India defeat England by 246 runs and go up 1-0 in 5 match series

Majrekar 10 mins back....when praising pacers.....great bowling on a dusty spinning pitch.

Now praising Shami.....great bowling on a dead pitch.

Yesterday....he said Amla/ABD were doing blockathon on a great turning pitch (far tougher than this pitch) in Delhi.

These commies know nothing. Hehe.

Your preferred Indian commies? I think SunnyG is not bad and has some great one-liners :yk3 Also, oddly enough, I kinda like L Sivaramakrishnan.

Ganguly is good.

Laxman is crap.

Shastri has great voice but is a robot.

Gavaskar has good one liners. He is fine.

Manjrekar....something he keeps saying. I don't hate him but not my favourite.

Bhogle is fine.

So Ganguly and Bhogle.

Insight wise....apart from Ganguly, no one really gives anything worthwhile to ponder about.

Never paid attention to Siva. He is not bad. Need to hear him more to form an opinion.

Eng middle order blew it in both innings.

Cricbuzz commentary

Great bowling by the Indian bowlers. At last, England gets the taste of a typical 5th day Indian wicket. Also will be wondering how Indians chased down 387 at Chennai on a wicket which was doing more than what Vizag is doing.

Cricbuzz commentary

Great bowling by the Indian bowlers. At last, England gets the taste of a typical 5th day Indian wicket. Also will be wondering how Indians chased down 387 at Chennai on a wicket which was doing more than what Vizag is doing.

Haha....

Sometimes I wonder how people who make a living doing cricket analysis can be so incompetent.

1. India chased down 387 on a pitch that was easier to score runs off than Vizag. They wouldn't have done it on this pitch against Swann. Survival is different.

2. This is not a typical day 5 Indian pitch. That guy has no clue what a typical day 5 Indian track really is.

The info that we posters give here for FREE is worth 100X more.

Haha....

Sometimes I wonder how people who make a living doing cricket analysis can be so incompetent.

1. India chased down 387 on a pitch that was easier to score runs off than Vizag. They wouldn't have done it on this pitch against Swann. Survival is different.

2. This is not a typical day 5 Indian pitch. That guy has no clue what a typical day 5 Indian track really is.

The info that we posters give here for FREE is worth 100X more.

Cricbuzz and Cricinfo commentary is bottom of the barrel. This pitch is no way a "typical" day 5 Indian track the way he means. There's hardly any real extravagant turn apart from the odd ball once in a few overs.

Looking good,hopefully the tail problem doesn't arise.

For the next match batsmen have to step in,feel massive dependency is getting created on Kohli hopefully it doesn't end up like LOI.

Good to Shami take off Root than the spinners hopefully he remains fit.

Cricbuzz and Cricinfo commentary is bottom of the barrel. This pitch is no way a "typical" day 5 Indian track the way he means. There's hardly any real extravagant turn apart from the odd ball once in a few overs.

The ability of 95% of cricket analysts is sub par.

I like the Sky English commies team. They do their homework and there are some genuine insights unlike the hacks in most places.

Bilal Bhai supports the Ummah through and through :amla

Of course, given the state of the country these days it is heartening to see a Muhammad leading India's attack and being their best bowler.

Hope Shami continues to bowl these jaffas but England (somehow) still win the series or draw it, at least.

Be thankful, this is more than what an average UAE track would offer the spinners on the last day.

Cook and Hameed were exceptional. The rest of the English played as expected. India needs to figure out a strategy to dismiss those 2 guys cheaply as their partnership could be decisive for the series.

They were excellent but conditions also helped them.

Also sometimes you might survive close shouts and stuff.

If you go back to yesterday's match thread, we said things would unravel fast.

Its not like its spitting cobras out here now but a bit of change in conditions helps.

There is a reason that on Asian pitches (on Day 4 and 5) teams go from 80/1 to 130/5.

Its not a coincidence.

Why oh why has Andrew Strauss forced Duckett upon us instead of Kevin Pietersen???????

Then shouldn't Pujara get the credit as the undisputed best player of spin award compared to Younis?

I mean......you can't have the cake and eat it too.

Misbah after second test against England

Misbah-ul-Haq. "You have to give credit to the opposition when the ball is turning and two really good spinners are bowling. They showed really good character today. Our spinners bowled well, especially under pressure. Whenever we needed a breakthrough they held their nerve."

But what does he know?

