England v India | Match 38, World Cup | Edgbaston | June 30, 2019 | Pre-Match Discussion

You do realize India only has to drop one game from their remaining 4 games to not come 1st. In that case we will only meet if both Pak and India win their semis provided we qualify for ours.

Yeah , just excited at the prospect of it..

The first time in my life when I'll be supporting India.

Yeh din bhi dekhna tha mujhay??

Come on India.... your parosis need a big favour :afridi

I will be the biggest Indian fan on Sunday. THE BIGGEST FAN. BIGGER THAN [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION].

Come on India... I'm sorry if I ever trolled your team or government let it be water under the bridge :ashwin

We are brothers, we are one, separated by the British.

Meray tou auba-o-ajdaad bhi India se aye thay..... meray ruggon mein Hindustani khoon behta hai

Jai Hind :vk2

We need to sabotage the border and become one nation. Not only India Pakistan but whole world.

One common thing between all the England losses - Liam Plunkett did not play in any of the match. What is Moeen useless Ali doing in their line up lol

India must not lose this opportunity to knock England out of this world cup. No dugna Lagan!

Imma be up early in the morning Sunday cheering India on :)) Come on Kohli don't let us down!

India must not lose this opportunity to knock England out of this world cup. No dugna Lagan!

I kinda hope India lost to Windies so that they get a bit of a kick in the backside and are at their absolute best against England, because we know England will play their hearts out to keep themselves alive in the tournament. Nevertheless if the pitch is anything like the one we saw today as the match is at this same ground, it don't matter how hard England fight it will be an easy win for India.

Joe Root was all at sea against Kuldeep on a slightly turning pitch. He couldn't pick which way the ball was going eventually caught on crease.

We need to drop Moeen for Plunkett, definitely (one game too late); and we also need to drop Vince for whomever or whatever else is available - even the proverbial “inanimate carbon rod” if necessary.

England can absolutely beat India in English conditions as shown last summer. The problem is pressure. Can England come good under this severe pressure?

I’m nervous.

Joe Root was all at sea against Kuldeep on a slightly turning pitch. He couldn't pick which way the ball was going eventually caught on crease.

I don't think England have ever had a good player of spin so yeah like I said if the pitch spins England are goners. Hoping India bring their A game though cause we all knew England will with them being at the bring of disqualification. How embarrassing that would be :))) "favorites" "best team in this decade" "batting powerhouse" "unlike any team to over play white ball cricket" "best batting depth in the history of cricket" "no other English player would make this side" England have really had a reality check this tourney that's what happens when you actually play on cricketing wickets and not roads that I can play on outside my house.

We need to drop Moeen for Plunkett, definitely (one game too late); and we also need to drop Vince for whomever or whatever else is available - even the proverbial “inanimate carbon rod” if necessary.

England can absolutely beat India in English conditions as shown last summer. The problem is pressure. Can England come good under this severe pressure?

I’m nervous.

I'm sorry mate usually I like English teams but the cockiness of this English team has been getting under my skin. Your captain has a lame excuse for every loss and never seems to accept it. Your bowling has holes. The batting crumbles anything that merely resembles a cricket wicket instead of a road. Finally the team just can not handle the weight of expectations so they succumb to pressure. Even more than the final point the batting is a real worry outside of flat pitches.

England would be desperate to win here but I'm sure that once India puts the squeeze on their big hitters, they will fail under pressure to score. Should be a win for India.

I’m nervous.

England teams usually have to be backed into a corner before they start to fight. It is part of the national character. They are in a corner now.

Losing Roy has been a double blow as Vince struggles with his mind-set at this level which appears to rub off on Bairstow too.

If Roy isn’t available I think they should drop Vince, open with Root and push Stokes up to #4 as he has been playing well under pressure of late.

Bring in the combative Curran too. He seems nerveless under pressure.

England teams usually have to be backed into a corner before they start to fight. It is part of the national character. They are in a corner now.

Losing Roy has been a double blow as Vince struggles with his mind-set at this level which appears to rub off on Bairstow too.

If Roy isn’t available I think they should drop Vince, open with Root and push Stokes up to #4 as he has been playing well under pressure of late.

Bring in the combative Curran too. He seems nerveless under pressure.
Yeah tom Curran should get chance. He plays well under pressure specially while defending. current dry pitches suits his bowling style also.

Yes rooting for India on Sunday. Jai Hind. I will be THE biggest Indian on Sunday.

Kya aap Ravivaar ko mere saath beytth ke Vada Pav khaayeinge? :sachin :msd

England are not winning this
Pakistan and India prayers togther can’t let it happen

I want India to thrash England on Sunday not because it will help Pak reach semis, but it's easy for India to win a WC Semifinal against a team like Pak! I would rather enjoy seeing India beat Pak in semis than struggle against tough opponents like AUS or ENG.

