India (224 & 396) hold off England (247 & 367) to seal a thrilling 6-run win in the fifth Test to level the series at 2-2

Who will win the 5th Test at the Oval?

• India

Votes: 9 52.9%
  • England

Votes: 9 52.9%

• Poll closed .
Ah when everything fails, bring Hindu Muslim card. So typical.

Atleast India has muslim cricketers. Probably its time for Pak to allow some Hindu players so that they will no longer be minnows as they are now. Pak Hindus will make Pak batting great again

:vk
Who are these Hindu cricketers who are deserving a place in any format ?

Eng throw away matches with Reckless bazballing, just like brook threw away this match by trying to smash a third boundary in a row.

But having said that, Aus is nowhere near as strong as fans think. India lost cuz they played with walking wickets kohli, rohit along with an inexperienced bowling attack.

Australia's batting looks as weak as ever, reliant on Head and Carey.

I expect Australia and South Africa to go to WTC final again.

Yes.

It is probably young Indian fans who didn't see any cricket before 2010. To them, any game after 2010 is a GOAT game. ROFL.

This series was average. Not the best I have seen. I can list 10-15 other series which were better than this. I watch cricket since 1997.
And Bangladesh have remained **** since 1997.

England have not won a series against us since 2018. That's truly shocking in this era of home team domination.

They get absolutely pummeled in India, and have no response when at home.

Good series very competitive both teams played entertaining cricket interesting India won both their matches without bumrah their main gun.

India win all-time Test despite Woakes heroics​

Fifth Rothesay Test, The Kia Oval (day five of five)

India 224 (Nair 57, Atkinson 5-33, Tongue 3-57) & 396 (Jaiswal 118; Tongue 5-125)

England 247 (Crawley 64; Krishna 4-62, Siraj 4-86) & 367 (Brook 111, Root 105; Siraj 5-104)

India won by six runs; draw series 2-2

Scorecard

England were denied a record-breaking run chase by an irresistible India, who snatched victory by six runs in one of the most dramatic conclusions in Test cricket history.

In scenes that will go down in British sporting folklore, Chris Woakes came out to bat with his arm in a sling to support Gus Atkinson when England needed 17 to reach their target of 374.

Woakes was given a hero's welcome, then stood at the non-striker's end as Atkinson attempted to swipe England to victory.

Amid almost unbearable tension at The Oval, Atkinson and Woakes somehow tried to inch England on, surrounded by the deafening din of the febrile Indian support.

After Atkinson clobbered Mohammed Siraj for six, Woakes ran a bye to wicketkeeper Dhruv Jurel, who missed the stumps, in order for Atkinson to pinch the strike.

India kept the field back. Prasidh Krishna bowled the next over. Woakes was able to run a two, then another vital single off the final ball to leave Atkinson with the strike.

But Atkinson was bowled by the brilliant Siraj, giving India their narrowest victory in terms of runs in a Test.

It left one of the greatest series ever played level at 2-2, concluding 25 days of outstanding sporting theatre.

At the end of a fractious series, India broke off from the delirious celebrations to commiserate with Woakes, then embarked on a lap of honour, soaking up a historic win with their jubilant fans.

Source: BBC

I think the series was exciting because of the Flaws in both teams.

Fielding was awful from bith sides.
Seamers where hot and cold

Spin from both teams was virtually non existent.

The team which made least mistakes had a chance to take it and neither could.

2-2 probably a fair result
India never fielded their best team in any of the test. You have to consider this is Gill's first series as captain. So England is expected to beat India handsomely. Ended up losing way more sessions than India. India outbatted them, out bowled them in the series if you look at batting average/bowling average for each team. Also India had several freak injuries in the middle of match. Pant twice.

To me, a good series would be where both teams play high quality cricket. Less blunders.

Did this series have it? Answer is no. Both sides fielded rubbish and bowled rubbish most of the times. It was why series became interesting. LOL.

2005 Ashes, 2002 India-West Indies series, 2008 Australia-South Africa series, England-NZ 2013 series etc. were much better in terms of quality.

