Huge brawl breaks out in UK street as mob throw punches after India vs Pakistan cricket match

This is precisely how it should be dealt with but unfortunately it's inevitable that some mindless thugs will take matters into their own hands. To wit, in London there are numerous messages flying around on messaging platforms, where the names and addresses of the fascist hindutva goons who travelled to Leicester from London are being sought by those affiliated with Black, Arabs, Somalian and Pakistani gangs amongst others. I have friends living in Wembley and East London (large Hindu communities) and they say the fear amongst the Hindu community is palpable, especially as they're well aware of what will transpire if the above materialises. Moreover, there's a genuine concern that these gangs will target upcoming religious Hindu festivals and the fact that the police have very little control of the streets in London could lead to violence on an huge scale.

I dearly hope calmer heads prevail..

(Some articles of interest)
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news...ould-spread-beyond-city-says-mp-claudia-webbe

https://www.middleeasteye.net/opinion/uk-leicester-riots-civil-war-hindu-nationalism

https://www.middleeasteye.net/opinion/uk-leicester-riots-muslims-victims-media-allowed-are

https://www.middleeasteye.net/news/...ouncil-britain-call-action-hindutva-extremism

That's really sad to hear.

I hope this doesn't reach boiling point

It's clear the violence is primarily perpetrated by outsiders hellbent on importing subcontinental communal politics. There's obviously been provocation from both sides - however the lengths some are going to deny reality is astounding. Are people seriously denying some of these rioters have RSS sympathies ?

This man with the motorbike helmet proclaimed be an RSS member. Others join and harass an English female journalist sporting a headscarf. She was also accused of being a Taliban sympathiser amongst other things.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some footage of my interview with helmet man, that snowballed into a shouting match with an RSS member. Compared to the palpable aggression and fear that hung around Leicester yesterday, this paled in comparison, although it is a concerning hazard of being a journalist. <a href="https://t.co/eQU9Yo4KFo">pic.twitter.com/eQU9Yo4KFo</a></p>— Aina J. Khan (@ainajkhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ainajkhan/status/1571640024646684674?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 18, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Zero RSS in the UK ?

Where in the video has the man proclaimed himself to be a RSS sympathizer?

Is RSS a banned organization in UK or anywhere in the world?

Its amusing how the Indian origin guy became a RSS sympathizer, while the brit pakistani journo is described as English journalist.

And where is the harassment? Are they misbehaving with her? So she got shown the mirror by these guys when they told her about Pakistan.

These tactics wont work anymore. These leftist outlets like Guardian send a brit pakistani to do a story about a conflict between Indians and pakistanis. Who are you guys trying to fool.

This is precisely how it should be dealt with but unfortunately it's inevitable that some mindless thugs will take matters into their own hands. To wit, in London there are numerous messages flying around on messaging platforms, where the names and addresses of the fascist hindutva goons who travelled to Leicester from London are being sought by those affiliated with Black, Arabs, Somalian and Pakistani gangs amongst others. I have friends living in Wembley and East London (large Hindu communities) and they say the fear amongst the Hindu community is palpable, especially as they're well aware of what will transpire if the above materialises. Moreover, there's a genuine concern that these gangs will target upcoming religious Hindu festivals and the fact that the police have very little control of the streets in London could lead to violence on an huge scale.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news...ould-spread-beyond-city-says-mp-claudia-webbe

https://www.middleeasteye.net/opinion/uk-leicester-riots-civil-war-hindu-nationalism

https://www.middleeasteye.net/opinion/uk-leicester-riots-muslims-victims-media-allowed-are

https://www.middleeasteye.net/news/...ouncil-britain-call-action-hindutva-extremism

Middleeasteye
5pillars

What brilliant sources.

I hear Modi is sending planes to evacuate hindus and Indians from UK because of this palpable fear. :))

Meanwhile, prominent rightwingers have latched onto this to boost their anti-immigration stance and portray it as a 'culture deficiency'.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hundreds of young Muslim + Hindu men, wearing masks or balaclavas, are in violent running street battles against each other night after night for 3 weeks.<br><br>Not in India or Pakistan.<br><br>Here in Leicester.<br><br>This must be the "cultural enrichment" we've heard so much about. <a href="https://t.co/li49tbwJ6e">pic.twitter.com/li49tbwJ6e</a></p>— Julia Hartley-Brewer (@JuliaHB1) <a href="https://twitter.com/JuliaHB1/status/1571427937483735040?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 18, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And she isn't wrong in any way.

Unchecked immigration has brought this.

A liberal society doesn't remain liberal by adding conservative immigrants to their pool.

Hindu Indians start trouble with Muslim Indians.

Indian High Commission publically intervenes in support of the Hindus and neglects the muslims.

What kind of nonsense is this?

Basically only Hindus are seen as Indians.....

The only thing we're certain of is that this is a clash between the hindutva hooligans from india and islamist thugs of pakistan and nobody knows who started it, supposedly it began with the cricket match. It's a matter of he said-she said, who do we believe ?

That's a lie please stop.spreading nonsense. There were no islamist thugs there. Any thugs that arrived were your usual Pakistani lads.looking for a bust up..majority of Muslims were from the city defending their streets.

Middleeasteye
5pillars

What brilliant sources.

I hear Modi is sending planes to evacuate hindus and Indians from UK because of this palpable fear. :))

Being scared is a natural human emotion man. If communities are on edge and fake news is being transmitted then it adds to the fear factor.

I dont know why you find it funny.

If you lived in a mixed community you wouod be bound to be scared , especially if you are elderly or vulnerable.

Why do you find it as something that should be mocked?

Being scared is a natural human emotion man. If communities are on edge and fake news is being transmitted then it adds to the fear factor.

I dont know why you find it funny.

If you lived in a mixed community you wouod be bound to be scared , especially if you are elderly or vulnerable.

Why do you find it as something that should be mocked?

Yes yes, hindus and Indians are scared of pakistanis and whatever other communities mentioned abd Modi is sending a plane to get them out.

Would you not be scared if there was violence and riots on your doorsteps?

Behave yourself man. Nobody is so tough that they wouldn't be worried about being safe if there is violence is outside.

It is a natural fear and nothing to do with Modi and aeroplanes. They are out asian brothers who have lived beside us for decades and inshAllah they won't need to feel unsafe, once this settles down and your trouble maker friends are caught

Our MP claudia Webb has already said she fears this could spread. Some Muslim councillors are already criticising the city govt..

I hope this doesn't happen but unfortunately there are alot of ghunday around. Will give these fascist extremist more fuel.to attack innocent Muslims on the streets.

:)) can see some rajdeeps in the comments.

Lol bro why will I comment on it? I am a brown person myself :))

But the difference with others and me is, I am not dillusional. I understand how things work here and what casual racism is. I am certain there is nothing called as hindutva extremism in UK or anywhere on the earth. For you, the violence were started by hindus against innocent muslims. We can go on and on about it.

But for a gora (white) person, it really dosen't matter. They would still look at us as brown immigrants and third world problem on their streets. You think they care if its initiated by an Indian or Pakistani? Forget about this tweet, go onto daily mail or BBC or any British tabloid where this news is published and read the comments. You will get to know what I am saying.

I don't blame them though. Imagine we are having anglo-saxon fight in the streets of Karachi or New Delhi, would we accept it?

Would you not be scared if there was violence and riots on your doorsteps?

Behave yourself man. Nobody is so tough that they wouldn't be worried about being safe if there is violence is outside.

It is a natural fear and nothing to do with Modi and aeroplanes. They are out asian brothers who have lived beside us for decades and inshAllah they won't need to feel unsafe, once this settles down and your trouble maker friends are caught

Arey bhai, Pakistani Somali Arab and all sort of gangs are looking for these Indians and Hindus. They are scared. TGK says "their kind" are not wanted in the city.

What options do they have? They will have to be evacuated to India for safety. Yes they may not get the living standards of UK here but they will atleast be safe.

