ICC rejects Bangladesh's request to move its T20 World Cup games out of India (Update @ post#2179)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

What kind of security issues are we even talking about here that didn’t exist before? Stop making such poor excuses my friend. Do you seriously think Pakistani players and fans have fewer security concerns than their Bangladeshi counterparts? There will always be some idiots who show verbal aggression toward cricketers, regardless of nationality. That’s nothing new.

The ICC and all foreign teams including Pakistan don’t see any serious security threats for players or spectators. Yet our BCB clowns suddenly received some divine message from their political masters that our players’ lives would be in danger if they went to India for the T20 tournament. Even the players themselves don’t agree with this nonsense, which was clear from the COAB press conference.

And about Fizz—his removal from the IPL has nothing to do with us playing in an international T20 tournament. Yes, it’s shameful that Indians don’t want to see our players in their domestic league, but it’s even more shameful that we are so desperate to play in their league. When we didn’t get that chance, we were stupid enough to shoot ourselves in the foot by boycotting the tournament.

How would boycotting the tournament harm India? It won’t. It’s our cricket and our players who will suffer the consequences, not India.
Pakistan sees security threats therefore will not be playing any match in India. Other foreign teams will also not be playing in India. Please understand the context before commenting about Pakistan. feels like you think the whole tournament is being held in India. You are aware it's a hybrid tournaments right? Even India will be playing a match in Sri Lanka to accommodate global security requirements, so why can't Bangladesh.

so tell us why Mustafizur was withdrawn?

don't do the "thook ke chaatne wala kaam"

whatever the reason mustafizur was withdrawn for being Bangladeshi same would apply to other bangldeshi's too

so lets here it why was mustafizur withdrawn?
IpL fans did not want him to represent Indian IPL team. They rely on their fan base. Nothing to do with security. In world cup he will be representing BD team. So no issues there.

Bangladesh's position is that they do not want to travel to India due to security concerns. Aminul said the ICC referred the BCB to past instancesof teams like Australia, West Indies, New Zealand and England forfeiting their games by refusing to play at venues during the 1996 and 2003 ODI World Cups. Aminul, however, brought up the example of the 2025 Champions Trophy.

"The ICC tried to tell us about incidents in 1996 and 2003 but we pointed out their recent steps in a similar matter," Aminul said. "When a country refused to travel to another country for the Champions Trophy last February, the ICC organised a neutral venue for them. The team played all their Champions Trophy matches in that neutral venue. They played in one ground, staying in one hotel. It was a privilege."

Good to see a board opening calling out ICC (BCCI) hypocrisy. India got special exception and in return, so did Pakistan, which is as I said before, a dangerous precedent set by the ICC. Bangladesh is using the same security propangda nonsense to get a neutral like India. This is supposed to be a global game that's supposed to be even playing field for all involved and yet, its been reduced to pajama level league where there is bias & favouritism to the ones in power.

Also, hilarious to see India called out for their sham of a win in CT which is what it was playing on one venue throughout the entire tournament with no travel.

Presently Afghanistan has friendly relations with India and during the second taliban takeover cooperated with India to evacuate indians
To be clear then, the above described treatment of Hindus in Afghanistan, which could be plausibly classed as genocide under the UN Genocide Convention, is acceptable provided Taliban maintain friendly relations with India ?

I cannot speak for the Hindus and Sikhs who left their homes for India but can safely assume the overwhelmingly majority did so out of compulsion and fear of life under the Taliban. And you're content with Indian franchises paying huge sums to cricketers from that country ?

It shouldn't take 36 pages to get to the truth - this saga (begun by the exclusion of Mustafizur from IPL) for a significant number of Indian fans isn't driven by legitimate concern about mistreatment of Hindus in Bangladesh, but about Bangladesh's new geopolitical orientation away from India.

