Bollywood Corner

Whatever people have to say about Salman Khan's acting skills but one thing is for sure he is a trend setter. Look now how every cop wants to don a moustache etc The word "Dabangg" got into a vernacular of a common man.

Dabangg started the trend again of making mass masala entertainers where the hero basically can kill 100 people.

but this is where desi people strength lies in, yar. Killing 100 people out of thin air. In real life, the desi people fight like that. I will kill your wife, sisters, brothers, uncles, whole khandaan etc

Salman Khan is living off Dabangg. Every other movie since has been ****. But for some reason doesnt stop idiots queing up to see his movies. God knows why.

He has a massive fan following in India...mostly youngsters...

Would have thought his fan following to be rickshaw drivers. Why 'youngsters' would want to watch the rubbish that he churns out is beyond me.

Would have thought that youngsters would appreciate movies like Barfi!, English Vinglish, or Wake up Sid.

Why rubbish like any Salman Khan movie or Son of Sardar even gets released is beyond me. Did anyone care to read the script.

Btw....

Anushka is pretty :heart:

Would have thought his fan following to be rickshaw drivers. Why 'youngsters' would want to watch the rubbish that he churns out is beyond me.

Would have thought that youngsters would appreciate movies like Barfi!, English Vinglish, or Wake up Sid.

Why rubbish like any Salman Khan movie or Son of Sardar even gets released is beyond me. Did anyone care to read the script.

Btw....

India has appetite for both Kinda of Cinema. I personally think His stardom is not like SRK or Aamir Khan..where Genre of the film doing does not matter......Salman Had a horrible start 2000...with many films bombing untill Dabangg happened ......Today if he moves out of this genre...he will not get as many !!!

Salman "Fans" per say are from interior places......but even people in multiplxes watch the movies...but they come out and say they did not like it.

English Vinglish(60 crores), Barfi ( 100 + ) , wake up said were a huge hit as well.....

What salman Masala brings is the people alienated in Bollywood for most of the 90's and early 2000's.....people from interior UP and bihar.....which a ranbir Kapoor or a Sridevi cannot bring in...hence he has great numbers .of added theatres for Salman !!! People just watch his films for fun in multiplexes....

And also Son of Sardar, Salman movies....they do not get any appreciation from people.They have stars and popular music....

even Jab tak....8 out of 10 people do not like the movie...but they add to collections....so they do not bother about the script...I give this trend a couple of movies....Khiladi 786 ,Himmatwala remake ...It will saturate soon !!

Personally for me...English Vinglish which is made in a very miniscule budget of 10 odd crores..collected some 60 odd crores...and 10 out of 10 people liked it...is much much bigger success than

Son of sardar made with 80 crores...collects 100 crores...and 10 out of 10 people hate it !!!!!!!

Aamir Khan and SRK has more fans in youngsters than Salman Khan ....

Btw....

You got it right bro!

Kareena's song in Dabangg 2 Fevicol se

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cqPV0o4bX8

After Fevicol se released today....I was listening to an item song playlist in Youtube....What is your all time top 5 favorite Item songs???....We had some amazing item songs in the last decade or two...

I narrowed mine to ...

1. Kajra re -- Aishwarya Rai

2. Dhoom Machale -- Esha Deol

3. Mehbooba -- Helen

4. Chikni Chameli -- Katrina

5. Ek Do Teen -- Madhuri

While writing those I remember Khallas from company/ Ishq Kameena from Shakti by Ash, Munni badnaam/ Shiela ki jawaani.....lol ...too many...Beedi Jailale -- bipasa from omkara....lol...I give up!!!

Kajra re /Dhoom machaale are still my top 2 though...I have never seen two songs take a whole nation by storm for such an extended period of time....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHjOkCiaZz8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBW3Jo9yoxo

^^^ Critic Reviews are good. Most range from 3.5 to 4.5 !!! From what I heard...it has an excellent first half and Second half looses it a bit...but still good. I Will be watching it tommarrow!!!!

i have seen this in many of your posts...why do you spell it as tommarrow??

oh ok..i thought there is some joke behind it..or some internet phenomena..like own became pwn.

not,just post your review/ratings

okkkk,,,,i would give 4 star out of 5.....1 star extra for aamir khan,,,,,he carried the whole movie on his shoulder ......any other actor would have made a big mess and the film would have fall flat.... his controlled agression will remind you of his 'sarafrosh' perormance.....though i think he surpassed that perormance......

