Honour Killings

22-yr-old Engineering Student Hacked to Death in Suspected Honour Killing

UDUMALAIPETTAI:Another day, another young Dalit man’s life snuffed out, allegedly in a case of honour killing. Almost a regular feature now in Tamil Nadu’s caste-polarised landscape. The plot remains the same, only the location changes.

A newly married Dalit man, who defied caste barriers to clinch his muse from the upper caste, was hacked to death in broad daylight at Udumalaipettai, in Tirupur district, on Sunday.

Shankar (22), son of Velusamy from Komaralingam, got married to caste Hindu girl, Kousalya (19), daughter of Chinnasamy, against the wishes of the girl’s family in 2015. The couple was pursuing engineering degree in a private college at Palani.

The efforts of the girl’s family went in vain after she refused to toe their line and submitted in writing to the police that she was within her rights and got married only after she turned 18 and did not wish to go back to her family.

Since then, Kousalya lost all contacts with her family.

Kousalya was residing at Shankar’s home at Kumaralingam. While Shankar was still pursuing his education, Kousalya dropped out and has been working at a tiles shop in the locality.

On Sunday, the couple went to Udumalaipettai for shopping. As they reached the Udumalaipettai bus terminal, they were surrounded by three unidentified men on a bike. The miscreants hacked the couple with sickles and vanished. According to eyewitnesses, the bystanders too did not escape the wrath of the trio miscreants when they tried to intervene in a bid to prevent the three from escaping.

The couple lay in a pool of blood and was rushed to the Udumalaipettai GH and later shifted to the Coimbatore Medical College Hospital (CMCH). Shankar died on the way while Kousalya, who is also critically injured, is currently undergoing treatment at the hospital.

According to police, all the check posts in and around Udumalaipettai have been alerted to trace the murderers and three special teams were formed to nab them. Tirupur SP Saroj Kumar Thakur too visited the scene of crime, on Sunday evening. However, Udumalaipettai police are still clueless about the motive and persons behind the attack. An inquiry is presently on.

http://www.newindianexpress.com/sta...-Honour-Killing/2016/03/14/article3326084.ece

That's shocking!!

How can they be clueless?

Just do it the way the Israelis do - even with Jewish terrorists.

Arrest and use harsh interrogation (torture) on the parents and siblings of the woman.

It's hardly rocket science working out who has the motive.

Hope they find the killers and prosecute those who paid them to do it.

Arrest and use harsh interrogation (torture) on the parents and siblings of the woman.

Yeah...and the honest politicians and the police officers under their control would never misuse it in a country like India.

You should had posted the girl's pic as well,horrifying but hardly surprising its common in Tamil Nadu esp in Nammakal district

RIP.

Edit.

It's very hard to differentiate lower caste and upper caste tamils. I don't know from where the concept of casteism came to tamilnadu.

Usually actual culprits are never caught seen it so many times in Nammakal,also the comments in that page are horrible to say the least,wonder if India is the most divided right now probably because every tom dick harry has access to social network.

Comments on the Indian news sites are always horrible.

Too many dumb ***** on the internet.

I always thought South Indians did less of this stuff compared to the Northies.

Nothing new in TN really.

Comments like this are really disappointing, not you personally, but that it's still considered normal in a country like India. What is needed is a worldwide campaign to bring this sort of stuff out in the open. If the girl survives she could be a poster girl for low castes and tour the world like Malala. Only with such public shaming of the nation will real efforts be made to stamp out this horrific mentality.

If she becomes a Malala, she's going to be relocated to England, may get a Nobel prize, and may star in many BBC documentaries. But I don't know how these measures are going to stop a grumpy old father in some random Indian town or village, killing his son in law and his daughter. Recently Sharmeen Obaid got an Oscar for making a documentary about honour killings in Pakistan. Is that going to stop the honour killings suddenly there?

There is no quick fix for this. You just have to hope that the newer generations become wiser with education and this mentality is stamped out of the society.