Pakistan sees security threats therefore will not be playing any match in India. Other foreign teams will also not be playing in India. Please understand the context before commenting about Pakistan. feels like you think the whole tournament is being held in India. You are aware it's a hybrid tournaments right? Even India will be playing a match in Sri Lanka to accommodate global security requirements, so why can't Bangladesh.
Again spreading fake propaganda. Bhai tum log ye jhoot bol bol ke tired bhi ni hote, na koi saram atu Hai? :klopp :kp

IpL fans did not want him to represent Indian IPL team. They rely on their fan base. Nothing to do with security. In world cup he will be representing BD team. So no issues there.
Please fill the gaps for us.

Fan base didn't want them to play.

So

Government intervened on behalf of fans and asked KKR to remove Him?

Is that what happened.

Is government chief selector and marketers for IPL sides now?

I'm guessing it was due to the current poor relationship between the two countries, involving all the Sheikh Hasina politics. That's not necessarily a security thing.

hasina back in india now? no

so relationships are still bad, so if fizz can't play in India same rule for rest of Bangladeshi people

Bangladesh team always show zero performance, but they are masters in creating drama out of anything.... bangla cricket player done riots on ground and break srilankan players dressing room, sometimes they do Nagin dance to provoke opposite team and many such acts
Imagine a cricket team that is known more for Nagin dance than cricket :dw

So

Is that what happened.

indians are wibbling wobbling they don't even have a proper excuse why fizz was withdrawn :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

So

Is that what happened.

Fans are the source. Everything started there. It doesn't matter what the sequence is.It is certainly not due to security as you imply.

This Indian government is petty and vindictive, you must have figured that out by now. I don't agree with the Mustafizur decision .. but that's a politics related decision not security. Bang govt instead made it about security and now it has backfired.

It's hard to say whether the Bang govt was really concerned about security or was trying to play a titt-fot-tat poltical stunt. It was the latter imo.

Fans are the source. Everything started there. It doesn't matter what the sequence is.It is certainly not due to security as you imply.
Yaar sequence is important. First time we are hearing government is listening to fans for team selection. What was the mechanism fans communicated their displeasure to the government?

Fans are also unhappy at Jadeja being selected in one day team. Do you think government of India can intervene here and select another spinner?

IPL is a domestic event. T20 WC is mutilateral & international .. indian govt has a different policy for that.
Can you explain the policy?

According to @Rajdeep Hindu sentiments are hurt by Bangladeshis playing in IPL but they remain fine when Bangladesh plays in India in general.

Is this also your understanding of the disparity in policy of the Indian government?

Welcome Scotland to play the ICC World T20 2026. Huge moment for them.

Last time they were eliminated from the group stage by a very narrow margin (due to Net run rate).

I feel bad for Scotland in a way. They have such a small window to prepare for this WC.

If there is a security concern, why in the world would ICC ask members to vote if BD should play in India or not? What a stupid thing to do, lol. What does the full board members have to do with this? ICC also man, grow some balls man. Take a decision at this point. Approve or Deny and get on with the show.

Yaar sequence is important. First time we are hearing government is listening to fans for team selection. What was the mechanism fans communicated their displeasure to the government?

Fans are also unhappy at Jadeja being selected in one day team. Do you think government of India can intervene here and select another spinner?
Pakistan players were not picked in IPL because of security challenges for Individual IPL teams. Pakistan still toured twice after that. Why did Pakistan tour?

What's the deadline date for a final decision on this? Either kick them out and replace them with Scotland or move their matches to Sri Lanka.

What's the need for ICC to prolong the drama when both sides have made up their mind?

Pakistan players were not picked in IPL because of security challenges for Individual IPL teams. Pakistan still toured twice after that. Why did Pakistan tour?
Is this the security assessment ICC is relying on? What other team does or doesn't do effects security or Bangladesh.

I mean then you can ask why all teams toured Pakistan and played CT but not India can't you.

What's the deadline date for a final decision on this? Either kick them out and replace them with Scotland or move their matches to Sri Lanka.

