ICC Under-19 World Cup | Pakistan Under-19s beat Sri Lanka Under-19s by 23 runs

Wait till Pakistan meets India in QF/SL and as usual choke underpressure handing India a customary win just like their senior team in main events.

Nothing to do with pressure in this case . this Pakistan team isnt good enough. Last few teams were quite good but not this one. On the other hand Indian team looks their strongest in years. Good fast bowlers , good batsmen , good spinners and all rounders. They should feel gutted if they dont win this trophy.

I almost hide myself when pak players are interviewed[emoji38]

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Me too hahaha. My mom doesnt know good english but even she points out grammatical mistakes when they speak :))

So the thanking "all mighty Allah" has reached the Pak u19 as well

Well done, good win for Pak

SL guilty of gifting their wickets.

Then you obviously didn't watch Pakistan's batting. They gifted at least 4 wickets. Some terrible shots, a set player trying reverse sweep, run out and Mohsin also lost his wicket to a stupid reverse sweep, the century was there to be grabbed.

So the thanking "all mighty Allah" has reached the Pak u19 as well

It was always there. I remember misbah didn't use to say any such things initially. But now it has rubbed on to him as well.

Brilliant win by Pakistan U19 I thought they would lose but getting 6 wickets for 42 runs was great stuff. Jeeyo Sheron

Me too hahaha. My mom doesnt know good english but even she points out grammatical mistakes when they speak :))
Yes one of my cousins who isn't much into cricket keeps mentioning to me how these players are absolutely murdering english[emoji1], but I thought these young blokes would be educated enough to speak English but I guess somethings never change[emoji16]

Mohsin, "Silva played well but I won" :)))

Need to invest in school cricket and education in general big time.

REMIND ME of my school time when i was 16
a foreigner come to survey our school he came to our class and pointed out me to stand up and tell me what have your learn in your previous class. i was so nervous and confused i said we read about english test and his reaction was like "Are you serious"hahaha that was such a embarrassing moment for me .My classmates give phenti through out the day

Then you obviously didn't watch Pakistan's batting. They gifted at least 4 wickets. Some terrible shots, a set player trying reverse sweep, run out and Mohsin also lost his wicket to a stupid reverse sweep, the century was there to be grabbed.

I think its expected out Pak batsman and less from the Lankans :P

Well I followed the first part and watched the finish of Pakistan innings. Mohsin looked good.

This time the issue was there with Indians as well ,Pant our opener wasn't able to speak as well.
But I guess these guys need to be educated also, I mean having one guy with exceptional talent not enough educated is one thing, but having whole of team speak absolutely rubbish sometimes does embarrass you as a Fan at times[emoji1]

REMIND ME of my school time when i was 16
a foreigner come to survey our school he came to our class and pointed out me to stand up and tell me what have your learn in your previous class. i was so nervous and confused i said we read about english test and his reaction was like "Are you serious"hahaha that was such a embarrassing moment for me .My classmates give phenti through out the day

:)) yeah well we all need to start learning at some stage. These players never even try seriously.

Yes one of my cousins who isn't much into cricket keeps mentioning to me how these players are absolutely murdering english[emoji1], but I thought these young blokes would be educated enough to speak English but I guess somethings never change[emoji16]

As long aas they play well, they could be speaking Russian and it wouldn't make a difference except sounding radically different to languages most people have heard.

Simple solution, just have a translator present at all times.
I don't think translators are that great always, besides they don't allow that freedom to a player to express himself 'when' and 'where' he desires. Imagine some youngster trying to convey to teammate KP or someone else in PSL that he has a problem with short pitch bowling... What then? Would you have 2-4 translators in the team? I don't think so.

I kind of just meant at post match presentations...

I think IPL helped Indian players greatly because they were able to communicate with their foreign teammates and coaches because of their ability to speak and understand English, I don't know how pak players are going to benefit from PSL in that regard?

I know Pakistani cricketers suck at english and they get a lot of flak for it too. An athlete from Japan or China will never give an interview in English because they know their english sucks and they are confident with their language, the fans don't care either. However the cricketing fraternity gives great importance to english speaking ability. I guess we still haven't moved on from the "English Sahib" mentality

This time the issue was there with Indians as well ,Pant our opener wasn't able to speak as well.

Most BD, IND, PAK players at start struggle with English - not to mention BD or PAK players, but if you have heard Tendulkar, MS, Azhar, Pathan brothers, Zak, Bhajji in their early career, you would have realized.

