HamzaSaeen
If this takes place, it would be last nail in the coffin for PML-N, at least in Punjab. We all know why 

Note: This feature currently requires accessing the site using the built-in Safari browser.
If this takes place, it would be last nail in the coffin for PML-N, at least in Punjab. We all know why![]()
Not defending Nawaz here but the art of debate should not be taken as a criteria for a good administrator or leader, not that Nawaz is a good leader or administrator but debating is a different art. Obviously one would expect a worldly leader like Nawaz to be at least decent in answering questions or debating. I'm not sure how Manhoman Singh is at debating even though he is an effective leader.
not really. Pakistan awaam doesnt work that way. If it did then PML-N would have lost it years ago with all the stupid stateents nawaz sharif makes. Boggles me that he's been in politics for 20 years and still cannot cobble up a few coherent sentences together without fluffing up somewhere..
A debate with Imran Khan will humiliate Nawaz Sharif, but really not make much change in terms of election results. It will be a good laugh though.
Though it won't happen. Nawaz has never appeared in a show which is not one on one and he even messes those up despite the fact that he knows in advance what line the anchor will take
The problem with TV debates is that they turn elections into a kind of pop talent contest, with whoever is the best performer on the night winning.
Politics should be about policies, principles and the content of the manifesto, which it seems Sharif is reluctant to discuss, he knows himself he's hardly some Churchillian-like orator
However with the rapid expansion of the media in Pakistan, a TV debate would really connect millions of people to the political process. As mentioned, an impartial host and proper time for Q&As and argument between the leaders is required.
im sure manmohan does fine
he's cambrige grad and all....
A orator is usually a trait of good leader. Party chairman usually end up as prime minister, a leader who cant contest infront of another candidate, how would he coup with handling the image infront of other world leaders ? Nawaz as a premier confuses me and defies my logic.
Not defending Nawaz here but the art of debate should not be taken as a criteria for a good administrator or leader, not that Nawaz is a good leader or administrator but debating is a different art. Obviously one would expect a worldly leader like Nawaz to be at least decent in answering questions or debating. I'm not sure how Manhoman Singh is at debating even though he is an effective leader.
I agree but again you have Z. Bhutto as a great orator who did pretty poorly for the country. In the end who would you rather have, a great orator who is a poor manager or a poor orator who is a great manager.
What makes you think that MMS is an effective leader? First of all, he isn't even a leader, he's basically Sonia Gandhi's blue-turbaned lapdog (no personality of his own). Moreover, he's put India back by 10 years after all the hard word and progress the country made between 1991 and 2004. Admittedly he was the architect of the 1991 reform program (he was the visible face, Narsimha Rao was the real architect), but that was in his role as the Finance Minister. As a PM he's been totally ineffective in getting *anything* done.
To your point, he's a pathetic debater too (in addition to being a pathetic PM).
To be fair to him, no democratic PM can do anything without support from his/her senators. Just because Sonia Gandhi is more vocal and poster-politician for Congress doesn't make her sole decision maker. No need to take a jab at his culture/religion.
^^^
Interesting. Don't follow Indian politics that much so my impression was based on what I've read in western press. Still he is better than Zardari and Gillani/Raja Rental at least.![]()
Steady on - just because I used some colorful language doesn't mean I was saying anything about his religion. Light blue colored turban is his signature outfit, that's all. That's the only thing that's remarkable about him anyway, everything else is pure garbage.
In the first term, he was dependent on the Marxists, so I am prepared to cut him some slack, but there should be no excuses during the second term. He's failed miserably - plain and simple. As a PM, he's responsible for complete breakdown of governance and utter lawlessness in the country.
Ok fair enough.
I haven't been following Indian politics and debates of parliament, which is just horrible for viewing, I read from here and there from wiki and headlines from news that foreign policy of Manmohan Singh hasn't been that bad. But recently, there is def. sluggishness with passing anti-corruption bill and pushing paddle re: security for women. Anyone can do condemning, he really had/has chance to make stricter law and give some strong suggestions to local police. He is def. going out of favor for indian public for sure.