^^^ Not that I am aware of !!! Read articles and reviews...if story line was a copy which is pretty much the main aspect of the movie...we would have known by now!!! Lets see.....

Btw...It is great to see few creative Women Directors attain success in the last year or two

Zoya Akhtar -- Zindagi na Milegi Dobara,Luck by Chance

Reema Kagti -- Talaash

Gauri Shinde -- English Vinglish !!

Kiran Rao -- Dhobi Ghat

Anusha Rizvi -- Peepli Live

Kareena ki atma hai poori movie main.. Bas woh aamir khan ko dikhti hai aur kisi ko nahi yeh suspense hai. I hope you all enjoy movie :) :p

See that is why I refrained myself from reading any posts in this thread...I did not even read king swings post you quoted ....

But I guess your smiley suggests....he added a spoiler!!

I hope some mods deletes his posts!!!

^^^^ No,It is not Indian version of Shutter Island. Not even close!!

Talaash -- Review.

It is a good Movie. But I believe It wont be discussed among Aamir 's great films this decade....It will be just a random good movie Aamir has done in this golden run since Dil chahta Hain....

First half of the movie was really interesting.....Whole investigations part was short well..with no drag in screenplay.....Second half the movies slows down a bit....Many dialogues uttered in the period are very important to the end of the movie.

I really loved the way Mumbai was shot...in the nights....in the title sequence!!! Mumbai Noir!!!! It shows the mumbai which everybody knows exists...but no body acknowledges the area or the people in it!!

Nothing to say about Aamir Khan -- he was great. Rani in her limited role was very nice....

I have always maintained Kareena Kapoor since Jab we met has always delivered if she is given a substantial role....

Nawazuddhin Sidique is a Gem..and an actor to stay !!! I really loved his conversations with Nirmala....You feel for the guy !!!

Even the regret of Aamir is very real...I find myself in those situations daily where I keep thinking what if...albiet for much smaller things!!!

It was nice to see the guy from Ragini MMS / Love Sex Aur Dhoka get a role....not much of a role...but atleast he was a sidekick of Aamir through out the movie..

Movie is not unidimensional...It has parallel stories going on every main character's individual lifes....and writer Zoya and Reema have not lost the plot dealing with them.

Negatives:

I thought the twist is kinda under whelming in the sense that...a very real movie takes an unreal fantasy route....!!!! It is like the the big guy in Green mile...you just have to believe it....!!! I kinda saw it coming too....

As a movie...It starts of great..ends well..It is def a good film..and it works. But You come out little underwhelmed.....

Rating: 7/10

Talaash Review

I spent the 120 odd mins talaashing for the actual movie

First half of the movie is a real drag and you are wondering who actually produced this mess?

SPOILER ALERT: Kareena puts in a ghostly performance and Rani's performance is ghostly as well (in the sense, she has hardly in the movie)

One of the worst Aamir Khan movies you will ever see

Wait for it to come on Sony MAX or Zee Cinema

you can say that it was a hollywood kind of movie presented in a bollywood style. Storywise.

That's all I am going to say about the movie.

you will keep guessing about who is a real murderer of a fame bollywood actor who died in a car accident.

That's what "talaash" is all about.

Songs are just an added bonus.

7/10.

Talaash 7.5/10

Very well made, it does drag a bit in the middle but overall a movie which will have you engaged from start to finish. Definitly watch it.

talaash- disappointing, boring, the "twist " could be seen from miles off, the ending was way cheesy. 5/10 for the moody atmospheric cinematography.

Of course heavily inspired by the " i see dead people" and dealing with loss themes from sixth sense but not even 1 % as good.

Today...I watched a gem of a Movie Called "Pyaar ki Punchnaama" (2011 )....Movie is the need of the hour....Have never seen a movie take the male point of the view in a relationship...so hillariously....It is border line male chavunist actually by the end of the movie....

