Day 4 Thread

Pakistan 6/0 (22)

Butt not out 5
Malik not out 1

i feel that Afridi has a huge part to play in this test with the bat especially

its not defensive if you ask me.. thirdman is there for edges and stopping runs.. pretty standard field early on in the innings when pacers are operating and balls is new and hard and carries easily that far to thirdman in case of a top edge.

besides on this sort of placid track thats the smart thing to do.. make sure u cut the boundaries as well before the batting side gets on top.

Pakistan 7/0 (23)

Butt not out 6
Malik not out 1

this field not standard by any means cartman. Sweeper cover in the first over? come on.

wouldnt say that it is a wrong move though

if Inzi had had this field the commentators would have been slagging him off

i think malik has some pressure on him since he has not scored a half century yet
this is a good time for him
hope he does well

Pakistan 12/0 (28)

Butt not out 7
Malik not out 5

Keep it going boys

are you saying on batting tracks in the subcontinent, in the second innings when the wicket is dead, teams do not have a sweepr or cover in the first over? hence its not standard? or is it not standard in the "Ultimate Cricket Coaching Manual" written by a certain Octavian?

Flintoff NO BALL

A few more of them please Freddy.

Cant believe they closed the gap so much. I think thats blown our chances of winning this match. Hopefuly im wrong, but i just cant see it happening.

18 for 9 (34 ahead)

run rate a very healthy 3.6 per over

bascially beefy said pak no chance to win and they shouldnt sdeclare wqqar said the opposite and that we shud get a 300 lead declare win here and try and clinch the serires here

Looks like they are just playing out Flintoff's spell. Not a bad move I have to say

19 for 0 (35 ahead)

ur taking his comments in the wrong context.. he drew a realistic picture.. I have said that all along. This match is heading for a draw.. In order for Pakistan to win they need to score at a high run rate so they can have a good lead and have enough time to bowl England out while at the sametime making sure they dangle a carrot in front of England to try and win the match and take chances.. all of which I dont see happening in this match.

Cartman said:
ur taking his comments in the wrong context.. he drew a realistic picture.. I have said that all along. This match is heading for a draw.. In order for Pakistan to win they need to score at a high run rate so they can have a good lead and have enough time to bowl England out while at the sametime making sure they dangle a carrot in front of England to try and win the match and take chances.. all of which I dont see happening in this match.

I agree with u it is heading for a draw but the way beffy was saying it he was almost celerbating that fact to Wqar and bragging about it etc etc

hey fellas.. 350 i think would be a good score.. need to score quick runs

I am looking for a repeat of Bangalore here!

even if match is heading for a draw we should enjoy our batting all the 4s and 6s

Errrrrrrrrrrr, Waqar about Asim Kamal:

"He's a fine left handed opener"

Hoggard is being expensive

4 overs for 20 runs

Believe it or not, there's not much chance of an England victory at all.

Unless Pakistan collapse spectacularly. In which case, they deserve to lose.

On a very irrelavent note, did anybody notice that Sami had trimmed his hair.....He looks a lot better now than the jangli hairstyle he had before....Looks like he read the petition.....Could it be forwarded by Woolmer himeself or Noddy :13:

Malik and Salman playing well MASHALLAH. Although Malik hasnt scored a 50 but at least he with Salman has given Pakistan a respectable start in every innings. Malik is definitely 10 times better than Taufiq, Farhat and Yasir

25 for 0 (41 ahead)

Seems like a composed and sensible start. Keep it going boys.

lets look at the equation. Right now lead is about 40 runs with 75 overs to go.. pakistan is currently scoring at 3.75/over.. if pakistan scores at 4 an over for the rest of the day, they would score another 300 runs so that would be a lead of 340 runs.
on the last day 90 overs have to be bowled.. now if pakistan declare, they have 90 overs to bowl out England and England has 90 overs to reach 340 i.e less than 4/ over. thats a good enough carrot to dangle in front of england who would be desperate for a series levelling victory.

but First thing first.. can pakistan score that rapidly for the remainder of the day??? .. if they can, it would be interesting to see if they do declare tomorrow.

One thing is for sure if Pakistan need to win the match they have to "dangle the carrot" .. not take a lead of 400 runs and then give England only 60 overs to chase that down cuz England batsmen would go into their shell and not try to win it.

Its vital Pakistan set up a level playing field, if they do tend to play aggressive cricket and win this test.

Malik places the edge beautifully between the keeper and first slip

ali kc said:
Sometime Waqar Bhai does not think!

Wiqi bhai should quit commentry. He is really losing his charm and charisma bcoz of his gora ..... licking and insane comments

4 runs

good length ball, just outside off, moves away, tries to play at it, edges it between keeper and 1st slip to third man region for four

Take that as a lesson Malik.

Ace Base said:
Believe it or not, there's not much chance of an England victory at all.

Unless Pakistan collapse spectacularly. In which case, they deserve to lose.

This is Pakistan you're talking about. Trust me, if any team can collapse, its us. But weve got a decent start, inshallah we can build upon it and get a healthy lead by the end of the day. Something in the excess of 350 would be great. Meaning Afridi has to do one of his extra special knocks.