Arey bhai, Pakistani Somali Arab and all sort of gangs are looking for these Indians and Hindus. They are scared. TGK says "their kind" are not wanted in the city.

What options do they have? They will have to be evacuated to India for safety. Yes they may not get the living standards of UK here but they will atleast be safe.

If you read properly you will notice that tgk is condemning the actions of those gangs and is on the side of the innocent hindus who are feeling fearful.

TGK means the external trouble makers and rabble rousers not those who have lived side by side for decades man.

You are better than this but seems like today you just want to push a violent agenda.

Rememeber the victims on both sides are mainly your countrymen.

But the difference with others and me is, I am not dillusional. I understand how things work here and what casual racism is. I am certain there is nothing called as hindutva extremism in UK or anywhere on the earth. For you, the violence were started by hindus against innocent muslims. We can go on and on about it.

But for a gora (white) person, it really dosen't matter. They would still look at us as brown immigrants and third world problem on their streets. You think they care if its initiated by an Indian or Pakistani? Forget about this tweet, go onto daily mail or BBC or any British tabloid where this news is published and read the comments. You will get to know what I am saying.

I don't blame them though. Imagine we are having anglo-saxon fight in the streets of Karachi or New Delhi, would we accept it?

I think you make a good point. We are our own worst enemies at times. Surprisingly I agree with you. It doesn't matter who started it. Fact is it happened and those of us who live here will have to deal with the consequences.

I disagree with your point about hindutva extremism but ngl agree with rest of what you have said.

Good post.

We have had to delete some posts.

Please continue the discussion, albeit dialled down a bit if possible please.

There's a difference between hooliganism and terrorism, I can only assume you are trying to bring in buzzwords to spread more hindutva disinformation. This is the UK not Mumbai, maybe you should stick to giving opinions on what goes on in your own neighbourhood instead of spewing propaganda which has no place here.

So what was that what happened in Leicester? Hooliganism or Terrorism?

The only disinfo i see here is against the Hindu and Indian community.

So you decide what has place here?

Middleeasteye
5pillars

What brilliant sources.

Appreciate you confirming you're blinkered and are in the habit of seeing things that don't exist or plainly just make things up to suit your hateful agenda - a key characteristic of fascists.

As to my links - the Guardian is a reputable source and the article is an interview with the MP for the locality in which the troubles occurred. Conversely, the MEE has a sturdy reputation for journalism and isn't swayed by sensationalism, jingoism, sycophantism or parochialism which plagues Indian rags and utterly diminishes their credibility. Here's what the 'About Us' link says about them:

Wider profile
MEE often sets the news agenda for the region, with its stories often followed up by other media. Its reports have also been referenced by international bodies including the International Criminal Court, United Nations agencies, NATO and the European Parliament; by NGOs such as Oxfam, Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch; and by think tanks including Chatham House, RUSI and Brookings NFP.

Several journalists have been recognised for their writing for MEE. They include Suadad al-Salhy for her coverage of Iraq (the Drum Online Media Awards, Journalist category, 2022); Daniel Hilton for his reporting from Libya (Amnesty Media Awards, Written News category, 2021); Maha Hussaini for her reporting from Gaza (the Martin Adler Prize, awarded by the Rory Peck Trust, 2020); Shatha Hammad for her coverage of the West Bank (the One World Media New Voice Award, 2020); and Peter Oborne for his opinion pieces (best Blogging/Commentary, Drum Online Media Awards, 2022, 2017) and reporting from Yemen (Freelance, Drum Online Media Awards, 2016).

The MEE has been quoted by numerous international bodies as detailed above, ergo what a fascist non-entity bashing away on his keyboard thinks of them is neither here nor there.

You're obviously extremely poor informed of what the situation in London is like in terms of gangs, the control they assert and the turf warfare that plagues the city. However, hindus who live here aren't as oblivious on account of being its perpetual victims for years - as a start read about how Somalian and black gangs in NW London have terrorised Asian school children for several decades. Honestly, save the bravado for the mirror as to me it only confirms how immensely foolish you are..

Is RSS a banned organization in UK or anywhere in the world?

Whether RSS is a banned entity or not is irrelevant to question of why these riots started. Like I said to your friend, Leicester has been a multifaith city for decades with no history of communal riots. The Muslims there predominantly originate from your country not Pakistan, and never had issues with Hindu community until the influx of recent immigrants with hard-right Indian nationalist sympathies. Or do you believe that's sheer coincidence ?

Again despite the best attempts to distort and downplay - video footage shows Death to Pakistan chants on Aug 28th which started these clashes, and masked men carrying weapons shouting Hindutva slogans outside Muslim-owned shops. Leicester is not a massive metropolis but a smaller, tight-knit city so those marchers knew exactly where they were going and what reaction they wanted to provoke.

We've condemned the temple vandalisers - now please kindly have the courage to denounce the extremists on your side. Go ahead, we all await.

Its amusing how the Indian origin guy became a RSS sympathizer, while the brit pakistani journo is described as English journalist.

And where is the harassment? Are they misbehaving with her? So she got shown the mirror by these guys when they told her about Pakistan.

These tactics wont work anymore. These leftist outlets like Guardian send a brit pakistani to do a story about a conflict between Indians and pakistanis. Who are you guys trying to fool.
The helmet guy admitted he was a proud RSS member (although not proud enough to show his face). Read the thread. She was called a Taliban sympathiser and the clip shows she wasn't even allowed to speak. It's quite revealing to see their aggression once they see a woman with a headscarf.

Whether you believe the Guardian journalist is lying is your problem - it's a reliably quoted UK newspaper so your personal opinions on their reporting are irrelevant. There's also iNews which are owned by right-wing Daily Mail group:

https://inews.co.uk/news/happened-l...ice-officers-injured-1868052?ico=most_popular

Police are investigating allegations of young Hindu youths carrying out racially-aggravated assaults on young Muslim men and frequently causing anti-social behaviour, including near mosques.

The situation came to a head on Saturday night when a large group of young Hindu men – thought to be around 200 – took part in an unplanned march in the Green Lane Road area of Leicester.

Finally, you didn't answer the question. Why's someone who's shouted for years about non-Indians misunderstanding ground realities in India now giving lectures about ground realities to UK people in UK cities ? Who are you fooling by asking us to believe an Indian newssite with zero local presence in Leicester over our own press and local news ?

Appreciate you confirming you're blinkered and are in the habit of seeing things that don't exist or plainly just make things up to suit your hateful agenda - a key characteristic of fascists.

As to my links - the Guardian is a reputable source and the article is an interview with the MP for the locality in which the troubles occurred. Conversely, the MEE has a sturdy reputation for journalism and isn't swayed by sensationalism, jingoism, sycophantism or parochialism which plagues Indian rags and utterly diminishes their credibility. Here's what the 'About Us' link says about them:

Wider profile
MEE often sets the news agenda for the region, with its stories often followed up by other media. Its reports have also been referenced by international bodies including the International Criminal Court, United Nations agencies, NATO and the European Parliament; by NGOs such as Oxfam, Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch; and by think tanks including Chatham House, RUSI and Brookings NFP.

Several journalists have been recognised for their writing for MEE. They include Suadad al-Salhy for her coverage of Iraq (the Drum Online Media Awards, Journalist category, 2022); Daniel Hilton for his reporting from Libya (Amnesty Media Awards, Written News category, 2021); Maha Hussaini for her reporting from Gaza (the Martin Adler Prize, awarded by the Rory Peck Trust, 2020); Shatha Hammad for her coverage of the West Bank (the One World Media New Voice Award, 2020); and Peter Oborne for his opinion pieces (best Blogging/Commentary, Drum Online Media Awards, 2022, 2017) and reporting from Yemen (Freelance, Drum Online Media Awards, 2016).

The MEE has been quoted by numerous international bodies as detailed above, ergo what a fascist non-entity bashing away on his keyboard thinks of them is neither here nor there.

