Bollywood Corner

Have nothing against her age, but so far her only achievements have been to win the miss world and become a bahu of the bachchan family. None of them related to acting. So doubt she is going to do anything special in her comeback. At least Sri Devi did very well because she didnt try to look young, and picked a role suited to her. But Ash seems to be trying too hard to look young. Sadly there is no place for her in Bollywood unless she re invents herself.

1. She is playing her age. Believe she is playing a police officer in Jazbaa...and in her movie Ranbir ..she is playing women whom Ranbir is in love with and who is much older to Ranbir.

2. As far as acting goes...she is bad in initial career (Jeans, Josh etc ). But I did think she improved a lot later on...obviously she is no Merly streep..but did hold her characters well. Check out.. Raincoat, Provoked, Guru, Jodha Akbar etc etc... It is entertainment industry...as long as she does justice to the roll she takes...she is fine and which she did later on in her career ..she still looks like a million bucks !

3. Sridevi is 50+ ...Ashwarya Rai is 41. Everybody does not need to similar roles.

4. Nothing to do with her age? What was that Midlife crisis comment about then?

1. She is playing her age. Believe she is playing a police officer in Jazbaa...and in her movie Ranbir ..she is playing women whom Ranbir is in love with and who is much older to Ranbir.

2. As far as acting goes...she is bad in initial career (Jeans, Josh etc ). But I did think she improved a lot later on...obviously she is no Merly streep..but did hold her characters well. Check out.. Raincoat, Provoked, Guru, Jodha Akbar etc etc... It is entertainment industry...as long as she does justice to the roll she takes...she is fine and which she did later on in her career ..she still looks like a million bucks !

3. Sridevi is 50+ ...Ashwarya Rai is 41. Everybody does not need to similar roles.

4. Nothing to do with her age? What was that Midlife crisis comment about then?

Ok, then it is a matter of perception. I am not sure if she won any national award for acting. And never found her to be a good actress (although she is better than katrina kaifs, which is not saying much).

That mid life comment was a speculation. Usually the cleavage show increases when these celebs are on the wrong side of their age, and they try to look saucy. eg Kate Winslet. I might be wrong though.

Was just browsing and came across this recent Photoshoot of Aishwarya Rai by Vogue..Probably her first after comeback. totally different look with Bangs ( I believe that is what hairstyle is called??) ..never seen her in this look. Looking hot..she cant look bad even if she tried. Looking forword to her comeback films.. Action movie Jazbaa with Irfan Khan and another Karan Johar directorial with Anushka Sharma, Aishwarya Rai and Ranbeer Kapoor.

View attachment 54847
View attachment 54848
View attachment 54850
View attachment 54852
View attachment 54853
View attachment 54851
View attachment 54849

Karan Johar directorial is named as Ae Dil Hai Mushkil ! What a Karan Johar name...hopefully it is not melodramatic mess he makes as movies.

Ok, then it is a matter of perception. I am not sure if she won any national award for acting. And never found her to be a good actress (although she is better than katrina kaifs, which is not saying much).

That mid life comment was a speculation. Usually the cleavage show increases when these celebs are on the wrong side of their age, and they try to look saucy. eg Kate Winslet. I might be wrong though.

Not a National Award actor by any means. But I think if Saif can get it for hum tum..she could have easily got it for Raincoat or ChokerBali...both by bengali director Rituparno Ghosh....did you see any of his bengali movies? any recommendations? I loved Raincoat.

The bachchan family could have used their political connections to arrange a national award (it happens). Saif won a national award? He is not even an actor..he is just Kareena's husband. Aish is definitely better than this fake actor.
Never watched raincoat, heard it was depressing. Rituparno's movies are not of my taste. I am more interested in the man (for reasons i cannot disclose here).

The bachchan family could have used their political connections to arrange a national award (it happens). Saif won a national award? He is not even an actor..he is just Kareena's husband. Aish is definitely better than this fake actor.
Never watched raincoat, heard it was depressing. Rituparno's movies are not of my taste. I am more interested in the man (for reasons i cannot disclose here).

yeah, it is depressing but heartwarming at the same time. I consider it was Aish's best work..Ajay Devgn was great as well. Yeah, the man is definately interesting..needs guts to live how he lived and make movies he made..very opinionated on lot of things considered 'Taboo' in our society..but desperately needs addressing . died to soon !