If she becomes a Malala, she's going to be relocated to England, may get a Nobel prize, and may star in many BBC documentaries. But I don't know how these measures are going to stop a grumpy old father in some random Indian town or village, killing his son in law and his daughter. Recently Sharmeen Obaid got an Oscar for making a documentary about honour killings in Pakistan. Is that going to stop the honour killings suddenly there?

There is no quick fix for this. You just have to hope that the newer generations become wiser with education and this mentality is stamped out of the society.

It might not stop the honour killings but at least international pressure comes to bear on the Indian govt when it goes worldwide. Why do you think Sharmeen Obaid got the oscar? Would it have been better if she was ignored and we just hope things get better by themselves?

Things don't work like that, that's the reason the Indian guy was presented co-Nobel prize winner with Malala. So that by linking his name to the superstar Malala, his cause could also get some attention. Otherwise it's too easy to ignore such people on account that it's seen as bad publicity for the nation.

Tamilnadu is the most castiest place in South India.

Its Dalits vs Backward castes most of the time.

It might not stop the honour killings but at least international pressure comes to bear on the Indian govt when it goes worldwide. Why do you think Sharmeen Obaid got the oscar? Would it have been better if she was ignored and we just hope things get better by themselves?

Things don't work like that, that's the reason the Indian guy was presented co-Nobel prize winner with Malala. So that by linking his name to the superstar Malala, his cause could also get some attention. Otherwise it's too easy to ignore such people on account that it's seen as bad publicity for the nation.

What measures do you recommend for the govts to reduce honour killing in south asian countries? You could argue that the laws are a bit lax in Pakistan, but I read recently that Nawaz Sharif has ordered for the laws to be tightened/changed following the screening of Obaid's documentary to him.

In India, these killings are tried as usual murder cases. Some get death penalties too. Last year a whole family was sentenced to death following a case of honour killing. Yeah, you could recommend a universal death penalty for everyone implicated in such incidents. But then you'll have human rights activists knocking on your door, while being branded as a totalitarian state by the West like China's being done now.

What measures do you recommend for the govts to reduce honour killing in south asian countries? You could argue that the laws are a bit lax in Pakistan, but I read recently that Nawaz Sharif has ordered for the laws to be tightened/changed following the screening of Obaid's documentary to him.

In India, these killings are tried as usual murder cases. Some get death penalties too. Last year a whole family was sentenced to death following a case of honour killing. Yeah, you could recommend a universal death penalty for everyone implicated in such incidents. But then you'll have human rights activists knocking on your door, while being branded as a totalitarian state by the West like China's being done now.

It isn't so much about what measures the govt takes as to changing the mindset in these backward places, and that comes from raising awareness not only in those places, but worldwide so local governments don't just sweep this under the carpet.

As I said earlier, it's the same principle as using Malala as a poster girl to encourage backwards families to educate their girls in rural areas.

Really ??? and how to make sure that innocent are not being tortured to get nothing out of it ??

Kumarland is messed up, we should build a wall to protect Pakistan from such primitive customs.

Ameen

Honor Killings should have been extinct by now.

Comes from seeing women as property. If my daughter sleeps with a guy, who is her husband, that guy has a social upperhand over me. That is why brother in law is an abuse. A proper relationship is seen as an abuse. Although this mentality exists pan india, but states like Tamil Nadu, Haryana and Bihar take it to another level.

It looks like its an issue between Thevars and Dalits. I read about their rivalry back n 90's and how they killed each other.

Can any Tamil poster explain why there is rivalry? Is it purely caste based or is it resources based?

I remember the movie Thevar Magan by Kamal Haasan.

Most casteist people get to violence only when the groom is from Dalit community,otherwise they might not talk but violence never happens,its sad that for all DMK keeps whining about they hardly champion dalit rights when they have to fight castes other than Brahmins.

Nobody criticizes Backward Castes and Other Backward Castes for their atrocities on Dalits.

BC's and OBC's form 40% of the population. Nobody dares to lose that vote bank by criticizing them.

Its easy to criticize Brahmins who are like 1% of the population. Even if they lose their votes, nobody cares.