You're obviously extremely poor informed of what the situation in London is like in terms of gangs, the control they assert and the turf warfare that plagues the city. However, hindus who live here aren't as oblivious on account of being its perpetual victims for years - as a start read about how Somalian and black gangs in NW London have terrorised Asian school children for several decades. Honestly, save the bravado for the mirror as to me it only confirms how immensely foolish you are..

MEE is a propoganda website known for its bias and even fake news.

Where in this news article of the Guardian does it say thst Hindus or Indians are scared of the pakistani somali arab gangs who are also asking for their names?

Whether RSS is a banned entity or not is irrelevant to question of why these riots started. Like I said to your friend, Leicester has been a multifaith city for decades with no history of communal riots. The Muslims there predominantly originate from your country not Pakistan, and never had issues with Hindu community until the influx of recent immigrants with hard-right Indian nationalist sympathies. Or do you believe that's sheer coincidence ?

Again despite the best attempts to distort and downplay - video footage shows Death to Pakistan chants on Aug 28th which started these clashes, and masked men carrying weapons shouting Hindutva slogans outside Muslim-owned shops. Leicester is not a massive metropolis but a smaller, tight-knit city so those marchers knew exactly where they were going and what reaction they wanted to provoke.

We've condemned the temple vandalisers - now please kindly have the courage to denounce the extremists on your side. Go ahead, we all await.

The helmet guy admitted he was a proud RSS member (although not proud enough to show his face). Read the thread. She was called a Taliban sympathiser and the clip shows she wasn't even allowed to speak. It's quite revealing to see their aggression once they see a woman with a headscarf.

Whether you believe the Guardian journalist is lying is your problem - it's a reliably quoted UK newspaper so your personal opinions on their reporting are irrelevant. There's also iNews which are owned by right-wing Daily Mail group:

https://inews.co.uk/news/happened-l...ice-officers-injured-1868052?ico=most_popular

Finally, you didn't answer the question. Why's someone who's shouted for years about non-Indians misunderstanding ground realities in India now giving lectures about ground realities to UK people in UK cities ? Who are you fooling by asking us to believe an Indian newssite with zero local presence in Leicester over our own press and local news ?

Great Post. Also members of the hindu commujity today highlighted these anti social.incidents in a media statement.

Stop getting personal.

Present facts or dont post.

There were no death to Pakistan chants or attacks on mosques.

After the videos and reports surfaced online and on social media about Pakistani organized gangs were seen vandalising and terrorising Hindus in the UK's Leicester City, and that the Hindu's were seen vandalising mosques and chanting 'death to Muslims', the city police have confirmed that no mosque has been attacked and no chants of “death to Muslims" have been made, but not without endangering Hindu lives by buying into the false claims earlier.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fr...e-17-arrested-in-uk-heres-what-we-know-so-far

Is Leicester police lying?

The women in question went to question these guys, and they told her what they felt about her bias and her origin country. They didn't abuse her or harass her. If she wanted to hear her echo she should have stuck to interviewing pakistani origin people.

The Guardian saying something and brit pakistani reporter tweeting her views on twitter are two different things.

Is there some law in UK that says XYZ is a designated muslim area where other religions cannot chant slogans.

hopefully the situation cools down, but these paindu hindutva goons don't realise when u call out Muslims in the UK u arent just calling out Pakistanis, or desis, but arabs, turks, africans too.

the usual suspects spouting apologist rubbish on a Pakistani website about hindu indians trying to intimidate british Muslims in the UK is laughable.

minorities in the UK are not susceptible such a hateful ideology, so its not surprising those apologists are indians who are supposedly now experts on the social situation in leicester.

<b>In Leicester, Hindu-Muslim Joint Statement For Peace, "Not What We're About"</b>

<I>Community leaders invoke shared past and the fight "together" against "racist haters" to stress for peace in UK city beset with protests, clashes</I>

Community leaders from among Hindus and Muslims of Leicester in the UK today issued a joint statement appealing for an end to a cycle of violence that escalated over the past week after the first altercations over an Asia Cup cricket match between India and Pakistan last month.

"We, the family of Leicester, stand in front of you not only as Hindus and Muslims but as brothers and sisters," said one of the leaders, reading out the joint statement. He stressed that Leicester has "no place for any foreign extremist ideology that causes division".

"Our two faiths have lived harmoniously in this wonderful city for over half a century. We arrived in this city together. We faced the same challenges together. We fought off racist haters together, and collectively made this city a beacon of diversity and community cohesion," he read from the statement.

He added that the communities are "saddened and heartbroken" over the "tension and violence" that are "not part of a decent society".

"What we have seen is not what we're about," the leader said. "We ask all to respect the sanctity of religious places, both mosques and temples alike," he added, urging people not to give in to "provocation with loud music, flag-bearing, derogatory chants or physical attacks against the fabric of worship".

The police today said they have made 47 arrests as part of an ongoing operation to deter further disorder in the eastern England city.

The tension that began after the August 28 cricket match, in which India defeated Pakistan, was reignited by rumours about damage to religious places that went viral on social media. Protests and rallies, with angry slogans, were then held on Saturday and Sunday.

Police today said a 20-year-old man has been sentenced to 10 months in prison after he pleaded guilty to possession of an offensive weapon during the clashes. Amos Noronha, from the local area, appeared at Leicester Magistrates' Court after his arrest during Saturday's incident and was quickly charged due to "overwhelming evidence".

Rob Nixon, Temporary Chief Constable at Leicestershire Police, said, "Some of those arrested were from out of the city, including some people from Birmingham."

The Indian High Commission in London had intervened against the reported vandalising of a temple in Leicester. Members of the Muslim community had cited a rally by some Hindu groups as "provocative" and "abusive".

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/vid...-were-about-3362112#pfrom=home-ndtv_topscroll

MEE is a propoganda website known for its bias and even fake news.

Where in this news article of the Guardian does it say thst Hindus or Indians are scared of the pakistani somali arab gangs who are also asking for their names?
MEE are creditable enough to be quoted by international bodies as detailed above so if you believe they're a propaganda site it means zilch to anyone but you and your brainless ilk.

Lack of intelligence aside, I never expected reading comprehension to be your strong point and yet again thanks for confirming my suspicion. Go back and reread what I wrote; the threats and rumours are being spread on messaging platforms. However, if you bothered to read the Guardian article, you would have noticed that the Leicester MP fears the violence could spread to other cities. That alludes to the point I highlighted about what could transpire in London.

You've gone from falsely claiming I quoted 5pillars to asking for a reference about London gangs, which illustrates you're obviously trolling and not very good at it either. At least try and get the basics right if you're going to agitate. Indeed, employing gish gallop and a firehose of falsehood techniques isn't cutting the mustard..

Unchecked immigration has brought this.

A liberal society doesn't remain liberal by adding conservative immigrants to their pool.

How did unchecked immigration cause this .. are you implying there's something inherent in hindu/muslim culture that makes it more violent unlike with white brits ?

The legal point is we should look at which group initiated the physical aspect of the clash i.e damage to property or harm to an individual. From what I've studied online so far, it seems to have started with the muslim side.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The videos coming out of Smethwick, Birmingham, where over a hundred Muslims have gathered outside a religious Hindu place, are shocking.<br><br>If the police want to end such disturbances, they need to take swift, strong action. <a href="https://t.co/LARgVtSG2A">pic.twitter.com/LARgVtSG2A</a></p>— Sunny Hundal (@sunny_hundal) <a href="https://twitter.com/sunny_hundal/status/1572323539914563585?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

There were no death to Pakistan chants or attacks on mosques.

After the videos and reports surfaced online and on social media about Pakistani organized gangs were seen vandalising and terrorising Hindus in the UK's Leicester City, and that the Hindu's were seen vandalising mosques and chanting 'death to Muslims', the city police have confirmed that no mosque has been attacked and no chants of “death to Muslims" have been made, but not without endangering Hindu lives by buying into the false claims earlier.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fr...e-17-arrested-in-uk-heres-what-we-know-so-far

Is Leicester police lying?