Any Indian out there thinking that we´ll be supporting them on Sunday so that Pakistan goes through to the semi-finals, is being naive and fooling himself. We Pakistanis have large hearts and we aren´t so greedy, mean and selfish. It´s just that we want to ease off the tension and want better relations between our countries. It´s just some even more large-heartedness on our part. Simple really. :yk

India should loose a match with in next three games. Not because Pakistan wud reach in semi final & anyways will get another world Cup thrashing from us. But because India should not get complacent.
Won't mind if India loose against Bangladesh Or England.

Mate, i dont give two monkeys who ind lose to, pak win two remaining games they won my heart back.

Dil Dil pakistan....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question to all Pakistan fans .. England vs INDIA .. Sunday .. who you supporting ? &#55357;&#56841;</p>— Nasser Hussain (@nassercricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/nassercricket/status/1143955729151406082?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question to all Pakistan fans .. England vs INDIA .. Sunday .. who you supporting ? ��</p>— Nasser Hussain (@nassercricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/nassercricket/status/1143955729151406082?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Has to be India, no question

Quite baffling that England are so reluctant to use Moeen as opener in ODIs. He has never been a number 7/8 batsmen but is very useful at the top of the order. Give him a chance as opener instead of Vince if Roy isn’t fit.

Both England and India are batting below their potential by playing useless players like Vince/Shankar

All this talk about 10 points 11 points and NRR and this and that .... I have a strong feeling SL is going to quietly get 3 wins ( against SA,WI,Ind) and reach 12 points and get in as 4th SF team along with Aus/India/NZ.
NZ will defeat Eng and get 13 points. .
All teams with 11 or 10 points then can decide who goes to Heathrow airport first based on NRR.:moyo2

Indian fans loving it aren't they... lekin hum bhi majboor hein :P

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question to all Pakistan fans .. England vs INDIA .. Sunday .. who you supporting ? ��</p>— Nasser Hussain (@nassercricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/nassercricket/status/1143955729151406082?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I guess for this one match...all Pakistanis will be supporting India....and many Indians if not all supporting England.
Who would have imagined ???:nasser

I guess for this one match...all Pakistanis will be supporting India....and many Indians if not all supporting England.
Who would have imagined ???:nasser

Given a choice, India would want to face Pakistan in semis rather than England or New Zealand.

India will be worried about facing only Australia in Semi. Kohli won’t mind England, NZ, Pakistan, Bangla, SL, anyone else.

Nobody will remember it. But i do.
2009 ICC Champions Trophy. Pakistan had to win against Australia so that India can qualify.
We let them down. Asif late spell was devastating and Ponting was shocked but Aussies won. Dravid clapped Pakistan’s late wickets against Aussies.

I remember it painfully.

Towards the end both Aussies and Pakistanis seemed to toy with Indian emotions by losing momentum to each other. Was one of the most frustrating matches to watch as an Indian fan lol

Let us talk about the match !! Edgbaston. Fresh pitch. Still going to be dry. One would think it will assist spinners. What is the make up of England? Will Moeen Ali get a chance due to his past record against India? or Plunkett their lucky charm who missed out on all three losses for England. What about Vance? is Roy going to be back. So many questions from the English side. Root plays well against India normally. If Kuldeep gets his radar right England will be in big trouble. Their gung ho approach won't work.

India will be worried about facing only Australia in Semi. Kohli won’t mind England, NZ, Pakistan, Bangla, SL, anyone else.

My pick to win the world cup is Australia. Ofcourse i will be worried. They are too professional in these knock out stages.

India has the golden privilege to deliver the KO punch to England

With all due respect, a great opportunity for India to settle a lot of scores with England on Sunday.

All the contributions made by Pakistanis, Lankans, Aussies and finally we get to have the privilege to see England going out :yk

Exciting

All this talk about 10 points 11 points and NRR and this and that .... I have a strong feeling SL is going to quietly get 3 wins ( against SA,WI,Ind) and reach 12 points and get in as 4th SF team along with Aus/India/NZ.
NZ will defeat Eng and get 13 points. .
All teams with 11 or 10 points then can decide who goes to Heathrow airport first based on NRR.:moyo2

Are you sure ? :smith

You have to feel sorry for our fans. The mediocrity of our team has forced the fans to support India. Anyway, it is part of the misery of being a Pakistani fan, and we have made peace with it because we have embraced our mediocrity.

India should loose a match with in next three games. Not because Pakistan wud reach in semi final & anyways will get another world Cup thrashing from us. But because India should not get complacent.
Won't mind if India loose against Bangladesh Or England.
I prefer lose against BD then Pak Vs BD potentially a KO match...!

You have to feel sorry for our fans. The mediocrity of our team has forced the fans to support India. Anyway, it is part of the misery of being a Pakistani fan, and we have made peace with it because we have embraced our mediocrity.

What has happened to you man ?

Can't you just enjoy cricket and support your home Nation.

Mamoon, what are the chances of ENG making it to semis?

With all due respect, a great opportunity for India to settle a lot of scores with England on Sunday.