Such incidents are as common, if not more, amongst the 'educated'. The fissures in society caused by the caste system are now often being compounded, not reduced, by the new found wealth and increased education.

In 3rd world countries, education is creating new paradoxes. Education, instead of breaking down class structures, is often creating new class structures, between the 'educated' and 'uneducated'/less educated.

In places like India, in marriage ads, asking for a partner of a particular caste is now being replaced by asking for a particular level of education. Education is the new caste.

Nobody criticizes Backward Castes and Other Backward Castes for their atrocities on Dalits.

BC's and OBC's form 40% of the population. Nobody dares to lose that vote bank by criticizing them.

Its easy to criticize Brahmins who are like 1% of the population. Even if they lose their votes, nobody cares.

Yup ,but tbh Brahmins deserve every bit as well and in places which BJP rule(NORTH) Brahmins are still a dominant and discriminating community.

I do not know about North. May be Brahmins have political influence there.

In South, they are nothing. Negligible population. They deserve the bashing for being casteist until before independence. Now its all Backward castes that commit atrocities on Dalits. Yet political parties never say a word about them. My friend who is a Iyer told me that most Brahmins have moved out of Tamilnadu after the Periyar movement. They were literally kicked out. Most settled n Bangalore and Bombay.

Such incidents are as common, if not more, amongst the 'educated'. The fissures in society caused by the caste system are now often being compounded, not reduced, by the new found wealth and increased education.

In 3rd world countries, education is creating new paradoxes. Education, instead of breaking down class structures, is often creating new class structures, between the 'educated' and 'uneducated'/less educated.

In places like India, in marriage ads, asking for a partner of a particular caste is now being replaced by asking for a particular level of education. Education is the new caste.

You can't stamp out casteism with education. But you can always stamp out the violence associated with it by education

Most people generally have some form of prejudice in their mind in terms of caste, religion, race and colour. All are one and the same really. I don't know how many people here will be happy with their daughter marrying a hindu boy or a black man. Yeah, people will be like I don't discriminate at all, but everyone will have their own likes and dislikes or wishes and reservations. And the same people will be reluctant to give consent when push comes to shove. But all that doesn't mean they'll resort to murder supposing their children happen to marry someone outside of their likings.

We can atleast hope to reach a stage where people don't resort to physical violence when such marriages happen, even if they don't stop harbouring prejudices completely in their mind.

You can't stamp out casteism with education. But you can always stamp out the violence associated with it by education

Most people generally have some form of prejudice in their mind in terms of caste, religion, race and colour. All are one and the same really. I don't know how many people here will be happy with their daughter marrying a hindu boy or a black man. Yeah, people will be like I don't discriminate at all, but everyone will have their own likes and dislikes or wishes and reservations. And the same people will be reluctant to give consent when push comes to shove. But all that doesn't mean they'll resort to murder supposing their children happen to marry someone outside of their likings.

We can atleast hope to reach a stage where people don't resort to physical violence when such marriages happen, even if they don't stop harbouring prejudices completely in their mind.
If you look at many of the cases involving honour killings, you'll find that the 'educated' are often the perpetrators just as much, if not more, than the 'uneducated'. That's the point I was making in my previous post.

I do not know about North. May be Brahmins have political influence there.

In South, they are nothing. Negligible population. They deserve the bashing for being casteist until before independence. Now its all Backward castes that commit atrocities on Dalits. Yet political parties never say a word about them. My friend who is a Iyer told me that most Brahmins have moved out of Tamilnadu after the Periyar movement. They were literally kicked out. Most settled n Bangalore and Bombay.

Very true most prefer getting outside the state, 69% reservations here lol that is a killer for general categories

If you look at many of the cases involving honour killings, you'll find that the 'educated' are often the perpetrators just as much, if not more, than the 'uneducated'. That's the point I was making in my previous post.

There have been cases of course, but this phenomenon generally happens more in towns and villages. People generally cut off ties with their son or daughter in cities, as they'll be aware that they'll be under the cosh if they do such lunatic acts. This pride of the family in society phenomenon exists more in rural settings.

