ICC World Cup 2023: Australia v Pakistan | Match 18 | Bengaluru | 20 October | Australia Innings

Pakistan will need a fast solid start ie 250 runs in 30 overs. Scoring runs against the old ball will be difficult. Not easy against the likes of Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins and Zampa

It is too late. 360 never chased in India in any parts succeessfully. 24 times 360 plus totals posted. Every team that posted 360 plus won the match
And that is why the catch killed the game (and obviously Warner capitalising brilliantly on the chance).

Catches win matches.

Yaar good last 5 overs but australia got out of our orbit. Max was 320 we could chase against them.

Obviously another aspect to this is that only 2 batsmen scored 80 percent of the teams runs.

This means

1. Set batsmen cant throw it away.

2. Dont expect new batsmen to come and hit 10 per over to win the match.

Regardless of how they bowled that was a pathetic effort by Australia in the end overs. They were trying to muscle rather than time like Rohit.

I’m giving them a chance here
Brave and passionate.
Let's hope for the best.
Pakistan has to break their own record of chasing highest total in a world cup match.
If they can do it, my bet will be on them to win the cup final.

This is not going to be an easy chase - for any team. Loose bowling at the start (& that drop) made it look like a batting paradise, but most likely 280-300 par wicket.
This seems accurate to ne too. Bang on 300 par wicket. Even if we make allowance of 40 runs for dew and assume batting gets easier, Aussies are above par.

Cricket is all about momentum and with this momentum i'm backing Pakistan to give a tough fight to Australia. 370 is still a huge chase but if one batsman managed to play anchor role perfectly then anything can happen.
If Pakistan managed to create scenario like, 200 to win in 20 overs with 8 wickets in hand, i'm backing them to win this match.

So Australia lost 10 wickets for about 100 runs.

Great Pakistan bowling unit for sure!

Shame about the fielding today though!

This is not a 367 wicket.

Ball was gripping a lot
I agree. Even a batting line up like India will find it difficult to chase. It will be interesting to see how the pitch behave now. I think Zampa and Starc will have a feast tonight.

I agree

Not an easy pitch to bat on, Australia have been gifted this match by Pakistan club level bowling.

This is the type of pitch where Babar can take his time and bat like Warner throughout the innings and Pakistan will come real close.

But can Babar do it ?

Some were wanting Usama in the line up. I have a question to them . Why do you rate Usama ? What positive do you see in his bowling?

Lol. Australia lost the plot at the end of inning.
339-4 in 44 overs to 367-9 in 50.
Good recovery by Pak in death overs.

Now this is a target that can be chased.

Wonder if Waqar had any goosebumps at Chinnaswamy today??

Must be mixed emotions for him, feeling proud of how the Pakistani bowlers pulled it back

BUT

at the same time remembering how we was put to sword and slaughtered at the same venue.....

Difficult to keep going hard with new batters. Not easy to do that. You need time on the pitch.
Dumb cricket by Stoinis and co. Should have just looked to rotate strike and pick up the singles and twos. They look for 410 and hit out for 367. Rotating skilfully would have got 385.

This is the type of pitch where Babar can take his time and bat like Warner throughout the innings and Pakistan will come real close.

But can Babar do it ?
Babar and Rizwan should open.
This is a pitch where you have to make runs in first 35vovers.

Some were wanting Usama in the line up. I have a question to them . Why do you rate Usama ? What positive do you see in his bowling?

Usama is hamperer by a coward captain and poor fielders.

He can be Pakistans version of Zampa at least but they will throw him out for Shadab after a few games.

Nothing tbh

He bowled pathetically. It is not a batting paradise for spinners at all. Either too full or short.

Both Iffi and nawaz have bowled nicely. Not getting any wickets but kept the Aussie Batters under check.

Wonder if Waqar had any goosebumps at Chinnaswamy today??

Must be mixed emotions for him, feeling proud of how the Pakistani bowlers pulled it back

BUT

at the same time remembering how we was put to sword and slaughtered at the same venue.....
Are you saying about the QF of 96 ?

Lol. Australia lost the plot at the end of inning.
339-4 in 44 overs to 367-9 in 50.
Good recovery by Pak in death overs.

Now this is score that can be chased.
Maxwell's brainless hoick ruined it for them. He knows every inch of this ground. Him pulling off Shaheen's father in law was a massive gift for Pakistan

Ravi Shastri should take his words back and sincerely apology to Shaheen Afridi.
This guy is a class act and can't be taken lightly. Even a half fit and Langda Shaheen can demolish any batting lineup at will.

Usama is hamperer by a coward captain and poor fielders.

He can be Pakistans version of Zampa at least but they will throw him out for Shadab after a few games.

The dropped catch also ruined his confidence.

It doesn’t help when he’s not given a proper run.

Shadab wouldn’t have any better with the ball.

Pakistan just know how to bowl at death.

They neither have the ability to set targets (hence Babar not confident of batting first), neither they have the ability to bowl with new ball.

Time for Babar Azam to show his true class and shut mouths of his critics who think he is a soft batsman.
Stage is set for Babar.
Abhi Nahi To Kabhi Nahi 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Time for Babar Azam to show his true class and shut mouths of his critics who think he is a soft batsman.
Stage is set for Babar.
Abhi Nahi To Kabhi Nahi 🔥🔥🔥🔥

I think Babar is the best batsmen for subpar 250 to 300 runs chase.

He is not the ideal person to score 370 in 50.

Itna udaas aur mayoos ? Even after 346 chase ?? May score 300 plus here...batting pitch hai
A massive difference between bowling attack of SL and Aus, secondly SL gave like 20 runs in wides.

Nothing tbh

He bowled pathetically. It is not a batting paradise for spinners at all. Either too full or short.
Usama won't find a place in any Indian Ranji trophy team. How did he find in the Pakistani playing 11!!
Yupp, was the same venue surely, unless Bangalore's got 2 cricket stadia

That was one of the painful heartbreaks of all time. Pakistan was cruising along with that Anwar and Sohail opening blitz .

Because usama is a million times > Shadab who's the worst spinner in the God damn milky way.

We want abrar lol

Despite playing 2 games against average sides pakistan has thse 2nd worst ER in this world cup

qw3rqwrw.jpg

I wanted him in just so we could get rid of Shadab's long hops and full tosses. I could not have imagined that a specialist spinner would be worse than 'alrounder' Shadab.

Because usama is a million times > Shadab who's the worst spinner in the God damn milky way.

We want abrar lol

Wait he spins the ball??

I always thought Shadab was more of a showboater.

Good fielder, could strike a few lusty blows and bowl a few darts.

But lately, he has lost everything.

Pakistan bowlers with most World Cup five-fors
2 - Shahid Afridi
2 - Shaheen Afridi
sasur and damad Jodi :afridi