Hashim Amla | The Mega Discussion Thread

So tell me, do you still blame for me all of this mess? Isn't this just supremely annoying?

I pray one day :amla bhai blasts all these plastic fans in Pakistan and shuts them up so that they stop their theories on whether he's fasting or not. Why do we care?! Give the man a break, its none of our business.

Of course this notion is lost on most people.

I hope Amla scores a hundred against Pakistan in the world cup and SA win the match, will be amazing to see the reactions :yk

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION],

:amla bhai boosted his average in the 2011 WC by scoring a ton vs Netherlands and a 50 vs Bangladesh. Producing nothing against good teams.

That 'jaffa' by Ashwin would have been carved through the covers thanks to that rubber wrists of his, if it wasn't a semifinal.

His performance against all the good attacks in the 2011 World Cup is the proof, as is the 2013 CT semifinal when he played a hack shot against Finn.

Kumble, Warne and Qadir are just excited to see a young leggie, but the novelty will wear off soon.

Warne rates Sohail Tanvir a lot, and since he knows about cricket a lot more than you, have you changed your views on him?

A choker doesn't score any runs in a WC, be that against the minnows or the good teams. Your goal-posts keep shifting at your convenience.

That was a superb delivery and he couldn't have hit that for four. He was batting nicely before that ball and showed no signs of not being able to handle the pressure.

Once again, the Champions Trophy is irrelevant in this discussion.

They are excited to see a quality leg-spinner, plenty of leg-spinners exist all around the world. Warne used to rate him back in the day and so did everyone else. However, Sohail Tanvir wasn't called rubbish after a few months of his debut, especially when he was bowling well.

I hope Amla scores a hundred against Pakistan in the world cup and SA win the match, will be amazing to see the reactions :yk

Muhammad Irfan has got the measure of Amla bhai so it'll be hard for bhai to score a hundred. :amla

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION]

Such desperation, so now performance against minnows matter to you?

So if Kohli scores a ton against Afghanistan at the World Cup, I pray you won't put it down. Goodness gracious.

Why is it so hard for you to accept that he hasn't failed in big matches in ICC events so far?

The CT is not irrelevant, I'm talking about all ICC events.

Yes he didn't, but then failed to read a regular carrom ball.

Muhammad Irfan has got the measure of Amla bhai so it'll be hard for bhai to score a hundred. :amla

Indeed, :amla bhai must shake in his boots at the sight of the next Joel Garner Irfan. :facepalm:

Its like Junaid getting the better of Kohli. Irfan isn't half the bowler Amla bhai is as a batsman.

Why Bro. Religion is personal and what it say to you. Has he ever ask you to grow bear or fast. I don't think so. We should praise the guy that he belives some thing and stick to it and if it inspires someone, why you are so worried.

The problem is when you lie on live TV that he was fasting when he scored 300 runs and when you pray that he scores runs against your OWN team.

Please explain how is that justified? :facepalm:

Indeed, :amla bhai must shake in his boots at the sight of the next Joel Garner Irfan. :facepalm:

Its like Junaid getting the better of Kohli. Irfan isn't half the bowler Amla bhai is as a batsman.

Dost, it was a sarcastic post.. :))

Such desperation, so now performance against minnows matter to you?

So if Kohli scores a ton against Afghanistan at the World Cup, I pray you won't put it down. Goodness gracious.

Why is it so hard for you to accept that he hasn't failed in big matches in ICC events so far?

The CT is not irrelevant, I'm talking about all ICC events.

Yes he didn't, but then failed to read a regular carrom ball.

To me, you don't have to succeed in WCs to become an ATG in the ODI format but you never dig through stats in this manner for other players, why do it now? :amla

You were praising Afridi in another thread for good performances against Canada and co in the last WC but ofcourse, hypocrisy is the order of the day.

I have no doubt about Kohli's performances in batting friendly conditions so unless he scores something significant when the ball is moving around, it won't matter to me.

The CT is irrelevant. South Africa won that tourney and its obvious that is does not have the splendor of a WC, nor its pressure.

If you call that a "regular carrom ball", then I doubt that you actually saw the match.

My apologies, but a lot of people are under this illusion that :amla bhai is Irfan's bunny.

