India [303/6] beat South Africa [179] by 124 runs in the 3rd ODI to take 3-0 series lead

Dhoni was behind the success of Kohli's captaincy. Many times Kohli gets suggestion from him. An old Dhoni still far better than most of our batsmen.

Sorry to say but Kohli's captaincy is hardly anything great to speak of.

Old Dhoni is better than some of them but nowhere close to VK, RS and SD.

This is why Pandya came ahead of MSD.

MSD kills the momentum and gets out like this. Not your ideal finisher/basher like he was until 2013.

MSD has been past his prime since 2014. 4 Years too much. But he is still the best WK in the country.

Dhoni is in the team only because of WK and his experience/fame! The problem is we don't have replacements!

Rahul cannot replace Pandya. Rahul is an opener or has to bat in Top 4. He is not a middle order player or a finisher. That is his problem.

Jadhav is useless. Below average batsman, a pie chucker with the ball and a pathetic fielder. I would play Raina a head of him.

We are discussing the whole pandya at no 4 situation aren't we, that is why i suggested rahul. Jadhav is bad but compared to pandya as a batsman he is better.

India's batting would have been exposed badly had SA stopped Kohli or heck even play their best XI.

Dhoni is in the team only because of WK and his experience/fame! The problem is we don't have replacements!

Actually we do, both samson and pant are decent keepers and can bat. They may not be as good as dhoni as keepers but we don't need them to be that good as these are LoI's not Tests and they more than cover up the difference in keeping skills with their batting ability.

We never gave a chance to any youngster to cement their place either. Heck, MSD still plays T20 at 38 yrs for National team. This job should have gone to Pant. Ishan Kishan or Samson or some big hitting keeper. I would even play KL Rahul in T20's as Keeper batsman.

If any of the mentioned youngsters click, they could have been transitioned into ODI team too. But Shastri has already declared an year ago that MSD will be the WK in 2019 WC.

I cant imagine how Kohli will chase 320-330 with this side? Afterall, he cant bat alone.

We are discussing the whole pandya at no 4 situation aren't we, that is why i suggested rahul. Jadhav is bad but compared to pandya as a batsman he is better.

I kinda agree with you. Pandya is genuinely a match winner and he needs to play. But 4 may be a bit early for him. Though I dont mind him getting a few chances to be tried out at 4. Also gives him a chance to learn how to construct an innings.

Ideally, Rahul should come at 4, Raina at 5, Pandya at 6, and then the tail starts with Dhoni

It's not, we have good players sadly they aren't getting picked.

90 was an era where the little master did it on his own for india here kohli has some good contribution otherwise India would have not won the first match and like thta.

I kinda agree with you. Pandya is genuinely a match winner and he needs to play. But 4 may be a bit early for him. Though I dont mind him getting a few chances to be tried out.

Ideally, Rahul should come at 4, Raina at 5, Pandya at 6, and then the tail starts with Dhoni

This. Dhoni can come at 5-6 when they are 3 or 4 down early. When it comes to flaying the attack in latter overs, Pandya and Raina comes ahead of MS.

Dont think 270 is going to get chased down here. Unless the pitch quickens up significantly under lights.

Well India is just as dependent on Kohli outside India/Aus as they were on Tendulkar.

But that is kohli and his lackey's fault ditch dhoni for a better player, stop the whole chopping and changing every minute for no 4 and no 5 and let pandey and rahul be given a good run, we will have a good team. Tendulkar on the other hand had mighty batsman like manoj prabhakar, nayan mongia, ajay jadeja who were genuinely the best india had to offer to help him.

Kohli carrying India on his shoulder in both test and ODI. Not even Tendulkar did so much by himself

A side can never be n.o 1 in the ranking if it depends only on one batsman. So people are making fool out of themselves.....

This. Dhoni can come at 5-6 when they are 3 or 4 down early. When it comes to flaying the attack in latter overs, Pandya and Raina comes ahead of MS.

yup. fair point.

I have never understood why Raina is out favour from the selectors. He is one of our most clutch players. he wont average much, but his clutch innings make the difference.