What's the need for ICC to prolong the drama when both sides have made up their mind?
ICC already announced the judgement- Either play in india or kick out from the World T20.

Then BCB asked 24 hour to consultation with goverment , now government said we don't want to Play in india.

Now ICC is likely announced a replacement team ( Scotland) in next 24 hour .

Case is closed. Now whining and crying keep going for some time by Pakistani/ Bangladeshi fan's.

The deal is that the bigots won't be able to implement their cast system in cricket if the make a rational decision

Many of this WC games are undecided for now depending on who qualifies for the finals

The excuse of inflexible schedule is just a Red herring
I
Good that we didn't accept Bangladesh's terms for 2026 T2OI WC.

Yes, we are the BCCI & ICC is our bisch. Now cry about it day & night. We fund world's cricket & we won't bow down to anyone. Now take it or just shut down your cricket board!!

Deal with it. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

:klopp :kp

The deal is that the bigots won't be able to implement their cast system in cricket if the make a rational decision

Many of this WC games are undecided for now depending on who qualifies for the finals

Cricket used to feel refreshing. Cricket now feels very weird and cringy. :inti

Cricket needs to return to English gentlemen or other gentlemen. Sanghi paindoos shouldn't control it. They tarnish this beautiful British sport.:inti

Bangladesh was gifted many times some free Alco engines by India for Bangladesh Railway. So India did a lot to keep Bangladesh happy so they have to Cooperate India in Cricket also. But the Security Concerns are just a false propaganda by Bangladesh everyone knows it.

This thread is now the 12th largest thread of all time (cricket section). LOL.

I can't believe this thread has reached page 36. All thanks to bhakts. :yk
If Bangladesh can delay one more day before deciding then we will make it the biggest thread on PP.

Tomorrow I may be unavailable until after Jumaa just giving heads-up to any Indian who may like to tag me.

After Friday prayers I will dismantle your arguments.

The fact that 14 out of 15 boards voted against you...only shows who real bigots are. LMAO

Inflexible schedule may be a red herring but agreeing to absurd demands of Bangladesh would have created an unprecedented norm for the future. ICC rightly rejected the request. I am saying this even for India, no demand for hybrid model should be entertained. I have said the same during last year's CT as well. India should also sit out of tournaments if they think they cant travel somewhere. Now whether ICC can run a tournament without India or whether broadcaster will agree to it is a different story.

ICC/ BCCI never asked BCB to dropped the fizz from World T20 Squad.

ICC confirmed that the world body had never intended to suggest such measures. As a policy, the ICC does not meddle in player selection or advice supporters on their choice

So please Stop posting fake news from Pakistan/ Bangladesh Fake Propaganda factory.

How Many times I exposed Pakistani Fake Propaganda. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

:klopp :kp
What in the world are you on about? Did you get those comprehension skills I told you to get?

Again, PCB has not denied it either. If you put a charge on me something incorrectly, I sue you. The fact that PCB is mum and it was reported by reputed journalists from Geo news, there is definite merit to the news.

You can keep on denying though, if that helps sleep. However, deep down even you know I am speaking the truth.
Weird logic. Media can report anything and it will be considered true until it’s denied.

PCB has that much time that it’ll go refuting all unverified claims. Sounds about right.

Cricket used to feel refreshing. Cricket now feels very weird and cringy. :inti

Cricket needs to return to English gentlemen or other gentlemen. Sanghi paindoos shouldn't control it. They tarnish this beautiful British sport.:inti

You say that but then post in every match thread including Indian ones. If something feels weird and cringy, one must stay away from it, no?

Again, drama band karo. I hate people who pretend something they are not. Be genuine like Raj.

ICC already announced the judgement- Either play in india or kick out from the World T20.

Then BCB asked 24 hour to consultation with goverment , now government said we don't want to Play in india.

Now ICC is likely announced a replacement team ( Scotland) in next 24 hour .

