India reach 69/0 at Stumps on Day 2 with a lead of 322 after bowling out New Zealand for 62

Embarrassing from New Zealand. They don't deserve the no.1 test ranking.
As if India do, they didn't make it past day 3 in NZ.

The team has barely played since WTC Final in July and are expected to go perform in alien conditions without any practice in those conditions.

We saw India get rolled over in Aus for 36 fgs on a much better pitch.

Given how Indian bowlers are doing Kohli should enforce a follow-on and end the game by tomorrow.

As if India do, they didn't make it past day 3 in NZ.

The team has barely played since WTC Final in July and are expected to go perform in alien conditions without any practice in those conditions.

We saw India get rolled over in Aus for 36 fgs on a much better pitch.

Better pitch? This is a well balanced pitch, don't whine on pitches to cover up for poor batting performance from NZ here.

India have a lot of success in other countries. New Zealand haven't done well in either Australia, South Africa or India and they also lost at home vs Australia and South Africa last time around.

India are well deserved best test team in the world and it is not even comparable. New Zealand are more closer to Australia, South Africa and England.

Better pitch? This is a well balanced pitch, don't whine on pitches to cover up for poor batting performance from NZ here.

India have a lot of success in other countries. New Zealand haven't done well in either Australia, South Africa or India and they also lost at home vs Australia and South Africa last time around.

India are well deserved best test team in the world and it is not even comparable. New Zealand are more closer to Australia, South Africa and England.
India also plays full tours.

Don't give me that nonsense. You spend months on tour with warm ups, 4-5 Tests and all every 2 years in all the top countries.

If you had the schedule teams like us, Pakistan, WI and SL work with, you'd be sitting middle to bottom of the pack.

You don't learn anything playing 2 Test series every 3-4 years with one or none warm up games.

It's okay they won in home conditions and were smart with their scheduling and pitch preparation. When are they touring OZ and SA again?

They already toured OZ twice in last 4 years. Why will they tour them anytime soon? That part of the continent is already sealed. They just need to make sure they win the series in England when it gets completed and focus currently on South Africa assignment.

Don't give me that nonsense. You spend months on tour with warm ups, 4-5 Tests and all every 2 years in all the top countries.

If you had the schedule teams like us, Pakistan, WI and SL work with, you'd be sitting middle to bottom of the pack.

You don't learn anything playing 2 Test series every 3-4 years with one or none warm up games.

To add to that look at how India have gone from being humiliated 0-4 to competing and winning in Aus and Eng, vise versa with Aus and England who have been competitive and won Tests in India.

Nothing trumps experience in foreign conditions. It's stupid to suggest otherwise.

What a pathetic performance by New Zealand after some good fight back in Kanpur

This is definitely not the pitch what New Zealand scorecard suggest. Absolute annihilation of World champions...

We've lost this Test and series, but 0-1 is better than what most would have expected. We've got some crucial away points on a difficult tour.

What a pathetic performance by New Zealand after some good fight back in Kanpur

This is definitely not the pitch what New Zealand scorecard suggest. Absolute annihilation of World champions...

Don't forget it :kohli

Dont feel the slightest sorry for NZ. Saying this as a biased hurtful Pakistan fan.

"If my grandma had wheels , she'd have been a bike".

:91:
Whatever, you know it's true.

Doesn't matter how good you are, you're not going to score runs in alien conditions until you've experienced them enough and had time to acclimatize.

That's how India have struggled to win in Aus and England despite sending far stronger teams in the past.

Can't fault India for this, it's on NZC for their scheduling.

Really should have played 2 warm up games before the Test series if we were serious about competing in India instead of playing that pointless T20 series nobody watched.

Did you take your own opinion seriously? Coz you are arguing the exact opposite here.
Ind winning in aus 18 was tainted but nz measly draw vs India missing six first choice player isn't?
Anyways nobody takes your opinion seriously.

Then why are you taking it now? :91: :inti

India are leading the series in England despite being thrashed at headingly in a very similar fashion.

NZ definitely deserve more than 2 tests per series

62 is better than what it was looking at one stage.

Can't really do much, just waiting to lose this. Hopefully can limit the margin of defeat.

Can't fault India for this, it's on NZC for their scheduling.

Really should have played 2 warm up games before the Test series if we were serious about competing in India instead of playing that pointless T20 series nobody watched.
NZC and CA would bend their backs and do everything humanely possible to get a share of slice of Indian money. They would be happy to play 10 back to back tests against India if they had their will.

Mumbai is having weird weather, it rained the other day before game - no point in batting, should bowl but NZ is seriously sad man with just 60?

Virender Sharma is embarrassment as an umpire. Guy checking for catch and forgot to check whether it was taken properly by fielder.

NZC and CA would bend their backs and do everything humanely possible to get a share of slice of Indian money. They would be happy to play 10 back to back tests against India if they had their will.
I'm not going to pretend like I didn't see this coming. I knew it was going to be a disaster sending the batsmen out in these conditions. At least we managed a good result from the first Test but that's mainly due to the pitch being a lot better than most would have expected.

Mayank Agarwal alone has scored more than double of NZ total.
Poor from NZ they are much better and grittier then this performance. Poor scheduling from NZC also as no chance of comeback with a 3rd test. Usually they get 3 Matches in India why 2 this time [MENTION=132954]Aman[/MENTION].

Whatever, you know it's true.

Doesn't matter how good you are, you're not going to score runs in alien conditions until you've experienced them enough and had time to acclimatize.

That's how India have struggled to win in Aus and England despite sending far stronger teams in the past.

