England v Pakistan | Fourth Test | Day 2 : Session 3 | Lords | 27/08/10

We should get England early tomorrow. If they get 350 with nearly 3 days to go then Pakistan will have to bat quickly to match them.

We will need an exceptional bowling perfromance to win but not impossible.

On the other hand, England may well build on this partnership. Let's see what happens.

England just need to bat half the day tomorrow and then there will be no way pak can win

Butt may aswell go out with an attacking field.

dBlock, can you shout that out to him from the media stand and if you are wearing bata's can you chuck them out at the same time towards him.

England will be happy to take a draw here making enough to bat Pakistan out of the game. We have to take the initiative early tomorrow, and get back on the tracks.

lol butt thinks he can get them out caught with part timers. :akmal :umarakmal :farhat

Seems like Salman is more concerned about the over-rate and the fine rather than really trying to take wickets. What other reason is there to give Farhat a bowl.

Really pathetic approach - no offense this is what I would expect from the Indian team not the Pakistani team, I say this only as we have Amir and Asif who have been phenomenal with the ball. Why take the damn new ball if you are going to have spinners on.

Where were you when wickets were tumbling. Now you came to rub the salt.

arrey yaar,i'm not online all day.but let me congratulate Aamer for a fantastic spell of bowling in the morning,really was top class:14::14:
Look at the score now!

Plus look at the pitch. There is nothing in it!

there is,it looks flat wen the batsman are set,but the odd ball is moving around,ofcourse u have to bowl in right areas more often,which only Aamer n Asif have done

n batsmen have played very well

Relax, conditions changed a lot with heavy cloud cover dissappearing and some sunshine coming brought out excellent conditions for batting. There is no pace, swing, seam and spin in this pitch. Some bad field placements by butt were questionable. The wicket now is a true flat batting wicket.

I thought the true strength of a bowling attack is shown in conditions that are NOT bowler friendly. As we just saw, even a 'mediocre' bowling attack can demolish the opposition when the conditions are favorable, like India did to NZ in the last match in the tri-series in Dambulla under lights. Add to that the fact that the England top and middle order is woefully out of form, is it really out of the ordinary for a bowler of Amir's class to have taken 6 with extremely favorable conditions?

So does the subsequent performance after the first session (it has not been sunny by any stretch, mostly overcast, if not heavy clouds like in the 1st session) mean that Pakistan's attack overall really is overrated? Or does the fault lay entirely with Butt and his captaincy and tactics?

Have you guys thought about the fact that England is probably looking to bat only once

Draw is looking like the best possibility now.

A Pakistan win is almost out of the question, unless England get out for under 150 in the second innings. Based on what we are seeing on this wicket that seems highly unlikely

Seems like Salman is more concerned about the over-rate and the fine rather than really trying to take wickets. What other reason is there to give Farhat a bowl.

Really pathetic approach - no offense this is what I would expect from the Indian team not the Pakistani team, I say this only as we have Amir and Asif who have been phenomenal with the ball. Why take the damn new ball if you are going to have spinners on.

u mean u expect such stupidity from Dhoni?itna bhi bura nahi hai:))

So you expect Butt to gladly lose out on his match fees. Whats wrong with you dude? Give our young captain a break :asadrauf

Perhaps you should do some research and see what the Indian team managed on their last England tour in 2007.

Pakistan should get them out early tom morning. And score runs quickly and try to get a lead before the end of day 3.

The worse part about all of this is the likes of cricinfo & english media putting this in our face.

Pakistan just going through the Motions here! No spark at all!

Our bowling apart from Wahab was not that bad, the fault lies totally with our Coward captain. If he had taken 3 slips for trott at the start of his innings he was a gonner

Ok you've lost me now :)))

So if Butt moved a player to a particular position and then the batsman was caught in that very position, that wouldnt be praiseworthy?

And who said anything about being praised for being a captain Pretty sure I was talking about good captaincy i.e correct bowling changes and correct field placements. And good captaincy is praised by commentators. Even Butt was praised when he moved the field up when Broad was reaching his 50. Werent you listening?

Find the T.V remote and press the mute button. I believe you have never heard commentary in your life. :amin

When he took the slips out against Prior like you keep pointing out,it cost us over 200 runs.Why not keep the 4 slips ? 3 at least. We'd be well on our way !

So praise counts for nothing.Dont twist the analyst's words,they have criticised the fact that Butt took the 4 slips aways and just a while ago,he did it again,took the slips away and what do you know ? Trott edges it through the 3rd and 4th slip gap.

3 SLIPS minimum.3 ! Captaincy 101.

Quit hypothesising and look at the facts.Your husband has been exposed.

Dont blame the bowlers for this,they are due an off-day considering how many catches have been dropped off them,the lousy field settings by Captain bhai.The total lack of spark,leadership and tactical nous from the skipper.

He used sweepers and men out on the boundary giving easy singles away and let the new batsmen settle in so easily its laughable.

He repeats the same mistakes in every single match.Someone mentioned the 2 slips and men out on the legside...at 102-7 :)))

Werent YOU watching ?

Again,IF Butt had done this and that.He Didn't.After reading this riff-raff,Butt is the next best thing since sliced bread !

At 47-5 Butt had a fine-leg,mid-on,deep square leg,no men attacking at all.I praised Butt for the Oval Test win and Headingley.But not for this.This is poor,poor captaincy.

Now before you get shown up for what you really are and get drawn into personal insults like the cretin you are.Have a close read.^^Perhaps a good,couple of times so it sinks in.

Find a T.V remote and repeatedly bang it in that empty,childish,disrepectful skull of yours.

A wkt as a donation to the flood victims from english team wud be much appreciated here. :(

Those talking about scoring quickly - forget it.
The truth of the matter is, we will be lucky to draw this game from here on end.

Our bowling apart from Wahab was not that bad, the fault lies totally with our Coward captain. If he had taken 3 slips for trott at the start of his innings he was a gonner

I, too, do not blame our bowling. The bowlers have delivered. It's just that today was not our day. Some poor moves by captain, some lousy fielding.

Pakistan should get them out early tom morning. And score runs quickly and try to get a lead before the end of day 3.

How did you manage to come up with this brilliant insightful post?? It must have taken a lot of thinking.

Hilarious how I didn't see a single Indian, apart from that squid-mind something who is actually quite a fair poster, when Amir was tearing through the English top order.

Very true. Our standards have surely fallen.

500, are you serious? batting under pressure, when England will have scored around 350+

Seriously doubt that
I know we wont get 300 let alone 500 but the ony way we could win this is if we bat first and make a big score of around 500+

It is a huge conspiracy after all, isnt it.

Skittles check the name of the site - it is called Pak Passion, the posts here would therefore be biased in favor of Pakistan. Do not like them then I suggest you stick to your Indian forums

I honestly feel that Salman butt needs to pack the inner ring with fielders including silly point whilst Ajmal is bowling.

Trott ismoe likely to attack which could result in a wicket or we will get lucky close in with the pressure created.

If England get 400 i can see them giving us a hammering here!

Just mentally i can see Pakistans batting falling apart as per usual.

Cracks have definitly shown up in Butt's captaincy today especially with his field placing.

Imran Farhat bowling.

Chance of a stumping on Broad.

Not out by the looks of it.

Im expecting big things from Yousuf on this flat track. He needs to get a big hundred

this is what the difference between a captain like Younis khan & Salman Butt
different approach & different strategy :13:

We Miss you :yk