They are forced to do it because if they dont take action, the family loses social capital. And gains immense respect among their society if they kill their offspring. There is some benefit in being known as upholding the honour of the community and family by even sacrificing your children if needed.

Yup, peer pressure is certainly more in close knit communities than disjointed ones.

Problem with India and Pakistan is not the poor but it's the middle and upper class who create and nurture the culture of cast system and religious extremism...

In Pakistan just last month a guy who murdered Taser his Janazay was one of the biggest seen in many years, whole media, right wing made him a national hero. How can Pakistani claim we are not extremist?? - this shows extreme ill tolerance in main stream culture. How civilized world can trust such a nation??

In India, even on Internet every body was itchy, when minorities mentioned that ill tolerance is growing, right wing was crying like anything, yet educated people take bath in cow **** and banning beef as big success....They gloss over the riots that killed 2-3 thousands minority's just decade ago, he become prime minister now... Only 2/3 decades ago that party was formed on demolishing mosque...It's like neocons in USA...

I have being watching Indian movies for ages, even the billionaire are highly superstitious about well everything... They show it as matter of pride, tradition and culture....Bollywood is almost selling the rape fantasy for 70 years are so... People love to hear 'bachao bachao' from women, why they cannot show strong women, not even once in 70 fricken years??? - no wonder female empowerment, rape, wife beating, honor killing are big issues in Desi culture...

Cast system exists in India for 5000 years or so... The best person born in India in that many years(Bhuda) was not able to change India, although he changed a lot in many parts of world, that is the irony of India...India should have being proud of Bhuda and his legacy, but what remain is legacy of Bhramans.... This still continue to rot India...Bhramans are also like camaleon, they know how to keep their tradition and culture alive in modern time... Like people claiming to be Hindu Atheist or Veda is/was Science...That drives me nuts, there is way too much Seudo Science in India, they bend there back to prove Vedas had some supernatural content in it, like intelligent design movement by right wing, although nobody takes then seriously in west...[emoji849][emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

In my opinion for Pakistan culturally biggest problem is Islam, for India its Brahman (which is essentially the Hinduism in nutshell)... As long as these ideologies thrive both of them are going no where... You can only correct something when you know what to fix, building strong product on buggy architecture is not possible, sometime you have to challenge the foundation!!!

^Dude you are taking stupid feminist agenda to a next level. Barely any film has bachao bachao from bollywood in last decade or 15 years. Seems like you missed NH10 Last Year.

On topic, Kia faida aise parhane likhane aur sab karnay ka jab maarna hi hai.

Problem with India and Pakistan is not the poor but it's the middle and upper class who create and nurture the culture of cast system and religious extremism...

In Pakistan just last month a guy who murdered Taser his Janazay was one of the biggest seen in many years, whole media, right wing made him a national hero. How can Pakistani claim we are not extremist?? - this shows extreme ill tolerance in main stream culture. How civilized world can trust such a nation??

In India, even on Internet every body was itchy, when minorities mentioned that ill tolerance is growing, right wing was crying like anything, yet educated people take bath in cow **** and banning beef as big success....They gloss over the riots that killed 2-3 thousands minority's just decade ago, he become prime minister now... Only 2/3 decades ago that party was formed on demolishing mosque...It's like neocons in USA...

I have being watching Indian movies for ages, even the billionaire are highly superstitious about well everything... They show it as matter of pride, tradition and culture....Bollywood is almost selling the rape fantasy for 70 years are so... People love to hear 'bachao bachao' from women, why they cannot show strong women, not even once in 70 fricken years??? - no wonder female empowerment, rape, wife beating, honor killing are big issues in Desi culture...