Great win by India..great series with all matches going for 5 days..each and every players had their moments..had nail biters, thrilling moments, disappointments, fights, glory..overall a paisa vasool series and good advertisement for test cricket..and most important of all Pak posters having egg on their face and having "yeh to kuch bi nahi" moment..pure gold..

India never fielded their best team in any of the test. You have to consider this is Gill's first series as captain. So England is expected to beat India handsomely. Ended up losing way more sessions than India. India outbatted them, out bowled them in the series if you look at batting average/bowling average for each team. Also India had several freak injuries in the middle of match. Pant twice.
England played with 10 players for most of this test and were without stokes and archer.
Atkinson was also missing for most of the series, he is England's main bowler and his absence a big reason England's bowling was poor

But having said that, I agree that India were the better team this series

@Sachin fan

Root has now scored 500 runs this series.

You are welcome for the prediction.

Don't doubt me again. I'm the top 1% poster of this forumn.
This is a series where 7 batsmen scored 450+ and Gill scored 750+. How is this any hard prediction?

Didn't you predict Brook and Root will hit winning runs too?

Anyways, heartiest thanks to you, you knew job was not done with first jinx so you came back in a critical moment for a s dond jinx, to ensure india wins. Well done.

To me, a good series would be where both teams play high quality cricket. Less blunders.

Did this series have it? Answer is no. Both sides fielded rubbish and bowled rubbish most of the times. It was why series became interesting. LOL.

2005 Ashes, 2002 India-West Indies series, 2008 Australia-South Africa series, England-NZ 2013 series etc. were much better in terms of quality.

When is the next pak-zim test series?..the only series that can fulfil all your expectations..

England played with 10 players for most of this test and were without stokes and archer.
Atkinson was also missing for most of the series, he is England's main bowler and his absence a big reason England's bowling was poor

And England won all 5 tosses and gor the best conditions, which made a huge difference. For eg, batting was easiest in 4th innings today and the other 350+ chase.

India played with 10 players at the Gabba as Saini got injured after 7 overs in first innings. So INdia was reduced to 1 test old Siraj, debutant Sundar, 1 test old Thakur, debutant Natraj.

Series was drawn 2-2. So, no side was better than the other. :inti

This is a series where 7 batsmen scored 450+ and Gill scored 750+. How is this any hard prediction?

Didn't you predict Brook and Root will hit winning runs too?

Anyways, heartiest thanks to you, you knew job was not done with first jinx so you came back in a critical moment for a s dond jinx, to ensure india wins. Well done.
It was an unforseen circumstance. Next prediction will be spot on

Interjecting a spelling into a debate, and finding it funny? That's more reflective of age and maturity.
No clue what you are on about as I am extremely mature and level headed.

I always maintain a calm and composed demeanour.

As for Age, although I am 25, mentally I am 70 and extremely wise.

MIGHTY MIGHTY ENGLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿
Talk nah. You was talking a lot of nonsense from past few days. Indian cricket team has shut the mouth and saved the humanity from noise pollution. 🤡🤡
Couldn’t have scripted a better practice match to audition for the Ashes
Hahah. get eggs on your face 🤡🤡🤡

Woakes coming to bat with one hand showed that how England were desperate to win a test series against India .

They haven't won a test series against India at home or away since 2018.

India played with 10 players at the Gabba as Saini got injured after 7 overs in first innings. So INdia was reduced to 1 test old Siraj, debutant Sundar, 1 test old Thakur, debutant Natraj.
For 4th match there was no pant too to fight for a draw.eng was 1 wicket away from the closing the series .