Ashwin averaging a little over 34 on the first two flat tracks that he's had to play on at home. If he brings that down to 30 by the end of this match, it will match what his overall average should really be.

Pitches for Ind-Eng Series

Seeing how Eng did in BD and expectations based on earlier Indian series, I expected turners for Eng series. Two back to back wickets have been very flat and hardly any turn even on 4th/5th day. Even a typical Indian pitches(not a rank turners) turns from the 4th day.

With a long batting line up, but not good against spin, why will you not give rank turners or even a regular Indian pitch which offers turns on last few days?

Misbah after second test against England

But what does he know?

Come on, dude. You're not the strawmen type like the others in this thread. I clearly said that not all UAE pitches are made the same but the average UAE track is quite flat even on day five. The average Indian track, well, just ask Harbhajjan, Sehwag and Ganguly.

They were excellent but conditions also helped them.

Also sometimes you might survive close shouts and stuff.

If you go back to yesterday's match thread, we said things would unravel fast.

Its not like its spitting cobras out here now but a bit of change in conditions helps.

There is a reason that on Asian pitches (on Day 4 and 5) teams go from 80/1 to 130/5.

Its not a coincidence.

I think the pitch is fine. Something for everyone. No blame on the pitch.

As long as this semi flat wickets helping them,they can make it with caution.but don't think they can escape in the next three match with this type of pitch. Eng can bounce back and win. Need rank turner at least in two matches if Ind want to wrap this series.BCCI knows the best I hope.

I don't like blaming any pitch. Everyone has the right to make the pitches which suits it's strength.

Do you think if we had batted second it would have been an England win? Or would it be a draw/win for India?

Don't know for sure cos I don't think Indian spinners would have been as bad as England's on Day 1 for the 2nd test.

Also Indian batting would have scored more in 2nd innings of the game (our 1st innings).

Can't say with certainty. Maybe India would have been stretched or Ash produced some magic to take England out in first innings.

The upcoming tests would give us an answer to that.

India up 1-0 with 3 Tests to go. The last 2 series between these 2 sides were poised exactly the same. Hope the final outcome is different this time!

SA would be 2-0 against India on these pitches, they haven't really turned much and have had some assistance for the pacers.

Well done boys. Commiserations England supporters.

Over to the next test match. Hoping the series will be an exciting one.

Easy win is in sight. Congratulations in advance India for your 1-0 lead in the series.

Thank u :lara

Remember these are two new test centers.Preparing a dustbowl is not so easy, plus an Ind-Eng test going to 5 days definitely means more moolah. So cant ignore the commercial aspects here.

With Test cricket returning to our traditional test centers - Mohali, Mumbai and Chennai, expect the turning tracks to return in last 3 tests.

really like how Kohli is so involved. You can really see how much he wants a win

SA would be 2-0 against India on these pitches, they haven't really turned much and have had some assistance for the pacers.

LOL still trying hard to somehow not give credit to India for whitewashing the Kiwis and thrashing the Proteas?

You're definitely much better than us.

The SA's on the other hand, would beat India in SA and would likely beat them at home, if provided the same pitches England have received.

Remember these are two new test centers.Preparing a dustbowl is not so easy, plus an Ind-Eng test going to 5 days definitely means more moolah. So cant ignore the commercial aspects here.

With Test cricket returning to our traditional test centers - Mohali, Mumbai and Chennai, expect the turning tracks to return in last 3 tests.

I think bold part is the key here. I was missing that.

really like how Kohli is so involved. You can really see how much he wants a win

He makes a lot of mistakes and has his issues but he always is willing to work on them.

He is gonna be a legendary captain. Always said that.

Ticks all the boxes when it comes to being visionary, leader, proactive, man manager and a tactician.

Tactically not good when under the pump but will improve. :D

I think bold part is the key here. I was missing that.
Do you reckon the SA's could take this Indian side, if given the same pitches England have gotten this series?

I doubt India would serve up these pitches up to the SA's.

I would have loved these two pitches in our series. We may not have won, but good chance of not losing both tests.

Rajkot I get it.

Problem is that Vizag was always a rank turner.

They have actually tampered with it to make a reasonably non-turning pitch. :))

I would have loved these two pitches in our series. We may not have won, but good chance of not losing both tests.
You're selling your team short, you would have definitely won at least one Test.

Do you reckon the SA's could take this Indian side, if given the same pitches England have been given this series?

With Steyn fit I will back us, but not without Steyn. It will be still hard to push for win on these flat tracks.