Either you are good enough or not. Playing longer series is counterproductive as the home team has more chances to come back after a slip up.

SL won 1-0 in 2014 in England and then the scoreline was same for India after the same number of tests. But as it was a 5-match series England came back and we lost 1-3.

England lost 0-1 to NZ recently but are still in with a likely chance of drawing the series after being 0-1 down after the first two tests.

It's just a lame excuse to say "oh we didn't get enough practice" while playing at the highest level. Applies for the Indian fans too who use this regularly.. eg the WTC final.

Welcome to the world no. 1 test team - India

The only title that matters.

eight_col_WTC.jpg

We've lost this Test and series, but 0-1 is better than what most would have expected. We've got some crucial away points on a difficult tour.

Don't forget it :kohli

Yes we have not forgotten it buddy...But you should up your game and behave like a fan of World Test champion team and stop hiding behind endless excuses...You are happy because your team is able to avoid whitewash and going back with few points courtesy of bad light..Come on Aman..Your team is World champion..don't act like a fan of minnow team..there you go..done and dusted 62

Mayank Agarwal alone has scored more than double of NZ total.
Poor from NZ they are much better and grittier then this performance. Poor scheduling from NZC also as no chance of comeback with a 3rd test. Usually they get 3 Matches in India why 2 this time [MENTION=132954]Aman[/MENTION].
No idea, either way the series was not given importance given how the tour consisted of 3 T20s and 2 Test matches with 3 days between the Test and T20 series. Which is silly because we're WTC and need to perform better away from home.

Maybe it was because of the WT20 and possible player burn out from touring and quarantining.

Yes we have not forgotten it buddy...But you should up your game and behave like a fan of World Test champion team and stop hiding behind endless excuses...You are happy because your team is able to avoid whitewash and going back with few points courtesy of bad light..Come on Aman..Your team is World champion..don't act like a fan of minnow team..there you go..done and dusted 62

And you can also feel good about it looking from some other perspective though

36 < 62

This is the lowest total by any team against India in Tests.

Yes due to playing at home otherwise NZ can't even reach in WTC finals .
Like I care, bottom line is we're World Champions.

I wouldn't trade that for some 1-0 revenge series win at home.

Looks like India batting again to prove batting is not impossible on this wicket. They already did in first inning though.

263 on board..
India can bolwed New Zealand twice with this score and still end up winning by an inning

With a cyclone lurking, Indian kaptaan choses to bat again. Wonder what opinion Rahul holds about that decision

Not sure about the batting again decision.

We could regret it if rain plays spoilsport.

I can't understand this decision to bat again. Nz trailing by 263 runs and have just been shot out for 62 !!!

Yeah. Please go on a full tour of 4 tests in Australia. I'm sure the result will be very different :91:

A 0-0 rain affected draw in a 3-tests series by Kiwis in '01 in Australia is still termed as an achievement in NZ.

India should look to get 500-600 lead here and a crushing win, NZ batting was worse then school boy batting.

A 0-0 rain affected draw in a 3-tests series by Kiwis in '01 in Australia is still termed as an achievement in NZ.
Thank god we drew India in the WTC Final.

Been our whipping boys for when it matters for over a decade.

Thank god we drew India in the WTC Final.

Been our whipping boys for when it matters for over a decade.
Unlike you I don't offer excuses for my team's ineptness.

We are poor against NZ, no question about that.

Great Australian team would have enforced the follow-on here and crushed NZ more. :inti

Kya jaldi h Bhai , batting karne do nahi to bored ho jayenge jaldi jeet gye to .btw great Australian side once gave india follow on and rest is history.

Weren't you like 0-12 in Eng, Aus and SA for 4 years?

No we weren't. We went 0-9 in the aforementioned countries between 2011 and 2014 before winning the Lord test in 2014. But we weren't ranked number 1 in the period anyway.

Longer away series' are much tougher than 2-3 test series. You seem to think NZ will do better as the tour goes on. Couldnt be further from the truth

This.

Longer the series, more tested a team would be especially in foreign environs.

Great Australian team would have enforced the follow-on here and crushed NZ more. :inti

Making an opponent bowl tons of overs with very little rest in between is much more soul crushing. It's time for India yo gave good, extended net sessions. Follow ins are overrated unless there is no time.

No we weren't. We went 0-9 in the aforementioned countries between 2011 and 2014 before winning the Lord test in 2014. But we weren't ranked number 1 in the period anyway.

lmao keep telling yourself that.

As if NZ, SL and Pakistani batsmen wouldn't kill for 4 match series every 2-3 years in top countries.

But nah, 2 match series with no warm ups are the way to go. Play your 2 Tests as warm ups and as your acclimatizing boom, series over.

As if NZ, SL and Pakistani batsmen wouldn't kill for 4 match series every 2-3 years in top countries.

But nah, 2 match series with no warm ups are the way to go. Play your 2 Tests as warm ups and boom, series over.

If india played 2 match test series in England than we would have won 2014 tour as after 2 test match we were leading 1-0 lol

But nah, 2 match series with no warm ups are the way to go. Play your 2 Tests as warm ups and boom, series over.

Excuses...excuses andddd excusess

Ladies and Gents...Fans of World Test Champions for you...

Even at home, NZC prefers to play 2 tests series and 5 T20s series rather than the other way round. If anyone is to be blamed for NZ playing lesser number of tests its NZC thermselves, no one else.

When was the last time NZ played 4/5 tests series in NZ? Answer is 1967 when we thrashed them 3-1!

Highlights of New Zealand inning tells you how reckless and pathetic batting display it was...this is no where 62 all out deck