This scene was just Epic ....some of the points raised were just so true....especially the table and ungli...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-jsG9ne6hU

Theatricla Trailer is hilarious too :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pFE44rnRk0

A youtube comment sums up the movie....

"This movie is definitely not for everyone..neither its related to any sexist agenda..its a bitter reality bout women portrayed in such a funny way. And not jst India, there r women like this everywhere around the world..some too controlling in the name of love..some cross all the boundaries in the name of their personal space and some just take benefit of poor guys(who are too insecure bout themselves) in the name of frndship. Personally I enjoyed the movie and I bet a lot of other ppl did too!!"

Watch the movie with your guy friends....just not with Girl friends or Wives....

My rating: 4/5 -- coz the movie did what it set out to achieve

^^Absolutely must watch for every boyfriend or husband. :)

I really enjoyed this movie when I watched it first time and one can definitely connect to it.

Team of Pyaar ki Punchnama are back with a new movie "Aakash Vani" ....Same couple !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uyoeg4ANxh8&feature=g-user-u

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EzY1r-4q50

Khiladi Review ---

There are awesome intelligent movies.....

There are good movies with slight creative liberty....

There are feel good entertaining movies...

There are hardcore masala movies with no sense of logic...yet entertaining..

There are badly made movies....

There are absolutely crap movies..

There are some movies which are not supposed to be made...

There are movies where even thought of making that movie should be crime..

And then there is Khiladi 786---- Absolultely horrendous...Jokes of incredible poor taste....intolerably loud.....Overacting at its intolerable best.....

anyway...

2/ 10 for some genuinely funny scenes...but other than that....I usually watch masala movies..and I like to watch them...it is one of my idea of having a good time !!! but this movie..do not watch it unless you want to punish yourself...

Akshay :facepalm:

Anupama Chopra's Interview with the 100 crore club ( Rajkumar Hirani, Rohit Shetty, Kabir Khan, Anurag Basu, Vidya Balan )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fi26yIr0jyA

Very nice interview!!! Nice to see the directors know what a big hogwash this nonsense about box office is .....take a big star...make a crap movie..promote it...10 out 10 people will watch....does not matter if 9 people hate it...will still collect more then 100..and then procliam it as a success !!!

After Watching Khiladi 786 today...I wish every movie which is made with an aim of getting into 100 crore club with no substance....fails !!!!

on a side note...I like Rohit shetty's frankness and how he agrees he does not make classics!! And hirani's view on what a movie success means..and how today's age money is equated to success

very nice interview !!!! and Anupama chopra -- she looks no where close to 50 yrs old !!

^^^ One more important point Vidya makes is expectations of the movie....When her Kahaani released she was expected a dirty picture opening..and she did not get it !!! but even she was not expecting it for Kahaani..but it is a much better film.....

Now this is why big actors do not do different genres...because of the moment..say salman goes a does a non masala movie..and it will not have as much a collection as Ek tha tiger...and then people will say....it is not a big hit as ek tha tiger..irrespective of how people who watched the movie liked it .....!!!!!

This audience's fasination of money from last 3 yrs is insane..it is okay with trade people analyse it..and news reports it..but regular audience discussions collections of the movie is just insane.....It is like people do not have taste ..and the want to see how much money it made before they "like"it !!

Piyaar ka punchnama has been on Zee Cinema many times, but I always avoided it thinking it would be crap and a wase of time.

And regarding Khiladi, it was expected to be rubbish.

Akshay can do much better than this, but it looks like he is more interested in making money which is not wrong really.

^^^ Pyaar ka Punchnaama is not a classic or anything....just a well made movie for guys :D...watch that youtube video above titled best scene..you will get the sense of the movie !!!!

yeah...Khiladi..dont watch it...only if other option is being killed..then you might watch it !!

Now I`ll have to wait until January to watch a new movie.

Not many releasing this month.

Dabangg 2 is most probably gonna be another bakwaas movie..

^^^ Table no. 1 21 , Matru ki Bijlee ki Mandola, Kai po che(rock on director), Race 2...

all are january releases...

and then there is Aakash Vaani and Inkaar( Arjun Rampal and Chitrangadha singh )...

