India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the 3rd ODI

India playing in this gorgeous stadium, perfect telecast, jam packed home crowd.

Wish to see Pakistan playing in similar conditions in my lifetime :(

My dad is a die hard Dhoni fan. I was trying to explain to him how his slow innings cost India the last match, but my Dad is scolding me "Shut up, what can he do when all others around him fail.."

#SonProblems

Dhoni should start coming up the order more. He is not a finisher who can hit big at will anymore. He is mor of an accumulator who can hit big shots once a while.

My dad is a die hard Dhoni fan. I was trying to explain to him how his slow innings cost India the last match, but my Dad is scolding me "Shut up, what can he do when all others around him fail.."

#SonProblems

Same logic used by all Dhoni defenders.

Its become meaningless.

Sachin of 90s would cry if he heard the logic that were used for his heroics is now being used to defend an over the hill Dhoni.

Dhoni's sixer takes his SR from 64 to 81.

20 off 31 balls TO 26 off 32 balls.

I bet people will say he has been playing well cos SR is 81. Haha.

Dhoni again on his way to winning yet ANOTHER match for India, still haters keep coming out..

#SonProblems

That was exactly the same situation in Pakistan when Misbah would have been tuk tuking in an ODI LOL

Dhoni, 6th fastest to 9000 runs. The others ahead of him - Ganguly, Sachin, Ponting, Kallis, Lara were all openers/number 3, that is a pretty significant achievement.

Dhoni's sixer takes his SR from 64 to 81.

20 off 31 balls TO 26 off 32 balls.

I bet people will say he has been playing well cos SR is 81. Haha.

I generally agree with you, but you are absolutely wrong when it comes to Dhoni.

Don't be a blind hater bro.

Dhoni playing at SR of 90 when the required rate is not hard at all and 8 wickets in hand, and still people have a problem with him. :facepalm:

Is it a desi thing to hate on somebody who has served you the most?

Kohli has 68 from 76 balls and Dhoni has 69 from 77 balls, yet people are hating on Dhoni.. Whaaaaat

Dhoni playing at SR of 90 when the required rate is not hard at all and 8 wickets in hand, and still people have a problem with him. :facepalm:

Is it a desi thing to hate on somebody who has served you the most?

India have enough batting to win this.

Chasing mein nahi hara saktay bhai ap India ko..

Good innings by Dhoni. That partnership has put us in a dominant position. Run a ball in last 15 overs should be easy in this day and age.

Very formulaic chase, well done to us if we can win this.

I don't get how we lose random games out of nowhere though like the last one.

I turn on the match and I hear Shastri say " It is a pretty much a national highway" :facepalm:.

Dhoni himself hit the six right?Whats the problem?

Can't you see....he was scratching around even after 30 balls in the crease and had to smash a sixer to get to somewhat respectable SR....good for him he got better later on but this won't happen lots in the future.

30 balls...60 SR.....30 balls......

I generally agree with you, but you are absolutely wrong when it comes to Dhoni.

Don't be a blind hater bro.

People have said the EXACT same thing to me lots of times before only to finally agree with my viewpoint months or years down the road.

It may seem like I am a hater but if you notice closely:

1. I defend Dhoni whenever people wrongly sling mud at him
2. I praise Dhoni's performances (current or past)
3. I don't use out of context stuff to put down Dhoni

My criticism has been relentless but never unfair. Never been a Dhoni hater but I admit I pounce on his mistakes more than others.

Here's a thread which I started 2 year back....

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?205918-Dhoni-s-Brilliant-Defense-Of-His-Decisions

See the responses of people about Dhoni and the attack on me...

See what Ppers says today about Dhoni's captaincy (pretty much they say EVERYTHING I said during those days...the guy "cricketindiafan" who was annoyed at me in that thread became very annoyed at Dhoni's captaincy later on - true story bro...true story)

Of course he's been playing well. Your bias is laughable.

Hardly true. You will see. Just like how you think Rahane is a good ODI bat. ;-)

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] under attack from all corners:97::AR15firin

I am a big boy. I can take it. There are things that are obvious if you look beyond stats and see larger picture. Good for Dhoni today.

Congrats to him.

I support SIF. Dhoni has no business playing ODI cricket. We should instead be grooming a young wicketkeeper bat for the next World Cup. He should just retire now.

If i was NZ captain trust me i would have kept a gully all the time when Kohli is batting. Whenever he wants a single he just dab it to third man and move away from strike. And with new powerplay rule of keeping 5 players inside the circle i reckon it would have been the best bet against Kohli. "

Cricinfo.

I support SIF. Dhoni has no business playing ODI cricket. We should instead be grooming a young wicketkeeper bat for the next World Cup. He should just retire now.

Thank you brother.

Dhoni's was a good knock today except first 30 balls which was garbage.

Let others win this battle.

Together we will win the war.

India is bigger than any player. Jai Hind.

He is good enough till next world cup if he plays at no.4. That will be good for him and India as well.

Thank you brother.

Dhoni's was a good knock today except first 30 balls which was garbage.

Let others win this battle.

Together we will win the war.

India is bigger than any player. Jai Hind.

They only look at stats. Dhoni is well past his peak. In fact the 2 new ball rule has helped him prolong his ODI career. It has ruled out prodigious reverse or spin in ODI cricket and he has scored some runs in the last few years but really the signs were there right from 2011.

Dhoni shouldn't retire from all(2) formats straightaway. He should first retire from ODI's then after few years from T20's. I don't think he will play in the next world cup. So its time to groom a new wicket keeper batsman.

That last over was like the Aus WT20 game earlier this year. Take the game to the last 3 overs and then BANG!

Game over in a jiffy!

Openers have become useless,Rahane needs to be dropped sadly and maybe Manish Pandey moved to top ,more like an anchor anyway.

Can't you see....he was scratching around even after 30 balls in the crease and had to smash a sixer to get to somewhat respectable SR....good for him he got better later on but this won't happen lots in the future.

30 balls...60 SR.....30 balls......

So what?The team RR was in control.So he picked his bowlers to attack early on.Everyone does that.Rohit got out on 13 off 21

You make it seem like he always gets out on 60 SR.Apart from last match,here are his ODI scores this year:

21 off 24
34 off 42
23 off 9
11 of 10
18 off 13

Thats his ODI scores.T20s are even better SR wise

SR is not his issue.Converting to big scores and finishing is.We need a new finisher but Dhoni can do the job at 4