But that is kohli and his lackey's fault ditch dhoni for a better player, stop the whole chopping and changing every minute for no 4 and no 5 and let pandey and rahul be given a good run, we will have a good team. Tendulkar on the other hand had mighty batsman like manoj prabhakar, nayan mongia, ajay jadeja who were genuinely the best india had to offer to help him.

Who would replace Dhoni and do wonders? Everybody is failing except for Kohli and Dhawan

Both Samson and Pant are better than dhoni. But sadly dhoni can't be dropped, the selection is so stupid the reserve keeper isn't a youngster but another has been in karthik.

Kohli is really a class batsman. Keeps getting better and better. Very good knock again.

Both Samson and Pant are better than dhoni. But sadly dhoni can't be dropped, the selection is so stupid the reserve keeper isn't a youngster but another has been in karthik.

It would still be Kohli at the end batting though. Dhoni can contribute while fielding which will be a big asset. Not defending his garbage batting, but neither Pant or Samson would make much of a difference.

We dont have enough time to find a replacement for Dhoni for WC 19. His experience is also important for Kohli. I fear, if Dhoni gets injured we will end up playing someone like Karthik. That would be a double blow as we will lose the best WK and also his experience.

At least Rahul and Raina should come in.

We dont have enough time to find a replacement for Dhoni for WC 19. His experience is also important for Kohli. I fear, if Dhoni gets injured we will end up playing someone like Karthik. That would be a double blow as we will lose the best WK and also his experience.

At least Rahul and Raina should come in.

Raina shuld come in for Jadhav. He is an equally good bowler like Jadhav if not better. Raina is also a big match player and he is a gun fielder.

If Raina was replaced by a youngster, I would be ok. But selectors replaced him with an even older guy in Jadhav.

Raina shuld come in for Jadhav. He is an equally good bowler like Jadhav if not better. Raina is also a big match player and he is a gun fielder.

If Raina was replaced by a youngster, I would be ok. But selectors replaced him with an even older guy in Jadhav.

All this shows that there is more than cricketing reasons for all these! Is Shastri or at least Kohli so dumb to not understand all these like we do!

It would still be Kohli at the end batting though. Dhoni can contribute while fielding which will be a big asset. Not defending his garbage batting, but neither Pant or Samson would make much of a difference.

Seriously actually having someone better than one who scores 40 ball 25 most of the time won't help our batting, also it wasn't just dhoni i want dropped but drop jadhav for an actual good batsman as well.

All this shows that there is more than cricketing reasons for all these! Is Shastri or at least Kohli so dumb to not understand all these like we do!

Well those 2 geniuses did drop bhuvi and rahane for tests in SA.

This dude has become a major pain. Needs to not score all the time.

Magnificent inns by Kohli! Good finish to the last over too.

Now, hoping for the tweakers to wreck havoc.

ITs actually become a problem for India. His consistency is hiding the teams deficiencies.

Well, you are winning most of the games due to Kohli. Not sure if he doesn't score others will step up.

ITs actually become a problem for India. His consistency is hiding the teams deficiencies.

This.

After Top 3, its all hollow.

Even in Champions trophy, the exploits of Rohit/Dhawan/Kohli hid the deficiencies of the lower order. In the finals, once Pak got the Top 3 for cheap, the rest fell like a pack of cards.

Kohli and Dhawan scored 230 out of the 300 runs. That is a major problem for India.

The run machine is in his 90's. I just wonder...If he has Rohit's 6th gear to get to 200...

This is not the pitch where you can score 200... But on pitches where 200 can be scored, Kohli gets overexcited and tries to attack every ball and gets out or gets run out! Rohit has that classic "lazy elegance" which carries him forward and the same "lazy elegance" results in his downfall on tougher pitches!

Actually this is not a 300 pitch at all which will be found out later... Rohit cannot score like that here!

This.

After Top 3, its all hollow.

Even in Champions trophy, the exploits of Rohit/Dhawan/Kohli hid the deficiencies of the lower order. In the finals, once Pak got the Top 3 for cheap, the rest fell like a pack of cards.