Case is closed. Now whining and crying keep going for some time by Pakistani/ Bangladeshi fan's.

How is the case closed when they have not announced the replacement team yet? That is quite literally the exact opposite of the case being closed. :kp

They will announce replacement team in next 24 hour but Bangladesh has been kickout from the World T20. So Bangladesh case is closed. :kp

Pakistan not playing in India is for a period of time 2024-2027 not after that, go read the icc statement on this,

India didn’t ask for a venue change couple of weeks ago before the event
Why do you keep bringing up the time period like it’s some sort of consolation for India? Did I say the arrangement is lifelong? No. Does it change the fact that Pakistan is not going to play in India just like it said it wouldn’t? No. So no need to repeat yourself like a broken record.

ICC has not said that the timing of the BCB is issue. They’ve said that it sets the wrong precedent which is factually incorrect as there is already a precedent set.

On a serious note

There are many sane Indian analysts who are criticizing their own board and government for the mishandling of the situation. They are criticizing BCB too but are fairly stating that it was started by the Indian bigots. They are particularly highlighting the fact that India bringing up lynching issues in other countries is hypocritical

The Indiots we interact on this forum are not a good sample of Indians. India is a country of diverse opinions. Granted they are struggling a bit because of their political structure but the majority of Indians are sane

I have visited India many times and have Indian relatives. But the most important effect on me is made by my Canadian Indian friends and colleagues belonging to every religion. The effect is mostly positive.

Although I benter and sledge a lot at the Indians on this forum but it is apparent to me that the Indian patrons on this forum are mostly supporters of the current government - a bigoted political party/alliance

The Indian bigots only represent 37 to 40% of the country, if the popular vote can be used as a measurement tool. Majority of the Indians are not bigots.

So bear in mind that the Indian opinion that you read on the issue of BD boycotting the WC is a limited one. There are other Indians who are quite offended by the politics taking over cricket

A question might arise in your mind why are those Indians are not speaking loudly. The reason is that both the digital and MSM is being controlled by the bigots and if anyone criticizes too loudly they either lose their jobs or tax authorities pay them a visit. I am not exaggerating.

We Pakistanis and Bangladeshis can't change our neighbors. We need to encourage and work with the sane Indians.

This WC issue is settled and done with. I totally support the BD and BCB.

I prefer that Pakistan boycott the WC too.
We will never have a better opportunity to confront and hurt the wallets of Indian bigots ruining cricket in general.

Bangladesh has been thrown out of the tournament and for you number of pages on pp is more important 🤣
Again, the obsession of Indians to somehow make this a win for them is so desperate.

A board decides not to travel to participate in a tournament by its own free will and some fools try to show it as being thrown out. BCB can literally decide tomorrow that they will participate and travel to India - what kind of “thrown out” is that? Lol

Weird logic. Media can report anything and it will be considered true until it’s denied.

PCB has that much time that it’ll go refuting all unverified claims. Sounds about right.

It was all over your print, digital and tv media. You ex cricketers asking PCB to maintain the stance and boycott even today. I am not talking about random 2 kaudi ke snowflake youtubers but reputed journalists from Geo news. So find it very difficult to believe PCB will not give any statement openly if those reports were false.

Again, the obsession of Indians to somehow make this a win for them is so desperate.

A board decides not to travel to participate in a tournament by its own free will and some fools try to show it as being thrown out. BCB can literally decide tomorrow that they will participate and travel to India - what kind of “thrown out” is that? Lol
I threw Beyonce out of my bedroom if this is the variable definitions we are now using.

It was all over your print, digital and tv media. You ex cricketers asking PCB to maintain the stance and boycott even today. I am not talking about random 2 kaudi ke snowflake youtubers but reputed journalists from Geo news. So find it very difficult to believe PCB will not give any statement openly if those reports were false.
The same ex-cricketers apologized to PCB for spreading false information only last month. That’s their credibility. But you can continue to believe them - free world

The more they write, the more they make themselves laughing stocks. :qdkcheeky

Sanghis are natural comedians.