:)) This is after he posts the same exact thing in many a thread.

Funny how that is the one thing that is actually true. Irfan did get the better of Amla and I wonder if he still remember's his number.

Whatever the pressure CT has, he couldn't handle it.

I did, and he wouldn't have been beaten by it in a bilateral.

Context matters when it comes to minnow-bashing. Amla bhai didn't dig SA out from hole against Netherlands or Bangladesh.

If he saves SA from defeat at the World Cup against Scotland even, I'll eat my words.

Till then, good day. :amla

:)) This is after he posts the same exact thing in many a thread.

Funny how that is the one thing that is actually true. Irfan did get the better of Amla and I wonder if he still remember's his number.

I says so sarcastically. Don't believe in bunnies when the gulf in quality is huge.

Its not as if Kohli/Amla bhai/Tendulkar aren't good enough for Junaid/Irfan/Anderson, Razzaq and Cronje. Its not significant at all.

And the other way round is meaningless too, Steyn is world class while Hafeez is mediocre, so nothing surprising there.

However,

Kohli vs Anderson is a good battle, because both are excellent in Tests. However its a different matter that so far there has been one winner only.

Whatever the pressure CT has, he couldn't handle it.

I did, and he wouldn't have been beaten by it in a bilateral.

Context matters when it comes to minnow-bashing. Amla bhai didn't dig SA out from hole against Netherlands or Bangladesh.

If he saves SA from defeat at the World Cup against Scotland even, I'll eat my words.

Till then, good day. :amla

Yes, lets wait till the WC ends. Should be fun seeing you desperately try and convince people that you never claimed Amla was a choker. :kakmal

Back on topic:

He also broke the record for most runs scored in a bilateral series for South Africa with these 413 runs. The previous record was also held by him and happened during a 2010 tour of the Windies.

Imagine if the Windies win this. :amla

PP will have to close down and Mamoon will become its highest post-scorer.

Didn't say that, but the status that he enjoys because of his beard is stupid.

Alright, back on topic.

Brilliant performance. :amla

Thanx Buddy.

Now tell me whts wrong with his batting. if there is any?

We all PPers will talk to him. :)

Won't blame bhai for it, don't worry. :amla

Thanx Buddy.

Now tell me whts wrong with his batting. if there is any?

We all PPers will talk to him. :)

Nothing wrong, but needs to win a knockout match and perform under pressure for SA on the big stage.

Won't blame bhai for it, don't worry. :amla

Oh yes you will. "Amla is a defensive captain" threads will pop up.

That reminds me, didn't you also claim that he would be a terrible choice for captaincy? Among all the threads about how he was finished and that Irfan should break his head. :afaq

Amla bhai has been ordinary as captain so far and untested as well. Can't rate that SL win, his team cheated.

Wasn't anything special in the WI Tests.

His Captaincy has been okay today, but the shorter the format the better WI are. 42 overs have made life slightly easier for WI, but still they have a long, long way to go. Cannot see them winning.

I'd like to see Irfan try to knock his head off and put him on the back-foot, that's the only way we might stop him from scoring, provided he doesn't turn choke mode on.

Otherwise, nothing can stop this man, especially when we don't have services of Ajmal's darts.

Well dome Amla. Looks to be red hot form.

Just for record, Rohit in his last 4 ODIs (across multiple series though) has got 52, 264, 9 and 138, thats 463 runs :P

amazing stat. mamoon I bet is hating every bit of this:P, I remember him saying amla cant hit a six no matter what and stuff like that. every one of those 6 sixes would have hurt him I guess:P

Of course he can, on phattas against useless bowlers.

Still remember him catching thin air vs Ajmal when 12 runs were required in 12 balls.

Players have taken Ajmal to the cleaners in spite of his chucking, and Amla bhai failed big time.

Hussey, Yuvraj, Bravo, Sammy etc. all destroyed Ajmal's chucks, but Amla bhai didn't.

He failed because he couldn't handle the pressure, and failed to read the variations he normally didn't have problems against. Played him very well in Tests.

The reason Amla is hated on by some people is because of posters like [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] who is truly obsessed with players with beards. He was even all over the Kiwi player Divcich before realizing the truth. Amla is a great player and seems like a good bloke but unfortunately he has some creepy fans which open him up for unreasonable hate.