He makes a lot of mistakes and has his issues but he always is willing to work on them.

He is gonna be a legendary captain. Always said that.

Ticks all the boxes when it comes to being visionary, leader, proactive, man manager and a tactician.

Tactically not good when under the pump but will improve. :D

Yes, I dont think he repeats the same mistakes twice and seems willing to listen to coach, etc

Steyn, current Rabada and Philander on flat tracks will always be a threat.

So yes, SA would have had a shot to win.

ABD and Amla would have scored too.

Flat track is always India's nemesis.

I doubt India would serve up these pitches up to the SA's.
Out of 4only one was rank turner , one was turner and other two wickets were ok , South African were out of form , you can't bat 143 overs in last innings on rank turner , it shows the pitches were okay, they lost their wicket easily in Banglore test flat wicket.

I mean't a full strength SA side.

I would have backed us to win one and draw one, but most likely it would have been two draws. But we played poorly in series as well so it will depend on how you play.

Rajkot I get it.

Problem is that Vizag was always a rank turner.

They have actually tampered with it to make a reasonably non-turning pitch. :))

I think they took their lessons from the ODI vs NZ and prepared a good wicket. Kept everyone in the game, seamers with reverse swing and some seam, spinners with limited turn but decent bounce, batsmen got runs as well. Ideal pitch for Indian conditions.

So pitch was intentionally this way with very little turn?

This is so not ideal pitch for Indian conditions bro.

Just one type of Indian pitch.

Ideal pitch should turn.

Also not a fan of this uneven bounce.

They wanted to make the pitch sporting and overcooked it.

I would like to see 1-2 rank turners in this series. There is no fun in watching series in India without any rank turner in series. I will prefer rank turner over traditional flat 3 days then turn 2 days. Rank turner takes the toss out of equation and gives the equal chance to both teams.

We can provide good spin tracks (with help for pacers) even without rank turners.

These pitches are boring.

But I am told they are sporting tracks and good for cricket. Hehe.

Mumbai and Chennai most likely will be turners. Hopefully not slow turners but with decent bounce and sharp spin.

I find it amusing that whenever india wins the focus shifts to the pitch only not the performances of players. And whenever touring teams manage to draw or win a match in india those same fans don't appreciate the pitch, curator and indian captain. I am not sure from where did south africa come into this discussion? They are touring australia currently not india. :inti

Don't get irritated by it. It's a natural reaction :yk

On topic: Things are back to normality :D I voted for 5-0 drubbing to India iirc. What a phainta :kohli

Ashwin averaging a little over 34 on the first two flat tracks that he's had to play on at home. If he brings that down to 30 by the end of this match, it will match what his overall average should really be.

Kya bilal ji....

Ashwins average in rajkot = 75
Ashwins average in Vizag = 15

So if ashwin plays in vizag like "flat tracks" as you yourself admitted, he would average 15.

485675589685th time you got into a tangle. Why bro? Why? :)

Ganguly is good.

Laxman is crap.

Shastri has great voice but is a robot.

Gavaskar has good one liners. He is fine.

Manjrekar....something he keeps saying. I don't hate him but not my favourite.

Bhogle is fine.

So Ganguly and Bhogle.

Insight wise....apart from Ganguly, no one really gives anything worthwhile to ponder about.

Never paid attention to Siva. He is not bad. Need to hear him more to form an opinion.

Shiva is by far the worst out of all of them, a bigger bag of platitudes than even Shastri and that's saying something. I'm not even mentioning his annoying nasal harmonics. Manjrekar has some insightful things to say and is good at analysing the game but has no sense of occasion and should never be an anchor of any kind. No comments on Shastri and Laxman both of whom suck, Ganguly commentates the same way he captained- straight to the point and doesn't fill the air with words. Gavaskar has almost always been good when he has commentated for a foreign network like in the Nzl series in 2014 and generally knows a lot which is apparent when he decides to drop some pearls but at other times it's quite hard to listen to him. His west indian accent needs to be banned.

All in all I don't rate any of the South Asian commies that highly though Indian ones are by far the best mostly because of how abject the others are.

Played India.

I think England can male a couple of changes. At present we are using Bairstow as a keeper, which is sacrificing a strength to plug a weakness. So drop Duckett, bring in Buttler behind the poles and push Bairstow up to #4. That will increase his run-making power and also break up the parade of lefties.

As [MENTION=1842]James[/MENTION] says I would also bring back the combative Woakes for Ansari.