^^^
Only Modi can fix India, hope he gets elected as PM in the coming elections.
Atal behari, may God never give such a PM to india..what a chameleon he was.
What are you talking about? He's the most respected politician in India since Nehru. Even his political opponents respect him (just like Bill Clinton is respected by almost everyone in the US).
Personaly i only want IK to win because of corruption Ganja and Ghardari do. And IK seem honest person at least when it comes to money. But i have very little respect for him overall, maybe this will change in future.
Couple of days ago i read in urdu news paper that he will destroye them like Ghazni destroyed Somnath Mandir. Somnath mandir was in ancient-Pakistan sindh which got destroyed by Ghazni. Shamefull stuff by IK and very offensive.
most respected my foot...most cowardly PM who did nothing except reciting crap poems..wore the mask of a moderate while having extremmist views, let kandahar happen and started the lolworthy operation parakram..i wonder what was his achievement that he has so many fans.
Not surprising at all. IK always was an extremist (e.g. he has a soft spot for the Taliban and we all know what the Taliban did to Bamiyan Buddhas and that young girl who's recovering in the UK). All the Pakistanis who're waiting for IK to win the election and take Pak to 21st century be prepared to be disappointed; IK is someone who'll make Zia-ul-Haq look like a modern progressive leader in comparison.
I realize this view wouldn't go down well here, but you read it here first.
Not surprising at all. IK always was an extremist (e.g. he has a soft spot for the Taliban and we all know what the Taliban did to Bamiyan Buddhas and that young girl who's recovering in the UK). All the Pakistanis who're waiting for IK to win the election and take Pak to 21st century be prepared to be disappointed; IK is someone who'll make Zia-ul-Haq look like a modern progressive leader in comparison.
I realize this view wouldn't go down well here, but you read it here first.
The govt should make a law for major parties leaders to debate prior to the elections. Its vital for people to know what the next govt will do.
I fail to understand that if Sharif is too smart to debate with IK (at least he says he is), why doesn't he floor IK once and for all?![]()
Every election gets debated in Western countries including municipal level elections. The law is not needed when leaders are debating. The Law is needed in third world countries so ieaders are forced to debate.is it in fact part of law in Western countries?
all the parties issue their manifesto which is published on their websites, why don't you go read those if you want to know what they will do if in power.
when did he say that?
the logic is quite simple, it would be like a amateur boxer challenging Lennox Lewis to a fight.
even if Lewis wins no-one would appreciate him because he was a big name and the people will end up favoring the amateur, and if the amateur wins then Lewis would be completely embarrassed.
Atal behari, may God never give such a PM to india..what a chameleon he was.
Every election gets debated in Western countries including municipal level elections. The law is not needed when leaders are debating. The Law is needed in third world countries so ieaders are forced to debate.
Last time I checked the average joe in Pak doesn't know how to operate computers let alone opening websites (not including few educated young people). Could you please post N's manfesto here?
And on top of that they have energy issues - imagine opening the website and electricity goes off.
Didn't he state once that Imran has never formed a government, so his 'status' or whatever was not high enough to compete with Nawaz.
when did he say that?
the logic is quite simple, it would be like a amateur boxer challenging Lennox Lewis to a fight.
even if Lewis wins no-one would appreciate him because he was a big name and the people will end up favoring the amateur, and if the amateur wins then Lewis would be completely embarrassed.
Who is the 'he' you are referring to?
The reason there won't be any debate on TV is that The great lion is a road leader who only needs to convince his people which he knows he can. Captaan, on the other hand, is a tv leader with no respect for the real people. But I don't blame him, it is to be expected from
a mere entertainer, from the grounds of cricket to the tamasha circus on ARY.