They were starting to get owned in this thread so they started a new ine

They don't want people to quote reply to their past obnoxious posts claiming that BD will bend the knee and play in India eventually

🤣🤣🤣🤣

only downside i see with all these developments is that few teams are losing out on easy points and may be even few records. Anyway, there is always next world cup, its not like BD will be a better team by then. they will still be handing over points and records on platter.

If Bangladesh can delay one more day before deciding then we will make it the biggest thread on PP.

Tomorrow I may be unavailable until after Jumaa just giving heads-up to any Indian who may like to tag me.

After Friday prayers I will dismantle your arguments.

Bangladesh shouls just play along with everything and then at the last minute say the government hasn’t granted permission to travel.

They have been straight up and decent throughout, no point spoiling their moral stance at the end now bro. They are willing to play it's BCCICC that are the obstacle here

BCCICC jibe would have been valid if 14 out of 15 members didnt vote against you.

Its not BCCICC...its all sane boards against mischeveous PCB and its sidekick BCB

#Facts

BCCICC jibe would have been valid if 14 out of 15 members didnt vote against you.

Its not BCCICC...its all sane boards against mischeveous PCB and its sidekick BCB

#Facts
@light made a good point.

How can security come down to a vote?

It shows that the whole ICC vote was a sham. They have not taken the process seriously. It was once again decided and rigged in a way to favour India.

They have been straight up and decent throughout, no point spoiling their moral stance at the end now bro. They are willing to play it's BCCICC that are the obstacle here

I am vicious

I would have acted like Indians

Like they used to usevAfghans to make a scene out of the stadiums fighting Pakistanis on neutral grounds

If I were BCB, I would send the team to India and make a staffer to pretend that he was attacked...then withdraw from the WCa day before the first game so no other team could replace mine

I would emulate Indian bigots' devious mind🤣🤣🤣

JK

It shows that the whole ICC vote was a sham. They have not taken the process seriously. It was once again decided and rigged in a way to favour India.

Due to couple of simple reasons:

1. Security was never an issue and more of an excuse. Only Pakistanis like you fell for it because you were burning like charcoal since last CT. If security was really an issue, BCB would not have allowed Mustafiz to nominate his name in IPL in the first place and BCB would have raised their voice after ICC published fixture itself. The fact that they chose to do this drama post Mustafiz ouster only shows its political and a reaction to IPLs measures.

2. ICCs security commitee has found no risk for BD cricketers. So its natural, every board member will go with ICC. Heck even SL said no change in venue. Ab to sharam kar lo

:klopp

Due to couple of simple reasons:

1. Security was never an issue and more of an excuse. Only Pakistanis like you fell for it because you were burning like charcoal since last CT. If security was really an issue, BCB would not have allowed Mustafiz to nominate his name in IPL in the first place and BCB would have raised their voice after ICC published fixture itself. The fact that they chose to do this drama post Mustafiz ouster only shows its political and a reaction to IPLs measures.

2. ICCs security commitee has found no risk for BD cricketers. So its natural, every board member will go with ICC. Heck even SL said no change in venue. Ab to sharam kar lo

:klopp
1. This is dumb argument. If you book a holiday as it seems fine, but day before your holiday a serious security incident happens, would you still go on holiday because it didn't happen at time of your original booking.

This is nonsense argument being funnelled through BJP media cells.

Is this the security assessment ICC is relying on? What other team does or doesn't do effects security or Bangladesh.

I mean then you can ask why all teams toured Pakistan and played CT but not India can't you.

There were different periods when teams other than India did not tour Pakistan for security reasons. They have to deploy an entire army to protect teams. So it is not exactly "safe safe".