The women in question went to question these guys, and they told her what they felt about her bias and her origin country. They didn't abuse her or harass her. If she wanted to hear her echo she should have stuck to interviewing pakistani origin people.

The Guardian saying something and brit pakistani reporter tweeting her views on twitter are two different things.

Is there some law in UK that says XYZ is a designated muslim area where other religions cannot chant slogans.
I haven't heard any Death to Muslims chants but there were Death to Pakistan chants caught on camera:

https://youtu.be/dGkag8Zbo0E

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The videos coming out of Smethwick, Birmingham, where over a hundred Muslims have gathered outside a religious Hindu place, are shocking.<br><br>If the police want to end such disturbances, they need to take swift, strong action. <a href="https://t.co/LARgVtSG2A">pic.twitter.com/LARgVtSG2A</a></p>— Sunny Hundal (@sunny_hundal) <a href="https://twitter.com/sunny_hundal/status/1572323539914563585?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This was a planned 'protest ' against a right wing hindu speaker.

I think the local community leadera tried to get the protest cancelled but these idiots chose to protest anyway.

I dont think that this is as bad as the Leicester incidents but because its at a time of heightened tensions it feels very sinister.

Unfortunately many members of our communities love to make noise and cause disturbances.

All these hooligans are doing is bringing fear and worry to innocent people....I mean no matter the intention the images of masked gangs outside a religious building is chilling...

MEE are creditable enough to be quoted by international bodies as detailed above so if you believe they're a propaganda site it means zilch to anyone but you and your brainless ilk.

Lack of intelligence aside, I never expected reading comprehension to be your strong point and yet again thanks for confirming my suspicion. Go back and reread what I wrote; the threats and rumours are being spread on messaging platforms. However, if you bothered to read the Guardian article, you would have noticed that the Leicester MP fears the violence could spread to other cities. That alludes to the point I highlighted about what could transpire in London.

You've gone from falsely claiming I quoted 5pillars to asking for a reference about London gangs, which illustrates you're obviously trolling and not very good at it either. At least try and get the basics right if you're going to agitate. Indeed, employing gish gallop and a firehose of falsehood techniques isn't cutting the mustard..

MEE is a fake and propoganda website which has been exposed many times.

Violence could spread to other areas, is equal to Pakistanis Arabs Somalian gangs asking for hindu names and hindus being scared. Ok.

That 5pillars reference was to TGK who quoted from it.

There are no statements in the Guardian article that states Hindus are scared and some muslim gangs are the reason for it.

How did unchecked immigration cause this .. are you implying there's something inherent in hindu/muslim culture that makes it more violent unlike with white brits ?

If X is a liberal society, and they want to remain liberal, letting in conservative people into the society is not the wise thing to do.

MEE is a fake and propoganda website which has been exposed many times.

Violence could spread to other areas, is equal to Pakistanis Arabs Somalian gangs asking for hindu names and hindus being scared. Ok.

That 5pillars reference was to TGK who quoted from it.

There are no statements in the Guardian article that states Hindus are scared and some muslim gangs are the reason for it.
You're only reiterating my aforementioned point that reading isn't your strong suit.

Also to underscore the fact that MEE has been quoted in numerous reports by, inter alia, NATO, the UN, Oxfam and Amnesty International is its badge of credibility. Moreover, Peter Oborne, the coauthor of the article, is a highly respected journalist with lofty credentials. Your nonsensical stance isn't grounded in facts and is purely a figment of your puerile imagination. Indeed, where's your evidence that the MEE is a "propaganda website" or that it's been "exposed many times"?

The undertone I garner from your responses is you're secretly hoping it kicks off between various communities outside of Leicester which is utterly immature and pathetic on your part. Anyone who knows the UK and particularly the situation in London will tell you for nothing that it won't end well and there's no doubt where the pain will lie, hence the fear amongst hindu communities. Indeed, as is always the case, if it kicks off, the cowardly violent thugs and loudmouths like yourself will be nowhere to be found and instead innocent bystanders will get caught up in the melee.

These subtle threats don't work. Muslims don't scare anyone and things like this just give more fuel to muslimophobia and then you guys will be the first to cry victim and racism.

Problem is this new breed of Hindu or sikh migrant who has come to the UK via the student route is anything but affluent like the old generation of east African migrants of gujrati heritage I.e sunak , priti Patel types.

Because these students are working menial jobs like in kfc , petrol stations and many have turned their student visas to skilled worker visa but they don't get skilled job most of them then end up in the care home system wiping old people's backsides or looking after disabled people.
They have quickly learnt money doesn't grow on trees in the UK and their degrees don't get them.far in the UK due to the job market being very competitive and racism from white people who will give jobs to white graduates instead.

So these militant freshies have hard time when they see 3rd 4th generation British muslims in uk with properties , flash cars designer wear clothes and not struggling like them working in an old people's home or serving zinger burger at kfc.

Hindus by nature are a envious jealous lot especially the recent ones arriving on UK shores.

These subtle threats don't work. Muslims don't scare anyone and things like this just give more fuel to muslimophobia and then you guys will be the first to cry victim and racism.

what subtle threat?

go online, see how various UK based non-asian Muslims are calling out the BJP and the fundamental core ideology of hate many of its supporter's idea of hindu nationalism is based upon. hindutva extremists are making an enemy of a whole new group of people rather than just Pakistanis. even bangladeshi Muslims who used to be pro india are realising how venomous the hindutva hate for Muslims is.

if anything i am doing the opposite of making a threat, I'm saying this groups dreaming of spreading anti-muslim hate amongst the UK's hindu population wont work, because it has nothing to do with most British hindus.

"you guys", lol, if you want to respond and quote me, refer to my post and what I've said, not some random concept of "you guys", cos its a weak form of deflection, but i guess thats pbly what the flow chart you follow from your manual says.

Yeah, I do.

It seems to me that BJP tentacles extending from India are inflaming local Hindu youth with extreme nationalism.

I hope that elders in religion, business and local politics from all groups can get together and calm this down.

Yeah, I do.

It seems to me that BJP tentacles extending from India are inflaming local Hindu youth with extreme nationalism.

I hope that elders in religion, business and local politics from all groups can get together and calm this down.

leicester is full of some of the most business savvy ethnic minorities in Britain, they will appreciate more than most that such kind of developments are unwanted, hence why i said earlier i don't think the bjp will be able to extend their ideology into British hindus.

they mostly work by telling disaffected poor men that their problems are caused by someone else, like most race baiting political parties, but in the UK hindus are doing fairly well for themselves, so race baiting Muslims makes zero logic.

I'm actually fairly confident this will blow over once the cold sets in, lol.

Problem is this new breed of Hindu or sikh migrant who has come to the UK via the student route is anything but affluent like the old generation of east African migrants of gujrati heritage I.e sunak , priti Patel types.

Because these students are working menial jobs like in kfc , petrol stations and many have turned their student visas to skilled worker visa but they don't get skilled job most of them then end up in the care home system wiping old people's backsides or looking after disabled people.
They have quickly learnt money doesn't grow on trees in the UK and their degrees don't get them.far in the UK due to the job market being very competitive and racism from white people who will give jobs to white graduates instead.

So these militant freshies have hard time when they see 3rd 4th generation British muslims in uk with properties , flash cars designer wear clothes and not struggling like them working in an old people's home or serving zinger burger at kfc.

Hindus by nature are a envious jealous lot especially the recent ones arriving on UK shores.

Well, while you tell this story, official UK statistics show the people of Indian origin are the most affluent immigrant community in UK and pakistanis, bangladeshis,somalis etc are near the bottom.

Add to that the involvement of muslims in terror attacks and grooming gangs, muslims being 18 per cent of prison population despite being less than 5 per cent of total population hasnt enhanced their reputation.

So seems the envy is from the otherside.