:))) Really?

I missed that, unfortunately.

Hussey, Yuvraj, Bravo, Sammy etc. all destroyed Ajmal's chucks, but Amla bhai didn't.

He failed because he couldn't handle the pressure, and failed to read the variations he normally didn't have problems against. Played him very well in Tests.

Even Kevin O Brien did when Ajmal went for 0-71 :P including 15 off the last over :P

^ Yes, was a match-loser at the death quite often, but then he ran into the King Choker. :amla

mamoon and his stupid logics i saw Faisal Iqbal smashing Warne left right and center like many greats can't even imagine but that doesn't make him a great bat.

Never said that.

My point is that bhai's struggles against Ajmal in that match had nothing to do with his chucking because he has handled him very well otherwise. He just froze under pressue.

Bashing Amla but forgetting how much he scored that match, despite hitting thin air is rather funny too. But hay that one game and thin air slogging should mould this whole argument :)

So Tests are not under pressure, I mean that is a reason why it's called Tests, right?

Sherlock, 97 of 132 deliveries while chasing 260 in 45 overs is a pathetically selfish innings by all accounts.

Bashing Amla but forgetting how much he scored that match, despite hitting thin air is rather funny too. But hay that one game and thin air slogging should mould this whole argument :)

That one game is the only botched chase that Amla was part of and Mamoon will hold onto it for eternity. Lets not even mention the three idiots, Duminy, Miller and McLaren who got owned by Junaid Khan in the last over.

You do realise in that game he could do that because AB was smashing all out bowlers everywhere and Amla's SR was acceptable, hence why at the end he was slogging.

Sherlock, 97 of 132 deliveries while chasing 260 in 45 overs is a pathetically selfish innings by all accounts.

That selfish innings all but won South Africa the match. Why couldn't any of the self-less batsmen take South Africa over the line?

On topic:

Proving to be a very good captain as well, is #. South Africa definitely made the right choice.

No he couldn't do that,

He was playing Test cricket out there with the RRR climbing up after every over. de Villiers had to play one shot too many because Amla bhai wasn't helping him at all in keeping the RRR in check. It was a very poor knock.

He has no excuse now to fail in the WC. He is in golden touch if he fails in this WC he deserves to be labelled a bilateral bully and choker

WIs attack is barely county standard but fairplay to Amla bhai for cashing in. Played a supreme knock lets see if he can do this in the big time

If they turn out to be rubbish and you don't call them rubbish, you're just blinded by personal bias.

I never called Maqsood and Yasir rubbish, they simply didn't live up to the hype.

Alma was mediocre in his first stint too. So what. Our guys need a good run. We r too quick to judge

You can call him whatever you want but he is playing this anchor role in SA side brilliantly there is nor kallis or smith and Amla is the only player in this SA side who can play this role.

This is the first time, the term anchor role has been used for the right person. Previusly i used to see guys like misbah and younis being mentioned with it, for god knows what reason

That selfish innings all but won South Africa the match. Why couldn't any of the self-less batsmen take South Africa over the line?

de Villiers' blitz almost won them the game, and Amla bhai had his eye in, it was his responsibility to take the team home after de Villiers put the game on a platter to him.

It was like 30 from 30, and he failed.

Sure the likes of Duminy and Miller didn't help, but Amla bhai should have taken the team home. Jeez, the excuses.

de Villiers' blitz almost won them the game, and Amla bhai had his eye in, it was his responsibility to take the team home after de Villiers put the game on a platter to him.

Sure the likes of Duminy and Miller didn't help, but Amla bhai should have taken the team home. Jeez, the excuses.

wese amla bhai was rested for 1 match in this series and SA lost that match :p #jk

actually you are the worst critique over here mr mamoon . remember the time when our team needed 19 with six wickets remaining and balls were countless. Legend Amin along with our other great players chocked so what if he failed to took his side home . there were other batsmen too ,

clearly the best ODI opener in world right now and just goes to show you can play normal cricket shots and still score runs heavily in ODIs, a class act.