Cast system exists in India for 5000 years or so... The best person born in India in that many years(Bhuda) was not able to change India, although he changed a lot in many parts of world, that is the irony of India...India should have being proud of Bhuda and his legacy, but what remain is legacy of Bhramans.... This still continue to rot India...Bhramans are also like camaleon, they know how to keep their tradition and culture alive in modern time... Like people claiming to be Hindu Atheist or Veda is/was Science...That drives me nuts, there is way too much Seudo Science in India, they bend there back to prove Vedas had some supernatural content in it, like intelligent design movement by right wing, although nobody takes then seriously in west...[emoji849][emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

In my opinion for Pakistan culturally biggest problem is Islam, for India its Brahman (which is essentially the Hinduism in nutshell)... As long as these ideologies thrive both of them are going no where... You can only correct something when you know what to fix, building strong product on buggy architecture is not possible, sometime you have to challenge the foundation!!!

You can't expect an entire society or countries with a 1.5 billion population (India + Pakistan) to become atheistic.

I, for one, believe that religion, caste and other superstitions are bogus. But I'll be given a tight slap if I convey the same to my father during a religious festival or ceremony. People will always have some belief in one form or the other that makes them distinct (or sometimes superior) from the others. Your proposition is unreasonable because it probably will never materialise.

For example, Indian citizens aren't discriminated by law as per their caste (or religion for that matter). India has probably the strongest positive affirmative action system in the world. Caste discrimination is a prohibited by the govt and is punishable by law. Yet you won't see people suddenly disowning their caste (or religion) just because the govt has passed laws against it. Many people still largely believe in their caste, be it the brahmins, yadavs, kshatriyas or gounders. Therefore instead of entertaining such unrealistic expectations, we can just hope that people don't become chauvinistic enough to resort to physical violence in matters of caste and religion.

It will take time to transform an entire society. There were times in the past when blacks couldn't eat in the same place as whites in the west (which was much developed to what east was then). It took a long time to reach a stage what they have achieved now in the west. Still you hear about blacks being shooten to death marcilessly in the USA however. If the country which is often dubbed "the paragon of virtue and freedom" is still to stamp out racial discrimination from its society after years of phenomenal progression and development, it's unreasonable to expect developing third world countries like India or Pakistan to stamp out these things in a fortnight. The only way is to educate the masses and hope that things get better with passing generations.

Honour Killing : Brother stabs 17-year-old sister to death in Karachi

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Crime/334263-Honour-killing-Brother-stabs-17yearold-sister-t

Some glaring questions need to be asked.

1. People didn't help her, and continued taking video.

2. The family felt the brother did the right thing.

3. How long will we continue to live with this abysmal thinking?

4. How to put an end to this all completely?

I am all in favour of 'sar-e-aam" phansi to such people, so that everyone who sees this, takes note, that this is what happens when you murder someone.

Thoughts ideas?

We're messed up as a society. All these ghairat codes are intended to control the people.

Was surprised this happened in Karachi because honor killings in the city are not the norm but then found out it was carried out by some migrants from North West Pakistan. If people want to move to a cosmopolitan and multicultural city then they must leave behind their tribal thinking back home.

Karachi is my favorite city in Pakistan because of its liberal nature and forward thinking. I hope the brother is given capital punishment and also his family if they supported this barbaric act.

Wow, so now this has moved from rural areas to cities. Disgusting, and shows the horrific mentality that runs through the minds of pretty much everyone in the country.

Feel pretty sick tbh.

If its a sarcastic joke then its even worse because someone has lost her life.

Some one always loses life when there is crime. But we need to look more deeply into the matter to unearth the reasons that led a guy to do what he did, which obviously is wrong and can not be supported.

There is no defense for blatant murder.

First right would be to call it out and such, and stop considering conditions and suppositions that led him to commit such an act.

2nd right would be to hang him and his family members who support him publicly.

3rd right would be to pass a penal law, whereby people who refuse to help and take videos , could be tried for death due to gross negligence.

Those would be 3 steps in right direction.

Instead of wondering, what caused him to blow up at his sister and actually kill her.

Was surprised this happened in Karachi because honor killings in the city are not the norm but then found out it was carried out by some migrants from North West Pakistan. If people want to move to a cosmopolitan and multicultural city then they must leave behind their tribal thinking back home.

The more shameful thing was bystanders taking video and photos of the girl dying.

None of the locals, standing at the spot recording video and taking pictures, came forward to take her to the hospital. The victim succumbed to injuries after one and a half hour while Hayat was seen busy with his mobile phone.