Yeah, I do.

On the contrary, what's with this "muslim area" theory?

Hindus shouting slogans in "muslim area" led to this?

Are there designated "muslim areas" in UK where the rights of non muslims are curtailed?

Can you please tell me why were people of Indian origin and the Indian high commission in UK attacked in 2019? Mob included some labour MPs too.

Well, while you tell this story, official UK statistics show the people of Indian origin are the most affluent immigrant community in UK and pakistanis, bangladeshis,somalis etc are near the bottom.

Add to that the involvement of muslims in terror attacks and grooming gangs, muslims being 18 per cent of prison population despite being less than 5 per cent of total population hasnt enhanced their reputation.

So seems the envy is from the otherside.

Those statstistics don't count people who are not British which includes students and people on work visas .

As for pakistanis most pakistanis in the UK are homeowners yes there are problems but the first generation of migrants made sure they bought lodes of properties when they came here by hook or crook they setup their decendents for life , pakistanis don't declare their wealth to the taxman .

The people who I see struggling are people who have come on student routes since their lives are very hard compared to what my grandfather faced when he came to the UK in those days there were jobs and you could save enough for a house. Look at the property prices now a new generation freshie will struggle to purchase a property and rents are really high that's why you will see like 10 20 indians stuck in a house owned by a pqkistani landlord .

Those statstistics don't count people who are not British which includes students and people on work visas .

As for pakistanis most pakistanis in the UK are homeowners yes there are problems but the first generation of migrants made sure they bought lodes of properties when they came here by hook or crook they setup their decendents for life , pakistanis don't declare their wealth to the taxman .

The people who I see struggling are people who have come on student routes since their lives are very hard compared to what my grandfather faced when he came to the UK in those days there were jobs and you could save enough for a house. Look at the property prices now a new generation freshie will struggle to purchase a property and rents are really high that's why you will see like 10 20 indians stuck in a house owned by a pqkistani landlord .

Why will the Indian community be jealous of another community which is near the bottom of the economic ladder, when they can be jealous of their own fellow community members who are near the top.

Indian immigrants are known to be mostly white collar workers in west, why will lets say an IT guy or health professional be jealous of pakistanis whose median income isnt great?

So you are saying pakistanis are tax cheats? And they cheat so much on tax that it will take them from the bottom to near top?

A white collar job holder will not struggle as much as a blue collar one, in any era.Why will any indian, be it student or an IT worker or a health professional be jealous of someone standing in the benefits queue, when his own community member is quite well off?

These stories don't work mostly, in front of statistics.

Clash over India-Pakistan cricket match | U.K. police make 47 arrests to deter further disorder in Leicester

It comes as the Indian High Commission in London issued a strongly worded statement condemning the violence against the Indian community and called for protection for those affected.

The U.K. police said on September 20 that they have made 47 arrests as part of an ongoing operation to deter further disorder in the eastern England city of Leicester, which saw scenes of violence over the weekend in a spillover of clashes since an India-Pakistan cricket match.

It comes as the Indian High Commission in London issued a strongly worded statement condemning the violence against the Indian community and called for protection for those affected.

Leicestershire Police said a 20-year-old man has been sentenced to 10 months in prison after he pleaded guilty to possession of an offensive weapon during clashes in the city.

Amos Noronha, from the local area, appeared at Leicester Magistrates’ Court after his arrest during Saturday’s incident and was quickly charged due to “overwhelming evidence”. "The sentence is reflective of the fact that this was a serious offence and he has ended up with time in prison,” said Rob Nixon, Temporary Chief Constable at Leicestershire Police.

"We will not stand for this unrest in our city. There is an extensive policing operation ongoing, acting on information and reports of gatherings and offering community reassurance. Be reassured: we are working to keep you safe and to arrest and bring to justice those that are causing harm in our communities,” he said.

It follows a weekend of what the police termed as “serious disorder” and “significant aggression” as Hindu and Muslim groups clashed in the wake of the India-Pakistan Asia Cup cricket match in Dubai at the end of last month.

"A policing operation to deter further disorder continued in east Leicester… In total, 47 people have been arrested for offences in relation to the unrest in the east of the city. Some of those arrested were from out of the city, including some people from Birmingham,” Leicestershire Police said.

The force said it had to be supported by resources from a number of neighbouring police forces, including the mounted police unit, as the clashes escalated over the weekend. Dispersal and stop and search powers have been used repeatedly to restore calm. There were social media videos circulating showing a temple flag being ripped out and glass bottles being hurled.

The Indian High Commission said in its statement on September 19: “We strongly condemn the violence perpetrated against the Indian community in Leicester and vandalisation of premises and symbols of Hindu religion.

"We have strongly taken up this matter with the U.K. authorities and have sought immediate action against those involved in these attacks. We call on the authorities to provide protection to the affected people.” Diaspora group Insight U.K. has claimed that much of the violence was the result of “misinformation” and fake news circulating on social media. Leicester city mayor Peter Soulsby agreed, saying “very, very, very distorting” events were being shared on social media and blamed outsiders for coming into the city to stoke violence.

"We condemn damages to Hindu temples which are a place of worship and should not be disrespected,” Hindu Council U.K. said in a statement.

"We call upon the Hindu community to work with the authorities to bring calm and peace as Leicester is renowned for its cultural diversity, unity and community cohesion,” the U.K.-wide community organisation said, adding that it is working on developing strategies to bring about stronger inter-community relations in the city.

Leicester, in the East Midlands region of England, is known as the city with a large chunk of population of South Asian descent. The city’s Belgrave Road is famous as the Golden Mile, packed with Indian-origin jewellery, food and other businesses, and also a statue of Mahatma Gandhi.

The city’s former Indian-origin member of Parliament, the first of South Asian heritage, took to social media to appeal for calm.

“To me Leicester is the greatest city in the world. Nowhere else so many different people of different languages, cultures and ethnicities live together in harmony,” said Goan-origin Keith Vaz, who was MP for Leicester East from 1987 to 2019.

“We celebrate Diwali, Eid and Baisakhi as one big happy family. I am saddened to see recent events… a small minority of people are seeking to destroy the spirit of Leicester,” he said.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/inter...her-disorder-in-leicester/article65913818.ece

My relatives in Leicester report the following. After India defeated Pak the Indian mainly Hindu fans marched the streets to celebrate, no problem in that at all. They even marched through the Indian Muslim area of the city making certain comments even though Indian Muslim's rightfully supported India. Pak people totally kept out of the internal Indian Hindu's vs Indian Muslim's rising tensions. It was an Indian problem that had nothing to do with the Pak's

Trouble started when a few drunkard Indian fans in the crowd started chanting "Death to Pakistan" then were be confronted by Pak heavies. After that a few Pak's tore apart the Indian flag then spat on it. This is when it started getting very ugly.

My relatives in Leicester report the following. After India defeated Pak the Indian mainly Hindu fans marched the streets to celebrate, no problem in that at all. They even marched through the Indian Muslim area of the city making certain comments even though Indian Muslim's rightfully supported India. Pak people totally kept out of the internal Indian Hindu's vs Indian Muslim's rising tensions. It was an Indian problem that had nothing to do with the Pak's

Trouble started when a few drunkard Indian fans in the crowd started chanting "Death to Pakistan" then were be confronted by Pak heavies. After that a few Pak's tore apart the Indian flag then spat on it. This is when it started getting very ugly.

Zero evidence of anybody ripping up the Indian flag. That chanting was filmed. The ripping stuff is rumour and not true..this started way back in May when a young Muslim was beaten up with bats and poles..and Muslims harassed by drunken Hindu youths at night..

Why are you still arguing with this worm? Ignore him. He is a racist and Hindu supremacist. His ilk have tried to destroy my city and he knows nothing about what's going on other than what some Indians in India are telling him. Ignore him.

Yeah, I do.

They just released a joint statement yesterday. We will not stand for this on our streets. This form of extremism is desperate for succour in the uk.

