"Gone are the days when we could threaten and get away" : New BCCI boss Vinod Rai

http://mumbaimirror.indiatimes.com/...pions-trophy-pullout/articleshow/56964679.cms

Putting to rest the speculation about the India’s withdrawal from the Champions Trophy, Vinod Rai, the new boss of Indian cricket, said India will go ahead and participate in the June tournament. However, he has conceded that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will request the International Cricket Council (ICC) to defer a decision on the contentious new revenue-sharing formula.

“I can’t comment about the rumours. Why should the BCCI pull out of the Champions Trophy? Why? Doesn’t the Indian public want us to participate in the tournament? Everybody says we can withdraw from the Champions Trophy. Suppose withdraw, is it feasible? Will not there be a huge backlash? Gone are the days when we could threaten and get away,” Rai, the head of the four-member Supreme Court-appointed administrator, told Mirror yesterday.

Rai is well aware that the Champions Trophy participation is linked to the voting in the ICC about a new revenue-sharing formula in which the BCCI could end up losing a chunk of the ICC share. His committee has now requested the ICC to defer voting on the matter.

“We have requested the ICC to give us three-four months’ time. We are asking them not to vote tomorrow but at the annual conference in June. I am led to believe that the ICC board will consider our request,” the former Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of India revealed. “I agree that India is the largest revenue-spinner in the ICC but India can’t be isolated. I understand there will be short term loss but we will gain more revenue eventually.”

Rai also did not miss out pointing out that the BCCI itself agreed to the revision in the revenue model. “The formula was devised in 2014 and in 2016, they wanted to revise. The records show that a Special General Meeting (SGM) of the BCCI unanimously approved the revised formula. That is the truth. In that SGM, both Mr Thakur (Anurag) and Mr Pawar (Sharad) were there,” Rai pointed out clarifying that his colleague Vikram Limya will sit in the board meeting, ahead of the two office-bearers – Amitabh Chaudhry and Anirudh Chaudhary.

The BCCI in-charge has also made it clear that he has no problems coexisting with the office-bearers as much as with the ICC. “We have not gone too far. We have been here only for three days. We are taking up the priority issues one by one. We are clear in our mind that there is a role for the office-bearers and role of the senior management and there is a role for the administrators also. All of us will co-exist, with the office-bearers as well as the ICC. We are also clear in one thing and that is the reforms must be adopted in to-to.”

Talking about the time the COA can exist, Rai said he wants to ensure the implementation as soon as possible. “The Supreme Court has not given us any deadline. Left to myself I will finish in four months. But it all depends on when the states adopt the reforms. How quickly we can persuade them is the point. As far as I am concerned, these reforms are final. We can’t make any changes. How best we can persuade them to adopt is important but the immediate priority is the IPL. We have cleared all that is required,” he said.

Finally, Rai reiterated the point that he is only the night watchman. “I have not even gone to the BCCI office yet. When I said I am only a night watchman, what I meant was this is a democratic body. We’re here to ensure everything is conducted in an ethical fashion, the elections, accounting, etc. Earliest we can put things in place and leave it back to democracy, we’ll do it,” he remarked.

2 tier-Test league, 13 team WC qualifier

The ICC Chief Executives Committee (CEC) has proposed a two tier-Test league along with a 13-team league for 50-over ODI qualification system. The two-day CEC conference concluded in Dubai yesterday and the proposals by the CEC will be put across to the all-powerful ICC Board that will take place on Saturday and Sunday.

According to sources in CEC meeting, it has been learnt that the two-tier Test league would have the top nine teams as per ICC rankings in the elite league while the likes of Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland will get a chance to showcase their skills in the second tier with a few other associate nations.

It was also learnt that CEC proposed a 13-team ODI league for the associate nations to determine the ones which will qualify for the 2019 World Cup in the United Kingdom. A regional T20 competition is also being mulled for the World T20 competition. Agencies

OMG No wonder India was a mess under Nehru these judiciary administrators have no idea how to deal with ICC.
Shashank Manohar and judiciary have played this so well ,they have literally wiped the floor with BCCI , [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] no offense this is the most spineless BCCI administration in a long time who have been trapped in their own game.

OMG No wonder India was a mess under Nehru these judiciary administrators have no idea how to deal with ICC.
Shashank Manohar and judiciary have played this so well ,they have literally wiped the floor with BCCI , [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] no offense this is the most spineless BCCI administration in a long time who have been trapped in their own game.