Sources told that Sumera was honour-killed over just a suspicion.

The incident was confirmed by officials at the local police station who have also taken the suspect into custody after lodging case against him.

On the other hand, slain girl’s father has forgiven his son for the murder of his daughter.

Hundreds of women are murdered by their relatives in Pakistan each year on the excuse of defending family ‘honour’.

stuff...

mad stuff....

But according to many members here, supposed vulgarity on television screens is more outrageous than these murders.

People like this should executed publicly so no one dares to this crap again.

One of the good Bollywood movies on this topic, "AaKrosh"

Realistic and well acted and directed!

One of the good Bollywood movies on this topic, "AaKrosh"

Realistic and well acted and directed!

It was a very good movie but kya karein Public ko to Chaubey,Pandey,Sharma,tiwari ji waaley heroes he pasand how will they like such a movie.

Wow, so now this has moved from rural areas to cities. Disgusting, and shows the horrific mentality that runs through the minds of pretty much everyone in the country.

Feel pretty sick tbh.
Unfortunately rural folks have moved to urban and haven't left their mentality . Too much ghettoisation in Karachi where tribal people are rooted to one or two areas and want to recreate their tribal society in Karachi

can we stop posting such thread. Gets my blood boiling every time.

Whats wrong with these retards? what honour is there on killing your own sister? cuz she had a boyfriend?
and the worst part is that none of the bystanders came to help? Those watching and not helping should also be charged with abetting the murder.

Pakistan is the worst country in the world for women. Honor killing, acid attacks, mental and physical abuse etc. Total disgrace on the face of earth.

Begs the question, where's the honor in killing your OWN sister..I hope he gets the special treatment is prison, and his family as well, if they're found of any wrongdoing.

Horrible. Can't believe how people actually believe that they are right when they do these kind of things.

As for the on-lookers who couldn't be bothered, they're a part of the crime.

Pakistan is the worst country in the world for women. Honor killing, acid attacks, mental and physical abuse etc. Total disgrace on the face of earth.

Don't forget Afghanistan, Middle East and basically the whole Muslim world. And India as well.

A medieval mentality is present in too many of our people. Where is the honour in an honour killing ? That's your sister, your own flesh and blood - how can you hack her to death like this ?

The police have taken this savage into custody, let's hope Pakistani courts do their job for once, that there is a speedy prosecution and he spends the rest of his life behind bars.

Horrible. Can't believe how people actually believe that they are right when they do these kind of things.

As for the on-lookers who couldn't be bothered, they're a part of the crime.

Yes the on-lookers are bad, but I'm trying to look from their POI.

Say if one of the on-lookers wanted to step in and save the girl, the other scumbags and imbeciles filming would've restrained him and he could've been hacked to death as well.

The insane outnumber the sane people in the country by a longshot.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Crime/334263-Honour-killing-Brother-stabs-17yearold-sister-t

Some glaring questions need to be asked.

1. People didn't help her, and continued taking video.

2. The family felt the brother did the right thing.

3. How long will we continue to live with this abysmal thinking?

4. How to put an end to this all completely?

I am all in favour of 'sar-e-aam" phansi to such people, so that everyone who sees this, takes note, that this is what happens when you murder someone.

Thoughts ideas?
How can such a primtive thing happened in such a progressive city?

Unfortunately in recent times, Karachi has experienced a massive influx of migrants from KPK and Afghanistan. Orangi in particular has become an ethnic ghetto for these people.

Yes the on-lookers are bad, but I'm trying to look from their POI.

Say if one of the on-lookers wanted to step in and save the girl, the other scumbags and imbeciles filming would've restrained him and he could've been hacked to death as well.

The insane outnumber the sane people in the country by a longshot.

None of the locals, standing at the spot recording video and taking pictures, came forward to take her to the hospital. The victim succumbed to injuries after one and a half hour while Hayat was seen busy with his mobile phone.