On the contrary, what's with this "muslim area" theory?

Hindus shouting slogans in "muslim area" led to this?

Are there designated "muslim areas" in UK where the rights of non muslims are curtailed?

Can you please tell me why were people of Indian origin and the Indian high commission in UK attacked in 2019? Mob included some labour MPs too.

I’m sure there are majority Muslim areas in Leicester, just as there are majority-Catholic areas in Glasgow, Belfast and Derry.

You say Labour MPs “attacked” the Indian High Commission? Are you sure?

Why is Indian High Commission getting involved in this?

Because they are bound by their racism and supremacy. They think they can use their influence with the British govt to cause further chaos. What a pathetic attempt.

whatever the reason, how is the Brit Gov allowing them to make a statement like that?

Zero evidence of anybody ripping up the Indian flag. That chanting was filmed. The ripping stuff is rumour and not true..this started way back in May when a young Muslim was beaten up with bats and poles..and Muslims harassed by drunken Hindu youths at night..

Don't worry it's only PakLFC , his mask slipping which has happened plenty of times [MENTION=147314]topspin[/MENTION]

She should request football games between Man U and Liverpool be run without a police presence, then we could see how culturally enriched the white Brits are.

But she won’t. This is all fodder for the authoritarian right’s culture war.

They just released a joint statement yesterday. We will not stand for this on our streets. This form of extremism is desperate for succour in the uk.

Glad to hear it [MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION]. Decent Britons of all races and faiths abhor this extremist sickness.

You ( or your relatives) need to stop peddling fake news.

Nobody desecrated an Indian flag.

Glad to hear it [MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION]. Decent Britons of all races and faiths abhor this extremist sickness.

Indeed. We may have disagreements on politics but that's what forums are for and we accept civilised healthy and perhaps at times robust debates. But we will not tolerate extremism of any kind on our streets.

Yeah, I do.

Well you may be in a minority but most people don't care. They would rather blame it as an inmigration cricis and how their govt has sold their streets to the foreigners. Just check what Nigel Farrage has to say about this incident. I know you would say he is a right winger and he dosent count, but most comments I read on BBC, MSN, Daily Mails etc. all have same viewpoint.

Also, may I ask why does it bother to you if it is done by hindus or muslims? Is it bcoz of:

A) Casual racism on your part? Bcoz you are quick to blame hindus for this incident when the investigation is still ongoing as per police.

B) You are used to such hooliganism from them but have not witnessed such thing from hindus before in this country and hence just surprised?

If I were you (a white man), I would only worry what is happening on my streets and would not jump to conclusion that hindus from India are to be blamed when there is significant video evidence of what actually happened. Even yesterday, hindu temples being attacked in B'ham as an after effect.

Lets be honest, the crimes committed by Indians in UK is miniscule compared to Pakistanis. You and I both know it. Even yesterday, the only person arrested for approaching and targetting queen's coffin was from Pakistan.

But somehow you blame BJP tentacles and hindus. With mindset like this, no wonder Rishi Sunak lost even though he was 10 times better than the person that got the job

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CB8c6qFzf4

A good video - at around 2:44 they mention the sick ideology of Hindutva and show crowds walking down streets screaming Pakistan Murdabad.

I know our resident posters who ascribe to this ideology are fine with the chanting of Pakistan Murdabad, especially during cricket matches in India that don't even involve Pakistan, but surely they must also find it strange that crowds of Indian Hindus think its necessary to do this in England.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/sep/20/what-is-hindu-nationalism-and-who-are-the-rss

Good article on Hindutva in yesterdays Guardian. Thankfully this sick ideology is being recognised by the general public.

I watched an interview of the man in charge of the Birmingham temple where people were protesting yesterday. The poor fella didn't even know that the speaker he had invited was a major public figure during the desecration of the Babri Masjid and routinely calls for war against Muslims!

Thats how subtle this ideology is, reminds me of the entryism tactics used by commies.

Deport all of them, seriously UK. Why does this not happen in any other Western country? Beyond the Hindutva or Islamists there is something seriously wrong with the UK in particular.

Because we harbour a particular brand of metropolitan left-liberal university middle class which holds a lot of sway in the political corridors — they always have their trigger fingers armed for the next outraged tweet at how the UK is a fascist police state, when really it’s a decent enough country on most levels.

Well you may be in a minority but most people don't care. They would rather blame it as an inmigration cricis and how their govt has sold their streets to the foreigners. Just check what Nigel Farrage has to say about this incident. I know you would say he is a right winger and he dosent count, but most comments I read on BBC, MSN, Daily Mails etc. all have same viewpoint.

Also, may I ask why does it bother to you if it is done by hindus or muslims? Is it bcoz of:

A) Casual racism on your part? Bcoz you are quick to blame hindus for this incident when the investigation is still ongoing as per police.

B) You are used to such hooliganism from them but have not witnessed such thing from hindus before in this country and hence just surprised?

If I were you (a white man), I would only worry what is happening on my streets and would not jump to conclusion that hindus from India are to be blamed when there is significant video evidence of what actually happened. Even yesterday, hindu temples being attacked in B'ham as an after effect.

Lets be honest, the crimes committed by Indians in UK is miniscule compared to Pakistanis. You and I both know it. Even yesterday, the only person arrested for approaching and targetting queen's coffin was from Pakistan.

But somehow you blame BJP tentacles and hindus. With mindset like this, no wonder Rishi Sunak lost even though he was 10 times better than the person that got the job

Yes significant video evidence of right wing Hindus attacking Muslims. And yes of idiot Muslims attacking a temple. But again your trying to be clever in the way you are presenting your ideas. By subtly implying that "well.these Pakistanis are mostly criminals anyway so it must be them" just exposes the deep racism and anti Muslim problems that exist in your community. Now that doesn't mean they are all on the streets attacking masjids but over the last decade views have become more extreme against Muslims.

As an anecdote I have a colleague who is hindu and married a Muslim Pakistani. She has told me the views within her wider family are way worse against Muslims.

With regards to the constant sniping about the socio economic problems within the Pakistani community i suggest you open a new thread and we can discuss it with evidence. The problems in Leicester are related to the political polarisation and rise of fascism in India not Pakistan.

Finally no temple in Birmingham has been attacked you are again making things up to try and portray the Muslim community in a negative way. If hate preachers who call for violence or hate are xoming to give speeches the community has the right to demonstrate.

https://www.ethnicity-facts-figures...t-and-economic-inactivity/unemployment/latest

African, Pakistani and Bangladesh populace has the highest employment and welfare rate in UK.

You hear Pakistanis in Britain protesting about Kashmir, Palestine or any other event that they see as atrocities against Muslims. There are plenty of memes about the outraged Birt-Pak person.

Yet the narrative is somehow RSS has gone multinational to provoke these folk.

Things in the real world and the semantics are a total 180 FYI

https://www.ethnicity-facts-figures...t-and-economic-inactivity/unemployment/latest

African, Pakistani and Bangladesh populace has the highest employment and welfare rate in UK.

You hear Pakistanis in Britain protesting about Kashmir, Palestine or any other event that they see as atrocities against Muslims. There are plenty of memes about the outraged Birt-Pak person.

Yet the narrative is somehow RSS has gone multinational to provoke these folk.

Things in the real world and the semantics are a total 180 FYI

How are those statistics/memes/protests you have made up in any way related to this thread?

Because outraging over every little thing and causing ruckus in the Uk has not historically been associated with the Indian community. That’s the larger and factual point.

Let’s not even go into crime and terrorism.

Because outraging over every little thing and causing ruckus in the Uk has not historically been associated with the Indian community. That’s the larger and factual point.

Let’s not even go into crime and terrorism.

Just because something is not "historically associated" (by you lol) doesn't mean that it cannot happen.

The chilling scenes of masked Hindus marching through Leicester has sent shivers down the spines of us all in the UK.