People were mildly upset because i made a comment about how cricket fans reflect standars of their cricket team. But it is true.
Who were upset and why? That is an accurate statement

Both Bangladeshi fans and team are minnows

:shakib

Devad back on his time machine 🤡
Once a Clown always remain a Clown 🤡 🤡 🤡 🤡

Prediction of wannabe 🤡

Prior to first and and after 1st , England is going to win by 5-0

After 2nd test when India won the match, Now England is going to win by 4-1

After lord's England win , ohh dekho Maine bola na England 4-1 se win karega

Then when India drawn the Manchester test , now England is going to win 3-1

And after that series end result is 2-2 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

:shh:shh:shh:shh:shh :kp

India have failed to win a single Test series in their last 3 series. They are doing bhangra over this drawn series. LOL.

India's last 13 Tests:

Won - 3
Drew - 2
Lost - 8

:inti:inti:inti

Who were upset and why? That is an accurate statement

Both Bangladeshi fans and team are minnows

:shakib

Their take on cricketing nuances is stupendously idiotic. A reason why i completely ignored a few. It is almost an insult to intelligence to have conversation with such posters.

And England won all 5 tosses and gor the best conditions, which made a huge difference. For eg, batting was easiest in 4th innings today and the other 350+ chase.
Chasing in the 4th innings is always more difficult. Lords and this test proved it, ball moves more.
Its just Stokes' suicidal bazball mentality to challenge himself by running his bowlers into the ground and chase whatever is possible

Indian fans fully deserve this humiliation. What a bunch of bottlejobs - losing another Test match from a winning position.
Can't underestimate brother @Mamoon 's contribution in turning this game around. Absolutely getting ripped to shreds by Brook and Root, and bro comes up with this ginormous jinx. Right on time, as always. :hasan2

You are one of a kind. You should try going against AFC for a season or two. I think that's the only bit stopping them from winning stuff

India have failed to win a single Test series in their last 3 series. They are doing bhangra over this drawn series. LOL.

India's last 13 Tests:

Won - 3
Drew - 2
Lost - 8

India is now primed to reach the WTC final in this cycle, following a good result in a tough away series. WTC finals two years down the line might be the next biggest test for this Indian test team.

Not at all. I expect India to draw/lose many series moving forward. I think SA should beat India in India.

It should be Australia vs South Africa in WTC final again. :inti

India's last 13 Tests:

Won - 3
Drew - 2
Lost - 8

England hasn't won a single series against India at home or away since 2018.

Result of Last 5 test series between India vs England and india Vs Australia ( Home or away)

India vs Australia

India -4 ( 2 home and 2 Away Series)

Australia -1 ( at home )

India vs India

India drew last Two series against England in England (2-2)

India humiliated England (4-1 Twice) last Two series at home

These are the results of Marquee test series in World cricket

:shh :shh :shh :shh :shh :kp

Chasing in the 4th innings is always more difficult. Lords and this test proved it, ball moves more.
Its just Stokes' suicidal bazball mentality to challenge himself by running his bowlers into the ground and chase whatever is possible
Lol how is a team scoring 367 runs in the 4th innings proving it's most difficult? The most difficult clearly was first innings and India batted very well to score 224. Indian bowlers would have run through england if they had batted first.

Not at all. I expect India to draw/lose many series moving forward. I think SA should beat India in India.

It should be Australia vs South Africa in WTC final again. :inti
SA never beaten India in India, even with their best teams. Then SA data analyst PDogg called it the biggest quest of his life with Amla and ABD, still got blown away.

Congratulations to India for matching Pakistan's 2016 result :p

On a serious note, I was selfishly hoping the Test ended yesterday as I'm working today. Compelling series from start to finish, definitely up there amongst the best I've seen. 2-2 is about right.

India are in transition with a young team and new captain but showed lots of grit and heart. Sometimes the on-field aggression was a bit OTT but good to see even in this era of IPL riches that Test cricket still means so much to players. Siraj is just relentless.

England will be disappointed to be a six away from winning the series but bad fielding, Duckett's atrocious 1st inns shot, and Woakes' injury left them with too much to do in 4th innings. Can't bank on these mammoth chases all the time. Batting overall still looks strong but bowling combination needs sorting if they're to win the Ashes.