The first decent person to lead BCCI in years I think.

He is a very good person and I'm not doubting that,his name has been associated with anti-corruption movements in India(exposed many scams) but there is a difference between running real world corporations and being an idealist auditor.

Thats great.. I am a true admirer of Mr. Shahshank Manohar who works in ICC as a neutral person.. He wants equal distribution of revenue even they know that will be a great loss of BCCI. And BCCI has no other option than accepting.. Salute!

What has the world come to, BCCI getting taste of it's own medicine, never thought i will live long enough to see this day. Bullies getting bullied.

Not sure what has changed that has made BCCI suddenly powerless.

[MENTION=83349]R0H1T[/MENTION] I remember you vehemently supporting SC decision, what are your views on this bud?

unnecessary misleading headline, if you read what he said along with it, bcci wanted time to study the new distribution model and have got it, everyone will fall in line in a few months or SC is going to have a big publicity backlash.

It's not so much fun when the shoe is on the other foot, is it now?

BCCI getting a taste of their own medicine. This is beautiful. :srini

Devastating news as an Indian fan. Being part of the Big Three gave us immense leverage to control cricket. Just hoping ICC doesn't get democratized as some members don't contribute to cricket like the Big Three do.

1.BCCI members will move the SC now as Rai is only temporary admin while these changes are long term.

2.Rai himself says that the ICC should defer the matter till June and by that time a new regime will take over.

This isnt finished

He is a very good person and I'm not doubting that,his name has been associated with anti-corruption movements in India(exposed many scams) but there is a difference between running real world corporations and being an idealist auditor.

He is an accountant not an administrator.

1.BCCI members will move the SC now as Rai is only temporary admin while these changes are long term.

2.Rai himself says that the ICC should defer the matter till June and by that time a new regime will take over.

This isnt finished
Bcci, slc, zimbabwe opposed the resolution and nothing is ratified as yet

Even sc appointed limaye questioned the move saying there is no Scientific basis for the revenue distribution other than good faith and equitable distribution

What has the world come to, BCCI getting taste of it's own medicine, never thought i will live long enough to see this day. Bullies getting bullied.

Dont count u r chickens as yet? Bcci, slc, zim opposed said reforms

It's not so much fun when the shoe is on the other foot, is it now?

BCCI getting a taste of their own medicine. This is beautiful. :srini

Wait till something is finalized and it is never good to celebrate prematurely

Yes confirmed that Limaye voted againist the proposal.Nothing ratified and ratification will happen only in June.Considering that Limaye is the Corporate Bank Honcho he will likely guide the rest of the committee.

Its 7-3 now againist BCCI.WICB and BCB can be poached.That will be a deadlock at 5-5.Eeven a 6-4 wont do as 7-3 is needed to pass constituitional reforms.

Atleast Vinod Rai is accepting it that we played the game of threatening and getting away.

BCCI must be feeling like saying this to SC : 'boss maine aapko bola kya hai?' :inti

Nothing Much is gonna happen as already 2 boards are on indian side and many more will join. Sa will Be the one i think because they are looking for indian investors and sa board even gave advertisements in main pages of leading indian dailys. They are looking for atleast. Second rung players of india in their t 20 cup

Atleast Vinod Rai is accepting it that we played the game of threatening and getting away.

BCCI must be feeling like saying this to SC : 'boss maine aapko bola kya hai?' :inti

Veeru bhai what is u r take on this? Even the sc appointed limaye questioned this proposal

Nothing Much is gonna happen as already 2 boards are on indian side and many more will join. Sa will Be the one i think because they are looking for indian investors and sa board even gave advertisements in main pages of leading indian dailys. They are looking for atleast. Second rung players of india in their t 20 cup

Yes saw those Ads today.

WOnder if i can form a consortium and bid?

Enjoy the few months this will last. BCCI will be back. :srini

These sc appointed guys are having their 5 secongs to fame and they will be dispatched once the real bcci is elected again.

The same anirrudha chowdary and other guy is still Eligible for bcci presidency and there are the vice presidents of previous board.

If any body thinks it will curtail Bcci then u r too naive

These sc appointed guys are having their 5 secongs to fame and they will be dispatched once the real bcci is elected again.

The same anirrudha chowdary and other guy is still Eligible for bcci presidency and there are the vice presidents of previous board.