I hope he scores runs by the bucket loads to really p*** off the idiots. A brilliant player with 42 hundreds in international cricket doesn't need to prove anything to anyone.

lol i just realized he got more hundreds than Chanderpaul who is probably playing cricket since the dinosaur era

Amazing, didn't realize he had that many.

How many does the 15 man Pakistan squad have in total?

2 100s and 2 50s in the series is a great feat. But lets be honest, the pitches have been a joke. Still an achievement but people are blowing this up like there is no tomorrow.

Great going by hash. Hoping some ipl team picks him up & makes him captain.

Would be terrific to have him as a batting coach for india :)

Very true, set batsmen should take the team home. Amla himself will know the blame of that match is on him.

Very good poster. Look out for your posts all the time.

Why is Amla compared with a mediocre performer like Moeen Ali ? I can't remember a single time Amla bought religion onto the cricket field.

Amla brings religion to every match when he refuses to wear the Castle logo.

I am not a fan of that, but whatever. I have never seen him do anything the lines of inshallah. thanks Allah boys played well" or prostrating/ showing religious symbols after scoring a hundred :moyo

[MENTION=132828]vandokkum[/MENTION], most players bring in religion, especially at the century point, when they look up and thank their imaginary friend in the sky.

no matter which religion the player is, i've seen most players do that.
so what difference does it make that Moyo and Co. kneel and kiss the ground instead?

Good batsmen.

Does rack up the numbers, but I always feel his innings are good to set targets, but if you want someone to win you chasing 300 plus , Amla's innings can only be anchor.

Others can play around him, he won't win you the game single handedly.

Not unless the score is 200-250.

Just my opinion.

Good batsmen.

Does rack up the numbers, but I always feel his innings are good to set targets, but if you want someone to win you chasing 300 plus , Amla's innings can only be anchor.

Others can play around him, he won't win you the game single handedly.

Not unless the score is 200-250.

Just my opinion.

You need a solid base to chase 300. The likes of miller & abd can accelerate later on.

True which is why I said he's a good batsmen.

He can always give you the anchor.

But I wouldn't depend on him scoring even 30 in 30 balls remaining, if it came to that.

A classical type batsmen, who would find it hard to up the tempo, if he had to to it against his nature.

True which is why I said he's a good batsmen.

He can always give you the anchor.

But I wouldn't depend on him scoring even 30 in 30 balls remaining, if it came to that.

A classical type batsmen, who would find it hard to up the tempo, if he had to to it against his nature.

SA need an anchor more these days dr sahab there is more kallis or smith the only 1 person who can do this job is amla all others are the attacking one (abd have defensive game in tests but in odi he dont play like anchor)

He took it down to 12 off 12 and then Ajmal got the better of him which does happen from time to time, seeing how he's one of the greatest spinners of all time. He was the opener and pulled more weight than he was required to do. If South Africa's specialist finishers can't take nine runs off a bowler that you are quick to call mediocre, Amla is hardly the guy to blame.

I see no difference between you and Savak. One can't forget Mohali and one can't forget this game. :facepalm:

SA need an anchor more these days dr sahab there is more kallis or smith the only 1 person who can do this job is amla all others are the attacking one (abd have defensive game in tests but in odi he dont play like anchor)

South Africa to chase 320 in World Cup Semi final.

Only one of AB or Amla can make runs and you don't have an option to chose both. Who would you chose?

South AFricat to chase 320 in World Cup Semi final.

Only one of Miller or Amla can make runs (we are assuming both will make plenty of runs, not just a pretty 30 or 20), who will you chose ?

I think no one in their right mind would chose Amla if a fast chase is required. Amla can be a good consolidator, but he doesn't have the X-factor.

I am sorry that's my opinion.

He took it down to 12 off 12 and then Ajmal got the better of him which does happen from time to time, seeing how he's one of the greatest spinners of all time. He was the opener and pulled more weight than he was required to do. If South Africa's specialist finishers can't take nine runs off a bowler that you are quick to call mediocre, Amla is hardly the guy to blame.

I see no difference between you and Savak. One can't forget Mohali and one can't forget this game. :facepalm:

For that, you have to be good in tests which Ajmal wasn't bar one England performance. He was an ODI great but not THE GREATEST spinner of ALL TIME.

Not even close.

Greatest chucker of all time, now that it's been proven.