What does Bangladesh player want? Play or not? If their answer is yes then that means Bangladesh Board has royally screwed their own players

There were different periods when teams other than India did not tour Pakistan for security reasons. They have to deploy an entire army to protect teams. So it is not exactly "safe safe".
So India didn't tour because all those countries who were playing champions trophy in Pakistan, had at some point in the past, not toured Pakistan?

I have seen goalposts being shifted but you have moved them to outside the stadium and turned the football pitch into a motorcycle track.

1. This is dumb argument. If you book a holiday as it seems fine, but day before your holiday a serious security incident happens, would you still go on holiday because it didn't happen at time of your original booking.

This is nonsense argument being funnelled through BJP media cells.
Thank you dear brother for confirming BD team and establishment realise they are going on a holiday and not to compete. Der aaye durust aaye. Scots will compete for sure, they have competitive genes.

Just to piggyback on my previous comment, I personally believe that the Bangladesh interim government - for whatever reason - has sacrificed their cricket and players’ careers and played with public emotion. They never wanted to go to India from the beginning and were looking for a reason not to go for political reasons. Fizz’s exclusion was a perfect way to enter the war, and the only winner in this is the BD government. Not BCB, not the players, not the cricket fans, not ICC, and definitely not the BCCI (unlike what some members and fans are suggesting). At the end of the day, yes, there is a security concern, but I also believe India would have provided high‑end security personnel because this is a World Cup they’re hosting after all. Both sides acted petty, to be honest, but BD ran a marathon with this episode and lost. There’s still a chance for you guys, but will you take it and help your cricket? I don’t think so. Does BCCI have fault in this? Yes, absolutely for starting this Fizz saga. Is ICC bias and gives preference to certain team while other gets the boot? Damn right they are. If you guys haven't figured it out yet why PAK was able to get some sort of special treatment and was allowed to not play in India, well then your board and gov are idiots. It's becaue of IND V PAK match. This match makes ICC a boat load of money. If Pak was not that productive for ICC, them too would have gotten the same treatment.

But at the end of the day, everyone will forget about this and enjoy the WC except for BD and their fans. Sucks for you guys that your government took this stand. You have to be completely blind to believe that no consequence will come out of this. Do I feel bad for you guys? Yes. Do I think you guys were treated unfairly? Also yes. But at the end of the day, politics won, cricket lost. Them politicians will still have a job and won't even look 2x back at the issue they created, cricketers (and obviously the fans) are the one that will suffer.

So India didn't tour because all those countries who were playing champions trophy in Pakistan, had at some point in the past, not toured Pakistan?

I have seen goalposts being shifted but you have moved them to outside the stadium and turned the football pitch into a motorcycle track.
India is at more risk than other teams hence they didn't take want to chance. First pakistan has to get to a stage where they don't need an army to protect players. There were about 4000 perosnnel guarding Australian team icnluding snipers in 2022.

On a sad note will miss these guys :)

Screenshot-2026-01-22-155046.jpg

Genetically, I don't think there is much difference between Bangladeshis and most Indians.

It depends.

North Indians are different than South Indians. Even in Bangladesh, different district people have different features.

But, yeah. Overall, there are similarities. Particularly with West Bengal folks. :inti

Anyway, it is not important. We have to focus on defeating the sanghis. We shouldn't try to find similarities. :inti

Bangladesh should do 3 things now:

1) They shouldn't change their minds. They should not go to India in the present or in the future (until India have a regime change).

2) Bangladesh should ban Tamim Iqbal, Mithun, and Mehidy Miraz for going against BCB and most cricket fans. They can go and play their cricket in India.

3) Bangladesh should take ICC to CAS (Court of Arbitration for Sport). I think they have a very good case with all the evidences. CAS is obviously not controlled by the sanghis. It is pretty independent.

:inti:inti:inti

Genetically, I don't think there is much difference between Bangladeshis and most Indians.
I think they are poles apart. After all Bangladeshis as erst while East Pakistan should have the same genes as Pakistanis, which this forum over the years has been at pain to state to we (Indians and Pakistanis) are different