If any body thinks it will curtail Bcci then u r too naive

Media trial of Rai already started,whether he has the mandate to agree to anything that will cause the BCCI long term loss as he is a temporary admin and his job is to oversee the election according to the Lodha reforms.

Limaye has clearly stated that BCCI is againist these proposals and will continue to be againist them.

God I would have Srini in a heart beat over these spine-less losers. SC should do what it is supposed to and not indulge in judicial over-reach.

Media trial of Rai already started,whether he has the mandate to agree to anything that will cause the BCCI long term loss as he is a temporary admin and his job is to oversee the election according to the Lodha reforms.

Limaye has clearly stated that BCCI is againist these proposals and will continue to be againist them.

I dont understand why this guy is giving statements like that? He has no authority and he is there to just observe and implement lodha reforms and not take decisions

God I would have Srini in a heart beat over these spine-less losers. SC should do what it is supposed to and not indulge in judicial over-reach.

Absolutely. This bcci administration caved in and now u can see this harakiri. Srini is a true administrator

I dont understand why this guy is giving statements like that? He has no authority and he is there to just observe and implement lodha reforms and not take decisions

Expect fireworks at the next SC hearing.

what are sri lanka and Zimbabwe expecting to get from BCCI ..... peanuts for supporting BCCI

Yes confirmed that Limaye voted againist the proposal.Nothing ratified and ratification will happen only in June.Considering that Limaye is the Corporate Bank Honcho he will likely guide the rest of the committee.

Its 7-3 now againist BCCI.WICB and BCB can be poached.That will be a deadlock at 5-5.Eeven a 6-4 wont do as 7-3 is needed to pass constituitional reforms.

BCB has much to gain from 9-3 test leagues and ODI league. If BCCI guarantee Bangladesh fixtures against England/Australia and increased revenue, BCB will be the first to support BCCI.

It was supposed to be 9-1 yesterday.Came out to be 7-3 .One more vote to block it.Once it would be clear that BCCI will be able to block it expect couple of others to join in.

What is this block joshila bhai? Even at the present moment it is 7-3 and it will not be implemented anyway right?

I don't really know what this is all about but hope we get rolled over and flattened to a fine paste.

I guess we could call this the Shashank Redemption. I'll see myself out

What is this block joshila bhai? Even at the present moment it is 7-3 and it will not be implemented anyway right?

Who are these bcci 'sources' being quoted in today's papers about 7-2 , 6-4 vote etc ... are deposed BCCI officials like Thakur making backroom deals with the other small boards , that they'll come good on when they get re-elected ??

I don't think Vinod Rai and Limaye would make those statements to media .

Who are these bcci 'sources' being quoted in today's papers about 7-2 , 6-4 vote etc ... are deposed BCCI officials like Thakur making backroom deals with the other small boards , that they'll come good on when they get re-elected ??

Aniruddh Chowdhury and Amitabh Choudhury are still BCCI office bearers and will remain so till 2018 March so yes even after new President and Secretary are elected by june they will remain.

Vinod Rai has no mandate to make any deals except implement Lodha Reforms.

Rahul Johri is the CEO and he will remain Ceo

Limaye will handle the ICC affairs and will be helped by the two chowdhurys.This is according to the SC

So plenty of people to liason with the other boards and make deals.

Limaye will handle the ICC affairs and will be helped by the two chowdhurys.This is according to the SC

So plenty of people to liason with the other boards and make deals.

So final call lies with Limaye. How do you know he won't vote for Manohar model in June ? I think yesterday's NO vote was because of the new panel needing more time to think it through. Eventually , they might agree that pre-2014 model was more fair.

Limaye and rai have no say in bcci functioning. They are temporary supervisors untill new board is elected.
It is a fact that inorder to make constitutional changes 3/4 th majority is required ie 8-2 in favour. U dont need to be a present member to state facts isn't it?

So final call lies with Limaye. How do you know he won't vote for Manohar model in June ? I think yesterday's NO vote was because of the new panel needing more time to think it through. Eventually , they might agree that pre-2014 model was more fair.

Limaye cannot make decisions on behalf of bcci. They r there to form a new board and not do bcci work

Because by the time of june new bcci will be in place and the actual board decides not limaye

What is so hard for u to understand that this new panel is there to implement lodha panel reforms and not do the work of bcci. Only bcci members make decisions

It's about time we gave back to the cricket world rather than perch ourselves atop a self-styled fiefdom.