In 2010, a homosexual professor, Shrinivas Ramchandra Siras was suspended from the Aligarh Muslim University because of his sexual orientation, and then found dead in his house, thereby throwing open a Pandora's Box of possibilities. While the law takes its own course in finding out the cause of Siras' death, filmmaker Hansal Mehta's film, titled Aligarh, is currently being filmed. Manoj Bajpayee plays the role of a gay professor in the film, and as is not very un-understandable from the title, the film draws inspiration from facts. About 80% of the film has been shot in Bareilly, and Aligarh comes out sometime after September this year. Quite tight-lipped about the film, Bajpayee spoke to IndiaToday.in about how he had to un-learn everything that he's known till date, in order to step into the shoes of this character, how he wanted the 'pure' story to be told to the audience, and more. Excerpts from the conversation:

In an earlier interview, you'd said that you've always limited your work, partly because you're very lazy, and partly because not everything excites you. What is it that excited you to work with Hansal Mehta this time - his National Award, the story of Aligarh?

The script. For me, it's always the script. The script which gives me the chance to do something new; that has been my prime objective ever since I started acting. There's nothing else that excites me more than that. Hansal and I had earlier given a great film, long time back, called Dil Pe Mat Le Yaar, when he had just started as a filmmaker. And then when I saw Shahid, I was completely taken by the way he treated the film; the kind of expertise he's acquired over the years.

So, is this a sort of ghar wapsi for the two of you, then; you know, working with each other again?

We've known each other for over eighteen years now. He's one of those guys who used to make serials, and we've worked together in one or two of those series. Then, when I got a bit of recognition, I told him to write a script for me, and I eventually loved the script that he and Saurabh Shukla have come up with.

So, is Aligarh basically based on Ramchandra Siras' story - the 2010 incident?

I will not go into all of that, but yes, there are references from the story. It is based on facts, to a certain extent. The film is based on a true story, and there's no apology about it. Beyond that, I can't really reveal much. At this point of time, because the world has become so touchy, I'd not like to divulge anything about this. There's too much of money going into it; there's a lot at stake… it's not really advisable for me to get into those details right now. But yes, this film is something that has given me a lot of satisfaction, as far as performing this role is concerned. I've tried something completely new as an actor. I've forgotten everything that I've learned so far and have tried to explore something new in terms of approaching a role…let's see how people find it.

manoj-mos_650_030315070217.jpg

To 377, then. This is probably the first time you're dabbling in this kind of a role. What is your stand on the entire LGBT debate?

India is too big a population to talk about. But I accept homosexuality. I accept homosexuals the way they are. That's all I have to say.

Talking of homosexuality in India, there's this recent incident where the Censor Board muted the word 'lesbian' in the film Dum Laga Ke Haisha. And now we have you playing a homosexual professor in Aligarh. Are you anticipating any kind of awkwardness, as far as the CBFC is concerned?

I don't think so. We'll go to any extent to get this film passed. We live in a democratic country, and I take great pride in saying that I'm from India, a country where democracy is worshipped and freedom of expression is part and parcel of any person's fundamental right. With that belief, we're making the film, and I hope we're right in doing so.

During a 2012 interview, you'd said to me that 'a lot of commercial films are not being made these days'. The lines between commercial and parallel cinema are obviously blurring, but we still have…say a Happy New Year, or any out-and-out commercial film for that matter, making hundreds of crores, while people still find it difficult to sit through a film like an Ugly. Where exactly would you place yourself vis-a-vis the commercial/parallel debate? Like, you've been a thoroughly performance-oriented actor, but what is a 'successful' film for you? Is the money an indicator; or the critical acclaim…what is it?

For me, money has never been an indicator. And it is very sad that each and every film these days is being judged by the money that it makes. It's a world that I don't want to be a part of, and I try and stay away from that. For me, when I choose a script, I put my heart and soul into it, and that is exactly what I look for in a film. A good film is a good film. And if it's a bad film, irrespective of whether it's made 300 crores or 200 crores or any amount of money, it doesn't matter to me. That's my opinion, I respect it and I completely stand by it.

You've mostly stuck to performance-oriented roles. Be it a Sardar Khan in a Gangs of Wasseypur or a Mithilesh Singh in an Aarakshan. Has a singing-dancing out-and-out hero-ish role never attracted you?

Earlier, you know, when I started getting a bit of recognition, I did try and make some middle-of-the-road cinema. And when the financers of those films pushed the directors to have those songs and dances in the films, I felt terrible doing them. Then I decided to not be a part of all of that. The songs and dances resulted in a lot of guilt for me…this is something that I'm neither really comfortable with nor convinced about. Each and every song that you put into a film, without fail, obstructs the storytelling.