Difference is, how you want to see yourself when you want to represent your country. Knowing English is not extra credit for a cricketer, but it helps you as a better communicator, understanding the rules better & most importantly aware of whats going around. English is quite easy language for speaking, as most of south Asian linguistics has lots of English words & jargons. For a English game like Cricket, it's even easier as most terms are universal.

African or Latin players playing in English leagues appoint teachers to learn the language, coming from a totally different mother tongue. Most professional football coaches actually learn 5 or 6 languages for workable communication - Jose is fluent in Portuguese, French, English, Spanish, Italian, German & I am sure he understands the swearings of Abrahamovic in Russian. I am sure the Indian & BD cricketers does that as well.

Once Inzi became father & naughty Tony Greig asked him how was the feeling? Molla replied -

"Mashallah, it's a great team effort, boys were quite pumped up & everybody contributed, supporting each others, particularly the way Shahid led the charge. Inshallah, we 'll keep trying & improving for better results in future".

How good you are in English at U19, doesn't always depend on you - not everyone is blessed to be born to educated & affluent parents, availing an A level school; but how good you are in English when you are the National Captain or National player, depends on your self esteem, personality & values - no one expects a cricketer to be Harsha Bhogle who is an IIT & IMA graduate, but it's just about 200 man hours investment over six months, between a decent spokes person on podium & a ......................

Most BD, IND, PAK players at start struggle with English - not to mention BD or PAK players, but if you have heard Tendulkar, MS, Azhar, Pathan brothers, Zak, Bhajji in their early career, you would have realized.

Difference is, how you want to see yourself when you want to represent your country. Knowing English is not extra credit for a cricketer, but it helps you as a better communicator, understanding the rules better & most importantly aware of whats going around. English is quite easy language for speaking, as most of south Asian linguistics has lots of English words & jargons. For a English game like Cricket, it's even easier as most terms are universal.

African or Latin players playing in English leagues appoint teachers to learn the language, coming from a totally different mother tongue. Most professional football coaches actually learn 5 or 6 languages for workable communication - Jose is fluent in Portuguese, French, English, Spanish, Italian, German & I am sure he understands the swearings of Abrahamovic in Russian. I am sure the Indian & BD cricketers does that as well.

Once Inzi became father & naughty Tony Greig asked him how was the feeling? Molla replied -

"Mashallah, it's a great team effort, boys were quite pumped up & everybody contributed, supporting each others, particularly the way Shahid led the charge. Inshallah, we 'll keep trying & improving for better results in future".

How good you are in English at U19, doesn't always depend on you - not everyone is blessed to be born to educated & affluent parents, availing an A level school; but how good you are in English when you are the National Captain or National player, depends on your self esteem, personality & values - no one expects a cricketer to be Harsha Bhogle who is an IIT & IMA graduate, but it's just about 200 man hours investment over six months, between a decent spokes person on podium & a ......................

You are right and i remembered Sachin's interview with TOM and its all about improving.Not sure about others but Pant was exact as Sachin below.

Sarfaraz was also struggling the other day while Ishan was very fluent. Quite contrary to their performance with the bat !

We win against Namibia.

and if Pak wins against WI

then It will be a Semi final clash between India and Pak

Nope. The likely semifinal combination: BD vs Pak, India vs England.( If BD,India,England Pak win their qf match)

I have a feeling West Indies will beat Pakistan – West Indies will be on a high after that controversial win. My prediction for semi finals: Bangladesh v West Indies and England v India. My prediction for final will be Bangladesh v England with winner Bangladesh. England have good fast bowlers and Indian batsman might find it tough. History will be made no doubt. Maybe it already has, as this tournament is probably one of the best in under-19s history. Even if it was a Bangladesh v Pakistan match, Pakistan has little chance of beating them.

I think IPL helped Indian players greatly because they were able to communicate with their foreign teammates and coaches because of their ability to speak and understand English, I don't know how pak players are going to benefit from PSL in that regard?

You don't need to learn Hindi, Gujarati or punjabi to understand what the Indians are saying, they always use English words that will allow you to understand what they are saying. Happens all the time, they some how get surprised though :yk

I know Pakistani cricketers suck at english and they get a lot of flak for it too. An athlete from Japan or China will never give an interview in English because they know their english sucks and they are confident with their language, the fans don't care either. However the cricketing fraternity gives great importance to english speaking ability. I guess we still haven't moved on from the "English Sahib" mentality

Inferiority complex, runs wild in South Asia. You have to be "cool" to speak English. 20 years from now the next generation will be smart enough to know that there is nothing wrong with speaking in your native language. And the current generation will look like fools down the road.

Hoping for Pak to beat WI, we've got a terrible record against them recently in ICC tournaments.

as usual pakistan destroys lanka in a u19 match. nothing to see here