It doesn't matter if there's a law or not in other countries. The point is: leaders are debating against each other on the national level. Why would one waste time and money to write laws when people are debating? Laws are made to force certain things. In this case, some party(s) don't want to debate so that's why I'm calling for a law to compel them.so it is in fact not part of law then? got it.
and kudos for taking a swipe at the backward slums that are 3rd World countries, same place from where I assume your ancestors are from as well.
PMLN Manifesto - http://www.pmln.org/pmln-manifesto/
The reason there won't be any debate on TV is that The great lion is a road leader who only needs to convince his people which he knows he can. Captaan, on the other hand, is a tv leader with no respect for the real people. But I don't blame him, it is to be expected from
a mere entertainer, from the grounds of cricket to the tamasha circus on ARY.
Debate system cannot work here. If anchor by fault ask any tough question to IK PTI supporters will shout Lifafa anchor and vice versa.
All of the above. And this thana culture will never change. This is how these parties rule the people.What works here then?
Electables ,biradaris ,laptops,jangla bus service,sasti roti,youth festivals...bribe paid in the name of development funds to attract electables and to make MPAs and MNAs loyal.....?
1250 Policemen,40 carore of annual expense on the security of a family of Khadim-e-aala..?
Slavery of public through thana/court culture?
What exactly matters here??
How Will Nazaw Debate:
Q) Nawaz Sharif Pakistan mein aap terrorism kaisey kam kerein gay? yeh tou baht mushkil kaam hai? Aap kya kya strategy hogee?
Nawaz: Janab log tou yeh bhee kehtay thay Motorway nahee banay gee, banee thee kay nahee? Yeh log tou yeh bhee kehtay thay Pakistan Nuclear power bhee nahee banayge ga, Bana kay nahee? Janab.. humnay banaya? Issi terah Allah kay fazal say Janab yeh bhee kerein gay?
Q)aap mehngayee pe kaisey kaboon payeingay?
Nawaz Reply) jis terah humnay nuclear test ka tauhfa dya awam ko InshAllah issi terah hee hum mehngayee khatam kerkay tauha deyingay iss kaum ko. Aur janab yeh motorway ka bhee gift awam ko humnay hee dya tha.
Q) jab 5 baaryon mein kaam nahee ker sakay tou 6th mein kya kereingay?
Ans) ahaha ahaha janab yeh jo Anari Khilari hain... yeh tab kahan thay jab humnay motorway banayee, nuclear test kya MashAllah?
His will divert every reply towards building motorway and Nuclear Test. Calls himself the leader of 200 Million people and can't utter one sentence properly.
Can we have Imran Khan's answer on that also?
Oh please, Imran will give much better answers than that. He will explain his policies clearly.
These excuses of not a good debater ect is just BS.
You claim to be the leader of a nation yet you can't debate live on t.v with an "anaari" khilari without craping your pants.
You can only debate if you have clear cut policies. PMLN does not have any clear cut policies. In fact, PTI is the only party that has a clearly defined and documented policy against terrorism. Whether someone agrees with it or not is a different matter
Does PMLN have a policy against it? No! In fact, PMLN are in bed with SSP, are they not?
LOL Would love to hear Mian Sahab explaining live on tv how he will cut taxes to 10% and then build bullet trains, metro buses
Mian Sahab Paisa Kahan say aaye ga![]()
LOL Would love to hear Mian Sahab explaining live on tv how he will cut taxes to 10% and then build bullet trains, metro buses
Mian Sahab Paisa Kahan say aaye ga![]()
^^
LOL I don't know how Mian Sahab made it to the top![]()
i know .. general Zia
Thankfully, the great Nawaz's ideas are not set in stone and he is ready to evolve following what he is exposed to. Would you rather have someone who makes the country suffer by not participating in elections (since, according to him, Batakh can solve all our issues in 40 days) or someone who is ready to cooperate with dictators if it means serving the people?