So, then, as far as you're concerned, would you opt for a, say, sans song-and-dance Hollywood noir or so?

I wouldn't say Hollywood noir, because I don't have to look at Hollywood in order to see the storytelling intact. I've done many films where there are no songs, and some of them did well at the Box Office, too. You can have songs in the background; for example, the way Anurag Kashyap used those songs in Gangs of Wasseypur, and they were all very popular.

To come back to Aligarh, it's not everyday that a filmmaker makes a film which has the potential to spark a controversy, although every second film these days ends up offending someone or the other. And somewhere, ironically, having the potential to offend someone, in a way, has now become the measurement of a good film. If the film doesn't offend anyone, it sort of loses credibility, or so the prevalent notion of the day goes. Do you actually think - hope - that your film will ruffle some feathers somewhere; offend someone?

Like I'd said, I feel it's my right to express what I think is right, and I have the right to tell a story. I don't think anyone will be offended by a story. Aligarh is a very pure story, about a pure heart. It's the way we're dealing with a person on the screen…it's not the way we're dealing with the society. We're trying to show a person and his struggle, and we're not making a judgment about the society here. I don't see why anyone should be offended.

It's you know, like, you were pointing out how it's such a touchy society now…

Yes, the society is like that now. The government should come up with a concrete policy or some rules…the courts need to pass some very strict judgments about it all. Else, it will be very difficult to make films here. But having said that, we're not foreseeing all of that. We can't make a film worrying about whether or not some people will be offended. It's just a story that attracted us, and we're being very true to it…that's all I've got to say.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/...-professor-first-look-interview/1/422080.html

Above Interview is from Manoj Bajpyee, He is playing lead in Hansal Mehta 's Next as a Gay Professor who had to face problems from Aligarh University. Inspired from the real story of Shrinivas Ramchandra Siras .

If anybody did not watch Hansal Mehta's Shahid...do yourself a favor and watch it.

Above Interview is from Manoj Bajpyee, He is playing lead in Hansal Mehta 's Next as a Gay Professor who had to face problems from Aligarh University. Inspired from the real story of Shrinivas Ramchandra Siras .

If anybody did not watch Hansal Mehta's Shahid...do yourself a favor and watch it.

Looks like it will be a god movie, for once giving respect to people having different sexual orientation. Not like the typical bollywood jokes on gays. And I think it will be controversial because Aligarh university guys will say it is defaming their city and university.

^^^ True .According to Karan Johar who we all know his orientation is...There was this forum where Karan Johar, Onir and other directors who dealt with subject were invited to speak...And according to Karan... He has those Gay jokes in his movies he produces or directs because so that conversation to start in the country and to remove it from the society as a Taboo. For example, Kiran Kher a typical punjabi mother accepts John Abraham as her 'Bahu' in Dostana as priyanka explains to her why it is okay. That was his logic. However Onir, more serious director who deals with subjects like this said...it only added to more stereotyping and caricaturish potrayal will not help in the long run....as more mature discussion need to be had. Karan actually dealt it seriously in his short film he directed that is part of the movie 'Mumbai Talkies' starrring Rani, Saqeeb Salim and Randeep Hoda. There was even a kiss between Randeep and Saqeeb. It was a very interesting debate, at work now..so cant search for youtube link.

Was listening to some old tracks on youtube and came across this one, damn music these days has gone down in quality overall. Some good tracks still coming, but nothing like this one. Makes me feel so motivated to really do something in my career and future life :)

The first thing I see in this song is Rajput College (it was also in Jo jeeta wahi sikandar). The casteism in Bollywood never gets old. Amir Khan had played a rajput in this movie. Caste had no relevance in the plot, but Bollywood is like that dog's tail..always glorifying certain castes.

Omg, stop nit picking things and criticizing every little thing.

Enjoy the content for what it is and that's it.

yeah why won't they considering your wife is one.One should always take pride in his/her roots.I am not talking about showing fake superiority over others but a little pride won't hurt.

In last few years Bollywoood is also promoting South culture and there is no need for it when South itself have a big industry

Was listening to some old tracks on youtube and came across this one, damn music these days has gone down in quality overall. Some good tracks still coming, but nothing like this one. Makes me feel so motivated to really do something in my career and future life :)

This song makes you motivated to do something? :))

It was more to motivate to pursue your love: "mera toh sapna hai ek chehra" and "lekin yeh toh koi na jaane ke meri maanzil hai kahan"

NH10 getting anonymous potitive reviews all over..... apparently a very gripping gutsy thriller. Praise for Anushka Sharma all over....

