ICC CT 2017, 2nd Semi-final | India [265/1] beat Bangladesh [264/7] by 9 wickets

Shikhar Dhawan in CT:

114(94)
102(107)*
48(41)
68(92)
31(24)

68(65)
125(128)
78(83)
46(34)

680 runs in nine innings.

:Torch_ani

He scrored much faster in the previous CT 2013, where the pitches were much more tougher to bat , with swing !

Eh bhai Rohit & Shekhar - jao, jara rest lo bhai. Virat or UV ko practice karna hai ......

The slimmest of chance that we had was to bowl first & try to chase something - so, Mash lost the toss & barish ko unsi waqt aana tha. Not sure how chasing side lost 4 of the last 5/6 here, but at Edgebaston, under sun, it's impossible to defend almost anything.

Disagree with this. If bangladesh had put runs on the board they would have had more of a challenge. they should have got 300 from their position from 150 with 2 wickets down. Hard to outright take wickets but you can stem the run flow and make the batsmen take risks to up the run rate. Bangladesh just don't have enough runs to do that. Plus their bowling today hasn't been great either. A little disappointed with Bangladesh they are better than this.

GOAT chaser can re sharpen his chasing skills. Expect lot of singles.

Kohli needs to get into peak touch before the final. The final won't be easy going .. I expect a tough chase, if we were to bat second.

:Torch_ani

He scrored much faster in the previous CT 2013, where the pitches were much more tougher to bat , with swing !

He was younger with age people slow down happens to every batsmen they become more mature and choosy in shot selection.. Apart from Afridi

Mashrafee's captaincy has been horrible, he saw in the previous game how poor the overrated fizz was against Kiwis in the first two overs, yet being the idiot he is opened with him.

How does Ian Bishop bear other commentators ? esp the desi ones.

Bishop is a pain to listen to. Besides mostly offering banalities, his elocution is awful, he stresses every second word!

That problem is there with all commentators except for maybe Shastri,but when they are in that same tone ,wouldn't mind them making sense and not just telling the score.

Disagree with this. If bangladesh had put runs on the board they would have had more of a challenge. they should have got 300 from their position from 150 with 2 wickets down. Hard to outright take wickets but you can stem the run flow and make the batsmen take risks to up the run rate. Bangladesh just don't have enough runs to do that. Plus their bowling today hasn't been great either. A little disappointed with Bangladesh they are better than this.

They are wore than their collective figures reflect in this match. Indian team team simply has bigger fishes to fry than prove their nous against this insipid challenge

where are Pakistani fans? they want indian fans to be there in their match commentary thread. :)

We are not defending against PAK bro. I know exactly what I am telling & I have a little idea of English wickets - go & check Pom commis wicket analysis & what I wrote on Cardiff wicket yesterday; this one is even better. Whatever crack it had compacted with the little shower & then they rolled it after lunch in scorching sun.

I am more disappointed than you, because we failed to post 320, because of top 2 scores bolted it against part-timers. More than casualness, it was a strategic mistake - when Kohli brought Kedar, the right hander Mushi should have immediately gone after him so that Kohli is forced to change his plan B. Instead, the lefti missed a arm ball on slog sweep. Not taking any credit out of Indian batting, but not many teams will defend 300 here against top 8 teams - we needed at least 330+, which I think I wrote twice.

Oval seems too far now for bangladesh

Every min its becoming more n more difficult.
Luck tht got bangladesh into semis is running out. Can they pull something bak?

Hahahaha how Kohli reacted taking Mushfiq's catch omg that was hilarious :yk

There was new that The bangladesh camp made a statement like : "yuvraj is the weakest link in the batting , we'll target him". Dunno if that was Mushi. That'd have fired up VK ..

I hope Kohli hits Mashrafee and Taskin for sixes and destroys their careers

Why? Mash, even at this age did exceptionally well, batted responsibly as well. It was criminal for Batu & Tamim to get out such, then Sakib.

What changes will you make to this team? Also, don't you think Bangladesh needs a batting coach and kick out Walsh

Bangladesh should forfeit this match so that I can get back to work, the result is fairly obvious now, let the people work Bangladesh :srini

What a poor batting performance in the middle over by our middle order batsman.

Shakib mushy Riad mosaddek none of them stuck around
they did not do too well in the end either. numerous tight overs and some lucky edges that yielded result.

Bangladesh is easily a team on the rise, but they need to fix their temperament - a purposeful, calculated approach is needed. the current approach of smash everything you can once you are just a tad bit comfortable is not a good approach.

India batting risk free. Take single when available and score 4 when loose ball is gifted.
This strategy may not work in final.
Need to be aggressive and score faster. This tuk tuk is boring.

May not be for finals, but this strategy works fine against Pakistan! Pakistan aren't going to set/chase 300+ in finals on any pitch! Need to worry only about their bowlers & safe-ploy is good. If it was Australia/England to face I can understand its a different story/strategy! India even with this tuk-tuk is good enough to post 300 if they don't lose wickets...! Actually England lost the plot yesterday by losing wickets...

What changes will you make to this team? Also, don't you think Bangladesh needs a batting coach and kick out Walsh

Walsh not sure, but definitely I would like to see Siddons back - the best batting coach I have seen.

Couple of changes - one is to drop Soumya for Liton & may be bringing Nasir back. Also, on such shaven wicket, no point playing Mustafiz - he should be used selectively. Rest is fine - we didn't defend 290 against Poms at Chittagong, hence team has to make sure that every time they chase, they make it count.

India in imperious form. We have no chance.

Why can't you take confidence from the matches they won so far? Pakistan reaching finals should be beyond expectations... I think this lack of confidence (fans) reflects on the players as well and that's the reason they may fall short...