You think they really care about statistics when their streets are being threatened by an agenda pushed by a foreign government?

Just because something is not "historically associated" (by you lol) doesn't mean that it cannot happen.

The chilling scenes of masked Hindus marching through Leicester has sent shivers down the spines of us all in the UK.

You think they really care about statistics when their streets are being threatened by an agenda pushed by a foreign government?

Lol throwing big superficial terms doesn’t change the ground reality.

No matter how hard the narrative has been pushed to equate RSS and other Hindu orgs to all the “popular” fringe groups that a lot of British Pakistanis seem to get campus recruited regularly, it is not working. As I said there might be a rise in some fringe elements in the Hindu community but that is only reactionary.

Isis-brides, Isis- defectors, someone leaving Britain to fight with Al-Qaeda, grooming gangs, radical teachings etc etc etc have never been associated with Indians. I am stressing the word Indians here because you don’t hear such things about our Muslims or other religions either bar 1-2 incidents at best.

Lol throwing big superficial terms doesn’t change the ground reality.

No matter how hard the narrative has been pushed to equate RSS and other Hindu orgs to all the “popular” fringe groups that a lot of British Pakistanis seem to get campus recruited regularly, it is not working. As I said there might be a rise in some fringe elements in the Hindu community but that is only reactionary.

Isis-brides, Isis- defectors, someone leaving Britain to fight with Al-Qaeda, grooming gangs, radical teachings etc etc etc have never been associated with Indians. I am stressing the word Indians here because you don’t hear such things about our Muslims or other religions either bar 1-2 incidents at best.

And what ground reality in Leicester are you talking about?

You're another one with a big mouth on this forum chatting rubbish. The Hindu community in Leicester has verified the anti social behaviour by groups of hindus and the police have verified the assault on a young Muslim.

Next you'll be telling us "oh hindus don't historically lynch anyone it's always a reaction to a Muslim eating meat"

And like i said to your other troll friend above if you want to talk about socio economic issues in the Pakistani community create another thread. This one is about how violent right wing thugs nearly destroyed the peace of my city.

So I’m a racist because I think one group of brown men is more to blame for these disturbances than another group of brown men? Doesn’t make much sense.

Nothing is happening on “my” streets. Very calm where I am and you hardly ever see a police car.

Rather a long leap from criticism of Hindutva far right wing nationalist influence to Sunak’s defeat, especially given that I had no vote, and would have preferred him to Truss as the lesser of two evils.

Leicester riots: When Hindu nationalism came to Britain
Peter Oborne , Imran Mulla

Hindus on one side, Muslims on the other. Police officers wielding batons keep the two sides apart.

Close by, cars are being smashed. One is overturned and its driver beaten up. Local residents trapped in their houses, afraid to go out. Masked and hooded men march through the streets.

This wasn’t a scene in India, a country notoriously prone to outbursts of brutal communal violence. It happened last Saturday night in the British city of Leicester. For locals, it felt close to civil war.

It has suited British politicians to turn a blind eye to the rise of the Hindutva movement in the UK. Cynical electoral politics may be the reason

Nothing like this has happened before in Britain’s most multicultural city. In recent months, though, something has changed. Hindu nationalism has come to Britain.

In India, hatred against religious minorities, especially the country’s 200 million Muslims, is growing. It is fuelled by Hindutva, a common term for the Hindu nationalism propagated by the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), a paramilitary organisation. Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi received his political education in the RSS. The ruling party, the BJP, was established in 1951 as its political wing.

Whereas Hinduism is a great and ancient religious tradition, the RSS is modern to its core, modelled on 20th-century European fascism. One of its most influential ideologues, Madhav Sadashivrao Golwalkar, admired the Nazis and compared Indian Muslims to Jews in Germany.

Growing tension

Today the Hindutva vision - to forge India into a Hindu, rather than religiously plural, nation - is closer than ever to being realised.

In India, this has meant death, terror and destruction, much of it involving attacks on Muslims. But the RSS’s influence is no longer confined to India. It is active in Britain. In Leicester, tensions have been growing amid a series of anti-Muslim attacks.

In May, 30 men attacked a Muslim teenager with bats and poles in the street after asking him whether he was Muslim. One of his arms was broken and he was hospitalised. An unprovoked religious attack, routine in Modi’s India but till now unusual in Britain.

Then, on 28 August, violence escalated. After India defeated Pakistan in a cricket match, a mob chanting “Death to Pakistan” took to the streets of Leicester. The mob attacked a Sikh bystander and a police officer.

In a horrific incident a few nights later, several men stormed through a Hindu majority area, attacking people and property. One man was videoed with a knife in hand, while another pulled a religious flag off a Hindu house.

Around the same time, a 20-year-old Muslim man was confronted late at night by a group of men. They asked if he was Muslim. When he said yes, they attacked him.

The threat escalated once more last Saturday. Around 200 Hindu men, most of them masked and hooded, marched through a Muslim-majority area in East Leicester. As they marched, they shouted "Jai Shri Ram”. This innocuous-sounding Hindu religious statement, meaning “Hail Lord Ram!”, has become synonymous with Hindutva violence in India.

Across the sub-continent lynch mobs have forced Muslims to repeat “Jai Shri Ram”. The crowds that tore down a 16th-century mosque brick by brick in Ayodhya chanted the slogan. Some Hindutva protesters in Leicester, chanting “Jai Shri Ram”, assaulted Muslim bystanders. Local Muslim men confronted the Hindutva protesters. Police kept the groups apart.

More Muslims gradually arrived and at sunset dozens prostrated themselves in prayer in congregation in the middle of Uppingham Road.

A dangerous phenomenon
As night set in violence broke out - from both sides. Muslims attacked one Hindutva marcher in his car, pushing it over onto its side.

It’s deeply worrying that the Indian High Commission should breach all diplomatic protocol by echoing the ugly language of religious militants back in India

A masked man climbed onto a Hindu temple and took down its flag. On Melton Road, as two lines of police officers stood between Hindutva and Muslim protestors, some members of the Hindutva mob threw glass bottles towards the Muslims. “I saw the whole road blocked,” a witness told Middle East Eye. "The police had batons and dogs. They weren’t letting anyone through. I saw police officers scattered throughout the surrounding streets."

Eventually, police managed to disperse the crowds, but more violence erupted the following evening. Hindus spray-painted the outer wall of a mosque, while Muslims removed a temple flag and set it on fire. Masked men of both groups roamed the streets, before being dispersed by police.

Most press reporting so far suggests that both sides of the conflict are equally to blame, as Faisal Hanif has noted for Middle East Eye. It must be stressed that the picture is confused, and there have been horrifying Muslim assaults on Hindus. But the ugly events of this summer cannot be explained without taking into account the rise of the Hindutva movement in Britain.

This dangerous phenomenon of great importance has so far been almost entirely ignored in the press. But not by India itself. In a dangerous intervention, the High Commission of India in London has painted violence in Leicester as a purely Muslim phenomenon.

An inflammatory press release on Monday stated: “We strongly condemn the violence perpetrated against the Indian Community in Leicester and vandalization of premises and symbols of Hindu religion."

This is sinister.

Who is Indian?

By only condemning attacks on Hindus, it turns a blind eye to the violence against Muslims. The Indian High Commission is unforgivably taking sides in a religious conflict in a foreign country.

It’s standard practice from Modi’s government to favour Hindus and ignore anti-Muslim violence back home in India - thus allowing fanatical militants to terrorise minorities with impunity. Yet there is an even more disturbing element to the High Commission of India’s press release: it refers to “violence perpetrated against the Indian community”.

In fact, as the Indian High Commission must have known, the clashes were largely between people with an Indian background.

The majority of Leicester’s Muslims are Indian, with many tracing their origins to Gujarat, the site of the 2002 massacre in which Modi, then chief minister of Gujaraat, was implicated. The statement, therefore, suggests that the High Commission recognises Indian Hindus but not Indian Muslims as part of the “Indian community”.