Few good movies this january....but this year is essentially done...strangely I have very low interest in Dabangg 2...especially due to Khiladi today...not in a mood to enjoy any masala movies for a while.....

just watched JTHJ

They showed a Lahori and picked a fat/ugly indian for this role...
not so impressed...

any ranbir kapoor movie releasing soon?

yeah...yeh Jawani Hai Diwani...with Deepika padukone, Kalki koechlin

Director is Ayan Mukherjee-- director of Wake up sid !!!

Leaked Pics from the movie...looks like Deepika has a nerdy look.... I think Wake up sid was one of the best movies last decade.....

tumblr_mehz71TX2n1qkyk5fo1_500.jpg

normal_yjhd5.jpg

normal_yjhd2.jpg

yeah...yeh Jawani Hai Diwani...with Deepika padukone, Kalki koechlin

Director is Ayan Mukherjee-- director of Wake up sid !!!

Leaked Pics from the movie...looks like Deepika has a nerdy look.... I think Wake up sid was one of the best movies last decade.....

tumblr_mehz71TX2n1qkyk5fo1_500.jpg

normal_yjhd5.jpg

normal_yjhd2.jpg

I don't liked deepika though the director is really good aur fir ranbir bhi to h....and I agree about wake up Sid...
always been a huge fan of her looks.....but Did not like her as an actress either Pre cocktail. Although she was okay in love Aaj kal and the likes--- but she did great in cocktail. From getting bracketed with sonam kapoors and sonakshi sinhas ..now she is bracketed with Anushka sharma ,kareena and Vidya...!!!! brand value increased too--was watching ndtv and they said she signed like a 6 or 7 crore deal per year with some company...one of highest ever for an actress....

Agree 100%.......Vishal is ace and he couldn't go wrong with Pankaj Kapur. He is a drunkard in the movie....

True....Vishal while he gets strong performances from great actors ( Tabu, Irfan Khan, Ajay, Konkana)...he also gets amazing performances from decent actors as well ( Shahid, Saif, Priyanka)....This should be a great turning point for Imran Khan if this movie works...unlike Shahid after Kaminey inspite of movie working went back to silly romcoms and lost the market gained and chance to get good roles..........Imran should use this to his advantage in getting stronger roles if the movie works.

Bejoy Nambiar is back with his next directorial after an incredible Debut with "Shaitan" ( Watch Shaithan if you did not...)

David !!! looks like he managed a brilliant star cast as well..... Tabu, Vikram, Vinay Virmani, Nasser,Rohini Hattangadi, Neil Nitin Mukhesh ,Isha Shervani, Lara Dutta

Trailer looks great....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmOBx6jS3Fc

so bw watchers... recommend me a good time-pass movie. It's been a while since I watched a bw movie. Last one I watched was Don2.

I would suggest Vicky Donor or Kahaani if don 2 was your last !!

otherwise.... English Vinglish, Gangs of Wasseypur I and II , Paan Singh Tomar, Barfi ,chittagong and to some extent Ishaqzaade if you are looking for sensible movies ...this year..

Ek main aur Ek tu, tere naal love ho gaya -- decent rom coms !!

student of the year -- masala candyfloss....Luv shuv tey chicken khurana is decent

Agneepath was good - --

for over the top masala movies.....housefulll 2 , bol bacchan,rowdy rathore, ek tha tiger

and there are lot of decent movies for timepass.....

So any movie in the same mould/quality as Rockstar that I should check out?

Other films I've enjoyed in the past include company sarkar etc

hey navroks dont suggest ek me aur ek tu...it was awful...I literally slept in the theater while watching this crap

Logging onto PP after a long time.

Khiladi786 - horrible

Talaash - decent

Son of Sardaar - ok

Hey....Vidya "aunty" got married, finally !!!

Any special pics, Navrocks?

yeah....South indian style wedding. Unlike other actresses....Vidya's huge market is completely based on talent and movies she chooses....think this marriage would not affect her movies or market

some pics
10082_503278009702455_1491635648_n.jpg

Vidya-Balan_5.jpg

vbs2_1355486389.jpg

4daf19a007f2343e4ae1a6ea7e108648_ls_xl.jpg

bala19.jpg

vidya-balan-marriage.3jpg.jpg

bala3.jpg