If you stand at the spot and record video/take pics, you're culpable in my book. If you're scared of a backlash, the least you can do is to inform the police, etc. But standing there and taking pics/videos? This is jahiliyyat. A person is dying.

The only way to rid of this heinous crime is by applying capital punishment.

No words are enough for these barbarians. I hope they get quick justice. We need to get rid of punchyat and jirga system and have a uniform law for the whole country. Strict punishments alone are not enough. We need to take steps so people go through our Justice system instead of implementing their own backward ideas.

If you stand at the spot and record video/take pics, you're culpable in my book. If you're scared of a backlash, the least you can do is to inform the police, etc. But standing there and taking pics/videos? This is jahiliyyat. A person is dying.

As I said, yes they are jahil and absolute animals for just standing, as you said the least they could do is call and inform the police or shout for help.

But stepping in without any weapon and that psycho wouldn't have hesitated to butcher the guy stepping in. Probably should've picked up a brick/huge rock and hit him upside the head.

Also, hang that pathetic excuse of a father who thinks his attack dog of a son was doing justice.

Its a subcontinent curse. There is no honor in killing innocent people.

Should put the 'honour' in speech marks, since the very concept of murdering someone to save 'honour' is ridiculous.

Honour Killing : Brother stabs 17-year-old sister to death in Karachi

I actually saw the video on ARY News (before they censored it five-minutes after) around at 9 PM in the evening over here that day. I felt so numbed seeing the sister scream in pain lying on a chaarpayi as her brother was playing a game or something on his mobile phone. She finally succumbed to her wounds some 15 minutes after being stabbed by him, they reported.

The father´s statement was, "He has already lost a daughter, why does he have to lose a son now?" Also, that what he did was the right thing.

It felt so shocking! This alongside the sweets incident in Layyah have been amongst the most horrible news to come from Pakistan in the recent times.

I actually saw the video on ARY News (before they censored it five-minutes after) around at 9 PM in the evening over here that day. I felt so numbed seeing the sister scream in pain lying on a chaarpayi as her brother was playing a game or something on his mobile phone. She finally succumbed to her wounds some 15 minutes after being stabbed by him, they reported.

The father´s statement was, "He has already lost a daughter, why does he have to lose a son now?" Also, that what he did was the right thing.

It felt so shocking! This alongside the sweets incident in Layyah have been amongst the most horrible news to come from Pakistan in the recent times.

The concept of Blood Money in Pakistani legal system is too easy to let honor killing accused go scot free.

Somebody, tell me if my interpretation is wrong here. The family of the victim can pardon a guy in place of blood money (Raymond Davis case). So when the killer is from the family it becomes too easy to go scot free, Isn't it?

The only way to rid of this heinous crime is by applying capital punishment.

Nopes, Capital punishment doesn't deter such crimes. Infact, people will say, "Wow! He was ready to kill his own family for honor, and he is ready to die for his honor"

More glory to the skewed mentality.

The concept of Blood Money in Pakistani legal system is too easy to let honor killing accused go scot free.

Somebody, tell me if my interpretation is wrong here. The family of the victim can pardon a guy in place of blood money (Raymond Davis case). So when the killer is from the family it becomes too easy to go scot free, Isn't it?

blood money is only allowed if the murder was an accident/unintentional.

C

blood money is only allowed if the murder was an accident/unintentional.

C

Nowhere have i read about the unintentional clause.

Wiki on this:

The democratically elected government of Nawaz Sharif, in 1997, replaced the Ordinance by enacting the Qisas and Diyat sharia provisions as the law, through an Act of its Parliament.[35] The sharia-compliant Qisas and Diyat law made murder a private offense, not a crime against society or state, and thus the pursuit, prosecution and punishment for murder has become the responsibility of the victim's heirs and guardians.[35]

The Diyat law of Pakistan has proven to be controversial, for a number of reasons. First, a number of cases of honor killings of girls, initiated and arranged with intent by families, have been later forgiven by the same families under the Diyya law.[35][36] Second, scholars have cited a number of cases of intentional murder and bodily harm inflicted on the poor by the wealthy, where the guilty escaped legal process and simply paid a compensation