All the contributions made by Pakistanis, Lankans, Aussies and finally we get to have the privilege to see England going out :yk

Exciting

Even after losing to India, England can still qualify if Pakistan drops either of their games, provided they beat NZ.

I’m nervous.

You can beat us if the wicket is flat. If it isn't , it's 50:50.

No one is supporting India. We need to win the next 2 games and if that isnt enough to qualify it will of course hurt but its a game.

India will always try to beat the ENG team in a wc IN THE UK.

Pak has nothing to do with this. Yes if it makes you feel better go ahead.

No one is supporting India. We need to win the next 2 games and if that isnt enough to qualify it will of course hurt but its a game.

I will support India in the Ind-Eng game. Why would I not? If Pakistan wins the next two games they deserve to be in the semis anyway, after beating Eng, Nzl, RSA. And that'd be quite an achievement especially considering the single-league round robin format group stage.

Anyway, let's take one game at a time. Pak need to thrash Afghanistan first.

I have full faith in India and Kohli Team to win on Sunday. Bharat Mata ki Jaa. 🤪

If India dont knock them out on Sunday these English will hurt them in the Final if they reached it.

I will support India in the Ind-Eng game. Why would I not? If Pakistan wins the next two games they deserve to be in the semis anyway, after beating Eng, Nzl, RSA. And that'd be quite an achievement especially considering the single-league round robin format group stage.

Anyway, let's take one game at a time. Pak need to thrash Afghanistan first.

I really dont get this support thing. India is a professional cricket team and for them playing Eng is the 2nd biggest match. Just look at the history. They will guve it their 110%.

For us lest beat the Afghan team 1st.

Would India not support Pak if a Pak win would help them get through? Majority would support rival to get through not just us Pakistani's

This match will be played on a fresh pitch, most likely a high scoring one where we will be underdogs.

Bad new for Pak. We need spinning wicket

So would I. But curators (and ECB) can't risk it with the hosts in trouble, even ICC I guess would want England to stay in contention till late in the tournament.

This match will be played on a fresh pitch, most likely a high scoring one where we will be underdogs.
England is going to self-destruct themselves.

They will be in pressure.

They would think they have to score 350+ if they bat first and they will crumble.

Mark my words.

I'm supporting England!

If England win, then so be it, Pakistan still have a chance to go through, but never will I support India!

Doesn't seem like Pakistan is your first team, going by the tone of your recent posts.

He claims it is Pakistan, but is actually West Indies. (Right after WI beat Pakistan in the second game of the WC).

West Indies are now out.
England on the verge being knocked out.
India remains.

He hasn't been a good luck charm, clearly, but I guess this is to be expected from glory supporters.

He claims it is Pakistan, but is actually West Indies. (Right after WI beat Pakistan in the second game of the WC).

West Indies are now out.
England on the verge being knocked out.
India remains.

He hasn't been a good luck charm, clearly, but I guess this is to be expected from glory supporters.

One thing I've noticed he's been a lot more vocal about his anti-Pakistan and anti-Australia stance, in respect of cricket.

Very high. They need to get Roy back and regroup. If they play their best cricket, they will make it.

Not high at all.. they are under heavy pressure to win 2 in a row. Going by this teams recent history of bottling it under pressure they will lose 1 of the 2 matches.

Team has only played on flat tracks and dont know how to bat on pitches that have some spice. I dont see them going to the semis especially after that loss to sl.. which was sad.

Tried to bleed blue. Green & blue mixed up to give england's kit color. #confused
22222.jpg

I really dont get this support thing. India is a professional cricket team and for them playing Eng is the 2nd biggest match. Just look at the history. They will guve it their 110%.

For us lest beat the Afghan team 1st.

When did I say that Indian team needs my support? Supporting a team is another way of saying that you want them to win a game, and not that I want to pay tuition fee for Kohli and Dhoni's kids.

People who are "supporting" Indian team, do not start singing a different tune when you find Indian losing this match.:moyo2

Very high. They need to get Roy back and regroup. If they play their best cricket, they will make it.

dhawan and roy are both pretty big misses for respective teams but england still has the batting depth in other areas even if their confidence is shot whereas for us it really is about Kohli or Sharma firing to get us to good totals. Ultimately it will depend on pitch and conditions how much our bowling advantage can be neutralized by england.

It looks like India will keep the same team.

England can make 2 changes depending on pitch, Jason Roy will definitely replace James Vince if fit. Liam Plunkett can replace Moeen Ali, if the pitch isn't dry and slow.

India should bowl first (if they win the toss) and see if they are able to chase a big total. It will help the cause if Sharma and Kohli depart cheaply and the onus of chasing fall squarely on the shoulders of Vijay Shankar, Jadhav and Dhoni.

Come on India.

Lets play Pant in place of KL Rahul. Dhoni should bat at 4 above kedar Jhadav. He is totally useless below 4. We got this :srini: