesh situation....but you risk condeming these regional languages, which are a cultural hertitage, to history.

Other problem with Bollywood is Punjabi-isation. How come a huge percentage of bollywood movies are based on a North Indian Hindu Punjabi Character. Punjabi songs everywhere. Punjabi lines stuck in here and there. This year you had Kahaani and English Vinglish. Bengali and Marathi characters. Different culture. In English Vinglish there was even a Marathi song. Have more of that, and less of Mika singing Punjabi trash...and I say that as a half Punjabi.

FC......don't bully the bullywood thread !!!

Navrocks - Agree with your analysis on RGV. His downfall started when he began to think that he can dish out anything and people will accept it. Daud was one such creation - A1 cast, hit songs but still movie flopped, cause there was no substance in the movie.

As soon as a director thinks, he is above the product and people will come to just watch as it is his movie, that is the point when his downfall starts.

With Pakistan....Urdu was easily enforced in what is West Pakistan as a 'national language'. We created a nation, and had to create an identity to go with it. Urdu was part of that, and was positioned as the language of the muslim court in India. That wasn't really the case, but anyway....

With India, you have all these North Indians who have adopted Hindi, and are trying to force it on the rest. They tried to do it officialy. Failed, and are now using 'soft power', i.e. bollywood et all, to make it happen. I know someone from Rajasthan....he doesn't know a word of Marwari, but says Rajasthan has pretty much adopted Hindi as the state language.

Will happen to the rest of India too....slowly slowly.

And GM is right...Hindi is a regional language. It just happens to be the regional language around Delhi. You have regional variants of Hindi, like Braj Bhasha, Avadhi, Bhojpuri, etc which are disappearing too.

For what its worth...India would be going down a very dangerous road by trying to have Hindi as the language of the majority. Not only do you risk some states getting offended - language riots in the South, Pakistan Bangaldesh situation....but you risk condeming these regional languages, which are a cultural hertitage, to history.

Other problem with Bollywood is Punjabi-isation. How come a huge percentage of bollywood movies are based on a North Indian Hindu Punjabi Character. Punjabi songs everywhere. Punjabi lines stuck in here and there. This year you had Kahaani and English Vinglish. Bengali and Marathi characters. Different culture. In English Vinglish there was even a Marathi song. Have more of that, and less of Mika singing Punjabi trash...and I say that as a half Punjabi.
Excellent post.India has two languages for central administrative purposes Hindi and English.The English language is a tie that helps bind the many segments of our society together.India is the world's second largest English speaking country after the USA

If by your logic Hindi is national language of India since its spoken by many people, then our national bird should be crow not peacock.

don't thrust your language upon us as we don't thrust our language on you.

Language used for connecting to other peoples of my country is my choice is not what majority of the people think.

For all the guys who say we should learn hindi, first u guys at least learn anyone of the regional languages and then come and tell us to learn hindi. It should be two way not one way

No doubt we can have a discussion regarding that and make crow our national bird. I am open to that idea. No insecurity there either. :)

As far as learning a regional language is concerned, most North Indians already have their our regional languages. Some with more and some with less similarities with Hindi. Point is, people are not asking you to forget your mother tongue, they are just asking your to learn another native language to be connected to the rest of India. If that's an insult to you, then politics has ruined you to the core.

Enough of this Language nonsense......

57 yr old ..the legend...the Icon...Sunny Paaji will be back this year in a cute avatar with Kangana Ranaut in " I love New Year" !!!

ksgsS.jpg

I-Love-New-York-posters-wallpapers-hd-.jpg

Dont say enough of this nonsense naveen garu...you promised last night before going to bed..that you will reply...and whole day i have been waiting for you. So dont be shy and express what you think of hindi being the common language to unite indians.

Who thought the day would come when Hopeless Biscuit would be giving the benefit of his social skills to Pak Passion?