A Very decent start for 2015..for Bollywood...Badlapur...and Then Dum Lagake Haisa which is still growing strong and adding theatres...and now NH10....

Think this year will be good with so many more interesting movies to come unlike 2014

Byomkesh Bakshi Trailer 2

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/s1QeoSedWmM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

NH10 getting anonymous potitive reviews all over..... apparently a very gripping gutsy thriller. Praise for Anushka Sharma all over....

A Very decent start for 2015..for Bollywood...Badlapur...and Then Dum Lagake Haisa which is still growing strong and adding theatres...and now NH10....

Think this year will be good with so many more interesting movies to come unlike 2014

She is a wonderful actress. Her lips are back to normal too, so I expect her to do really well in future.

How is that movie about the fat actress? Good to see that it has a fat and average looking woman in the lead role. As much as I hate fat people, it is restricted to men, who have no reason not to work out. Women (the middle class ones) don't have that opportunity in our society.

My mom and dad watched it, they didn't find it as interesting as the trailers suggested.

My GF is kind of forcing me to watch DDLJ. I told her that I haven't watched KKHH, DDLJ and other major Shahrukh hits, and take pride in it. So now she insists that I watch them and says that you don't watch them so that you can say you are different from others.

does anyone know abt this british actress Amy Jackson. does tamil and some hindi movies

why the heck is she casted as an indian in some of the movies lol???

does anyone know abt this british actress Amy Jackson. does tamil and some hindi movies

why the heck is she casted as an indian in some of the movies lol???

Well..she played a British Girl in her first movie which required her to be a british girl...called madharasapattinam it is story when India is still ruled by british...from there on she attained a bit of recognition and stardom..and movie was one of biggest critical and commercial success that year in Tamil..and won awards. Even in her next movie 'Thandavam' ..she played a british girl....

Other movies have just been using her as a pretty actress..I thin kshe did a good job in vikram's recent Tamil movie 'I'...

But yeah ..mainly for her looks ...she will go away soon !

Akshay Kumar and Sidharth's Brothers...Directed by Karan Malhotra (director of agneepath)..First look Poster

Movie is an Official remake of Hollywood movie Warriors...Original producers and Karan Johar together are producing the movie...

brothers-first-look.jpg

Any news on Shahid's and Arjun Kapoor's next flick as per Ranbir I know its Bombay Velvet

^^^

shahid Kapoor movies:

Shandar starring Alia Bhatt and his father Pankaj Kapoor. Directed by Vikas Bahl (director of Queen )..It is a destination wedding comedy. Releasing September 2015

Udta Punjab Starring Alia Bhatt , Kareena Kapoor ...Directed by Abhishek Chaubey(director of Ishqiya series)..Produced by Anurag Kashyap...It is about Drug trade and use in modern day punjab. Release late 2015 or early 2016.

Arjun Kapoor : No movies signed yet..After Tevar. He said he has been working nonstop since Ishqiya..after Tevar's disaster will take time off and sign if any good script comes by.

So it's confirmed:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Official: SRK's next Dilwale releases this Christmas. Rohit Shetty directs. Kajol, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon are the other lead co-actors.</p>— SRK Universe (@SRKUniverse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SRKUniverse/status/576479025775800320">March 13, 2015</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Other starcast: Varun Sharma, Johny Lever, Sanjay Mishra, Vinod Khanna and Kabir Bedi. Music by Pritam. Script by Sajid-Farhad.</p>— SRK Universe (@SRKUniverse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SRKUniverse/status/576479266117840896">March 13, 2015</a></blockquote>

I only have one request from Rohit Shetty: make a good film for once, don't make it brainless

Meh. Not expecting anything different from Rohit...more so from sajid-farhad .

Hopefully..it will be a much needed push for kriti sanon. Quite like her.

So it's confirmed:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Official: SRK's next Dilwale releases this Christmas. Rohit Shetty directs. Kajol, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon are the other lead co-actors.</p>— SRK Universe (@SRKUniverse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SRKUniverse/status/576479025775800320">March 13, 2015</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Other starcast: Varun Sharma, Johny Lever, Sanjay Mishra, Vinod Khanna and Kabir Bedi. Music by Pritam. Script by Sajid-Farhad.</p>— SRK Universe (@SRKUniverse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SRKUniverse/status/576479266117840896">March 13, 2015</a></blockquote>

So another mega flop from SRK coming up and then see SRKians Idiots making excuse for this flop film

When was the last mega flop, can you please remind me?