MOre than agreed.DHoni,kidahr are the passenegr..Rehane is not odi material,,,only remains Pandya which will be tested soon India has to bring youngsters ASAP or Raina.

Kohli and Dhawan scored 230 out of the 300 runs. That is a major problem for India.
Dude when we win and when we are n.o 1 team in the world,then still major problem ?? It happens man. Other batsman got out trying to score fast. We should not always cry especially when indian team on the verge of 3-0 in south africa.
Too much negativity always here .

Dude when we win and when we are n.o 1 team in the world,then still major problem ?? It happens man. Other batsman got out trying to score fast. We should not always cry especially when indian team on the verge of 3-0 in south africa.

We are no 1 team and winning despite none of our batsman post no 3 playing well with any consistency not because of it, CT final was good reminder what happens when those 3 don't fire, its not negative if those are the facts.

It's a fair criticism. Middle order batsmen need to step up. At the moment, they are not reliable at all.

Virat Kohli in his last 6 ODIs

121 (125)

29 (29)

113 (106)

112 (119)

46* (50)

160* (159)

Inns - 6
Runs - 581
Average - 145.25

SR - 98.80

:salute

Some people are too much roundu or sort of full of negativity yr...they will cry when we loose the match and they still will find reasons to cry when we win.....
Let us loose first then let people call kohli weak , or indian team poor or etc etc....kya jaldi hai bhai rone ki...

People judging the utility of Rohit and Pandya in ODI's have no clue. You need Rohit who is a match winner. Just because he flopped in 3 straight games doesnot mean anything. He will come good again. He blows hot and cold every now and then for no apparent reason. With Rohit, when he rains, he pours.

You need a player like Pandya down the order to hit big shots. Indian team has no fire power after Top 3. He may have flopped in this SA series. But he will come good again. Fans need to have patience.

rohit shouldnt be near the team. His paunch is a good indicator as to how much he is in tune with the times. He lost his WC place to Kohli after having a wonderful headstart, and he really hasn't learnt a whole lot it seems. His magnificent reply of 'come over to India and then we ll show you' is def a good indicator of his understanding of things. He should only be playing while matches are held in India, or against poor bowling sides.

Pandya needs to be persisted with, but he needs to do some serious work.. almost the same as he does for washing his hair with diff colours.

rohit shouldnt be near the team. His paunch is a good indicator as to how much he is in tune with the times. He lost his WC place to Kohli after having a wonderful headstart, and he really hasn't learnt a whole lot it seems. His magnificent reply of 'come over to India and then we ll show you' is def a good indicator of his understanding of things. He should only be playing while matches are held in India, or against poor bowling sides.

Pandya needs to be persisted with, but he needs to do some serious work.. almost the same as he does for washing his hair with diff colours.

Are you joking? Rohit has scored all over the world and averages close to 55 as an opener. We're not talking about tests here.

You know, if you dont improve, you are getting worse. As a team we can do better. Its not like this is the best we have. We have the goods to become event better. And thus it is only fair that we criticise them

Are you joking? Rohit has scored all over the world and averages close to 55 as an opener. We're not talking about tests here.

Nope. His work ethics and his scoring ways are just not the sorts of what he was capable of.

Think Jadhav is done. Dhoni is a very difficult decision.

Dhoni just scored good score in last series whole team cud not in seaming conditions in dharamshala...dhoni is still much much better batsman..He cant hit 6's the same way but still he is match winner and is better than any other keeper batsman currently playing in the world.

Jadhav is worst fielder as well. Drops lot of catches..There are much better batsman than him in india.

Pant cant even get runs against A team lallus.He is glorified leg-side hack, may work in T20 but certainly not ready for ODIs now.Samson is our best bet for ODIs now.

Duminy will play the inning of his lifetime today. As great as winning a series in Australia.

What batsman are these? He is the worst batsman in our team by some distance.

I meant he is better than most of Pakistani batsmen. In earlier days Dhoni was one of the best batsman in Indian team where teams hardly score even 280