This in itself is a terrifying manifestation of Hindutva ideology, which paints India as a fundamentally Hindu country assaulted by foreign Muslim invasions, so that Indian Muslims today are themselves not a real part of the nation.

MEE approached the Indian High Commission for a comment, but there was no response until this column went to print.

It’s deeply worrying that the Indian High Commission should breach all diplomatic protocol by echoing the ugly language of religious militants back in India. Many Hindus in Leicester reject the Indian High Commission analysis.

We spoke to a young Hindu woman who fears for the safety of her local area. Speaking on condition of anonymity, this is what she told us: “My grandma goes to the Mandir [temple] daily so I don’t feel good about that. Mob mentality is terrifying,” she said.

“This was something that always scared me about the rise of the BJP in India - how that’s going to impact the diaspora. It’s so sad to see - growing up here it’s always been largely peaceful between all communities. This is horrific."

Shamingly it has suited British politicians to turn a blind eye to the rise of the Hindutva movement in the UK. Cynical electoral politics may be the reason.

Strategic silence
In recent years, the Conservative Party has entered into an unspoken electoral alliance with India’s ruling BJP.

It is often forgotten that Modi was banned from entering Britain after the 2002 massacre of over 1,000 Muslims in Gujarat. But in 2014 Modi was elected as prime minister, and since then the British government has embraced him wholeheartedly.

In April former prime minister Boris Johnson visited India, where he announced new investment deals in technology and posed in photos with Modi. No mention of the murderous attacks on Muslims on the rise throughout the country.

The Holocaust Memorial Museum in the United States considers India the second most likely country to experience mass killings in 2022. Yet, the British government maintains a strategic silence on the matter.

In fact, the Conservatives seem determined to suck up to Modi’s BJP. In May a delegation of Indian opposition politicians were received at a reception in the British parliament. Conservative MPs were noticeably absent, according to a report in the Guardian.

It’s time for the Conservatives to stop ingratiating themselves with Modi - and wake up to his link to far-right communal politics, not just in India but in Britain too

Former Home Secretary Priti Patel is an open admirer of Modi, praising his “dynamic leadership” when she was in government. In 2014, she went to the extraordinary lengths of writing a letter of congratulations to HSS-UK, the overseas wing of the RSS, for their event entitled “RSS: A Vision in Action - a new Dawn”. Patel told its members they “should be very proud of what they have achieved for Britain’s Hindu community.”

The Conservative Party has seen potential for electoral gain in collaborating with the ruling BJP, which responds in kind. In the 2019 general election, the general-secretary of the National Council of Hindu Temples, which has links with the BJP, was suspended after revelations that he had been personally urging people to vote Conservative on social media.

In the same year, the president of the Hindu Forum of Britain was videoed telling an audience that she would ban Labour politicians from Hindu functions. A group called Overseas Friends of BJP UK, meanwhile, invited 300 Indians to a meeting with Conservative candidate Dr Anwara Ali and Conservative MP Bob Blackman.

Blackman has a record of Islamophobic views, is known for retweeting anti-Muslim social media posts by the former leader of the English Defence League Tommy Robinson (he later apologised citing an "error" over the tweet), and sharing a platform with the far-right commentator Katie Hopkins. In 2018 he hosted Hindu nationalist leader Tapan Ghosh in Parliament. Ghosh has called on the UN to “control the Muslim birth rate world over”.

This may help explain why, at the time of writing, there has been no statement on the violence from British Home Secretary Suella Braverman - and little substantial coverage of the story in Britain’s notoriously Islamophobic mainstream press.

It’s time for Britain’s ruling Conservatives to stop ingratiating themselves with Modi - and wake up to his link to far-right communal politics, not just in India but in Britain too.

And what ground reality in Leicester are you talking about?

You're another one with a big mouth on this forum chatting rubbish. The Hindu community in Leicester has verified the anti social behaviour by groups of hindus and the police have verified the assault on a young Muslim.

Next you'll be telling us "oh hindus don't historically lynch anyone it's always a reaction to a Muslim eating meat"

And like i said to your other troll friend above if you want to talk about socio economic issues in the Pakistani community create another thread. This one is about how violent right wing thugs nearly destroyed the peace of my city.

He's not chatting rubbish though, his aim, like his hindutva colleagues on here, is to carefully deflect and confuse the debate. It's very deliberate stuff, this is how hindutva works, they have been doing it for decades, it has mostly gone unnoticed in Britain as they usually keep a low profile abroad.

The only thing we're certain of is that this is a clash between the hindutva hooligans from india and islamist thugs of pakistan and nobody knows who started it, supposedly it began with the cricket match. It's a matter of he said-she said, who do we believe ?

This is classic hindutva. They hate Muslims as much as they hate left leaning Hindu communists. Don't ask me why and how but there has always been a strong liberal bent towards Islam despite the religion itself being hard right. One of the reasons could be the penchance to side with the victim, that is, Palestinians. Vs Jews the power brokers, the ugly capitalists, the anti thesis of socialism and communism. In the case of India, liberal bastions like Bengal and Kerala always hated Hindu nationalists. The intellectuals in these states have been very vocal in the press since 2014 when Modi came into power.

Anyway, this little exercise in Leicester was for two reasons. One, to show the liberal Hindu living in UK, the secular Hindu tweeting against Hindus that they could be attacked by muslims easily. Second, it doesn't take much to rile the Muslim mobs and hence is easy to shatter the 'victim' image. The flag destruction at a Hindu temple, the publicity to known anti semite Mohammad Hijab served the purpose. At the end, there is a truce between community leaders. You tell me who's the winner here?

You people are all talk. The big mouth does what it does best, with no tangible results in improving your quality of life in the UK, or anything substantial in other issues that consume your life (Israel, Kashmir, etc.) over multiple generations.

You need to be Arab to get a reaction out of Indians. They are the 'real' Muslim power and hold a large club that can make things happen.

lol.

This is a UK issue even though the dark hate has its origin in your country by your Hindutva extremist government. Hindu extremists dont cause trouble in Arab lands or any other lands apart from India because they are big majority backed by an extremist government who ecourages them.

I can assure you UK is not India, Hindu extremists attempting to vandalise, physically attack people, rape children or burn people will be firstly not be allowed and if they do, will be punished by both the Muslims and/or the government of the UK.

Nothing to do with talk, its ground realities of the UK, please dont think its the same as India.

lol.

This is a UK issue even though the dark hate has its origin in your country by your Hindutva extremist government. Hindu extremists dont cause trouble in Arab lands or any other lands apart from India because they are big majority backed by an extremist government who ecourages them.

I can assure you UK is not India, Hindu extremists attempting to vandalise, physically attack people, rape children or burn people will be firstly not be allowed and if they do, will be punished by both the Muslims and/or the government of the UK.

Nothing to do with talk, its ground realities of the UK, please dont think its the same as India.

Yep. Anymore of this bully boy tactics and their in for a lesson of a lifetime

This is classic hindutva. They hate Muslims as much as they hate left leaning Hindu communists. Don't ask me why and how but there has always been a strong liberal bent towards Islam despite the religion itself being hard right. One of the reasons could be the penchance to side with the victim, that is, Palestinians. Vs Jews the power brokers, the ugly capitalists, the anti thesis of socialism and communism. In the case of India, liberal bastions like Bengal and Kerala always hated Hindu nationalists. The intellectuals in these states have been very vocal in the press since 2014 when Modi came into power.

Anyway, this little exercise in Leicester was for two reasons. One, to show the liberal Hindu living in UK, the secular Hindu tweeting against Hindus that they could be attacked by muslims easily. Second, it doesn't take much to rile the Muslim mobs and hence is easy to shatter the 'victim' image. The flag destruction at a Hindu temple, the publicity to known anti semite Mohammad Hijab served the purpose. At the end, there is a truce between community leaders. You tell me who's the winner here?

I agree with everything you've said. But I haven't figured out who you think is at fault here from your post.