You need to tone down a little bit, vomiting while looking at Aishwarya? Give me a break.

When was the last mega flop, can you please remind me?

You need to tone down a little bit, vomiting while looking at Aishwarya? Give me a break.

HNY,Chennai Express,Om Shanti Om etc were pathetic films.I am talking about those pictures she have lost weight and looks darker

Box office wise they were not "mega flops" like you described above. There is a massive difference between the quality of the film and the box office numbers it generates.

Whatever I hate SRK and his recent films.For film makers it might be about money but for me all of these movies were pathetic and I forgot to mention Ra One,what an embarrassing movie was that one.SRK's last decent movie was Mai Hoon Na

What about My Name is Khan and Chak De? But yeah, I agree with you. He has come out with some cringe-worthy films recently. Happy New Year and Chennai Express were some of the hardest movies I've had to sit through. It's a shame because as he can be a really good actor when he's bothered.

Akshay Kumar and Sidharth's Brothers...Directed by Karan Malhotra (director of agneepath)..First look Poster

Movie is an Official remake of Hollywood movie Warriors...Original producers and Karan Johar together are producing the movie...

View attachment 55234

Geez! This is going to be awful. A remake of one of my favorite movies and the best movie about MMA. :facepalm:

What's funny is that if SRK signed a film with Alia Bhatt you would take a total U-turn on his hatred stance

What about My Name is Khan and Chak De? But yeah, I agree with you. He has come out with some cringe-worthy films recently. Happy New Year and Chennai Express were some of the hardest movies I've had to sit through. It's a shame because as he can be a really good actor when he's bothered.

Yeah forgot about Chak De India that was good one but didn't watch My Name is Khan

What's funny is that if SRK signed a film with Alia Bhatt you would take a total U-turn on his hatred stance

LOL Then I would hate him even more becausse SRK looks like her father.SRK fans are the most delusional after Pakistani and Arsenal fans

That is based off of one past movie. Who knows, this one might actually be good.

Bad scripts in the recent past have really hurt SRK

Most of SRK movies in recent past have been mindless comedies, plus Rohit Shetty is known for making these kind of movies. I'm not expecting anything more than this to be honest.

Was just browsing and came across this recent Photoshoot of Aishwarya Rai by Vogue..Probably her first after comeback. totally different look with Bangs ( I believe that is what hairstyle is called??) ..never seen her in this look. Looking hot..she cant look bad even if she tried. Looking forword to her comeback films.. Action movie Jazbaa with Irfan Khan and another Karan Johar directorial with Anushka Sharma, Aishwarya Rai and Ranbeer Kapoor.

View attachment 54853
View attachment 54851
View attachment 54849

Aishwarya needs to retire gracefully.

Yeah forgot about Chak De India that was good one but didn't watch My Name is Khan

You should definitely put My Name is Khan on your watch-list. You'll definitely enjoy it and be even more frustrated with SRK's choice of movies after that.

Chak de and Swades are the only two decent movies SRK has done in his entire career.Most overrated actor ever.

Am I the only one who still finds Aishwariya attractive?

Me too...I find her very attractive as well. Recent Jazbaa pictures have only proved it more... in the above photoshoot also she looks good...she tried something she never did before.

Chak de and Swades are the only two decent movies SRK has done in his entire career.Most overrated actor ever.

Kabhi Ha Kabhi Na ? Darr? Baazigar?

But Yeah....I woud agree that...you would expect a much much better flimography in terms of quality content for such a prolific star..he has fallen way behind in that aspect ..except Salman...All others including Akshay have better filmography...especially Ajay , Aamir and Hrithik.

**** i forgot about KHKN ..How come this movie never gets a mention among good ones is beyond me.Criminally underrated.And who can forgot that melodious track "Aye kash k hum"

Akshay is stretching it. I don't rate him at all even though I enjoyed Garam Masala and Special 26. Hrithik is definitely far ahead now but needs to get back on track and not do movies like Bang Bang and Krrish anymore. Aamir's filmography wipes the floor with any other current actor.

And Also Problem with SRK movies are they did not age well....All good movies stand the test of time.

I find it impossible to watch some of the older movies I did like then ..now Like Kal Ho na Ho, Chalte Chalte, DDLJ, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, K3G, Pardes....

And Btw...T M Riddle..i might Add Dil se as one of his better movies too.

**** i forgot about KHKN ..How come this movie never gets a mention among good ones is beyond me.Criminally underrated.And who can forgot that melodious track "Aye kash k hum"

Haven't seen this movie or heard of it. :sanga