Nothing should be given. It has to be earned. How will u improve if u r getting handouts by not doing anything and what is the need to improve if everything is served on a platter

It's about time we gave back to the cricket world rather than perch ourselves atop a self-styled fiefdom.

How is this fair to smaller towns of India where BCCI will be forced to cut expenditure just because Mugabe nation could continue losing to Afghanistan?

So u want to starve the breadwinner and feed a waste drunkard so that both will go down

LoL.Limaye or Rai will have to explain to the court why they voted for a proposal that lost BCCI 100s million USD.

Limaye was very direct when he said that there is no scientific basis of the proposed cut except good faith and equity and you cannot decide the revenue matters of World Cricket on that basis.

Btw how was pre 2014 model fair?

Lol.Really?This not charity.How much do you know about Cricketing history and administrstion.No one gives anything for free

If this is only a financial issue, I dont mind much so long as the other 11 boards can at least prosper. BCCI does generate most of the revenue so they deserve to keep a significant chunk. The other 9 boards should negotiate the amount down from 20% to say 17% or something. Or better yet get an independent consultant to actually calculate how much each board generates and compensate accordingly.

Hope this doesnt affect the 9 team Test league and Afghanistan's bid for Test status tho...

:))) Mods can we just bring out QOTW for this beauty.......

Muuuaaahh !! Hum Sab ki Taraf say App ko Aik Bharpoor Geli Pappi :afridi :ma

"Shashank Redemption."

He stole that line from me. I know cause I stole that line from someone else.

Why the heck is borderline minnows like Sri Lanka not agreeing to this proposal ? LOL

"Shashank Redemption."

He stole that line from me. I know cause I stole that line from someone else.

Why the heck is borderline minnows like Sri Lanka not agreeing to this proposal ? LOL

Sri Lanka is that friend who will always stand with you (India) no matter what..

Nanbenda!:sree

If the BCCI is the villain of cricket, Sri Lanka is that side villain who always stands by the villain.

Da Fuq?

A global sporting event and we should receive 21% of the revenue?

This is fair, this is right and those who want the BCCI to use whatever clout it has to maintain its dominance should not complain when a trading partner uses the threat of sanctions to force us to comply.

This is for the good of the game.

So u want to starve the breadwinner and feed a waste drunkard so that both will go down

Lol.Really?This not charity.How much do you know about Cricketing history and administrstion.No one gives anything for free

Who is providing the money ? BCCI or the Indian Market ? Why is everyone talking as if BCCI is giving their profits away when the money was generated through the Indian market ?

so i guess by your logic, when you were young, and assuming your dad was the only breadwinner in the house, he would consume all the food and leave the scraps for the rest.

dude we play cricket with opponents. if you want the sport to go the way it has in the west indies, you need a good, strong opponent. or better yet, opponents.

Who is providing the money ? BCCI or the Indian Market ? Why is everyone talking as if BCCI is giving their profits away when the money was generated through the Indian market ?

BCCI represents Indian Cricket.

Da Fuq?

A global sporting event and we should receive 21% of the revenue?

This is fair, this is right and those who want the BCCI to use whatever clout it has to maintain its dominance should not complain when a trading partner uses the threat of sanctions to force us to comply.

This is for the good of the game.

Because 80% revenue is generated in India.

Indian cricket is a propriety of bcci and it is what it is due to bcci and the team is bcci team and not by ind govt so it is bcci money because it is payed for by tv companies to watch team bcci to perform

so i guess by your logic, when you were young, and assuming your dad was the only breadwinner in the house, he would consume all the food and leave the scraps for the rest.

dude we play cricket with opponents. if you want the sport to go the way it has in the west indies, you need a good, strong opponent. or better yet, opponents.

U r anology is very poor because most icc full Members are not kids and bcci is not a parent. a kid will not depend on handouts from parents all his life

BCCI represents Indian Cricket.

People that watch cricket are not owned by BCCI. False entitlement by BCCI and their fans. This is like saying India should get the most amount of money made by multinational corporations because they milk money from the Indian population. Imagine USA Basketball asking Adidas and Puma to give 30% of their cut because Adidas and Puma are making billions of dollars selling Basketball shoes in USA. India is a Free Market economy, anybody can milk money out of Indian population. This is very laughable.

Indian cricket is a propriety of bcci and it is what it is due to bcci and the team is bcci team and not by ind govt so it is bcci money because it is payed for by tv companies to watch team bcci to perform

Are they taking $$$ earned by BCCI from Eng vs India tour and giving it to Zimbabwe ?