England collapsed for 37-6 trying to bazzball their way through even when it was not needed. I hope England takes these Bethell, FTB Jaimie Smith, Woakes in Australia and get absolutely decimated there.

Congratulations to India for matching Pakistan's 2016 result :p

On a serious note, I was selfishly hoping the Test ended yesterday as I'm working today. Compelling series from start to finish, definitely up there amongst the best I've seen. 2-2 is about right.

India are in transition with a young team and new captain but showed lots of grit and heart. Sometimes the on-field aggression was a bit OTT but good to see even in this era of IPL riches that Test cricket still means so much to players. Siraj is just relentless.

England will be disappointed to be a six away from winning the series but bad fielding, Duckett's atrocious 1st inns shot, and Woakes' injury left them with too much to do in 4th innings. Can't bank on these mammoth chases all the time. Batting overall still looks strong but bowling combination needs sorting if they're to win the Ashes.
2 tests went so close in this series. One went India ways and one went Eng ways.

One of the best 5 tests series.

I agree, Eng needs to figure out bowling to do well in Ashes. Eng allowed new India team to score too many tons.

What a thirlling end to cracking test series. Not often we see 5 tests series producing so many ups and downs and ending with 2-2. Kudos to both teams to produce such series.
When was the last time the result of every Test in a 5 match series came on the 5th day ? :kp

why are they acting like the won the Test Championship Final lmao

View attachment 156586
Bro it's a big win. They were down and out and managed to salvage the series right at the end.

Any individual test match victory is something that is cherished because it comes after 5 days of hard work and toil. To win a match at the last minute after being down and out, that also draws an away series is a big thing.

England captain Ben Stokes speaking to Test Match Special: "It's been an incredible series - the commitment and energy has been outstanding.

"We're bitterly disappointed we couldn't get the series win but myself being a massive advocate of the game of Test cricket, this series has been an unbelievable advert for it across the world. All the doubters saying it's dying a death, this series has said the opposite.

"For us, to come out here and try and chase that total down in the way that we did was outstanding. That never say die, never back down attitude we've installed in the group nearly paid off for us. We couldn't quite get over the line."

India captain Shubman Gill: "It means so much. This was a very hard-fought series. Both teams throwing punches and you could never really predict after day four who was going to win the match.

"We are a young team but before the start of the series, we spoke about how we didn't want to be looked at as a young team. We wanted to be a gun team and I think we showed that today."

England batter Harry Brook: "It is a great advert for Test cricket. To rock up with a crowd like this today when we needed 30-odd runs to win is phenomenal.

"I don't think we could get support like that in any other series, other than the Ashes.

"It has been awesome. The most enjoyable series I have played in. We have not left anything out on that pitch. We have been absolutely knackered. A very intense Test series, but a very enjoyable one."

2 tests went so close in this series. One went India ways and one went Eng ways.

One of the best 5 tests series.

I agree, Eng needs to figure out bowling to do well in Ashes. Eng allowed new India team to score too many tons.
Drawn matches and Drawn series(after 5 matches) are not best advertisement for Test Cricket. Cricket isnt Chess.

If England takes these Bethell, FTB Jaimie Smith, Injured Chris Woakes, they will get absolutely decimated by Scott Boland and Co.

I hate that guy lol
Yes his logic of 'But who is going to bowl' is the most stupid logic I have ever heard. Why should Indian batsmen have to shake hands forcibly if no one is there to bowl from opposition? If there is no one to bowl, England should have forfeited the game and declared India as winner.

As Pakistanis if we had drawn this series in the same way as Indians have - would you be happy or sad? Ask yourself this question and answer truthfully.

We have a series in 2026 against England. I'll tell you now, if we draw it, I'll be celebrating.
Pakistanis celebrated like crazy in 2016 cause they had been poor in SENA for a while and were coming of two big back to back defeats in England in 2006 and 2010 both of which had controversies.

Talk nah. You was talking a lot of nonsense from past few days. Indian cricket team has shut the mouth and saved the humanity from noise pollution. 🤡🤡

Hahah. get eggs on your face 🤡🤡🤡

Woakes coming to bat with one hand showed that how England were desperate to win a test series against India .