Cartman said:
lets look at the equation. Right now lead is about 40 runs with 75 overs to go.. pakistan is currently scoring at 3.75/over.. if pakistan scores at 4 an over for the rest of the day, they would score another 300 runs so that would be a lead of 340 runs.
on the last day 90 overs have to be bowled.. now if pakistan declare, they have 90 overs to bowl out England and England has 90 overs to reach 340 i.e less than 4/ over. thats a good enough carrot to dangle in front of england who would be desperate for a series levelling victory.

but First thing first.. can pakistan score that rapidly for the remainder of the day??? .. if they can, it would be interesting to see if they do declare tomorrow.

One thing is for sure if Pakistan need to win the match they have to "dangle the carrot" .. not take a lead of 400 runs and then give England only 60 overs to chase that down cuz England batsmen would go into their shell and not try to win it.

Its vital Pakistan set up a level playing field, if they do tend to play aggressive cricket and win this test.

The problem we have is that:

A) Bad light will stop play before we can get the full amount of overs in today

B) If Pakistan look like setting a big total it wouldn't surprise if Vaughan tries to slow things down a little bit. After all, what's a little fine if it stops your side going 2-0 down?

No ball from Flintoff

Keep it up Freddy. A couple more this over would be nice

I have to concur with Cartman here. There just isn't enough time to to force a result.

On a pitch as placid as this, a team needs to score at an Aussie-isque runrate (around 4 or more) before it even things about declaring.

I don't think at this stage Pakistan want to force anything. They know what a great moral booster a series win would be and I don't think they want to jeopardise the 1-0 lead by being to "greedy" for a victory in this match.

whyhkk said:
according to botham it is reverse swinging and waqar is agreeing with him

haan yar its really pathetic to see Wiqi bhai agreeing with Botham on almost everything. Wiqi bhai showing the typical Gulamana-e-Zehniaat. Really the only Desi commentator who does say good abt Pakistan is Manjerakar. Both Waqar and Rani are just increaing their points in front of Botham, Allott and David Llyod. Although David Llyods is the best among them

Ace Base said:
I have to concur with Cartman here. There just isn't enough time to to force a result.

On a pitch as placid as this, a team needs to score at an Aussie-isque runrate (around 4 or more) before it even things about declaring.

I don't think at this stage Pakistan want to force anything. They know what a great moral booster a series win would be and I don't think they want to jeopardise the 1-0 lead by being to "greedy" for a victory in this match.

ya Pakistan know that they are prone to sudden collpase. its in their minds that if we go over attacking we might lose the game. and i think so thats a right approach. its our fielding which has caused us this game. We ideally should have 100-150 lead. :(

I am honestly smelling a Bangalore style victory

4 runs by Malik

36 for 0 (52 ahead)

Lead over 50 now

Need another 248 runs

hahahah :D

Bumble: The Pakistani women's squad has been announced and interesting to see that former test player Imtiaz Ahmed is coaching them

Ramiz: It's a safe move, he's 70+

they seem to be playing for lunch at the moment....which is a good thing. No need to lose a wicket before then.

Going at basically 3 per over, which is what we should do for the first 20 or so anyway. The acceleration should come later on, after we have already built a solid platform. This game is by no means over yet. A lot of cricket to be played, let me tell you.

45 for 0 (61 ahead)

England have got no chance. If anything we can bat out today even if we score 3 an over that gets us around 250 plus. Thats a defandable score. Day 5 pitch 250 plus on board we can do it. I am a strong believer in the theory "If it bleeds we can kill it. And I have seen the poms bleed in the last test. Its that time again."

Invictus said:
England have got no chance. If anything we can bat out today even if we score 3 an over that gets us around 250 plus. Thats a defandable score. Day 5 pitch 250 plus on board we can do it. I am a strong believer in the theory "If it bleeds we can kill it. And I have seen the poms bleed in the last test. Its that time again."

bhai last time it wasnt a defendable total. our bowlers really bowled and fielders took their chances. I dont think so Inzi will take this risk specially being 1/0 up. I think so we should make it 300 target and then ask England to bat. But still its too early to say as Pakistan has a tendency to lose the plot.

Dude, if you tell that to Banger he'll just turn around and tell you "I ain't got time to bleed"

lunch - pakistan 50/0 @ lunch

good solid start here. hopefully pakistan can get a lead of 270 by close of play.

We should look at what we are capable of instead of thinking about what England can do. If we are going to be too scared to loose then we will never win. I still say 250 plus is a good total on a day 5 track with Kaneria, Afridi and Malik as a back up spinner. On top of that Shoaib and Sami with the new ball specialist Rana.

Ahahah this conversation between Colville and Willis is brilliant

I'm glad so far everyone's been patient and not coming out with knives out on our players.. :P usually people are saying things like they are going too slow etc etc. They are playing very nice and RR is coming along OK. It's gr8 they didint lose a wicket till lunch... they need to keep it up n then in last session go all out!