They haven't won a test series against India at home or away since 2018.

I've said it was a good series.

Now on to the main event for England fans in a few months The Ashes.

As Pakistanis if we had drawn this series in the same way as Indians have - would you be happy or sad? Ask yourself this question and answer truthfully.

We have a series in 2026 against England. I'll tell you now, if we draw it, I'll be celebrating.

Support England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿. Not Pakistan. But i get where you coming from.

Pakistanis celebrated like crazy in 2016 cause they had been poor in SENA for a while and were coming of two big back to back defeats in England in 2006 and 2010 both of which had controversies.
It has become fashionable to belittle drawn series and drawn matches lately.

In 9/10 cases I believe that going away from home and not losing is like a win.

England hasn't won a single series against India at home or away since 2018.

Result of Last 5 test series between India vs England and india Vs Australia ( Home or away)

India vs Australia

India -4 ( 2 home and 2 Away Series)

Australia -1 ( at home )

India vs India

India drew last Two series against England in England (2-2)

India humiliated England (4-1 Twice) last Two series at home

These are the results of Marquee test series in World cricket

:shh :shh :shh :shh :shh :kp
Kya time aaya gaya, is bande ka post like karna pad gaya

How does a drawn series help secure the future of Test Cricket...that too after 5 matches?
Hard fought draw is part of sport and part of life.

One side gives it their all and the other party responds equally.

If England had scored 6 more runs and the series wasn't drawn, would it have suddenly became a much better series? Of course not.

Yes without a doubt.

2-2 and a shared trophy feels right.

A series to help secure the future of Test cricket.
England have now gone 7 series against Australia or India without winning. They've drawn 2-2 at home on 4 occasions, and then been thrashed each series away.

How does a drawn series help secure the future of Test Cricket...that too after 5 matches?
Out of 5 matches 4 had result and just one is a draw and that too had a chance of result..there is a difference between drawn match and series draw..as you are a BD fan it is understandable that you can't understand test cricket..so just watch your bangla gully cricket and enjoy..

If England had scored 6 more runs and the series wasn't drawn, would it have suddenly became a much better series? Of course not.
Yeah, in something like Chess sure. Even in Chess, they try to break the tie in case of draw. I agree on the last sentence.

Agree. Nothing wrong with a drawn Test or a drawn Test series.

I actually enjoy drawn games if it is exciting. There have been many exciting drawn games. Some examples would be - 2009 Ashes 1st Test, England-NZ 3rd Test (2013 series), Windies-England 5th Test (2009 series) etc.

At the end of the day, it is all about quality of the game.

Lets face it, all these talk about how this drawn series is great marketing for Test Cricket is complete nonsense. Test Cricket doesnt really have anything to provide. India wont be winning much in SENA conditions, at best draw sometimes. SENA won't be winning much in IND either. Rest of the other teams more or less gave up on Test Cricket. This is the hard truth and reality.

In recent times, only series I have seen are great for Test Cricket was NZ winning series in IND, and IND winning series in Aus.

Lets face it, all these talk about how this drawn series is great marketing for Test Cricket is complete nonsense. Test Cricket doesnt really have anything to provide. India wont be winning much in SENA conditions, at best draw sometimes. SENA won't be winning much in IND either. Rest of the other teams more or less gave up on Test Cricket. This is the hard truth and reality.

In recent times, only series I have seen are great for Test Cricket was NZ winning series in IND, and IND winning series in Aus.

It is great marketing for those who understand and appreciate Test cricket.

No country has given up on Test. A Test achievement is still a very prestigious achievement.

It is great marketing for those who understand and appreciate Test cricket.

No country has given up on Test. A Test achievement is still a very prestigious achievement.
Your favorite Sri Lanka has given up on test cricket, they are playing only 4 test matches in 2 years. That's why your so called legend Angelo retired last month after winning against naagins.